In the last thirty six hours the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) had reason to retract a declaration of some candidates to contest the next general election. With the election constitutionally due by 2023 political pundits have suggested the DLP should have completed the task by now. We understand President Verla De Peiza’s explanation that the selection of candidates is involved and requires time to ensure a task is well done. That said, a learning entity will transform as required to ensure adaptability in the space in which it has to successfully operate. The sloth and deliberate way the DLP continues to operate mirrors former prime minister Fruendel Stuart as leader and continues to haunt the DLP.

The importance of a strident dissenting voice in the type of democracy practiced by Barbados has been robustly discussed on BU’s pages. Whether some like it or not the DLP despite the shellacking in the 2018 general election is still perceived as the legitimate political opposition. Although Senator Caswell Franklyn has done his darnest to fill the role, the political party he represents does not have the legitimacy to be perceived as a legit political contender. in fact savvy political pundits accept that the creation of the People’s Development Party was contrived to avoid a constitutional crisis. History is expectant with revelations.

The challenge for the DLP will be making an impact during a pandemic where candidates making themselves known through traditional methods have to be curtailed. Accept that the effect of COVID 19 will be with us best case for the balance of the year. More importantly is the opportunity for new candidates to get comfortable in the role. It is not good enough Barbadians continue to elect governments by ‘default’. We need our governments in waiting to be forced to advocate alternative and relevant programs designed to catapult the country’s economic and social development.

The list of candidates hurriedly withdrawn by the DLP revealed an unhealthy sighting of old candidates. Some of the old names triggered a flood of bad memories in the mind of the blogmaster who understands it is more about winning for political parties, not trying to satisfy political utopianists.

It boggles the mind that a government after being given an overwhelming mandate in 2018 whose first task was to administer a ‘’haircut’ to domestic and foreign bond holders – followed by a few missteps managing the pandemic has not created the opportunity for opposition politics to thrive. Instead we have witnessed one of the most lackluster performances by the political opposition as far as the blogmaster is concerned since 2018. The BLP and specifically Prime Minister Mottley continues to suck the energy from the Barbados political landscape. So much so that if a general election were to be called tomorrow a solid prediction would be another BLP victory albeit with a reduced majority.

It is important Barbadians elevate our level of awareness about civics matters to appreciate the importance of pressuring political parties to transform. Delivering public service must be accepted as serious business, a sacred honour. So far the DLP as the only game in town has done nothing post 2018 to justify the label of government in waiting.

The following is an extract from what is being circulated:

The nominated are as follows:

St. Lucy        Verla De Peiza
St. Andrew   Oldwin Skeete
St. Joseph     Randall Rouse
St. John         Andre Worrell
St. Thomas   Khadija Collymore
SJN                 Charles Worrell
SPN                Michael Lashley
SPW               Dr David Estwick
SPS                 Neil Marshall
CCE                Dr Denis Lowe
SMNW           Ryan Walters
SMWC           Curtis Cave
SMN              B. Ricardo Harrison

225 responses to “DLP Hopes to Win by Default”

1. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

That the DLP should not be reinstalled to the House of Assembly for 20 years as currently constituted, is an agreeable position,, given the ineptitude in that party..

Don’t know how you arrive at this statement “…Although Senator Caswell Franklyn has done his darnest to fill the role, the political party he represents does not have the legitimacy to be perceived as a legit political contender. ..” as a consequence or derivative of the rest of your commentary.

It is a non sequitur particularly the remark about “legitimacy”.

From whence comes this word?

Where does legitimacy come from, if not from the people, and more specifically, the electorate?

You so called writers need to stop letting your obvious Barbados Labour Party biases taint your articles.

In one breath you pretend to promote democracy, and posit that the incompetence of the DLP during its rule of economic terror should not be forgotten (a position which I Piece the Prophet endorse) but in the next breath, you seek to disparage any and all other choices that people have available.

You show conclusively that you are a BLP Mugabe imbiber and that you suckle from Mia Mugabe Mottley’s non existent breasts

2. Dems deny election list
    The Democratic Labour Party is distancing itself from a list of so-called election candidates making the rounds.
    The list bears 13 names, three of which are former losing ministers from the 2018 General Election. In addition, there are other familiar faces from the historic 30-0 wipe-out of the party at that poll.
    One man appears to be returning to the fold after contesting the election on the ticket of another party, while there are a few who have been already publicly acknowledged as the candidate for the particular constituency.
    The public relations arm of the party has, however, sent out a response stating that it respected the integrity of the selection process for its candidates and would never interfere with that “hallowed procedure”.
    “The Democratic Labour Party will announce a full statement about our full slate of candidates at a later date,” it stated. ( AC)

3. “So far the DLP as the only game in town has done nothing post 2018 to justify the label of government in waiting.”

