In the last thirty six hours the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) had reason to retract a declaration of some candidates to contest the next general election. With the election constitutionally due by 2023 political pundits have suggested the DLP should have completed the task by now. We understand President Verla De Peiza’s explanation that the selection of candidates is involved and requires time to ensure a task is well done. That said, a learning entity will transform as required to ensure adaptability in the space in which it has to successfully operate. The sloth and deliberate way the DLP continues to operate mirrors former prime minister Fruendel Stuart as leader and continues to haunt the DLP.

The importance of a strident dissenting voice in the type of democracy practiced by Barbados has been robustly discussed on BU’s pages. Whether some like it or not the DLP despite the shellacking in the 2018 general election is still perceived as the legitimate political opposition. Although Senator Caswell Franklyn has done his darnest to fill the role, the political party he represents does not have the legitimacy to be perceived as a legit political contender. in fact savvy political pundits accept that the creation of the People’s Development Party was contrived to avoid a constitutional crisis. History is expectant with revelations.

The challenge for the DLP will be making an impact during a pandemic where candidates making themselves known through traditional methods have to be curtailed. Accept that the effect of COVID 19 will be with us best case for the balance of the year. More importantly is the opportunity for new candidates to get comfortable in the role. It is not good enough Barbadians continue to elect governments by ‘default’. We need our governments in waiting to be forced to advocate alternative and relevant programs designed to catapult the country’s economic and social development.

The list of candidates hurriedly withdrawn by the DLP revealed an unhealthy sighting of old candidates. Some of the old names triggered a flood of bad memories in the mind of the blogmaster who understands it is more about winning for political parties, not trying to satisfy political utopianists.

It boggles the mind that a government after being given an overwhelming mandate in 2018 whose first task was to administer a ‘’haircut’ to domestic and foreign bond holders – followed by a few missteps managing the pandemic has not created the opportunity for opposition politics to thrive. Instead we have witnessed one of the most lackluster performances by the political opposition as far as the blogmaster is concerned since 2018. The BLP and specifically Prime Minister Mottley continues to suck the energy from the Barbados political landscape. So much so that if a general election were to be called tomorrow a solid prediction would be another BLP victory albeit with a reduced majority.

It is important Barbadians elevate our level of awareness about civics matters to appreciate the importance of pressuring political parties to transform. Delivering public service must be accepted as serious business, a sacred honour. So far the DLP as the only game in town has done nothing post 2018 to justify the label of government in waiting.

The following is an extract from what is being circulated:

The nominated are as follows:

St. Lucy        Verla De Peiza
St. Andrew   Oldwin Skeete
St. Joseph     Randall Rouse
St. John         Andre Worrell
St. Thomas   Khadija Collymore
SJN                 Charles Worrell
SPN                Michael Lashley
SPW               Dr David Estwick
SPS                 Neil Marshall
CCE                Dr Denis Lowe
SMNW           Ryan Walters
SMWC           Curtis Cave
SMN              B. Ricardo Harrison

225 responses to “DLP Hopes to Win by Default”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Hal Austin February 22, 2021 3:17 PM
    “What is the economic damage?”
    The figure that PM Mottley referred to was $77 million for the February 3 to 17 period, and a bit over $70 million for February 18 to 28.

2. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John2 February 22, 2021 3:14 PM
    “I was under the impression that the 5 days quarantine was for 5 days after u enter the island with a negative test”
    +++++++++++++++
    You were mistaken. I think the government went out of their way to mislead Bajans by quoting the 5 day figure without making it clear that they were counting the 5 days from 3 days before people arrived in Barbados.

3. Hal Austin, do you have the medical records to prove otherwise? Was Mia the only one who went on the cruise ship?

PLT,

If you read my earlier posts to blogs many months ago you would see that I too recognised the risk in the short quarantine periods and assumed that an outbreak would occur periodically. But what I did not expect was for Barbadians to relax to such an extent that the thing would not be contained.

