Submitted by Observing

Back in March 2020 the GoB outlined a series of steps to address the Covid -19 challenge by entering Stage 3 and announcing a lockdown after 24 cases were recorded. These were all imported.

Fast forward to December 3, 2020 where we had 281 total cases (24 active) and 7 deaths. We were still managing well under the circumstances.

Fast forward again to December 31, 2020 where ten new cases were announced and the first signal of worry kicked in.

This led to the period Jan 1st to 4th 2021 where we added 297 new cases and then onto January 26, 2021 when we prepared to “pause.”

Since the pause we have had 520 more positive cases, 11 more deaths and an average positivity rate between 4% and 9% with spikes as high as 15% on some days.

Now with the national pause set to expire we wait with bated breath to see what happens

• Former president of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Eddy Abed has made clear that “the private sector can’t take another lock down” (Feb 12, 2021)
  • President of the Barbados Private Sector Association (BPSA) Edward Clarke suggested that only in “extreme circumstances” should such drastic measures be taken. (Feb 10, 2021)
  • Chamber of Commerce president Trisha Tannis warns Barbadians to brace for the possibility of more job losses
  • However, Dr. Adrian Lorde says that an extension to the lockdown may be necessary
  • We still record between 25 and 40+ cases each day with regrettable deaths in between.

So, which will it be? What should we choose?

Extend the pause out of caution and in the interest of public health or, reopen with the known risk and the hope of economic gain?

253 responses to “Which will it be, Extend the PAUSE or REOPEN?”

1. @ Critical Analyzer

You’re assuming one of the conditions are attached to India’s vaccine donation, is ‘their fellow Indian nationals being given vaccine priority in the first round.’ Okay, ‘fair enough.’

So, unless you believe the Indians would deliberately set about, as a priority, to harm their own, would you agree the gesture ‘more or less’ indicates a ‘vote of confidence’ in the vaccine?

If so, then, doesn’t that mean the various reasons you’ve been outlining why you’re not going to take the vaccine and why people shouldn’t take it, are mere ‘alarmist conspiracy theories?’

2. Always safer to let the trials finish first and view the outcomes, we don’t even have to rely on FDA or final reports to see the results, just stroll into any community and talk to the people after some time has passed. People, including doctors are posting their personal experiences with the vaccine live on FB and on other forums…

3. I wrote before that the vaccine may not kill you, but ignorance surely will and some of the ignorance on display is overwhelming.

4. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

This backlog of tests from 1-2 weeks ago is basically a self inflicted wound and it is almost the only way any lockdown would be undermined. IMO it is the SINGLE, PRIMARY REASON why the numbers have not stabilized and keep fluctuating. Simply, an asymptomatic person awaiting test results, not self quarantining would be spreading the virus before they get back the results, and it is prolonging the need for the lockdown. Be that as it may, until the Best-dos Santos Lab rectify this situation, a full reopening would just be irresponsible. The cases have to be stabilized or reduced. The lockdown would have to continue AS IS, or the measures slightly relaxed. At the same time making the lockdown more restrictive would make little sense. The use of lockdowns HAVE to be brought to a perpetual end. Barbados basically have to HOLD THE LINE for the time being. It may get worse before it gets better later down the road.

@ The Watcher, the Gov’t is being ADVISED by medical health professionals. They are not taking arbitrary action. Govt also takes the considerations of the private sector along with the general public when making policy decisions to fight COVID-19. Lockdowns, along with public health measures, have been in Wuhan and in other countries over to mitigate the spread of this virus until drugs\vaccines had been developed and distributed. It has been stated that 60% (180,000) Bajans have to be vaccinated to achieve herd immunity and “return to normal”. An argument can be advanced that the 100,000 doses (50,000 vaccinations) of the Oxford vaccine strategically applied in itself could save Barbados from the worst ever effects of THIS PANDEMIC and justify REASONABLE STEPS taken to mitigate the spread. It can be used to transition from needing lockdowns. The case fatality rate is low and the aim is to take REASONABLE STEPS to KEEP the number of cases and deaths low for as LONG as possible.

