Dr. Kim Quimby, a Lecturer in Immunology at UWI, Cave Hill appointed to the committee to advise the government of Barbados on the selection of vaccines issued the following chilling pronouncement recorded elsewhere in the press.
I don’t think anyone can say at this time when we will get back to normal. There are just a lot of variables going on.
There is also the mutation that you have to worry about and the decrease efficacy in the viral mutation. You don’t know how long it is going to continue.
If we don’t get everyone vaccinated quickly there is an increased risk of more mutation. So there are just too many unknowns to say when we can get back to normal. We just got to do what we can do at this point…
Dr. Kim Quimby
The statement is chilling because the government of Barbados and other countries with an overdependence on tourism and services have been adopting a wait and see strategy of borrowing to protect the way of life we have become accustomed. Some will define that way of life as living way above our ability to earn (afford).
We hope Dr. Quimby’s dispassionate warning based on training is factored in government policy and promoted in a national conversation. Setting expectations is important because if we observe the behaviour of Barbadians one senses there is an unforgivable ignorance about the dire economic predicament Barbados is currently mired. We should not have to be reminded that before COVID 19 reared its head just over a year ago Barbados’ economic state was fragile.
In a recent blog F for V I S I O N the blogmaster expressed concern at the lack of cohesion between ministries revealed in the recent 2021/2022 Estimates Debate. We have posted questions how does government plan to manage the 700 million budget deficit. What is the plan to sensitize the population of the real situation. The blogmaster understands the objective of government messaging to inflate the confidence of average Barbadians at a difficult time. However, the message must be tempered with reality.
If Dr. Quimby’s warning comes true, is the current plan to protect and give hope to Barbadians a realistic one?
Some will say send home government workers. If we do, how will it impact government revenues. The economists will generously use the Multiplier Effect argument. What about the social dislocation and disruption? There will be the knock on effect to the private sector given the design of the local economy which is public sector led.
Without getting technical and using a low dose of commonsense there are inherent risks and others we have to carefully manage in the unravelling COVID 19 public health crisis which has exposed economic and social vulnerabilities in Barbados and other countries. In the same way the virus is described as novel, responses by Small Island Developing States (SIDs) will have to vary from traditional tactics and approaches to problem solving.
The biggest two problems Barbados have to stare down are managing an unforgivable debt accumulated over decades to support a popular lifestyle AND the ability to materially move the GDP needle which is challenged by the fact our main money earner is a non starter for some time to come.
The reality is that the novel problem being faced by Barbados has stumped our best and brightest. If there is a path to finding our way out of the COVID 19 induced economic maze the blogmaster remains ignorant. Uneasy lies the head that wears the crown they say. Is is easy for some to continue to harp about the missteps that created a one-legged economy. It is more difficult to offer ideas that will move the GDP needle in a significant way.
The BU space over the years has captured hundreds of ideas posted by the dull and intelligent. The blogmaster senses the political directorate and shadows in the private sector have been contented to milk unfit for purpose economic and governance models.
Ladies and gentlemen, we are now reaping the whirlwind from those stasis positions taken.
The outlook remains gloomy.
For those who love to read studies. Here is another one from the IDB – Economic Institutions for a Resilient Caribbean
https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2021/03/economic-institutions-for-a-resilient-caribbean.pdf
You have often blamed supporting certain lifestyles as causative for the high debt levels.
It would be more precise to locate causation as a function of international capitalism, what has sometimes been called globalization operating as a circular feedback loop.
When you say lifestyles it gives the misguided impression that average Bajans are significant actors in this false economy.
The trenchant truism has always been that international capital as debt comes into Barbados in order to enable foreign investors to exchange local currency for hard currency for repatriation and to keep the outward flows active.
This should be seen no differently than the ways in which central government has for decades supported a sugar industry which was losing money or a tourism industry similarly located.
We concede that ours is a more sophisticated maybe technical explanation but a proper interrogation must go deeper, much deeper than the blaming of average citizens who are not the primary beneficiaries of foreign debt.
@Pacha
This is true to locate the root of the problem BUT as a SID if we are to competently navigate global challenges and pitfall we will have to find a way to retreat to a SID model that is nuanced appropriately. Easier said than done for sure.
@ Pacha
More globalist gobbledygook. The damn simple truth is that our economy was in shambles for nearly a half century. Pseudo intellectuals gobbling up nonsense and spouting pure crap while the basic features of any economy were failing before our very eyes.
Please take off your blinkers and accept that while no idiot would deny or ignore what you apparently think is unknown to others on BU, that the bankruptcy of ideas “located” in the BLPDLP miscreants has done and will continue to do more damage to our country than any globalist or capitalist designed harm.
@ David , as ordinary , and as intellectually or academically soft, positions might appear, to those masquerading as the sophisticated fountains of all knowledge, is correct and more in keeping with our current reality than pure pie on the sky well known cliches , that have dominated global discussion for at least one hundred and fifty years.
And. let me state without apology that all that COVID has unmasked , has been there and will be there post COVID because of those who we seek to lead us.
I guess the globalist manipulations have your black brothers and sisters working for $125USD per week or even less.
@William
We have to change it up.
Skinner
This is a matter in which you have no knowledge at all. Simply locating every problem into a larger narrative, even if that political argument is true misses the point,
Skinner you cannot always have the same political argument to explain everything. At some point you’ll need to give an explicit explanation of what is happening currently instead of regurgitating dated arguments.
