The following was sent to Barbados Underground’s mailbox to defend government’s decision not to deliver a Financial Statement and Budgetary proposals commonly referred to as a ‘budget’ – Blogmaster

I am bewildered by the call made by some for the presentation of a “budget” in the House of Assembly, as a matter of urgency.  The reasons given strike me as uncompelling, given that the definition of a budget is generally a document where the government gives projections of Revenues and expenditures for the coming fiscal year.  In accordance with the country’s constitution, such a document has already been debate and passed in the House, it’s called The Estimates. This is really the country’s budget.  What I believe the administration’s critics want is a Financial Statement and Budgetary proposals. which is not required by law, but is traditionally presented after the first quarter of the Fiscal year and gives an  overview of the previous years’ fiscal and economic performance, and government’s taxation, spending and economic policy adjustments for the current fiscal year.   When this administration presented it’s first estimates in 2019 it significantly strengthened the process by bringing the Ministers, permanent secretaries and senior  officers in each line ministry before the standing finance committee of parliament to answer questions about all tax dollars they propose to spend in the coming year. As for financial statements, the administration has frequently brought before parliament, statements which show the government’s fiscal performance when compared with earlier projections under the Financial Management act (2019), this was last done by Ryan Straughn on the 16th of November you can watch it here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vfIGuqQ7aTM&t=2644s

To be frank, the only reason the government would bring a so-called “budget speech” now is to increase taxes.This government made it clear earlier in the year that infrastructure and business facilitation was going to be its main response to the deep recession brought on by covid-19 and no new taxes were gonna be pursued. Instead of listing its policy responses and calling it a budget speech. which can be considered “all talk, no action grandstanding” The administration embarked on a number of pro-growth policies, these include:  

• The digitisation of CAIPO, which went live two week ago. you can visit the website to register a business at.  
  • Passed a modern Liquor Licensing Act to improve the process of applying for a license :
  • Currently debating the Fair Credit Reporting Bill, which contrary to what conspiracy theories have said is an attempt to significantly improve access to credit from financial institutions by small businesses in the country.  For years people have complained about what they had to go through to get a business loan in Barbados, this bill will turn a currently subjective system and make it more objective, faster and more transparent . Even the World Bank and The World Economic forum gave Barbados very low scores over the years on access to credit in their respective rankings.  As professor Robinson recently pointed out on  Facebook.  Remember. This is the same administration which established the Trust Loan fund to allow small businesses to access their first loans and to build a  credit reputation, this bill is the next step, I hope it passes in the Senate.  The administration is about to go even further with the establishment of  a collateral registry for entrepreneurs who do not have traditional collateral to use movable business assets which they have, to access credit in order to expand. This is transformational, as the Jamaica media just  reported. A delegation from put Ministry of Small business is current getting advice on setting it up. 
  • Passed the National Payment system bill in February see here , which among other things. establishes a national real-time Automated clearing house for the first time.In more good news the PM recently stated that it will be going live by March 2022.    
  • Just passed a sweeping vending bill:  Currently engaged in a number of projects to transform Bridgetown to utilize its UNESCO designation. This can already be seen in Fairchild street, Constitution River and will include renovations of the old Treasury buildings. 
  • This is in addition to infrastructure projects to upgrade and rewire schools to improve wifi connectivity as kids look to return in January see here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DYIPsUMWkaI&t=573s

• Road projects across the island see example here: 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGFfWNikljA

• A new water deal for farmers and projects to improve access: 
  • Announced a deal to support the garment manufacturing industry, one of the last half-viable manufacturing industries in the country.  Similar to the support for tourism under the BEST programme, which will come with conditionalities.   

All of this being done as the administration prepares to roll out the Nation Digital ID.  Why announce a budget to grandstand and talk, when you can just implement a competitiveness agenda?

199 responses to “No Need for a ‘Budget’”

1. @Eilliam

There is the psychological damage this must have done to so many. The ability to create wealth for family and peace f mind …

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

I don’t when it was added, but there is a Section 5.2 in the Debt Settlement Bill as follows

“For the avoidance of doubt, paragraph (1)(c) does not apply to salaries,
    pensions, gratuities or any other emolument payable to public officers or any
    person employed by the Government.”
    where

5.(1)(c)….in respect of any outstanding liabilities of the Government.

