Submitted by Nathan’ Jolly’ Green
The volcano is going off! what volcano is going off? They are all going off!
The volcano is going off, what volcano is going off? They are all going off. What do you mean they are all going off? When that last happened in 1816, it created the Year Without Summer and almost brought the end to all humanity.
Vincentians know what is happening in their back yard, and often in their neighbours. But currently, Saint Vincent is in such turmoil with people running frightened from the COVID 19 virus; few look over the neighbours’ fence anymore in fear of catching the COVID. Vincentians know that La Soufrière is erupting, but all the others in the world who cares.
Around the world currently, most of the volcanos are in some state of eruption. They are all smoking, rumbling, or fully erupting. We lack the final piece in the 1816 year without summer equation, Indonesia’s Mount Tambora erupting explosively.
In April of 1815, Mount Tambora exploded in a powerful eruption that killed tens of thousands of people on the Indonesian island of Sumbawa. The following Year 1816 became known as the “year without a summer” when icy, wet conditions swept across Europe and North America in August.
The Year 1816 is known as the Year Without a Summer (also the Poverty Year and Eighteen Hundred and Froze to Death) because of severe climate abnormalities that caused average global temperatures to decrease by 0.4–0.7 °C (0.7–1 °F). Summer temperatures in Europe were the coldest on record between the years of 1766–2000. This resulted in significant food shortages across the Northern Hemisphere.
Evidence suggests that the anomaly was predominantly a volcanic winter event caused by the massive 1815 eruption of Mount Tambora in April in the Dutch East Indies (known today as Indonesia). This eruption was the largest in at least 1,300 years (after the hypothesized eruption causing the extreme weather events of 535–536), and perhaps exacerbated by the 1814 eruption of Mayon in the Philippines.
With most of the Worlds volcanos making activity from 1800 causing cumulative upper atmosphere contamination, that in 1815/1816 the upper atmosphere was densely contaminated with ash and debris which blocked out the sun. Everything needs the sun to grow, needs the sun to live. But 1816 saw a year of little sun and a year-long winter. In August in New York, Frost and snow and freezing fogs, people starved around the world as crops failed, no wheat, and bread riots in Switzerland. People in the East Coast US marched across the country having heard it was a little warmer on the West Coast. Domestic farm animals were dying no food, no grains, no vegetables. Wild animals and birds stopped breeding, stopped replacing those that were dying by the millions. Had the intense volcanic activity continued for another two or three years and continued to exclude the sun. It would have most certainly been the end of humanity.
But back to the matter in hand, you can stop looking over the neighbour’s fence. Let us look again at the current evolving eruption of Saint Vincent’s Mount Soufrière. What is the worst that can happen?
Massive eruptions bring massive lightning storms, a deposit of ash that blocks rivers and closes off roads. Bridges fail due to the rivers’ blockage. The rivers in Saint Vincent are traditionally poorly maintained almost always containing lots of dead trees and debris, mix that with volcanic ash, and pop goes the bridges. Landslides block roads; roads collapse; people are stranded, no escape. Do we have to wait for all that before we attempt to evacuate our people from a situation that would prove impossible and the people may perish?
So why not rescue the people in case a tragedy unwraps, how about evacuation just in case? How about evacuation as a precaution? How about evacuation right now?
One of the most significant strains on the Vincentians’ minds living in the red and yellow zone is not knowing if or when not knowing the evacuation plan. Not knowing the meeting points, what they should bring and how to get there. No trial run of evacuation, no test run, no information, can you imagine how that plays on these people’s minds.
For the government to wait until something happens before they move into action, really may be just too late. Tell the people the whole plan, tell them now, they are not children, tell them, comrade. Give every one of them written instructions.
See also https://annsvg.com/index.php/2021/01/27/indonesian-volcano-unleashes-river-of-lava-in-new-eruption/

@Angela Cox,
Your assessment that workers should have been advised to remain at home was logical, valid and cannot be refuted.
https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/4/11/
power-cuts-after-new-explosive-event-in-st-vincent-volcano
https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2021/4/11/power-cuts-after-new-explosive-event-in-st-vincent-volcano
TLSNApril 11, 2021 8:53 AM
@Angela Cox,
Your assessment that workers should have been advised to remain at home was logical, valid and cannot be refuted
Xxxxxxccc
Also another observation lends itself to when the weather conditions began to deteriorate in St. Lucy govt had no policy or measures in place to start a process of evacuation especially for the elderly living alone
only yardfowls would pick on such observations and applied them to those of one of trying to get rid of a govt
These observations lend themselves to the situation at present and in now way seek to get rid but to activate in the minds of those who manage the country where they have fallen short
The volcanic eruption is not a play thing as in its wake multiple negative circumstances must be taken into consideration and which can happen and which can cost lives
As to u Donna u need to butt out and stick to what u do best
Potty mouth
Also could not give two wukups about what u think
@Lawson,
.”I am a chardonnay guy not a vinifera one”
Isn’t that what I said?