Unfortunate but absolutely true.

Just Observing

4. The list of candidates shows that the DLP has learned nothing from its many mistakes. The list includes numerous former ministers and other party grandees. Only the Don from New York, Big Sinck, Wrathbate and Stuart are missing.

We need a kind of “denazification” of the DLP. Otherwise, it will remain the party of the backward.

5. ObservingFebruary 21, 2021 9:19 AM

“So far the DLP as the only game in town has done nothing post 2018 to justify the label of government in waiting

The DLP has done well observing how present govt under the leadership of Mia has shackled bajan households to massive debt owned and payable to the IMF
    Also the ongoing mishandling of the COVID crisis by allowing visitors from hot spots to enter the country furthering the disastrous results of elderly barbadian deaths and Covid infections
    Meanwhile the dlp not in power or having a parliamentary representative have no influence in the day to day policies of this govt whose leadership has said openly that all roads lead to her for approval
    Hence the dlp has taken a muted position to.hear and observe as govt faults and flaws are laid bare for all to see
    A clear and decisive position which takes spotlight off the dlp and allow the people eyes and ears to make critical and important decisions as to whose interest govt is better serving

6. keep fooling yourself.

A simple thing like providing a slate of candidates they put out and then have to withdraw and then put out PR and them in waiting to govern who?

7. The BLP will pray they listen to your advice.

8. @Angela
    your statement confirms David’s view that the DLP is looking to win by “default” by remaining muted.

With MAM and the BLP this strategy will NEVER work. For the DLP to win far less regain a few seats they will have to act, assume bold, clear, courageous positions and demonstrate competence, intelligence and experience to show why they are the ones to make a difference.

The BLP has and is making mistakes. Their arrogance, hubris, and “All Hail the King style of operating” can only last so long. But, mistakes are only worthwhile when they are capitalised upon.

Barbados wants an opposition. But better the devil you know than the one you don’t.

Verla and Co. have to step up and avoid errors like this one if they want to be considered as a seriously contending GROUP.

Just Observing

9. @Observing

The DLP needs to look for an author an authoritative figure to lead on economic/financial matters. The psyche of the Barbadian is to measure the ability of the political party by this skillset. Verla does not cut it especially at a very challenging time. Let it be said the blogmaster has no issue with the individual.

10. @David

Agreed regarding an economic voice!
    Currently there are none.
    From the retracted list there are none.
    If we use the last DLP group, the public wants back NONE! lol.

If they don’t find one then the amount of seats won may very well again be……..none!

Just observing

11. There is no doubt the DLP will pick up seats if a general election were to be called now but is this what the party wants i.e. to meander its way to success? There is an opportunity for some leadership in the DLP, many apathetic and independent Bajans are ready to give a fit for purpose political party a chance. Specifically the DLP which has the brand.

12. @ Observing

What is the economic policy of the Mottley government? Who are its elected economic spokespeople? What is their economic expertise?

13. David,

Michael Lashley and Dennis Lowe?????

The DLP better get real! Could this be the real reason behind the exodus from the party? When will they ever learn????

We kicked their nasty asses out big time? What have they done since then??

Started to listen to the Errol Barrow Memorial lecture but I find the brain can only take soundbites at present. So… I’ll do it in bites.

14. Critical Analyzer Avatar

If the DLP looking to win any seats of significance in the next 2 or 3 elections, they should go to Caswell Franklyn and Joseph Atherley on their hands and knees, beg Atherley not to run his party next election and beg Caswell Franklyn to lead the DLP and let him start cleaning house from now.

The only person capable of challenging Mia is Caswell.

15. By default…lmao. Dem will be waiting forever. The pandemic has place many in the false dense of belief that nothing else is happening. Wait for it.🤐

16. February 21, 2021 10:28 AM

@Angela
    your statement confirms David’s view that the DLP is looking to win by “default” by remaining muted.

