The most recent Auditor General Report – see 2020 Auditor General Report – Time to Fire Senior Public Servants – continues to generate the usual concerns engaged annually by the general public. Although it must be said there is more impatience being exercised this time around if the blogmaster has tested the temperature of debate correctly. Is it because of the unprecedented mandate given to the Mottley led government in 2018? The promises made during the last general election platform certified by hints of documents secreted in the Red Bag that officials known to have engaged in criminal acts and flouting of government’s financial rules will be held accountable? members of the public rightly (or wrongly) have set high expectation that Mottley will turn the table and tackle malfeasance in the public sector once and for all. Knowing that it takes two hands to clap one can reasonably expect private sector players will be in the frame as well were she to lead Project Corruption Clean Up.

Three years later and it is business as usual on the rock with Minister in the ministry of finance Ryan Straughn still promising that the government is probing malfeasance highlighted by the Auditor General’s recent report.

Two issues caught the attention of the blogmaster yesterday (7 Jun 2021). Minister Straughn admitted the Clearwater Bay Limited (Four Seasons) file has not been digitized and therefore he would have to review said file to be able to respond to a question about the total of the project-to-date lending by government. The other is the alleged $124 million reportedly written off by government.

BU commenter Artax offered the following comment on another blog to explain the $124 million.

Therefore, the people of Barbados have a right to know where the money has gone? And why was this investment valued at $124 million written off.

Verla De Peiza – Leader of the Democratic Labour Party

It’s either Verla De Peiza has conveniently lost her memory or opposing just for the sake of opposing.

Paradise Beach Ltd. secured an 18 month, US$60M (BD$120,000,000) loan from ANSA Merchant Bank, at an interest rate of 6.75%, for the purpose of ‘restarting’ construction of Four Seasons Resort.

The former DLP administration agreed to guarantee the loan in return for a 20% stake in the project.

Paradise Beach Ltd. defaulted on the loan and ‘government,’ as guarantor, had to repay the outstanding amount and interest in the amount of $124,329,766.

Verla was a GOVERNMENT SENATOR when the ARRANGEMENTS were made between the former DLP administration, Paradise Beach Ltd. and ANSA Merchant Bank.

Why is Verla De Peiza saying “the people of Barbados have a right to know where the money has gone,” when, according to Chapter 2, pages 25-26 of the 2016 Auditor General’s report:

This amount ($124,329,766) was subsequently brought to book in the accounts of the Treasury as an account receivable. There has been no movement on this receivable account for the past four (4) years.” [2.49]

There is NO information available on whether there might be a need to write down this receivable or WHEN or HOW THIS AMOUNT will be REPAID. [2.49]

2020 Auditor General Report

Did the former administration use tax payers’ money to guarantee a loan for Paradise Beach Ltd., without negotiating the necessary arrangements to recover the funds, if the company reneged on its commitment to repay?

From whom or what company would the former or current administration recover the outstanding debt, especially if Paradise Beach Ltd. is defunct?

How can one deem $124,329,766 to be ‘missing,’ when the amount has remained on the ‘books’ and uncollected for ‘several years’………. and ‘yuh doan know who to collect it from?’

259 responses to “Four Seasons Project – Story of Failure”

1. @frank

The spin doctors at large
    People talking about 124million write off and u talking shite

BTW my shit keep wanna restless

2. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Government ministers are shamelessly, fearlessly and openly LYING TO THE PEOPLE…..the little minority owned drug holes come first.

“Corey Worrell FB

Hey Corey, would you believe all the shops in the Port, most of which are run by regular poor people like me, were not allowed to open today with the arrival of a cruise ship and tourists were transported out the Port and taken to Harbour Lights, Boat Yard, and Copacabana where they got off and ate and drank.

Corey, all of we shop owners went down boy the Post (sic) and cleaned our little businesses yet we couldn’t open. We even vaccinated yet we couldn’t open but those big shops get to open and serve the tourists. You think this fair?”

3. @ David

Yes, “we have to find a way to hold elected officials accountable.”

However, bear in mind politicians do not have access to accounting records and therefore, cannot post transactions to the relevant accounts.

4. @Artax

This is true but elected officials/politicians have to be the enablers for change. Public servants always defend by suggesting they have to deliver based on resources and systems available.

5. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Artax June 8, 2021 5:11 PM “However, bear in mind politicians do not have access to accounting records and therefore, cannot post transactions to the relevant accounts.”

So who is posting transactions to the relevant accounts then? Civil servants? And if so why so? Can’t civil servants say “no” to politicians? Aren’t civil servants always boasting that nobody except the governor general can fire them? And we know that governor’s general never fire anybody. So what are civil servants afraid of?

6. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@angela cox June 8, 2021 12:52 PM “If OSA didn’t trust her the one closest person who would have known her where all her skeletons are buried.”

Note to self and to all interested parties.

When going to bury bodies, except at an approved funeral/cemetery, NEVER EVER take along company.

That way nobody but you knows where the bodies are buried.

P.S. Remember that when it comes to unlawful burials you have ZERO friends.

7. You are always running to the blog with what Jeremy Stephen posted on his Facebook page, you should tell us what he posted today.

8. I really wasnt planning on commenting further on this but let we be honest. The AG report reflects poorly on BOTH PARTIES going back nearly 20 years.

If you want to argue which party do the dog the worst well carry on. Truth is both do bear crap and in both cases the opposition through PAC failed to do anything more than talk.

So wunna can have the who tief the most discussion, but in the end its the same 6 of one and half dozen of the other.

9. DavidJune 8, 2021 5:33 PM

You are always running to the blog with what Jeremy Stephen posted on his Facebook page, you should tell us what he posted today

Xcccc
    Will check and get back

Btw did Mia find the moral decency to send a Thank u note to PTL
    Or his colour is not deserving of such appreciation

10. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    These comments of the apologists make anybody with any sense of nationhood vomit. Imagine these clowns are refusing to accept that the country has been screwed over and over by these identical political twins.
    We have reached the sorry state of bragging who teef the most. Imagine that. But that’s who we are. Once some people continue to express such verbiage, I don’t care how many garbage trucks we buy; garbage will remain a problem. These BLPDLP apologists are nothing more than clowns.
    Let them continue to bray at each other. They are the same animal, they understand each other perfectly.

11. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“They are the same animal, they understand each other perfectly.”

definitely

12. ‘@frank

The spin doctors at large
    People talking about 124million write off and u talking shite

BTW my shit keep wanna restless’

I see ac is still kicking but and taking no prisoners. A next biker appears and gives up a boundary.

13. Is this poetry
    “So not unexpectedly that govt apologist would step up.to weave a net of added confusion trying to.place another layer of political mouthings of who and whens’

(I teased out the poetry )
    So not unexpectedly
    John2 makes an apology
    And then makes the big step
    To weave a deceitful net
    So as to add confusion
    With his list of deceptions
    And a layer of political mouthings
    of nonsense of who and whens

You go girl.
    You are the Lamming of BU.

14. @ David

Remember the former administration extended a $2M loan to Southern Golf (Barbados Golf Club) on September 25, 2009, without any loan agreement?

Do you know if that loan was repaid?

15. THE0

?????

16. Wait boh, uh happen Gazerts?

Man when de people did talking bout the $124 million dat write off and wuh part the money gone, you did jumping up doing de dog and causing a riot.

Then all of uh sudden when the next side uh the story came out, I notice de dog like um dead and yuh gone real quiet.

Yuh know that we shit got to be bothering angela cox too, cause instead uh she ignore we, she standing pun de sidelines and throwing rocks just like you.

17. “They are the same animal, they understand each other perfectly.”

https://businessbarbados.com/industries/tourism/four-seasons-barbados-an-over-ambitious-government-investment/

18. @Artax

The AG would have listed the liability if it was outstanding?

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

They will continue to lie, deny, deflect, distract and do anything to not answer for these crimes and refuse to be held accountable., that is how they have operated for 54 years and don’t see the need to change.

hold their feet to the fire until they BURN TO A CRISP…they are evil..

20. Guy Hewitt

A number of persons contacted me wondering whether I was going to speak to the outrageous Trojan Riddim video. Although I share the indignation that the nation feels about this vulgar display of deviance and immorality, I was curious on the timing of the eruption of rage as I was aware that this video was in circulation for some time. Having lived under the Trump presidency, I understand the art of distraction that formed the core of his political strategy.

