Lisa Cummins, Minister of Tourism

Two things occurred which were reported in the press on June 30th, 2021 that makes one wonder what the vision for the Tourism Industry is and if there is synchronization of the plans and actions in the various departments of Government. First was an article in which it was reported that the Minister of Tourism Lisa Cummins spoke to the workers of the Grantley Adam’s International Airport about branding. Second was the delivery of the Minister in the Ministry of Finance, Ryan Straughn who stated that government had undertaken debt of $ 80 Million of the Needham’s Point Holdings Ltd which operates the Hilton Barbados Hotel by issuing a new series of B Bonds to bondholders.

These 2 seemingly unrelated occurrences makes one question the leadership at the Ministry of Tourism and the action of Mr. Straughn with regards of the plans for the industry if one takes it as a given that a vision is translated into measurable plans of action or a roadmap to achieve desired goals.

Related Links:

What are the objectives of the Ministry of Tourism?

Having not seen the written plans of the Ministry of Tourism, there is that degree of difficulty to state the current purpose of that entity. No one knows the purpose of the tourism industry in Barbados as its objectives or goals are not listed on the website which is shared with the Ministry of International Transport. Only the purpose of the Ministry of International Transport is listed.

The vision that should be listed on the Website should be nothing less than to eradicate poverty by a specific date. Tourism should be of service to the people of Barbados and the development of the island, otherwise what is its purpose?

The number one revenue earner in Barbados is tourism. It must serve some development goal of Barbados. Poverty eradication must be the number one development goal of Barbados. Tourism is best fitted as a tool of development to eradicate poverty in Barbados. Some persons believe that poverty cannot be eradicated. Nelson Mandela stated “Poverty is not an accident. Like slavery and apartheid, it is man-made and can be removed by the actions of human beings.”

With the amount of money that has been earned in Barbados since the late 70’s, there should be no poverty here. A portion of the earnings for tourism must be used to eradicate poverty and the Unit which falls under the Prime Minister’s office should be moved to the Ministry of Tourism. One must agree that the poor housing stock of the lower classes in Barbados is a direct result of poverty and we must set out to change this as climate change may bring hurricanes to our shores each year.

Barbados Tourism Statistics – Historical Data
YearSpending ($)% of Exports
Barbados Tourism Statistics 1995-2021 | MacroTrends

International tourism receipts are expenditures by international inbound visitors, including payments to national carriers for international transport. These receipts include any other prepayment made for goods or services received in the destination country. They also may include receipts from same-day visitors, except when these are important enough to justify separate classification. For some countries they do not include receipts for passenger transport items. Data is in current U.S. dollars.

Government Contracts can be used to eradicate Poverty.

Despite the focus on tourism, the Government of Barbados also has a major role to play in poverty eradication. Its current policy of awarding contracts to a select few Barbadians has perpetrated the existence of the very wealthy and poverty. If wealth can be created by the government awarding of its contracts, then poverty can be eradicated using the system to award the contracts to a company that is owned by the people.

The Barbados Brand

On 30th June, the Minister was reported as asking the workers of the Grantley Adams International Airport to “protect it as a brand of excellence and world class hospitality.” However, all the talk about a branding exercise and creating a new slogan, and now asking persons to protect a brand is meaningless if the intent is not to be translated into a physical component and its use to assist in the development of Barbados.

If Barbados really is a brand as is constantly touted and not just a travel destination, isn’t it time for us to see hotels and other establishments in Barbados bearing the name the Barbados Brand. Isn’t it time that we see the translation from nebulous concepts and costly slogans which have nothing to do with reality in Barbados?

The Hilton brand was started in 1969. Commercial tourism in Barbados predates 1887 when the Crane Hotel was built. Isn’t it time to have a physical brand on the ground?

Perhaps the best action in term of branding would be to relieve the contract holders of the Hilton Hotel, and brand that along with several of the smaller hotels, B&B’s and guest houses as the Barbados Brand. This is where one can view the services of the Pom Marine coming into play by standardizing the training of these establishments under one umbrella which defines the physical brand. There would be no need for the government of Barbados to pay the Hilton Hotel for the use of its name.

