Although not out of the woods Barbadians were told based on the week over week numbers “we are in a better place”, however, we need to keep our guard up. We can do this people!

Briefing by Prime Minister Mottley and Team

428 responses to “Prime Minister Mottley and Team Have Covid 19 Conversation with Barbadians”

1. Our Supreme Leader is a political genius. She always singles out unpopular politicians (most recently OSA and Sinckler) to burn them out with dubious unpaid jobs. It’s the same now with our jet-setting lady from New York.

2. Lorenza shithead…IT’S HER JOB…she BEGGED for VOTES…she got A TITLE AND A SALARY…IT’S HER JOB…she ain’t doing anyone but yardfowls any favors….DUMBASS…

3. LorenzoJanuary 12, 2021 7:56 PM

The Government has done an excellent job in the circumstances. There are some changes needed and more work, but they have acted and all that has happened is that the virus is now really challenging them.

Heavens please, let us not even imagine what Stuart and his group would have done. Would have been a mess. Remember, they converted a small house to make an eight bed quarantine facility. Eight beds. Have got to be joking.

4. Minister Bostic said
    We have a National crisis

5. Stuart not in charge
    Deal with the mess at hand
    Saying that Mia did a good job does not add up to a hill of beans when the whole countrybis caught up in this COVID mess
    Even St. Lucia and St. Vimcent have put barbados on their high list
    Those two countries numbers are very small

6. @ Mariposa

Have you noticed that when the going gets hot the president runs and hides? Where is the commissioner of police?

7. Spikes create backlogs and a lack of forecasting of worse case scenarios is our problem https://www.ft.com/content/45a559bd-ec00-426b-9f05-ac962ba49375

8. You should be happy, no waving of hands.

9. The night watchman talks with her hands also and not one word about it

10. @ Mariposa

Are you in hiding with the president? I notice that Angella Merkel, the German Chancellor, is also calling out Twitter. She was the first world leader to condemn Trump’s speech. So she is not a fan. It is the principle. The Russian dissident, Navalny, has also condemned it on the same grounds.
    And, predictably, BBC Radio had a big discussion on the subject this morning. They all raised the same point: we cannot allow a controversial private company to make decisions about what we are allowed to hear. Is there an appeal process? Next week it may be Black Lives Matter. What will we do then?
    Two things: ignore the mob and challenge received wisdoms.

11. Have you noticed also that the EU has different regulations compared to other regions as well?

12. @ Mariposa

Here is one for you:

Please use the sharing tools found via the share button at the top or side of articles. Copying articles to share with others is a breach of FT.com T&Cs and Copyright Policy. Email licensing@ft.com to buy additional rights. Subscribers may share up to 10 or 20 articles per month using the gift article service. More information can be found at https://www.ft.com/tour.
    https://www.ft.com/content/f2794fd0-8a40-4ff1-91fa-78bfa75f519f?fbclid=IwAR3YVB-35Z2rE92zFRylI_KqHOVXChKv4VCg-G6216p7KQVL9PI8-dk5zVw

Highly contagious new variants of coronavirus will emerge more frequently and spur further infection waves such as those threatening to overwhelm hospitals in the UK and South Africa, one of the world’s leading infectious disease experts has warned.

Salim Abdool Karim, chairman of South Africa’s Covid-19 ministerial advisory committee, also said it was too early to know the extent to which existing vaccines would provide immunity to the new variants.

Scientists around the world have been alarmed by the rapid spread of the new 501.v2 variant first detected in South Africa and the equally infectious B.1.1.7 variant that has led to a surge in cases in the UK. Other variants have emerged recently in Brazil and Japan.

Prof Abdool Karim, the epidemiologist who led South Africa’s fight against HIV/Aids, explained that viruses evolved as they infected people with partial immunity in order to escape recognition by their antibodies.

“We’re going to see this occur more commonly now than in 2020, as we vaccinate and as more people are infected,” he said in an interview with the Financial Times.

The epidemiological finding of increased transmissibility was supported by “biological evidence showing the 501.v2 variant binds more readily and more strongly to human cells”, added Prof Abdool Karim.

The Sars-Cov-2 virus that causes Covid-19 has mutated once or twice a month on average since appearing in humans in late 2019. But the variants detected in South Africa and the UK carry about 20 mutations, where previous ones had been associated with one or two significant genetic changes.

