The Case of Barbados Underground

A few months ago the blogmaster relented to a request from two post-grad students and shared a few insights. The result in the paper attached – CASE STUDY REPORTWhat are the motivating factors for news blogging? The Case of Barbados Underground.

Unfortunately the information sharing from Barbados Underground was not as free flowing as should have been ideal but the paper is a fair effort. The reason the blogmaster agreed to share – there is an urgent need for more bloggers to setup on platforms like WordPress to secure more control of the content and therefore be protected from the tentacles of the establishment. Posters to Facebook, Twitter and other social media platforms are beginning to battle with interference from the publishers AND we know how easy it is to report a post on those platforms.

The blogmaster takes this opportunity to express deep appreciation to all contributors and commenters to Barbados Underground from the inception (est 2007).

See paper attached:

<object class="wp-block-file__embed" data="https://barbadosunderground.net/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/case-study-report-motivating-factors-for-news-blogging.pdf&quot; type="application/pdf" style="width:100%;height:600px" aria-label="Embed of <br><strong>The case of Barbados Underground.
The case of Barbados Underground.
Download

266 thoughts on “The Case of Barbados Underground

1. @WURA-War-on-U,
    This is one area in which our country should be able to exploit without any hard graft. That successive governments have chosen to sideline this golden opportunity for the masses is further prove that they, the masses, are viewed as cash cows. They exist solely to enrich the usual bastards.

It remains an enigma as to why our tourist industry which has always been an environmental, an economic and a social disaster should have been propped up at the expense of the renewable and sustainable energy sector which would have enrich the lifestyles of our masses.

2. “That successive governments have chosen to sideline this golden opportunity for the masses is further prove that they, the masses, are viewed as cash cows. They exist solely to enrich the usual bastards.”

we have been chanting on here for YEARS about the solar energy and other avenues that could enrich the general population with opportunites etc., Donville took it upon himself to find two white crooks in Canada to sell them the sun, it’s a good thing one got convicted after and ended that scam….they NEVER have the intention once they enter parliament to empower the Black/Afrikan population…that is not them, don’t matter what happens they ALWAYS push the people who elected them to the BACK and every lowlife minority marches to the front to TAKE WHAT IS NOT THEIRS…

this is what we have complained loudly about all this time and this government DOUBLED DOWN on that….to their own detriment because the PEOPLE WILL HAVE NO MORE OF IT….

we preached on here so much and for so long that some people GOT FED UP AND LEFT…but some of us WILL NOT REST UNTIL they are all in handcuffs for their crimes against Black humanity…the people have now FINALLY taken up that baton, so we can ease back and watch it play OUT….

did you see the first thing Ram did….look for something illegal and banned to push at the population …for profit…every dump she owns on the island should be SHUT DOWN for that…but it’s the people who will have to boycott all her dirty places….

did you see the first thing the two MM & MMs did…go seaching for some counterfeit vaccine to advance into the treasury at a HEAVY MARK UP TO THE POPULATOIN = taxpayers…well if that did not open people’s eyes even wider about the things that crawl into the parliament…nothing else will.

that stranglehold of oppression and stagnation to the majority population HAS TO BE BROKEN while Covid is RAGING..

3. did you notice their tourism mouthpiece regaling us with SHITE…that one plane KLM flying in from Amsterdam will present opportunities…but for whom, the lowpaying salaries and disenfranchisement/oppression in the hotel industry will still be the central focus and directed at the helpless, so who will benefit, that false narrative is meant to give hope to the USUAL CROOKS…and not the majority, no matter what they say…

and still we hear NOTHING about diversifying the economy to enrich and EMPOWER the majority..

the electorate has to ACT DESISIVELY…or remain in the same time warp to nowhere.

4. Repeating for clarity and correction:

the electorate has to ACT DECISIVELY, finally…or remain in the same time warp to nowhere for another 3 GENERATIONS..