—————-XXX—–
Just for Lawson
One day as I came home early from work, I saw a guy jogging naked. I said to the guy, “Hey buddy, why are you doing that?” He said, “Because you came home early.”
— Rodney Dangerfield, 1924-2004, American comedian
It should be clear to all that extending a helping hand to fellow islanders was the correct thing to do.
There is an expression “To a hammer everything appears as a nail”. To political operatives “everything appears as just politics”. One would think these operatives have lost all traces of their humanity, as they become blind to the pain, suffering and misery of their brothers and any attempt by others to assist is seen as just a political move.
What is frustrating is that any course of action by Mia is put in the political crucible and then subjected to attack. It take a kind of perverse reasoning to criticise a person if she/he renders aid or refuses to render aid. Two opposite courses of action can generate an ‘attack’.
I heard that there was rainfall in some parts of the country and the combination of ash and rain produce a cement like formation in the gutters of home made to expell water from the top of houses and some homes are experiencing leakage because of this thick formation which is causing blockage in the gutters
My heart goes out to these people because of the multiple negative circumstances and especially the elderly whose fear would be worsened as the day goes by
Where there is no vision the people suffered
I am truly dumbfounded how govt can tabled a plan of action for the tourism industry via press conference and all
However could not reserve or have the presence of mind in similar manner to execute a plan for the elderly living alone and those with special needs
Now it might be too late to enter any one of the danger zones if govt has knowledge or have an awareness of the after effects which can be come dangerous because of the volcanic eruptions
Govt has a cabinet bigger than Mt Rushmore along with other officials on hand to monitor the situation and it is beyond comprehension that none of the individuals could have brought these matters to the attention of our leadership whereby measures could have been implemented to help the elderly living alone in the most affected areas before conditions worsen
angela cox April 11, 2021 8:08 AM #: “Artax these words describes your behavior towards me, Obsession, Pervert, Stalker.”
Straight from H.A’s playbook. Another sign you can’t think for yourself and have to rely on other people’s contributions as the basis to construct your own.
But, I’ll REMIND you Barbados Underground is a PUBLIC FORUM, whereby people are FREE to respond to other people’s contributions. As such, despite you or your agents ‘talking’ shiite about ‘Obsession, Pervert, Stalker, cyber-bully, cyber-stalker’ or whatever, CANNOT intimidate me and I WILL RESPOND to any comments you post to BU, whenever I choose to. ‘Like it, or lump it.’
So, “yuh likewise need to chill out, cause nothing u say gonna change that view.”
TLSN April 11, 2021 8:53 AM #: “@Angela Cox, Your assessment that workers should have been advised to remain at home was logical, valid and cannot be refuted.”
YES, IT CAN BE REFUTED!!!!.
Ask the Chief Medical Officer.
Here comes the stalker / pervert / suffering from a complusive obsessive disorder unable the help himself
Even Hal brings him to a level of attack although Hal is no longer participating in the format
More evidence of Artax obsession
LoL
As we hear officials take on this problem
Mia silence becomes more of a concern
People are now left to fend for themselves as conditions worsen
angela cox April 11, 2021 11:02 AM #: “Govt has a cabinet bigger than Mt Rushmore along with other officials on hand to monitor the situation and it is beyond comprehension that NONE of the individuals could have brought these matters to the attention of our leadership whereby measures could have been implemented to help the elderly living alone in the most affected areas before conditions worsen.”
angela cox April 11, 2021 11:56 AM #: “.As we hear officials TAKE ON this problem.”
https://media.tenor.com/images/b056d7d835ff43ee381a6efbbf1f14db/tenor.gif
Mia has gone silent since conditions worsen
No.more photo ops
Some areas are now without electricity
Great leadership
Where there is no vision the people perish
The PM has sheduled a press conference @2:30pm with a support team.
ANGELA COX,
You made a comment and I made a comment. This is the purpose for BU. This is why there is a comments box.
A few days ago you brought my name into something when I had not said a word.
Do you think that you alone can say what you like and cuss when you like?
Do I owe you taxes for my mouth?????
But then again you lot want to tell the blogmaster what to say on his own blog.
