Submitted by Roslyn Shepherd

Demand for travel determines the servicing of routes by airlines.

The pandemic has triggered economic hardship worldwide, failures and or downsizing of some airlines, and in the absence of a definitive end to the effects of the pandemic, an on-going contraction in the demand for travel. This is bad news for Barbados whose economy is tourist dependent.

Whilst the country is in a wait and see position, it might well be beneficial if it looks at establishing a connection with Western Africa via air travel. As the most easterly Caribbean country, Barbados is nearest to West Africa, 6,406 km from Ghana and 7,431 km from Nigeria. There are seventeen (17) West African countries of which Nigeria and Ghana have a population of 100 million and 30 million respectively. Ghana is defined as a third world country but with the world fastest growing economy in 2019 and Nigeria, a rich 4th world country. Both Ghana and Nigeria have controlled the spread of Covid-19 and could be the main routes.

Demand for travel between Barbados and Ghana and Nigeria would have to be assessed by the Government of Barbados. In the absence of information, Barbados could benefit from promoting its educational institutions from primary to tertiary level. Parents who can afford tuition plus boarding and all the incidental costs might for a variety of reasons, prefer their children being schooled outside of the country. It might also be possible for Chefette to expand into West Africa. How Barbados can benefit from other aspects of oil rich Nigeria and agricultural based Ghana will also require research.

This suggestion is not new; both Jamaica and Guyana tooted flights to Africa but they failed to materialize. However, the present economic climate might just be right to follow through with these West African airline routes. Though flying to Barbados, most of Virgin Atlantic airplanes have been grounded by the pandemic. Dire warnings about the continued spread of Covid-19 in the USA, UK and even Europe do not indicate this airline will return to full flight in the short term. With assets grounded and the airline bleeding money, Sir Branson might well be receptive to a route from Barbados to West African countries. His planes would be back in the air earning money. There’s no direct competition. Ticket prices can be relatively cheap because the airline would be flying to an oil rich country, Nigeria. However, the viability of each route is incumbent on Barbados justifying demand.

Wouldn’t it be ironic if the former slaves in the Caribbean reverse the slave triangle to carve out trade between West Africa and the Caribbean and even North and South America.

This challenge is not outside the Prime Minister of Barbados’ orbit. The PM has resource people who can pull together a comprehensive Business Proposal. Her several interviews at the international level has raised her profile which should lead to contact and persuasion of the key international asset providers, Sir Branson or the alternative British Airways and though not discussed herein, the governments of Ghana and Nigeria.

This is not a start-up business where projected minimum start-up capital would be around $22 million in the first year as per a Business Plan done for a proposed new airline in 2010. The airport hubs, planes, personnel, etc., already exists. It would be interesting to know the flaw(s) in my idea.

360 responses to “Travel from Barbados to Select West African Countries and Back”

1. It is interesting to listen to Barbadians who ran/left Barbados telling Barbadians on the rock what are our problems chapter and verse. Some living in the USA where a White man can plant his knee on a black man’s neck for almost 9 minutes with his hands in his pockets in the 21st century. Some living in the UK where Blacks have dropped below all other minorities…

Steuspe

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

HERE IS A SAD FACT WHICH CAN’T BE DISPUTED.

BLACK BAJANS ARE THE OVERWHELMING MAJORITY ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND IN SHEER NUMBERS HOWEVER THEY ARE AT THE BOTTOM OF THE TOTEM POLE WITH THE INDIANS AND WHITES BEING ON TOP ECONOMICALLY AND DICTATING WHAT IS GOING ON IN THE COUNTRY BEHIND THE SCENES.

NOW THAT IS A REAL SHAME AND A TRAGEDY.

STEUPSE

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

LET ME ADD IN THE USA IT WAS A WHITE POLICE OFFICER WHO MURDERED A BLACK MAN AND ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND YOU HAVE BLACK LOCAL POLICE OFFICERS PLANTING EVIDENCE, BEATING BLACK PEOPLE IN THEIR CUSTODY AND FABRICATING STATEMENTS.