5. ********one of the conditions attached……

6. @ Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV February 15, 2021 12:15 PM

Thank God, that no Chris Sinckler but General Bosstic is in charge of our health! 🙂

7. I couldn’t leave it alone. I will have to place you in the same category as cuhdear.. abusing people or as a next person puts it “beating bad bowling”.

So, unless you believe the Indians would deliberately set about, as a priority, to harm their own, would you agree the gesture ‘more or less’ indicates a ‘vote of confidence’ in the vaccine?

If so, then, doesn’t that mean the various reasons you’ve been outlining why you’re not going to take the vaccine and why people shouldn’t take it, are mere ‘alarmist conspiracy theories?’ (Quote)

8. Heard it am sure….shutting down the country for another 2 weeks will not make much difference in the economy. The greedy minorities can sit down.

9. Everyone to the TV!

Our Supreme Leader Mia Mottley, president for life, is speaking. She’s great as always.

10. Our PM is now getting really loud about the lies regarding the AZ vaccine. Very good! Very authentic, honest, compassionate and responsible.

It’s time to lock up all social media activists who criticise the vaccination campaign.

11. Our Prime Minister appeals to all of us to be responsible. Very good.

Praise to the Indian government for the extra doses of vaccination. We need more Indians, more New Barbadians of that ilk.

12. Why some people on the blog continues to throw shade at every Rh thing the government is trying to do to contain the virus? The very people live in rat and covid infested places?

Steuspe.

13. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

@ Critical Analyzer to use Bajan “study it”, 40, 100, 1000 Indians out of a donation of 50,000 vaccinations is hardly a draconian term. Even if India imposed a condition that Barbados has to pay for the 100,000 doses in any subsequent order for Barbados is a win-win situation. Barbados would have got a working vaccine 10 weeks after vaccines have been made available worldwide. We would be happy to pay for vaccines to end the pandemic. India (by extention the UK) would know if their vaccine works and would be further confirmation after the Phase 3 trials. If the vaccines fail then 100,0000 doses is a drop in the bucket in the vaccine producing machine that is India and Barbados won’t have to pay for them.

14. New Zealand locked down its capital ecause of 3 cases. If I heard the new right in cnn

15. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Artax February 15, 2021 12:08 PM

Show me the comment where I told people not to take the vaccine. What I have said about the vaccine is it a totally new vaccine technology rushed through testing with no data on long term effects so nobody can say what will happen down the road. Everyone has to look at the data COVID, assess their own risk and decide where they are going to take their chances.

I am not taking it because the immune boosting protocol I put myself on is better than the vaccine and will take on all COVID variants as well as the Flu. I don’t put my faith solely in doctors, I do my own research as well but I have the ability to analyze things and learn things many in the drug pushing medical fraternity are not aware of or ignore.

16. @CA

Your homemade ‘therapeutic’ was tested?

17. Covid: New Zealand Auckland lockdown ordered
    Sun, February 14, 2021, 8:01 AM·2 min read

3 day lock down for 3 new cases

18. @ David February 15, 2021 1:15 PM

Exactly. I just urged fellows in so-called developed countries to get their jab in Barbados after all locals are vaccinated. Our vaccination strategy is simply amazing. People must finally realise that the question of good governance is not a question of skin colour, but of the greatness of the leader.

19. Here’s why Covid-19 numbers keep gradually improving. (Hint: It’s not widespread vaccinations)
    Here’s why Covid-19 numbers keep gradually improving. (Hint: It’s not widespread vaccinations)

https://www.cnn.com/2021/02/15/health/us-coronavirus-monday/index.html

20. Once again, Barbados is punching far above its weight.

Our island may be very small, but we are a peaceful society. If the whole world was like Barbados, we would live a thousand years into the future without hunger, without war and without disease.

Keep going, Most Honourable Prime Minister!

21. yall better remove yaselves from the debt INCURRED BY DBLP and let them find a way to pay it off how they could….them and the crooked minorites….whom they wrote off 1 billon dollars in VAT for that THEY STOLE….and all the other money missing from the treasury and pension fund.

22. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV February 15, 2021 1:17 PM

You totally missed my point. I was commenting on David’s comment positing a highly possible reasons the Indians seemed to jump the vaccine queue.

