Warning: Contains disturbing images

Following the informative discussion which came out of the Lord Nelson statue debate, it hammered home the point to the BU household that there is still a mystery which exist around matters concerning Africa and race. It reminded us of the Ghanaian debate which raged a few months ago. Do you believe that to this day many Barbadians believe that our African brothers should have been allowed to stay. Reason given, they were Black and from Mother Africa.

By the way, has the Barbados government been repaid the $600,000.00 airfare promised by the Ghana government?

Interestedly the Pan African Commission’s (PAC) role in the affair, especially when the government called for the Africans at large to turn themselves over to the authorities was very silent. We got the impression that they were unwilling to play a leadership role when called upon to do so by the government. Do you know that we still have a few Africans at large in Barbados?  Where are they hiding? Who has been hiding them from our Immigration Officers? What are they doing?

Of late we have listened to our tourist officials in government alluding to the possibility of establishing air links with Nigeria. We welcome innovative ideas on how we can forge links with the non-traditional market of Mother Africa. The benefit to Euro-centric Barbadians by raising Black consciousness cannot be underscored enough. But we have to warn Minister Richard Sealy and his team at the Barbados Tourism Authority that Nigeria is the land of scams. Deal with Nigeria at arms-length!

In the local press we have been reading of the visits of high ranking Nigerian potentates to Barbados to encourage closer cultural, tourism and other business contacts. It would be nice if our journalists would ask these Nigerian VIPs to comment on some of the horror stories emanating from their homeland. One such story is how Nigeria is murdering their children all in the name of religion:

In some of the poorest parts of Nigeria, where evangelical religious fervor is combined with a belief in sorcery and black magic, many thousands of children are being blamed for catastrophes, death and famine: and branded witches. Denounced as Satan made flesh by powerful pastors and prophetesses, these children are abandoned, tortured, starved and murdered: all in the name of Jesus Christ.

Read the heartbreaking story

What we are trying to say is that we need to have frank, fair and open discussions on the issues. Our PEOPLE need to be educated. We need to stop the blatant filter of the news. If our identity is unavoidably linked to Africa don’t we have an obligation to speak-out against the many atrocities being played out in Mother Africa?

In the same way many of us feel that the ascension of Obama, the Black Moses to the Presidency of the USA will be inspirational for Black people, so too the ongoing atrocities as described above may offset the gains.

Thanks to BU family member Green Monkey for source information used for this blog

41 responses to “Save The Children In Nigeria”

1. All very well to complain about a few Africans but what about an article on the hundreds of White Canadians and English that visit here and never return? They blend so easily on the West Coast that it is easy to look them over.. taking jobs that ordinary Bajans would love to have.

Man cuddear the African experience was one where an experimental alternative route to the other side of the world was being tested. There was an unexpected hiccup. It should be tested again.

2. Oh yeah, as for the backwardness of certain tribes, the Khmer Rouge had their solution, Josef had his, the Ghandis had another, the Europeans prefer famine and targeted viruses, in fact Americas and England’s brilliant way of taking care of the silly masses in quick order is to declare war on somebody and to send the poor out to fight and die. Now what should Africa do. Hmmm. Why is this AIDS thing not working?.. Damn

3. […] Save The Children In Nigeria « Barbados UndergroundIn the local press we have been reading of the visits of high ranking Nigerian potentates to Barbados to encourage closer cultural, tourism and other business contacts. It would be nice if our journalists would ask these Nigerian VIPs … […]

4. BAFBFP – Hundreds of white Canadians and English? Why not say thousands? Give me a break! You are one black man with a boulder on their shoulder!

5. David,

After this could you do an article of the slaughter of the albinos in Tanzania? It has been going on for several years. Witch doctors allegedly use their body parts in portions and rituals to cure everything from AIDS to malnutrition. It is horrific.

6. @Pat

Many of us rant about our African heritage but how many take the time to familiarise ourselves with the horror taking place in many African countries. How many take the time to join causes, we don’t even remember Haiti.

We don’t include Aja in our criticism of course.

7. Do u think Africans give a toss about west indians UNLESS THEY’RE ABSOLUTELY, DESPERATE!! And then, ONLY FOR THE DURATION OF THEIR DESPERATENESS!!

