The COVID 19 pandemic continues to be a challenge for many countries across the globe including Barbados. To shutdown or not is the question being asked by Barbadians. This evening’s briefing by the government will provide the answer.

Latest numbers presented by BU’s Lyall Small posted to COVID 19 Update page

Community spread has now been officially declared in Barbados and the testing backlog has been fixed. Attached are current charts up to 22nd Jan. We should now get a clearer picture of the dynamics of the virus in Barbados and the other 4 Caribbean countries we have been tracking. Panic now seems to be the general reaction here so far but I think that is unwarranted. I think that in about 3 weeks we should have a clearer picture of how the outbreak will likely progress here. In the meantime be very careful Lyall Small

588 responses to “COVID 19 Update – 25.01.2021”

1. Only the weakest minds that don’t know how to diversify, will still be clinging solely to and relying only on tourism.

“The main task ahead for the Barbados economy is for Government to build out other sectors rather than continuing to focus heavily on tourism, an economist has suggested.

But Kemar Stuart maintains doubt that the Mia Mottley administration would take the required policy direction necessary to drive the economy in the short- to medium-term as it continues to focus on managing the COVID-19 pandemic.”

2. Firstly govt never made known in their ten year in the wilderness what plans or measure govt had on hand to change barbados economic path
    Expecting govt to have a course at hand in a COVID environment is likened to finding a needle in a haystack
    Dont forget that Mia first order was to default and blow up buildings
    None of which tackle diversification or employment

3. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@John2 January 31, 2021 9:38 AM

CA

The flu and Covid vaccines are free to the public in the USA

It is only free if the manufacturer is absorbing all production costs otherwise taxpayers pay also US is not the only country taking those vaccines. Vaccines are cash cows for the pharmaceutical industry especially if they can get them on the country’s recommended vaccine schedule.

If a proven effective treatment for a disease exists, a vaccine is not necessary and becomes unprofitable.

4. “Firstly govt never made known in their ten year in the wilderness what plans or measure govt had on hand to change barbados economic path.”

I agree with your above comments. But, couldn’t they be attributed to some political parties in Barbados?

It’s going on 2 years and 9 months since this Mottley led BLP administration held the ‘reins of government.’ We’ve heard policies and critiques from Grenville Phillips II and Solutions Barbados.

However, Verla and the DLP haven’t “made known” during this time, “what plans or measure they have on hand to change Barbados economic path.”

Nor, have we heard anything from the official opposition leader, Rev. Atherley and members of the PdP.

5. That is a true yardfowl answer
    Take the responsibility off present govt and placed it on the shoulders of other parties
    Present govt did not lay out plans but when in the wilderness said they could do better
    Yes COVID has place its knees in our one nest basket
    However it did not give govt an excuse not to lay out measures that going forward in the future would help prolong and sustain barbados in other crisis
    Outside of PR conferences not one word has come from the govt mouth that relates hope
    As a matter of fact we have the AG sparking on COVID policies while crime goes rampant

6. @ Angela

Brilliant. The role of government is to govern, ie come up with policies and implement them. The role of the opposition is to critique government.
    When the general election comes the Opposition parties will publish their manifestoes outlining their policy proposals.

7. COVID is boring us to death!!

It is time to move on.

Whatever economy exists should be optimised.

Whatever economies that are to be found need to be searched out.

Every economy exists for a time until somebody else figures it out and find a way to take it or technology makes it obsolescent.

Human nature.

Keep moving!!

No point bellyaching about the past while our obsession with COVID makes us idle.

Get up and go.

8. Brilliant

Last election the party in government posted it manifesto

The last government is who led us to the one egg nest in the 10 years in power
    Every other industry declined except the one egg

What was there plan back then ?

9. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

Sigh…. @ John Jacob… you are just hilarious with your “statistics” that will naturally vary from country because each country’s response to COVID-19 has varied, along with MANY OTHER factors that would affect the stats. And trying to compare an airborne virus with a “vector” virus means factors other than drugs can play a role in case/death prevention . I think you “moonlight” as a circus clown in the day and a BU clown… well….. “all day long”!!!!!. I think you know better though.

The MOST IMPORTANT ABSOLUTE numbers are:- WORLDWIDE:- 2 million REPORTED deaths, 102 million REPORTED cases THUS FAR among approx 200 countries over just 13 months of a pandemic. even with many countries enabling prevention measures and protocols. It means 2 million deaths as a RESULT of COVID-19, a new disease that needs a vaccine for the vulnerable to fight off effectively. That is, if a vaccine had existed, it would be a safe assumption that the majority of those deaths would have been avoided. Those NUMBERS indicate that the COVID-19 pandemic is easily the largest pandemic for the past 100 years and it has to be taken SERIOUSLY!!!!!!!!!