With MAM and the BLP this strategy will NEVER work. For the DLP to win far less regain a few seats they will have to act, assume bold, clear, courageous positions and demonstrate competence, intelligence and experience to show why they are the ones to make a difference

The DLP does not have to say much of anything
    Furthermore it puts a full stop of preventing the present govt from taking the focus off them and placing a responsibity of the asking for solutions on the Dlp back
    The people presently are doing an excellent job of being fire brands and lone rangers holding govt feet to fire
    The govt knows it (reason) why govt retracts and flip flops on its policies
    Come voting day the people would not give govt a free pass to redo and rewrite a formula of the old policies into new akin to placing old wine in new bottles all which has hurt them
    Even a drowning person looks for an open window no matter how smal to save their live
    Such a question would and have already place the DLP into a position wherby the populace would have no other no other alternative but to look for an open window to save their physical and economic lives from the past policies of the BLP

17. @ Critical Analyzer February 21, 2021 10:56 AM #: “If the DLP looking to win any seats of significance in the next 2 or 3 elections, they should go to Caswell Franklyn and Joseph Atherley on their hands and knees, beg Atherley not to run his party next election and beg Caswell Franklyn to lead the DLP and let him start cleaning house from now.”

@ Critical Analyzer

Hahahahahahahaha

You can’t be serious.

Sometimes I wonder if you chose the correct moniker.

18. The problem with you is that process everything in binary. The point being made is that we are responding to a perception of the Bajan electorate. You may refer to the late Richie Haynes famous comment – perception is greater than the reality.

19. @Donna

In fairness to the DLP Verla has disassociated the party from the list. To your point one has to wonder how they allowed Simon Alleyne to get away, Henderson Williams not so much since his City of Bridgetown problem.

20. @CA

Senator Caswell has many times indicated his disinterest with presenting for elective politics. Joe Atherley is a political light weight.

21. @ac

You are right. The blogmaster admires you.

22. David

What few seats the DLP will pick up?

23. @John2

At this stage giving the DLP, St. Lucy, SPW, SPN, SMNW, SJ.

24. @ angela cox February 21, 2021 11:03 AM #:

You’re essentially suggesting the BLP is making too many mistakes and since “the people presently are doing an excellent job of being fire brands and lone rangers holding govt feet to fire.” As such, “the DLP does not have to say much of anything,” because come election day, “the populace would have no other no other alternative but to” vote for DEM.

My friend, surely even Stevie Wonder could ‘see’ that strategy is a clear indication of attempting to win the general election by default.

25. @David
    “There is no doubt the DLP will pick up seats if a general election were to be called now”

I am certain the National Democratic Congress thought so in 2018 as well, lol. I agree they stand a chance based on brand etc. but let me asked based on your words…..are they showing yet that they are fit for purpose??

@Hal Austin
    In the game of politics perception is oftentimes much much more powerful than reality. The BLP’s economic policies are not as great as touted, but, compared to the DLP’s past issues they can ride on them for a while until other credible and sensible voices step up.

@Donna
    You are not alone in your surprise. Will see how the public reacts.

@CA
    Caswell is an invaluable political asset, not a political leader.

@Angela
    We are in agreement with your assessment of the BLP, BUT, old wounds take long to heal and some people would rather stay and die on the fourth floor of a burning building rather than jump through an open window.

If the DLP believes what it says then it has to step up and “save the people” not wait for them to jump.

Just observing

26. Yes Perception can be a very bold measuring stick
    However 2021 has brought the world to new realities of norms
    Norms never envisioned
    Norms which have awakened the people eyes to decipher between truth and faked perceptions
    The Truth being that the DLP has been given an open window which goes beyond perception and also which has given the people opportunities to understand what is important to their life
    As u often said leaders lead
    However since May 2018 the realities of good leadership is still being asked of by the people
    Cant imagine the same continuing past 2023

27. @Observing

I am not a politician or member of any organisation, my interest is in economic policy. I leave the party political arguments for others.
    My argument is simple. I have spent a long period of my working life talking to and interviewing people about economic policy – some I admired, others I did not.
    I expect the same standard from those in Barbados. Waffle and hands rotating like windmills do not impress me. I am too old for that.

28. @Observing

Hence the reference to winning by default. A few seats won by the BLP in 2018 was as a result of a large swing and DLP support staying away. A reduced national swing and an energized DLP base will bring back a few seat if nothing catastrophic occurs.

29. “However since May 2018 the realities of good leadership is still being asked of by the people. Cant imagine the same continuing past 2023.”

I agree. And, perhaps it explains why “the people” have not taken Verla DePeiza seriously.