WE ALSO KNOW LOCAL BLACK POLICE HAVE COMMITTED ATROCIOUS ACTS IN BARBADOS SUCH AS RAPE AND ALLEGED MURDER IN CUSTODY ETC.

NOW WHO IN THEIR RIGHT MIND WOULD WANT TO LIVE IN THAT REALITY WHERE BLACKS ARE NOT SAFE AND ARE THE BOTTOM OF THE TOTEM POLE IN A BLACK LED COUNTRY AND THIS IS IN 2020 AFTER 54 YEARS OF INDEPENDENCE.

2. Ya are going to your grave with that hanging over ya head…

3. Can anyone confirm this..

“Good morning all, the executive council of the BWU has to endorse industrial action against G4S as of now Monday 07,2020.Mr.James Devers said he has instruction from the white Director in England not to grant any wage increase for the next 4 years, to forget the period 2014to 2019 in retroactive pay, and the Stewards are not in the bargaining unit they pay rate will not change. The white people in England are holding out to see what effects the strike will have on operations. If you go out to work this is what is at stake: 1- loss of back pay from 2014 to 2019, 2-no wages increase for the next 4 years, 3- Stewards rate will continue at 7:42, 4-a 40 hour work week, 5- conditions of employment remains unchanged. Consider 40 hours * 7:42=$296.08 gross, 40 hours at 8:79 =$351.06 gross.Currently, a Steward working at 60 hours gross is 445.02, a Security Officer working the same 60 hours gross is527.04. The Steward is giving to G4S per week$82.38. The company is a Security Giant own and manage by white people.is slavery still exist in 2020. After 60 hours is overtime. The white people said that will not change. So you have to give them back 20 hours of man-hours work before overtime. Comrades are what black people worth. if G4S wins this battle we are doom. Those who can get better jobs will escape, however, the ones who can’t endure the financial suffering. pass on this message to your contacts this is could be a new beginning if we want to change. Some of you are asking if you will be pay. Focus on what you will lose if you don’t support the Strike, no back pay for the period 2014- 2019, no wages increase for the next 5 years, and the Stewards rate remaining at 7:42. The ball is in our court.Due to the COVID19 protocol, we will not be congregating. You will remain off the job until the General Secretary says otherwise. Do not call in please management knows we are on strike. Ormond Mayers -“

4. From what i understand UK pay their security guards at least 15 pounds an hour, those in Barbados are working for slave wages years now….

that crooked former COP was supposed to pay the other company staff $15 Barbados an hour at that time and was paying them 5 dollars an hour and keeping the balance of the money for his greedy self…modern day slavery is alive and well in Barbados.

men and women with familes cannot survive on $7.42 nor $8.79 an hour, it’s slavery, not with the cost of living on the island.

but that is the value wicked leaders put on their people and don’t expect them to earn more nor progress and develop any further..

5. From what i understand UK pay their security guards at least 15 pounds an hour, those in Barbados are working for slave wages years now….(Quote)

Which company or security firm in the UK pays security guards ‘at least’ £15 an hour? And why is that your understanding?

6. BU-FC
    Barbados underground fight club.

7. I admit to having empathy for Mia. The language she employed towards the protestors was unintentional and was not intended to be malicious.

I believe that Mia’s grandfather was involved in real estate and that her father was an Attorney General in another Caribbean country. Mia comes from an elite background. This has shielded her from everyday life’s experiences. Material deprivations has never been part of her makeup.

That she could not relate to these common working class people and their predicament was not a surprise.

Our first Prime Minister – Errol Barrow, was an archetype conservative. He would have known of the plight of the impoverished black masses; yet ,somehow, he found himself unwilling to usher in the black civil rights movement and Pan Africanism philosophy into the hearts and minds of his people. Preferring instead to defer to the legacy of Barbados old colonial legacy.

Mia’s predecessor – Stuart, unlike Mia, came from a humble background. Yet, he too, was an elitist and struggled to relate to the average working class Bajan.

That we have a party and a leader in power who cannot relate to their electorate; and who continues to protect the interests of Barbados minorities and overseas companies suggests to me that the masses need to mobilise their numbers and work together to ensure that the old ways of doing things become obsolete.