In short, the protocols had two sides to them – those meant for the infection giving visitor and those meant for the potential infection receiving local.

We did hear of quarantine hotels insisting that workers expose themselves to infection. I would have walked off the job and made a report to the authorities rather than expose myself.

Then we heard of bus crawls and shenanigans on the west coast. We cannot pretend that there was no culpability by locals. These activities and more allowed the horse not only to bolt but to run several laps around Barbados.

So… the government took a calculated risk trying to make some money. The government also asked locals to play their part in keeping their guard up.

I did not go on a bus crawl. I did not go bar hopping. I did not socialise in crowds. I did not go to church. I did not visit anyone. I did not allow anyone to visit. Neither did my son.

After we were COVID free for a few months my son initially met with a few friends outdoors in the park, keeping distance and everybody masked up. He went to a couple of outdoor house parties with just a few people. He danced alone. He spent four days in a B & B with three close friends who had always followed protocols. I particularly told him to get out a bit because the time would come when he would be housebound for another few months. So… I took a calculated risk in consideration of his mental health. But we minimised the risk by acting sensibly with people who did the same. We do not associate with idiots.

He has gone nowhere but to his father’s with his brothers (who also follow protocols) since the first day of this current outbreak.

I limit myself to business only, wearing my mask and shield, keeping my distance and sanitizing.

An outbreak was inevitable. It did not have to get out of hand. It did not even get out of hand at workplaces except for the prison where close contact is unavoidable. It got out of hand with drunken partying. Unnecessary bullshit!

4. @PLT

You have not said what was the DAMAGE nor, if my memory is right, did she say which part of the economy was DAMAGED by CoVid and how.
    We all agree that tourism – short-stay, cruise ships and family visits – has been hurt, even damaged, but I would argue that tourism/hospitality is not the economy.
    Let me posit a proposal by the Italian theorist Giorgio Agamben, that we should consider sacrificing the elderly (and presumably seriously ill) to CoVid.
    In this way we will achieve herd immunity, make the necessary sacrifice to the Gods, and reduce the economically inactive.
    May I also suggest that the entire global economy has been impacted by CoVid so no real and unique damage has been done to the Barbados economy by the virus.
    If there is any damage, it is economic incompetence.

5. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Donna February 22, 2021 4:11 PM
    “So… the government took a calculated risk trying to make some money.”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    No! the government did not calculate at all. The did what the people who finance their campaigns wanted them to do and deliberately ignored every responsible and expert counsel that was clearly and articulately presented to them. There is no excuse. Their irresponsibility cost Bajan their lives.
    Let’s talk about the money. The only people who made money were the Sandals and Hiltons of the island who made a few paltry millions that they undoubtedly did not even bring to Barbados. The government’s stupidity and irresponsibility has cost Barbados hundreds of millions: almost $150 million as the economic cost of the lockdown, dozens of millions in short term harm to the Welcome Stamp program, and millions more in damage to the Barbados brand.
    It was all entirely avoidable. The refusal to tell the truth and the blame shifting to poor Black people only makes their awful behaviour that much worse.

6. @PLT

You are making a good argument about the mismanagement of the pandemic, then you are drifting off in to talk about economic loss.
    Separate them out. If you include economic loss, then the president was right to take that in to consideration. If the argument is about lives, ignore livelihoods.
    If you want to balance the two, then there must be a trade off – lives for livelihoods. Given her own ideological internal logic, the president made the right judgement call.
    The pandemic has badly damaged her positioning for 2023. She must regain that ground, unless she can sabotage the opposition parties putting her in a position to win by default..

7. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Hal Austin February 22, 2021 4:20 PM
    “You have not said what was the DAMAGE…”
    +++++++++++++++
    The lockdown damage that the PM referred to is the lost productivity I assume. She did not reveal what methodology the Finance Department used to calculate the figures.
    A $9 billion economy completely shut down for 25 days would suffer about $616 million in damage, so the department must be calculating that the current lockdown makes the economy run at about 76% capacity.