To the Minister of Economic Affairs, does the signed contract between the government and the company which runs the Hilton Hotel align with the actions that you have taken? Needham’s Point Ltd. had 10 years to get their act together and now you have given them 10 more years to reap super profits off the backs of the taxpayers in Barbados. Clearly this decision was not well thought out and it is certainly not an expression of confidence in developing a physical Barbados brand hotel. You should have made the agreement null and void and together with the Minister of Tourism begin the conceptualization of the Barbados brand hotels. What occurred is not good stewardship.

To the Minister of Tourism, there is work to be done! When will you start?

167 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – Where is the Vision for Tourism?”

1. William Skinner Avatar

@ Heather Cole
    Here is the plan in a nutshell:
    COVID subsides and or becomes under control. The tourists start coming back.
    That’s it !

2. I think you mean where is the vision for anything besides Liam begging?

Not just tourism….

3. *loan begging

4. Almost a week after Elsa visit
    The bigger question which should be on the mind of the govt of Barbados and the people
    What plans are being drawn up which can serve purpose in bringing most barbadians out of poverty
    What if the tourism industry does not rebound to levels of sustainability
    Then what?

5. Tourism cannot be singularly handled by any ‘government.’ If Barbados wants to continue being dependent on the tourist industry as the main source of economic income, then the private sector tourism businesses must become involved in the development and promotion of tourism. They should be making coordinated recommendations to ‘government’ for improvements in the sector.

‘GEMS’ is a reminder that ‘government’s’ role in the tourism and hospitality industry should be confined to, for example, encouraging investment, particularly from the private sector; implementing policy initiatives to support the tourism sector; marketing and tourist promotion plans; development of tourist attractions; providing support for events and festivals, etc.

As such, it is my opinion hotels “bearing the name the Barbados Brand” should be a concept facilitated by ‘government’ policies, but driven by the private sector.
    Unfortunately, hotel owners seem not to be creative or innovative, preferring instead to controlling successive administrations into providing them ‘hand outs.’ each time there is a ‘downturn’ in tourist arrivals…….. or issuing subtle threats of closure if they’re not given ‘their way.’

Although I do not approve of the late ‘Butch’ Stewart’s method of conducting business (n.b. Sandals collected and withheld Antigua & Barbuda’s sales tax; paying $12 million to the Turks & Caicos government as part a corruption investigation), or the level of generous tax concessions he was granted by regional ‘governments,’ I have to agree with William Skinner that ‘Butch’ was innovative enough to create all-inclusive resorts ‘bearing the Jamaican brand,’ which he was able to successfully market and sell to several regional territories and as far as Florida……… while maintaining its ‘Jamaican heritage.’ Its managers, first choice breakfast and alcoholic beverages are Jamaican.

Rather than being similarly innovative and create a ‘Barbadian brand and exporting it regionally and internationally, our local hotel owners prefer asking for ‘government handouts, ‘bellyaching’ about Sandals’ concessions; fighting to privatize the beaches; and are hellbent on making life extremely difficult for beach vendors

As it relates to ‘control,’ could you imagine that, in 2021, we seem reluctant to officially inform the management of Sandy Lane there are qualified local and regional individuals who can manage various hotel departments efficiently, rather than applying for work permits to bring in expatriates from UK, America, France or Germany.

6. Our tourists will return in droves very soon thanks to our government’s great vaccination campaign.

I may not reveal anything specific to you, but we will soon have a lot of vaccine coming our way – thank you Supreme Leader!

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    “Rather than being similarly innovative and create a ‘Barbadian brand and exporting it regionally and internationally, our local hotel owners prefer asking for ‘government handouts, ‘bellyaching’ about Sandals’ concessions; fighting to privatize the beaches; and are hellbent on making life extremely difficult for beach vendors”
    The Barbados traditional private sector is an economic predator. Rather than abandon the predatory habits of their grandfathers , the white new corporate sector is just as predatory.
    I have said on BU on many occasions that we are constantly making excuses for the private sector , without understanding that it relentlessly engages in economic terrorism against the economic interest of the state.
    The latest attempts at sabotage being the threat to “ close “ their hotels if government does not give them everything they want. Imagine in the midst of a pandemic, we have major economic players , in our major industry, threatening a to sabotage government efforts.
    In the meantime Sandals was meeting with American Airlines, and negotiating to ensure that its product is given respect.
    In other words Sandals said to AA that if there are no travelers AA would be out of business.
    We don’t have to agree with everything Sandals does , as you said, but we need to look at its success and learn.
    Imagine being in the tourism for decades and can’t even come up with an attractive slogan.
    Shameful, however the apologists choose to look at it.

