BREAKING: Alex Tasker ordered extradited https://www.nationnews.com/2021/09/08/breaking-alex-tasker-ordered-extradited/

It is also a different version of how the story got out than what our own Attorney-General said last Thursday after the verdict was handed down. He said: “It is significant that the conviction came about because individuals who had knowledge of the events were prepared to speak out and to give evidence about wrongdoing.” The AG added: “This is something that is required at all levels in Barbados’ society whether dealing with the scourge of corruption or the scourge of gun violence.

Donville Inniss Case Points to Endemic Corruption in Barbados

The traditional media is off and running with the big headlines about the sentence federal District Court Judge Kiyo Matsumoto is scheduled to deliver today in New York in the Donville Inniss matter. It is the story traditional media will have a healthy appetite for because of flagging circulation.

Mia’s Red Bag has come up empty so far

The concern of the blogmaster confirmed in the deliberations during the Donville Inniss trial is the strong inference there is pervasive corrupt behaviour in the way business is conducted by some PUBLIC and PRIVATE officials in Barbados. Successive governments over the years have paid lip service to unearthing and punishing corruption even in the face of obvious indications of wrong doing. The Mia Mottley government is better placed than her predecessors given the unprecedented mandate handed to her government to do something about it. It is no secret however to those in the know that Donville and Mia are bosom buddies.

The following is a blog repost from January 20, 2020 which captures key concerns by the blogmaster, the late journalist Patrick Hoyos and the BU family.

Donville Inniss Case Points to Endemic Corruption in Barbados

The blogmaster found the Patrick Hoyos article to be – without prolix – a good summary of the Donville Inniss matter. Especially as it pertains to the inference other payments were made to Donville Inniss and that bribery by elected officials was commonplace in Barbados. Although we have the Attorney General et al saying that local laws would not have permitted prosecution of Inniss this position was challenged during the Inniss trial.

The blogmaster’s wish is that we have a dispassionate debate in Barbados and a call to action by our officials regarding the honest prosecution of public officials. It is ironic former Speaker of the House MICHAEL CARRINGTON and Adriel Brathwaite, former Attorney General showed support for Inniss by attending the trial in New York. CARRINGTON’s legacy will be that a High Court judge had to issue a court order for him to release monies due his client 70+ John Griffiths, the blogmaster will remember Brathwiate for promising to report to parliament the status of Mia Mottley’s qualification (LEC) to practice before the Courts of Barbados. He never did.

The time has come to arrest the moral and ethical rot- add criminal. We have started to experience the negative fallout of pushing our heads in the sand.

Time for the authorities to do a job.

Time for the Prime Minister, Attorney General and stakeholders to lead the charge.

Importantly, time for John Citizens to hold officials accountable.

Read full text of BU blog https://barbadosunderground.net/2020/01/24/donville-inniss-case-points-to-endemic-corruption-in-barbados/

817 responses to “Donville Inniss’ File Missing from Mottley’s Red Bag”

1. By the way Sargeant and Canadian posse, what is the buzz in your neck of the woods concerning the Inniss conviction?

2. David I know it hurts you that govt ministers along with the PM has been caught in a lie

Ha ha ha

3. Not as bad as it hurts you the Don has to serve prison time.

4. @David
    If Clarke was concerned about COVID in Canada he could have said so, not some make believe story about why he couldn’t get there.
    About Donville

I haven’t heard much buzz except that people remarked that the verdict was a foregone conclusion and expressed sympathy for his family. Remember that the arrest and trial was in the headlines for a while and by the time the judge delivered the sentence many had moved on.

5. DavidMay 6, 2021 4:32 PM

Not as bad as it hurts you the Don has to serve prison time
    Xccccccccccccs
    So David you are admitting that govt lies told are hurting you
    As for me I am capable of speaking for myself
    Don’t fool yuh self into a false sense of conclusion when speaking on my behalf
    Better yet speak only fuh yuh self

Xxxccccccc
    Most of the wider international world doesn’t know Donville Innis and are too busy to be caught up in small minded political affairs generated in third world countries
    I bet if a street survey was done in any main international country street asking who is Donville Innis the answers would go like this
    ” Donville Who
    Meanwhile back at home Gline Clarke has become the official poster boy for gimmicks and tricks handed to him by Mia so he can go away to his place of retirement
    Fb is ablaze with laughter calling him words that fill the belly with laughter
    The latest being a mock stick uncertified diplomat Mia style

6. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

Well Reuters is doing its homework.

