The recent uptick in conversation about the awarding of government contracts to construct houses in Barbados has caused many tongues to wag. A quick search of the web easily found articles of which they are many many many more criticising the relationships between the government of Barbados and Mark Maloney of Preconco fame.

1. Is this just more politics as usual?
  2. Is this a case that uneasy lies the head that wears the crown?
  3. Is it true despite all the rubbing shoulders, conversation and consultations that the more things change the more they remain the same?
  4. Can we now officially declare that 6 is half dozen and duopoly politics from a homogeneous political class is real?

All Maloney!

Related Links:

314 responses to “All Baloney!”

1. @ Enuff May 17, 2021 6:42 PM

Will your “lovely hospital” project be based on the one conceived by your MAM’s petty thieving friend Donville?

Why the false equivalence? Is the Hyatt project being financed from the public purse?

Assuming you were the adviser to the Malmoney chap- and based on your boastfully well-promoted expertise in all things project management involving the allocation of scarce financial resources- which one do you think should take precedence in Barbados at this time?

The long promised employment generating forex earning US$ 200 million multiplier effect of a Hyatt salvation or a housing project which can be easily replaced by another housing project involving the hundreds of vacant lots and dilapidated structures already existing in the well-established residential communities across your tiny island just in need of some infrastructural facelift?

2. Time to open up FULLY for those that are fully vaccinated

3. NEVER TRUST ANY POLITICIAN

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

South Africa’s ex-president says he is ready for graft trial

JOHANNESBURG (AP) — Former South African president Jacob Zuma says he is ready for his trial on charges of corruption, racketeering, and money laundering.

Zuma appeared at the Pietermaritzburg High Court on Monday where the trial was adjourned to May 26 when he will announce his plea.

He is accused of receiving bribes from French arms manufacturer Thales through his then financial advisor Schabir Shaik, who was convicted of related corruption charges in 2005.

The first witness in the trial will be Public Works Minister Patricia De Lille, who was among the first to allege that the 1999 arms sale was tainted by corruption.

De Lille compiled a dossier that she says has documents that prove influential members of the ruling party, the African National Congress, corruptly benefitted from the government’s lucrative contracts with international arms manufacturers and suppliers.

De Lille was in court Monday and has been asked to appear when the trial resumes next week.

Several ANC leaders and a crowd of Zuma’s supporters dressed in colorful ANC outfits showed up at the courthouse to demonstrate their backing for the former president.

Zuma’s trial starts as the ANC party is torn between President Cyril Ramaphosa, who has pledged to root out corruption, and a faction supporting Zuma and others accused of graft. One of Zuma’s most prominent supporters is Ace Magashule, who has been suspended as the party’s secretary-general because he is also facing criminal corruption charges.

A defiant Magashule told supporters in front of the courthouse that he would not be silenced even though the terms of his suspension specify that he may not publicly mobilize or address ANC supporters.

“Nobody under a democracy will ban me, nobody will remove the ANC from me,” he said.

Former ANC member of parliament Tony Yengeni, who was found guilty of corruption in 2003 and served a prison sentence, also attended the opening of the trial and voiced his support for Zuma.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/south-africas-ex-president-says-144753346.html

4. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

No wonder they are ALL SO CORRUPT. They operate under the aegis of a FAKE democracy that does not exist….fake POLITICS created just for them…and it all goes downhill from there, a colonial shite title, keys to the treasury, a little control over the lives of their own people, and they are ready to sellout and pad their bank accounts….with corruption and anything that destroys society and Black lives the order of the day

until the people they neglect kick them out….then a replay with the next sellout….time to move on from this go nowhere set up.

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/05/18/249086/

Miller….ya hear bout the 4 year period to recovery for the one horse industry…and the best they could come up with is corrupt maloney..

.they better check out something else to drive the economy other than prostituting and selling out to the frauds in the tourism industry..