We have not seen anybody here making a similar comment directly. And if you disagree. Well, explain why Barbados is not alone in terms of foreign debt levels.
Skinner
So have you finally made up your mind that this writer is a psuedo-intellectual.
We never claimed to be an intellectual. It is people like you who see such claims as important not us. We give not a fuck!
Then how do you account for the accolades given us over years. The invitations to write?
Skinner, we consider your confusion a wider expression of an arrested development.
David – It is easy for some to continue to harp about the missteps that created a one-legged economy. It is more difficult to offer ideas that will move the GDP needle in a significant way.
Response – On the contrary, many ideas to reduce the annual fiscal deficit and foreign debt have been given now for over fifteen years, from the prior unrelated Barbados Free Press blog, then on this blog.
Simple and common sense ideas, where even import substitution is relevant. One does not always have to look for the biggest and best, but you have got to pick the low hanging fruit first. The rest will come later. When you do not even bother for the low hanging fruit, you will get problems.
@Crusoe
The blog is clear to give credit to the BU space for generating ideas over the years. The comment you cited was more targeted to some who post to BU daily to harp on the problems. Thanks for clarification.
@ Pacha
You stated : ” Skinner you cannot always have the same political argument to explain everything. At some point you’ll need to give an explicit explanation of what is happening currently instead of regurgitating dated arguments.”
Answer from Skinner :I now invite you to look in the mirror !
You still have the inability to separate a debate from personal nonsense. My giving you credit as an excellent writer and possessing an erudite mind remains. Even if I did not give you credit, that would have still been the case because others are in full agreement on that assessment.
Simply put Pacha, you are no pseudo anything in my book ,but to declare that you alone understand the implications of global and geo political manipulations and cause for many of our problems, have been known and is known by everybody who writes on this blog. How deep do you have to dig to discover why in St. Joseph our black brothers and sisters cannot get water? What global metric do you have to use to determine that our black brothers and sisters cannot get a start up loan from a single bank in our country?
Pray tell what do any expansive knowledge of the perpetual globalists agenda has to do with Mark Maloney cleaning out the treasury , under two administrations, while your black brothers and sisters are selling off construction equipment to feed their families and pay debts.
Do you really understand what to regurgitate means? You have a globalist position which plays into the same eurocentric slavery driven system that you claim to denounce. I remain a “backwater” regionalist. That is where we have been forever. I believe that the future of the Caribbean lies in one Caribbean Nation State. Its a difference of thinking nothing personal Pacha. Come down from wherever the hell you think you are!
https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2006/11/18/barbados-government-double-talk-international-loan-to-prop-up-foreign-reserves-is-not-to-prop-up-foreign-reserves-huh/
Here is one very good short article written on a now defunct blog, but the article is an example of prior discussion and very valid now, as we are saying the very thing nine years later and often in between.
Unfortunately, I think many of the comments on many of the articles there have been deleted or inaccessible. When I look they are not there.
https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2012/08/13/growing-our-own-produce-for-gods-sake/
Skinner
Perceptions about having to come down supports our previous determinations about you.
You jumped on us this morning regurgitating your tired trite when we were simple trying to take a position that would generally seem fair.
All of your emotional arguments about Black brothers and sisters are less than persuasive.
Don’t you see the critical link between the cleaning out of the treasury which you claim and the way we tried to explain how borrowed money is primarily deployed to support international capital flows. The country has to pay it back but the local White businessmen benefit primarily.
Our argument was basically to defend your Black brothers and sisters who you claimed are being suppressed, our word not yours for you will come back and say you ain’t say so, economically. And to push back against a wrong or imprecise argument being made by David.
What you will never understand is that no type of regional union could avoid these problems. No different cadre of leaders. That as long as capitalism is the global organizing principle for economy the current duopoly political structures in any single island or any group thereof will be useless as a solution.
We find you to be a disingenuous fellow. For you cannot make the claim that a writer is psuedo intellectual and at the same time construct an artificial divide between debate and personallity If you were not insincere you would have made direct contact with our basic point and not descend into that which you suggest of us, in your own inimitable fashion.
It does appear the solution to every problem by SID governments including Barbados is to drawdown on a loan from international financial institutions.
The prime minister confirmed this morning during the Estimates debate this morning the economic contracted by 2 billion dollars because of COVID. Also the government has borrowed 1 billion as a consequence.
Now David
Add that information to what this writer said earlier and you’ll have a fair picture why the economy and society are how they are, and will be.
Wily and a few other BLOGGERS have put forth the one initiative to start the CHANGE REVOLUTION in motion. The Blogmaster and the usual social whinners immediately jump out of the woodwork that this is not a practical solution. Wily agrees this may not be the solution but it will initiate CHANGE that cannot be put back into the bottle and force the governments hand at addressing the consequential issues and generating solutions.
DEVALUATION is the initiator, government/populace reactions will generate the solutions. Populace will have to endure radical lifestyle changes, government will learn to live within its BALANCED TAX(Revenue) – SPENDING limitations. When spending and revenue become balanced(equal) only then can the country start to plan what the future may look like.
TIME FOR TOUGH LOVE.
@ Wily Coyote March 22, 2021 1:07 PM
“DEVALUATION is the initiator, government/populace reactions will generate the solutions. Populace will have to endure radical lifestyle changes, government will learn to live within its BALANCED TAX(Revenue) – SPENDING limitations. When spending and revenue become balanced(equal) only then can the country start to plan what the future may look like.”