ICC has not accepted any filing though. They acknowledged receipt of a complaint regarding Israel violating the Neuremburg code, not the same as accepting. According to Reuters. They still have to analyze the info they said.

When they do and if they accept the claim, all the vaccine bullies will have to start worrying. War crimes is serious business. The little negros in the Caribbean love to rush to the front of the line, let’s see if they rushed to some kinda trial this time or not. I read some of the document and all i can say is oh well let’s see.

7. Walcott stating that all Clarke had to say was that has appointment was not affirmed is a lie
    Gline felt the pressure when people was asking about him still not in Canada
    Gline takes orders from Mia and hard to believe he would go out on his own and speak to media without first confirming what he is going to say to the media without the blessings of the head honchos
    This govt is all about PR but was caught napping on this issue

8. Angela Cox still trying to shift the focus of this blog unsuccedsfully? Poor soul all your talk about Mr Clarke doed not change the fact that one of your dems Mr Inniss has been convicted of money laudering and will likely have to spend two years in prison.This will hurt you and your party to the core and will be an albatross around your necks come 2023 and beyond.Deal with that AC.

9. Lorenzo I am having a COVID party u are invited
    But don’t bring Gline Clarke he might be a bearer of an infectious disease call lying handed to him by govt
    Statistics don’t lie
    Statisticians can be liars which seems to be a govt problem

10. @Sargeant

Understood but the blogmaster is of the view it was not his decision, he was pushed from prime real estate for the good of party.

Regarding a Inniss he has become a political footnote.

11. 555dubstreet Avatar

“angela cox”

David I know it hurts you that govt ministers along with the PM has been caught in a lie

Ha ha ha

“David”

Not as bad as it hurts you the Don has to serve prison time.

@ “angela cox” + “David

You should both practise some sensory withdrawal / deprivation of devotion to your political parties and get inside yourselves
    as you have both been hypnotised by partisan politics. Think like a teenage rebel who does not know and care about the players and politics in daily news feeds and feels strongly about partying and issues such as fairness honesty integrity truth and rights and justice and getting fucked up stoned and laid, and bring in fresh blood and new ideas into stale politics of older generation. So get a room and thrash it out of your systems.

(*) not their real names

12. Triple five dubstreet

You don’t know what I am feeling for all of what u don’t know there maybe many of us
    Which begs the question which one would u be speaking to
    Go figure

13. 555dubstreet Avatar

Angela sucks cocks

Guess it went over your head that you shouldn’t give a fuck about politics as both sides work together to scam you and are BFF

if you and David never spoke about politics and never voted the results would still be the same as you make no difference in the big scheme and are just 2 votes that cancel each other out

14. David May 6, 2021 6:27 PM Regarding a Inniss he has become a political footnote.

Be careful. ”Time longer than twine”.

Willing to bet that he runs in a future GE.

15. Lorenzo May 6, 2021 5:35 PM

As I told David. I am not DLP, I am an independent observer. Inniss will be seen by Bajans voters as ‘so what’ and even for some, a hero.

As for that, Americans were willing to vote for a complete madman, in Trump, who pardoned a host of criminal friends.

Don’t you think Bajan voters have taken an example from that?

I believe that Inniss will return to elective politics.

One may posit, ‘and why not’, considering the amount of crooks in leadership positions internationally? Examples of cronyism and backhanders have come to the fore clearly, including in ‘bastions of democracy’. You should know of what I refer, I am not getting into it here, prefer not to.

Why is Inniss any different?

Being a bit of a devil’s advocate here, but even sitting back and thinking about it, just go and read the international news and the amount of crookery is disgusting.

So yet again, why is Inniss any different?

16. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

Crusoe…then there is the other side that everyone CONVENIENTLY neglects to remember…because they love to hear the corrupt politicians they like get away with corruption and crimes…Donville should really SELL their asses, this time to the middle east. The ignorance on the island is very palatable and extremely dangerous.

https://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/ny-silver-back-to-prison-20210506-4xg53anysjajxktgp5lqxyvw54-story.html#nt=pf-double%20chain~top-version1~flex%20feature~curated~silver-310p~4XG53ANYSJAJXKTGP5LQXYVW54~1~1~1~7~art%20yes

17. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

so why do ya think that 400 years of self-hatred of ya ancestral lands MARINATED in Barbados’ small society will end in a few months just because ya broke…

this is disturbing to a lot of people right now, you know that yall maintained and sustained the self-hatred of Africa and Africans for decades after centuries of same, you have maintained it for decades VOLUNTARILY, how dare you believe you can now carry ya criminal behavior to the continent using diplomatic missions to do what you do best ON the continent to continue to maintain a Slave society of self-hatred for all things and everyone of African extract on the island INDEFINITELY …,,and you are actually telling ya criminal, self-hating selves that OUR ANCESTORS WILL ALLOW IT….ya so disconnected that you don’t know them at all..

and am not the one to show you, time for yall to learn a VERY VALUABLE lesson..

18. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

Crusoe….the corruption loving undereducated love to hear when corrupt politicians in US etc get away with crimes, it emboldens them to accept their local corrupt idiots, next time Donville should not only sell them out to insurance companies, he should sell the clowns to the middle east….so we can have one for the history books….the ignorance on the island is a palatable and very dangerous thing. That’s why the corrupt do what they do..

there are always NUMEROUS stories of corrupt politicians in US and other jurisdictions going to PRISON every week, but you never hear about that on the island, the ones who escape for a short time are always highlighted to justify ongoing corruption from small islanders, that’s why society can never rise…..further than it is right now…..protection of corruption.

every week, you get these types of stories, but apparently the press on the island, close their eyes, they would do well to highlight more of them for education purposes.

“It’s back to federal prison for disgraced former state Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver, whose home confinement release was revoked Thursday after just two days, a source told the Daily News.

Silver, 77, has been ordered to return to Otisville prison in Orange County, N.Y. after being released Tuesday on “furlough,” the source familiar with the matter said.

The former Assembly Speaker had been awaiting official designation to home confinement. The federal Bureau of Prisons, after considering Manhattan federal prosecutors’ strong opposition to Silver’s release, apparently reversed course.

Sheldon Silver is wheeled into his apartment building through the wheelchair access entrance on Grand St. in Manhattan after being released from prison, Tuesday, May 4. (Shawn Inglima/for New York Daily News)
    The fallen Albany powerbroker has served less than a year of a 6 1/2-year sentence for secretly taking $800,000 in legal fees from real estate developers from 2005 to 2015.

19. 555dubstreet Avatar

Waru,
    Can’t you deliver your Back to Africa message a little bit sweeter instead of cunting out everyone for being so blind and stupid for not seeing things like you. The new wave movement is happening regardless, but needs a few decades for Africa to develop and catch up and the West to regress backwards, to make advantages of African culture and life more obvious.

20. Donville’s case is back in the news.

Donville files appeal in US court
    Donville Inniss yesterday filed an appeal against his conviction and sentence.
    The former Government minister was sentenced on April 27 to two years in a United States federal prison, followed by two years’ supervised release, after being convicted in January last year of two counts of money laundering and one count of conspiracy to commit money laundering.
    At the time he was notified by the court that he had 14 days to file an appeal.
    Yesterday, his attorney Joel Hirschhorn sent correspondence to Judge Kiyo Matsumoto, at the Eastern District Court of New York, indicating that the appeal had been filed.
    The notice stated: “Comes now defendant, Donville Inniss, pursuant to Fed. R. App. P. 4(b), and hereby files his notice of appeal, appealing to the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, the judgment (conviction and sentence) entered by the Honorable Kiyo Matsumoto, United States District Judge for the Eastern District of New York, on April 27, 2021.”
    Inniss, 55, however, is supposed to present himself to prison on July 30 to begin serving time. He will spend 18 months in jail before being released to a halfway house to serve the remaining six months. He may be allowed to serve the two years’ supervised release in Barbados.
    Last week, Inniss, who is also a US green card holder (permanent resident), notified the court that on completion of his sentence, he intended to return to Barbados. Indications are that he would be stripped of his permanent resident status.
    Prosecutors had argued that Inniss used his position as Minister of International Business, Commerce and Small Business Development to solicit bribes from the Insurance Corporation of Barbados Ltd in August 2015 and April 2016, for which he received US$36 536.73, which he laundered through banks in the United States.
    Last week he told the court before his sentence that the money was a political gift. (MB)

21. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

Every week i read these stores, sometimes more than one a week, but ya never get that info in Barbados, they want to hide it and continue with their “it happens everywhere so wha.t mantra.” to continue getting the crumbs that fall off the corruption table.

If they were even a little bit educated they won’t do it because of how degrading, unproductive, self-defeating, ultimately and completely destructive that mindset it….but that’s on them, they are the ones GOING DOWN WITH the DBLP ships of disaster….the ministers, politicians tief enuff that they can attempt to run, but their supporting Slaves don’t have one shite, not a cup to piss in or a window to throw it out of when the crooks finally get around to TIEFING THEIR PROPERTIES TOO….🤣🤣😎

22. 555dubstreet Avatar

23. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

So much for the two lawyers, government ministers, AG and PM telling themselves, each other and the PUBLIC that the Donville saga is over, just because they don’t want to hear anything more about it and they believe they can BULLY the electorate to stop talking about it…….lol..😜…tough, never going to happen..

it makes no sense that appeal UNLESS he hopes to get the conviction overturned to get back his resident status despite all the long talk, because for all intents and purposes, he is very likely to be RELEASED LONG BEFORE THE APPEAL IS HEARD…

kiki…ya got it all figured out, ya don’t need me to do it, DO IT YASELF….i work on ANCESTRAL TIME, not yours…..something ya can never understand cause ya cant google it or read anything. about it online.

24. 555dubstreet Avatar

What the fuck is ancestral time
    People are wherever they are for a purpose
    Always remember: the universe has a way of leading you to where you’re supposed to be, at the moment you’re supposed to be there.
    P. Diddy Rock

25. angela cox May 6, 2021 1:04 PM

I did not mentioned any name, yet you responded. Hence, you’ve essentially admitted to being “the resident DLP yard-fowl.” Therefore, you cannot be offended if I refer to you hereafter by that title.

“Fool,” just in case you did not realize, Facebook and Barbados Underground are TWO DIFFERENT FORA.

So, because “The story is on fb Clarke being the mock stick and laughing stock and govt the benefactors by way of deception,” doesn’t mean it has to be THE ‘hot topic’ on Barbados Underground.

The interesting thing is, you seem to be a member of a Facebook forum that’s dominated by DLP supporters. And, you post criticisms of the ruling administration from that page to BU, to give the impression it’s general sentiment of ALL Barbadians.

Rather than “being the mock stick and laughing stock” of BU, why not provide the forum with BALANCE by posting alternative views as well?

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

Donna girl….sorry to tell ya, but unless the Slave mind is completely PURGED from the present African descended population, and the inner self-hatred and hatred of everything African stripped from those minds, no amount of posting things on African culture, religion. spirituality, education etc will work….you must be BORN with certain element of knowledge of self….but it was COMPLETELY BRED OUT of the island’s African population….and it’s known that Barbados as the clearing house for the enslaved and creators of slave laws and slave codes to distribute across the earth, took the brunt of that psychological destruction.

the indoctrination is so CONCRETIZED, that it is more than difficult to reverse and RE-EDUCATION can only help the young whose minds have not yet been DECAYED and CORRUPTED with self-loathing….the adults and even some of the younger generation have been INFECTED with the same disease of the mind…..it is generational through culturized brainwash…the centuries and then decades of experimentation is a complete success, the devisers must be very proud.