..there are myriad ways to diversify a miniature economy to benefit THE BLACK MAJORITY…ya only need half a brain.

where does everyone see themselves in 5 years, let’s hope we don’t be watching the same tired posts complaining about corruption, maloney, bizzy, cow and all the thieves and their little negros in the parliament…but that’s up to the ELECTORATE

6. 3-degree aka fake observing

Yuh can tek the 🐖 out de mud but not the mud out the 🐖. It is clear that having escaped the ‘2×3 cesspool’ (according to you) you still dwell in one. But when one is left with nothing sensible to say, one has no choice but to go in the mud. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣😪

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    That four year estimate is beyond optimistic. When we read further , in the report, we realise that we really cannot rebrand the industry just so.
    I think we need to accept that those numbers are not coming back . Our tourism industry was tired before COVID .
    We are overpriced and even in the best of times the numbers coming in were
    not spending enough to sustain the industry. I remember Dr. Clyde Mascoll making this point over and over. In other words, the returns from the industry do not match the expenditure from the public purse to sustain it.
    It’s conservatively estimated that for every dollar earned , we actually only keep thirty five cents,
    Tourism needs to be an important part of the economy ; not the major sector. The country really needs a fifty year economic plan rather than all these acronyms and visionless policies.

8. @ Enuff May 18, 2021 8:15 AM

So why don’t you elevate yourself from the pig sty and dig into ‘bigger’ muddy matters?

Why are you getting yourself so wrapped up a little housing project to be ‘financed’ by a known parasite who lives off government contracts?

Why are you evading the bigger private sector Hyatt picture which, potentially, has much greater impact on your country’s economic salvation and your administration’s chances for repeating the ‘electoral’ results of May 2018?

What are you and your Malmoney ‘friend’ waiting for?

For Rihanna to invest her ‘American’ money in the Hyatt lighthouse erection so that she can be ‘uplifted’ as a national hero and her statue placed on the plinth vacated by Lord Nelson instead of the former Lord Mayor of Bridgetown?

9. @Miller

You are bigger than these puffy exchanges. Do you agree the argument for Hyatt has changed in a post covid era? Do you agree that tourism will have to continue to play a role in the economic performance of the country although there will be a shift to bringing along other industries to move the GDP needle? The argument has to be about scale and to what extent we keep the industry from imploding given the level of investment. Based on the dashboard it is the only industry we have that pays the bills.

10. William Skinner Avatar

@ Miller
    Rihana puts on one dress made by a young lady from her former neighborhood. Instantly she has received “ thousands “ of orders.
    In the meantime, we opt to loan a man , who owns a cement factory, state land to build houses. Every Jackass knows, that Maloney is going to make a killing on that venture.
    Give 10 small black entrepreneurs the opportunity to build ten houses each. Pay them” up front” So that they can drawn down on the funds . They can then use said funds to purchase / rent equipment. Each will employ 15 / 30. Closely monitored , 100 houses built; ten small black contractors now own equipment; have employed 200 plus workers; government paid for the land.
    They have made a profit and we are ready to give a break to another 5 small black contractors on another project. Do this for ten straight years , regardless of which party is” in power “ and we see economic enfranchisement in the construction industry :Nothing builds success like success.
    But oh no that’s too hard to do. Just give them a weed wacker or some bags to take up volcano dust. That brings votes!
    And we have pure bred idiots on BU talking about how their own Black Brothers are incapable of pulling off such a project.
    Jesus Christ , who building the houses for Maloney ? Whose damn skills he using.
    The same black people who we saying incapable of executing such a project. The same black people that were going to build the Hyatt. The same black people that work for Bizzy and COW.
    This latest Duoploy sham designed to further enrich Maloney and his political pumps and sell outs in the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour party is a big stinking shame.
    But the bigger shame is these bird brain idiots on BU who defending it.

11. @ David May 18, 2021 9:27 AM

So what you are saying, effectively, is that Hyatt project is off the construction table, for the time being.

Why can’t the players from both sides (Vision and the DPA) come to media and set the record straight (update the public) as was done last year when a May 2020 construction start date was announced?

So what is happening to that US$ 200 million promised to be injected the Bajan economy since May 2020?

Should the Guv of the CBB remove this ‘variable’ from his economic growth projections analysis?

What is the position with the Ram compulsory acquisition settlement?