What other arrears are in the $1.9M series J issue? we only know of 30%.

3. Man, I dun see yuh boasting an telling dem stories uhready.

But that does not mean that your argument was any deeper than what I heard on MSNBC.

True dat! Almost word for word!

Cunt or not, that’s what I heard.

Yuh went all around the world and still at the same spot!

And it is sooooo funny that you don’t read my posts but can still respond to what I say.

Oh dear me!

Which one was YUH MUDDA, Jean or Dinah?

4. bettah tek care he doan begin calling yuh Melda

5. He can call me what whatever he wants. I will continue to be me.

6. The man does not tell stories. He only HINTS (lol) that he is travelling around the world, engaging in more important matters than BU.

What hints what! He tells us exactly what he wants us to know to separate himself from the pack while railing about an elitist society.

Reminds me of Napoleon – the pig, not the man.

“All animals are equal but some are more equal than others!”

Or some shite like that.

7. $49m monthly to settle arrears left by previous Govt

GOVERNMENT IS FORKING OUT $49 million every month to settle $1.9 billion in outstanding arrears for goods and services supplied to Government under the previous administration.
    Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn made this disclosure in the House of Assembly yesterday. He said the payments, which were due to end in September of 2022, included “about $6 million in public servants’ National Insurance contributions “that were not paid” and about “$1 million every month for diesel used to keep the bus service and Sanitation Service Authority trucks operating during the pre-2018 period before the Mia Amor Mottley administration took office.
    While leading off debate on the Public Procurement Bill 2021
    which is designed to fundamentally change the Government process for the procurement of services, Straughn said despite the criticism being levelled at the current administration for what some people considered as excessive borrowing, the arrears being paid down were part of the burdensome level of debt confronting the administration when it assumed office just over three years ago, He said that in its debt restructuring programme, Government had established a framework that allowed creditors to be paid.
    “When people say that we borrowing . . . , they [the DLP administration] were not paying people,” Straughan told the House.
    However, he added that despite the loss of $600 million in revenue, Government had found ways “to maintain the social fabric” of the country.
    “With all the talk out there about ‘Government by IOU’, we are still paying for diesel for Transport Board buses . . . and Sanitation trucks” that were operating before the present Government came to office,” he said.
    “The reality is the last Government was simply irresponsible.”
    (GC)

8. State reforming buying process

THE WAY Government conducts the business of public procurement is being reformed.
    The Public Procurement Bill 2021, tabled in the House of Assembly yesterday by Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn, changes how information is provided on Government’s procurement process and projects and will allow prospective tenders to have ready access to that information.
    Leading off debate, Straughn said the legislation would allow the ordinary citizen “wherever they are, if they are desirous in participating, to have the opportunity to assess for themselves” whether they are capable of responding to the specific tender request, make the necessary submission to the procurement agency and allow the procuring entities to make the selection of bids. It will all be done through an e-tendering process, which would also make procurement opportunities more accessible.
    The issue of procurement has been a bugbear which has often been the source of debate and a subject which has often been highlighted in reports of the Auditor General. Straughn told the House the entire process of the governance of procurement would change, bringing consistency across all entities in which Government has an interest.
    The legislation also provides for the establishment of a public procurement tribunal through which
    unfavourable tendering decisions can be appealed. In addition, entities will be required to provide to the Procurement Department their procurement plans by the end of January every year.
    Straughn said the department known as Central Purchasing would now become the Government Procurement Department, “and therefore Central purchasing as we know it, takes on a little more responsibility than just the collective buying that Central Purchasing does.” (GC)

9. Senate sends bills back to House
    THE SUGGESTION that public servants could be forced to settle for bonds instead of cash payments in settlement of monies owed to them was put to rest yesterday when the Senate sent an amended Debt Settlement (Arrears) Bill 2021
    back to the House of Assembly for the House’s concurrence.
    At its sitting on Monday, the the Senate amended the Debt Settlement (Arrears) Bill 2021
    inserting the sub-clause: “For the avoidance of doubt, Paragraph 1C does not apply to salaries, pensions, gratuities, or any other emolument payable to public officers or any person employed by the Government.”
    The message from the Senate to the House read: “The Honourable the Senate transmits the amended bill to the Honourable the House of Assembly inviting concurrence to the amendments to the Bill .”
    Also returned to the House for approval of amendments was the Customs Bill 2021. Both pieces of legislation attracted extensive debate in the Senate. (GC)