it was evident with the small experiment conducted last week on the island that showed they CANNOT STAND to see an African person like themselves wearing African Kente head dress cloth, colors or clothing….it was horrifying to actually see that level of hatred for ancestral traditions….the rolling of the eyes, the twisted expressions, the snickering and smirking, the look of fake superiority which is in reality INFERIORITY…they will NOT be allowed to get away with that behavior on the continent….then the fowl Slave Lorenza could not help itself and jumped out to complete the experiment with the uneducated ignorance that it’s so famous for..

as for the stinking corrupt minorities who AIDED in the self hatred now permeating the lives of the African descended and have the dirty mindset that “we aint want nothing AFRICAN BOUT HERE”, you have NOTHING to get from the continent as yall are SALIVATING FOR and sending ya parliament negros to SET UP…they heard all about YOU.

from time to time i will post what i think destroyed minds can handle, but a steady diet will only make things worse..

.. don’t know what the hell Mia thinks she is doing on the continent UNLESS she puts in the work to help FREE THE PEOPLE’S MINDS from that ugly level of hating themselves and each other…that would be the perfect ancestral GIFT…but politicians only care about being elected to climb on a stage and put themselves on display.

I must boast though that i love the Kente cloth, it’s very soft for the skin and cool to wear in tropical climates, not to mention it’s very beautiful. Lots of work is put into the thousands of year old tradition of creating Kente cloth….but the Slaves in the west won’t know that neither will they care. Not everyone is slave minded but too many are and that is to their own DOWNFALL.

27. 555dubstreet Avatar

Figs in the Bible
    The Back to Africa Organic Solution:
    Marry An African

“but they shall all sit under their own vines and under their own fig trees, and no one shall make them afraid….”
    Sitting unafraid under the vine and fig tree captured the deep longing in the human soul for independence from the power of arbitrary government, from injustice, and oppression. The revolution held out that hope.
    “under his own vine and fig tree” (1 Kings 4:25), an indicator of national wealth and prosperity.

28. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

kiki…ya will just have to either settle for that, or do it yaself…no one has the time to waste.

29. 555dubstreet Avatar

sounds like you are talking out of your anus Abigail Mitchell

30. Must we take this topic down another shit hike? Really? Are you adults?

31. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

It ALL had to come DOWN to this wire, decades of corruption, racism and discrimination and what some are trying to get past is the blame assigned to UK…and had the people believing that the crimes against them were RUBBER STAMPED by the palace…though not blameless as the initial engineers…but realistically the real blame from the 70s to today has to be laid right where it belongs.

… especially the last 6 DECADES and PARTICULARLY from the 1940s the crime syndicate created in the bar association….. that EVOLVED into last the 3-4 DECADES of corruption social, and financial destruction IS ENTIRELY ATTRIBUTED to 2 corrupt governments and the exceedingly NASTY descendants of the SLAVE PATROL within the tiny minority community of less than 8,000 who normalized corruption, aided the parliament sellouts and any foreign CRIMINALS and RACISTS they recruited to continue their criminality against the majority population and the island..

.that is what has BLIGHTED everything and everyone….now they are all with their HYPOCRISY and CRIMINALITY looking to Africa for resources to continue those CURSED crimes……..oh well, we shall see because you can guarantee that it was ALL ANTICIPATED…not everyone is slave minded..

32. Angela Cox still trying to shift the focus of this blog unsuccedsfully? Poor soul all your talk about Mr Clarke doed not change the fact that one of your dems Mr Inniss has been convicted of money laudering and will likely have to spend two years in prison.This will hurt you and your party to the core and will be an albatross around your necks come 2023 and beyond.Deal with that AC.

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

PERFECTLY SAID BY A BLP YARD DUCK.

HOWEVER THIS IS AN INDICTMENT OF ALL DLP AND BLP POLITICIANS WHO HAVE USED BLACK BAJANS LIKE SHIT RAGS FOR DECADES WHILST USING THEIR POSITIONS TO STEAL WITH IMPUNITY.

ANY SENSIBLE THINKING PERSON EVER WONDER WHY NO BAJAN POLITICIANS ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND HAS EVER BEEN LOCKED UP FOR MONEY LAUNDERING AND THEFT AS HAPPENS IN THE US, UK AND CANADA WHEN THEIR POLITICIANS HANDS ARE CAUGHT IN THE COOKIE JAR.

