Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup

Although not out of the woods Barbadians were told based on the week over week numbers “we are in a better place”, however, we need to keep our guard up. We can do this people!

Briefing by Prime Minister Mottley and Team

428 responses to “Prime Minister Mottley and Team Have Covid 19 Conversation with Barbadians”

1. Newsflash! We are in a pandemic. Testing delays are being experienced in all the countries where these tourists come from. Long bloody lines and plenty confusion and frustration. Nobody should be cutting it that close.

The situation is a fluid one.

All I hope for is that we will understand that we cannot depend almost entirely on tourism.

In the meantime we must manage as best we can.

2. Little Suzie came home for Christmas. Was in quarantine for 4 nights. Did not break out of quarantine. Did not invite anybody in for a twosome, nor a threesome. Did not impair herself with alcohol or drugs. Took temperature twice per day and and reported to Bajan health authorities. Kept socializing to a minimum. Even though not required to do so, took a covid test within 72 hours of departure. On arrival at destination drove herself home from the airport. Is currently in quarantine. Is taking temperature twice per day and reporting to the health authorities there. Ordered groceries on line and had them delivered to the door. Has found that quarantine is “not so bad” Arranged leave from work with sufficient time to quarantine at home, before returning to work if health authorities allow. Is a little bored though so called the boss today and asked to be assigned some work to do at home.

And Little Suzie ain’t no Harrison College gal. No QC gal. No Cawmerian neider. Ain’t no Barbados Exhibitioner. Ain’t no Barbados Scholar.

Just an ordinary sensible Bajan.

Was not taught by rote though. Did not learn by rote either.

3. Liz Thompson the minister of Excuses .Apologizes and Blunders
    But i could not help listening how she told the many stories of people kept in isolation for long periods and missed personal deadlines even family members funerals
    Then as if to make a wrong seems right she talk plenty dribble by way of apology

4. I often wondered why a single lab was tasked with testing for the virus

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I HAVE HAD TO PERSONALLY TAKE 3 COVID TESTS OVER THE LAST 3 MONTHS FOR BUSINESS TRAVEL PURPOSES.

ALL RESULTS SENT ELECTRONICALLY WITHIN 72 HRS AND IN A CITY OF SEVERAL MILLIONS WITH ALL TESTS DONE FOR FREE WHICH TURNED OUT NEGATIVE.

NOW IN A 2 x 3 ISLAND PEOPLE ARE MAKING EXCUSE TO COVER-UP INCOMPETENCE AND POOR PLANNING.

WHO WANTS TO WAIT FOR A COVID TEST FOR A WEEK OR 2 WEEKS IN PRISON LIKE CONDITIONS.

STEUPSE

5. Steuspe

6. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Mariposa January 11, 2021 8:07 PM

Spoken like a true follower of politics i.e. yardfowl or paling cock. It just made my blood boil.

That was the worst press conference to date. Take all the politicians off or give them a 2 minute time limit to talk.

Apology tours and telling stories don’t put back money in their bank account nor replace the pain because they believed your BS.

You want to show you sincere, work without pay while you on this COVID communication board.

7. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@BAJE January 11, 2021 8:23 PM

I agree with you. quarantine facilities should have been a beachfront facility where people in isolation can go on the beach and get some vitamin D from the sun to help with clearing the virus faster.

No tourists or locals would be complaining about quarantine.

Is it just me or for such a deadly virus, they not talking about any serious cases, only one or two persons they are monitoring.

8. @Critical Analyzer January 11, 2021 8:38 PM “quarantine facilities should have been a beachfront facility where people in isolation can go on the beach and get some vitamin D from the sun to help with clearing the virus faster.”

Harrison Point is near to the sea innit? And the sun shines there everyday.
    Paragon is near to the sea and the shines there everyday too
    St. Lucy District Hospital is right by the sea and the sun shines there.
    The sun shines in St. George.
    The sun shines in St. Thomas.
    The sun shines on every hotel balcony in Barbados.
    But it seems that some of the bad behaved people would rather use their balconies for threesomes with strangers at 2 in the morning, instead of using said balconies to catch a few rays of sunshine.