10. Self-employed ‘key to jobless fall’

UNEMPLOYMENT HAS FALLEN to 12.4 per cent and Minister in the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Investment Marsha Caddle is attributing the improvement to an increased number of Barbadians working for themselves.
    The minister also reported a recovery of employment among women, many of whom lost their jobs when COVID-19 caused the tourism and hospitality sectors to collapse.
    Caddle said that based on the Barbados Statistical Services’ most recent Labour Force Survey for the quarter ended September 30, unemployment was now 12.4 per cent.
    “In the first quarter of this year, unemployment was at 17.2 per cent. It had gone back up from 13.2 [per cent] when we had the COVID-related shutdown at the start of year,” Caddle said in the House of Assembly yesterday during debate on the Public Procurement Bill, 2021.
    “The second quarter of this year, it had fallen to 15.9 per cent; the third quarter of 2021, our most recent unemployment numbers, have unemployment at 12.4 per cent. So unemployment has steadily decreased in Barbados over the last two quarters.”
    Reason
    The St Michael South Central representative believed that with Government employment remaining steady and private sector jobs having declined, increased self-employment was the reason for the most recent decline in unemployment. “What we see is that there are more registered selfemployed, there are more registered selfemployed in . . . trades that are key for
    capital works,” she said.
    “And we believe that this increased amount of self-employed registered trades people, people who are going to register companies to get access to goods and services for capital works programmes, that this helps to account for the fall in unemployment.”
    The minister said the new procurement legislation “has the capacity to expand the range of opportunities for people to earn better income”. “There are many things that have to go along with this, including making sure that we protect the self-employed people in terms of their rights to certain social protection,” she added.
    Caddle also said there was evidence of more women being employed.
    “As of today, we see from the unemployment numbers, and . . . for the third quarter of 2021, the last quarter for which we have data, the last quarter for which we did the labour force survey, male unemployment is 12.5 per cent and female unemployment is 12.3 per cent.” (SC)

11. Atherley: Misuse of public purse

OPPOSITION LEADER Bishop Joseph Atherley wants an end to the culture in Barbados of individuals, including lawyers, benefiting from the public purse “simply because they are closely affiliated with a [political] party”.
    He made the recommendation in the context of the Public Procurement Bill, 2021, which included provision for the hiring of contract administrators and service consultants.
    Speaking yesterday during debate on the bill in the House of Assembly, Atherley said he was raising his concerns in the context of there currently being “a whole cadre of consultants attaching to this Government in all levels”.
    “It was so in the last administration, running into the millions of dollars and we have no details as to how many there are and how much money is expended for that type of stuff, but we are creating opportunity in this legislation, even if we don’t intend to do so, to ensure that that type of practice is perpetuated and it’s a serious thing,” he said.
    Atherley flagged a section of the legislation which spoke about a procuring entity being able to nominate a contract administrator for each procurement contract awarded.
    He told the House that “the stories are legend of legal persons in this country who benefit substantially from the giftings of governments”.
    “The truth is their affiliation and association is expected by them to work to their interests and that is that the party will give them hefty legal contracts. There are lawyers in Barbados who have made their lives and the lives of others out of this,” Atherley said.
    “In recent years, the last 20 years or so, we have heard the many stories
    of lawyers and the fees that they have been paid for services rendered to respective political parties, administrations and Governments in this country.
    “I believe that a provision like this . . . that talks about contract administrators and legal officials who do certain functions on behalf of Government with respect to the procurement process opens the window for the generosity of the public purse to find a resting place in the hands of legal professionals who are associated with those parties primarily for that purpose,” he added.
    Atherley said his concerns were not an attack on the current administration but a matter of principle.
    “I am speaking in a principled fashion to what happens in our culture where people benefit from so much from the taxpayers’ purse simply because they are closely affiliated with a party. We have never known of the number of consultants that are at the beck and call of Government for various purposes,” he said. (SC)