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal
    I acknowledge that the government has to take economic loss into account as well as health impacts. I am simply pointing out that they chose the worst of both worlds… it was clear since October that their decisions would be both a threat to public health as well as cause harm to the economy.

9. @PLT

You are speculating, making it up as you go along. If the president made a statement about economic DAMAGE she must give details.
    There is party propaganda and there is objective reality. You are making assumptions about the impact of the virus across the entire economy.
    I will like to see how this so-called DAMAGE has affected VAT, corporation tax, etc across services, manufacturing, hospitality/leisure.
    Government has borrowed nearly Bds$1bn from the Bretton Woods groups; now Dr Greenidge, presumably with the approval of the president, is telling us that Barbados is now borrowing at the rate of one per cent – this for a government that two and a half years ago defaulted on its foreign and domestic debt.
    The president also told us that we have Bds$2.6bn of foreign reserves; so, why borrow $1bn? I am not a mathematician, but something is not adding up.
    Who is lending them this money at near negative rates? Further, if they can get cheap money, they should be getting ready to turn Barbados in to a massive building site, with infrastructural developments all over the country and clear all our debt..
    Keynes must be turning in his grave at this lost opportunity. By the way, what ever happened to the confiscation of civil servants pay in order to subsidise the government? What a BOSS idea?

10. PTL

As long as you are asymptotic there is nothing named quarantine or isolation here like in Barbados . You do this things at home

Where would USA put the millions that are infected plus those that were exposed?

Will touch on the 5 day when I get the chance

11. peterlawrencethompsonFebruary 22, 2021 4:26 PM

@Donna February 22, 2021 4:11 PM
    “So… the government took a calculated risk trying to make some money.”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    No! the government did not calculate at all. The did what the people who finance their campaigns wanted them to do and deliberately ignored every responsible and expert counsel that was clearly and articulately presented to them. There is no excuse. Their irresponsibility cost Bajan their lives.
    Let’s talk about the money. The only people who made money were the Sandals and Hiltons of the island who made a few paltry millions that they undoubtedly did not even bring to Barbados. The government’s stupidity and irresponsibility has cost Barbados hundreds of millions: almost $150 million as the economic cost of the lockdown, dozens of millions in short term harm to the Welcome Stamp program, and millions more in damage to the Barbados brand.
    It was all entirely avoidable. The refusal to tell the truth and the blame shifting to poor Black people only makes their awful behaviour that much worse

Xxcccccccc

Policies made up of
    A penny wise and pound foolish

12. PLT,

The motives you attribute to them are your opinion. I do agree though that the decision has backfired. They are probably spending more than they earned..

But… are we saying that this type of tourism earns us nothing???? Not as much as it should but certainly not nothing.

As for blaming poor people, I thought the rich ones were represented on the west coast. I think there is enough blame to be shared all around.

I shall leave it there because the people will ultimately decide for themselves at the polls and so my opinion matters only in one case – mine.

What really matters to me as that we reduce our dependency on tourism. Tourism is fine when one is not desperate for it. Desperation leads to servility.. When tourism is all a country has that country has to bend over and allow itself to be shafted.

13. Correction- what really matters to me IS.

14. @ GP February 22, 2021 3:15 PM
    “THE HISTORY OF MEDICINE DEMONSTRATES THAT THIS IS THE WAY THAT MEDICE HAS BEEN PRACTICED AND DEVELOPED.

EVEN IN OUR LITTLE NATION MEN LIKE RAMSAY BYER VAUGHAN WELLS ETC IN THE PAST, ADOPTED THEIR OWN METHODS (WHICH WERE VERY EFFECTIVE) AND DID NOT LOOK TO FOLLOW UNPROVEN PROTOCOLS BY WHO OR A JOKER LIKE DR FALSY..”

What the France do you know about the HISTORY OF MEDICINE?

Do you think medicine started when the UWI produced a quack like you?