5. On a personal note, I finally received a judgement in my personal injury matter…thought i should share, since was not exactly shy about exposing the length of time it took during that mindnumbing demoralizing, expensive journey..

…let’s hope i do not have ro START UP AGAIN…when those who are well known for refusing to pay even when armed with a judgement… believe that they can get away..I assure them, it’s best this ends quickly and GO AWAY…for everyone.

6. @ WURA-War-on-U October 19, 2021 6:28 AM

“….did you notice their tourism mouthpiece regaling us with SHITE…that one plane KLM flying in from Amsterdam will present opportunities…but for whom, ….”

Those few visitors coming from Europe via Amsterdam are going to find Barbados to be a rather boring and, in some cases, threatening place to relax and have fun.

Barbados is not offering value for the money the Europeans will be forking out to fly all the way to Barbados compared to what they can get in the more culturally accommodating French territories including St. Lucia.

No ‘herb’ to consume, no cultural events to attract their attention; no nudist beaches to get a full tan to show off back home without the prying eyes of beach hustlers and pretentiously prudish Bajans.

7. “Barbados is not offering value for the money the Europeans will be forking out to fly all the way to Barbados compared to what they can get in the more culturally accommodating French territories including St. Lucia.”

= no imagination or creativity..

8. @ Artax October 19, 2021 9:47 PM

It is a former “French territory” and still remains culturally Francophone compared to the hypocritically staid Anglophone Barbados, ne c’est pas!

“Chien pa fè chat!”

9. I would advise that you keep on top of the situation and do not allow too much time to elapse.

Records of judgments are known to go missing. My friend waited for a few years to seek enforcement of her divorce judgment and now, despite having copies of the court papers, cannot get the judgment enforced. The records cannot be found. This was early this year or late last year.

10. Both of you know your stuff. However, we have to admit our St Lucian neighbours have more of a cultural attachment to their Francophone neighbours then they do with their Anglophone neighbours. It is the power of language that unites them. They can communicate in patois, a language/dialect which is not practised on the English speaking islands.

11. They pay sometimes US$150 per person to test prior to arrival, they pay for their air ticket, on arrival in Barbados they are tested and then they are quarantining, sometimes with a family, in a hotel for at least 24 to 48 hours. That becomes very, very expensive for persons and then having done all that they are going into a hotel where the housekeeping staff, the kitchen staff and all of the staff servicing their needs are neither vaccinated nor tested, and what the visitors are saying is that they are not prepared to expose themselves to a level of risk that is higher than it needs to be having gone through all of that.”
    The above is attributable to the Minister of Tourism and is from an article in BT.

Seems like the Minister of Tourism is making the case for mandatory vaccines for people working in hotels, however she omitted the part where the visitors are transported to their destination by an unvaccinated taxi driver.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/10/19/travellers-anxious-about-contracting-coronavirus-in-barbados/

12. noone is paying attention to these imagination and creativity LACKING clowns…the visitors are arriving INFECTED WITH THE VIRUS AND SPREADING IT AROUND…as they have for the last TWO years, they are so full of shit that they complained BITTERLY because the hotel employees worse masks…and DEMANDED that they took them off..

the population need to find ways and means to GET OUT of the toxic and dangerous ANTI-AFRICAN tourist industry…..and leave the tourism PIMPS aone with it…

13. “They can communicate in patois, a language/dialect which is not practised on the English speaking islands.”

and they are still a French interest.

“Chien pa fè chat!”…lol

“I would advise that you keep on top of the situation and do not allow too much time to elapse”

i don’t only have SOCIAL SECURTY NUMBERS….BANK ACCOUNT NUMBERS …MILLION DOLLAR AMOUNTS OF LAUNDERED MONEY and ADDRESSES..

and would happily post ALL OF THEM to FB…North American Blogs, EUROPEAN BLOGS… AND THE CONTINENT OF AFRIKA….

watch muh nuh…

14. Miller October 20, 2021 7:07 AM #: “It is a former “French territory” and still remains culturally Francophone compared to the hypocritically staid Anglophone Barbados, ne c’est pas!”