Whisper it quietly – Barbados may well be on its way to self renewal.

8. Imagine the objective of the person crafting this article to provoke constructive discussion and what ensues? Trumplike bombastic exchanges from adults. We have to go with the young people to lead us from this morass we find ourselves.

9. If you go out to work this is what is at stake: 1- loss of back pay from 2014 to 2019, 2-no wages increase for the next 4 years, 3- Stewards rate will continue at 7:42, 4-a 40 hour work week, 5- conditions of employment remains unchanged. Consider 40 hours * 7:42=$296.08 gross, 40 hours at 8:79 =$351.06 gross.Currently, a Steward working at 60 hours gross is 445.02, a Security Officer working the same 60 hours gross is527.04. The Steward is giving to G4S per week$82.38. The company is a Security Giant own and manage by white people.is slavery still exist in 2020. After 60 hours is overtime. The white people said that will not change.

Xxxxxxxxxxxxx

WONDERFUL SLAVE WAGES ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND AND WHAT YOU QUOTED IS IN BARBADOS $$$.

THERE IS A DIFFERENCE WHEN REALITY MEETS THE TRUTH.

BLACK PEOPLE IN A BLACK COUNTRY AT THE BOTTOM OF THE TOTEM POST SEEMINGLY IN ALL AREAS.

IS THIS HOW BLACK PEOPLE SHOULD LIVE LOCALLY.

WELL WELL WELL.

I REST MY CASE.

10. A question for the chairman: Is it right and proper to call out someone who tries to mislead the blog by claiming that black people were interned in the UK in the 1940s, and that Enoch Powell proposed sending black people to their death in the 1970s?
    Or should we just let it pass? Do claims such as this impact the veracity of the blog? Does historical accuracy matter?

11. NIS and PAYE MUST BE TAKEN OUT IN SOME CASES.

THIS IS A REAL REAL HORROR SHOW.

12. You exercise reasonableness in the callout and move on out of respect for other commenters. Note some latitude was given.

13. “Give a man a fish, and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish, and you feed him for a lifetime.”

Wages like those need to be highlighted.

Can you imagine being a parent with children to feed, school and house and earning $300.00/week? Approximately BDS $15K/ per annum.

Unless the gods smile upon them, that is generational poverty. Almost free labor. Salaries that act like prisoners chains and ankle bracelets.

14. David (captain of the the good ship Underground), you never learned that you cannot fight with stupid employing clever arguments when they just want to piss you off and you just have to learn to be less reactionary instead. It’s like teenage children with loads of hormones.

15. Noted Kiki. We have to live in hope.

16. And if the person dances round the issues without answering, and posting further claims such as that Walter Rodney’s book led to his death and that security guards in the UK earn £15 an hour.
    Or do we, out of politeness, allow these claims to stand? Just trying to clarify the policy of BU.

17. Then the side with the evidence should post it and allow the BU intelligentsia to make the judgement. If there is no evidence then a back and forth is futile.

18. Hal…go look for something constructive to do, ya can’t win a thing with me, have you not learned that yet, the policiy of the blog is not to tell the Blogmaster what to do with his blog nor to curse him….how bout that…

19. First of all i posted most of Hal Austin’s emails to the blog a few years ago and Hal was crying like a little bitch and telling nough, nough lies… and ya shut down the blog, ask Vincent Haynes…most of the people who were there then are no longer with us….but who were there, except yardfowls who have no memory, will remember ya shut down the blog….i have the same emails and can repost, but when Hal pops up with his little whiny ass again..

i prefer keep Hal on my hook, makes me feel so much better….

20. I will post when I am ready, not when Hal is trying to wiggle off my hook, thank you very much…

21. Miller was there though, i know he will remember because he made comments…about the emails, and he did say it sounded just like Hal, and the shite he posts to the blog…..even Bushman knew Hal was lying….either way, i will catch his ass when am good and ready and this time that hook will definitely take him out..