On the vaccine front, no one knows what this vaccine will do long term unless they have a working crystal ball. It is using new and unproven vaccine technology. Only time will tell if the vaccine works and proves to be ultimately safe or dangerous.

23. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David February 15, 2021 1:20 PM

Yes it is. Tested by doctors on the front line that successfully treated more people than we have had cases. But the protocol will gut the vaccine profits so they will never get a proper large scale blind placebo randomized control study to confirm it cuts the effects from the virus by 90%.

I have previously posted all the links and videos to the COVID19 Updates posts

24. CrusoeFebruary 15, 2021 10:10 AM

@Angela Cox,

Why is it an issue. Many of you have expressed reticence over the vaccine (e.g. your post of February 14 9.22).

Not an issue for me at all although with so many elderly needing rhe vaccine it makes them look like selfish jerks
    Although the possibility of COVID already spreading in their community might have caused them to bolt to the head of line.

25. @CA

What says WHO?

26. South Asians (SAs), originating from the Indian subcontinent (India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, and Bhutan),are the largest visible minority in Canada.

SAs experience the highest rates of coronary artery disease in Canada. Wha bout in Barbados ?

27. DavidFebruary 15, 2021 1:29 PM

Of course the protocols work. That is why they are recommended. However, they cannot be used ad infinitum, or can be, but will be somewhat less effective in a state of resumed business to prior Covid levels.

That is why a widespread vaccination program is needed.

Barbados now just needs to acquire more doses.

28. @Crusoe

The prime minister gave the example of Israel successfully reducing infections by an aggressive vaccination program.

29. Critical Analyzer Avatar

I believe nothing the WHO says.

They failed abysmally at their one job to catch the next pandemic in the early and prevent its spread. They let China lie to them and did PR for China saying there was no person to person transmission.

They finally sent a research team to Wuhan to trace the origins one year later most likely long after China done destroy most of the data. You think if it had started in Barbados, they would have waited a year to come investigating.

WHO overdosed the patients when they did their designed to fail Solidarity trial by giving people 3 and 4 times the recommended dose of Hydroxychloroquine some other doctors were having success with when used early.

30. The PM reaffirmed what I said on another blog “Short term pain for long term gain”.

31. @CA

You understand WHO is the governing body for health?

32. @Sargeant

Looks like she is a fan. Several issues addressed by the PM have been aired in this space.

33. Disappointing to hear that people who go to a facility to heal, leave with equipment that belongs to the State. These people should be assigned to another state -run facility in St. Philip.

34. @ David who wrote ” Looks like she is a fan.”

Hopefully she also appreciates my taste in ” music ” and visits the Diaspora Corner.

35. @Hants

Her taste in music is eclectic but partial to reggae and clays/soca.

36. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David February 15, 2021 2:26 PM
    Yes I do and I also understand they failed as the governing body. All the people at its head should be fired.

One of Trump’s biggest mistakes was abruptly pulling out of the WHO instead of insisting on an immediate in-depth into the source of the virus and why they failed to catch it in the early. The USA as the largest contributor was the only country that could have made that call.

37. Some Bajans are bombarding each other with WhatsApp messages and videos about the dangers of the vaccines. As soon as word got out among Bajans of Indian descent that some vaccines may have been available to them they crashed the Polyclinics.

Food for thought.

38. Caught up in the drama and not the substance. Many of us forget there is a reason we have a brain.

39. “On the vaccine front, no one knows what this vaccine will do long term unless they have a working crystal ball. It is using new and unproven vaccine technology. Only time will tell if the vaccine works and proves to be ultimately safe or dangerous.”

tell them again, they too love to listen to nonsense from politicians and those who have to wait for information from WHO and others who have tirelessly put the info out there for a WHOLE YEAR…maybe if they had listened to us when we told them to shut the place down last summer and fall, they would not now be playing catch up.

the people better make informed decisions about starting their own businesses and actively research opportunities to do so….waiting on dependency tourism to pick up again is a nonstarter..

