The COVID 19 pandemic continues to be a challenge for many countries across the globe including Barbados. To shutdown or not is the question being asked by Barbadians. This evening’s briefing by the government will provide the answer.

Latest numbers presented by BU’s Lyall Small posted to COVID 19 Update page

Community spread has now been officially declared in Barbados and the testing backlog has been fixed. Attached are current charts up to 22nd Jan. We should now get a clearer picture of the dynamics of the virus in Barbados and the other 4 Caribbean countries we have been tracking. Panic now seems to be the general reaction here so far but I think that is unwarranted. I think that in about 3 weeks we should have a clearer picture of how the outbreak will likely progress here. In the meantime be very careful Lyall Small

588 responses to “COVID 19 Update – 25.01.2021”

1. Yuh know when i hear people spouting and comparing death numbers
    I get the feel that some here feel no empathy for the families that lose their loved ones
    But i also wonder what if included in the numbers was a family member of theirs
    The talk of numbers is a reflection of a society that see people as dispensable like stryofoam cups to be used and easily discarded
    The numbers should been seen as a reflection on govt mishandling of the crisis

2. @ Artax January 31, 2021 3:17 PM
    “Perhaps it’s the ‘UK Bajan Condition.’
    David BU, you’re extremely lucky to have a man of his superior intellect traversing the ‘halls of BU.”…”

Artax, you are rather proficient at exposing, intellectually speaking of course, the duplicitous nature of that man with the ‘pseudo’ British condition.

It goes way back to when he was very much up in arms against those bloggers using pseudonyms on BU (constantly referring to them as keyboard warriors, thugs, bullies, cowards).

BU is not the ‘Letters-to-the-Editor’ section of the Daily Mail where the names of the letter writers don’t mean jack shit in the UK; much unlike what prevails in the ‘small-island-minded’ Barbadoes where that Bajan condition of political victimization and social ostracism is a stark reality in the daily lives of those (and their families) who dare to criticize the petty-minded people controlling the socio-economic reins of the country.

As a self-proclaimed man of letters he ought to be aware that some of the greatest literary works were created behind a veil of anonymity called ‘Nom de plume’.

But look now who is his favourite ass-licker other than the same ac aka angela skeete aka Mariposa aka angela the coccyx bone of a political humbug.

Now, who can best be described as the No.1 “keyboard warrior” other than the five-sided Mariposa the floating butterfly of political banditry?

Shouldn’t we just refer to that English prig of hypocrisy as Agent 101 the fraud sleeping with the Enemy called “angela”?

3. Many wonder why the police have not yet taken into custody the officers who participated in the bus-crawl-orgy. These officers might have committed serious crimes because they deliberately exposed themselves to a very high risk of infection during the pandemic.

The tourist season is over, our economy ruined because of the bus-crawl-orgy. Many are now out for blood. It’s time for our government to start the blood mill of the court martial and convict all the culprits on the fly.

4. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@angela cox January 31, 2021 7:33 PM

We need to compare death numbers because dying of COVID is not the only way to die and that is the only way to determine if the cure is worse than the disease.

I personally know someone well on their way to a stroke because of all the financial stress and fears about COVID going around until I was able to reason with them and convince them COVID is not as deadly as it is being made out to be. Had they died, would their death certificate state a stroke caused by COVID or stroke caused by stress or hypertension?

How many dengue deaths we would have had if we had not so been focused on COVID?
    How many people have had strokes, suicides and major health complications they would not have otherwise had not been for COVID fear?
    Why do you think they had a long mental health session in the last COVID press conference? They must be seeing fallout from all the focus on COVID.

5. Miller

Now, who can best be described as the No.1 “keyboard warrior” other than the five-sided Mariposa the floating butterfly of political banditry

Very poetic couldnt have said it better
    Lol

Makes for wonder what happen to Mariposa
    That little trouble maker
    Yuh think she might be working for the blp hence the silence
    Asking for a friend

6. TronJanuary 31, 2021 7:57 PM

The tourist season is over, our economy ruined because of the bus-crawl-orgy.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I went driving ’bout today and saw an awful lot of tourists in hired cars driving ’bout too!!