Well put! That’s the most effective way of reducing conspicuous consumption which represents a massive uptake of scarce (borrowed) forex.
The forex chickens have now come home to the Covid-constructed roost exposing the naked truth that too many Bajans have champagne taste but only mauby pockets.
We shall see if this administration will seek to borrow foreign money to indulge Bajans in the wasteful habit of importing luxury vehicles to be driven on former donkey-cart roads badly in need of repair and improvement.
Why not put those electric buses to greater use in trying to achieve the twin objectives of saving forex and improving the environment by reducing the Bajan carbon footprints?
We shall see if stale water in plastic bottles will continue to be imported to throw petrol on the forex-consuming fire and block up the country’s drainage system and despoil the beaches which are the No. 1 tourism attraction.
Why not have processed foods make a greater contribution to the indirect taxation pie?
Be Christ this should not of come as a surprise to anyone. It was clear since last year to many of us here. When I get cuss for saying that we will run a deficit in excess of $500M by March 2021 not a fellow come to my assistance.
Not a political party or a union member was concerned then. Not a newspaper either for that matter and now in the estimates everybody sound surprised.
Well wunna brace for what coming next. More taxation in yuh tail and yet not a single meaningful project pointing to an attempt at economic diversification so far in the last 12 months. In the meantime wave 3 brewing in Europe and France especially. That’s right the gateway from Europe to England to Barbados under threat AGAIN.
But don’t worry we got a plan. We going borrow $1 billion to prop up the pyramid scheme, don’t mind we economy only now worth $2 billion.
Somebody with big brain help muh here, i is only a humble one door shop keeper in de Bush.
@John A
Our economy contracted from 8 to 6 billion.
Ok sorry so it shrunk by 2B and we now borrowing $1 billion to prop it up then that is the logic?
Borrow and beg. That is the immediate solution .
@ david
Point is at some point somebody got to realise that this level of economy can not carry the size government we have. If we don’t do something where you think the deficit will be by March 2022?
@John A
The government is in a hard place. Cannot retrench and struggling to conceptualize short term revenue opportunities.
Problem is when you borrow you got to pay back but when you beg all you got to say is “thank yuh.”
@ David.
They had a year to conceptualise the obvious. Alternative energy and agriculture are 2 no brainers. What has the sinkyuh committee come up with and why havent their findings been published?
From where I sit i see business as usual as we wait for tourism to return. How big the deficit got to get before we realise this plan is flawed?
@John A
Did she say the report would be published? It would be interesting to know the findings of the report. Why is the political opposition not called for the report? Is this a matter of national security?
“The government is in a hard place. Cannot retrench and struggling to conceptualize short term revenue opportunities.”
What your saying is the GOVERNMENT is SHIT OUT OF IDEAS, even the GUM FLAPPING looking lam these days. Wily has the solution, DEVALUATION, fits in with the major government ideology, sit back and ignore the situation.
@Wiloy
Is devaluation a growth strategy?
“political opposition”
Wily must have dozed off recently, did not know Barbados had an POLITICAL OPPOSITION, WHO, WHEN, WHERE are some questions.
DEVALUATION is indeed a GROWTH STRATEGY, will enforce painful adjustments but growth will materialize eventually. The new growth will however be inline with a REAL GDP and not the present inflated socialistic ideology.
Barbados has been welcoming Canadian businesses, Banks and tourists with open arms for the last 50 years.
It would be a good idea to beg for ( request ) help.
@Wily & Miller
We have to face reality. Barbados has never been able to be financially self-sufficient since 1966. All the talk about strengthening agriculture etc. is academic wishful thinking. After two major slumps in foreign currency inflows (2008/09 and 2020/21), we have reached the end of our tether.
Please do not take this as a criticism of our Supreme Leader. She is fighting the pandemic brilliantly. However, she should now leave old paths and become a heroine in the history books. Even the greatest leader can do little against supernatural forces like the Wuhan plague and 10 years of decline during the DLP´s terror reign. A moderate currency devaluation of 1:4 or 1:5 would be appropriate to the low productivity of our population.
I recommend proclaiming the republic at the same time as devaluation. That would be opium for the people to ease the pain of devaluation.
@Wily
What does Barbados export in significant volume to benefit from a deval?
https://www.investopedia.com/articles/investing/090215/3-reasons-why-countries-devalue-their-currency.asp
We should look to Guyana with hope. After 40 years of currency devaluation, a financial purgatory so to speak, this nation is now rising to become the new El Dorado.
Perhaps it will be the same for us. If we devalue this year, maybe Goddess Bim will also give us rich mineral resources in 2060.
Source: BarbadosAdvocate
@ Tron March 22, 2021 8:35 PM
“A moderate currency devaluation of 1:4 or 1:5 would be appropriate to the low productivity of our population.”
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
But Tron, we have been preaching the ‘reality’ that the Bajan dollar can in any way- either under heaven or even during the reign of your Supreme superwoman- worth less than 10 mickey ‘mouses’ to 1 greenback.
The issue is not one of devaluation to make Barbados exports more competitive but to force the well-off Bajans to live within their forex-earning means.
Barbados’s exports can only get more competitive through a ‘revolutionary great leap’ in productivity and mercurial sea-change of improvements in service delivery standards in order to maintain current market prices or even set higher market prices. In other words, offer value for the money buyers are prepared to ‘shell out’.