Wake up Bros and stop wasting ur time on people who normally, could n’t give a *uck about you!

8. When does one’s ability to be compassionate guided by the way others feel.

9. DAVID:

Marginalise the difference, then vilify.

I’m certain negroman would be first in line to drive nails in those stinky Indos’
    skulls.

You feel good about that?

10. 199
    True; particularly amounts the academics who should know better. The others who hate us are the simple garden variety. But there is a responsibility after all the numbers of Blacks in the world when compared to the rest is seriously under threat, particularly with AIDS and all. The responsibility is to build a relationship that is lasting and not let ignorance, manufactured or otherwise, stand in the way.

Dupps
    I got two White grand parents so I White, just like Obama, all though I ain’ as White as you.

Pat,
    What about the an article on the slaughter and torturing of Meditation Peoples all over the world as a result of an invisible war on terror that was manufactured by White people. NO, how about one on the plight of the Canadian indigenous peoples?

11. What we feel good about is that as a nation we need to have frank conversations on the contentious issues. As difficult as it is for BU to highlight some of these issues, we feel we have to because Fontebelle, River Road and the Pine never will.

Case in point: what is the topic eating up the talk shows at the moment?

12. Africa is difficult to understand, to be black does not give one a special insight…it is deeper than that. Many Europeans having lived there for over half a century; have lost their lives because they thought their knowledge of the continent and its mores were sound.

I have had a lot of contact with African students in Germany and England and like us they are different, but “some” Africans believe things that leaves one speech-less.

13. BAFBFP: How you know I white? I can claim that I am descended from the Franklyn of that glorious slave rebellion. What I endeavour to do here is point out that Blacks especially dwell too much on the colour of one’s skin – this is 2008 not 1908 or 1808. If you are not part of the solution then you are part of the problem, or the problem itself. Today there is nothing standing in the way of a persons success that diligence, hardwork and a positive attitude cannot overcome. So please, stop blaming the white man for the evils of the world – we is all evil, each and every one of us.

14. @BAFBFP

Who are the “Meditation Peoples?” I dont have any knowledge of these, please enlighten me. Thanks.

Re the Canadian indigenous people, they are moving along. They are not at the end of the road yet, not equal to some, but things are unfolding as they should.

Thanks to this last two generations who have made use of the free education up to and including university, we have some of the brightest minds in all fields fighting to right wrongs.

Thanks to their bright young lawyers, who know how to carry out sound research and present a good case, they have now laid claim to millions of square kilometers of ‘stolen’ land.

In one ruling the Supreme Court of Canada ruled that the Parliament Buildings in the nations capital sits on aboriginal land. The feds have been ordered to buy it (just imagine the cost for prime downtown real estate) or pay the natives rent, including arrears.

Cases are pending for most of the island of Montreal, the City of Vancouver and many other parcels not handed over by Treaty. The Canadian Indians were not defeated in battle. They agreed to let the invaders live among them by the signing of treaties. Only the land in the treaties were ceded to Britain or France, nothing else.

Mind you, some of the reserves are in dire shape, but having visited many and spoken to elders and others, I have to admit that most of the problems are with the administration and disbursement of their moneys.

One of my first jobs after graduation was in the teaching of “native culture” to all and sundry. We have broken bannock together. We have feasted on choke cherry and bear fat jam. lol!

15. Mr Lizard,
    I asked an international academic two years ago (he gave a lecture at the Central Bank), a past Barbados Scholar, why was it that since 1945, Oriental Asia progressed and developed at a far faster rate than Africa. His response to be honest was nonsensical but my take was that other than for Opium, Oriental Asia had very little else to offer White people. That was not of course the same for Africa which for as long as time, and indeed as we speak, is being raped of its mineral wealth and its skilled people. Also the rest of the world today is reeling in the after effects of a ten year crime wave, the biggest in history that has seen the wanton waste of life, the creation of mass starvation and slaughter, bankruptcies, pending environmental catastrophes; a crime wave of financial policy and activity practiced by predominantly White administrators and consultants in places like Wall Street.
    Sorry Mr. Lizard, but this White thing is not just going to go away. We cannot all just get along

Oh Pat
    I am familiar with the term “Indian Agreement”. It’s derogatory. But when one thinks about it the “Indians” were not the defaulters or the reason for the lack of trust. The term should really be “American Agreement”. It would put a far better spin on the reality of the kind of activity that undertaken by White North American decision makers in their dealings with the rest of the non-White world. So I wonder, what in fact are these treaties that you speak of? Today the Mediterranean people (Iraqis, Afghans, Iranians, Pakistanis and so on) are very wary of these “Indian Agreements”, and so too the Africans. Now we are thinking about a Trade Agreement with Canada.
    As BIMBRO would say Oh Laaaaaaard…!

