The blogmaster read Nation newspaper Barry Alleyne’s report De Peiza sticking with the process and was finally convinced the raison d’être the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) continues to go about a methodical candidate selection process. The system of governance and politics practised in Barbados makes it the business if ALL Barbadians to want a strong political Opposition. Say what we will about the need for a third party movement the DLP is the only current credible option in our political orbit.

The article reminded Barbadians that the DLP is sticking with a vetting process that sees ALL members of the party being “eligible to apply and all are subject to the same vetting process – no exceptions, not even for me” [Verla]. To date the DLP has announced only three candidates to run in the upcoming general election constitutionally due in 2023 – Verla De Peiza, Andre Worrell and Ryan Walters. Political pundits agree the DLP will not win the next general election and the leadership of that party is correctly playing a long game, that is; taking the necessary steps, now, to set yourself up for long-term success.

Former Prime Minister Harold Wilson of the UK is quoted that a week is a long time in politics. There are two years to go until 2023 if Prime Minister Mottley goes the full distance. President Verla De Peiza and the DLP has a rapidly closing window to line up the political ducks and allow sufficient time for those candidates with a legitimate chance of winning to deploy effective ground strategies. The raging pandemic will not help.

It should be obvious the biggest campaign issue in the next election will be the economy and jobs. By the time the bell is rung public transportation, garbage collection and water challenges in the North will be non issues. Coincidentally Chairman of the SSA reported yesterday the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) and the waste management arm of Barbadian company Innotech Services Limited will be implementing a ten-month project to change how garbage is collected and processed in Barbados.

For too long the blogmaster has been commenting about the lack of a credible DLP spokesperson on financial matters. The best research indicates President of the DLP Verla De Peiza is the ‘shadow minister’ of finance. This is a key area the DLP as it prepares for the next election will have to address. There is a reason the label Lost Decade has stuck to the DLP. It is widely accepted by the public the last DLP administration badly mismanaged the economy and for this reason former Minister of Finance Christopher Sinckler seems to be reluctant to show his face in public with any frequency.

This brings us to the other point to note in the Barry Alleyne article. David Estwick, Stephen Lashley and Dennis Lowe appear to be more than mildly interested in returning to the political fray. The blogmaster has commented many times were those candidates to be selected it will be a mistake. It would open the floodgates for the BLP to rehash 2018 talking points.

151 responses to “Looks Like the DLP Playing the Long Game”

1. AM

John2May 9, 2021 11:55 PM

The USA gave out stimulus package
    Xxxxxccccccccccccccc
    Yes and do u know why?
    xxxccccccccccccc
    What work in the USA will not necessarily work in Barbados

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxccccccxx
    Are u certain of that statement or are u just shooting off whatever comes out of your mouth
    —————//////////////—————/////////////

Mari

Check how many how much debt USA is building up with their stimulus packages
    The difference? They have many different industries and the ability to repay over time

A stimulus package in Baja hands would be good if they were going to spend it in and on made in Barbados only.

I repeat. – there are more than one way to give a stimulus to the economy

The last government tried to stimulate the economy for about 10 yrs how much growth did they get and how much Fx did they use up ?

2. “. If the “crossing” is directed by the Prime Minister personally, or via consultation with either cabinet or governing party, is the resulting opposition not seen as simply a creature of the Prime Minister or Cabinet?”

One trick of Government (such as UK who say “Reparations are not helpful” with a filthy smirk on their face similar to when they go to war on the regular), is for so called rebels in the ruling party to copy the objections of policy by public and opposition to just play acting a game of pretence to be making a stand against the objectionable policy taking ownership of the anti-policy movement, but eventually standing down to their leader making him/her look stronger and letting the policy pass. Another trick in the book is to call for Parliamentary Inquiries when misfeasance or malfeasance is proven and sitting on the inquiries, styling it out dragging out proceedings for several years, defining a limited scope of what will be allowed inside inquiry remit an eventually ignore the findings if they are deemed unfavourable.