Who currently owns the land? Vision or BTII?

What would be there to fill the upscale accommodation void the Hyatt is designed to do after the same tourism industry rebounds in the 21/22 winter season?

12. @Miller

Will answer this way, a smart invester will go slowly until the Covid 19 dust settles.

13. If Maloney was not sure of making a huge profit he would not be in it.

Everybody knows that!

Once again transferring wealth from black people to white people.

To state that he is the only one capable of undertaking the project is mindboggling.

Are we attempting to build the Taj Mahal on the moon, for chrissake?

14. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“we realise that we really cannot rebrand the industry just so.
    I think we need to accept that those numbers are not coming back . Our tourism industry was tired before COVID .
    We are overpriced and even in the best of times the numbers coming in
    were not spending enough to sustain the industry. ”

wasting taxpayers money to prop up a DEAD industry when it’s time to MOVE ON to bigger and better.

“And we have pure bred idiots on BU talking about how their own Black Brothers are incapable of pulling off such a project.
    Jesus Christ , who building the houses for Maloney ? Whose damn skills he using.?\”

ignorant and backward breeds ignorant and backward…there are BLACK PEOPLE from the diaspora setting up some badass businesses on the continent, Africa is GIGANTIC, GINORMOUS…bigger than anything the small island parasites can ever envision, with over 1.3 BILLION AFRICANS….and these small time clowns are acting as though the Black population on the island, the African descended can do NOTHING unless they work for thieving racist minorities….ya don’t get more backward than that..

case in point, 5 students from HC created a gaming App…2 are African descended at least one of them was born in Barbados…they were both INTEGRAL to the creation of that App…and ah better DON’T HEAR OTHERWISE….but the ignorant still believe…ONLY IN BARBADOS…that African people are incapable…that’s why these lowlifes MUST BE MONITORED ON THE CONTINENT.

15. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“The same black people who we saying incapable of executing such a project. The same black people that were going to build the Hyatt. The same black people that work for Bizzy and COW.”

these parasites CAN DO NOTHING WITHOUT BLACK PEOPLE that’s why the rob the treasury and pension fund…but to hear the parliament nuisances tell it, Black people can do nothing without them, including them with their empty heads.

16. David
    You really think I have time to waste on Miller? Stupse! Let the jackass continue to bray and address me as if I am or ever was involved in Hyatt; or pretend that covid isn’t obviously having an impact on Hyatt. Notice he can never refute what I say but attack me personally or shift the topic. I enjoy winding he and his partners up until they resort to cussing.🤣🤣🤭

17. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

and yes, the Publishing Company already set up on certain platforms on the continent is mine…and that’s just the beginning, so don’t let a bunch of frauds and thieves on a slave society island tell you that as a Black/African, ya can’t do this and ya can’t do that.

Black people moved to the continent even from the Caribbean and are already well established….depends on what ya doing, ya don’ even have to leave ya house…just do your research and tread carefully.

as*holes…

18. 3-degree aka fake observing

Yuh can tek the 🐖 out de mud but not the mud out the 🐖. It is clear that having escaped the ‘2×3 cesspool’ (according to you) you still dwell in one. But when one is left with nothing sensible to say, one has no choice but to go in the mud.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I HAD THE ‘PRIVILEGE’ SOME YEARS AGO WHILST IN OPPOSITION MIA MOTTLEY SMOKING CIGARETTES IN A DAISY CHAIN, RALPH THORNE AND KERRY SIMMONS WOULD MEET FREQUENTLY AT THE LATTER 2 OFFICE IN ROEBUCK STREET AT THE TIME.

I DON’T THINK THE AMOUNT OF CONVERSATIONS WHICH INCLUDED THE WORDS RASSHOLE, FUCK ETC BY YOUR ESTEEMED BLP LEADERS I COULD COUNT ON FINGERS AND TOES.

HOWEVER YOUR BLP MATES ARE CLEAN AS MARK MALONEY LIKE WHITE SNOW.