Greater numbers of mutations can cause the behaviour of the virus to change more extensively. The variants that originated in the UK and South Africa are both about 50 per cent more infectious than previous forms of the virus, although neither is thought to cause more severe symptoms.

Another question is how the variants interact with the human immune system, in particular whether they reduce the effectiveness of Covid-19 vaccines. “We’ll have an answer within the next two weeks or so but we don’t know yet,” Prof Abdool Karim said of the 501.v2 variant.

Antibodies from people who have recovered from Covid-19 were less effective against the new variant, Prof Abdool Karim said, but “the way in which T-cells and the B-cells function is quite different in vaccine immunity. I wouldn’t extrapolate from natural immunity to vaccine immunity.”

Recommended
    Coronavirus treatment
    Covid vaccine tracker: The shots available and the doses administered

Less is known about the new variant of Sars-Cov-2 detected in Brazil after scientists sequenced 180 viral genomes from the state of Rio de Janeiro.

Researchers from Brazil’s national genomic surveillance network identified a “significant increase” in cases of the variant that “raise concerns about public health management” in a country with more than 200,000 Covid-19 deaths, the second-highest number of fatalities after the US.

Carolina Voloch of the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, lead author of a preprint paper about the variant, said that samples taken from Rio state showed it increased in frequency from zero in September to 20 per cent by November.

“For now we can’t say it’s more contagious. What we can say is there’s an increase in the frequency of this lineage,” said Dr Voloch.

Japanese authorities also detected a new variant in four passengers who arrived from Brazil on January 2. It is related to the B.1.1.248 variant of the virus circulating in Brazil, and shares some of the same mutations as the UK and South African variants, according to Japan’s National Institute of Infectious Diseases.

But Emma Hodcroft, a viral geneticist at the University of Bern who monitors the evolution of Sars-Cov-2, said: “It doesn’t look as though these four cases from Japan are part of the larger Brazilian cluster.”

Recommended
    News in-depthCoronavirus pandemic
    Why the Covid crisis in UK hospitals is likely to get worse

She agreed that conditions in 2021 were likely to favour the evolution of more variants with multiple mutations, as a larger proportion of people were infected and evolutionary pressure on the virus increased.

A modelling study by scientists at Emory and Penn State, published in Science journal on Tuesday, suggested the evolutionary path for Sars-Cov-2 would eventually lead to a less virulent “endemic” virus, joining the ranks of other mild cold-causing coronaviruses that currently circulate in humans.

“We’re in uncharted territory but . . . immunological indicators suggest that fatality rates and the critical need for broad-scale vaccination may wane in the near term, so maximum effort should be on weathering this pandemic,” said Ottar Bjornstad, a Penn State professor.

Prof Abdool Karim also made the point that the selective pressure for all viruses was to “become more transmissible and less pathogenic over time”…..(Quote)

13. I dumped twitter after seeing the gang who pollute it, easy, don’t use the site, and ignored all their requests to rejoin, there are dozens of available platforms to choose from…..they’re all getting competiton, even whatsapp and FB.

14. 4300 plus Covid 19 deaths in the USA yesterday.

15. Hal if your worried dont take the vaccine, You may be young enough it wont really effect you .I am certainly going to take it this one ,the next, again and again just like I take a yearly flu shot now. . They will say about needles in me, like they would of Waru’s sex life. If he had as many sticking out of him as he had stuck in him he would look like a porcupine. Its not for everyone , but I believe just like the govt has entered our lives more than I have ever seen. this will become common place in the near term , you will need jab to fly you will need jab to work certain jobs you will need a jab to go to a movie or soccer game etc Interesting times ahead.

16. @Lawson

What is the argument for people currently having a conversation with their maker refusing to take the vaccine?

17. No as long as they are non ambulatory lol , I honestly dont think old people should be given the vaccine until front line workers ,police, soldiers any essential service person has. Most people in my area have been dying in the old age homes but it is being brought in by workers get them done first. Its not fair to cripple the futures of the next generations to protect people that have already past their expiry date.

18. @ Lawson

I am taking my first jab this week. I am a bit worried about the length of time for the second. I am still not a big fan of the science. It is a gamble.

19. @lawson

Heartless bugger.