You cannot even explain the meaning of the ‘Caduceus’, the symbol representing the same field or profession called medicine, far less appreciate the role played by the father of medicine?

Do you know who was Imhotep or Asclepius or even Hippocrates to whom you had to pledge professional allegiance as if it was to your god Yahweh holding the bronze serpent?

Why don’t you just restrict your knowledge about medicine to what your god Yahweh instructed you to do through the mythical Moses as copiously plagiarized in the bush doctor Obeah books of Leviticus and Numbers?

15. Msriposa/ Angela Cox you still braying about Ms Mottley.Ms Mottley followed the advise of medical professionals of which you or the political nightwatchman are none.Most right thinkimg bajans believe they have done a good job thus far , especially the hardworking frontline workersAs usual a big thank you to them and keep up the good work.Do not let naysayers like Mariposa and Austin deter you as they do not have a clue what they are talking about especially Austin in the UK awashed with covid deaths and infections.Let him advise the english on his so called great ideas.Mariposa is just a Dem jackass parroting her lost pitical leader who cannot even win a seat far less a government.To Ms Mottley and her team keep fighting on and i know we will overcome this.

16. PTL

I fund it hard to believe the doctors that I see on tv and who I think are the ones who are advising the government on the protocols would sit and let the 5 days to be from the five day after the first test in a foreign country

So in short. If what you said about the 2-3 days is true then someone need to resign or be fired and I don’t mean only the cmo but also the minister. I don’t care what a wonderful job they did before

17. It is
    if you were exposed u go into quarantine
    If after 5 days you u get a negative u were ok

They had stop the 14 days requirement up here from since about July 2020

If u didn’t do a test then u quarantine for 10 days

18. angela cox February 22, 2021 2:44 PM #: “That being the case(however) should nt these failures be a cause where the PM diligence should be of a high priority in finding out Why which then underscore her recent utterances comment of “bjg works going through her.”

No, I disagree.

In the Westminster model of government, the Permanent Secretary is the administrative head of a department or ministry.

The responsibility lies with the Permanent Secretaries……. not politicians.

19. Stupes! There are plenty places for the young and ambitious in Barbados. There are probably not enough of them to go around, it is true but there are many. I know many young people who are doing well and enjoying life. Those who cannot find a position would do well to leave. Those who have found one are often happy to stay.

Why can’t you people understand that not everybody feels like you do????

Steupse man! You guys really make me sick!

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John2 February 22, 2021 7:01 PM
    “If what you said about the 2-3 days is true then someone need to resign or be fired and I don’t mean only the cmo but also the minister.”
    +++++++++++++++++++
    It is an undeniable fact. You can check with the official guidelines for October 2020 at
    https://www.visitbarbados.org/sysimages/fileupload/source/00%20ATTRACTIONS/Travel%20protocols%20-%202020/btmi%20travel%20protocols%20final.pdf
    which say in part in paragraph 4 on page 2:
    “You will have your second test between 4-5 days after your first test taken in your home country.
    In just 24 hours, your test result will be back and once negative, it’s vacation time! You will no longer be restricted to your property and your Barbados adventure awaits you. This pandemic will not keep you from our beautiful beaches, restaurants and attractions, so get ready to enjoy yourself. We are happy
    to have you with us!”

21. ArtaxFebruary 22, 2021 7:12 PM

angela cox February 22, 2021 2:44 PM #: “That being the case(however) should nt these failures be a cause where the PM diligence should be of a high priority in finding out Why which then underscore her recent utterances comment of “bjg works going through her.”

No, I disagree.

In the Westminster model of government, the Permanent Secretary is the administrative head of a department or ministry.

The responsibility lies with the Permanent Secretaries……. not politicians.

And the Permanent Secretary is answerable to Who!

22. 70 million, plus 77 million, equals 147 million, divided by 287,025 Bajans equals a lost of $512.15 per Bajan,

But s it really lost?

I saved mine and I am anxious to get out there and move my $512.12 from my bank account into the bank account of various Bajan merchants since they are suffering so vwry badly, and I am suffering not at all.