3. William Skinner Avatar

@ David, @ angela cox
    Can we for one moment concentrate on how we are going to solve our problems rather than regurgitate the bull shit on CNN and Fox News ?
    Were we educated to be parrots of Washington. Good grief where is the damn self respect people.

4. @William

The blogmaster just counted to 10. You may continue to comment as you see fit. The problem with you as commented elsewhere is that you operate in a fish bowl. This is something Pacha has been trying ti beat into your skull without success.

5. The US owns the world’s reserve currency which explains why they can accrue trillions in debt. The issue for Barbados is the debt burden we carry, the prospect of increasing said debt given the structure of the economy for the medium considering food and oil imports. As John A keeps pointing out we have not seen current plans to suggest fundamentally the domestic economy will change. LAst week Persaud was in the news crying about banks in Barbados not lending and we have to find non traditional lenders. It iOS ludicrous therefore to compare the US approaches to managing the economy to Barbados.

6. John2o

Mari

Check how many how much debt USA is building up with their stimulus packages
    The difference? They have many different industries and the ability to pay overtime

Xxxxxxxxxx

Have u noticed how much debt Barbados has accumulated by sheer borrowing
    What if govt policies were geared towards an environment which could create industry
    Also notice that the big economies have an educational system that connects to the economy
    Can’t say that much for Barbados
    Reason why during this time of economic malaise the only preference govt can rely on is borrowing

7. Mari

Name one caricom country that is putting stimulus checks in their population hands and their economy has turned around from negative to positive growth ( like in the USA)?

Maybe Guyana?

8. William Skinner Avatar

You can count to a hundred . Problems are sometimes homegrown and we must throughout the Caribbean look for home grown solutions . You can talk all you like. Let my fishbowl be the Caribbean. If you or anybody else on BU want to “ lecture “ me on globalism , you are free to waste your precious time telling me what I already know.
    The simple truth is that most of our economic problems are of our own making. At this moment we cannot pee without first consulting the IMF and we have to use our abilities to break this cycle of economic dependence
    . Take a look at Jamaica, forty years in the IMF and counting.
    If you think it can be broken by regurgitating what we have known for at least 500 years , you can continue on your merry way.
    You are no fountain of knowledge when it comes to globalism or international finance. Because you choose to repeat it does not mean others are ignorant to it or don’t understand it’s implications.
    Tell me if globalism has people working for less than $250 per week. Tell me if globalism has the folks in our rural community without water. Tell me if globalism responsible for us paying nearly 70 million in rent for public servants while government owned buildings were left empty for ten years and more. Tell me if globalism allows a man to run for a party win a seat and the next morning just walk across the isle. Tell me if globalism responsible for hooliganism and the minibus culture.
    Tell me if globalism has you so frigging tuned to CNN and Fox News that you don’t know a damn thing about what going on in your own house.
    Continue to lecture me on globalism. I dealing with simple straight forward mismanagement for over forty years by the decadent BLPDLP.
    BTW tell me if globalism has the Chinese treating our Barbadian contractors like second class citizens in their own country.

9. A quick internet search provide information that only three other countries provided direct stimulus like the USA did

South korea
    Japan
    Brazil.

Not one Caribbean country or country with an economy similar to (or size) Barbados

10. Homegrown solution will always be fashioned based on the external environment we have to exist and compete. We do not libe under a rock. Maybe you need to remove your blinkers and take on a more specific pragmatic approach. This is not a binary problem to solve.

11. What William is trying to say is that smarter policy, greater efficiency and less corruption would place us in a much better position regardless of the global economy.

There is much that we can do to improve our lot. Can anybody dispute that?

Really?

12. And what the blogmaster is saying is that casting ones eyes outside Barbados is a necessary part of the process as well. There is no black and white. We manage a man made construct which means there will always be opportunity to improve. No need to split hairs about why others are looking. Outside Barbados borders.