I shouldn’t be surprised that you feel entitled to direct me.
Good luck with that, stinking fowl mouth!
DonnaApril 11, 2021 12:57 PM
ANGELA COX,
You made a comment and I made a comment. This is the purpose for BU. This is why there is a comments box.
A few days ago you brought my name into something when I had not said a word.
Do you think that you alone can say what you like and cuss when you like?
Do I owe you taxes for my mouth?????
But then again you lot want to tell the blogmaster what to say on his own blog.
I shouldn’t be surprised that you feel entitled to direct me.
Good luck with that, stinking fowl mouth!
Xxxxccccc.
Steupsee
Lol the pot speaks
@Donna, Artax et al
Please do not be drawn into this type of gutter debate, it does not add to the blog. This is her way of trying to be relevant on the blog, by spouting nonsensical positions. Let her make her point and if you must respond take it to another level.
It is as black as night in Barbados at the moment. Spare a thought for our brothers and sisters in Vincy land. With COVID and now the volcano.
I will be listening with great intent to what the PM says one who has not shy away from publicity
This PR should also give a view as to what plan of action govt had / has on hand to deal with the worsening conditions and the impact on people lives as the ash becomes problematic
Also a top priority given to any future fall out having to deal with earthquakes and Tsnuami
All BU regulars know that it does not matter what PM Mottley will say you will find something to nitpick. The blog has recorded your initial view about assisting our Vincentians brothers and sisters. To be honest you cannot lose any more credibility on the blog, you have none.
Is there lava hitting the roof tops, Artax????
Are there torrential rains????
Are we about to be buried under the ash never to be seen again?
For what reason is Mia supposed to evacuate all elderly people living alone?
I bet the communities in which they live, the people will see to them. Even the block men can be counted on to spring into action in an emergency.
As inconvenient as this situation is for us, my thoughts are with the people of St. Vincent.
DavidApril 11, 2021 1:07 PM
@Donna, Artax et al
Please do not be drawn into this type of gutter debate, it does not add to the blog. This is her way home f trying to be relevant on the blog, by spouting nonsensical positions. Let her make her point and if you must respond take it to another level.
Xxxxxxxxx
In any of my comments on this subject where did I say anything that as u mention as ” gutter talk ”
Stop being a foot soldier
In any case I have come under constant nonsensical attacks by those you run cover the likes of Artax and Donna
Am I not to defend myself in like manner
Hell No I would not be intimidated
Boohaa haa
So what
This is a crisis that is difficult to manage. As individuals use basic logic and common sense.
Wear masks if you must go outside but stay inside yuh house as much as possible.
If you driving a car the volcanic dust could damage the radiator.
Think for yourselves while following the advice of the experts.
That was a hit and run, David. Every now and then she needs a quick slap down.
DavidApril 11, 2021 1:11 PM
All BU regulars know that it does not matter what PM Mottley will say you will find something to nitpick. The blog has recorded your initial view about assisting our Vincentians brothers and sisters. To be honest you cannot lose any more credibility on the blog, you have none
Xxxxxxxxx. Xxxxxxx
So silly
BU is the last place I come for support
My words however must be making impact because it seems as if your cages are being rattled
I like it so
Now over to fb where I have a growing indisputable fan Club
Lol..grrrrrrrrr
Plenty of fools around. Look how many fans Trump has!
@ Donna April 11, 2021 1:11 PM
No, Donna, “there isn’t any lava hitting the roof tops, torrential rains, nor are we about to be buried under the ash never to be seen again.” And, I don’t know “for what reason is Mia supposed to evacuate all elderly people living alone.”
But we read on BU about “an increase in seismic activity” in St. Lucy yesterday and “govt should alert those people living in those areas which had increased seismic activity to MOVE to HIGHER GROUND.”
“Bare sport in de rum shop.”
However, “my thoughts are with the people of St. Vincent as well. And, perhaps this is where we should focus the discussion, rather than being side-tracked by the ramblings of a ……
Robertson said the communities in the RED Zone would not only have to survive the ash, but now there is the potential for them to be destroyed.
https://news784.com/2021/04/11/scientist-says-la-soufriere-is-reproducing-the-1902-eruption-destruction-ahead/
Amm the airport takes top priority
Now why is Mia insisting on clean up when the ashes still falling
The elderly well they would be on their own or dependant on others this woman is amazing
I done
Did you listen to the briefing?
Did you listen to Dr. Joseph subject matter expert who advised to do periodic cleanup of the ash?