16. Banned Again from The Royal Geographic Society (and Google Earth).

Recheck the Med.

17. According to this piece these accusations of witchcraft are taking place in the NIGER DELTA and by whom, the CHRISTIANS. The Niger Delta, ah! the region abundantly rich in oil resources where the natives and the greedy oil companies are at constantly war. The oil companies are taking away the wealth and leaving the natives to live in abject poverty, squalor and pollution. And what better and more effective tool to employ than religion. ‘We gotta let these descendants of Ham know that the only way to heaven is through our god, thru our religion and while we get a few pastors to convince them that they have evil one among them and keep them distracted with inner strife and fighting we’ll continue to take their wealth and they won’t realise that it us who are actually behind there constant infighting and division.’ Divide and conquer, very effective.Don’t forget that to exorcise these demons they gotta come up with some money first. And they told us that salvation was free! Just give them our bible with the promise of getting to our heaven and we’ll take their oil and have our heaven right here on planet earth. Works every time.

18. BAFBFP

First you talk about “Meditation Peoples”, now you come with “Indian Agreement”, what the heck is an Indian agreement? Please explain.

In Canada we have no such thing. We have only Treaties, signed between the British and our first peoples, which are like any other treaty – legal and binding. Some have been broken, others not honoured, but those situations are being rectified. Google it!

While you are googling, also google the Mediterranean and see what countries lie on that sea. lol!

19. Pat
    Well I’ll be darned. I guess I meant “Indian giver”. You get the point anyway. This old age thing… Just turned 40 you know. And yeah the Meditation thing, never put your trust in spell check… anyway so Arabs are not to be referred to as Mediterranean. Are they not all very similar in appearance and dress? Mediterranean, Arab interchangeable, sorry.

I like what Hopi is saying as always.

20. David // November 27, 2008 at 2:54 pm

When does one’s ability to be compassionate guided by the way others feel.

David, my response to your question is to ask: “since when has it been sensible to allow people to make an ass of you”!! You might be content, indeed even happy, for others to make a fool of u, however, I should advise ALL Barbadians that this is NOT a wise course of action!! Other people don’t need to be told that, INCLUDING the people for whom you’re feeling sympathy, here!!

BAFBFP, thanks for your comment, bro. However, I don’t think you appreciate just how much those people HATE, US!!

Today there is nothing standing in the way of a persons success that diligence, hardwork and a positive attitude cannot overcome.

Arrant, nonsense!!

21. Hi BIMBRO
    I don’t like them either. I hate the way they speak and many of the customs that we are shown. But I am very aware that most (all) of what we are exposed to via the Western media is designed to develop exactly that kind of resentment. I honestly hate them back, but I know the source of the hate and am actively working to turn that around. Thanks for the opportunity to vent.. glad I got that load off

22. Hi BAF, unlike u I don’t need to rely on the media. I have the ‘pleasure’ (NOT!!) of actually, living with them, here in London and I can assure u that the image u recieve from the media makes them look like angels compared to what they’re really, like!! My guess is that David has no real practical, experience of them, worth mentioning which is why he can be so deceived!!

23. 199 or Bimbro or whoever you are = Who exactly are “those people hate us”? Are you a Hutu referring to a Tutsi? Are you a Zimbabwean who fled to South Africa only to be hunted down by South Africans? Has someone actually said to you “I hate you?” Or is this something your convuluted brain tells you? You have some serious problems Sir, I suggest you enlist the help of psychiatrist – they can address your problems with your self esteem.

From your veiled language I assume you are referring to whites. I have a question for you – If you hate whites so much, what the hell are you doing living in England? Why not move to Africa?