13. Paying greater attention to what we can control first would probably be more productive.

14. We have to do both. Life is complex and require sophisticated and holistic approaches.

15. William Skinner May 10, 2021 7:13 AM

@ David, @ angela cox
    Can we for one moment concentrate on how we are going to solve our problems rather than regurgitate the bull shit on CNN and Fox News ?
    Were we educated to be parrots of Washington. Good grief where is the damn self respect people

Sorry to bust yuh bubble but haven’t turned on a TV in years so what is said on CNN or fox haven’t got a clue

John2 Caricom countries are all failures
    Not one of the leaders can lead a country out of a shower of rain Furthermore to have solutions for their economies

16. William Skinner Avatar

angela cox
    “Sorry to bust yuh bubble but haven’t turned on a TV in years so what is said on CNN or fox haven’t got a clue.”
    Delighted to hear this, hope others will consider following your path.

17. The dlp proved ur point for ten years

18. It is useful to take newsfeeds from as many sources available to inform a rounded processing of information being disseminated.

19. Brasstacks David Ellis.

20. What de hell is happening in Barbados seems like govt officials have Covid ofnthe brain
    I heard a voice clip giving shocking details of a bad experience a friend had encountered at the QEH
    The detail are jaw dropping and makes for wonder who are those in charge making Covid laws that impacts negatively the lives of barbadians
    The clip reference the name of the person whose experience calls for heads to roll
    Imagine a mother takes her child to the hospital the doctor tells the mom the child must be tested for Covid the mother objects to the manner in which the test by nasal would be done and asked for the child to be swabbed
    The doctor told the mother after the swab was done that the lab would not take the test
    The mother also was told that she has to take the test
    The story unfolds with the mom.charted off to an isolation room
    Never mind that she was not at the hospital to conduct medical business for herself
    However the story gets out of control with the mom and son being told that they will be sent to a govt approved centre even when the mother did not give consent to be tested or had been in contact with someone who had the virus
    The story in itself is so nightmarish it begs for legal action to be taken against the hospital and govt officials
    In the clip the person telling the story gives his name and the names of the mother
    Get this officials at the hospital threaten the lady with all kind of fear tactics

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

A clear case of violation of the rights of that mother and her 2 year old child, why are you shoving a long swab up the BRAIN of a 2 year old…where are the human rights lawyers on the island, she took the child to the emergency room because he was WHEEZING..as children with allergies or asthma STILL DO….that does not mean he should be subjected to torture, people are talking about it for the last 2 days…

22. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Take a look at Jamaica, forty years in the IMF and counting.”

they believe they can REINVENT a wheel CREATED when their ancestors were enslaved by the creators…i have never seen this level of….crazy..

23. Misinformation on steroids.🤔

24. @ Enuff May 10, 2021 5:38 PM
    “Misinformation on steroids.”

You mean like the contents of the Big Red Bag once toted by the Doc MAM?

BTW, tell your fake news carrier that it has been over two decades that the people of the Scotland District and its environs have been promised a better road network.

According to the Guv of the CBB, the patient called Barbados is about to go under intensive care.

Therefore, it’s time to stop the big talk and administer the medicine to stimulate the economy; with the promised Hyatt ‘foreign’ money the main steroid in the syringe.

25. EnuffMay 10, 2021 5:38 PM

Misinformation on steroids.🤔

So what is your information on this horrific story
    Xxxxxxxxx
    The poor mother was at wits end lost and confuse as to.what was happening
    Threat after threat along with being held against her will .
    Then their was her fear of losing her job
    Some one in that institution should be held accountable for the manner and way that the woman and her child was treated at the QEH
    How can any govt institution hold people against their will
    The Constitution gives guide way but officials takes matters into.their own hand the way they see fit
    God dam shame

26. The Facebook bubble is alive and well.

27. Lest we forget Avatar
    Lest we forget

John2
    Lets face it. We are living large on borrowed money. I am happy for the persons who received stimulus money but it ended up buying imported goods which as you know requires foreign exchange.

28. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Someone ought to go to prison for human rights abuses in Barbados, there was just the VOLCANIC ASH that still bothers the lungs and chests of adults, it’s still blows around so there are those inhaling that light mist, but these clowns will try to terrorize a two year old and his mother…….savages…

29. Now the officials are using PR wording to back away from their accountability and to focus blame on social media stories Here they go again those two words fake news
    Xxxxxxxxc

No test for two
    WOMAN REFUSES COVID- 19 SWAB TEST
    By Anesta Henry
    A 35-year-old woman who claims to have been forced into quarantine with her two-year-old son was on Monday expressing concern about the disappearance of COVID-19 test samples.
    Speaking to Barbados TODAY from quarantine, a frustrated Samantha Jordan said she was hoping the delay in the return of the results did not have anything to do with her standing her ground on refusing to have the nasal swab test administered to her and her son.
    The woman said she was unhappy with the way she was treated at the Accident and Emergency Department of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) where she took her son last Thursday for treatment after he experienced breathing challenges. She pleaded with the authorities for answers about her and her ward’s test results.
    She said she is currently feeling healthy, her son is on asthma medication, and they are ready to go home, but cannot leave until they receive negative COVID-19 results.
    Jordan said when they arrived at A&E after 2 p.m. on Thursday, after being transferred there from Sandy Crest, doctors insisted that based on the symptoms her son was experiencing, a COVID-19 PCR test was necessary for both of them. However, the mother said she asked that they receive an oral COVID-19 test instead of the nasal swab.
    “Then I asked the paediatric doctor if there is a different way to get the COVID test and she told me no, and that they test babies by sticking the swab up the baby’s nose. I said no to the PCR because he is a very active child and as a mother, I fear that if you all try to push this thing up his nose, he would make a sudden movement and the person might end up pushing it too far and it might end up breaking off in his nose,” Jordan said.
    Nevertheless, the mother said that while the medical practitioners insisted that she or her son could not be sent to the paediatric ward without negative COVID-19 test results, she inquired whether the child would be able to receive the treatment he needed right in A&E.
    “The doctor came and told me that staying in A&E is not an option and that they would have to send me to an isolation facility. She went along and I was there for another long wait. Then another doctor came in later and asked me again about the PCR tests and I told her not for him because I fear that test for him.
    “She threatened that if we don’t take this PCR test that they would test everybody that I work with and everybody that the child’s father work with and they would send me in isolation at Harrison Point and after isolation they are going to send me in quarantine for two weeks,” she said.
    Jordan continued: “I was like, ‘send me in quarantine for two weeks? You all acting like I have COVID. What if I am negative?’ The following day they were transported to the Isolation Centre at Enmore, Collymore Rock, St Michael by the COVID ambulance.
    The mother of three said they were taken there on Friday where she again asked whether they could receive an oral COVID-19 test. She confirmed that both she and the toddler received an oral COVID-19 test at Enmore that same day, but noted that she was informed the following day that “the machine to test the oral swabs was not working”. She said she again refused the nasal swab.
    Jordan said on Sunday morning, she was informed that she would be sent to a quarantine centre. She indicated that when they arrived at the centre, she was informed that the oral samples taken from her and her son had disappeared.

Here is where govt drops a fake version of a nugget
    Without even considering the woman has a constitutional right to say Hell.No

Xxxxccccccc
    Meanwhile, a statement from the Director of Medical Services at QEH, Dr Clyde Cave issued today dismissed stories circulating on social media about the medical management of a child and family in the A&E at the QEH.
    He said due to the hospital’s commitment to patient privacy and confidentiality, the healthcare institution could not disclose any specific patient details.
    Dr Cave however maintained that the representation of the situation in various posts is inaccurate based on his investigation of the matter He pointed out that during the ongoing pandemic, doctors have to balance multiple responsibilities, but first and foremost is the duty of care to the child patient to ensure their well-being. The doctor said that respect for the wishes of parents is also taken into consideration but must be balanced with advocacy for any concerns affecting the minor, while the safety of the public, hospital staff and other patients is essential at this time.
    “We do acknowledge that an individual has the right to refuse a COVID-19 test. However, to ensure public safety, clear national protocols have been issued by the Ministry of Health and Wellness (MOHW) and these protocols state that in the event that a suspected COVID-19 positive individual refuses to undergo PCR testing, the individual will be required to quarantine for a period of 14 days at a MOHW approved facility.
    These facilities are established and managed directly by the MOHW and the Harrisons Point Isolation is not one of them as it is solely for the treatment of confirmed COVID-19 positive individuals,” the Director of Medical Services explained.
    (anestahenry@barbadostoday.bb)