How is it possible when on one hand govt tells people to stay in doors as they speak about the dangers of the ash
Also how about the elderly are they expected to climb their roof tops
I came out with a feeling that nothing was well planned or thought out for the inevitable as to what is happening now
I think i will go and shovel some snow
You stay in doors during the ash fall. You cleanup during the time there is a break to do cleanup wearing protective garb. You need to hush if you are ignorant to what is happening in Barbados.
The ashes are to be cleared in between episodes. Communities are asked to work together or in other words be grown up and not look for Mummy Government to solve all problems. This is to be done at intervals before the ashes harden or get too heavy.
The DEM (the useful one not your party) may be contacted to answer questions and respond to emergencies.
Shelters will be opened if necesssary but Covid considerations make this a risky undertaking.
Life did not promise us an easy time.
My son and I are going out to check our status.
Hope my Rasta cousin passes by tomorrow to give us a hand.
There are no vulnerable old people in my neighbourhood for me to check on.
EVERYBODY has somebody already looking out for them.
I am ignorant to how will people carry this awesome task and still be cautious when the ash kerps falling and the smell of sulphur is in the air
It is always so funny that people of David ilk far away from what is happening in the USA and speaks of USA matters of concern are always quick to give advice to those outside on what and how they should speak on matters involving barbados
We will take your advice and remain indoors for the next days and weeks or when the volcano stops eruptions.
Nitpicking.
Did the government tell you how long to wash your hands for. If it didn’t, why?
Why? Because was are not all flipping idiots. We know at some time we have
sweeping an I too turn off the pipe.
I would take “stay inside” to mean “don’t venture out unless it is absolutely necessary. Don’t go hiking of having a picnic, use your head”
When there is a break, do a little cleanup. Don’t let it pile up until it becomes a major job. Sweeping an inc 50 times is much different than moving 50 inches once. Use your head.
Why? Because was are not all flipping idiots. We know at some time we have
to turn off the pipe.
When they came on I tuned out
I bet not one of them asked if disaster management has plans in place to help the elderly living alone
I noticed how Mia she was prepared to deal with that issue by using the cliche we are our brothers keeper
But what about govt role as the gate keeper for the elderly who worked and help build barbados
The issue of how we should assist the elderly was mentioned.
Next?
Exposure to ash can harm your health, particularly the respiratory (breathing) tract. To protect yourself while you are outdoors or while you are cleaning up ash that has gotten indoors, use an N-95 disposable respirator (also known as an “air purifying respirator”). N-95 respirators can be purchased at businesses such as hardware stores. It is important to follow directions for proper use of this respirator. For more information, see NIOSH-Approved Disposable Particulate Respirators (Filtering Facepieces) . If you don’t have an N-95 respirator, you can protect yourself by using a nuisance dust mask as a last resort, but you should stay outdoors for only short periods while dust is falling. Nuisance dust masks can provide comfort and relief from exposure to relatively non-hazardous contaminants such as pollen, but they do not offer as much protection as an N-95 respirator. Cleanup or emergency workers may need a different type of breathing protection.
The Chief Medical Officer addressed Barbadians on the matter.
Yes i heard that answer which made me cringe at a time when a dangerous and hazardous act of nature puts all in a mode of survival
Govt answers with an old cliche ” we are our brothers keeper” which all but places the brunt if responsibility on the backs of people
Meanwhile govt gets off the hook once again for not tabling measures to help the elderly
Barbados has already lost fifty ir more elderly to Covid
But whi cares ir who is counting
The woman wants to live in an ideal world where we face no hazards and have all our problems anticipated and prevented just like magic.
The ash is here. We have to deal with it as best we can. This is real life.
I am asthmatic and I am not making a fuss.
Actually, the adrenaline seems to be counteracting the effects of the dust.
I do not nor will i ever anticipate an ideal world on this planet where mankind has done their damnest to destroy the
environment
However i refused to be steered in a direction by which politicians set out a path by which they can fool or manipulate the mind into believing what they want people to know
And it is for that reason i ask questions make detours no matter how foolish sounding or might appear to anyone
This afternoon PR after a few or more minutes of listening had all the repetition and lecturing to the people which was all heard before a sure sign which helps to brain wash the masses
Even media attempt was poorly executed i was told
This afternoon we had all the technocrats on the conference- BL&P, BWA, TMR, CMO, Seismic expert Dr. Joseph . You credibility is below zero.
Your Sunday Roast has started.
@ Donna,
I am asthmatic and use Advair and Ventolin twice per day as preventative maintenance.
The important thing to remember is that volcanic ash contains rocks and glass.
You must do everything you can to keep the ash out of your lungs.