I had 7 hours of immune boosting Vitamin D doing yard work this weekend.

Didn’t need to leave home to get it.

9. @BAJE January 11, 2021 8:23 PM

I agree with you. quarantine facilities should have been a beachfront facility where people in isolation can go on the beach and get some vitamin D from the sun to help with clearing the virus faster.

No tourists or locals would be complaining about quarantine.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

WHERE I RESIDE THERE ARE NO QUARANTINE (PRISON LIKE CONDITIONS) PREMISES anywhere EVEN FOR VISITORS.

AFTER TAKING EACH TEST I WAS FREE TO CONDUCT ANY BUSINESS I WANTED OR RETURN HOME.

THERE ARE NO LOCKDOWNS OR CURFEWS.

MOST PEOPLE WEAR MASKS AND SANITIZE.

THE DRACONIAN MEASURES ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND DOESN’T MAKE SENSE AS THE VIRUS HAS SPREAD LIKE WILDFIRE AND STILL ENTERING BY SOME TRAVELERS.

10. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Cuhdear Bajan January 11, 2021 8:55 PM
    Beachfront as in when you walkout the back door, you are on the beach.

I sure they could have found some current or closed hotels or buildings to do that with. Imagine the free worldwide PR they would get to have quarantine facilities for mild cases right on the beach.

11. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@BAJE January 11, 2021 9:08 PM

Barbados can go the quarantine route because of our small size and relatively non-porous borders in terms of people.

The measures selected by each country or state are mostly based on the free capacity in the healthcare system. Hence our strategy is more in an effort to ring fence the QEH because they were over capacity before COVID.

US problem where I think you are if I’m not mistaken has limited primary care doctors so ER is primary care for most persons without adequate health insurance and hospitals normally try to operate close to capacity since they are profit making entities first, health care second.

During normal flu season US hospitals regularly see full capacity.

12. Critical Analyzer Avatar

The mistake our health professionals seem to making is focusing on quarantining and isolation to prevent transmission as a long term goal until they can vaccinate.

Much more effort and research needs to go into treating to the best of their ability for the least amount of money. Doctors have serious problems managing treatment costs.

13. Baje

If there is no requirement for a test in ur city then there is no need to say that “ after each test I was free to do……..”

Unless of course you doing ur favorite thing (lying) again

14. Mexico is the only country that borders the USA that you can take a day drive to California and does not have restrictions

Today today Canada has restriction on incoming travelers

15. US problem where I think you are if I’m not mistaken has limited primary care doctors so ER is primary care for most persons without adequate health insurance and hospitals normally try to operate close to capacity since they are profit making entities first, health care second.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I DON’T RESIDE IN USA.

NO NEED TO LIE I AM NOT A YARDFOWL, BENEFACTOR OR FOLLOWER OF EITHER BLP OR DLP.

NOTHING TO GAIN BUT TO EXPOSE REALITY IN OTHER PARTS OF THE WORLD.

I FIND IT AMAZING I CAN SPEAK THE TRUTH ABOUT TRUMP AND USA HOWEVER I AM LYING WHEN I DO SAME WITH THE 2 x 3 ISLAND AND ITS INEPT GOVERNMENT WHO USE BLACK PEOPLE LIKE BRAINLESS PAWNS WHILST THE WHITE SHADOWS THRIVE AND DOMINATE.

16. Comprehension ?
    Or too many degrees?

17. https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/11/combatting-human-trafficking-it-can-and-must-be-done/

oh well, more Covid blunders, cockups and excuses, that’s what happens when they are intellectually lacking, believe titles make them genuises and are allround bullshitters, filled with shit, can only impress yardfowls and the mentally weak…while looking dumber daily.

18. I don’t understand your uproar. I have a gas mask with NBC filter and acid-proof gloves in Barbados.

I will not get infected. The ones with the children’s masks will.

19. Critical AnalyzerJanuary 11, 2021 9:36 PM Much more effort and research needs to go into treating to the best of their ability for the least amount of money. Doctors have serious problems managing treatment costs.

You are right that a two pronged approach of both prevention and cure is needed. However, to my knowledge the Barbadian doctors are doing an excellent job of managing cases and are doing so economically and with standard drugs accepted worldwide (aka one is steroids which are cheap but effective). They know their stuff.