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/11/woman-refuses-covid-19-swab-test/

the SCUM WOULD LIE and hide the negative tests just to torment and terrorize this woman and her child for not being a good little Slave and refusing to accept mistreatment..

31. The PCR test is the only acceptable test for someone that showing symptoms.

32. “Then I asked the paediatric doctor if there is a different way to get the COVID test and she told me no, and that they test babies by sticking the swab up the baby’s nose.

33. doctors insisted that based on the symptoms her son was experiencing, a COVID-19 PCR test was necessary for both of them.

However, the mother said she asked that they receive an oral COVID-19 test instead of the nasal swab.

34. LWF

I am not aware of anyone in Barbados getting stimulus money. I think you may be referring to the money that was paid out for the lost of income because of the lockdowns.

35. Here is where govt drops a fake version of a nugget
    Without even considering the woman has a constitutional right to say Hell.No

Xxxxccccccc
    Meanwhile, a statement from the Director of Medical Services at QEH, Dr Clyde Cave issued today dismissed stories circulating on social media about the medical management of a child and family in the A&E at the QEH.
    He said due to the hospital’s commitment to patient privacy and confidentiality, the healthcare institution could not disclose any specific patient details.
    Dr Cave however maintained that the representation of the situation in various posts is inaccurate based on his investigation of the matter He pointed out that during the ongoing pandemic, doctors have to balance multiple responsibilities, but first and foremost is the duty of care to the child patient to ensure their well-being. The doctor said that respect for the wishes of parents is also taken into consideration but must be balanced with advocacy for any concerns affecting the minor, while the safety of the public, hospital staff and other patients is essential at this time.
    “We do acknowledge that an individual has the right to refuse a COVID-19 test. —-> However, to ensure public safety, clear national protocols have been issued by the Ministry of Health and Wellness (MOHW) and these protocols state that in the event that a suspected COVID-19 positive individual refuses to undergo PCR testing, the individual will be required to quarantine for a period of 14 days at a MOHW approved facility.
    These facilities are established and managed directly by the MOHW and the Harrisons Point Isolation is not one of them as it is solely for the treatment of confirmed COVID-19 positive individuals,” the Director of Medical Services explained.
    (anestahenry@barbadostoday.bb)

36. The woman’s concern were relevant after all she takes care of the child and would know about what can cause discomfort to the child
    The long and short of the storythe officials tried taking up the role of parenting and obvious did not want to hear or listen to what the mother was saying with her relevant concerns for her child
    Heads should roll for causing the woman and child fear and physchological pain and discomfort
    To quote Martin Luther King
    Let freedom ring

37. The night watchman is a lawyer and got a team of lawyers in DLP. law courts waiting!

38. “Here is where govt drops a fake version of a nugget.”

It’s hard to imagine someone who was not present to witness whether or not the allegations are true, could come to BU and make a definitive statement to dismiss Dr. Cave’s version of the events as “GOVERNMENT dropping a fake version of a nugget.”

The resident “fowl slave” is essentially POLITICIZING the issue by implying Dr. Cave spoke on behalf of the Health Minister and, by extension, the Mottley administration, rather than as a representative of the QEH, which clearly questions his integrity and credibility as a doctor.

39. MLK
    version of the story
    Not Fake news either

LET FREEDOM RING

WELL.said MLK

40. Whistleblower legislation call

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/sites/barbadosadvocate.com/files/styles/large/public/field/image/Verla%20De%20Peiza2web_0.jpg

One political leader is calling for the creation of whistleblower legislation in Barbados.