Mari
What is the purpose of DEM (the good ones not ur party?
When you fund out its purpose remember that it is there fior which ever party is in government
Government do not have to come up with meareasures at the last minute. There are programs in place to activate down to the grassroots
Or that to hard for your pea brain to understand?
@ David the press conference was well structured and informative. The PM did a good job.
I spent a good part of today watching you tube videos of Barbados and St.Vincent and also checking the webcams on Barbados.org
This is a difficult problem to manage.Volcano spewing ash and carried by winds to Barbados.
Hoping for the best outcome for all affected.
Another challenge for our beleaguered country.
It’s like u have a multicasuality. Accident
You don’t have to wait on government \politicians to send ambulances
Who to respond no when to and how
It already in the program
I would hope that this government has a plan for the collection and safe storage of this ash dust.
This material will be rich in nutrients and will have a use in good time. In the meantime, it will wreak havoc on the island as it settles.
The government needs to move fast as this will create serious damage to the country’s infrastructure..
Switch off your air conditioning and shield it from the dust.
https://www.facebook.com/246784233190/posts/10158465818998191/?sfnsn=mo
The ash has to be cleaned up as soon as possible. with the rain, it will harden like concrete. This is how they get pumice stone to scrub one’s callouses.
God moves in a mysterious way
Which reflects my mind on the WTE plant
Yes i.said it
What will Ross University next move
Dominica was too high risk
Two years later a worst fate has befallen Ross
Yes I said it
Now awaits the mind readers to interpret what I meant
Angela sargassum ,covid, volcanic ash african snails, what are you saying six more plagues to go before there is a change in govt.
So not only my one confused with these double messages
Listen up Folks
Guyson Mayers
So, let me see if I was able to get the gist of the press conference:
You can clean up ash as it accumulates on your roof and around your yard but don’t wash it down, bag it. You can bag it but don’t go outside. You are urged to wash your car and yard often but don’t use water as it is scarce. Start cleaning up today, don’t wait but as the rain has been drizzling, don’t start today. You can drive anywhere on the island but don’t leave home because the ash makes the road slippery and you must drive slow while at home.
Did I miss anything?
(Borrowed from a WhatsApp post).
Lawson as if u did not notice what the past two days have shown govt has been changed into.a useless bunch
Even their communication messages have become muddled and dumbfounding
Only persons seeming to understand the messages are the Yardfowls & Associates everyone else are confused and bewildered
Yes figure out what to do about crops as chemistry of soil changes and leaves cant get sunlight or over weighted, best get ahead of import curve.
Yes 🙌🏿
“As long as Mia Mottley guards our island, neither earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, storm floods nor hurricanes can harm us”.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
She is protected by the heavens.
Amor Amor..
Instead of Amor I am going with Armor
Yes, ladies and gentleman you can be protected with a layer of armor. Trust Mia Armor
Mia Armor Motley, the thinking man’s protection.
Are we ?????
1) having so many difficulties that you feel as if you are being attacked from every direction.
2) The occupants of the beleaguered city had no means of escape.
3) The arrival of the fresh medical supplies was a welcome sight for the beleaguered doctors working in the refugee camps.
No we are not. Many Industrial Countries and their Economies are in Affliction..
Ask St. Peter
Have been washing down my tomato, spinach, parsley, beans and cucumber plants at home. I haven’t looked at the cassava which is planted on the “plantation” Cassava has been grown by the indigenous people of the Caribbean for thousands of years, and must have seen multiple volcanic eruptions over the millennia so I expect that this crop will be ok. Worried about my pear blossoms and the tiny baby pears most of which are presently smaller than a cherry.
I don’t have air conditioning.
I will sweep and or wash down the outdoor furniture, verandahs and windowsills tomorrow if it is safe to do so. I expect that I will have to pay somebody to look at the roof, but most of the roof is steeply pitched and the rain may have washed off some. But I may have to pay somebody to take a look and do the necessary.
I will save my dust to use as fertilizer on the “plantation”
You may have fertiliser collected already in the gutters!!
Unclip sections one by one, remove and empty into a container on the ground.
https://imgur.com/3EpCThz
cassava?
“I will save my dust to use as fertilizer on the “plantation”
Resourceful indeed 🙌🏿
I am outside washing off my plants to catch the sunlight and doing some cleaning up.
These damn idiots are flying past my house in their trucks and suv at normal speed. I have been showered in the dust twice so far. My lawn man passed also in his suv and there was no kick up.
You need full protective gear to clean up out here.
These jackass drivers would kill you!