8. Two things quit building houses with eaves, second until I dont have to be tested before and after flight , no quarantine , not being able to eat and drink on a plane I am afraid even though I look forward to going down , I will wait .

9. Never thought that I would hear the blp minions telling govt to learn from Sandals
    Well we’ll well
    What next
    How about givt releasing its iron fist on the Sandals Paradise Beach project at a time when barbadians need jobs and govt is in no way able to provide any

10. Nathan 'Jolly' Green Avatar
    Nathan ‘Jolly’ Green

You must remember it is not the aim of any left wing government to cure poverty. They create poverty to control the masses it is left wing policy to make everyone super reliant on government, hand outs, social housing, feeding programs, they love them because the people become so reliant that eventually it will become a one party state. That will kill tourism and bring about a fall as is seen in Venezuela.

As for suspending agreements, that will be a killer for commerce and will bring about a failure in investment. Beware of any such suggestions.

11. What is Barbados living wage
    How can any one expect to live off peanuts wages and come out of the grips of poverty
    8dollars an hour takes no one any where in an economy where high prices digs holes into people’s pocket

12. As poverty increases a known fact that is being said and seen is that crime and violence increase
    The unemployment numbers in Barbados should be of a massive concern
    People turning to govt for help is a crying call that people need more help than govt hand outs
    The ash fall and the freak no name storm along with Elsa left such a statement as many unemployed took refuge in doing menial Labour as a short term advantage

13. angela cox July 8, 2021 10:43 AM

Never thought that I would hear the blp minions telling govt to learn from Sandals
    Well we’ll well
    What next
    $$$$$$$$$$$$$

If you mean Artax, tell me wuh part you read that the man said the government should learn from Sandals?

I read he said he don’t agree with the concessions, but instead of the private sector complaining and begging for hand outs, they ain’t innovative enough to come up with a brand like Scandals.

Yuh mean you can’t help telling lies?

14. $$$$$$$$$$$$

If you mean Artax, tell me wuh part you read that the man said the government should learn from Sandals?

I read he said he don’t agree with the concessions, but instead of the private sector complaining and begging for hand outs, they ain’t innovative enough to come up with a brand like Scandals.

Yuh mean you can’t help telling lies?
    Xxxx
    Lol OK Artax

15. Here we go again.

16. Ok here I go again
    Investigation is revealing the govt spent 22million to clean up the ash
    Meanwhile govt of SVG stated that their recovery efforts would cost 30million BTW it seems like or 166 have mauby pockets and champagne taste

17. @Lawson
    “second until I dont have to be tested before and after flight”

