Stedson Wiltshire (Red Plastic Bag) gave a vivid description of what is seen on Kadooment Day in a calypso song entitled Something Happening. The joyful song presents a stark contrast to the sobering reality unfolding in Barbados. With a backdrop of Covid-19, the cause of labour unrest is deeply disturbing as it is related to changes in the Severance Pay Act and the refusal of some hotels to pay their potion of the workers’ severance pay. As the reality of this crisis sets in, anguish, lack of information, confusion and frustration confront a large section of the population and now a once docile people seem to be erupting. Protests have become a fixture on the landscape with 40% unemployed predominately in the tourism sector; no one knows how this will end but something is definitely happening.

There is no comparison in recent history to what is now unfolding. Complexity and growth of the economy makes it distinct from the 1930’s but it is noteworthy that there was no labour union to prevent the downward spiral that culminated in the 1937 riots in Barbados. Trade unionism came into existence after the riots to protect the rights of labour in 1941. What is mindboggling is that it was out of the struggle of the black working class that both the Barbados Workers Union (BWU) and the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) were conceived and born. Now the relationship is akin to 2 children abandoning their mother. This should never have become a matter of political expediency as the BWU depends on the black working class for financial support and the Barbados Labour party depends on the black working class (the largest voting group) for votes. The action of both has shown that they have joined forces and abandoned this class.

In contrast with the song, one can see questionable union actions. One can query the BWU’s agreement to the BEST Program as it offers less than favourable relief to the workers than to the hotels. The program provides financial assistance to hotels and a wage subsidy to workers but no severance. It was stated that only $30 Million of the $300 Million dollars has been taken by the hotels. Part of the remaining $ 270 Million dollars can be used as severance for the workers. Essentially the BEST program is fundamentally flawed as it does not contain a severance payment option.

One can also query why the recently held press conference only resulted in a solution for the workers of Club Barbados and did not take into consideration the thousands of other unemployed workers. What was required is an across the board solution for the hotel industry and any other affected industries. There were so many twists and turns regarding the story of the workers of Club Barbados that it is difficult to decipher but yet it does not justify treatment as a special case as it leaves out others whose plight is the same.

Both the Prime Minister and Ms. Moore chastised the Media but one cannot imagine how the secret of 40% unemployed in Barbados could be kept, not discussed or their protests not covered if they take to the streets. A fair Press is not the enemy of the people. Highlighting these stories humanized the suffering of the workers. They became real people with real problems and in need of real solutions. We all felt their pain. Change is never a factor that comes into play with silence or secrecy; with them ignorance pervades. What the media can do in addition to highlighting the protest is to utilize the top corner of the new paper to daily post unemployment numbers, NIS payouts as a show of solidarity with the workers and carry stories of how this crisis has affected individual persons and neighbourhoods.

One can see government as having created an environment for the lack of trust. The role of government in any democratic society is to provide an enabling environment for all to flourish. This is exhibited in the provision of social services and laws. When the Severance Payment Act was amended in August 2020, the reason for its changes and the why now could not be justified as it was the midst of the current pandemic. The changes now extend the layoff period from 13 to 22 weeks before they can file for severance and that employees must give 4 weeks notice to the employer prior to the end of the 22 weeks period. It also states that the employer can contest severance. It is a punitive amendment to the law and has led to much confusion and ultimately the amended act is disadvantageous as the underlying principle is to disqualify workers from obtaining severance payments. The level of confidence in the government with regards to the treatment to workers is now at an all-time low.

One can also see that this is not only an economic issue. It is also a matter of social justice. Less than favourable treatment has been meted out to one specific class of the population; the black working class. The same people who for almost 400 years have been feeling the brunt of what occurs in the Barbadian society. This class has the highest rate of unemployment, highest incidence of crime, the highest rate of minimum wages, have a high cost of living, poor housing, reduced access to potable water, are in need of proper roads and combined they pay the highest taxes. The only positive thing that they as a group possess is votes at election time. It is these same people who are in need and are being denied the money that should be theirs. One of the women, a former Club Barbados worker lamented that she feels like George Floyd with the weight of someone’s foot on her neck and that she could not breathe. Do their lives and livelihood matter?