@ Miller

In 1674, SLU became an official French crown colony as a dependency of Martinique, while the British acquired it permanently in 1814.

SLU’s official language is English, but St. Lucians also speak ‘Kwéyòl,’ (St. Lucian patois or creole), which is commonly described as ‘broken French.’

On the other hand, Barbadians speak English and ‘Bajan,’ which is known as ‘broken English.’

It is important to note England, the ONLY European country to ‘own’ the island from 1627 until independence, played a role in influencing our language and culture. Hence, the references to ‘Little England’ and ‘broken English,’ for example.

As such, I’m trying to understand the gist of your argument, especially as it relates to, “the hypocritically staid Anglophone Barbados.”

Ma jamen wè sa avan?

15. oh…ah nearly forgot the names, the names, first names last names and middle names..

i don’t only have SOCIAL SECURTY NUMBERS….BANK ACCOUNT NUMBERS …MULTI-MILLION DOLLAR AMOUNTS OF LAUNDERED MONEY and ADDRESSES.

ask anyone on BU if I HAVE NOT POSTED THEM BEFORE…..I believe some are still being posted to FB..

they can always call my bluff and test me….would LOVE TO THROW SHIT OUT THERE….don’t need a whole lot of provocation…

lawd…

16. ARTAX
    WHY DO YOU BOTHER RESPONDING TO JACKASSES ON BU……….UNLESS YOU ARE RETIRED?
    I DO THAT ONLY WHEN I AM BORED.
    HAVING SPENT A LIFE WITH DAYS FILLED WITH WORK NOT WORKING OR WORKING MINIMALLY IS HARDER THAN TOIL.

17. @ Artax October 20, 2021 9:47 AM
    As such, I’m trying to understand the gist of your argument, especially as it relates to, “the hypocritically staid Anglophone Barbados.” (Unquote).

The “appallingly ignorant” Miller is unable to accede to your request.

Maybe your opposite number, the black Englishman from the Barbadoes Back Ivy, can assist in that respect. After all, he is the One who coined the term “Bajan Condition” to describe people who behave just like English.

Angela cox, please come to the rescue of the miller, please!

18. Sargeant October 20, 2021 8:33 AM
    I am told by a sibling there is another little twist. If someone on your flight within (I think she said 3 rows) tests positive, you are to isolate/quarantine (whatever the current term is). And they had to seek (call around) their test results after 50 hours on day 3, to avoid night #3 at hotel. Appreciate with flights arr at 2-6pm, 48 hrs can be 4pm on day 3.

19. @ Miller

If you accept “SLU is a FORMER “French territory” and still remains culturally Francophone,” I’m having difficulty understanding why you would’ve applied “hypocritical” to Barbados, when the island remains “Anglophone” under similar circumstances.

RE: “After all, he is the One who coined the term “Bajan Condition” to describe people who behave just like English.”

NO!!! The “brilliant man” often defined his ‘pseudo-psychological term,’ “the Bajan Condition,” or “psychology of the buggers,” as a “COMPOSITE SET of BEHAVIOURS” that are SYNONYMOUS with Barbadians.
    He said it’s characterized by’ stupsesing’ or ‘sucking one’s teeth,’ (an action which is a common practice in Africa, more notably in Nigeria and Ghana);

When they cannot maintain a reasonable argument or people disagree with their point of view, they resort to being abusive and obnoxious.

Or, they refer to their job and qualifications as a form of “intellectual intimidation.”

The SAME man has called BU contributors from ‘mealy mouthed keyboard warriors, buggers, semi literate appallingly ignorant buffoons that learnt by rote, idiots’……. to ‘wild beast and savages that should be in the jungle, slimy pigs, wild barking dogs, hyenas, vultures, buzzards, buzzing flies, lotus’…. simply because they either proven wrong or DID NOT AGREE with his opinions.