I feel that it is my Christian duty to help them out.

23. My best friend’s daughter came home from studying in the US with a negative test.. She was placed in quarantine for three days here. She self-quarantined for a further nine days at home.. When she returned to the US she had not yet received her test results from Barbados. She was not put in any quarantine facility. She was tested and self-quarantined on campus. Sensible girl who masks up, distances and sanitises.

My niece has been studying in the US for weeks. Another sensible and careful girl.

24. And here’s a question for all BU contributors! Who else besides GP has caught COVID?

Anybody?

25. RE And here’s a question for all BU contributors! Who else besides GP has caught COVID?

Anybody?

I WENT TO THE DOCTOR IN JUNE FOR MY MANDATORY SIX MONTH VISIT

I HAD BEEN LOCKED DOWN AT MY HOME FOR SEVERAL MONTHS SINCE FEBRUARY AND ONLY LEFT HOME FOR THAT VISIT FOR THE FIRST TIME. I HAD NOT EVEN GONE TO CHURCH FOR OUR ASSEMBLY WAS CLOSED, AND OUR MEETINGS WERE HELD ON ZOOM

I DID NOT KNOW THAT MANY OF THE DRS AND STAFF WHO WORKED THERE HAD ACTUALLY CONTRACTED COVID.

WE ONLY LEARNED THAT THIS WAS SO AT THE NEXT SIX MANDATORY MONTH VISIT IN DECEMBER, WHICH THE FOURTH TIME I LEFT HOME FOR THE YEAR SINCE FEBRUARY.

HAVING BEEN THUS EXPOSED ALLOWS ME TO DISPEL MANY MYTHS THAT PREVAIL
    AND I CAN THUS SPEAK WITH AUTHORITY BECAUSE OF ALL THE HOOPS THAT WE HAD TO GO THROUGH TO EVEN ENTER THE MEDICAL FACILITY AND THE FURTHER HOOPS TO PROCEED THROUGH THE USUAL STEPS TO SEE THE DR

I NEVER LEFT HOME AGAIN UNTIL OCTOBER AND NOVEMBER WHEN I HAD TO TEACH AFTER HAVING SYMPTOMS IN LATE AUGUST WHICH I TREATED MYSELF

MY DEAR WIFE WHO HAD MADE TRIPS TO PHARMACY AND WHO HAD BEEN RECIEVING THE GROCERIES ORDERED NEVER GOT ANY SYMPTOMS AT ALL

NOW WHAT IS THE POINT OF THAT STUPID QUESTION
    IF I DID NOT ATTEND A MANDATORY DR’S VISIT ALL DRESSED UP LIKE ZORRO OR THE LONE RANGER I COULD NOT BE EXPOSED.

SO LOCK DOWN DID NOT HELP
    MASKING UP DID NOT HELP
    HAND WASHING AND
    SOCIAL DISTANCING DID NOT HELP

NOTHING REALLY HELPED ME BUT THE FACT THAT I HAD BEEN USING HEAVY METAL CATIONS , VITAMIN D AND THE HETEROCYCLIC QUININE AS A PROPHYLACTIC

MY MEDICAL EXPERTISE ALONG WITH PRAYER OF THE RIGHTEOUS CHURCH MEMBERS ON THE SATURDAY MORNING THAT THE VIRUS SOUGHT TO BREAK THROUGH SAW ME THROUGH SO THAT I WAS WELL ENOUGH TO PARTICIPATE ORALLY ON ZOOM THE NEXT MORNING WITHIN 24 HOURS

GOD IS GOOD MANY DRS AND NURSES HAVE DIED FROM THE VIRUS IN THE USA AND OTHR PARTS OF THE WORLD

I AM HAPPY THAT I DONT PRACTICE ANY LONGER

26. @Angela

You got it right about permanent secretaries. They are the administrative heads of ministries, but the minister is in charge, s/he is answerable to parliament. That is the Westminster/Whitehall model. It is called that for a reason.
    Years ago we used to do a subject called the British Constitution, about the way wee were governed. I am not sure if the CXC has continued it.
    The president, in a corruption of the system, recently had heads of department answering questions in parliament. That was wrong, but she could get away with it in Barbados. Talk about passing the blame.