20. Hal at least you will have 50% protection and you can get the other within42 days they say. are you essential?
    David I dont know if you kidding or not, but now is not the time to be caught up in emotion. The reason they would bring in a swordsman from France to chop off Anne Boleyn’s head is can you imagine if he was an englishman blubbering and crying he might have taken off a foot instead. I know your customer base is old people and you have a dog in the fight but with limited resources you must use them to your best advantage,

21. @lawson

Agree, we are in a war. We have to be strategic. It is a David versus Goliath situation. Where is the sling?

22. https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/12/groups-bus-crawl-blame-hurt-entertainment-industry/

dude is right, you can’t be blaming the bus crawl when i regularly see videos with tourists WHO ARE THE VECTORS FOR COVID….partying without masks, the lastest one was just last weekend with a gang of them at Oistins, not one wearing a mask, talking, screaming and laughing in each other’s faces, where is the police to arrest these infected public nuisances.

23. I remember posting about the wild Paradise cluster in the making, i see it made the news.

Ok….as long as they understand that A SURGE…IS A SURGE…and don’t try to twist it into being a surge but not quite a surge.,,all the islands that opened their doors for dependency tourism will now pay a price.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/13/paho-region-wide-covid-19-surge-demands-stepped-up-fight/

24. The people of barbados believed their own rhetoric, with what was believed to be few cases and idiots like one of our ministers holidaying there saying it is safer than canada.gave the people the permission to let their guard down. The balancing act of the need for dollars ,the rights of the people ,and the speed of vaccines coming left voids in the defensive perimeter that the virus exploited. So what is the way forward. Quicker tests ,everyone has to buy into this is a real problem, I would use the KISS aconym …keep it simple stupid……KEEP away at least 6ft ISOLATE if you are in one of the vulnerable groups SAFETY first, dont put yourself in a position where you accept others flaunting the accepted rules SHARE…. knowledge is power if someone in the family is not well tell the rest dont hide it , could be nothing but it could let others be tested before they pass it on.

25. @Lawson

A typical Scotsman, hitting out at the English. I am looking forward to my second jab after 21 days as per the science; the politicians have added the extra days.

26. “Over the last three weeks, PAHO noted that Barbados has recorded an 1138 per cent increase in COVID cases – topping regional neighbours St Vincent and the Grenadines (573 per cent), Antigua and Barbuda (325 per cent) and St Lucia (77 per cent).”

read it again, dude did not stutter…was wondering why the other islands was shutting down Barbados travel, now we know, did not watch the conference yesterday, but i heard Liz demanded that community spread, a term i understand came from WHO, be properly explained. If you don’t even have a patient 0 and cannot explain 120 infections..don’t know what else to tell ya.

27. Barbadians on the beautiful rock will overcome this challenge and be better for it.

28. Ya will overcome, in the meantime things have to be done to make sure you do. I have been hearing things about sandly lane for nearly a week now, don’t know if it’s the same hotel, maybe who is responsible for covid investigations can look into this claim below.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/13/testing-time/

Lawson, they refuse to stop comparing an island with less than 300K people with countries that are populated with 37 MILLION…67 MILLION….350 MILLION… people…and don’t care how ya tell them it’s STUPID to do that, they still do it anyway, you should know you’ve been on BU longer than i have…we now have to wear ourselves out telling them that if their community nonspread ramps up any further, they can kiss their asses goodbye in 6 months time, that’s how long it took to wipe out 350 THOUSAND PEOPLE in US…and counting.

why do they think PAHO is warning them to get a handle on their whatever before it escalates any further..

29. Nearly forgot who i was talking to..

“Jan 09, 2021 · Globally, as of 7:21pm CET, 10 January 2021, there have been 89,048,345 confirmed cases of COVID-19, including 1,930,265 deaths, reported to WHO.”

these deaths i doubt include China, i won’t include them anyway until they give accurate numbers….so as of let’s say March, 2020……you have nearly 2 MILLION deaths worldwide…and it only took …less one year.

forgot to mention that Barbados does not have 350,000..so keep comparing yaselves with other countries that have populations that can take a hit of hundreds of thousands, tens of millions and still have millions more left over.

30. Wuru 99 % plus are okay even after getting virus barbados will not die out its how to minimize damage to economy ,brand, elderly, etc

31. In USA, UK and EU, 4 vaccines are already approved or the application process is completed in February 2021 (BioNTech, Moderna, Oxford, Johnson & Johnson).

Why do we not have any vaccine doses so far? Because the DLP has left our government with a plundered treasury. Therefore, the DLP bears full responsibility for the outbreak of the disease following the so-called bus-crawl sex orgy.