10. CA

Agreed

One way or the other the drugs companies will profit. Either those with the new vaccines or the ones with the old cheaper drugs

Research and technology will also benefit

11. I like this
    “One way or the other the drugs companies will profit. Either those with the new vaccines or the ones with the old cheaper drugs”.

And the one with older cheaper drugs that do not work but are pushed by others for whatever reason.

12. Reading about covid-19 on various Barbados related sites.

Many statements suggest it is more about the political divide than truly about covid-19.

There is a difference between all and many.

13. As a supporter of the DLP party my hint to Verla is taken in part from the song The Gambler.

You’ve got to know when to hold ’em
    Know when to fold ’em
    Know when to walk away
    And know when to run
    You never count your money
    When you’re sittin’ at the table
    There’ll be time enough for countin’
    When Covid 19 is done.

The BLP was elected with an absolute majority 30 love.

14. angela cox January 31, 2021 10:53 AM #: “That is a true yardfowl answer. Take the responsibility off present govt and placed it on the shoulders of other parties.”

As the saying goes, ‘it takes one to know one.’

However, I guess you weren’t a “a TRUE YARDFOWL” when you spent the ‘better part’ of ten (10) years during the former administration’s tenure on BU, ADMONISHING the then opposition and other people for CRITICIZING Stuart, Sinckler et al, while REMINDING critics that, ‘INSTEAD OF CRITICIZING, THEY SHOULD BRING SOLUTIONS.’

And, remember, BU has an ‘archive’ where all your comments can be found.

15. Artax go find them

16. Hahahahahaha

The resident pantomath can be easily ‘set-up’ because he is predictable. And, his ‘morning words’ often differ from his ‘evening words.’ Here’s an example.

As RECENT as YESTERDAY morning he wrote (and PLEASE read the SECOND PARAGRAPH CAREFULLY):

Hal Austin January 30, 2021 6:02 AM #: “Ten months in to the pandemic and our public intellectuals, politicians and policy makers have failed. Those at the UWI should be having regular online discussions on a likely post-CoVid economy; our newspapers should be publishing new and interesting proposals; our politicians should be calling for parliamentary debates.”

“What is the DLP alternative to the chaos of the BLP? I will tell you: they have not published any because they have none; or, they believe to do so now will mean the BLP stealing their ideas. That last is a typical Bajan response.”

But TODAY, in defending a ‘choir member,’ he’s essentially suggesting we should wait until “when the general election comes” to read the opposition parties’ policy proposals in their manifestos.

Hal Austin January 31, 2021 10:58 AM #: “@ Angela. Brilliant. The role of government is to govern, ie come up with policies and implement them. The role of the opposition is to critique government.
    When the general election comes the Opposition parties will publish their manifestoes outlining their policy proposals.”

Perhaps it’s the ‘UK Bajan Condition.’

David BU, you’re extremely lucky to have a man of his superior intellect traversing the ‘halls of BU.”

17. London – British centenarian Captain Sir Tom Moore, who raised millions of pounds for the health service by walking laps of his garden, has been admitted to hospital after testing positive for coronavirus (COVID-19), his daughter said on Sunday.

18. “Barbados has recorded another COVID-related death.

The gentleman who is in his 60s was in Isolation at Harrison Point. He was admitted along with his female partner, who has also tested positive for COVID-19.

According to reliable sources, family and friends were feeling better about his situation on Friday, January 29, after learning his condition had improved. Therefore, on learning the tragic news a few hours ago, many of his loved ones are in disbelief and shock today (January 31).

He had one son and a stepson. He was a self-employed contractor.

Barbados’ COVID-related death tally would now move to 13”.

19. who edits the editor?

manifestos is the plural of manifesto

Standards are slipping

UK Lovers Rock

20. JohnJanuary 31, 2021 10:58 AM COVID is boring us to death!!

LOL. So says the guy who posted about eighty thousand entries on Trump.

What I do not understand is how someone allegedly so academically accomplished has resorted to internet trolling.

Maybe you get your jollies on by trying to get up other people’s skin. Still it is strange.