30. @Angela
    We are in agreement with your assessment of the BLP, BUT, old wounds take long to heal and some people would rather stay and die on the fourth floor of a burning building rather than jump through an open window.

If the DLP believes what it says then it has to step up and “save the people” not wait for them to jump.

Just observing

I have also been observing going back to jan when the people took vocal statements fighting against govt policies facing down both corporate and govt which have hurt them and allowed corporate to put their knees in their necks by way of labour laws which govt had changed
    Need less to say the natives did not wait to be pushed or jump but took a fire hose to an already burning house to save their lives
    Cant see how people whose lives were overturned in such harsh manner in two years by govt policies would allow themselves another five years of living hell
    With or without a single voice to tell them what is in their own best interest
    Suicidal to say the least

31. David BU the DLP under Verla Depeiza will win nothing in 2023.the simple truth is she is not a political leader neither is Rev Atherley or Caswell Franklyn.None of them stands any chance of beating Ms Mottley and the BLP in the near future.Ms depeiza cannot even get a list of candidates together after 2 years and she wants to lead a country where to 20 more downgrades.What is their economic policy going forward?Give me a break!.David BU who are going to win the seats mentioned by you Mr Lashley,Dr Lowe or Dr Estwick i think not.

32. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Artax February 21, 2021 11:08 AM and @David

My comment was mostly in jest but was semi serious too.

Right now the DLP is a joke party and the biggest laughing stock party in the whole Caribbean. A bunch of people fighting like cats and dogs for a share of zero political power pie. Atherley did them a great favour and our country a great service by going independent and forming the opposition so the DLP can put all focus on their infighting.

David of BU is correct and I am aware Caswell has no interest in politics but his type is the type of leader the DLP needs if they are to stand any chance of regaining power before the 20 or more years.

Caswell alone has caused the PM with her super majority to wheel and come again on several occasions. Name one person that can go head to head against Mia in a debate.

33. In the history of elective politics in Barbados we have never had a Party that was considered the Gov’t in waiting without a seat in the H of A. Even when those parties suffered devastating defeats there were always one or two survivors that the public would listen to and who were considered leadership material. To state the obvious the DLP has no seats and the leader doesn’t seem to command the respect of the general public as it appears that the party was so shell shocked after the last election that none of the higher profile members of the party were willing to step up to the plate if it meant a decade in the political wilderness.

As to the old faces resurfacing, didn’t the BLP have the same problem? Didn’t they run silent George and Atherley e.g.? The DLP ran a new face in SGN and still lost, a party can’t run all new faces some experience still counts.

34. Observing,

I don’t have to wait. I don’t know where David gets off thinking he can give the DLP St. Philip North!

I voted DLP for all my life and my new mantra is, “Whatever the BLP can do, the DLP can do worse!”

Substituting Verla for Mia is the equivalent of blowing a torpedo into a leaky ship.

I shudder to think of the Sleepy One during these desperate times. By the time he woke up probably thousands would have died and he would say something like, “Not everybody is dead. What is all the fuss about?” And then he would have slept some more.

Steupse!

Tell dem go and come again!

Verla herself is leader by default!

35. Leadership and silence
    Why say anything when hell has broken loose and the incompetence of leadership at the helm of present govt is so obvious even a blind man on trotting horse can see
    Mia has demonstrated that she can be a great ring master of illusion and theatrics and nothing more
    She had a hand as being head of govt and did nothing
    At home she plays into the hands of corporate oblivious to the hardship and pain that the 99percent are feeling
    Then what is there to say outside that with all the past 10 years of rubbing shoulders with the people
    After 2018 govt has all but forgotten the small people and small businesses people that had bought into their confidence for better
    As for the byelection most understood that was a blp stronghold
    However their was a difference in how the dlp approach that election rallying efforts from their supporters to help the fight
    The blp might have won the war but the realities of the battle still rages
    A conduit which will help the dlp to overcome what hurdles their are facing given their supporters a renewed confidence in the party come 2021
    Btw say what may Stuart still have much political sway with the faithful which was shown after the loss and when he emerge at one of the parties meetings and was given thunderous applause
    Not expecting him to step up.but he does know all the history of the blp

36. @ac

You are clueless.

37. What happened to DLP whisperer Greene? Has he relocated and discovered “Silence is Golden”?
    Would love to hear his thoughts on the subject.

38. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Donna February 21, 2021 12:08 PM

The DLP in charge and doing worse might have been a blessing in disguise… COVID would have burnt through the country in a few months getting rid of some of those pesky pensioners burdening the NIS with their pensions… Gotten rid of some stubborn NCD sufferers refusing to take their conditions seriously burdening the hospital in the process.. Be the first country in the world to naturally hit herd immunity and get back to accepting tourists without restrictions.

Maybe DLP in charge might not have been as bad as you think.

39. @Donna

Whether we want to believe it or not Michael commands significant support in the constituency.

40. @ Angela

There is a BU obsession with blame, they go on the attack and think they are in a gladiatorial combat. It is all theatre. The result, deliberate or not, is to give Mia a free pass.
    Keep it simple: get the government to publish a list of its so-called project loans since May 2018; get it to tell us if the White Oaks deal has been fully finalised, if so what is the outcome; get them to tell us, in simple terms, what is the government’s post-CoVid economic policy; get them to publish the report by the CoVid economic task force; Dr Greenidge set himself the task a few months ago of creating fiscal space. Get him to spell it out.
    Silly talk of having a list of parliamentary candidates nearly three years out from a general election (despite what @ William says) is a waste of good energy.
    Verla’s political future is ahead of her, not behind, and she has time to frame a policy and get a good team in place before the general election. I suggest she talks to Ronnie Yearwood, if he is interested, since the BLP has no room for him.
    The most immediate task at present is to keep this incompetent government’s feet to the fire. Don’t let the howlers divert your attention from a failed government.

41. @CA

Do not spout nonsenses by validating incompetence. Is COVID-19 the only issue in the country we have to manage?

42. You and ac feel the political pulse from trolling BU and Facebook. Sometimes hush and learn something about what is happening on the ground.

43. Hal AustinFebruary 21, 2021 12:34 PM

@ Angela

There is a BU obsession with blame, they go on the attack and think they are in a gladiatorial combat. It is all theatre. The result, deliberate or not, is to give Mia a free pass.
    Keep it simple: get the government to publish a list of its so-called project loans since May 2018; get it to tell us if the White Oaks deal has been fully finalised, if so what is the outcome; get them to tell us, in simple terms, what is the government’s post-CoVid economic policy; get them to publish the report by the CoVid economic task force; Dr Greenidge set himself the task a few months ago of creating fiscal space. Get him to spell it out.
    Silly talk of having a list of parliamentary candidates nearly three years out from a general election (despite what @ William says) is a waste of good energy.
    Verla’s political future is ahead of her, not behind, and she has time to frame a policy and get a good team in place before the general election. I suggest she talks to Ronnie Yearwood, if he is interested, since the BLP has no room for him.
    The most immediate task at present is to keep this incompetent government’s feet to the fire. Don’t let the howlers divert your attention from a failed government.

Well said
    Notice in my answer i did not even place focus on a faked candidate list
    I left that for the usual blp detractors to wrestle with

44. @CA 12:32
    I don’t know if to laugh or to cry.
    I don’t know how having many more deaths “would be a blessing in disguise”

45. DavidFebruary 21, 2021 12:41 PM

You and ac feel the political pulse from trolling BU and Facebook. Sometimes hush and learn something about what is happening on the ground

Truth be told
    What is happening on the ground is death and sickness
    Economic devastation to households and a list of human stories which cuts to.the heart of humanity betterment which u are oblivious to u in your effort to support this govt

No i am not missing nothing that is being said on ground level

46. David

the save grace for the DLP after next election will be that they pick up a few votes. seats? not one damn one again!

47. @John2

Do not agree. The DLP were given seats last election because DLP supporters were turned off by Stuart.

48. I’ve often ‘said’ the dude is predictable. He comes to the forum, with his pseudo-intellectual waffle and ‘pseudo-psychological diagnosis’ of BU contributors, which more often than not, describes himself. (I visualize him waving his hands about as he speaks).

His ‘morning words’ and ‘evening words’ seldom agree.

“Silly talk of having a list of parliamentary candidates nearly three years out from a general election (despite what @ William says) is a waste of good energy.”

Hal Austin January 30, 2021 6:02 AM #: “What is the DLP alternative to the chaos of the BLP? I will tell you: they have not published any because they have none; or, they believe to do so now will mean the BLP stealing their ideas. That last is a typical Bajan response.”

49. lol @ david
    any blind fool can see that one from a mile away. – staurt was the problem so now he is gone they d should be back in power next election then.

50. @John2

What it does, it creates some room for DLP defectors and abstentions to return.