This was the view of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) leader and spokesperson on finance, Verla De Peiza during a virtual Facebook Live event on Sunday. She explained that without this critical piece of legislation people will not come forward.

She also highlighted other pressing issues, including the bad practices in the private sector and she proposed that there should be integrity in public life legislation and this should encompass the judiciary arm. For transparency, De Peiza also said there is a need for Freedom of Information legislation.

Campaign financing legislation needed immediately

But with great urgency, the DLP leader wants the formation and enforcement of campaign financing legislation before the next elections.

She cited the Caribbean Court of Justice’s (CCJ) ruling against the Dominica Labour Party (DLP) for the 2014 Treating Case. The political leader, Roosevelt Skerrit and the party were accused of hosting free concerts around election time.

Treating is the act of serving food, drink, and other refreshments in order to influence people and to gain benefits not easily obtained in the free market. De Peiza used this case as evidence for Barbados to change the way it manages political campaigns during general elections.

De Peiza also spoke about other challenges with modern political campaigns. She noted that political parties are not legal entities and can not earn money and this makes them dependent on donations. She is suggesting that there should be the implementation of campaign rules and structure for campaign financing for political parties and candidates.

Due diligence for political figures

During the final hour of the panel discussion, De Peiza responded to a question on if the DLP will commit to a code of conduct for political candidates and agents. In her reply, the DLP party leader said that it is important for those operating in the political arena to hold each other to high standards and it is important to have due diligence for political figures. She explained this process was being undertaken for all candidates including herself.

“I am not speaking in terms of propaganda or innuendo, you always have to fight that down in the public space but speaking in terms of getting to the nitty-gritty, doing due diligence not that someone wishes to run, that they are popular in either in a national context or a colloquial sense or they have a parish presence, it is not just that but an investigation into what they have done with their lives to this point,” said De Peiza.

She explained the objective of this process is to produce a slate of candidates who can confidently face the public.

No mechanism for discipline with Auditor General’s reports

The DLP Spokesperson on Finance also commented on the role and responsibility of the Auditor General’s Report.

De Peiza said that the Auditor General in a report will document poor accounting practices and the department’s inefficiencies. But she stressed there is no mechanism in place to ensure that the recommendations from the Auditor General’s report are enforced. She recalled past Auditor General’s reports and noted that there was no follow-up system. She insisted that the Auditor General should have some authority to make changes to the issues highlighted and not only write a report.

“It has to be a frustrating job especially when you have to go back to that same entity and find exactly what you found last time. It has to be a frustrating job because it doesn’t have any bite, doesn’t have any teeth and it’s up to us, the lawmakers to give (the Auditor General) that authority,” said De Peiza.

In his contribution, the Chair of the Integrity Group Barbados, Andy Armstrong stressed the importance of not having political parties being reliant on public donations during campaigns for general elections.

He suggested political parties could receive some financial support through a substantial amount from the “public purse” for campaigns. These funds will need to be accounted for and the unused amount returned. He believed this would eliminate the issue of using money “with strings attached” or there will be less dependence on private donations and also help political parties to be more disciplined.

The Chair of Integrity Group Barbados, Andy Armstrong was a part of the panel which included attorney-at-law and the evening moderator, Curtis Cave and DLP party leader, Verla De Peiza. The event was entitled “Integrity Matters: Good Governance for Prosperous Barbados”.

Source: BarbadosAdvocate

41. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

All sounds and looks good ON PAPER…but breaking that nasty corrupt practice that has BLIGHTED the political, financial and social landscape for over 50 YEARS…5 decades…with sardine, corned beef and BUYING VOTES election politics ..

.AND..with the likes of covetous bizzy “gimme” boasting about financing/bribing BOTH POLITICAL PARTIES in the newspapers for years….and openly BRIBING THE POLICE with their own taxpayers money…during DLP blighted reign, is not exactly inspiring..

and with no pause in the corrupt judiciary of VIOLATING BLACK RIGHTS….don’t even want to wait and see, that shit should be in the hands of international agencies, from bribery corruption to violation of human rights…..another lawyer spouting more of the same, does not resonate.