22. They probably gave Big Mike those numbers and he is off to find a better price in a next island.

23. Theo…you see how the modern day slavery is alive and well on the island, that should be the topic but instead fools are focused on the likes of ignorant Hal Austin when we went through this years ago about the same emails and Blogmaster shut down the blog, obviously forgot…. and the dumb man Hal, is still looking for attention, still believes he can get away with what he did…but am having none of it and will know what to do with him….let him keep it up…don’t know where the idiot got the idea from that i owe him any answers, too goddamn chauvanistic, he better watch he don’t see all the shit on his FB page….

it’s atrocious that in 2020 on an overly expensive island people are still accepting these types of slave wages, the unions have accepted it for decades and the useless governments put so little value on their people’s lives that they go out of their way to maintain and enable white criminals and others to reduce their people to poverty…

24. The other islands better stop enabling the white criminals who still believe they are slavemasters from exploiting Black people in the Caribbean..

25. The person who makes the claim should post the evidence. Were black people interned in the UK in the 1940s? Did Enoch Powell propose that black people should be sent to their death? Was there an attempt to redirect the Windrush to Africa?
    Did Walter Rodney’s book lead to his death? Do security guards in the UK earn £15 an hour? I do not have any evidence of any of these and would not make any such claim.
    My interest, as I have said on numerous occasions, is historical accuracy, not cheap laughs. Is BU a blog of record?

26. probably ran off to see if i got onto his FB page, keep looking, when ya least expect it, i will shock the shit outta ya…ya think ya bad, ya wicked little black man..

27. Makes for wonder if Big Mike bought his welcome stamp visa
    Big works happening in barbados
    That welcome stamp Visa might have many different strings attached

28. The only record of note BU should have is the fraud and liar that Hal Austin is, but i will catch ya again trying to reel in somebody else on the blog and ya will see, ya done know how forgetful ya are with ya stupid behavior…ticktock…all bloggers need to know is not to get involved with you at all, ya only like to talk big, but ya full of endless shit, another snakeoil salesman…..that is what should be of record of note on BU>….until am ready for you….

29. Final warning to bring this shit
    to an end.

30. Ok
    Wura
    You let yourself get distracted.
    You were the first to give us Big Mike.
    Now you are here in a shitty fight.
    Return to duty or be court martialed and lose your TheO’s award.

Seriously, move on. Report for duty.

31. “Were black people interned in the UK in the 1940s? Did Enoch Powell propose that black people should be sent to their death? ”

Do you remember graffiti on the wall circa 1968 that said things like “Wogs Out” “Powell for PM”
    you should watch small axe on bbc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0Tk-FoiX_0

32. Moving on from the chauvinistic jealous minded little swine…

Theo….that issue with the G4S workers need to receive international attention from ILO…it’s been years i have heard many who work for this no good organization lead by an evil boer from South Africa, underpaid these people and mistreated and they’re not only mistreated by the white owners of the company but by the black managers who also steal their salary and then refuse to pay them….so they are exploited twice…..these are the types of disenfranchisement that deserves international attention.

and let’s not forget the likes of sandy lane, royal shop, two really nasty piece of work and the hoteliers and restaurateurs who deliver their own brand of wicked thievery, racism etc, the whol human rights violating package, but the problem is getting anyone to care enought to do it, ya see where Mia’s head is at, she don’t want the people’s nightmare to end period..

33. Someone really needs to alert international agencies about what goes on in Barbados, it’s not G4S alone, these security companies have a bad reputation and as long as everyone stays quiet and accept it, that’s what will happen, it continues and then all you see is more and more poverty, more and more depressed areas, more and more crime and violence and lying politicians, ministers etc refusing to accept responsibility that they are the ones causing it to begin with…….don’t see why in this day and age Black people are so dependent on whites and others for work, why aren’t there more Black companies, another hymn i have been singing nonstop for years and years…

BTW..did lying Kerry not claim that he was feeding hungry bellies in Barbados with his disrespectful, arrogant self, so why are the people so hungry now and have to protest every time for their money….

So ya see where the blame really lies, right at the feet of those in the haunted house, they caused all of this..