32. Now she is predicting our extinction! What is the mortality rate???? Who is doing most of the dying? What is more likely to happen is that our population would become younger.

To pull a Lawson, less stress on the NIS and the Ministry of Health’s budget and the Treasury as a whole!

But hopefully not! I like old people.

33. “Wuru 99 % plus are okay even after getting virus barbados will not die out its how to minimize damage to economy ,brand, elderly, etc”

only if they’re wearing MASKS and following protocols…THEY ARE NOT, seen it myself.

i’ve been saying that for WEEKS..

34. How many times does anyone have to remind everyone that it’s A FAST MOVING VIRUS…which now has a variant, don’t know how that one works, if it’s a deadly clone…but the old deadly one did not go anywhere…

some on the island stopped going out period because of the carelessness of others who will now run for their mask only because they don’t want to do quarantine, those and the ones who wear their masks under their noses, but the tourists are still a problem, they did not come to the island to wear masks or stay cooped up in quarantine.

if that keeps up Lawson all the strippers may die out…the elderly who may be alive will beat you with their canes.

35. Don’t bother me either way, everyone is banned from coming near me, do so at your own risk.

36. Fear not Waru strippers wont die out, in a bad economy there is a never ending supply.
    Donna this is not about liking or disliking its just facts, The only thing stopping you from that new car is being too lazy going to your parents house when your ill. I was totally amazed over the years how bajans could just drop there elderly parents at the door of the QEH. I asked my mum when she turned 80 would she like to go to a retirement residence of move in with me, she said I dont want to go to a home, I built her an apt on my house and she lived with me till she passed.

37. I have heard that the virus attacks through the Internet line, especially people who constantly have their fingers on the keyboard. Another effect of the virus attack is hallucinations, anxiety, panic attacks, and unwarranted anger at the government.

We must all stand together in these difficult times. It’s good that David BU has switched to the government camp. Our government must control all newspapers and Internet forums so that the virus does not spread there.

True patriots can be recognized by the fact that they fully support the government. However, I remain neutral and act as a a fair and balanced arbitrator on BU.

38. @Donna January 13, 2021 1:26 PM Now she is predicting our extinction! What is the mortality rate????”

About 2%

2% of 276,000 people is 5,520

So that is likely the maximum number of Bajans/Bajan residents who can die if we behave foolishly.

But we don’t have to behave foolishly.

We can continue to:

ONE: Wash our hands
    TWO: Wear our masks
    THREE: Keep 6 feet from other people

39. Day 14 and still no symptoms. Have not been out since my December 31st visit to Emerald City. Kept away from people just in case I had it. My son has not been out either. He uses technology to meet his friends. Keeping interactions to a minimum and even then outdoors.

Masks, physical distancing, hand washing and sanitising.

Will venture out tomorrow to do some business. Will probably add a face shield to the barriers that I bought months ago and never used.

Still not panicked. Will follow protocols as always.

Sensible actions would see us through this. It worked for many months and then some people got cocky.

I hope they live to regret all the trouble they have caused.

40. @WURA-War-on-U January 13, 2021 9:50 AM “I dumped twitter after seeing the gang who pollute it, easy, don’t use the site”

I’ve NEVER used Twitter, because I’ve ALWAYS felt that Twitter was for twits.

And it appears that I was not wrong.

41. Cuhdear, Donna,

I recommend to stay in your villas and gated communites. We must keep the common people at a distance of at least half a kilometer. I have heard that poverty is contagious.

42. We must all stand together in these difficult times. It’s good that David BU has switched to the government camp. Our government must control all newspapers and Internet forums so that the virus does not spread there.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

VERY VERY ASTUTE.

EVEN A BLIND MAN LIKE STEVIE WONDER CAN SEE THIS.

STEUPSE

43. Tron your majesty the peasants are revolting………..yes they are aren’t they.

44. @ Lawson January 13, 2021 12:19 PM

Thank you Jesus. At last. Something sensible from lawson.

45. THERE ARE SOME TRICKSTERS FROM THE BLP WHO COME ON BU FREQUENTLY INCLUDED 2018 VOTERS AND ALMOST 3 YEARS LATER STILL BLAMING STUART AND THE DLP OR COMPARING THE TWO.

AS MUCH AS I DETEST BOTH BLP AND DLP THE PEOPLE VOTED STUART AND THE DLP OUT WITH NO SEATS IN 2018 WITH MUCH FALSE PROMISES FROM MIA INCLUDING SOLVING ALL OF BARBADOS PROBLEMS.