That deaths have been limited to the very first few last year, is a testament that the Bajan doctors are doing an excellent job, because there have been serious cases, I believe.

The one problem I envisage is resources and while the government has done an excellent job thus far, implementing the Harrison’s Point quarantine and Paragon also, very early on and with alacrity, moving from that eight bed joke at Enmore that the prior government actually thought was acceptable as a quarantine centre, there remains a concern that the virus could progress exponentially and thus strain resources. Actually, recent news would suggest that as a concern.

The problem then becomes, not only medical equipment resources, but staffing of multiple centres.

If such occurs, it does become an excellent opportunity to push final year medical students into the field, at both primary care, the QEH non Covid and at Covid centres, to augment the experienced professionals. Nothing like being thrown in at the deep end and being guided by the best while learning.

Some may think that risks, but the point is, when resources are needed, they have to be sourced at best availability. The senior people then become mentors and consultants to manage the whole situation. This is not a medical view or training, this is about resource management.

Barbados has been fortunate thus far, because every other country, aside from New Zealand, Australia, both of whom shut borders and Japan, which is an interesting exception, is being walloped by this virus, with medical resources in deep trouble.

Barbadian authorities and every Barbadian, needs to take that understanding to heart and act accordingly.

20. @Crusoe

You maybe aware Australia is currently managing local covid 19 cases in Sydney.

21. These forgot to mention that many of the law enforcement, politicians, lawyers etc have been known to be involved in the same human sex trafficking, whoremongering tourism etc….it could never exist without their protection, collaboration and collusion.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/12/sex-trafficking-thrives-amid-poor-law-enforcement-ignorance-experts/

“Dr Phillips said: “The Caribbean has been identified as a source, transit and destination region for human trafficking. Interpol (International Criminal Police Organization) has claimed that they have identified 350 suspected victims of human trafficking in April 2018 from Latin American and the Caribbean; including Brazil, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, and Venezuela.”

22. Crusoe..in saying that…Covid has been around for nearly a year, the government has has that time and the previous year to DIVERSIFY the economy….the problem is dependency, they have no economic or other powers period, they have nothing they created themselves, all anyone sees for the island’s future is more and more dependency.. Not that anyone is going to give them any ideas, people have other bigger plans….than to remain stuck in their colonial shite with them.

23. Liz Thompson was a total disaster last night. Is she the top communicator that the president was talking about? Once again Santia came over with authority, clarity, credibility and leadership qualities not seen in the BLP government.
    And she kept her hands in front of her, no shouting, no waffle, no I am me nonsense, nothing about being world class.

24. https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/10/nupw-says-it-has-not-sanctioned-any-industrial-action/

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/12/union-looking-into-social-media-post/

Given the above nonsense suggestion, my confidence in maintaining control of covid-19 has declined.