THE FACT IS YOU LIKE THEM ARE FULL OF SHIT/DECEPTIONS AND CAN ONLY CONTINUE TO BAMBOOZLE THOSE WHO DON’T THINK FOR THEMSELVES BUT LOOKING FOR HANDOUTS or KICKBACKS.

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The Slaves may not be able to make it though, just like the parliament sellouts they are too anti-black, anti-African and self-hating, those people will see them coming from 10 miles away….and avoid them like the Covid plague.

20. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

gotta get these sequence right, just in case.

case in point, 5 students from HC created a GAMING program…2 are African descended at least one of them I KNOW was born in Barbados…they were both INTEGRAL to the creation of a PROGRAM that can be developed into an App…and ah better DON’T HEAR OTHERWISE…

.but the ignorant still believe…ONLY IN BARBADOS…that African people are incapable…that’s why these lowlifes MUST BE MONITORED ON THE CONTINENT…they can’t be trusted by Africa or any African.

21. 3-degree aka fake observing

Your high level of idiocy exemplified, once again, in that response. #mudstillinde🐖

22. 3-degree aka fake observing

Your high level of idiocy exemplified, once again, in that response. #mudstillinde🐖

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

PROUD TO BE AN IDIOT AS DEFINED BY YOU MOST EXALTED ONE.

HAPPY TO RECEIVE 3 US STIMULUS CHECKS.

NEXT.

23. Amm while eyes are fastened on Maloney
    Barbados latest up coming desinger /entrepreneur is a barbadian girl.who crocheted a beautiful dress and Rhianna helped to make the girls name a household sensation after Rhianna wore/ model the dress and it was placed in vogue magazine
    The pics of the dress being worn by Rhianna is all over social media and international media
    My question to govt would govt help this girl in any possible way financially to pursue her dream to becoming a local and international success

24. This is a big story and an accomplishment for this young lady
    Govt support is necessary

Read ePaper
    Home / Local News / Shanice Taylor humbled after photo of Rihanna in her design hits Vogue website

Shanice Taylor humbled after photo of Rihanna in her design hits Vogue website – by Kobie Broomes May 16, 2021
    Humbled and blessed. That’s how local designer Shanice Taylor is feeling today.

Taylor has been crocheting for just seven months but she has already achieved a goal that other designers have only dreamed of.

Hailing from Rihanna Drive, Bridgetown, St Michael, a stone’s throw away from the childhood home of international recording artiste Rihanna, Taylor has made a crochet piece worn by the superstar herself.

In an exclusive interview with Barbados TODAY, Taylor explained how she made it happen.

“It all started during quarantine when I approached Melissa [Rihanna’s best friend]. She usually comes and spends some time with my neighbours, so I just approached her one day and asked if she’d mind wearing one of my swimsuits and she said, ‘Sure.’”

Taylor said Melissa agreed. She then asked her if she could make a dress for her, which she did. She explained that the singer and her best friend were on the island when it was approaching Rihanna’s birthday so Melissa said she would give Taylor’s dress to Rihanna for her birthday

25. The dress looked damn good on Rihanna too! That was not an act of charity. Saw the talent and exposed it.

RIhanna is a boss!

26. One would think that a story of this magnitude would draw much local attention
    However it seems that there is a certain mentality called jealousy which attaches itself to the thought process of bajans
    Hence very little relevance is given to the girl huge success except for one day in local newspapers
    A success which can help other barbadian designers to ride the young lady wave
    But..not up in here (barbados) seems to be the mantra

27. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Rihanna has a knack for making anything look good, it’s a trait i noticed many years ago and commented on it. the talented young lady just needs to market herself and her creations off island where she will be better appreciated…her door is already open, just walk through.

28. @ Enuff May 18, 2021 10:45 AM

You are nothing but a two-bit jumped-up!

“Enuff” is nothing more than a red political fowl of the same common breed as angela cox or Carson C Cadogan permanently residing in local backyard.

Isn’t the same Covid having an impact on the many projects you are overseeing like the multi-million state-of-the-art hospital for private patients in some Big City?

Since you are not involved in the Hyatt project should we use your own false equivalence to conclude you are ‘deeply involved’ in Maloney’s housing projects about which you have much to say?