Even met one car in a completely out of the way spot sight seeing.

I was amazed after hearing all the doom and gloom.

At one location I saw a whole set enjoying the scenery and the restaurant services on offer.

Clearly, our tourist economy is not ruined, thank God.

… and I only covered half the island.

7. Miller January 31, 2021 7:48 PM #: “But look now who is his favourite ass-licker other than the same ac aka angela skeete aka Mariposa aka angela the coccyx bone of a political humbug.”

@ Miller

Donna summed it up correctly: Donna January 31, 2021 5:36 PM #: “Here it is that his morning and evening words do not agree and he will simply continue as though there is no discrepancy.”

I hope you’ve also noticed that, of all the people on BU who may ask Mariposa/Angela Cox to explain a questionable statement or corrected an incorrect comment she made, I’M the ONLY INDIVIDUAL he POUNCES upon, even if it means him making absurd comments to defend her.

I’ll give you an example. A few months ago, Mariposa wrote she “remembered a Barbados that was free of crime.” I simply asked her, “Do you mind ‘telling’ the forum what year or duration of time Barbados “was free of crime?”.”

The goodly gentleman came out barking similarly to a wild, rabid English bulldog to ‘tell’ Mari, “It depends on how you define crime. We always used to steal cane from the passing trucks. But you are RIGHT, if you define crime as meaning arrests and prosecutions and convictions. ”

When I reminded him of his illogical comment, he asked who was the idiot that said Barbados was crime free, when we’ve had crime since the garden of Eden.

The guy is a comedian. You couldn’t want a CHEAPER LAUGH than that.

8. “Operation Seek and Save”,

9. If you’ve got an hour and forty minutes to spare enjoy.

10. TronJanuary 31, 2021 7:57 PM

Now is not the time for spitting at each other. Now is the time for unity and realising that some mistakes have been made.

This is a new experience. Yes, the government tried a balancing act, to keep money in people’s pockets, but trusted people’s honesty and integrity to quarantine too much.

But anyone who is going to attack them for that is unreasonable. There is no doubt in my mind that they have done a much better job that prior lot would even have thought of. They put medical facilities in place quicktime.

The only thing I would say at this stage, is that they have to be pretty graphic in explaining what medical issues they are now facing, to wake people up to the reality.

Bajans are still crowding around shops unmasked. I do not believe that it is deliberate hard headedness. I think that they have no idea of what this virus can do. They need education on it.

We need a medical person to record a video and explain why this virus is so dangerous. Just a ten minute segment, that can be replayed over and over, in various mediums.

Dr.Lorde has tried to tell people, a job well done, frank and in layman terms. But a message needs to be more widespread. You have got to get people listening.

People also panic when they think they will not get food, Reassurance there needs to be stronger too.

Bajans need to remember, I am my brother’s keeper.

Now is not the time for employers and unions to be at each others throats. Nor employers and employees. Now is the time for compassion and realising that we are all brothers and sisters and that is how we get through this.

That is actually the only way.

Maybe a hypothetical question.

Supposing there came a variant that were now ten times more contagious and more deadly? What then? I am sure that taken in that light, you can see that every man and woman is your friend and fellow fighter? There would be no big bank account. There would be no all food is mine.

The only thing that would matter is the virus against us.

No?

11. It sounds as though Dengue could be in the mix as well and the authorities are acting “ex-abundanti cautela”.

May be worthwhile looking for ponds and known pond bottoms.

For example, in the Ivy, a very densely populated area, there is Hallelujah Bottom which collects water.

This past (is it?) rainy season was pretty wet.

In October there was in excess of 17 inches where I live and I know up north had a lot more.