How can any Bajan administration promote any proposal of an additional 80,000 people to live permanently in Barbados when over 20% of is existing population ‘are’ already living below the poverty line in an already fast deteriorating and severely ‘overpriced’ economy?
@Miller
We have an ageing population with 0% birth rate. Do the math.
@ Miller March 22, 2021 9:08 PM
Of course, our Supreme Leader is completely blameless in the circumstances you have pointed out.
Of course, our island must be very expensive because we are a paradise. The high prices keep the poor of this world away. If our Supreme Leader wants 80,000 new citizens, then only the financially strong upper class. They are to replace the 20% lower class in our country, who in return have to emigrate
The current composition of the population has obviously not worked out, when I look at the economic data since 2008. So we need new blood. Once we are as multi-ethnic as T&T or Guyana, oil will almost automatically come out of the ground.
@ David March 22, 2021 9:11 PM
What math? That one from ten leaves zero?
The new breed of Barbadians will ensure that figure always remain above zero even if to bring it down to equate to the country’s resource carrying capacity.
Where are the jobs and ‘social’ infrastructure like the basic housing and water to facilitate 80,000 ‘new’ people in an economy that has just lost around 50,000 with pending further losses as business(es) look to cutback the employment of human capital or replace it with digital technology especially in the areas of former white collar employment?
Would these 80,000 come to Barbados to pump gas, do maid work
and work in shops and supermarkets and other areas where immigrants normally gravitate to as many Bajans did when they emigrated to the USA and Canada?
Where do your existing 75,000 and growing boys and girls on the block school leavers making up the army of “Voluntary Idle” fit into your mathematical full employment model to make sufficient room for any additional amount imported or home grown unless you have in mind a return to the plantation days with marijuana the new Queen of the crop?
Barbados is simply too overpopulated for its economic capacity, examined within the constraints of the Pareto optimality principle.
That is the main reason for its long track record of emigration by Bajans to find greener pastures in the other places like Panama, Guyana (formerly BG), Cuba T&T and the great white North.
@ Miller March 22, 2021 9:48 PM
As I said, the plan of our Supreme Leader does not aim at the immigration of riffraff, rabble, etc. We already have enough of that on the island.
We need 80000 wealthy foreigners to build a villa/mansion here for at least 1 million USD and spend much of the year here. That will create at least 100000 jobs for our natives.
I explicitly deny that our resources are scarce. We have at least 500 free construction sites in our gated communities for 40000 people. For the rest, we could relocate poor natives from the platinum coast to the interior and build more golf courses and more gated communities.
Our Supreme Leader has a great plan and I am willing to defend it as a neutral commentator.
Devaluation would be a serious mistake. The solution is to raise VAT to curb spending. By excluding locally produced fruits, vegetables, footwear and clothing, you also encourage local production. Targeted indirect taxes can be used to manage spending.
You people assume that spending is the only forex drain. It is not.
Some people reading this are well aware of what I mean.
By the way, as previously asked, how much forex room revenue actually comes into the island’s Central Bank.?
The hotels can answer at the same time as they beg for more concessions.
You cannot hit a cricket ball with a golf club and expect good results.
We have conflicting positions between Edward Clarke of the private sector agency and former president of the BCCI Eddy Abed. One is left to ask what does the incumbent president of the BCCI think? The blogmaster sides with Clarke’s more pragmatic position. We must resist Abed’s desire to sell cloth and weigh the risk to public health.
Miller…how many years, how many fights we had with yardfowls about this…..as long as the diversification means those lazy ass minorities will FINALLY do some REAL work on the island and stop mooching and leaching off the Black populaiton..
“BARBADOS’ ECONOMY MUST be diversified from tourism.
Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley said yesterday alternatives must be found to drive Barbados’ economy, the main plank of which almost completely collapsed under the weight of the COVIDC-19 pandemic.
“We have to diversify,” Mottley said during debate on the Appropriation Bill in the House of Assembly yesterday.”
DEVALUATION IS THE ONLY INITIATIVE TO SOLUTION.
@Tron March 23, 2021 1:29 AM
“We need 80000 wealthy foreigners to build a villa/mansion here for at least 1 million USD and spend much of the year here. That will create at least 100000 jobs for our natives.”
But Tron, the jack-of-all -trades to your queen bee, hasn’t your proposal been enshrined in law since the dying days of David Thompson?
Those incentives to attract high net worth individuals (HNWI) have been a major plank of both administrations stretching back to the 1960’s when your nemesis EWB was a frequent visitor to Alfredo Leforet’s west coast Sunset Crest tropical Hollywood to compete with the likes of Sandy Lane’s hoity-toity, Ronald Tree and his ‘pals’ with the deceased Claudette Colbert and her lover Ronald R. on show.
Aren’t you going to grant some recognition to the far-reaching impact of the Tom Adams’s International Business regime of tax incentives?
Barbados is already saturated with ‘celebrity’ owners of real estate with loads of properties on the up-for-sale market.
Is Simon C or Cliff R no longer the magnet needed to market your plan?
And who would do the cleaning and up-keeping of those residences of your ‘brand’ of the rich and famous if- in keeping with your ‘great leap forward’ recommendation- those doubly-slow laggards in the Bajan army of occupation called the Civil Service are sent overseas for ‘re-education’ along the lines of Chinese communist indoctrination to convert them into serfs of your Supreme President for life called the Sun Queen (La Reine de Soleil) under the republic of ‘MAM’?