POLITICIANS UPON BEING ELECTED ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND MUST LAUGH DAILY WITH WHAT THEY GET AWAY WITH INCLUDING BRIBE TAKING WHILST THE POOR FOOLS WHO VOTE FOR THEM CATCH HELL WHILST SUFFERING IN SILENCE.

33. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

Oh well….I hope Mia is no longer calling the coldblooded murder of a Black man that prompted worldwide protests A TREND….civil rights charges have been brought.

despite what the corrupt thieves and racists in Barbados think, African people HAVE civil rights that MUST BE OBSERVED AND ENFORCED…..people are wondering what would be happening in Barbados to the African population if the US had not charged these four animals…seeing so many got the “it happens everywhere mentality.”

“A federal grand jury has indicted the four former Minneapolis cops involved in George Floyd’s arrest and death, accusing them of willfully violating the Black man’s constitutional rights as he was restrained face-down on the pavement and gasping for air.”

34. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

Waiting to hear if the parents of that youngster who met his death as his father said in a SIMILAR fashion to George Floyd in Barbados. over one month BEFORE the US killing, have civil rights charges filed wherever he can get it done, because it’s very clear although some people who know the family said they heard about this death, there appears to have been a cover up of sorts…

as long as the KNOWN criminals understand that you DO NOT get to violate Black/African rights for DECADES ON END and believe you can continue in 2021 and beyond. It will end one way or the other.

yall corruption is on full display from one continent to the other, ya gotta know when it’s time to STOP. Fat lady sang until there is no voice left. Keep playing ya are the baddest in the Caribbean and see what happens next. No one is going anywhere, there are lockdowns everywhere, that’s currently working in everyone’s favor..

35. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

I know some of you are colonialists to your very bones and some are just Slaves…but do any of you know that there exists AFRICANS who are quite capable of casting their gaze 50 years or more into the future, don’t worry, colonists got them too…but Africa has always had them as well…those are the ones many of you hate though.

36. In the Caribbean, Barbados prides itself as having an overt view of integrity but speak to many of the ordinary citizens whose voices are under represented in the Barbados narrative of integrity and a different image of the governmental processes they face will emerge. The image is one similar to ‘Boss Hogg of the Dukes of Hazzard’ fame. There seems to be no policies governing processes; accountability is a chicken snack box from up Accra and if one dares to complain to any minister, indeed the Attorney General or Governor General, the correspondence is ignored and your file forever sits in the buried dust of ‘how dare you?’ Barbados has a major problem, that the two dominant political parties are in essence, two sides of the same coin. Public officers, from the Governor General, Prime Minister to Ministers, parliamentary representatives and those who serve under them, appear to all have clouded vision about their roles. Their professional ethos seems skewed into over rated self-belief, importance and cronyism. The people of Barbados should not remain voiceless in altering the Barbados narrative for transparency, fairness and accountability.

ALL PUBLIC OFFICE-HOLDERS are both servants of the public and stewards of public resources. All Public Office holders should operate under, the Seven Principles of Public Life (also known as the Nolan Principles); I am confident that the Barbados Government is aware of this but the following is a reminder:

Selflessness-Holders of public office should act solely in terms of the public interest.
    Integrity- Holders of public office must avoid placing themselves under any obligation to people or organisations that might try inappropriately to influence them in their work. They should not act or take decisions in order to gain financial or other material benefits for themselves, their family, or their friends. They must declare and resolve any interests and relationships.
    Objectivity-Holders of public office must act and take decisions impartially, fairly and on merit, using the best evidence and without discrimination or bias.
    Accountability -Holders of public office are accountable to the public for their decisions and actions and must submit themselves to the scrutiny necessary to ensure this.
    Openness -Holders of public office should act and take decisions in an open and transparent manner. Information should not be withheld from the public unless there are clear and lawful reasons for so doing.
    Honesty- Holders of public office should be truthful.
    Leadership- Holders of public office should exhibit these principles in their own behaviour. They should actively promote and robustly support the principles and be willing to challenge poor behaviour wherever it occurs.