25. Leadership in a crisis
    Today’s Editorial
    Very few of us relish the thought of being the one in charge during a crisis. Crises have a way of either making you or breaking you completely.
    Today, there is no question that Barbados is in the midst of an enormous crisis, one that we ostensibly planned for but still seemingly got caught with our pants down. Some may argue that it was a combination of Bajan pride and complacency that have brought us to this point.
    An international publication has asserted that it was our “small slips” in our COVID-19 response strategy, that have resulted in “big spikes” of the viral illness among our population.
    The fact remains that a confluence of events over the past three to four weeks have thrown Barbadians into a tailspin, as they are baffled to understand how such a dramatic collapse in our well-laid plan for the pandemic occurred.
    The most recent public relations disaster erupted from a well-meaning proposal by Government to compensate visitors whose vacations during the pandemic were disrupted because the island failed to deliver on its promise to return COVID-19 PCR test results within 24 to 48 hours.
    Hoteliers are reportedly livid at the decision about which they were not consulted. It appears guests are now refusing to pay their full hotel bills because as far as they were concerned, Barbadian taxpayers are supposed to pick up the tab.
    Still trying to recover from months of a virtual shutdown on the sector, those in tourism are rightfully upset.
    Public officers and other frontline workers in the private sector have also joined the chorus of those angered by Government’s decision. Their question remains: “You’ve got money to take care of the tourists, so what about us?”
    As Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley put it: “It is ridiculous that in the midst of a crisis, Government makes it a priority to make a major announcement of the fact that they will be offering people free tickets to come back to Barbados at some stage.”
    In its defence, the administration says about $4 million is on the way to compensate healthcare workers, while the assistance to visitors whose vacations were negatively affected, was really an attempt to save “Brand Barbados”.
    The whole mess has backfired on the administration and will surely send the Mottley team back into the COVID Situation Room to regroup and come again.
    Admittedly we are all suffering from some level of COVID-19 fatigue.
    We are tired of wearing masks and washing our hands in alcohol. Our school children are begging Minister of Education, Santia Bradshaw to return to face-to-face classes in school after months of on-line tuition.
    Of course, some may regard these as minor inconveniences of the pandemic, when compared to the financial disaster that many Barbadian households face as a result of job losses, business closures and other disruptions.
    If we were so bold as to offer some general advice to the administration, we would suggest a clear identification of the priorities, and Barbadians definitely want health and financial security put on the front burner.
    Knowing what is urgent and what is important will be key to maintaining public confidence. Providing a free return trip to Barbados for visitors may be important but it certainly is not urgent.
    This Government is facing its biggest and most sustained crisis since coming to office. It cannot be fixed with a loan from the International Monetary Fund, neither can the long list of economic advisors script a solution to the ongoing health crisis.
    The recent hostile responses of some Cabinet members to questions from the Press, suggest frustration is setting in. We say, more tough questions will be coming and the administration must be prepared to provide answers, no matter the political price.

26. Theo…missteps, just like many, but not most other jurisdictions, that caused the Covid to get away from them.

Mia made an error when she didn’t want to followup with PLT for further info, i saw him on FB trying to reach out to her to show her certain things which am sure would’ve saved her this grief, but she had the plan already, was getting the credit she craves for what she didn’t create and was satisfied until the shit hit the fan…don’t know how else to tell them that their 1950s style, attitudes and approach in this new age is ALL WRONG and can NEVER produce anything other than what they’re getting now…personally i want nothing to do with them.

no one really cares about their problems anymore, people are moving on, no one wants to get stuck in another 54 years of DBLP one tracked goals of stagnation, subjugation, thefts of properties, vat, taxes and pension fund from the black majority, selloutism…etc…there is no upward mobility in any of that for the 95% African population on the island…who wants to continue living under that backward trajectory is more than welcome.

people are rightfully fed up…it didn’t take you long, so imagine those on the ground who have to constantly put up with that go nowhere idiocy….generation after generation.

27. Don’t know why she put Liz as some communicator when she KNOWS that Liz was pelted with rocks by her Haynesville constituents and had to run for her life for disrespecting them and insulting their intelligence in the election that brought DLP back up nuisances to power….she does not exactly possess any decorum when dealing with people who look just like her….these titles go to their heads and they can’t even think straight to begin with, so imagine when they feel all powerful….with their delusional pedigree.

28. In case you did not hear the story, when Liz wanted to be reelected, she thought she was being brilliant with the usual lawyer arrogance by reminding her constituents that she bought fridge and stove for them when they were broke so they owe her votes, that’s why she got pelted with rocks because even then she told herself that they didn’t know that whatever she bought for them, WAS BOUGHT WITH THEIR OWN TAX DOLLARS so she can pimp votes from them later that’s the only reason they pretend to care..

…..that’s how slimy and low Bajan politicians can be, making sure the people don’t know that the tax money, vat, pension money belong to them and not to the government was how they managed to get away with a lot of crimes against the black population for decades, the elderly were truly victims…..they can’t pull that fraud anymore on these youngsters today though, i dare them…they got away wth the elderly because they didn’t know any better, but that was then, i keep warning them about their lowcrawling attitudes toward black people.

29. Back to the drawing board ..would be of interest if govt would release numbers on the back.log
    Meanwhile knowing that barbados is at crisis level in dealing with testing and results govt still insist on letting people from hot spots enter the island
    SMH

30. @ Mariposa

You missed a trick last night. When the good doctor was talking about the spread at Dodds, he mentioned a percentage, not not an actual number. What is the number?