Tron, just let us come to some mutual understanding or (to put it in diplomatic speak) entente cordiale regarding the future of your dear republic.
Bim has had her day(s) in the Sun and her glory days of whoring to live big are slowly coming to an end.
@MillerMarch 23, 2021 8:25 AM
Your arguments may have some merit. Nibelung loyalty, however, means to back our Supreme Leader until the end. Until the downfall.
After all, you will have to admit that our Supreme Leader is having the main road along the West Coast repaired. New water pipes everywhere and new road surface. Soon the West Coast will be restored to its former glory. For lavish parties and the like.
“We have to diversify,” Mottley said during debate ”
Some BU regulars like Miller have been saying the same thing for the last 5 or more years.
I still think tourist will continue to visit Barbados. There are still millions of people in North America who want to go to the Caribbean to enjoy 80 degree weather.
If MIA is as brilliant as some of you say she will invest in ” diversification ” and still reap the low hanging fruit called Tourism.
I gine and do something meaningful TO ME. Watch test cricket. lol
Diversification is not eliminating.
Amm don’t forget another favourite iof govt
Citizen by passport that has raked in financial earning for some countries
A road most likely to take by govt to avoid increased taxation for the people
MillerMarch 23, 2021 8:25 AM when your nemesis EWB was a frequent visitor to Alfredo Leforet’s west coast Sunset Crest tropical Hollywood
Miller, I heard of Laforet, big moneyman. Who was he really and can you enlighten us more? Would be interested in that story. Some of those movers and shakers were serious international big shots too.
Someone told me once on good authority, that a guy went along with Sidney Burnett-Alleyne, EWB’s cousin, to visit Onassis once in London.
The guy with him was a bit disbelieving, but when the door open, Onassis flung his arms wide and exclaimed ‘SYDNEY!!’.
Apparently true, true.
I do not think that Onassis made his money by shipping milk nor vegetable oil.
DePeiza slams Govt spending plan – DePeiza slams Govt spending plan: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/03/23/depeiza-slams-govt-spending-plan/
Slam my RH, she said it did not go far enough. And she is right. Time to crank up the presses. Simmering labour protests across a broad base. A time to spend more, and right some of the many wrongs. Allow investment in vehicles of all types, all clothing and accessories, partying. That is where you will see return.
@ Crusoe,
google ” fred laforet sunset crest barbados “
See return we so blasted inefficient you can’t believe. Let me tell you what happen to me today and I still vexified over it.
I wake up this morning in a good mood and went down to customs to pay charges on a shipment like good corporate citizen. When I get there I see a long line snaking out the building on to the sidewalk. So I asked a broker I knew in the line ” wait they had a bomb scare?” He said no this is the line to pay duty etc on imports.
What not me and that line.
So quick so I move to plan B. I said well good I will drive up to the airport to customs up there and pay my money to the state to clear these goods, cause the boss lady say they need money bad. Lo and behold when I get up there I see another set up people outside standing up who tell me ” the cashier gone lunch and the cash station closed for the hour.” Thats right in 2021 that happen to me in a brek ass country hungry for money with a $700M deficit. You mean nobody in authority never hear the word RELIEF CASHIER. I mean the cashier human poor soul and she has to eat, but you mean nobody in authority ain’t stop and say to themselves ” wait if she ain’t dey who going tek de money?”
Then we talk about raising productivity when it take a whole blasted day and a gallon of gas driving up and down just to pay to clear a shipment.
@John A
A breach of all sense. We moving digital. We are operating in a pandemic where a contagious virus in play but …
How in hell can barbadians live off 8.50 per hour
Not only is the propsed wage increase insulting but once that amount because law one can bet that private Sector would find a way of wiggling and cutting corners in order not to pay the worker for a 40 hour work week
Which means that the low income worker would not see and significant benefit coming from the 8.50 an increase which when puts next to the american dollar is all but 4.25 per hour USA increase
Also factoring in the cost of living expenses the 8.50 does not even add up to a hill of beans
All in all nothing to get excited about
“How in hell can barbadians live off 8.50 per hour”
Good question. But I ask you to observe the cars and mottacycles in the recent videos. Observe the extensive lines to clear customs of which John A speaks above (ya think dese tings dey clearing is all gifts from away?)
And wait, now you too want to list things in Amerkun dollers? I thought only realtors could do that?
I will have you know Buhbaydus is an inDEEEpendent nation with our OWN currency. Stuepse.
I see the maroon (red?) Bishop concerned about a $700M deficit. Wha he only gotta ask Chris to know dat is peanuts. Chris put two back to back spending sprees in our pooch which was each $300M MORE dan dat. And he en even had Covid to blame.
See wha Verla tell dem, dey is not spending enuff. Did she mention a $12/hr minimum wage? I doan hear sa good anymore. I feels $500/40hr week should be a minimum. Bajans are some of the most productive peeple pun dis earf. #wedeservethis
@Northern Observer
You are making some interesting points in a casual way which resurrects the blogmasterâs refrain about an addiction to consumption by our people.
@ david
I give up trying to figure our plan out. I will do enough to pay my bills and no more. The young guys will have to figure out how they will make things work and run their businesses. Truth is the risk to reward ration is not there and hence few will even consider expanding. Then you add to it the nonesence I described today and you can’t help but ask yourself why bother?
You realise today the former group know as BST is now about 25% smaller than it was before it was sold? Probably making more money though so that is all that matters to the shareholders.