21. Heard there were 2 deaths today

22. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TVJanuary 31, 2021 11:36 AM

Sigh…. @ John Jacob… you are just hilarious with your “statistics” that will naturally vary from country because each country’s response to COVID-19 has varied, along with MANY OTHER factors that would affect the stats. And trying to compare an airborne virus with a “vector” virus means factors other than drugs can play a role in case/death prevention . I think you “moonlight” as a circus clown in the day and a BU clown… well….. “all day long”!!!!!. I think you know better though.

The MOST IMPORTANT ABSOLUTE numbers are:- WORLDWIDE:- 2 million REPORTED deaths, 102 million REPORTED cases THUS FAR among approx 200 countries over just 13 months of a pandemic. even with many countries enabling prevention measures and protocols. It means 2 million deaths as a RESULT of COVID-19, a new disease that needs a vaccine for the vulnerable to fight off effectively. That is, if a vaccine had existed, it would be a safe assumption that the majority of those deaths would have been avoided. Those NUMBERS indicate that the COVID-19 pandemic is easily the largest pandemic for the past 100 years and it has to be taken SERIOUSLY!!!!!!!!!

2 million out of 102 million

Mortality ~ 2%.

So why is Mexico at 8.6%?

Why is Barbados at 0.1%?

23. https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/31/barbados-records-two-more-covid-19-deaths/

“Today Barbados recorded the first double death from Covid-19 within a 24 hour period. Both deceased were patients of the Harrison Point Isolation Facility for a few days. The two Barbadians, a 55 year-old male and a 64 year-old female, died within an hour of each other this morning.”

24. “An employee of The Crane Resort, a Government-sanctioned quarantine hotel, has tested positive for the COVID-19 virus.

But management of the sprawling, St Philip property insists that the employee contracted the disease outside of the resort.

Responding to complaints from a guest in a letter to Barbados TODAY regarding Crane’s management’s handling of the situation, owner and Managing Director Paul Doyle spoke of the property’s record as an official isolation centre since December 2020 for some of the thousands of visitors arriving on the island. Some of them, he said, have tested positive on a second test, and the illness has so far not spread to any others within that facility.”

25. Also read where the boss at Abeds Sheraton Mall was tested positive for COVID but refused to stay home but came to work
    An irate employee gave all the details
    Hope he lands in jail like the Jamaican guy

26. @Angela

Managers associated with the Lebanese/Syrian Abeds have been behaving badly in Barbados since the mid-1960s. Didn’t one of them swap parties recently because he was not selected to be a parliamentary candidate. The arrogance.

27. Under the stuart administration when Ebola was running across global landscape
    Here in barbados not one life succumbed to the deadly disease
    Today in barbados the economy has taken favour over the lives of people
    But look who is in charge
    A different time a different reality
    Go figure

28. @Crusoe January 31, 2021 4:05 PM “What I do not understand is how someone allegedly so academically accomplished has resorted to internet trolling.”

According to the National Center for Biotechnology Information, U.S. National Library of Medicine “as we age our brains shrink in volume, particularly in the frontal cortex. As our vasculature ages and our blood pressure rises the possibility of stroke and ischaemia increases and our white matter develops lesions. Memory decline also occurs with ageing and brain activation becomes more bilateral for memory tasks.”
    More here: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2596698/

So please don’t assume that a 1960’s/1970’s Barbados scholar has the same brain as he had 50 years ago.

29. Were there any cases of Ebola Virus disease recorded in Barbados and by extension, the Caribbean?

30. MiaVirass Despot has more blood on her hands, 14 total counts so far,! Time for Her to Go ,long talk and blaming the public will not bring them back on her watch, 7 in 2020 with much warning and 7 in 2021 in the first 31 days of the month of January 2021, First a Crime Minister Killed more than gunshots!

31. I have faith in the protocols, but I am wondering if our lapses have pushed matters far beyond the control of the protocols.
    ——-+
    There should be a degree of privacy about a person’s medical history, but wondering what other medical diseases were present. These new deaths are relatively young.

32. Artax,

The hypocrite is just like Donald Trump. He has no shame when he is shown up and he simply doubles down on it.

Here it is that his morning and evening words do not agree and he will simply continue as though there is no discrepancy.

I maintain that the man does not know if he is fish or fowl.

33. @angela cox January 31, 2021 4:54 PM “Under the stuart administration when Ebola was running across global landscape. Here in barbados not one life succumbed to the deadly disease.”

You are so,monumentally dishonest.

There was no Ebola in Barbados and that was not because the Stuart government closed Barbados’ borders.