Barbados can do better but it must realise the need to transform attitudes and implement ethical practices and ditch the ‘favours political’ agenda. Each citizen irrespective of privilege, should be able to attain moral and social justice.

37. Magistrate denies request for witness

KAMANTE MILLAR, the former chief financial officer of the Insurance Corporation of Barbados Ltd. (ICBL), is in the island and the defence wanted her summoned as a witness in Alex Tasker extradition matter.
    However, Chief Magistrate Ian Weekes turned down the request, saying to allow it would turn the extradition hearing into something akin to a preliminary inquiry.
    The development came yesterday after Chief Magistrate Weekes ruled against submissions made by Queen’s Counsel Andrew Pilgrim, paving the way for Tasker to give a statement in the extradition matter.
    However, before any options could be put to the former ICBL senior vice president, his attorney Pilgrim informed the court that Millar was in Barbados and he wanted the Crown to summon her since “she was germane to this”.
    But Acting Director of Public Prosecutions Alliston Seale said he did not know that Millar was in Barbados.
    “The court will have to determine if it requires viva voce evidence from any particular witness and, in determining that, the court will have to determine how that will advance the case,” Seale said.
    “I think that would be almost going back to where we were in the new committal style and then we would have a small mini preliminary enquiry which we were going to do somewhere else. I thought we were getting away from that,” Seale told the court.
    Chief Magistrate Weekes then noted: “I am not so sure about bringing Ms Millar by the defence at this time on any issues surrounding it (her statement). If it was a preliminary enquiry I can understand to a certain extent but the ethos behind an extradition is slightly different.”
    He then turned down the
    defence’s request for the summons.
    When the matter resumes today in the District “A” Magistrates’ Court, Tasker will have the option of giving a statement on the matter.
    Tasker, of Mayfair Terrace, Leadvale, Christ Church, is wanted in the United States to face trial for conspiracy to launder money and money laundering between August 2015 and April 2016.
    He is represented by Queen’s Counsel Pilgrim and attorney Neville Reid, while Acting Director of Public Prosecutions Seale and Senior Crown Counsel Oliver Thomas appear for the US government.
    Tasker remains on $200 000 bail with a surety; his passport remains in the custody of the court; he continues to report to the Glebe Police Station every Tuesday, Friday and Sunday and is on a 6 p.m. to 6 a.m. curfew.

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

A legal delay attempt.
    Mr Tasker needs to speak and convince the magistrate, the monies paid by ICBL were NOT a bribe. No bribe = no laundering.
    Given the various versions of what the money was for, as related by Ms Millar to the US Court, while referencing her discussions with Tasker and CEO Innes, from a non legal mind seems his best hope.

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

BTW is the new Ambassador Clarke, in Canada yet.

40. @NO

You are in a funny mixed up mood this morning?

41. @NO

Remember he said he couldn’t get a flight

42. Not really both topics I came across while in scroll mode to find the latest post. Clicking on the dashboard does not always immediately direct one the post.

@Sarge
    Yes. But there have been nuff flights since. Two of my NA, Cda-US, based siblings have been to Bim since that time.

43. From July 6 BT
    “High Commissioner to Canada Gline Clarke is to finally take up residence in the capital city of Ottawa in the next “two or three weeks”, more than nine months after the announcement of his appointment.”
    The FB page for the High Commission makes no mention of HC Clarke. But does recognize the same post for China being occupied in mid August. So I’d guess 2-3 weeks was a misprint, they meant mumphs.

44. Covid 19 was blamed for the late processing of his posting.

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

Could be some truth to that. Biden didn’t announce his ambassador to Canada until July 21, 2021 (Cohen). And little since. That post has seen 3 ‘acting’ persons over the past few years,since former Ambassador Craft left to fill UN post, vacant after Nikki Haley left.
    It is the FIRST time in USA-Canada history, there was an acting Ambassador (Charges D’Affairs), not to mention three in succession. An interesting omen for watchers of US-Canada relations?

46. Gine Cark may want to stay in Barbados. Winter soon come.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/covid-19-ontario-september-2-2021-update-1.6162245

47. Where is the prison Donville was sent to?

Hope it isn’t in one of those Northeastern states although prisons are usually hurricane proof.