27. @ Lorenzo

We are on the same side. I believe Ms Mottley is the Goddess. She is always right. I do not have great ideas, I am not an intellectual, in fact I did not even go to school, but I love your ideas.
    Count me in. God bless Ms Mottley.

28. Hal Austin February 23, 2021 5:02 AM #: “@Angela – You got it right about permanent secretaries.”

There you go AGAIN. RESPONDING to a QUESTION as though a STATEMENT was made.

Please ‘tell’ BU what has Angela Cox “got it RIGHT about permanent secretaries” by ASKING, “And the Permanent Secretary is answerable to Who?”……..

…………………when she DID NOT MAKE any DEFINITIVE REFERENCE to the ROLE of a permanent secretary?

29. Well executed PLT. I’ve been involved in monitoring and modeling CV 19 since Dec 2019 and refused to really get into to the BU Covid-19 discussion because it is 99% fantasy.
    The sad part is that many here sincerely believe their own rhetoric and the official government propaganda . I mentioned that the low number of cases initially were extremely fortuitous and that the govt will have to live with the extreme risks that they embraced.

The government, read Mia Mottley, is directly responsible for the deaths of dozens of Bajans (and counting). We must remember that the official CV19 death count always understates the true tally. The additional economic carnage is another thing altogether.

30. The narrow debate we have been having in Barbados about CoVid crowds out any other issues raised by the pandemic as it relates to social policy.
    So far, all we talk about is the efficacy of the vaccines, who should take them and the competence of the way we have managed the crisis so far.
    We have crowded out any related issues, such as its impact on economic and social policy and, crucially, what is government’s intentions.
    We know there is a corporatist agenda, driven not by the government, but by the Social Partnership, the BPSA, the chamber of commerce and the BHTA and others. Government is dancing to the corporate tune.
    We still do not know how government is measuring its performance, what are the metrics. Is it aiming for zero infection, the spread of the contagion, the number who enter ICUs, the number of deaths or those who enter and leave Harrison’s Point.
    The message is also confusing. Is Dr George still a member of the task force communication team? How about that army of doctors all with different specialism? What is Liz Thompson’s role? Does it differ from that of Dr Walcott? What is Mr Bostic’s role?
    Even the staged press briefings are farcical, usually dominated from that big guy from the Nation (by the way, is he the guy who once worked at Barbados Today?).
    For a government with strategists and PR experts on its team, including Mr Jong, the Chinese man, the whole thing is a failure.
    I suggest moving the location from Ilaro to the ministry of health; make Mr Bostic the chair, drop Liz Thompson, bring in the commissioner of police, bring back a properly dressed Dr George (with Dr Best as a back-up), and manage the press by calling on individual speakers and not allowing any single one to intervene when he or she likes.
    Keep meeting short and informative, and cut out the politics. Remember, the role of the PR team is to anticipate the questions from the press and prepare the task force with answers.
    If scientific answers are needed, bring in an expert from the US or UK by Zoom; don’t continue to allow general practitioners to talk about medical science.

31. Austin expected the childish response from you.You are a knowall jackass.you are in the right company of the dem jackass Mariposa/ Ac/ Angela Cox or whatever name she uses.This is not surprising coming from a man who once vlaimed had Mr Thompson lived he would have beco.e a GREAT PM.When challenged could find nothing Thompson did or said as PM or MPto support such a ludicrous statement except that he had a conversation with him wtf.Then berates our leader with some childish talk about hand waving and such nonsense.Thwn trying to imply a political newbie like Ms Bradshaw is a better communicator than Ms Mottley total madness.Austin if i had to choose between listening to Ms Mottley and the improperly dress according to you Dr George and Mariposa and you guess who i will choose everytime?Tell us which medical school you attended?The only medical expert i know on this blog is GP and for a while Dr Lucas.