24. Dupps, Dupps
    Come on man, you must read the submissions before you respond to them.

25. Duppy, I can’t waste my time with u, Sir. Take BAF’s advice!!

26. Cuh dear, doan beat muh so, yuh hear, but I still en know who yuh does hate so….

27. Duppy Lizard

You seem to have a “big chip” on your shoulders. Just go back and read Bimbro’s posts and you will see whom he loves and whom he hates. Dont forget, he moved to England at the age of 9 some 50 plus years ago. Now, go figure.

28. Pat, u know mo bout me dan I know bout myself!!

Larrrd a mercy!!

29. Duppy, quite apart from the real point which I was making earlier, your remark implies that white people are all or mostly, not prejudiced against black people!!

May I ask, (1) have you actually, lived in the UK or any country with a vastly, superior in numbers, white majority population? And, if so,

(2) did u find them to be always welcoming and fair in their dealings with you? If not,

(3) did you allow their hostility to make u pick-up-sticks and make it back to Bim before u were good and ready!!

You might be better able to c now, why I and any other right thinking persons would regard your earlier remark as silly, to say the least!!

30. 199

Duppy Lizard is white!!

31. Patsy, can u please lern fe mine ur biznizz!! Duppy can still anwer fuh eself!! Tanks,anyway!!

32. Pat
    Da ain’ true. He say that he is a descendant of Washington Franklyn so he got li’l tar in he veins. Ya know, ‘bout hey yah go’a be pure to be considered White. But according to de BAFBFP definition of Black he can Black nider, he disqualify, ‘causin’ he is a hypocrite,

33. BAFBFP

Yes he will come on this blog and say he got a stripe from the tar brush. Tell me, is he going to admit that to his friends and associates? He black what? He defends the whites through thick and thin.

This is not your blog. I can comment and post any information I want to. If you dont like it, restart your own blog. cheuuuuuupse

34. BAFBFP // November 29, 2008 at 7:34 pm

Pat
    Da ain’ true. He say that he is a descendant of Washington Franklyn so he got li’l tar in he veins. Ya know, ‘bout hey yah go’a be pure to be considered White.

BAF, that gave me a good, laugh here this morning!! Thanks, bro!!

This is not your blog. I can comment and post any information I want to. If you dont like it, restart your own blog. cheuuuuuupse

Ok, Pat!! Thanks for those licks, girl!!

LOL!!

35. Dear Pat: I do believe I extended an apology to BAFBFP for misreading his post (I still don’t who he hates, but I guess that is irrelevant). As for defending “whites through thick and thin” = I have attempted in my posts to point out the hypocrisy in some of the racist comments here, which in main stream media would amount to hate crime (at least in most white dominated cultures).

One only has to look at the recent events in Mumbai, India to see where this leads.

I hope you have a nice Sunday.

36. Sorry, that should have read Bimbro’s post.

37. Duppy, I suppose, U know wha u talking bout but I’m not sure that anybody else, does!!

Now, u seem to be opposed to free speech, too!! What’s the probablilty that you, yourself, r ok, and ur happy for others to remain in the gutter!! I think that’s probably, a fair assessment of u!! However, the days of slavery, r finished, massa!!

38. Some years ago there was a song which had a line something to the effect “whatever gets you through the night, it’s allright”…may you all find peace at the end of the rainbow.

Bye, bye

39. Duppy Lizard,

Thanks for the explanation. You may be on to something, but in Mumbai, most of the dead were Indians.

Yes I had a VERY good Sunday. Just came home from an excellent concert by Neil Diamond. Man, that man can sing and the Palladium rocked. Two hours of straight non-stop singing. Young fellows today could not do it. After half an hour they walk off the stage.

Excellent seat, right of stage, price was right – FREE. My Indian (Tamil) girl friend got two and took lil ole me.

40. Do u know who Neil Diamond, is!! Yes, he ole, like u!!

Laaaaaaadddddddddddddddd!!!!

41. Barbadians please be aware of the Nigerians in the country. These people have a very bad reputation of conning and stealing. They know and have every trick in the book.

The majority of the identity in America is done by Nigerians. For further information on these people, go to Yahoo.com and in the search section input “Nigerians in Houston, Texas.
    There, there is plenty of information for your protection.

This goes also to employers. There love to work at country clubs, hotels, golf course where they will have access to lockers to steal credit cards.