..between US and the Continent, i have seen young kids, teenagers, young adults, mid-aged and seniors, start up businesses that can carry them into the future…was very impressed with the creativity…it’s a nobrainer to combine knowledge and skills to come up with a survival package, instead of waiting for the go nowhere shit and dependency that politicians are famous for…to drive Black people back into oppression and disenfranchisement……there are literally thousands of opportunities to tap into to assert true independence…

….better than DEPENDENCY ON CROOKS…the time is here for BLACK INDEPENDENCE.

i myself found several interesting things and tapped into them ……all it took was a little brain power.

40. @Hants
    “Hopefully she also appreciates my taste in ” music ” and visits the Diaspora Corner.”

I imagine you as a man with a 1,009 records with 1,000 by the same artist. 😀

Hopefully, she appreciates your taste but has a wider selection.

41. “Disappointing to hear that people who go to a facility to heal, leave with equipment that belongs to the State. These people should be assigned to another state -run facility in St. Philip.”

One wonders if this does not also increased the possibility of taking back covid-19 to the outside community.

42. Next year we will all be celebrating again at the Sandy Lane clubhouse and laughing at Corona while playing golf.

The power of our Supreme Leader is absolute. Like Hobbes´s Leviathan. “There is no power on earth to be compared to her. Job 41 . 24.” No so-called extra-parliamentary opposition can hold a candle to her. The boom in the coming years will be so powerful that the people are literally crying out for the unconstitutional opposition to be banned altogether.

43. RE You understand WHO is the governing body for health?
    who? where? how?
    over whom?
    WHO IS REALLY PAYING THE PIPER AT WHO?

re One of Trump’s biggest mistakes was abruptly pulling out of the WHO
    ACTUALLY HE WAS CORRECT
    THE MONEY HE SAVED COULD HAVE BEEN USED TO PAY SOME WITH VISION OF HOW TO PRACTICALLY COMMIT THE UNAFFORDABLE ACT TO OBLIVION

instead of insisting on an immediate in-depth into the source of the virus and why they failed to catch it in the early. HOW WOULD HE HAVE INSISTED?

The USA as the largest contributor was the only country that could have made that call.
    REALLY? WHEN EVERY ONE WAS CUSSING TRUMP AND OBJECTING TO WHAT EVER HE SAID?
    PLEASE KINDLY NOTE
    1- THE WHO IS LED BY A MAN WITH NO MEDICAL OR PUBLIC HEALTH TRAINING

2- THE CDC IS CORRUPT AS IT HAS BEEN FOR AGES

3- DR FALSY WAS/IS A DEMOCRATIC SABOUTEUR WHO NEVER SHOULD HAVE BEEN TRUSTED OR LISTENED TO.
    HE IS MUCH LIKE HIS FATHER, THE DEVIL—A LIAR AND A MURDERER FROM THE BEGINNING. AND JUST AS HE DID YEARS AGO WITH HIV/AIDS

LET THE MEDICAL ILLITERATES TRY TO CONTRADICT ME AND GIVE ME SOME MIRTH WHEN NEXT I CHECK

44. RE TronFebruary 15, 2021 3:45 PM

Next year we will all be celebrating again at the Sandy Lane clubhouse and laughing at Corona while playing golf.
    The power of our Supreme Leader is absolute. Like Hobbes´s Leviathan. “There is no power on earth to be compared to her. Job 41 . 24.” No so-called extra-parliamentary opposition can hold a candle to her. The boom in the coming years will be so powerful that the people are literally crying out for the unconstitutional opposition to be banned altogether.

ARE YOU JUST A BLASPHEMER?,
    OR
    DO HAVE DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR?
    OR
    ARE YOU A WHOLE CIRCUS AND NOT ONLY A CLOWN

IT SEEMS THAT A GREATER JACK ASS IS HERE THAN BALAAM’S JACK ASS

WHY WATCH COMEDIES ON TV WHEN THERE IS BU?