It’s not that kind of test.. but since you are so afraid.. use protection

18. PM calls for change to finance criteria

Following the passage of Hurricane Elsa just over a week ago, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley is again making the push for a change in the criteria for access to international concessional financing, stressing that vulnerabilities to climate change must be a factor.
    “There needs to be that level of blended finance but more and more because of the absence of fiscal space in our countries, the need for more grant funds because loans will only increase our debt to GDP ratio and make it more difficult for us to pursue the Sustainable Development Goals, which are the essence of our development policy as nation states… Now, the cost of capital therefore ought to be as concessional as possible and the only way that is going to happen is if we start to look at what is the real vulnerability of nation states.
    “Now if we accept that the vulnerability of states is germane to what you’re doing, then how can it not be germane to the international financial institutions,” said Mottley.
    She made the comments during the hosting of a joint virtual press conference with COP 26 President Alok Sharma, at Ilaro Court yesterday.
    Additionally, the Prime Minister said natural disaster clauses, such as the one embedded in Barbados’ restructured domestic and international debt, must now be a commonplace measure going forward.
    “So, it is against that background that I asked you to recognise that the opening up of fiscal space and the use of innovative financial instruments as well as innovative financial clauses like the natural disaster clauses that the Barbados Government has put in our debt, to be able to deal with the recovery effort from climatic events such as Elsa, that these are not known to be an isolated event,” said Mottley.
    “A borrower and a lender need certainty and if you don’t have the certainty as to how you will treat to the debt after a climatic event, then you are at risk of default, and it would seem to us that there is a greater benefit to providing that certainty through natural disaster clauses that speak specifically to our countries and how lenders will react to the face of an event, rather than leaving it to serendipity,” she added.
    Mottley further disclosed that Barbados’ ambitious
    goal of being 100 per cent fossil fuel free by 2030 could be adjusted based on progress by 2025. However, she made it clear that at the very least, Barbados could reduce emissions from 7.7 tonnes per person per year, to 2.3 tonnes. She also committed Barbados to the goal of 35 per cent reduction in business-as-usual emissions by 2025, a position which is expected to be doubled by the turn of the new decade.
    She noted that due to the recent back-to-back economic shocks, most impactful of which was COVID-19, Barbados’ climate resilience aspirations had been hurt.
    “The various exogenous shocks have left us more beleaguered economically and financially than we would have liked, but that does not mean that we are going to allow them to keep us down. The reality is we are making a case for access to blended resources more grant resources as I’ve said and more concessional resources, recognising that vulnerability ought to be one of the serious criteria used,” she said.
    (CLM)

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

And if yall didn’t TIEF SO MANY BILLIONS out of the economy……there would be a cushion for shocks, but no yall tief and launder, tief and launder…yall are all responsible for the billion dollar debts…since ya believe that it’s only you and minorities should benefit from cash flow generated by BLACK BODIES…

you tief it, IT’S YOUR DEBT…both DBLP and minorities….

20. ‘Ashfall windfall’: Govt’s critics go after $22 m volcano cleanup bill
    The Mia Mottley administration has been challenged to live up to its campaign promise of transparency and explain the massive cleanup campaign that followed the eruption of St Vincent’s La Soufriere volcano. Price tag: $22,153,875.
    Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley on Thursday told Government to stop hiding behind a robust public relations machinery and provide details in the form of a breakdown of the spending.
    He was joined by Democratic Labour Party leader Verla DePeiza who labelled the spent funds an “ashfall windfall”.
    Lawmakers on Tuesday approved the supplementary financing from the Ministry of Finance of $13,278,978 to the Ministry of Transport, Works and Water Resources that hired hundreds of workers to remove the ash from roads and buildings.
    While opposition politicians are demanding a more detailed breakdown of the $13 million, they said they are befuddled by a further $9 million allocated to 17 other ministries to carry out the same type of work.
    The extra spending includes more than $3.5 million to the Ministry of Education, $1 million to the Ministry of Tourism, $528,955 to the Prime MInister’s Office, $495,836 to the Attorney General and $464,294 to the Ministry of International Business.
    When contacted on Thursday, Finance Minister Ryan Straughn indicated that he was already on a call, simultaneously preparing for Thursday’s weekly meeting of Cabinet and would try to respond. He had not returned the call up to the time of publication.
    Bishop Atherley called on the ministers entrusted with the additional money to account for how it was spent.
    “I don’t know why that would have been,” he said. “If you are saying to me that some of the cleanup work occasioned by the ashfall would have been entered into by these ministries themselves and the properties for which they are responsible, then I have to ask if the monies requested by public works and transport did not incorporate those works as well.”
    “In the case of the Ministry of Tourism, the airport may have needed some cleanup work and stuff subsequent to the ashfall, but would not the monies voted to public works have paid for the labour that did that up there? The same would relate to the Ministry of Industry and International Business. One would have to get some further information as to how the Prime Minister’s office incurred a debt of about half-million dollars.”
    Despite giving a brief report to Parliament on Tuesday, said Bishop Atherley, Minister of Transport, Works and Maintenance Ian Gooding-Edghill also ought to account for his ministry spending as even the monies spent over on labour alone for cleaning the streets were well millions short of the $13 million figure.
    He added that since the 2008-2018 DLP administration which was riddled with accusations of economic mismanagement, the electorate has been demanding transparency, which the Labour Party has so far been unable to deliver.
    “I am not satisfied that there is the kind of enhanced level of transparency as would have been expected by a people who voted for the Barbados Labour Party 30-nil,” said Bishop Atherley.
    “I think that the Barbados Labour Party has made sure that they have controlled the messages through their influence in the media, their abuse of the use of the CBC [Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation] in particular and the serious communication and public relations programmes that they have mounted. A lot of that I put down to optics and public relations, the whole business of the creation of a public affairs unit when you have GIS [Government Information Service].
    “I think that this Government has told people what they wanted to hear, not necessarily what people need to know.”
    DLP president DePeiza declared that the entire ashfall issue is badly “lacking in specifics”.
    “I call it the ashfall windfall,” DePeiza told Barbados TODAY.
    “Twenty-two million dollars to clean up ash in Barbados, but we are not told how this money was spent. We know that there was a lot of ash and a concerted clean up effort and we appreciate the effort because we can see the results.
    “What the Government needs to do is explain to the people of Barbados how it cost $22 million. That really is the critical factor… don’t just tell us that the Prime Minister’s Office required $528,000, don’t just tell us that the Ministry of Tourism required $1.1 million. Don’t just tell us these figures. Explain to us how they were broken down. This was the transparency that the people of Barbados insisted that they wanted and that they must now insist that they get. What types of works? Who were the contractors? How much was paid out? We need to know.”
    Bishop Atherley noted that with the impact of Hurricane Else sure to result in further Government spending, the need for transparency is extremely high.
    He added that transparent now ought to extend to numerous other issues like the stalled Four Seasons project, the Harrison Cave handover, an ongoing bailout of the Hilton Barbados Resort and numerous other projects. (KS)