34. William Skinner Avatar

@ Baje
    I have been highlighting the starvation wages on BU but nothing like that gathers momentum. I recently raised the issue on Brasstacks. This is the type of exploitation that we prefer to overlook because it does not affect many of us directly.
    You recall how we used to work for fifty and sixty years and then be given a watch and an easy chair.
    This country was built on no wages and then the lowest of wages. At some point in time, the explosion will come. The younger generation will not endure another fifty years of massive exploitation and allow a select group of citizens exploit them.
    The race is far from over and the struggle
    continues.
    Peace

35. @ Mr. Skinner

Perhaps if you had highlighted Trump and starvation wages in the USA, by now you would have had over 3,000 comments. There is a set hourly wage for shop assistants, which was usually advertised in the newspapers. I haven’t seen an ad recently.

What surprises me is that people from both the BWU and NUPW were either members of parliament or senators representing the BLP or DLP….. going as far back as Frank Walcott, who was a MP from 1945-1966 and then again from 1971-1976. Now, the BWU’s general secretary is a MP.

And, were still discussing ‘starvation wages’ in 2020

36. (Quote):
    And, were still discussing ‘starvation wages’ in 2020 (Unquote).

At least the current administration promised in its 2018 manifesto, and as one of the more pressing items on its “Mission Critical” 6 months agenda, to:

“Raise the minimum wage from $6.25 per hour to $8.00 and extend it to all categories of workers across the economy.”

Has this 6 month ‘critical mission’ item been crossed off the list or will Barbados turn into a republic in 2021 before this 6-month agenda goal becomes a reality given that the cost of living has skyrocketed since May 2018?

37. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    It’s amazing that we as a people are prepared to ignore the seeping poverty from as early as the mid 70s, that is now full blown.
    I am really baffled that those of us who are no more than two generations removed from poverty can be so insensitive to what’s going on at present.
    I am not looking for a utopia but at least I would have expected public discourse , to have reached beyond the mundane by now.
    Somehow we have skillfully equated any objective criticism of social or economic policy as hatred of our country.
    Imagine workers being robbed in broad daylight of their severance pay and NIS deductions.
    Keep up your poignant and balanced contributions. We don’t always agree but you remain a voice of steady reason on BU.
    Th struggle is far from over.

38. “Somehow we have skillfully equated any objective criticism of social or economic policy as hatred of our country.”

In each of your post are some nuggets that can be easily mined. However, you write them so tastefully and politely that the reader easily glide over them without realizing their import.

Here you tackle the accusation of throwing “shade’ in such an innocuous manner that the reader has to do a second reading to understand that it is a strong condemnation of that type of attack.

I suspect I might have to take you behind the fence and teach you how to cuss.

39. “I am really baffled that those of us who are no more than two generations removed from poverty can be so insensitive to what’s going on at present.”

This is highly relevant to the discussion of the low wages that some are receiving. Indeed you remind me of a story where an English preacher on seeing the plight of some unfortunate said “There but for the grace of God, goes I”.

It must be said.

I have been fortunate that there is food in my pantry, a fire in my furnace and good health. It is my prayer that my good fortune remains with me and that I never become blind to those who are less fortunate.

40. I had a friend whose morning prayer was “Life is a bitch”.

I have been fortunate but, I have seen enough to know that reality is also a bitch. To avoid it some resort to substance abuse and some close their eyes to it.
    One friend used to tell us (Wally Gink) used to tell us “you guys get up to bread and scrambled eggs, I have to scramble to get eggs”. A harsh lesson delivered with a clever play on words.

I ramble. I ramble because the thought of $15,000 BDS per annum frightens me. Can a family escape by investing in the education of one child? That sum cannot pay a semester at most colleges.
    As Wura constantly mentions, it leads to generational poverty.

41. @ Mr. Skinner

Thank you.