32. @ Lorenzo

I have changed my mind on all those issues. I am now in full agreement with you. Plse forgive me for my past sins. Am I forgiven?

33. Is there an agenda or do we have positions from stakeholders in civil society promoting their narrow interest. It is not unusual in a type of democracy we practice the voice of the money class is the great influencer. These are the warts of our system until we discover utopia.

34. Asked a question
    The permanent secretaries are answerable to Who
    Awaiting the answer

35. PTL @ Donna

i am receiving some info about the “rapid test” being done at the airport for arrivals with a negative test from their country of departure. It seem like originally it was supposed to be a 5 day quarantine time after arrival in barbados but with the introduction of the rapid test between the two pcr tests reduced the quarantine time in barbados.

I have to info on when the changes were made and i cannot verify as yet. Maybe one of you or some else here can.
    I can vaguely remember some mention of it but not enuff right now.

The good docs will be able to explain how the rapid test would bridge the gap between the two negative test before release.

36. My trini coworker husband got sick and he was tested positive for covid. she treated him with some good old bush tea and he recovered.

so i am now bushing bush tea as a cure for covid. dont mind what the mad doctors say.

you dont have to be a DOC to know how to treat yourself if you only have mild symptoms and you sure dont need no trump hydo drug.

Beside that , i would advice u to seek help ASAP if you have any symptoms and suspect it covid.

37. Will endorse, as soon as symptoms show present to health caregivers.

38. @John2
    yours@9.45am

More people survive the virus than die from it but the question: Is the death rate acceptable? The survivors will give credit to their treatment program whether it was home based or in a medical facility while the family of those that died will say “X received a strong dose of the virus and their body couldn’t handle it” or it is blamed on a preexisting condition.

Truth is, medical science is still grappling on ways to treat the virus, that’s why so much hope is being expended on vaccines, but I will put my faith in those folks that have spent a lifetime researching human health, treatment of illnesses and development of vaccines than some internet clown.

39. But David But David
    How come u have allowed many here to put their two cents worth of nonsense about COVID remedies and solutions when there are many blogs on BU which are there for the purpose of addressing COVID issues
    I clearly remember u calling out others as intruders for taking a subject matter that was not related to a topic or article on BU
    ANYHOW…!!!###

40. @Sargeant

A supporting point is the room for the virus to evolve or mutate. Any health policy cannot be a static one.

41. David
    Thanks for the rapid test info. there is still something and the back of my mind about the use of the rapid test before it being used out in the community now in the seek and search.

maybe not related to the rapid test but i think the protocols were updated/changes after a few arrivals with a negative 1st test had tested positive on the second pcr test – and it was before the out break (i think)

42. NOTHING REALLY HELPED ME BUT THE FACT THAT I HAD BEEN USING HEAVY METAL CATIONS , VITAMIN D AND THE HETEROCYCLIC QUININE AS A PROPHYLACTIC

MY MEDICAL EXPERTISE ALONG WITH PRAYER OF THE RIGHTEOUS CHURCH MEMBERS ON THE

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXx

Sargeant

Because of her medical expertise she obtained from high school and her grand mother teachings she was able to save her husband.

Whaloss she was a real mad doctor fuh true !

43. Tee hee! The point of the question was to yank your chain. You think you alone should have fun in the rumshop?

Sargeant, I with you. All these “experts” speaking as though they KNOW! Most don’t know their heads from their backsides. I will listen critically to those who have spent their lives studying the subject matter and are practising still and keeping up to date, especially with this particular virus.

Oh…and I especially cannot trust.the ones who are Trump influenced right wing loonies who believe Trump won the election. Who can take such wing nuts seriously? Who can take seriously one who takes Trump seriously?

44. re Who can take such wing nuts seriously? Who can take seriously one who takes Trump seriously?
    THE DEMOCRATS & RINOS AND A LARGE PERCENTAGE OF THE AMERICAN ELETORATE DO, APPARENTLY.