@John A
What is missing is an ethos which accepts the âurgency of nowâ.
Our politicians and leaders in the NGO sector must accept this is not a business as usual time.
Or leaders must finally appreciate you should not let a crisis go wasted.
angela cox March 23, 2021 5:41 PM
You often make comments that cause people to go, ‘hmmmmm, seriously?’
Would you agree no matter what rate per hour the minimum wage is increased to, “one can bet that private Sector would find a way of wiggling and cutting corners in order not to pay the worker for a 40 hour work week?”
Are you suggesting “the low income worker would not see and significant benefit coming from the 8.50,” because it works out to be US$4.25 per hour?
Artax go hmmm again cause isn’t it the truth
@ et al
Why can’t we face it: Being bankrupt of money is one thing. Being bankrupt of ideas is quite another.
The simple truth is that the BLPDLP is bankrupt of ideas and the country is therefore bankrupt.
We can blame COVID but that is only one part of the problem. We went to to the IMF three times before COVID.
Verbosity is not an economic policy; platform political rhetoric is not monetary policy.
The government has no economic policy. First, we admit that and then move on. All evidence is that we are back to square one.
I called for a billion dollar infrastructure program five years ago. I also said that removing the NSRL was a major mistake. Billions of tax dollars have not found the treasury over the last twenty years. Fifteen years ago I called for all self employed persons to be registered and made to pay income tax and NIS contributions. Over forty years ago progressive thinkers asked that the educational system be reformed to be in concord with national economic goals.
We will not recover from this calamity under twenty years. Plan for the future now or perish economically.
There are no bright sparks in parliament But that’s another story.
Please note, I wrote, “comments that cause PEOPLE to go, ‘hmmmmm, seriously?’.”
And, “truth” by whose standards?
By the way, is it me, or haven’t you noticed BU has become very serene for the past few days? You know, calm, peaceful and untroubled?
Here is an example of the greed that consumes us.
A company ripe in profits, but instead of the obvious solution of hiring more analysts to cope with the work, they wring everything out of those they have, for more, more, ever more money.
Horrible. Is this who we want to be? This is why people suffer severe illness, mental health issues, broken relationships, because of the greed of a few.
These CEO’s are very good at one thing. Painting a pretty picture. The reality is that the picture is false and ‘corporate policy’ merely pretty speak for fitting things to their agenda of greed.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-56495463
@Crusoe
The performance of a CEO is measured by how goals are achieved based on the KPIs. It is that simple.
When barbadians take that 8.25 at the grocery store. The grocery would be sold at double the cost
All have witnessed on social media platform the cost of small items including vat
Pray tell hpw 8.25 can be called a living wage
CDB says recovery arduous but not impossible – CDB says recovery arduous but not impossible: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/03/24/cdb-says-recovery-arduous-but-not-impossible/
Caddle defends minimum wage over private sector concerns – Caddle defends minimum wage over private sector concerns: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/03/24/caddle-defends-minimum-wage-over-private-sector-concerns/
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/03/24/govt-to-hand-sugarcane-industry-back-to-private-ownership/
” Labourers in the struggling sugarcane business will soon be given the opportunity to own a stake in a new company as Government moves one step closer to privatizing the industry.”
” “We are now changing the sugar industry to one of Barbadian ownership,” he declared.
” an integrated process where there are labourers who will have an opportunity to purchase shares in a new company that is being created “.
This is interesting. Labourers in the struggling sugarcane business.
Quote)
“They want to get into the space to produce syrup and biomass as well to be part of the renewable energy transformation that is coming to Barbados. We are at the point of creating space at Bulkeley for Grow Energy and the BAMC to enter into an arrangement where the two can work together and create synergies with cane grass and sugarcane so that you have two rotations and we are looking for consistency in supply so that you can do energy going the full value chain – meaning from cane to molasses or syrup, to sugar, to renewable energy to fertilizers,” Weir explained. (Unquote).
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Isn’t this the exact ‘proposal’ promised for the ‘redevelopment’ Andrews Sugar (cane) factory designed to generate 25 megawatts of electricity?
Which private sector venture would find the capital to build a similar outfit at Buckleys to produce cough syrup?
Where is the money coming from?
From the US$ 270 million secured under Sinckler the previous MoF who claimed the money was sitting in a Japanese bank account waiting to be drawn down?
Or is it going to be under a PPP financing arrangement with the US$ 175 million to be diverted from tourism and previously earmarked to construct the Hyatt to the resurrection of an industry pronounced dead by Dr. IMF?
Why should “labourers” want to invest in an almost dead industry when are deliberately deprived of investing in the sunrise medicinal marijuana high-value business?
The blogmaster observed the destruction of the river tamarind planted by former minister Estwick next to ABC highway What a waste.
So what? I’m all for blowing up and burning down everything the DLP built between 2008 and 2018. Especially the devil’s trident. We must next topple all monuments to the oppressor Barrow. He founded the DLP and is therefore the main culprit.
Nothing must remind us of the DLP any more.
###############################
Apart from that, good news:
Our government has soon brought new infections to zero, all the old and sick are vaccinated. Nothing more can happen to us – thanks to our Supreme Leader and her terrific team.