42. I second your comment WS. The contributions have been sound.. to use a phrase from GP.. they cannot be refuted.

43. True life story
    enoch powell was not the only racist in uk everyone was racist
    just watched docudrama about frank crichlow who had a restaurant which the racist pigs wanted to clapmpdown

44. William Skinner Avatar

@ TheGAzerts
    There is cussing and then there is vulgarity. I know the difference. I have been cussed and I have cussed and there are some people who can cuss more delightfully than Naipaul or Shakespeare can write.
    Thanks for the compliments ; highly appreciated and you must keep up the good work and a high level of discourse on BU. Don’t be silenced by those who beleive that banishment is the only alternative to disagreement.
    The struggle continues.

45. “It’s amazing that we as a people are prepared to ignore the seeping poverty from as early as the mid 70s, that is now full blown”

we stood as children and watched it seep in over decades, many had to run to get a living wage in other jurisdiction, but apparently the modern day slavery using the security guard industry started somewhere in the 80s, because i returned to the island and found it around that time, then it escalated, but they use mainly young people who are easier to exploit and they don’t stay long when they’re not paid, theft of labor, most won’t want a criminal record for retaliating for being that badly disenfranchised, so they just move on until they can do better, but that security company industry is the engine that drives poverty on the island, hand in hand with the vicious tourist industry….modern day slavery.

William…we know it can be rectified, but the haunted house negros will have to want to do it, and they show no such inclination, unless we can get an international agency stepping in and getting the culprits more fully exposed and brought up on charges somewhere…it will remain as is. So when they harp about crime and violence on the island and the young people this, and they young people that, they are the ones fully responsible through the disenfranchisement and whole sale modern day enslavement of the same young people, check out the CXC situation, they refuse to expedite the grades so that kids will have a fighting chance at university anywhere, these same kids will end up at the same enslaving security companies or tourist industry because their relatives are now even under more financial distress, can no longer afford to maintain them and need the extra dollar…that is how slavery is a constant in Barbados…pure wickedness against the Black population, let by leaders who elevated themselves in their own minds.

46. Oh dear! Just one little clarification. I know some people would love to believe that I am ignorant of Barbadian culture. It suits his/her narrative that I am a come yuh, not born in Barbados, as though my mother did not conceive me right here from all Barbadian stock and bring me back here while I was still a child.

Hard for me to be ignorant of sou sous when I people used to come by and pick up the sou sou money once a week, even though by then its name had changed to meeting turn. Last time I spoke to my brother, he was is still in one. He had sent off his weekly contribution forgetting that it was his turn. And that money does help him to advance his sole proprietor small business.

My point is that it is still a sole proprietorship small business. Many of them out there.

Pooling our resources is more than a little sou sou or even a credit union giving out loans. I am speaking about going into business together or having an understanding of co-operation between businesses.

And yes, the idea that the professions are more prestigious than working in your parents small business did play a great part in reducing the number of black owned businesses.

Don’t see how that becomes the fault of anybody but ourselves.

I maintain therefore, that we, like the “New Barbadians” can overcome, despite the hurdles presented by blind or sell out political leaders. It comes back to attitude and determination.

The pendulum is swinging. The attitude towards business is changing to the extent where “she got she own business” now makes her “sexy”. And the young people are no longer deterred by the thought of “failure”.

I was not born here but I have lived here for fifty years. As a people’s person who easily interacts with persons of all genders and generations, I am plugged in to the vibes.

Change is coming.

47. Can somebody tell me why G4S is necessary in Barbados? Nobody here can own a security firm???? What about ex-policemen pooling their resources and starting a small one????

Enlighten me, anyone who knows what such an endeavour entails.

48. They can open large Black security companies on the island and expand to other islands, everything does not have to be small, the blueprint is already available, so is the clientele, etc, marketing won’t be brain surgery, no need to reinvent the wheel….time to cut out all these white and other minority businesses that governments love to encourage to intrude into black people’s lives for slavery, exploitation and racist purposes.

none of it is rocket science, the transition won’t take more than a year or two, if ya find the right business savvy Black people.

49. if ya find the right business savvy Black people who are in no way tied to government, politics, ministers, yardfowlism, corrupt minorities etc…ya can do business without all the attached poison which always morphs into something nasty and subterranean..