45. How is it that because of the backlogs bajans who were told to quarantine at their homes for the 14 day time period
    The results now shows some of them were positive
    Tracking people who these people might have associated after the 14 days would be like shooting fish in a barrell
    The evidence shows that govt has created another monster which is as dangerous as the virus itself

46. This afternoon we were promised a press briefing by the CoVid communications team, headed by Dr Walcott, and including the minister, Mr Bostic.
    But, after t brief introduction by Dr Walcott and and update by Mr Bostic, the president came on and spoke fort 58 minutes of pure, self-obsessed waffle. Then to spend a long time answering questions.
    The nation is in serious crisis and it is badly led by the president. She hs convinced herself that she is in charge and that the virus is under control.
    When it is shown that she is not in control, she then blames others. It must be people on social media with fake news, misinformation, who do not know what they are talking about.
    Then she gets angry and shots as if she is talking to toddlers, fuming that people are not listening to her. What she cannot accept is that she has lost the trust of people, that they can see through her.
    She also has an awful obsession with micro-managing, with repeating things that have already been said as if they would not be understood unless she says them.
    Those who listened to the briefing this afternoon remind yourself of the moment she tried to explain what the R rate meant. With delicacy and sophistication, Dr Walcott followed up and tried to correct her, without making a fuss.
    It goes right back to this authoritarian leader speaking about things she does not understand then reacting like a frustrated toddler if people do not go along with her warped interpretations.
    Bogus words and phrases like a national pause and similar nonsense just feeds her incontrollable ego. I have said before, her speeches lack tone, empathy, understanding – even expressing her sympathy for the dead nursing assistant did not come over as sincere.
    I have said to @ William and others that she is the fly in the ointment of the government’s communication strategy, she is the weak link, they should remove her.

47. The head of NHS England said tonight that despite some progress the country remains in a “pandemic of disinformation” – in the effort to overcome vaccine hesitancy among some in the Black and south Asian communities.

A new study suggests that public health messages are not getting through to some of those most at risk – NHS workers on the frontline.

Researchers from the University of Leicester found that just 36 per cent of Black staff at the local NHS Trust have come forward for the vaccine and only 58 per cent of south Asians…..(Quote)

48. GP February 15, 2021 3:59 PM

“THE WHO IS LED BY A MAN WITH NO MEDICAL OR PUBLIC HEALTH TRAINING”

What a most slanderously unchristian thing to say about a person whose shoe laces the class-room mock doctor with a worthless piece of outmoded paper qualification from a third rate university-can never tie far less untie!!!

We are prepared to choose the head of the WHO any time over a big Johnny who back a racist loser called Trump.

At least Tedros has enough commonsense not to argue against the thesis that people with compromised immune systems are more at risk of contracting Covid-19 than those with robust immune systems.

49. What cannot be refuted is that the WHO is the governing body for global health matters that includes Barbados.

50. Hal Austin February 15, 2021 5:17 PM

This afternoon we were promised a press briefing by the CoVid communications team, headed by Dr Walcott, and including the minister, Mr Bostic.
    But, after t brief introduction by Dr Walcott and and update by Mr Bostic, the president came on and spoke fort 58 minutes of pure, self-obsessed waffle. Then to spend a long time answering questions.
    The nation is in serious crisis and it is badly led by the president. She hs convinced herself that she is in charge and that the virus is under control.
    When it is shown that she is not in control, she then blames others. It must be people on social media with fake news, misinformation, who do not know what they are talking about.
    Then she gets angry and shots as if she is talking to toddlers, fuming that people are not listening to her. What she cannot accept is that she has lost the trust of people, that they can see through her.
    She also has an awful obsession with micro-managing, with repeating things that have already been said as if they would not be understood unless she says them.
    Those who listened to the briefing this afternoon remind yourself of the moment she tried to explain what the R rate meant. With delicacy and sophistication, Dr Walcott followed up and tried to correct her, without making a fuss.
    It goes right back to this authoritarian leader speaking about things she does not understand then reacting like a frustrated toddler if people do not go along with her warped interpretations.
    Bogus words and phrases like a national pause and similar nonsense just feeds her incontrollable ego. I have said before, her speeches lack tone, empathy, understanding – even expressing her sympathy for the dead nursing assistant did not come over as sincere.
    I have said to @ William and others that she is the fly in the ointment of the government’s communication strategy, she is the weak link, they should remove her.

What a whole set of rubbish!!!!

All you’re good for is criticizing for the sake of being critical.