@Donna
looks like Barbados is being affected by the biggest eruption to date just after 4AM. Looks like a rough day ahead for the country again. Stay strong.
The experts are not even venturing to forecast the behaviour of the volcano. Every day to seem to think of another nonsensical position to take on the blog. Your nonsense will be deleted to ensure BU is not a purveyor of fake nonsense.
I came in and called the goodly gentleman Sargeant Seibert Johnson so he could ask the fools to slow down.
He said he had been doing it all morning on the radio stations along with Admiral and co. He already saw somebody slide off the road and damage his vehicle too.
Common sense sure isn’t common.
@Donna
Heard him. It is unimaginable that some motorists will be inclined in prevailing conditions to be road hogs. Sadly there will always be the ignorant among us.
David all possibilities should be taken into concern
Scientific evidence is there as proof
My concern lies within the elderly living alone maybe in need of medication but can go outside because of the hazardous conditions
You are an arrogant yardfowl
As far as u are concerned govt right or wrong
Govt has now extended its power to stiffle freedom of speech under the guise of “fake news”
Unfortunately u have fallen for that trick
Removing my concerns which have nothing to do with fake news has shown that their is a dangerous line being drawn in the sand and free speech would be the first casualty
Shame on u David
It is a known fact that a number of government agencies are mobilized in the event Barbados is in imminent danger of being affected by adverse weather conditions, such as high winds, flooding from heavy rainfall, etc, as a result of tropical depressions, storms, hurricanes and, in this situation, volcanic ash.
I’m sure you’re aware of the role Department of Emergency Management (DEM) plays in these types of situations. That Department is responsible for the development and implementation of the Emergency Management Programme, which encompasses the concept of disaster and emergency risk management, including identifying and mobilising all the appropriate resources and detailed planning for the impact of any natural or man-made disaster.
Then, there are the District Emergency Organisations (DEOs), which are operated by volunteers from communities they are intended to serve, and whose role is to organize and coordinate the resources of the community so as to allow for an effective response in time of crisis.
Any national emergency management system would obviously take into consideration, the most vulnerable of the society as priority. While some ‘keyboard warriors’ are wasting time posting shiite to BU, officers from NAB, UDC, RDC, NHC, Welfare Department, public utilities, RBPF, fire service, DEM, environmental engineering, etc, are responding to reports and organising the necessary assistance.
Information relative to how we should respond in the event of an earthquake, tsunami, floods, hurricanes, etc, are broadcasted by the GIS….. via the print and electronic media, on a daily basis. Information is also taken into the communities and schools.
Come on, we’ve seen these scenarios played out year after year, after year, after year, since Barbados is either placed on a storm, hurricane or flood watch or warning EVERY YEAR. For example, people are told to ‘store up food-stuff and prepare for hurricane season,’ yet they wait until the same day of pending adverse conditions to rush to the supermarkets.
So, I’m wondering why would it be necessary for the PM or any other politicians, whether they be BLP or DLP, to hold a press conference to announce this information.
But then again, those same ‘keyboard warriors’ claimed on BU a few months ago, they have not ‘watched’ television for several years. Hence, the reason why they don’t know shit, but prefer to post shiite to BU.
Artax
So, I’m wondering why would it be necessary for the PM or any other politicians, whether they be BLP or DLP, to hold a press conference to announce this information
Xxxxxccccccc
So why not! all information is necessary and worth repeating in times of difficult and dangerous conditions when peoples health is at risk
Not everyone can access information at the drop of a hat
Have a hear t fool my message is a concern for the elderly
Btw
How many times during many PR conferences have message be repeated by govt over and over again especially Mottley
But then again the blp stalker that your are would rush out to defend their nonsense
Just saw an interesting FB post
@David – Would be great to get our Civil Engineering expert Grenville Phillips’s opinion on this and if we can use this material indeed
Cement made with volcanic ash can make cities stronger and greener..
“Cement production takes a lot of energy because there are high temperatures involved, and it’s a multistage process,” says Stephanie Chin of MIT’s Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE). “That’s the main motivation for trying to find an alternative. Volcanic ash forms under high heat and high pressure, and nature kind of does all those chemical reactions for us.”
https://newatlas.com/cement-volcanic-ash-mit/53284/?fbclid=IwAR1w7VJwuCIGq9KSwxT0s8U1wqoC4w1GJ9hlKjMaTRBTx2YmEARuNwRYMi8
@Bajeabroad
Thanks comment forwarded.
Regards
angela cox April 12, 2021 12:49 PM
Hmmmmm……..
Seems as though you’ve now become the ‘obsessive, perverted stalker.’