Since 1976, Ebola has occurred in very few places outside of Sudan, Zaire, Gabon, Uganda, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Guinea, Nigeria, Mali, Senegal, with one to three cases in some other places but no deaths, except one death in South Africa and 2 in Russia.

So “no Ebola” has NOTHING to do with Stuart or the DLP.

34. ArtaxJanuary 31, 2021 5:13 PM

Were there any cases of Ebola Virus disease recorded in Barbados and by extension, the Caribbean

No but the approach in handling Ebola virus was proactive
    Not an approach of chasing the Almighty dollar
    Look at the many implementation of policies wherby Mia was guided by a process called ” humanatarian” at a time when science was new to the cause of COVID
    Meanwhile govt clandestine approach open any channels for the virus to enter the island

35. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TVJanuary 31, 2021 11:36 AM

Those NUMBERS indicate that the COVID-19 pandemic is easily the largest pandemic for the past 100 years and it has to be taken SERIOUSLY!!!!!!!!!

If you want to know what a pandemic was in Barbados look at Cholera in 1854.

20,000 plus Bajans died in 3 months!!!

12, 13, 14 over a whole ffing year is not the end of the world.

It is difficult to take the COVID talk serious when I know what I know!!

36. John
    Has Trump taken the vaccine

37. @Angela

You are right. Although Ebola did not reach Barbados it is imperative that governments adopt a precautionary principle – plan for the worst and hope for the best.
    Had we done that with CoVid who knows. We took unnecessary chances.

38. But John we don’t want the numbers doubling every month otherwise we will have 26,115 deaths by the end of this year.

39. angela coxJanuary 31, 2021 6:01 PM

John
    Has Trump taken the vaccine

Have no idea.

He was told he was immune after he contracted it last year.

So you can go figger!!

40. If Barbados has a mortality of 0.1% and the whole world has one of 2%, it might be that we have a Barbados strain here.

We may be making a mountain out of a molehill when all we need to be is careful!!

41. Cuhdear BajanJanuary 31, 2021 5:01 PM

@Crusoe January 31, 2021 4:05 PM “What I do not understand is how someone allegedly so academically accomplished has resorted to internet trolling.”

According to the National Center for Biotechnology Information, U.S. National Library of Medicine “as we age our brains shrink in volume, particularly in the frontal cortex. As our vasculature ages and our blood pressure rises the possibility of stroke and ischaemia increases and our white matter develops lesions. Memory decline also occurs with ageing and brain activation becomes more bilateral for memory tasks.”
    More here: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2596698/

So please don’t assume that a 1960’s/1970’s Barbados scholar has the same brain as he had 50 years ago.

Since you are older than I am, it might require a microscope to discover your shrunken brain.

42. I am sure that since the National Center for Biotechnology Information, U.S. National Library of Medicine recognises that brains shrink with age, it will have developed the technology to locate yours, regardless of its size.

43. If the UK can have a UK strain and South Africa an have a South Africa strain, why can’t Barbados have a Barbados strain.

44. At last John raises an important point.

Mutations will continue. Praise be, all is not lost! The academic can still reason.

45. Cuhdear BajanJanuary 31, 2021 6:09 PM

But John we don’t want the numbers doubling every month otherwise we will have 26,115 deaths by the end of this year.

It has taken almost a whole year to get from 9 to 12.

We aren’t going to have 26,115 deaths, atleast not from COVID.

The strain we have here seems to be not nearly as deadly as others.

46. You now onnerstanning why this virus is so serious.

It en dun wid yet. Could take a chunk of the worldses populachun wid um by the time it gone.

Serious stuff, skipper.

47. John, dontcha geddit? It now reach!

That um be why dey shut down. You tink dem shut fuh mock sport?

Stan home an act like um steel donkey bout.

48. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Overall COVID mortality rate is no higher than 0.5% so if every man, woman and child in Barbados was to catch COVID, the highest possible number of deaths would be 1,500 and it would be lower than that so quoting astronomical 20,000 or even 3,000 deaths is not following the science and about fear.

49. Hal not only govt was not proactive starting from when the source of the virus started
    Govt all but put its hopes on economic recovery in futuristic policies hoisted on humanatarian protectionism for the large cruise industry to lay idle in the waters docked with COVID infected crew

50. A few passengers who returned from Barbados today were being interviewed and one remarked that while on board they were told that some people were still waiting in the terminal for the results of their COVID test.

They missed the flight, which means that they will now be subject to a hotel stay on their return to the tune of $2000.00 if they are unable to return by Feb.4