12. Call for procurement transparency
    GOVERNMENT’S PROCUREMENT tendering process needs to be more transparent, says Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley.
    He recommended that tenders committees be required to do their work “in view of a camera”, while also asking the authorities to fulfil their promise that suppliers of goods and services would be paid on time.
    Atherley was speaking in the House of Assembly yesterday during debate on the Public Procurement Bill, 2021, which was later passed by the House.
    He said he has always wondered why the work of tenders committees “must take place away from the public”.
    “We are talking about a massive part of Government responsibility. We are talking about a situation where many lives are affected through the output that flows from these contracts and these projects,” Atherley noted.
    “Now there is a procurement process that we are establishing and setting around a proper legislative frame, but should we know, and . . . is there a strong reason why these things such as evaluation of tenders, opening of tenders . . . are not conducted in public view”.
    “Technology brings this straight into the homes of people, technology brings it right into the personal space of people so that they may observe,” Atherley said.
    “If we are looking for transparency, and if we are seeking to establish higher levels of accountability, I would have to be persuaded that there is some strong,
    good, ethical or other, legislatively perhaps, reason why these things cannot be done in view of a camera.” He referenced page 95 of the bill, which spoke of a tribunal being allowed to take its evidence in public and asked: “If a tribunal can take its evidence in public, why can’t a tenders committee, in terms of the exercising of its responsibility for receiving, evaluating, opening tenders . . . be allowed to be the focus of the eye of the camera so that all Barbadians could see from wherever they are?”
    Atherley also urged that suppliers be paid on time. “It is not beyond imagination . . . that there are companies in Barbados which have failed, which have folded because Government was slow in paying, delinquent in paying,” he said. “And I think that to the extent that there is a resolve to put that as part of the culture of the past in Barbados, it is good for business whether small, mediumsized or large businesses that Government binds itself to the responsibility effectively of paying its bills, especially to companies, and paying its bills on time.” (SC)

13. Credit Union forensic audit reveals financial peculiarities
    Article by
    Barbados Today
    Published on
    December 15, 2021

A forensic audit of the Barbados Public Workers’ Co-operative Credit Union Ltd. (BPWCCUL) Mile-and-a-Quarter, St. Peter branch has revealed several infractions that have caused unrest among its membership.

The virtual annual general meeting (AGM) last Friday night became heated when many of the details of the report of the audit, carried out by respected firm Ernst & Young, were revealed.

Barbados TODAY understands that captured within the 66-page document, titled Review of the Mile-and-a-Quarter Project – Final Report and dated June 15, 2021, were several discrepancies in the credit union’s governance oversight model. The report stated that while serving on the board, a top official constructed a building on his land and then negotiated a lease agreement for the credit union to rent the building from him. According to the report, the initial estimated cost to set up the northern branch on the same site was $528,000, but when the project was completed, the final cost was $2.3 million.

Activist Marsha Hinds-Layne, the spokesperson for a group dubbed ‘Concerned Members of the Credit Union’, was among those voicing displeasure during the meeting.
    JB Simpson Rentals

Speaking on the report, an incensed Hinds-Layne told Barbados TODAY that for years her group had been paying attention to some questionable developments within the credit union. She claimed that each time they raised those concerns they were dismissed, so a forensic audit of the opening of the Mile-and-a-Quarter branch was triggered last year.

During last weekend’s AGM, Hinds-Layne attempted to move a motion calling for the strengthening of the by-laws to be in line with the recommendations of the forensic audit and for term limits to be introduced. However, that was deemed to be inappropriately proposed.

Hinds-Layne insisted that term limits were particularly necessary because, for far too long, there has been a revolving door of the same individuals allegedly “enabling and turning a blind eye” to what was taking place within the movement.

Some of the key recommendations in the document speak to the credit union’s limited governance oversight when it comes to money. In terms of project management, it suggested that they should sign and clearly define specific internal roles and responsibilities for the management of capital projects; and develop capabilities to facilitate the assignment of qualified and experienced Public Worker’s Co-operative Credit Union Ltd. project managers for all major capital projects.

Hinds-Layne believes that the Mile-and-a-Quarter situation was a snapshot of a general issue in the credit union. This was a point supported on Page 16 of the report, which suggested that there were systemic issues with internal control.

This internal control, the report stated, was not robust, resulting in “non-compliance to approved policies and procedures, unclear reporting structures and inadequate document retention”. There were also gaps in the procurement policy manual, the report indicated.