12. All the masks and social distancing in the world will not stop the spread of dengue!!

13. “Now is not the time for employers and unions to be at each others throats. Nor employers and employees. Now is the time for compassion and realising that we are all brothers and sisters and that is how we get through this.”

Problem comes for Businesses to make Plans for closures and keeping people employed without layoffs / loss of income

14. @Three-Fives,

Yes. However I do not see way out if this, unless everyone works together.

That means everyone. I noted already, the hardline road will lead to less palatable results

15. @Crusoe

The blogmaster is the optimistic sort, however, it is difficult to see civil society working together to navigate this mess. They all want their narrow objectives met come hell or high water.

16. 555dubstreetFebruary 1, 2021 8:18 AM

“Now is not the time for employers and unions to be at each others throats. Nor employers and employees. Now is the time for compassion and realising that we are all brothers and sisters and that is how we get through this.”

Problem comes for Businesses to make Plans for closures and keeping people employed without layoffs / loss of income

If businesses are closed and generate no income then employees have to be let go!

This is simple.

They then become a drain on the NIS.

The solution is even simpler.

Find a way to stay open.

But then the GOB, Employers and Employees HAVE to work together.

When GOB unilaterally decided to close businesses it had no no consultation with employers or employees.

That’s what unilateral means.

It took away the responsibility of the employers to pay the employees.

It also took on the responsibility to pay the employees through the NIS.

But here’s where it becomes slightly more complex.

Employers still have costs, utilities for example.

The GOB is unilaterally saying to them it does not care.

It can only lead to business closures and former employees remaining on NIS.

All better spend some time figuring out if the unilateral action of the GOB is worth it.

17. https://theworldnews.net/bb-news/no-lockdown-yet-bpsa-chief-says-the-situation-must-be-balanced

If it really is that Dengue is a part of the problem then do not shutdown.

We have deaths every year from dengue.

I know someone who lost a significant other from Dengue and heard of many others.

Flu also kills.

18. DavidFebruary 1, 2021 9:23 AM

@Crusoe

The blogmaster is the optimistic sort, however, it is difficult to see civil society working together to navigate this mess. They all want their narrow objectives met come hell or high water.

A unilateral decision by GOB because it can does not bode well for cooperation where people’s livelihoods are being affected.

Remember. every single decision maker continues to be paid.

They have no incentive to do the right thing.

Calling the supreme maguffie the CZAR was never going to promote cooperation.

19. No one can make noise over severance.

GOB just has to bite the bullet and pay severed employees out of the severance fund.

It abrogated that responsibility unto itself once it unilaterally shut down, locked down and paused the economy.

Why did we not see a representative from the unions and the BPSA on the “conversation”?

Isn’t the message being sent to us that the GOB has no intention of working together with either one?

Just asking!!

20. @Angela

I like your spirit. You do not have a PGCE as far as I know, as if that is important, to have strong views. Don’t be intimidated by the cyber bullies.
    CoVid is a global emergency and ought to be fought as such, with the nation being led by the governor general, so as not to politicise it. We have failed to do that in Barbados.
    However, as I have said, normal parliamentary business, based on the so-called Westminster/Whitehall model, is that government puts forward its policy programme and it is opposed by the Opposition, or as I call it, critiqued – that is why it is called the Opposition.
    It is not the role of the Opposition to propose, or offer alternative policies to the government. It is not the Proposition(al) Party for a reason.
    The Opposition puts its policies forward during a general election campaign, often in an abbreviated form, in its manifesto. Electors then look at the manifestoes and make a decision on who to vote for. The elect ed party then expands on its programme through the Queen’s Speech.
    Or, in a more oral culture such as Barbados, electors listen to platform speakers and make up their minds. So, to return to the substantive issue, it is not for the leaders of the PdP or DLP to offer a stunted government ideas. If they have ran out of ideas, then let them call a general election.
    I will give you a warning. These social media sites are monitored every minute of the day by police and security services, even some employers do. Be careful what you say.