42. What Verla said would not be news to the private sector
    Bizzy was once quoted as saying he is a member of the PIG party which in my mind means he sits on any side as long as some as the political servings come his way

43. “All sounds and looks good ON PAPER…but breaking that nasty corrupt practice that has BLIGHTED the political, financial and social landscape for over 50 YEARS…5 decades…with sardine, corned beef and BUYING VOTES election politics ..”

‘Not a truer thing has been said on BU.’

I’m wary of politicians from the BLP and DLP who seem to use ‘good governance, integrity legislation, freedom of information, code of conduct for political candidates, whistle blower legislation and references to the Auditor General’s reports, as ‘catch phrases’ to lure the electorate into believing they are serious about addressing these issues, when, in reality, the true purpose is a ‘political ploy’ to assist them in winning the elections.

What DePeiza talked about isn’t any thing new. During the 2008 election campaign, she and other members of the DLP, travelled the length and breadth of Barbados saying the same things she is reported to have said during “the virtual Facebook Live event,” while promising to address those issues immediately upon winning the general election.

They even dedicated three pages (46, 47, & 48) of their election manifesto to the topic….. “22: Good Governance.”

“There is therefore a need to clean up politics in Barbados. The Democratic Labour Party has selected a team of clean, caring, competent and committed politicians WHO HAVE SIGNED ON to a code of conduct, that promises Good Governance.” [Page 46]

“Immediately introduce integrity legislation requiring a declaration of assets by public officials, a Code of Conduct for Ministers, a new Freedom of Information law and amendments to the Defamation laws.” [Page 47]

During the 2018 general election campaign, Mottley and the BLP engaged a similar strategy, which saw them won the elections.

The DEMS used the excuse of a lack of financing as one of the reason they were unable to introduce ITAL and Freundel Stuart subsequently insisted the 1929 Prevention of Corruption Act was adequate, both of which were obviously endorsed by Verla.

Both the BLP and DLP exhibited similar ‘pre and post election strategies.’ Now, as we are approaching the 2023 general elections, Verla has shown the electorate she’s seemingly not prepared to move away from the ‘tired rhetoric’ that dominated two the previous elections.

It will take much more than political rhetoric during FaceBook virtual meetings to convince us the ‘DEMS’ are serious about addressing good governance.

They continue to demonstrate there aren’t any fundamental political, philosophical or ideological differences between the BLP and DLP.

44. Both the BLP and DLP exhibited similar ‘pre and post election strategies.’ Now, as we are approaching the 2023 general elections, Verla has shown the electorate she’s seemingly not prepared to move away from the ‘tired rhetoric’ that dominated two the previous elections.

It will take much more than political rhetoric during FaceBook virtual meetings to convince us the ‘DEMS’ are serious about addressing good governance.

They continue to demonstrate there aren’t any fundamental political, philosophical or ideological differences between the BLP and DLP.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

SOME IDIOTS COME ON THIS BLOG ATTACKING @William Skinner FOR CONSISTENTLY BEING OBJECTIVE AND TELLING THE TRUTH.

BLACK BAJANS STRUGGLING AND SUFFERING CAN CONTINUE TO BE USED AS PAWNS AND IDIOTS IF THEY LIKE BY BEING FOOLED AND FLEECED BY ALIBABA AND THEIR FORTY THIEVES ON BOTH SIDES OF THE BLP AND DLP.

45. Here we go again around the mulberry bush!

These people have no shame!

P.S.. P.I.G stands for Party in Government. Perfect acronym for people who are greedily looking to government for fat contracts.

46. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Donna…this is the reality, those who are NOT SLAVES will have to STOP voting for a Slave society…

“Neo-colonialism is also the worst form of imperialism. For those who practise it, it means power without responsibility and for those who suffer from it, it means exploitation without redress.” Nkruhmah

47. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

This evil shit has gone on much longer than it should have…time to shed the parliament nigas, they will NEVER shed their snake skins.

https://youtu.be/wLlyldJItZg.