Hinds-Layne urged Barbadians to pay attention to what is taking place within their financial institutions, as she drew reference to the collapse of CLICO International Life Insurance.

“I think what has happened is the growth of the credit union has outstripped our ability to be able to think about the management that needs to be in place to make it a safe organization. So, we’re much bigger and we’re doing much more than the laws and accountability mechanisms that we had in place anticipated, and there are a few individuals who are using that for their personal gain. It is unfortunate and it is disappointing,” she said.

Explaining why she decided to speak publicly on the matter, Hinds-Layne said that after a decade of fighting for stronger mechanisms to ensure that the savings of Barbadians are safeguarded in the credit union, she has no hope it will get better.

“Over those ten years I have been shot down at meetings, I have been dismissed, I have been disrespected — you name it, and I have faced it in the name of the people of the Barbados Public Workers’ Credit Union. . . . There is a group of people who have decided that it is their right to use the money of the credit union with abandon. You’re not supposed to ask them about it, you’re not to question them about it and when you do that, you’re the one who is offensive. And I have no evidence that that is stopping so that is why we have to speak about it in public now. For ten years I have been trying. People can go back and get the [minutes] of the annual general meetings; this has not now started,” she said.

Barbados TODAY reached out to immediate past president Glendon Belle, who presided over the credit union during the period of the audit report, but he declined to address the issues.

“I am not in that official capacity anymore. I don’t have anything to say. You may want to speak to the CEO or current president,” he said.

When contacted, newly-installed president Lydia Lewis said a board meeting was planned for this Thursday and she would “get back” to Barbados TODAY then.

Former director Cedric Murrell also declined to comment.

“I will not be able to speak to you because I’m not the president and I don’t hold a post on the Board any longer,” he said.

Although admitting that he was a Board member during the period under review, Murrell said he was “not a principal player”.

Group Chief Executive Officer Glyne Harrison said that under the credit union’s governance framework, the matter falls under the direct remit of the supervisory committee and he was not authorized to speak on it. (KC)

Source: Barbados Today

14. Uh-oh! Wuh uh tell yuh bout dem meetings.

De woman Marsha Hinds-Layne just confirmed EVERY DAMN THING this bits and pieces cunt has been saying about these meetings.

Bloody WORD FOR WORD!

Even in the REVOLUTIONARY MOVEMENT there is a hierarchical structure of PUFFED UP PIGS, who feed greedily from the trough!

Put my name pon DAT!

15. DE CUNT here WOKE and watching a discussion on elitism on American tv!

MSNBC

Murdaaaaah!

DE CREDIT UNION DEGENERATES INTO ANIMAL FARM!

Now…. how do you think that happened?

16. Should we blame the politicians Donna?

17. “Caddle said that based on the Barbados Statistical Services’ most recent Labour Force Survey for the quarter ended September 30, unemployment was now 12.4 per cent.”

they know they are OUTRIGHT LYING and LIE anyway..

but won’t they be really SHOCKED when most people move away from that shite system…so they can lie about figures every day and as much as they want, no one will care.

18. reversing the lie…so why did it need to be amended if it did not impact the subjects involved…so without the sub-clause exactly what would have happened…

“At its sitting on Monday, the the Senate amended the Debt Settlement (Arrears) Bill 2021
    inserting the sub-clause: “For the avoidance of doubt, Paragraph 1C does not apply to salaries, pensions, gratuities, or any other emolument payable to public officers or any person employed by the Government.”

19. Oh dear me!

🎵Bits of paper
    (Bits of paper)
    Lying on the ground
    (Lying on the ground)
    Makes the place untidy
    (Makes the place untidy)
    PICK DEM UP!
    (Pick dem up!) 🎶

Dem bits an’ pieces uh paper does got on de clues fuh de TREASURE HUNT! I call dem a TREASURE TROVE OF INFORMATION.

It’s all about HUMAN NATURE.

Human beings are the same wherever you travel in the world.

That is why I can sit in my armchair knitting like Miss Marple and use my little “grey” cells like Hercule Poirot and solve The Case of the Elusive Utopia!

It can only be found in La La Land!

I just saved myself thousands of dollars of airfare!