20. @Artax
    I think you should pen a tribute based on BU contributions to our pal hal.
    While recently reading criticism of local failures to hedge fuel prices, thoughts of @HA returned. He would have been all over that with derivative speak.
    I think your explanation of his meaning of the Bajan condition is spot on.

21. “Your main area of expertise” .

🤦🏽‍♂️

Artax is now part of an exclusive club. Show yuh papers!

Murdaaaaaah!

22. GP October 20, 2021 12:43 PM #: “SO WHAT IS YOUR MAIN AREA OF EXPERTISE SIR.”

Accounting.

NorthernObserver October 20, 2021 12:52 PM #: “I think you should pen a tribute based on BU contributions to our pal hal.”

@ NO

That task should be undertaken by any one of those BU contributors who believe the guy is “brilliant” or “has a brilliant mind.”

23. Artax
    lol…note…I was very careful to say…. “based on BU contributions”. Your steel trapped memory seems to have committed many of his more flowerful terms to instantaneous regurgitation.

24. @ Donna

Please, I’m “not (NOW, or will NEVER, EVER be) part of any exclusive club.”

I’m not prepared to ‘jump on bandwagons,’ ‘pick up other people’s fire rage,’ or ‘play favourites.’

25. Artax,

I know that very well. You play the ball and not the bowler.

That’s why we often agree.

No lies, no exaggeration, no nonsense.

And substantiating evidence!

26. NorthernObserver October 20, 2021 1:54 PM #: “Your steel trapped memory seems to have committed many of his more flowerful terms to instantaneous regurgitation.”

@ NO

I’m not purposely ‘singling him out’………. similar could be ‘said’ of ANY other contributor.

However. despite the fact he has made some excellent contributions to BU over the years, especially as it relates to pensions and the NIS…….. I’ve found him to be very hypocritical, dishonest, he often misrepresents the truth and denies ‘saying’ things he ‘said’ previously…….. characteristics he ADMONISHED other people for displaying.

Him correcting someone’s mistakes is to ‘preserve historical accuracy.” Correct his mistakes……. it’s a “gotcha moment.”

That’s the reason why I decided to record his controversial comments in my ‘official note book,’ to which I could refer, in addition to BU’s archives…… whenever the need arises.

27. I don’t have much to contribute. However, I am certain Mia will have a peaceful night. Just waiting for Tron to come along to add his two cents.

28. Your “official note book” must be a thing of beauty.
    fyi…not suggesting you were singling him out…we have all had our run-ins with @HA. And his tactics.
    Still I miss the ‘ole bugger’, not his rudeness which could be extreme, but he is more fun than many of his acolytes.

29. @ Northern Observer October 20, 2021 6:20 PM
    “Still I miss the ‘ole bugger’, not his rudeness which could be extreme, but he is more fun than many of his acolytes.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Touché! Me, too!

The guy was a constant source of mirth and intellectual fencing.

‘If only’ he had pursued the investigative path from his London flat which leads to the White Oak money tree involving his Bajan bête noire he could have earned his weight in journalistic gold and achieve his long-sought revenge through the schadenfreude of a fall of his hand-waving preaching president even ‘if only’ in the eyes of the international community against corruption.

30. Miller…Hal did miss more than one opportunity to do some world class investigative journalism or train a few young people to do it, especially what he asked me for and i presented what i could to him…info to him re personal injury cases in Barbados, that was his opportunity to shine along with pursuing the corruption angle..but he turned viperish for no reason……..to each his own…

31. Pacha…we were talking about the ancient Bantu people recently and here is more information about them, just as thought, many of us are from the original Bantu bloodlines kidnapped from the continent…what i like about this presenter is what she does not say one should most listen to.

https://youtu.be/VNqSCr6x36I

32. Wait did not know that HA was missed by so many or in Bajan parlance stuck in the BU talking heads throat
    Well lol I ‘ll be dam off to another social media platform to let him know that he is missed
    But as HA would say that is a Bajan Condition

The blogmaster dares you to join the discussion.