21. John,

as mentioned you are not as intelligent or as smart as you think you are
    add to that you are prejudiced and biased in your thinking

then put it all together you can shut up with your lecturing
    you get the hand gesture capiche home boy

here’s some Betty and Miles Davis

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qzTJarI-0kI

22. Nobody like smart asses
    arrogant
    show offs
    Nobody Nobody

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rYbH6VJMsY8

23. So what happened to the BU BLP fowls, the blog is quiet….come out fowls, hope yall didn’t go and take any vaccine, it could mean the end of your fowling days….and if ya went on the AGs bus crawl….oh well…🤣🤣😂😂

24. MORNING WORDS……………..

Hal Austin January 30, 2021 6:02 AM #:

Ten months in to the pandemic and our public intellectuals, politicians and policy makers have failed. Those at the UWI should be having regular online discussions on a likely post-CoVid economy; our newspapers should be publishing new and interesting proposals; our politicians should be calling for parliamentary debates.

“What is the DLP alternative to the chaos of the BLP? I will tell you: they have not published any because they have none; or, they believe to do so now will mean the BLP stealing their ideas. That last is a typical Bajan response.”

EVENING WORDS………………………………………….

Hal Austin February 1, 2021 9:55 AM

@Angela

I like your spirit. You do not have a PGCE as far as I know, as if that is important, to have strong views. Don’t be intimidated by the cyber bullies.
    CoVid is a global emergency and ought to be fought as such, with the nation being led by the governor general, so as not to politicise it. We have failed to do that in Barbados.
    However, as I have said, normal parliamentary business, based on the so-called Westminster/Whitehall model, is that government puts forward its policy programme and it is opposed by the Opposition, or as I call it, critiqued – that is why it is called the Opposition.
    It is not the role of the Opposition to propose, or offer alternative policies to the government. It is not the Proposition(al) Party for a reason.
    The Opposition puts its policies forward during a general election campaign, often in an abbreviated form, in its manifesto. Electors then look at the manifestoes and make a decision on who to vote for. The elect ed party then expands on its programme through the Queen’s Speech.
    Or, in a more oral culture such as Barbados, electors listen to platform speakers and make up their minds. So, to return to the substantive issue, it is not for the leaders of the PdP or DLP to offer a stunted government ideas. If they have ran out of ideas, then let them call a general election.

25. Hope they get dirty Bolsonaro for genocide, people in Brazil are dying off.

26. Is there a particular reason why Mia appears wedded to the tourist industry? Is it genuinely impossible for the country to diversify its economy? Does Barbados suffer from an impediment that makes it impossible to develop other industries to complement or compete with our tourist industry? Could someone please educate me.

Take a look at the explosion of the information technology industry and the growth of science on the African continent. It is helping to raise the profile of that continent as a creative hub. Their young Turks are predominantly black and have drive.

These guys would not be able to flourish in Barbados. They would not have the finances to compete with the minority groups should they want to operate in the tourist industry. They would also not be able to grow and thrive within their chosen I.T. field in Barbados as this is a neglected industry overshadowed by our bloated and obese tourist industry.

@555Dubstreet,
    Covid-19 can not take away our love for music.

It is noticeable that your choice of music, of late, has blossomed. You referenced Miles Davis. Here is an artist whom you probably have never heard of, paying homage to the great man. The supreme, jazz singer, Eddie Jefferson singing/scatting over the classic Miles Davis “So What” recording.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=QMmAcjpsG68

27. @ TLSN

As you know, Africans are outperforming Caribbeans in UK schools, and many of them, if not the majority, are studying STEM subjects. Maybe therein lies the answer.
    As to business, I will give you two examples, again,, which you are familiar with: Deliveroo and Just Eat. What are their business models? Does this suggest anything about our business acumen?

28. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

Mortality ~ 2%.
    So why is Mexico at 8.6%?
    Why is Barbados at 0.1%?

“All the masks and social distancing in the world will not stop the spread of dengue!!

“If Barbados has a mortality of 0.1% and the whole world has one of 2%, it might be that we have a Barbados strain here”

@John Jacob I think I have to find you a spot on the cast of Laugh it Off. You are auditioning very hard with these statements!!!!!!

1) I guess the point about each countries gov’t handling of the virus differently went straight over your head ALONG with the other factors that would affect specific statistics e.g. population density, population distribution, access to medical facilities, even ambient daytime temperature!!!!! We are entering math at the level of actuarial science to explain specific numbers. Even though I have some queries about how some countries report COVID-19 deaths, the ABSOLUTE global numbers after 13 months of a pandemic that has not yet ended is the important number. Anyone with at least Class 4 math knowledge would know the law of averages would explain the 2% globally. When I say take the pandemic seriously I don’t meant Bajans should panic, likewise we should not underestimate the virus. Gov’t has the responsibility to do what is REASONABLE to save its vulnerable population and it and been stated NUMEROUS times that Barbados has an ageing population. With community spread we now have 5 deaths in a month compared to 7 deaths over the previous 9 months. The situation has gotten comparatively worse but not necessarily heading for disaster. COVID-19 may have a low fatality rate (compared to Ebola, Lassa, Marburg etc) but because it is far more contagious it is causing the secondary effect of affecting the vulnerable the hardest and can create pressure on the health services (and by extension the economy) if the spread is left UNCHECKED. Gov’t cannot take the example of the leaders of USA, Brazil and Mexico who have displayed sociopathic behavior to their populations!!!!!!. Theses leaders are essential telling themselves POPULATION BE DAMNED, THE ECONOMY MUST BE PROTECTED!!!!!! I mean these DEMOCRATICALLY elected leaders are displaying less consciousness to their people than COMMUNIST China.

2) The issue with virus strains is if they can be detected with the same methods and if current vaccines can fight them off. As I heard Dr Fauci state “the more the virus spreads the more it mutates” i.e. there may be more strains of COVID-19 that mankind haven’t detected as yet. This is true for all viruses. All life follow the Darwinian “survival of the fittest”, natural selection concept. Weaker mutations die out, stronger mutations survive the conditions and thrive. So John Boy using that philosophy, THEORETICALLY there COULD have be a Barbados strain but it may have died out. The point is that the COVID-19 virus is a highly contagious species of coronavirus which is a close genetic variant of the SARS virus which itself had caused a smaller pandemic nearly 20 years ago. ANY VARIANT that can thrive is dangerous.

3) John Boy I hope you have a mask big enough to stop mosquitos. BTW a disease outbreak in Barbados in does not qualify as a PANDEMIC!!!!!!!

29. Fisher folk absolutely correct

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=2454256188052624

30. “It is not the role of the Opposition to propose, or offer alternative policies to the government.”
    If Opposition cannot suggest ideas or offer alternative policies in times of Covid, then they are probably not being secretive, they are more likely totally bankrupt of ideas and solutions. Perhaps that’s why they were defeated 30-0 in a total wipeout.

“go smoke your 3 5’s State Express cigarettes”
    Once you feel
    you are avoided
    by someone,
    never disturb
    them again.
    -Buddha

31. Fisher Folk absolutely right to complain
    Govt offers them peanuts
    Un meanwhile fisherfolk have thousathousaands to loose from business and the possibility of fish going spoiled because of not having enough freezer storage

32. “Here is an artist whom you probably have never heard of, paying homage to the great man. The supreme, jazz singer, Eddie Jefferson singing/scatting over the classic Miles Davis “So What” recording.”

Cheers Big Ears. Each one teach one.
    I am partial to version excursion.