STUART AND THE DLP SPREAD VIRUSES AFFECTING SOME LOCALS THROUGH THE RAW SEWAGE THAT LAID ON THE GROUND ON SOME OF THE STREETS ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND IN CHRIST CHURCH FOR ABOUT 2 YEARS, WHICH IS NOW BEING DIVERTED AND PUMPED DIRECTLY IN THE OCEAN.

MIA AND THE BLP HAS INFECTED THE WHOLE OF THE 2 x 3 ISLAND VIA THE AIR IN LETTING CONTAGIOUS CARRIERS OF THE DISEASE PRIMARILY FROM THE UK UNCHECKED.

IF COMMON SENSE WASN’T SO COMMON IT WOULD TELL ME THAT BOTH PARTIES ARE EQUALLY AS INEPT WITH THE BLP MORE EMBOLDEN TO THEIR WHITE SHADOWS WHILST BLACKS ISLANDWIDE ARE NOW MORE AFFECTED.

46. @Lawson January 13, 2021 2:17 PM “I was totally amazed over the years how bajans could just drop there elderly parents at the door of the QEH. I asked my mum when she turned 80 would she like to go to a retirement residence of move in with me, she said I dont want to go to a home, I built her an apt on my house and she lived with me till she passed.”

Most Bajans do not drop their elderly parents at the door of the QEH. In fact very few do. But of course bad news always always gets the attention.

Most elderly Bajans in fact live in their own homes or at home with some family members,often a daughter, granddaughter or niece.

But bear in mind that Barbados has a much higher rate of out migration than Canada has, so some of our elders, those 80 and older may actually have sons and daughters who migrated to the UK, the USA and Canada in the 1950’s, 60’s, 70’s etc. Some of those sons and daughters return home and can help with the care of their elderly parents, some have their elderly parents join them in the UK/USA/Canada. Some sons and daughters who have migrated and who cannot/do not help out physically for various reasons [employment abroad, financial constrains, matrimonial commitments, child raising responsibilities] some of them do help out financially and by paying regular visits to their elderly parents who live here.

In my own case I was able to migrate and re-migrate, but even so my dad still spent his last 8 months in a nursing home because in spite of all the love in the world his care was too difficult to manage at home, especially as the middled-aged care giving “children” must at the same time hold down their own full time jobs and raise their own children. Most of us are in no position to opt-out of the work force for 10 years or even for 10 months. Our mortgages still have to be paid. Our own children still have to be fed and educated.

Most of us are not to use Hal’s term’s term; most of us are not savages. We actually love our mummies and daddies.

But elder care is not cheap, easy nor simple.

47. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Air Canada is slashing its seat capacity by 25 per cent and laying off 1,700 employees, blaming new COVID-19 testing requirements for a recent plunge in demand for travel.
    The Montreal-based airline said on Wednesday the system-wide cuts will affect another 200 jobs at the airlines that operate its Air Canada Express regional brand.” [Jan 13 Globe & Mail]

48. @Tron January 13, 2021 3:07 PM “Cuhdear, Donna, I recommend to stay in your villas and gated communites. We must keep the common people at a distance of at least half a kilometer. I have heard that poverty is contagious.”

What villa?

Lol!

If poverty is indeed contagious I guess I have already been immunized against it, as in spite of a lifetime of hard work I still have no villa, no Meile taps, no Rolls Royce, no top drawer whisky, no ski-ing holidays in Europe, no invitations to your mansion to sip cocktails [I don’t drink alcohol thougI

I haven’t gone out since January 6th though. On that day I went to a somewhat crowded outdoor venue, but wore my mask and sanitized my hands multiple times, and kept 6 feet from others. I am not a big hugger and kisser so it doesn’t disturb me to keep my distance from others. I plan my errands carefully and I haven’t needed to go out. I am good until at least January 20. In any event because of the lack of a Rolls Royce I have so positioned myself that I can walk to most errands.

Staying within my curtilage and getting my gardens into Sandy Lane shape.

49. “And it appears that I was not wrong.”

“twit” is being kind

one day i was on there and Samuel L. said something that everyone could relate to and out of nowhere jumped some halfassed racist attacking the dude….a few nuisance racists on BU are easy to dispense with, but not millions upon millions of the cockroaches on TWIT-TER…so that decision was easy.