31. Theo…they can’t even tell anyone they’re lying, because a measly $400 was given to Caswell years ago, no one knew about it, no one cares, i give away more than that and don’t even remember, but we had to read about it in newspapers…that’s the mentality of the lowest types of politicians in existence…. a real big turnoff.

but…we can’t hear anything about the BILLIONS OF DOLLARS missing from the economy, the stolen vat that was written off, or all the missing properties, the people’s money and estates… they are all gone and no one can say who stole them, no one is being investigated or arrested..

32. Critical Analyzer Avatar

The one thing this BLP government is brilliant at is cleaning up messes and making course corrections in short order and managing the PR fallout so well that only the yard fowls keeping score will remember what happened.

In one week when the curfew is lifted, this will be old news and forgotten the week after.

33. Another fall out related to govt COVID policies
    A hot mess

https://www.facebook.com/246784233190/posts/10158238303573191/?sfnsn=mo

34. The recent hostile responses of some Cabinet members to questions from the Press, suggest frustration is setting in. We say, more tough questions will be coming and the administration must be prepared to provide answers, no matter the political price.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

SOUNDS LIKE SOME WHO POSTS ON BU

35. the setup artists got caught….🤣🤣😂😂

36. Franklyn said that regarding the second action, the Government has until tomorrow to release the three officers who were relocated from home quarantine to a south coast hotel being used for that purpose.

“A letter was being sent to the Government today giving them until tomorrow to release the officers because their two tests have come back negative and therefore there is no good reason to keep them locked up. Prison officers are supposed to be in the priority category for the quick return of results. Other people whose tests came back negative have been released but yet they continue to hold them there. These men have families and they did not even allow them to be quarantined together,” he pointed out.

“So if these officers are not released by tomorrow, the lawyers will be filing an habeas corpus action asking the court to order their release,” Senator Franklyn told Barbados TODAY.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

2 x 3 ISLAND SHOWING EVERY DAY TO BLACK PEOPLE WHY IT IS A BANANA REPUBLIC AND INEPT.

37. THROWING SHADE OR THE TRUTH WILL SET YOU FREE

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Family doc seeks answers on COVID-19 fight

Prominent family physician Dr Adrian Lorde has urged health authorities to stop giving Barbadians false hope and tell the truth about the fight against the virus.

In an almost five-minute-long video posted on social media Monday, Dr Lorde said the situation seems to be getting out of order and indicated that he was looking forward to UN envoy Elizabeth Thompson assuming her position as head of the COVID-19 communications team so that she can accurately provide answers regarding the island’s COVID-19 fight for Barbadians.

He said Ambassador Thompson’s arrival is timely, considering that Government officials who have been publicly speaking on the island’s COVID-19 fight in recent weeks, including Prime Minister Mia Mottley, Cabinet Sub-Committee Chair Senator Dr Jerome Walcott, Minister of Health Lt Col Jeffrey Bostic, and Minister of Home Affairs Wilfred Abrahams, appear to be tired while the number of COVID-19 cases has climbed to 884 in a matter of days.

Dr Lorde said: “We need to know the truth, because the COVID hotline, there are no more lines, people can’t get through. That number for the tourism thing, that is not working either. The lab categorization sections, 1, 2 and 3, the lab don’t even know anything about that, and the Shape App [in use for COVID-19 testing] for providers may be working in polyclinics, but that is not up and running as it should either. So we are giving people a false sense of security. Information that is not entirely correct, or may be premature.”

Dr Lorde, a sports medicine specialist with a long-standing general practice, said that in light of the country recording 884 positive COVID-19 cases, and seven deaths, with 478 patients in isolation, Barbadians need to protect themselves. He said even though cases are coming out of the Boxing Day bus crawl and clusters on the West Coast, people need to safeguard themselves because, in his opinion, “things are getting out of order”.