33. If Opposition cannot suggest ideas or offer alternative policies in times of Covid,…..(Quote)

CoVid is a global emergency and ought to be fought as such, with the nation being led by the governor general, so as not to politicise it. We have failed to do that in Barbados…..(Quote)

34. Is it being fought by the Queen of England?

You s it being fought by governments and et al elected by the people?

35. Artax you have once again exposed the UK clown Hal Austin yet again.In his rush to defend his sidekick AC/ Maripoa/ Angela Cox or whoever else she blogs under he contradicts himself over and over.Poor fella and then he pretends to move on without replying but the archives are there to prove what a clueless knowall he is.Years ago he made a comment that had Mr Thompson lived he would have been a great PM.When i challenged him to provide anything Mr Thompson said or did all he could come up with is he had a conversation with him wtf.Lately he has been trying to big up Ms Bradshaw over her calm delivery Vis a vis Ms Mottley.In case he does not know in terms of communication Ms Mottley is head and shoulders above Ms Bradshaw and in any other area politically.To put it bluntly Ms Bradshaw at the moment is a lightweight up against Ms Mottley.Therefore Austin gave it a rest.

36. Lorenzo what are you thoughts on govt leaving borders open for infected tourist to come into barbados and spread the virus
    That should be more of a concern to u

37. Mariposa i have no problem with the borders being left open.The need for foreign exchage to help supply essentials like medicines and food supplies are obvious.The other thing was to keep hotels and other things like hired car persons, beach vendors jet ski operators in work.Otherwise unemployment would have spiralled further out of control or is that what you who profess to suddenly care about poor people wanted?Lastly i do not remember any tourist on that bus crawl and hence at dodd, s prison.Perhaps you could tell us who infected the inmates and other staff? While i agree that the tourist are partly to be blame the same applies to some indifferent bajans as well and you cannot deny that.

38. Lorenzo would u share your home with a tourist from a hot spot
    I guess u might say if they were tested

39. @ Lorenzos

Normally I would ignore you, but you continue with your myth-making and some sensible people on BU seem to take you serious.
    First, Mr Thompson. I said words to the effected that had Mr Thompson lived he would probably have made a good prime minister.
    Let us deal with that first: he did not live, so that suggestion was hypothetical and cannot be proved. If I remember correctly, you challenged me on my reasoning and I said I knew that at the time he was listening to a wide range of people and would likely have acted on some of those ideas. You do not agree. So, let us agree to disagree.
    About Ms Bradshaw, the more seriou8s of your smears, I said that when she took over briefly leading the CoVid message, when the president went for a “medical procedure”, she showed emotional intelligence, empathy and her tone was the right one for the occasion.
    There was no hand-waving, preaching, etc, which the president indulges in on every occasion she gets. I have said on numerous occasion the president is head and shoulders ahead of her parliamentary colleagues.
    I have also said that this is not because she is terribly bright, she is not, but it reflects the intellectual quality of her colleagues.
    Some people I respect have also joined you in condemning Ms Bradshaw about her performance as education minister, the reason why I have replied to your crap. I made no comment about her performance as education minister. My comment was specific.
    Again, you do not have to agree, but I shall avoid responding to you again.

40. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

“Lorenzo would u share your home with a tourist from a hot spot
    I guess u might say if they were tested”

How is that any different from sharing a home with a Bajan front line worker who works daily at Harrisons Point!!!!!

41. @ Lorenzo,
    You stated that you would like our borders to remain. Have you not been following the news coming out from Portugal?

Portugal was applauded by the W.H.O. in the early days of covid-19. During this period countries such as Spain and Italy had extraordinary mortality rates. Unlike those from Portugal.

Word got out that Portugal was a safe place to visit. The Brits and Brazilians love Portugal and came in their droves to escape covid-19. Unfortunately they brought with them a strain that has now been attributed to and called the British and Brazil covid-19 strain.

It is been reported that fifty percent of recent covid-19 deaths in Portugal can be attributed to the UK strain. Portugal is in dire trouble.