Barbados Today

21. A total of 22 million to clean up the ash fall
    Barbados has 11 parishes did it take 2 million dollars in spend to clean up each parish
    Transparency and accountability is necessary to clean up this mess of massive mad spending by govt

22. See? Plenty to investigate. Get to digging in the right places.

23. William Skinner Avatar

Sandals’ commitment
    RESORT EMBARKS ON RESTORATION PROJECT
    The Sandals Barbados team was out and about in the community before and after the passage of Tropical Storm Elsa to assist neighbours and provide road clearance as they worked to make Dover, Christ Church accessible to traffic.
    Fallen trees were the main area of focus after the storm however, in the previous weeks, the hotel commenced a community programme which included power washing the premises of nearby neighbours, repairing the road and sidewalks as well as beautifying the area with lush vegetation.
    General Manager of the Resort, Ramel Sobrino, explained that now that the Sandals South Seas Village project had been completed, he was confident that residents and the hotel team would be mutually pleased.
    “Our neighbours are a vital component of what we do. This clearing and beautification exercise is one way of giving back as when we embarked on the South Seas Village project it was with the understanding that once completed, we would restore the aesthetics of the area.
    “They (neighbours) have been so understanding through the construction process and even when there were inconveniences, they worked with us through the process; whether it was wetting the roads after work or limiting the late hours we worked. It has been a process and we are more than happy to continue to play our part with the restoration now, from both the construction as well as the impact of Elsa,” said Sobrino.
    Claudia Scott, property manager of Cherry Tree Apartments, located directly behind the resort said: “It has been difficult with the dust, the trucks and the noise. We even had booking cancellations and guests checking out prematurely in 2020.
    “However, I am happy that Sandals has worked with us and tried their best to limit the inconvenience. So to have them start the restoration and clean-up process shows a good partnership and neighbour.”
    The additional 66 rooms, 11 of which are swim-up suites, which started receiving guests from July 1, bring the total room count to 618; making Sandals the largest resort in the country.
    Two new culinary concepts have also been introduced at Sandals Royal Barbados, bringing the resort’s total restaurant count to nine. The Greenhouse, a rustic farm-to-table eatery, offers guests elegant cuisine, prepared with locally sourced meats and seafood and straight-from-the-garden fruits and vegetables.
    Heart and Sol, the resort’s café, combines the variety, speed and service of a New York-style deli with locally sourced culinary offerings for a fresh and clean alternative to sandwiches, soups, salads, energy-boosting smoothie bowls, and nutrient-packed fresh fruit and vegetable smoothies and juices.
    “It is indeed exciting times as the company expands not only in Barbados but the entire Caribbean, as we continue to welcome guests to experience the friendliness and warmth of Caribbean people,” added Sobrino. (PR)