48. @Verla, watch muh!🤭

49. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

the fowl Slave is watching two best friends, sounding like an echo, and have no shame.

50. Verla putting her all into service
    by JOHN BOYCE
    johnboyce@
    nationnews.com
    WHEN VERLA De PEIZA took over the reins of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in August of 2018, she knew that it was possibly the biggest task she would ever undertake.
    That’s because she became president as the party faced its darkest days after losing 30-0 to the Barbados Labour Party in the 2018 General Election.
    Be that as it may, Verla said she is up to the task, describing herself as one who does not shy away from a challenge.
    “I said no too many times, because I knew it was a hard job,” the veteran attorney told the MIDWEEK NATION, adding that the party needed someone and no one else was stepping up.
    However, she is under no illusions about the realities of the road ahead: “It is tough and it will continue to be tough, but having said yes, you can guarantee that I will give it my all.”
    But for Verla, serving is nothing new, because she came up in a domestic environment in which it was the norm.
    In that environment, in Northumberland, St Lucy, she grew up with her grandparents and saw through the family how “working together can pull everybody along”.
    Free time
    Verla came from a strong educational background, with both parents being teachers – father Vere into music and art at Erdiston Teachers Training College; and mother Barbara, a primary school teacher and later a principal – readily giving of her free time to help those children “who fell through the cracks”.
    This assistance, she said, was given “pretty close to free”.
    Those examples, buttressed by her faith in God as a Seventh-Day Adventist, taught Verla selflessness and service.
    “The church is well known for both things and their outreach and charity were drilled into us from childhood.”
    This, she said, led her to believe that her purpose for being here is to work to make life better for others.
    As she grew older and understood what “Uncle Philip” [now Sir Philip Greaves, a former deputy
    prime minister in the Democratic Labour Party administration] was doing, Verla started to pay closer attention to politics. This journey, she said, started from primary school.
    Inspired by “Uncle Philip”, she was drawn to law and politics, both disciplines in which she knew she could serve.
    So, as the moment of truth came in 1991, Verla chose both courses of study at the University of Southampton in England.
    “You cannot do both disciplines at the same time at UWI [The University of the West Indies], but the universities in England are more flexible . . . . On reflection, I would not recommend it [doing both simultaneously] to anyone.”
    Reflected with pride
    But her desire to serve was overwhelming and the “committed mother” of two, Zhara, 19, and Ethyn, who will be 16 next month, was prepared to do the work.
    As she spoke of motherhood, Verla reflected on her dad with pride, sadness and tears: “He died when Zhara was three months old. The last day he sat up was the day I came home from the hospital with her. I know I stumbled when he died.”
    A 1991 Exhibition awardee, the former Harrisonian said the people of Barbados educated her and therefore it was incumbent on her to give back.
    Pointing out that she has been around the DLP since her teenage years, the political leader said that when she came back home from university in her early 20s she officially joined the party and immersed herself in its business.
    Now, with more than two decades as a lawyer, she described herself as multi-dimensional, fair, and one who likes to listen.
    No misconception
    However, she has no misconception about the future.
    “The job ahead is a tough one, but the road getting here was tough, too. A lot of people don’t know this, but I was a nominee in the 2008 General Election, but James Paul won the nomination over me for St Michael West Central.”
    That process, she said, was a learning experience.
    Describing her experience in 2013 while contesting “the most difficult seat for the DLP” in Christ Church West, Verla said though she did not win the seat her showing was the best the party had ever done in that constituency.
    Admitting that the DLP had disappointed the people of Barbados, Verla said
    that when one is in service and his employer sees fit to fire him, there has to be “at its very base” some introspection.
    She stressed that the party must ensure that “we are never, ever in that position again”, adding that if no one else learned that lesson, the DLP must.
    Verla said that several policy changes have been implemented and the party has heard the “hard truths”.
    Against this background, the president said they are satisfied that the party is now at a point where it can face the people while acknowledging its failings and show them it is bent on “facing forward”.