20. There are two types of Joy
    one is when you feel the heat you go into an air conditioned room to cool down and chill out
    the other is when you feel heat you stay in the heat feeling hotter experiencing everything and also a state of being with God

Barbadians need to turn up the heat and challenge Government Courts and Businesses for all it’s faults as customers and stakeholders who have been shortchanged and given poor service and even robbed by corruption in office

when united the rich will help the plight of the poor as one

21. David,

Why are you asking questions of the bits and pieces cunt?

I am a simple, stay-at-home cuntry girl. I only got one piece of paper from the university. I read books, not write them.

What do I know?

You should address your questions to The Royal Weeeeeee probably to be found on a search plane to Utopia.

22. Did Louis XIV of France, the Sun King, produce an official budget accessible to the ordinary people? No, there you go.

Then why should our Supreme Leader behave differently? Isn’t she the Paramount Leader of the Caribbean, that is, of all the Sunshine Islands?

Seriously, it is quite enough for the IMF to know the facts. The uninoculated dumb masses can’t understand numbers anyway and are even less able to understand any budget.

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, 🤣🤣🤣 this is classic Blogmaster speak: “Should we blame the politicians …?”

‘Mais oui, of course why don’t you!’

As the lady graciously reminded us ‘the more we to strive to break the old master’s chains the more we wrap other chains with OUR locks tighter in place’ … or as Orwell famously wrote (or Achebe in ‘Things Fall Apart’, in a vastly different setting but not dissimilar concept) it’s Animal Farm redux!

So blame the pols for institutionializing bad practices for the same citizens for whom they act to win favor … clearly ‘these’ greedy politically minded people are to blame!

I only have one question for you bro: … is everyone walking on two legs or are some on four with compadres aiming to stand tall on two!

Just trying to determine who is who…. or is that who is more woke than whom! 🤣😇

Ah well, for centuries we adopted the frenchies vernacular to sound … well .. ‘avant garde’ right so ‘plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose’…. but in simple Bajan: ‘bare rass…. why yah don’t mind yah effing bizness and let me get mine too, steeuepse’!

Yep David, blame the pols…. ‘we’ have nothing to do with it!

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

It is time for a National Moral Rearmament. There seems to be no institution that is immune from corruption.

Was it better under colonialism and the Christian code of ethics? Do the new cults of humanism and secularism usher in the old notion that man is born in sin?
    Just thinking aloud.

25. @Dee Word

Human behaviour/psychology is complex.

26. Oh dear! THIS WRITER has reviewed her contibutions to the scholarly debate and wishes to post some amendments.

My response to the suggestion that I should fear a name change to Melda of obeah wedding plan fame should have been,

“I DON’T DO OLD FARTS!”

And instead of “De credit union degenerates into Animal Farm” replace with “De credit union DEVOLVES into Animal Farm”. Dat got better rhythm.

AND instead of “Why are you asking questions of the bits and pieces cunt” read “Why are you SEEKING ANSWERS from a cuntry cunt?”

Dat is more literary.

AND FINALLY, I asking de blogmaster permission to change my name to CUNTRY CUNT.

Dah got a nice ring to it!

Now….I gotta run off tuh de credit union. On second thoughts, I prefer to save my money wid Republic Bank.

Murdaaaaah!

It is not only “Capitalism gone mad!”

27. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 9:14 AM
    Not at all. The simple mind knows how to manipulate his less aware fellow citizens. He can be very creative in designing schemes to rob his neighbour. I encountered one yesterday on one of my rare weekly outings. My biggest fear is that it will escalate.

28. @Vincent

Yours is a generalization.

29. @ DPD
    How can we get any change when we are constantly finding excuses for corruption. In almost puerile efforts we try to pretend that all of the issues that are wrong comes with the territory. As Ralph Jemmott correctly stated we come with “ happy talk” and attempt to shoot down serious analysis with often dubious and basically useless comparisons.
    I was told a long time ago that if you ask a Bajan about the bad roads , he will ask you if you ever went to some other island and had a look at their bad roads.
    Not long ago we use to defend rising gun crime by comparing it with Jamaica!
    So, if the Trini politicians teef 10 billion; the Jamaicans teef 20 billion and we own teef 16 billion, we good!
    So the next time yuh driving in Bim and bad road mash up yuh shocks and it cost yuh a few hundred dollars , just smile and say if you were in some other island de roads worse.
    BTW there is a violent crime in the USA every 24 seconds and a murder 🌿every 35 seconds , so if 24 Bajans get kill in one year day really don’t no big thing…..,..,,,

30. Ignore that symbol, fingers acted on their own !!!!

31. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Donna at 9: 21 AM

Republic Bank. Good choice.