He declared: “We are getting too many cases. The numbers are as, the president said, skyrocketing downwards. There is a downward trend, but that don’t seem like that to me and those are the confirmed cases, because the lab has several samples that they haven’t tested yet, for days. Scores of people gone to the airport yesterday, couldn’t get on the flights, had to cancel, we going to pay for that? I don’t know”.

Dr Lorde also warned the head of the Harrison’s Point coronavirus hospital, Dr Corey Forde, whom Prime Minister Mottley announced last week could be the first to receive the COVID-19 vaccine to make sure that “if you getting the first vaccine it has the second dose”.

“And I hope it is the Pfizer BioNTech because that is the only one that is approved by the World Health Organization (WHO),” he added.

The doctor also questioned if provisions are being made for the vaccinations to be stored at the appropriate temperature. He said to his knowledge, only the Barbados Fertility Centre has facilities “to store anything at minus 70 [degrees Celsius]”.

He added: “But let us know Ambassador Thompson, if those refrigerators are in place and if the generators are in place in case we bring out storage of vaccines and then the electricity goes off.

“But Ambassador Thompson, wait, you have to get your second test today. I hope you get the results before Friday because we need you to start working. Let’s get the systems working. It has been ten months since we had the virus, the pandemic is here, and still, things are not working as they should.

“Overwhelmed? We should have predicted that when we saw what was happening overseas. So let’s get things in place. Protect yourself in the meantime here, that [884] is confirmed, we have several others out there that ain’t confirmed that have not been tested, so you can get it too.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/12/family-doc-seeks-answers-on-covid-19-fight/

38. Hope they know how critical this advice is and that things cannot be done the don’t carish careless bajan way..

“Dr Lorde also warned the head of the Harrison’s Point coronavirus hospital, Dr Corey Forde, whom Prime Minister Mottley announced last week could be the first to receive the COVID-19 vaccine to make sure that “if you getting the first vaccine it has the second dose”.

“And I hope it is the Pfizer BioNTech because that is the only one that is approved by the World Health Organization (WHO),” he added.

He added: “But let us know Ambassador Thompson, if those refrigerators are in place and if the generators are in place in case we bring out storage of vaccines and then the electricity goes off.”

39. Re lockdowns…it’s clear the plague is an opportunity knocks for the world’s criminals trying to assert full control over people’s lives.

40. Pissparading and pompesetting in the Overseas Parade Ring!

Meanwhile…..

The government does have some questions to answer and must answer them respectfully. Bajans have the right to that. Liz Thompson is not my cup of tea. Mia has constantly put questionable people in the communications role. One remembers the tarnished Roy Morris. Liz has not even washed the stink off from her perceived “priveged” visit to her mother. Nobody wants to be communicated to by these two people and yet Mia shoved them in our faces. She is strangely disconnected from the emotions of the people.

So far I have not been impressed with the breakdown of the case situation as provided. I have not been able to make sense of it. Somebody who is qualified to tell us what these stats mean for Barbados should deliver the brief.

But… still not panicked! People need to calm down! Pandemics are not comfortable.

41. So the hotel sector owes the Black populatioin $60 million dollars that Mia picked up and loaned to them…hope they remember who they really own and it’s not Mia, it’s not her money.

42. hope they remember who they really OWE and it’s not Mia, it’s not her money.

43. Covid press conference at 6 pm

44. Add this to the new norm

U.S. to require negative COVID-19 tests for international air passengers: sources

45. So the big muhguffy now catching up and doing like the 2×3
    Hmmm

46. Mariposa the crises in leadetship was between 2008 and 2010 when your clueless dems were in power and led by in my view the worst two PM , s in the history of Barbados in Mr Thompson and Mr Stuart.Both helped run the country into the ground.That was s crisis in leadership Mariposa.Thankfully we have a competent leader at this crucisl time of covid. I shudder to think what would have happen had Mr Thompson or evem worse Mr Stuart had been at the helmo r even the political nightwatchman Ms Depeiza we would be in deep doo doo.Thank god for Ms Mottley and her team especially the hardworking frontline worlers.May god continue to bless them.The gloomers are all hoping that there is community spread like in their country in Barbados especially Mariposa Austin, Waru and Baje. Then they will claim they love Barbados not as far as i am concerned.However i believe we will overcome this and rise once again.