Whether Trump was routinely threatening to shut down the government, or bomb Iran, or close the southern border, or commence a trade war with China, these were all distractions.

But Trump wasn’t just trying to distract, as his intent was misdirection and certain media houses were complicit.

Misdirection has nothing to do with distraction and everything to do with controlling people’s attention. Consider a magician’s sleight-of-hand card trick. Often an audience member selects a card, memorises it and returns it to the deck.

After shuffling the deck, the magician through some elaborate process reveals the correct card.

While magicians don’t reveal secrets they often admit the trick is only possible by creating a distraction that keeps the audience’s focus exactly where it is needed; and away from the actions the magician didn’t want them to notice.

While Barbados was deservedly rebuking the artistes involved in the music video seemingly endorsing gun violence, we were misdirected from two important occurrences: the 2020 Auditor General’s Report to Parliament posted on 25 May and the Bar Association’s serious concerns raised about the planned Anti-Corruption and Anti-Terrorism Agency (ACATA) Bill.

Without going deeply into the Auditor General’s Report especially as it is available online via the Barbados Parliament website, I want to highlight a few anomalies raised, which all Barbadians should be concerned about:

1.13 “The audit of the National Insurance Funds is substantially in arrears, and during the year, although some work was conducted, not much progress was made.” How much money is left in the NIS is a guestimate.

2.10 Although “the Accountant General [is] to…submit to the Auditor General…financial statements …within four (4) months after the close of each financial year… The Financial Statements were however issued…a year after the regulatory deadline and approximately fifteen (15) months after the close of the relevant financial year. This situation is unacceptable and needs to be urgently addressed.”

2.14 “As at the end of the financial year 2018-2019, Government has yet to publish any consolidated [financial] statements. The absence of consolidated statements presents challenges, as the total debts and liabilities of the Government are not being accounted for…” What we owe and to whom is another guestimate.

2.15 “There was a total of $209.4 million representing Other Equity Investments shown in the notes to the financial statements [without explanatory notes]…of the type of investments undertaken and any risks associated.” No clue as to where this money went.

2.26 “In the 2018-2019 financial year, the entire $124 million investment in Clearwater Company in the Four Seasons Hotel project [Paradise Beach hotel] was writtenoff.”

How and why was this done the Auditor General is at a loss as are we? You remember who the man in-charge was and who was the lawyer? 3.10 “A review of the accounts and accounting systems of the Prime Minister’s Office [PMO] revealed a number of control weaknesses. These included some omissions to the fixed asset register, absence of a contract register as required by Financial Rule 229, and the absence of invoices for credit card payments.”

Albert Einstein asserted, “Anyone who doesn’t take truth seriously in small matters cannot be trusted in large ones either.” The reports goes on to state in 3.11 “In addition to the above, there was the incorrect classification of expenditure [in the PMO] totalling $1.85 million.” Who guards the guards?

Writing in 1840, French political philosopher Alexis de Tocqueville wrote about despotic government emerging in democratic America. Tocqueville held that a ‘crisis’ could create the precondition for the expansion of state power.

He saw the democratic state creating a new form of tyranny, being part ‘despotism’, part ‘tutorship’, and part ‘paternalism’ of the people.

He argued that while various external forms of liberty remained the ‘will of the people’ is reduced to a ‘timid sheep like status’ with the state acting ‘like the national shepherd.’ Barbadians need to consider this as we are pushed headlong towards an undefined republican status. Recall how in Guyana their then prime minister used the art of distraction to contort the country from a constitutional monarchy, to a ceremonial presidency and onto a despotic executive presidency.

21. Clearwatergate Avatar
    Clearwatergate

This gives a new meaning to political deceit and deception. Can we trust either political party to be transparent and not only act in the interest of their financiers?

The restless masses are offered sweat boxes house with rope tight mortgages and menial jobs as appeasement to keep quiet.

Yardfowls, who get crumbs defend corrupt act while continually pointing fingers.

Sadly, we are highly educated but most just dumb displaying a lack of honest critical thinking.

I have posited that future generations will hold all politicians guilty of treason in absentia. Why I say all because silence is collusion.