32. Should read: so if 24 Bajans are murdered in one year dat really ain’t no big thing.

33. @William

Yours is an exaggeration.

34. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 9 : 29 AM

Yes . It is. After reviewing the information on this blog and other sources one is allowed to draw conclusions. That is the scientific approach. No one believes it will hold in all cases. Not all swans are white. BUT generally they are.

35. @Vincent

The blogmaster holds a different view. The prevailing ethos suggests to big of a chunk of the citizenry is disengaged mired in cynicism and apathy.

36. “As Ralph Jemmott correctly stated we come with “ happy talk” and attempt to shoot down serious analysis with often dubious and basically useless comparisons.

and they still sound and look sstupid doing it…why not set a new example by being the LEADERS who change course, and that catalyst to create a better system…instead the ignorant sounding…., wuh we only tief 16 billion…DLP, Jamaica Trinidad and US does tief more…that’s the degraded and small time mentalities of FOLLOWERS…

37. @ Donna

‘Cliques’ are often found in organisations, even nursery schools’ PTAs.

A few years ago I attended my son’s nursery school’s PTA, at which the outgoing committee presented their ‘end of tenure reports and financial statements, after which they announced the election date for the new committee.
    Obviously, because of the time in the evening, several parents would’ve attended the meeting dressed in their ‘work attire.’

I saw this guy wearing ‘shirt and tie,’ whom I later realised was an insurance salesman, going around to those parents dressed in ‘ties or skirt suits,’ while ignoring all other parents in casual wear. After the PTA, he held a ‘meeting’ with the ‘chosen ones.’ It became obvious to me he was ‘strategically’ placing himself to become president and his ‘chosen ones’ to hold key positions on the PTA.

Parents, who held certain jobs and dressed in a ‘particular way,’ congregated together…….. during and after meetings, which I thought would lead to biased endorsements of candidates for positions on the committee.

At the next meeting, the guy told us he was elected ‘president,’ and the voting process was conducted in such a manner that the ‘chosen’ were obviously elected to key positions, which proved my assumptions were correct.

The new president and his committee operated as ‘law unto themselves,’ only seeking help from parents outside their clique, when it was time for ‘dirty work.’
    At games, for example, ‘the elites’ collected money, while other parents fried fish cakes, washed up dirty pans or cleaned the compound.

And, this is just a simple example of a nursery school PTA.

38. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 9 :45 AM

You may be right;but that is their democratic choice. Democracy is the best form of government. It does not conform to everyone thinking alike.

39. I feel like I have missed something. What exactly does a former administration of the GoB not PAYING suppliers in a timely fashion have to do with the Procurement Bill. Failure to remit monies they deducted from public servants paycheques, has nothing to do with Procurement. This new Bill is 160+ pages and I admit to only skimming it, but what does failure to pay for Lands acquired by GoB have to do with their method of Procurement.

“GOVERNMENT IS FORKING OUT $49 million every month to settle $1.9 billion in outstanding arrears for goods and services supplied to Government under the previous administration.
    Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn made this disclosure in the House of Assembly yesterday. He said the payments, which were due to end in September of 2022, included “about $6 million in public servants’ National Insurance contributions “that were not paid” and about “$1 million every month for diesel used to keep the bus service and Sanitation Service Authority trucks operating during the pre-2018 period before the Mia Amor Mottley administration took office.

For the maffematics to work, Min Straughn is saying these payments have been ongoing for a long time? So what are the Series J Bonds for? And why do payments end in Sept 2022. Or do we have two separate sets of $1.9B payables?