In the meantime a MP is begging COW to cut down trees on his land that is a threat of both safety and health to people in her constituency.

24. Two more horses have been unleashed out of the govt stable…Spending Spree and
    Borrowing Spree
    Taxpayers The riders

25. @ David,

What happen on the West Coast on Sunday night ?

26. Oh and don’t forget the PR stunts come at a cost with all them consultants eating out the trough
    No transparency no accountability
    There is a new sheriff in town

27. Lol Theo glad to see you are getting a sense of humor , but your right I never use condoms visiting the island….I use a fake name

28. SCORES GO FOR CAVE THRILL
    Harrison’s Cave, described as “the jewel in the crown” of the renamed Harrison’s Cave Eco Adventure Park, attracted scores of visitors when it was reopened yesterday under new management after a prolonged closure.
    Patrons of all ages turned up at the St Thomas attraction to experience the thrill of the tram ride through the cave with its waterfalls, freshwater pools and countless stalactites and stalagmites, which in many instances have assumed shapes and forms that mimic real-life figures and features.
    Here, toddlers from the private St Shem’s Elementary School, accompanied by teachers and other school attendants, were thrilled by the underground adventure. (GC)

29. Armed bandit attacks visitors
    A British couple on holiday in Barbados were attacked by a masked man armed with a gun last Sunday night at a private home which they were renting in Lower Carlton, St James.
    Reports reaching the Saturday Sun indicated that a female was sexually assaulted while jewellery, cash and cell phones were stolen.
    Police public relations officer, Acting Inspector Rodney Inniss, confirmed the crime was under investigation.
    Sources said the heinous crime was committed while most of the country was still in a blackout and dealing with the fallout from Hurricane Elsa, which pounded Barbados two days earlier.
    Police were said to be out in Carlton and surrounding areas this week trying to get video footage.
    It is also understood that the distraught couple were relocated to a hotel by tourism officials and receiving counselling. Sources said the matter has also received the attention of Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley and Minister of Tourism Senator Lisa Cummins.
    The incident occurred at a time when the United Kingdom has placed Barbados on its green list granting permission for its citizens to travel here during the COVID-19 pandemic.
    (MB)

30. People know who this idiot is , in this awkward times somebody is trying to kill your tourism market, They should out him. How many millions in tourism dollars is this going to cost???? anyone thinking of travelling to barbados will be looking at a gated stay like in the dominican all inclusives leaving the small renters out in the cold. People will say we have had murders rapes robberies etc and got through it but now is a different time, besides all the crap you have to go through just to go on vacation because of covid and having to deal with ash seaweed and hurricanes you have an asshole giving travelers more to think about. Not just a robber but also sexual predator .We have talked about this at nauseum but for gods sake guys like him are going to stall recovery out him.

31. ” It is the second attack in less than two weeks where an alleged victim was sexually assaulted. Two Saturdays ago, a 15-year-old girl was allegedly beaten and raped while walking through a track that leads from Bayville, St Michael to Collymore Rock.”

a 15-year-old girl was allegedly beaten and raped

There have also been a handful of isolated incidents in recent times in which visitors, particularly on the South Coast, fell victim to criminals.”

32. Why, Lawson, one would be tempted to think you care!

How many relatives of yours live here exactly?

33. That is the problem with tourism. Bad news can wreck the best plans or make a bad situation even worse.

Let’s hope the police can solve these crimes quickly.