Galileo Galilei said, “I’ve never met a man so ignorant that I couldn’t learn something from him.”
That’s because he isn’t alive today and met you.
To all ah wunna living in Barbados. Expect more ash for the forseeable future.
Stock up on bottle water and food. This ash event is like a tropical storm.
Had sunshine for most of today. Nobody really knows what the volcano will do. No need for bottled water. Our pipes are still running. We can catch water from the pipe. Why are you expecting food shortages?
Volcanic ash can hurt production the animals might get sick eating it, Depending on ash thickness plants will die, but one thing I hadnt thought of was the adverse effects it can have on machinery in the field. There may well be problems with the food chain
Doesn’t mean there will be a food shortage. Other Caribbean islands have produce to sell.
As for my garden, the plants seem to be loving it so far. I forgot to bring the seeds I was hatching inside. Got up next morning and found them all peeping through the ash. Washed them off and three days later they are doing fine. The water I would have used for the soil I poured over all the plants.
We’ll see what happens!
Life!
When the going gets tough the tough get going!
https://www.facebook.com/deborah.clarke.142892/posts/3326401207461756/
liar
Who removed it
People needing help and BU blocks
What a nasty low life
Ghee
It is being reported that Barbadians are washing their cars! Please tell me this is not so! Are we such an idiotic people! Somebody needs to explain to the masses that it will be raining ashdust for several weeks.
Priority number one should be to block the ingress of ashdust into the home. Second priority should be to remove the ashdust/sludge from the house gutters. Third priority should be to remove all ashdust that has collected on outside floor surfaces both outside the house and in the surrounding environment.
The best advice for all concern: stay at home.
The government needs to get on top of this situation and fast!
Some if them need to use their vehicles for work
Some people are concerned about their air vents and engines clogged
The options are few but applying commonsense would not hurt
Cant drive with windshield cover in dust and ash blowing through air vents
https://youtu.be/fwGShC-9-Es
Let’s be fair.
So far, ‘government’ has been doing its best in the prevailing adverse conditions. They continue to issue advisories based on information received from UWI’s Seismic Research Centre. Personnel from BWA, RBPF, Chief Medical Officer, Barbados Meteorological Services, Environmental Protection Agency, DEM, etc, have also kept the public informed.
A common-sense approach is necessary in these types of situation. We’re having ash-fall and intermittent rainfall, thereby making the roads slippery. Yet RBPF has to be continually warning motorists to desist from speeding.
For some if govt tell them to walk on hot coals the govt doing it’s best
Hate to see it’s worst
Yesterday PR messages to the public was a mixture of yuh wrong if yuh do and yuh wrong if yuh don’t
Hence today people doing what they believe would make life a little bit more bearing
As some one said the messages sent none of the govt ministers have to life by daily cause they can afford to pay their bills and hire people at their time and leisure to wash their cars and clean their house
The average bajan on the other hand got to grin and bear trying to make decisions that can be hard given the unbearable circumstances presently at hand
There was a press conference tonight, and a ‘keyboard warrior’ is ‘talking’ about shiite DLP goon Guyson Mayers wrote on FaceBook.
But, what else could we expect from someone who made the bold claim on BU that they haven’t ‘watched’ television for several years, but are relying on biased, ‘second-hand’ information from a DLP yard-fowl.
Artax @ac
Fool.before there was television people read newspapers and received news from the radio
Today news reporting goes beyond tV
But still much of what is said on TV can be heard on the radio and read via internet
Fool it is time yuh tek uh head out of Mia backside
The PR yesterday was a muddled combination of gibberish left for the bajans to sort out
The volcano situation seems to be out of govt control
A hasty rolled out PR which accomplished nothing
I see the Minister said that clean up had to stop because of the stupid ass drivers. He will have to close roads or ban unnecessary driving between certain hours or get the crews out during the night to minimise that problem.
I am going to start at 4.00 a.m. as I did yesterday morning. This time I will clean first instead of washing off the plants. I will wash them off when the jackasses have mostly gone off to work.
I have found that a sprinkle of water soaked left to soak through and dry out a bit makes the ash easier to rub off the clay tiles with a nice hard house broom. I am conserving water in other ways so I will not be increasing use
unneccessarily. Gutters will be next. The dust up here is only a couple of millimetres thick on the ground sò it shouldn’t present much of a problem.
New water conservation plan. I will wash my clothes and use the final rinse water from the washing machine to wet the ash. All it requires is to remove the hose from its slot and redirect it into a bucket.
Wish I had thought of that yesterday.
Seems as though you’ve NOW become the ‘obsessive, perverted stalker.’