Dont worry Tron barbados is on a self destructive course and Mia is makkng sure it happen
Take a look at the billions she has borrowed and not one god blimme idea out of her mout and the expanded cabinet as to how the country woukd repay the debt
So your wish might come country bells and whistles and all
That should mek yuh happy
If yuh think COVID done think again
Cox,
Total nonsense, Barbados will flourish under Mia Mottley like never before!
Here is my vision:
In the first term, debt cut and victory over the pandemic.
In the second term, going republic and rebuilding of infrastructure.
In the third term, arrest of the opposition.
In the fourth term, economic growth.
In the fifth term Mia Mottley as new national heroine and on the 50 BBD note.
Then it is 2043 and Mia Mottley will hand over to KK.
Tron in the fifth term the value of the barbados dollar gonna be so small
There would be no room left to put Mia big face
As for economic growth garss cant grow on rock long term
Mia have a mamoth task of building an economy which would put people back to work
As of now She has nit uttered a word towards job performance
The Nomad program can bring in money but cannot improve the job market
Also the much touted medical cannabis market not gonna happen as Jamaica has now shown that investors in the market has hide the tail between their legs and. Left Jamaica
As far as you are concerned nothing positive will happen in Barbados. Just tell your party to be ready in 2023 or before because according to you there is opportunity for a good opposition.
That is so true pray tell what positive policies in respect to building an economy to create a sustainable economical growth environment with measures of creating employment has govt brought to table for the people those that can build confidence in the minds of the citizens
Electric buses cannot create jobs
Neither can creating an environment for nomads to hopscotch across the islands create a long term job environment for the natives
So since u have placed your two cents worth of defense gibberish tell me what are the positives govt has laid out and what decisions govt made to bring down the high unemployment levels
We are in a pandemic. Can you name a single developing country where employment increased to pre covid numbers? Why do you think governments across the world have been forced to create policies to protect the vulnerable? With 6000 jobs in the tourism sector alone what alternatives do you propose would absorb those jobs in quick time with an economy that is built significantly on tourism and services?
TronMarch 25, 2021 6:54 PM
Then it is 2043 and Mia Mottley will hand over to KK.
Kourtney Kardashian?!! Good heavens no!!!
Not for me to.lay out a plan to define or create jobs
There are plans which can be develop
There must be a starting point by which govt can use to bring a measure of confidence to the people
A measure which shows that govt has a willingness and desire bound by a determination to rebuild and regenerate a job market
So far govt (has )not even before COVID
Large countries have embarked on stimulus pkgs which have helped to bring confidence back to a weakened and unstable economy
Those pkgs have work two fold to generate financial support for the economy whereby employers have been able to restart production and a need for rehiring
Also put spending power into the people’s pocket which in turn goes right back into the economy
On such a foundation productivity in the job market rekindles and refuels employment
Govt idea of waiting and watching at this point is like shooting fish in a water barrell
The USA job market has restarted to show life because of the many stimulus pkgs govt have thrown into the economy bringing confidence and life back to it’s job market and to the people
Whatever government does will never accord with how you view things. We know why too.
What really is the current economic policy outside of borrowing to prop up the economy which is understood because of COVID.
In my option, there seems to be an embarrassing lack of policy. It is not an attack on the administration but a serious belief that it is out of depth , taking into consideration the number of consultants that we , the taxpayers , have to pay for.
Opinion not option
@William
There is a policy, even if there is disagreement about it being fit for purpose.
I will continue to look for it !
DavidMarch 26, 2021 5:50 AM
Whatever government does will never accord with how you view things. We know why too
Stupse
Xxxxxx
The govt has done nothing in terms of showing signs govt is capable of stimulating the economy outside of shovelling the remants of the pandemic via sick tourist and the tourism industry becoming a collection agency for hotel revenue and govt finances
The budget spoke of shrinking revenue enough as a warning that govt is not doing enough and must do more
My last comment was explicit and as an example that large countries understand that the value of stimulus pkgs thrown into the public domain is a good mechanism to generate revenue and slow down the voiliity of a sick economy
Mia hasn’t got a clue as to what services a slow economy in a pandemic
So what do see happening for stimulating the economy
A lot of worthless promises
The economy is sick what it needs to pull it out of the doldrums is productivity and a heavy dose of stimulus pkgs which must be placed in the hands of the people most worthy of generating household income jobs and productivity not to mention taxes for govt all which would happen because of spending
William SkinnerMarch 26, 2021 6:11 AM @ David What really is the current economic policy outside of borrowing to prop up the economy which is understood because of COVID.
In my option, there seems to be an embarrassing lack of policy. It is not an attack on the administration but a serious belief that it is out of depth , taking into consideration the number of consultants that we , the taxpayers , have to pay for.
In far better times, prior administrations have done far worse, especially the last one.
However I agree with the last bit, what the heck are all of those current highly paid consultants for? Not seeing anything out of them. If they get the green they should deliver.
Deliver what
Cant deliver if yuh have nothing to deliver
This govt gonna PR its way into the next election
Them electric buses would serve a purpose for east coast fetes
I guess PR its way is preferable to spending its way?
But have no fear, the loans are here!! The one year hiatus from 13 consecutive deficit years, is ovah. Done.
I believe, every registered corporation should be forced to buy a $5000 Covid Bond. The term doesn’t matter, for it will not be repaid anyways. But failure to purchase, could result in a $10,000 fine. I say “could’ because as usual, while all rules are equally applied, some are more equally applied than others.
How about a Brandy and Punnai Tax.
You can put a 25% surcharge on each bottle of brandy. For the Punnai, every adult must record the events date and times and submit $100 for each time, paid into the BRA.