RE All these “experts” speaking as though they KNOW! Most don’t know their heads from their backsides. THAT IS JUST WHAT I HAVE DISCERNED ABOUT DR FALSY.

HE IS A MAGUFFY EXPERT WITH A LONG CV AND MANY PATENTS WHO “speaking as though HE KNOWS. HE IS PAID WELL TO KNOW, BUT HE DOES NOT KNOW. HE IS STILL FLIP FLOPPING AND UNABLE TO GIVE GOOD SCIENTIFIC ADVICE

RE I will listen critically to those who have spent their lives studying the subject matter and are practising still and keeping up to date, especially with this particular virus.

HOW DOES A MEDICAL ILLITERATE KNOW?……….OH I FORGOT, HE GOOGLES A MYRIAD OF CONFLICTING INFORMATION, AND THEN COMES AWAY MORE CONFUSED THAN BEFORE HE STARTED……..BUT PONTIFICATES IN HIS PANIC.

IT IS A SOURCE OF MUCH MIRTH

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@john2 February 23, 2021 9:34 AM
    “i am receiving some info about the “rapid test” being done at the airport for arrivals with a negative test from their country of departure. It seem like originally it was supposed to be a 5 day quarantine time after arrival in barbados but with the introduction of the rapid test between the two pcr tests reduced the quarantine time in barbados.”
    Utter Nonsense! Look at the dates.

The BAMP Recommendation was in September after extensive consultation with the government. The protocols posted above are from October 1st.

Barbados did not receive the donation of Antigen rapid test machines from PAHO until the middle of January 2021, long after the surge in COVID cases had established community spread.

Why doesn’t the government just admit that they f@cked up and try to learn from the experience rather than their stupid denial and blame shifting which robs them of any possibility of learning?

46. @PLT

Thanks. Where are all those who told us how well CoVid was being managed? Here is someone using very colourful language to say it has been a mess from the very beginning. And only one person is to blame.

47. Mirth in the rum shop indeed! Yuh evah notice that for all the disdain the medical literate has for Dr. Fauci he followed his advice to the letter i.e. limit interaction with individuals outside the home; stay home; wear mask etc. (that last bit he said was at the urging of his wife). He didn’t listen to his hero who wheezily said “Dominate it, wrestle it to the ground” or the other medical expert Dr. Scott Atlas who preached against masks and promoted herd immunity or even DeSantis who threatened every city in Florida if they promoted masks and refused to close restaurants for indoor dining and who was last seen providing vaccines to the wealthy while the black and poor remained on the sidelines.

BTW wuh kind of medical facilities dey got in Florida? Yuh go to a doctor and yuh come down with COVID yuh didn’t find out not till months later that employees of the facility were diagnosed with Covid. Yuh mean not even a phone call? Not even contact tracing? The clinic should know which clients passed through their office on what days and they didn’t have de courtesy to call and say yuh betta get tested because some of the employees are positive.

Imagine if this had happened in Bimshire

No siree Bob, mirth in de rum shop today.

48. My mirth comes in the knowledge that you were the first to catch COVID, which I knew would be the case.

Thank your Trump-aping governor for that! And then thank Trump from whence all karma comes to Trumpians. Even Mike Pence, Brian Kemp and Jeff Sessions his most loyal ass kissers.

And even the fools who “walked with him” to the Capitol while he went back to the White House!

Murdaaah!

The mirth is all mine!

P.S. You said Trump received advice from Dr. Fauci. But the problem is that he did not take it. Neither did he advise his Trump cult to take it. So you are being as disingenuous as John .Knox always is when you imply that Fauci’s advise was used by Trump and so the blame for the deaths is Fauci’s.

SMH.

Wait! Now I am laughing again!

Murdaaaaaaah!

49. IT IS WRITTEN VERY CLEARLY IN Proverbs 26:4
    Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest thou also be like unto him.