My friend, judging from the narrow-minded, political perspective you approach every issue and how you continually misrepresent the facts, it’s ‘pellucidly clear’ you don’t read the traditional or online newspapers, or listen to the radio either.
Okay. I’ve been called worse things than a “fool.”
But, only a semi-literate, blithering idiot would come into a forum to persistently and shamelessly display the level of idiocy and buffoonery that you display on BU daily.
When your idiocy and lies are exposed, rather than ‘chill out,’ you would return with more nonsense to justify the nonsense you originally presented. I call it the ‘Ossie Moore condition.’
Couldja imagine someone ‘said’ yer intelligent and called Cuhdear Bajan “the village idiot?”
SMDH!!!
@Artax
What is the point of debating issues with anyone who have no sense of being rational? It makes the exchanges on all the blogs nothing more than an echo chamber.
The truth unlike milk does not sour
The facts would be hard to hide things said and done would not be buried under this big could of smoke and ash
Right now barbadians are fending for self
Govt has been clueless having no measures in place to deal with the problem
The volcano did not explode suddenly the signs were being sent for many months but govt ignored them
The dept of planning and management said their were not prepared for this disaster
Got some patches of blue and red in the sky up this side.
Hoping to see some sort of sunrise!
🎵Here comes the sun!🎶
ac my be here to stay
Covid-19
Volcano
What’s next?
The rainy season
Should we have or shouldn’t have cropover?
Rebooting the tourist industry?
Xmas
It is the best morning we have had since Friday.
DavidApril 13, 2021 6:42 AM
@Artax
What is the point of debating issues with anyone who have no sense of being rational? It makes the exchanges on all the blogs nothing more than an echo chamber.
Xxccccccc
So silly
Xxxxcccccccv
Echo chambers work.
They are known to have saved lives
You may have the last asinine word.
Here listening to Brasstacks.
SSA had to to stop collecting garbage because igrunt wrasse whole idiats driving too fast on the ash covered roads.
These are some of the same people who have to vote and are expected to do so sensibly.
@John April 11, 2021 9:54 PM “You may have fertiliser collected already in the gutters!!
Unclip sections one by one, remove and empty into a container on the ground.”
Sadly I don’t/can’t do ladders anymore. My father was climbing ladders into his 90. Alas! I am not he.
@lawson April 12, 2021 4:12 PM “…adverse effects it can have on machinery…”
Me too.
I expect that mechanics will be kept busy. I did some outdoor cleaning yesterday. Washed my clothes when I came in. There was a residue of gritty ash on the clothes and in the machine. I doubt that this is good for the machine. But I was planning to replace the machine this year anyhow as it quite old and has already been previously repaired.
P.S. The vets have advised farmers to keep their animals indoors and to try to source hay/fodder which had been stored indoors. And to keep pets indoors too.
HantsApril 13, 2021 10:25 AM
Here listening to Brasstacks.
SSA had to to stop collecting garbage because igrunt wrasse whole idiats driving too fast on the ash covered roads.
Xxccccccccc
Poor planning / management by govt
Some road closures would have been necessary along with reduction of lanes on highways to slow down the speed of some
Also temporary signs posted of reduce speed along with police presence
Govt had no plan going forward hence madness happens
Here is another case of nonsense, finding excuses for inconsiderate motorists.
DavidApril 13, 2021 1:05 PM
Here is another case of nonsense, finding excuses for inconsiderate motorists.
It is nonsense because I post it
But what is your solution or suggestion
Outside of talking be about inconsiderate motorist
U have said nothing new… people are people and some are downright selfish
Govt should know by now that chaos or madness would happen
Hence putting barriers in place is the only solution
Treat the situation in similar fashion as to when roads are being repaired
No! but govt sets out on PR strategy unprepared to face the backlash and then blame the people for careless actions
Good planning first
Next PR strategy next
Getting all ducks in order was the first goal
Why do we pay highly degreed Permanent Secretaries?
Such things are elementary! Or they should be!
This ash crisis could damage the Barbados economy severely.
There are no easy solutions for coping with volcanic ash.
” Volcanic ash consists of fragments of rock, minerals, and volcanic glass,”
It is not like ash from burning sugare canes or wood.
Should we now accept that tourism is off the menu for the seeable future. Even Lawson and his family may be forced to abandon Barbados for another year.
You are probably right tlsn, you have been hit with a trifecta sargassum, covid, ash . Its becoming obvious that even people who are vaccinated wont have total freedoms until everyone is. The near future looks like a no go but lets hope things change around after the hurricane season.