40. @ David
    Nothing I said is an exaggeration. Even you , one time I sent a post concerning our homeland . And your response was what happening in the “ neck of your (mine) woods”. You never addressed my submission. You did it on several occasions.
    Always remember: “The faintest ink is better than the best memory.”
    BTW : What is this “ big chunk” of citizenry now “ disengaged mired in cynicism and apathy “,
    You mean there are disappointed having been fed a Covenant of Hope that is now hopelessness. They are not cynical they are trying to survive an epidemic and the job losses. Barbadians are still expressing great optimism because they know the Dees and Bees will as always look after themselves. You taking a six for a nine.
    I don’t know if you have become cynical but if you are it’s understandable.
    Peace

41. It is an exaggeration, sensible are concerned with potholes, violent crime etc, from time to time sensible people have to provide context because some of you paint Barbados as the worse country on earth.

42. @ NO
    That’s the kind of BS they feeding the people.,All governments leave debts to be paid by the new administration.
    But “if you can’t dazzle them with brilliance baffle them with bullshit”
    Did the BLP not leave a prison to be paid for ?? Before that the DLP left a big bullet loan to be paid for. I think that one was from Credit Suisse.

43. @ David
    “ some you paint Barbados as the worst country on earth.”
    There you go again putting me in some negative group. Fortunately you can’t bring any proof that will justify putting William Skinner in there.
    Expected ……….,,.,.,,.. bears out my point never can answer the frigging question always jumping about.
    One love my Brother.

44. Froth at the keyboard all you want, BU Archives safe.

All the best for the season to you and family .

45. Sooooo….I am thinking the island had $3.8B in outstanding payables….which were split by priority(?) into TWO $1.9B parcels. The latter parcel, unable to make the payments on, they titled “Arrears” and the Series J Bonds were issued to cover them. The former parcel is part of what they have been paying off, like the small operation I have ownership in, which was owed $50K by the Transport Board. “Talk” said suppliers to the QEH and the ‘drug plan’ were owed many millions. Ditto for fuel suppliers as echoed by Min Straughn.
    This also makes sense in that (1900M/49M = 38.7 months) and the same 38.7 months x $6M/month (NIS number provided) = $230M, which is the number Sen Walcott provided in the Senate for arrears to the NIS. Suggests the NIS total was $460M and it was split in two?

46. David,

They just cannot understand that we dream the same dreams but when we awaken we live in reality.

There is no magic wand that can change human nature. SoAnd that is why the war will never be over no matter who is in charge.

Some want an immediate revolution. Others, like myself, prefer gradual reform.

Because after the revolution, the same human nature remains.

And there may only be a brief respite before it rears its ugly head again.

Better to stop frothing and develop a cool and calm attitude!

And wrest a little bit more ground from the “criminal minorities and their black-faced traitors in parliament” .

Gradual change is more likely to stick. Revolution often takes one around in a BLOODY circle.

From Republic Bank to the People’ s Credit Union and back goes the Cuntry Cunt with her two pennies!

No interest but at least the principle is relatively safe, nuh Vincent?

47. @NO

Are you happy thr government has been transparent demystifying this issue for thr public? Would the opportunity for Q&A fueled a national debate help in this regard?

48. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, brother you are hilarious. Man, talk about *an apple a day…” this old fart (who can only look and admire, dese days @Ms D 😇) gets to delay his doc visits (well the physical ones anyhow) with a healthy dose of BU laffs and great posts from interesting people… and you Sir David, tops that!

So both @Vincent and @Skinner eloquently recap unequivocal truths (truisms surely) and you call them ‘generalizations’ and ‘exaggerations’ … fah trute !

Alright den.

@Vincent, I’ll say this… that ability “to manipulate his less aware fellow citizens” is some genome that is part of us from birth.

Years ago my 7 years old relative was CONNED by a fellow ‘sept-agarten’ when they exchanged game cards each holding some with the plan to return simultaneously … and then the lad encouraged
    my relative to lend him back his set as he had something else to do … and of course never did he see any of the cards again!

That’s a twist on man being born ‘in sin’…. man (and woman) is born to connive and contrive, is as apt!

But according to the blogmaster you are ‘generalizing’ 🤦🏾‍♂️

And @Skinner… no story to tell there other than …preach on. …Not sure what’s exaggerated about what u say.

Anyhow peoples I gone!

@David, I’ll come back to more of your poignant, interesting and often very funny blues chasing post lata.

Peace out.

49. @Dee Word

Your palaver is noted.