Aren’t taxpayers’ money involved in the compulsory acquisition of the Ram’s property on Bay Street?

If not a hotel, then what? Another car park for a dying Bridgetown or a much welcome window-to-the-sea for the hundreds of jobless, homeless and hopeless to stare at all day?

Since Hyatt has turned into a ‘real’ figment of the imagination of both you and Mal(m)oney, are you prepared to back a call for the recovery of the duties and taxes waived on the Mercedes Benz for the Sales Director of the same imaginary hotel?

Or would you excuse this blatant act of robbery of the Treasury by arguing the Sales Director of the same Hyatt hotel is now a ghost who died from Covid-19?

29. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

So why has the fowl Slave been fretting for the whole day…who stirred it up..

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Knocked that dress straight out the ballpark.

31. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Wuh i heard they are laying off petrol station workers, so people stopped buying gas or what….they don’t even pay them much more than $3US or so per hr to begin with, so what’s to lay off, soon ya will hear the greedy pigs boasting about how many millions of dollars they made in profit…heard they are making demands about returns to Sundays and holidays..

wuh if people can’t fill up on Sundays, they fill up on Saturdays or Mondays, the following opening days, so what’s the difference.

32. I remember when Rhianna first became a singing sensation and her super star status began to evolved
    There were many bajans in high places who believed that naming her as Barbados youth Ambassador was immoral
    Now some of the same bajans have hands longed out expecting Rhianna millions to help pay some of Barbados economic woes
    So happy to see she has stepped up and place Barbados name amongst some of the international great designers
    For that govts she be eternal grateful to her
    Hope the young barbadian designer reaps as much success as Rhianna which helps to bring others struggling entrenpeurs out of this hell hole governed by selfish people

33. My Lawson impression
    I didn’t even see the dress
    I think Rhianna would make a paper bag look good. She has the body.

Honestly, she is a very attractive woman. That helps.

34. Yes she would make any clothing line look good
    However the story goes beyond Rhianna but places a young barbadian lady into the spotlight where she can move her dream of becoming a designer to a higher level of success
    A Cinderella story indeed especially the young lady coming out of a community that is not associated with wealth now havi g the golden opportunity to make it to the top

35. William Skinner Avatar

@ WURA
    Why should we spend money on young struggling , black , gifted people when we can spend it on those whose cup runneth over?
    Then they want to know why talented young people trying to jump pun planes going anywhere.
    One young man called Garry Sobers from Bayville turned the master’s game on its head.
    Another young man named Suki King is a genuine world champion at his game.
    Now this young lady comes without the help of any of the “ house slaves” and is on her way like magic.
    This is a place where the national footballl captain was lifting up tourists’ bags at a hotel.
    Barbados has never lacked talent. Young jockey Husbands saw his father barely getting a ride at the Garrison. He is now a champion jockey in Canada.
    A young female scientist from Culloden (Daniel) Road established in America…………
    I could go on and on but these wild rabbits on BU don’t believe that black contractors can build houses.
    Ask them who built the Marina and Apes Hill.
    Let them bray……..,,,,,

36. Congratulations to the young designer. My only complaint was the dress appeared a little skimpy on our Ri-Ri. She outshined it which is a pity for the designer.

On a more serious note “Rihanna has a knack for making anything look good” unlike our numerous governments who screw up everything they touch.

The talent on the island will sadly continue to wither on the vine. What a tragedy.

37. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“The talent on the island will sadly continue to wither on the vine.”

all they gotta do is RECONNECT to their Motherland…i will do everything in my power to make sure they are SHOWCASED…..hence the reason for a creative CENTRED publishing company…i got connections on the continent up the wazoo….just time now..

and i dare anyone of those UNSAVORY, tiefing, racist minorities and their honorable Slaves to make any attempt to stop them..

38. Did government not sent up a funds to help people like this designer?

I will bet you if she go and apply now that she would jump to the top of the line

You people too like calling in/ depending on government/s

39. The young lady has a strategic decision to make. How many people will she need to crochet dresses ?

It should take about 1 week for 1 person to crochet a dress.

40. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Another young man named Suki King is a genuine world champion at his game.”

those savage beasts mistreated him for decades and he put the island on the map again and again and….

“A young female scientist from Culloden (Daniel) Road established in America…”

met her, very beautiful and gifted lady, isolated the Calypso gene and made the 100 most Famous Blacks In Canada, think the book is called…famous everywhere.

not them, they want to hear about corrupt maloney and the honorable Slaves along with the inner circle of crooks enriching themselves as usual at Black expense, along with the drug trafficking and gunrunning minorities robbing the majority population of billions of dollars annually so they can admire the thefts and the poverty it generates…. and BRAY…..have no clue why something that criminal and evil could be admirable to these jokers…but somehow it makes them feel good about their brain dead selves.

41. I was expecting BU David to highlight this story grown on home grown as an issue added to his many Articles on BU
    Anyhow I guess her name is not known amongst the elitist on the island and not worthy of headline billing on BU
    Kudos to an unknown from a community where the word wealth is only mentioned in verbal terminology

42. “Give 10 small black entrepreneurs the opportunity to build ten houses each. Pay them” up front” So that they can drawn down on the funds . They can then use said funds to purchase / rent equipment. Each will employ 15 / 30. Closely monitored , 100 houses built; ten small black contractors now own equipment; have employed 200 plus workers; government paid for the land.
    They have made a profit and we are ready to give a break to another 5 small black contractors on another project.”

This is a serious and sensible proposal.
    I left Barbados decades ago and left ‘$10.00’ behind. I would be quite willing to loan this money or to partner with a ‘serious’ builder to be part of the strategy mentioned above.

Perhaps, there are other sources of funds that can be explored.

43. The whole idea of the JV with Maloney is that he is self financing. The government is broke.

44. UK return to Nigeria $6 mn stolen by ex-governor

Nigeria has received 4.2 million pounds ($5.9 million) looted by a former governor, who was jailed in Britain for money laundering and fraud, the justice minister said Tuesday.

The money was stolen by James Ibori, the flamboyant governor of the southern oil-rich Delta state between 1999 and 2007.

A landmark corruption case led to a deal in March signed by Nigeria and Britain on repatriating the money.

The deal stipulates that Nigeria will use the funds to finance vital infrastructure projects.

A spokesperson for Justice Minister Abubakar Malami said “the Federal Government of Nigeria has received GBP 4,214,017.66.”

“The amount has been credited into the designated Federal Government account with naira equivalent value of the amount as of 10th May, 2021,” the spokersperson, Umar Jibrilu Gwandu, said in a statement.

Ibori was jailed in April 2012 for fraud amounting to nearly 50 million pounds (at the time $78.6 million or 62 million euros).

The one-time cashier at a chain of British DIY stores used public funds to buy luxury homes, top-of-the-range cars and a private jet.

He fled to Dubai in 2010 but was extradited to Britain, where he was sentenced and served four years of a 13-year jail term. He was released in December 2016.

Scotland Yard said that during his two terms as governor, Ibori “systematically stole funds from the public purse, secreting them in bank accounts across the world.”

Anti-corruption campaigners hailed his sentence as a rare victory in the fight against international graft.

Millions of dollars stolen by former military ruler Sani Abacha have also been repatriated to Nigeria from Switzerland and other countries.

Abacha died in June 1998 after reputedly looting some five billion dollars.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/uk-return-nigeria-6-mn-134723826.html

45. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Greed consumes these dumb negros.

self financing from the BLACK POPULATION’S TREASURY …

46. How much did Mobutu of Zaire took with him, before he fled to France, just before he died? Here is a true story: “Mobutu, founded out that his Financial Minister was undermining him, and Mobutu watched as his killers threw off the Financial Minister’s his balls.”

47. Sorry tore off

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

As soon as they are elected they AUTOMATICALLY believe the money in the treasury is theirs…THAT IS WHY BARBADOS IS BROKE…tief not, want not.

49. Wura

Idi Amin of Uganda fled to Saudi Arabia with the Ugandan people money, where he died of complications associated with diabetes many years ago.