34. “Not just a robber but also sexual predator.”

hope ya doing ya part and working hard to keep the sexual predator tourists out, there are too many on the island as it is…

35. https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/07/10/authorities-help-british-guests-to-recover-from-mental-physical-harm-after-attack/
    An excerpt
    “It is the second attack in less than two weeks where an alleged victim was sexually assaulted. Two Saturdays ago, a 15-year-old girl was allegedly beaten and raped while walking through a track that leads from Bayville, St Michael to Collymore Rock.”

Just a question… Did violation of this youngster draw a commensurate response from authorities?

—-x—
    The word commensurate was chosen deliberately.

36. General comment
    Because of the frailty of tourism, it is necessary for (tourism dependent) governments to have an exaggerated response to attacks on tourists.

This immediately set up tiers of citizenship with some citizens conditioned to expect a lower level of support/response from his/her own government agencies.

Have a great day.

37. There is probably a good chance Donna that the culprit may be from another island.

38. “Did violation of this youngster draw a commensurate response from authorities?”

don’t hold your breath, they let a white UK sexual predator tourist James walk away from assaulting a grown widow couple years ago, and the trash for minorities attacked her on FB because she had him arrested………then the wicked government interfered in the case so he won’t be convicted and pay for his crimes….

39. Lawson,

Who knows? We do have our share of Barbadian predators and short-term “thinkers”. Not ready to point fingers anywhere else.

40. Not wanting to point fingers either but having the option and hechose to sexually assault the woman it seems kind of obvious.

41. Lawson,

Not trying to claim the brute for Barbados but I do not follow your reasoning.

To Whom it may Concern,

Not among the “conditioned” ones.

42. 🙂
    Father forgive them, for they know what they do.
    🙂
    I do think that is a better phrase than the original

43. “One of the downstream impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic globally and locally is that there has been an increase in the number of unemployed persons in the country and . . . despite the extensive social network that Barbados has in place to capture and provide support for persons who have been displaced as a result of COVID, you will have these kinds of activities on the increase, and we are seeing this happening globally,” the Minister added.

More bovine spoken excrement from the mouth of the hapless Minister of Tourism. Speak in plain English or use the queen’s English; and stop talking foolishness. We have many African Presidents whose second, third or fourth language is English and they make more sense than our wutless ministers. Go and listen to Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, the president of Ghana.

44. Are these suppose to be words of comfort to the victims and our tourists.

“It is an unfortunate incident. It is certainly not something that is reflective of the Barbadian ethos”.

Lord have mercy! Jesus take the wheel.

45. WURA-WAR-on-U Avatar

They like to LIE TOO MUCH that’s why there are always mixed messages….don’t believe a word they say, she is going OPENLY LYING when she knows people were JOBLESS for all time they were parading around talking about they got pedigree…..they know the people were and STILL are suffering and starving throughout their haunting of the parliament….. these FRAUDS…

Covid only SHOWCASED what they have well hidden…

46. @TLSN

The prevailing ethos in Barbados is that a vast number of men rape women, especially tourists?

47. Very unfortunate but could have happened anywhere in the world.

If it had just been robbery, it could have been the result of economic hardship, but the sexual assault suggests a criminal mind bent towards violence.

He needs to be caught.

48. I see that the minister is insinuating that the criminal is unemployed. How the hell does she know this.

Yesterday in court a British policeman has confessed to the rape and murder of a young lady. The chief of police, a lady, did not mix her words when she expressed her outrage of this criminal act.

49. Its not that it couldnt have happened anywhere in the world, when it happens in canada they will still buy our trees it happens all the time in south africa they still will sell their diamonds it happens in colombia coffee will still be flying out the door but when it happens on a small island who’s only real product is UK tourism this is major. as we can all agree. Someone knows this man , someone will benefit other than himself from his crimes in one way or the other it is their duty to turn him in. The ripple effect of crimes causing major economic loss must not be minimized you are all in it together and there is little difference between a bajan pessimist and a bajan optimist ….the pessimist says it cant get any worse and the optimist says yes it can..

i

50. @Lawson

There is crime occurring everywhere humans are to be found. You are correct that service based economies will have to deal with greater fallout as a result.