This will also take advantage of those with fragile egos, who wish to prove themselves by submitting $3,000 every month, when it should be far less.
There should be a fine for not reporting an event. Like $5,000.
Of course, there may be an issue, when one party to a marriage submits a report and the other does not. Especially when the gal down the road, or a work colleague, also submits a report. I will leave that to the lawyers to sort out.
Nation Editorial – 28/03/2021
I have always stated that the British establishment have an established history of undermining Afro-Caribbeans. In much the same way as those who have led Barbados since our independence.
Hal will be familiar with the history of the Caribbean Cultural hub in Brent, London. What it highlights is that we as a people should not stand around in a queue in the expectation that those who are in authority have our interests at heart.
Do not ever let your government set the agenda for your life. We know that they have always set the bar low vis-a-vis their own people. For example, they are desperately trying to block access of the marijuana industry to their majority population; yet, they are determined to offer licenses to every Tom, Dick and Harry foreign entity to exploit this industry.
The story below is a textbook answer into how we as a people can by-pass our government and set our own agenda.
https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2021/mar/28/row-erupts-over-bid-to-revive-londons-historic-caribbean-cultural-hub
N0
U can go back to any thing ac said 5 years ago
Couldn’t care less factors today dictates differently
There are people who are now hurting
Govt steps up to the plate and throw them a dry bone
People of your ilk expects them to be happy
A suggestion of a stimulus pkg got wanna fly off the fence
I guess wanna belly full but low end wagers must eat the crumbs falling off the table
The govt is not shy on paying top dollar to consultants so why can’t govt put some money in the people hand which can bring positive immediate affect to the people and the economy
People are hurting
@ angela cox,
Wherever you find a black government you will always witness a total disrespect towards their own black people.
Namibia is the latest country to come under the spotlight of Aljazeera’s investigation unit. It makes for tragic viewing..
https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/4/2/namibian-president-caught-in-new-fishing-corruption-allegations
TLSN
In some instances yuh can blame the people
Just look at how the people in small islands vote the same Govt for many years
Which all but give these govts absolute power
Even here in Barbados the rumblings have started pointing fingers at Mia for her running over the constitutions
Yuh think such would give much importance but he’ll No
Many here on BU are interested in the USA while there rights being are taken away right under there nose
Go figure
@ Angela Cox,
It has always been easier for the folks on BU to focus on events from the USA. Donald Trump entertained them for five years. Plus we have had an endless diet of blacks been slaughtered. Who needs to go to cinema?
This is why so many of them appear to be indifferent towards the plight of their own country men and women.
A constructive criticism of the country is viewed by some as blasphemy. Meanwhile our politicians, lawyers and business communities continue to cash in; knowing full well that the fools on the rock are fully tuned in to events from the USA.
Nonsense.
The BU community is made up of Bajans living outside of Barbados like you and the parties criticizing.
Indeed, the overseas crew are never silent and refuse to be silenced.
It would have been difficult to ignore events in the US during the past four years, but some here have kept Barbados under their microscope throughout this period.
In this diverse group, each does his/her own thing. Using myself as an example, I am all over the place, even on serious issues but that should not be considered as indifference.
@ David BU
Let’s be honest. There are certain ‘BU regulars’ who seem to believe they should control the forum’s narrative…….. ‘dictate the pace’………….. so that all BU topics for ‘discussion,’ should focus solely on WHAT they want to discuss or criticizing Mia Mottley and the BLP.
A ‘BU regular,’ for example, accuses you of ‘distracting,’ each time non-political articles are posted.’ They seems to be of the misguided belief we should be ‘fed a diet’ of anti Mottley rhetoric on a daily basis for the forum to be considered neutral.
If persons exercise a bit of objectivity and rationality of thought, that individual refers to them as “BLP yard-fowls” and accuses them of “flying off the fence.”
Because, to disagree with their ‘narrow minded, political perspectives’ or support a ‘government’ policy, means you’re a supporter or member of the BLP.
Then, there are those ‘regulars’ who demand we should ‘discuss’ X, Y or Z. But, they’re never prepared to ‘start the ball rolling,’ preferring instead to wait until someone presents their opinions, to ‘throw stones from the sidelines, while bitterly insulting and criticizing them in the process.
Their opinions are always correct and the only ones that matters. They’re quick to highlight questionable, misleading or untruthful information “in the interest of preserving historical accuracy.” Ironically, when others engage similarly, they’re accused of “playing the gotcha game,” and always focusing on “proving people wrong.”
What I’m also seeing that’s slowly creeping in, is a distracting away from every topic, with ‘one perspective’ information about Africa. I’m NOT against anything African, but I believe everything has its time and place.
Why not extend that person a similar courtesy you extended to GP and his ‘Sweet Sunday Sermon,’ and encourage him/her to write a blog, where they could post all their information and concentrate the ‘discussions’ there?
@Artax
Yes, best advice, scroll pass. It is a discussion forum and some believe if they post the most comments it is the way to go. It is is not. It is a turn off.
@TheOGazerts, the overseas crew sent back over $ 376 MILLION dollars in 10 months in 2020.
I was not one of them. I does just write shiite on BU and scroll past 90% of the comments.
Most Bajans I know in Canada love Barbados and stay connected and supportive.
I am working on a petition for the Diaspora. Corner to be renamed as Hants Corner.
My action are similar to yours….