This is a serious indictment of the political class. Will the masses take to the streets?

Unions compromised, NGOs compromised and even the church compromised.

No wonder ITAL and FOIA is non existent.

We cannot expect our politicized police force or the Financial Intelligence Unit to investigate.

22. Clearwatergate Avatar
    Clearwatergate

This is the biggest scam of fraud perpetuated on Bajan taxpayers by the BDLP. Who among the BLP weaklings will tell the boss lady she needs to speak to the issue. Poor Ryan sent to face the music but was a PR nightmare.

Chris Sinckler was Minister Of Finance
    Avinash Persuad was given oversight
    Mia Mottley was the lawyer
    Verla Depeiza was a Senator
    David Thompson was Prime Minister

Who got the finder’s fees from the arranged Ansa Bank loan?

How got the legal fees?

Was the sale of Clearwater done transparently?

Did the buyer pay back the NIS?

What was the sale price?

Was it a fair market price?

Did the buyer pay for the property?

WHO ARE THE DIRECTORS OF THE COMPANY THAT BOUGHT THE PROPERTY?

I predict the coming elections will have the lowest turnout ever for persons are seeing beyond the handouts and menial temporary jobs. Whenever elections are called I will ensure I am back in Barbados.

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

@gate
    Also note Clearwater Bay is a corporation, and compliments of the ICIJ “leak” it’s directors were known.

24. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Same crooks involved in the 4 seasons scam to rip off the treasury and pension fund…with THEIR LAWYER..

25. William Skinner Avatar

@ all;
    With this overwhelming evidence of widespread corruption by both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party , a dastardly pack of intellectual con artists , come on BU everyday , pretending that there is some difference between these two parties.
    They are actually endorsing certain degrees of thieving to prove how smart and balanced they are..
    How can any self respecting citizen try to defend and “ balance “ such blatant corruption is beyond my comprehension,

26. I have always argued long and hard that we have to reach out to the foreign press to expose the scammer’s paradise of Barbados.

The writer of this article gained his journalist experience outside of the Island and it shows. The article is damning in its transparency. Some of you would know that he has been banned from this blog.

Where do we go from here? If those who govern as are immoral then how do we the people resolve this problem?

27. @ William Skinner June 9, 2021 9:50 AM

And we certainly have had “ENUFF” of that brazen red-faced hypocrisy, haven’t we, William!

The man who was clearly at the centre of that blatant scam is now the blue-eyed boy advising the red half of the Duopoly on all matters called “Investment(s)”

Where are the multi-million dollar costly deliverables other than hiding behind a sweet-talking façade of cocky stories covered over with bull shit?

Poor Halford from the Back Ivy must be having the last laugh wallowing in the Bajan condition besieging the fast failing state of Two Barbadoes ruled by an indistinguishable duopoly of liars and thieves.

28. @Artax

Have seen hundreds of PDFs downloaded re this issue from BU media. For some reason there is high interest in the matter at this time.

29. Of course there is high interest and I await some sensible comments similar to what Artax and NO are offering. Not verbosed piffle. 1,2 3 here they come.

30. @enuff

The issue is how does government plan to clear the fog around this matter. It is political baggage the ruling party will want to jettison with 2023 rapidly approaching.

31. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

They also need to explain to the OWNERS OF THE MONEY from the treasury and pension fund…WHO ARE BLACK…where did 5-6 BILLION DOLLARS disappear to…

it is NOT their money, they cannot be running around like a whirlwind writing off this millions and that billions and don’t tell the people who ELECTED THEM A WORD, it’s insulting and DISRESPECTFUL…..not to mention THIEVING…

32. The foreign press responds to action not long talk. Taking to the streets in dramatic way is the way to draw international attention.

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

I disagree. Financially related bad winds blow over quickly. Possibly the next AudG Report may open another can of worms, but that will only occur if his office has the material to audit?
    And since there are some signs the adopted position is several of the bodies are “unauditable” due to the prolonged failure to report, the recent reports (2018 on) are easily sanitized as the starting point will be unknown.
    If the cumulative records available suggest Entity Y owns 234 homes, but only 187 can be located physically, do you have 234 or 187?
    This is the Clearwater story. Whatever was “recorded” of value is not there, or the value has been eroded. It is the Accountant General whose office is to answer, the AudG can only comment on the info he is given. The Acct Gen will then pass it down to the Ministry responsible, and round the mulberry bush we go.
    As long as the people get paid, including pensions, tax refunds and other govt payments, all is good.
    As FJS liked to point out, when you cannot get Fx or don’t get paid, THEN come to me, until then all is running smoothly.

34. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

so where is the press conference to explain how all of this has been happening FOR DECADES and has been normalized by DBLP in EVERY ROTATION into the parliament..

the Auditor General keeps begging for financial reports and BOTH GOVERNMENTS ignored the requests for decades…there should be a press conference for that..

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Donna
    Lol…why would you wish to draw international attention?
    Barbados is perfectly capable of handling its own affairs. They do not require any Ferner journalists, though I am confident @HA would oblige.
    They have an adequate, if not advanced, set of laws and regulations, which can be employed.

36. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Northern….that’s why US had to use Barbados’ laws to convict Donville???…. a law on the books since 1929 long before these CREATURES were allowed to crawl out of slavery and into a colonial parliament….and never used DESPITE all the missing billions of dollars…missing houses, questionable contracts, accusations of extortion from some business people who don’t want to be involved with the corrupt CABAL…accusations of continuous BRIBERY AND CORRUPTION…etc.

this is unsustainable and CANNOT CONTINUE…

37. Poor Halford from the Back Ivy must be having the last laugh wallowing in the Bajan condition besieging the fast failing state of Two Barbadoes ruled by an indistinguishable duopoly of liars and thieves.

Lolol. Turns out that Halford was correct all along!

Separately, inflation is back on the international agenda again and borrowing costs for 3rd world countries like Bim are beginning to increase. I wonder what Bim is paying to refinance its debt these days…

https://www.ft.com/content/1db3d119-ac9f-4948-b43b-29bb136eb2d5

38. Stupse!

39. @Artax

A commenter on an old blog hints that the 2 million to Southern Golf was a grant and not a loan. Comment?

https://barbadosunderground.net/2017/01/19/does-the-btmi-government-give-2-million-dollars-to-the-barbados-rally-club/

40. Read anything Hal wrote in the past and you draw two conclusions.. he is brilliant and a prophet or he is brilliant and we are just repeating things done in the past.

41. @ Enuff June 9, 2021 2:35 PM

One only has to mention the name of the man from the Ivy with the Bajan Condition and the red-painted demon of a sprite called “Enuff” reacts like Dracula confronting a crucifix.

The man was absolutely right about the Four Seasons scam. And that was way back in 2012.

Where were you back then?

Taking a ‘white’ shaft in NY to move up the corporate ladder or cussing Stinkliar and Fumble Stuart while MAM and her sidekick Persaud were laughing all the way to the bank the same way the Forensic Auditors and their ‘foreign’ consultants did to the poor CLICO policyholders?

42. I was replying to a comment by TLSN. Never said I wanted international press. But a little international shaming might do the trick. Who knows?

43. The opposition is once again dredging up old stories to damage our honourable government. I advise the opposition to be more humble in the presence of our Supreme Leader!

44. Oh dear me! Barbadians expect corruption with every large project. It takes no super powers.

Why do grown men seem to need super heroes????

Once a man. Twice a child?????

P.S. If Hal is laughing then he does not have Barbados’ best interests at heart. Anyone who did would wish to be wrong.

45. Hal one of the most brilliant people that ever graced the pages of BU
    Most her were jealous of exceptional brilliance
    How dare a brilliant scholar come from a poor community like the Ivy
    Kudos to Hal
    He proved himself right

46. Miller
    And I have been right how many times about you and the same Hal? The same Hal predicted the debt restructure would end in tears, LSE was no top university, urban regeneration was not a public good etc, etc. In any event my “Stupse” crossed with Dullard’s comment. It was meant to come after Abigail. You ain’t tired try?

47. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Fowl Slave Enuff…supporter of corrupt governments and billions in THEFTS FROM THE BLACK POPULATION…it suits you.

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller…no wonder the Slave calls itself…a billion dollar projects manager….supporting the thefts of billions from the people..