Lorenzo, from time to time you are a reasonable man. I am certain that you would not want events in Barbados to replicate those of Portugal. The economy will return. Bear in mind there is no such thing as a human resurrection.

42. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TVFebruary 1, 2021 6:04 PM

“Lorenzo would u share your home with a tourist from a hot spot
    I guess u might say if they were tested”

How is that any different from sharing a home with a Bajan front line worker who works daily at Harrisons Point!!!!!

There difference is having a choice
    Furthermore there is sufficient evidence showing that many people coming from hots are susceptible to the virus
    So far outside of the hospital where 4 people are known carries
    Barbados has not recorded hardened evidence that front line workers are infected with the virus

43. Austin you said great not good that was your fall back position when you were scrambling for are response because like you Mr Thompson was apretty talker that was all.As far as Ms Bradshaw is concerned being calm does not mean she is a good communicator.I love here and i heard Ms Bradshaw during Ms Mottley,s absence and know first hand of the panic she caused during one of her speeches because she was vague and did not specify some of the key areas properly and hence the hand waving president had to get off her sick bed to clarify matters.Unlike you i do not rely on second hand information from the likes of perenial liars like Angela cox and Waru.Therefore Austin your feeble attempt at a response has fallen well short of someone who is always critical of local bajans.It must be a UK condition.

44. @ Lorenzo

Let us stick with great. I was judging Ms Bradshaw after nearly 50 years as a communicator and a viewer and reader. Maybe I was no good at it.

45. Soon…Lorenza fraud will have tourists from hotspots bunking at him so he can beg daily bread, then we will finally be rid of at least one fowl.

46. The fisher folk should either collectively or individually sue the Attorney General for depriving them of their constitutional right to earn a living.

Same goes for every private sector business.

Either individually or collectively through the BPSO. the Government should face the court and orders for damages.

Debating who is a good communicator and who isn’t is a waste of time when the gorillas are threatening your livelihood.

It is your property which the Government is seeking to destroy.

Dale Marshall’s ass should be getting itself sued out of existence.

47. William Skinner Avatar

David February 1, 2021 9:23 AM

“@Crusoe

The blogmaster is the optimistic sort, however, it is difficult to see civil society working together to navigate this mess. They all want their narrow objectives met come hell or high water.”
    I have been telling you for years that it is impossible to plant okra and reap corn. We have an adversarial form of politics that is based solely on which party one represents.
    This will continue until a new breed of leadership evolves or arises. It will not and cannot be found in the BLPDLP.
    The country will continue to pay a high price because policy is solely dictated by politics. For example: Everytime a decision is made and criticisms follow, it is countered with a hands out. The reason there is no national fervor is because the populace has not been led by people who inspire them.
    Fancy speeches, an abuse of acronyms and blaming each other have never solved any problems. Ask any oldster who went through any of the great wars. The words and actions of leaders matter.
    For example : I agreed that myComrade Ronald Jones did not set the right tone as Minister of Education. Now we have Ms. Bradshaw with a different tone but behaving exactly like Jones. The end result is that education will not and cannot go anywhere.
    I could not find anything negative in Colonel Bostic’s handling of the press. He was forthright, honest and believable. The Czar was similar. Suddenly we had everybody speaking out on the crisis. Large press conferences with ministers all over the mike. Result: Mix messages and confusion.
    It’s all part of the BLPDLP style of leadership. Here we have a crisis that has our already struggling economy on its knees.
    In the midst of such a tragedy , we will keep the country opened to earn a few dollars. Pure nonsense. I will bet my last dollar that if the DLP was in power the Bees will say shut um down and vice versa.
    Nobody can blame the current government for the crisis. In my opinion, it is still doing relatively well. But it’s up to the government to put down its feet and block out the TV all of these people that can’t put the national good first. Look after the most vulnerable and stop being bullied by the selfish lot!
    That’s how and what we are.
    Like um or lump um.