One hopes that now we are in the post Nelson era, that governance comes with an aspect of social justice; that no decisions are made on the behalf of the people without consideration of how the disadvantaged black working class will be affected and that there will be a living wage, programs put in place not for pit toilets but for creating wealth to remove vicious the cycle of poverty. If the opportunity to create wealth can be provided to the already privileged it should also be provided to the black working class. The government saw it fit to compulsorily acquire property on Bay Street to give to a developer. It must also do the same for the black working class through co-operatives for agriculture, business development and housing. It is hoped that laws which still seem to be derived from the slave codes will be removed from the laws of Barbados. This is in reference to laws being written from the punitive point of view of ‘let us deny them that colonial mentality’; as though some things are still just too good for the black working class of Barbados.

The irony of these developments is that both the BWU and BLP have bitten the hand that feeds them.

345 responses to “Another Heather Cole Column – Something Happening”

1. Artax,

🙄

2. As per Madam PM:
    “There are ways of dealing with these matters and we know how to do it and we can do it without undermining the confidence that those who may be watching us from outside have in us literally because they see all of these examples of what they view as wildcat action taking place in this nation,” Ms. Mottley advised
    ++++++++++++
    Cry me a river, karma bites when yuh least expect, what goes around comes around; oh the cliches I could write. Good for the workers to exercise whatever power they have, perhaps the member for St. George North can use her vast experience and knowledge to help with this situation.

Many hands make light work.

3. @ Artax
    My construction may be misleading
    I meant to say that we still believe in brining in non Barbadians from overseas. In my opinion , we do so because we still believe that it’s better than bringIng in Bajans from overseas who are capable.
    I should have gone further and stated that we overlook even Bajans on the island who can do the job.
    Thanks for brining the confusion to my attention. Highly appreciated,
    Peace

4. I checked the BT website and the article is on Pg.3

5. @Sargeat

We should not simplify or CONTINUE to play politics with what is playing out in a challenging economic environment for the country. Several of the hotels have not been generating healthy cash flows for many years.

6. the article is on page 1 of local news on BT

7. @Sargeat

We should not simplify or CONTINUE to play politics with what is playing out in a challenging economic environment for the country. Several of the hotels have not been generating healthy cash flows for many years.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

POLITICS OR SHOULD I SAY POLITICKING CAME INTO PLAY WHEN THE DECEITFUL CURRENT BLP GOVERNMENT SEEKED TO DISADVANTAGE BLACK BAJAN WORKERS TO CHANGE THE SEVERANCE REQUIREMENTS WHILST GIVING MORE POWER AND LEVERAGE TO THEIR PAYMASTERS PRIMARILY WHITE OWNED BUSINESSES.

BRINGING MORE PAIN, HUNGER AND SUFFERING TO THE BLACK BAJAN WORKERS AND THEIR FAMILIES WHO DEPEND ON THEM TO EAT AND FOR SHELTER,

THAT IS THE 2020 REALITY ON THE GROUND.

8. I wonder, does it EVER have anything to do with the attitude of SOME overseas Bajans or is it ALWAYS ALL the fault of stay-at-home Bajans.

Have all overseas Bajans been cured of their Bajan Condition by the white man medicine administered to them up north?

My experience is that there is blame on both sides.

And now let the wolf pack descend from the The Great White North with bared fangs!

No skin off my nose!

9. As I have said before, I have seen no good purpose for the new legislation. And I did not listen to Ms. Mottley’s Independence Day speech but if she said what is reported about suffering workers then she deserves a cut ass. Since when have workers received their due by anything other than noise-making?

Did she not march to Bay Street and make loud noises in recent times?

Mia scares!

10. @Sargeant
    Thanks. I found it but it’s a bit hidden away on the website considering this is one of the most important developments in Barbados at the moment.

11. Donna

i dont want say its all overseas bajans. but i would agree with you that it the attitudes of some. Not only those that reside overseas but some that leave to study and then come back home and work. SOME not all have to go through an attude adjustment .

12. A figuratively speaking cut ass, of course.

13. RE I meant to say that we still believe in brining in non Barbadians from overseas. In my opinion , we do so because we still believe that it’s better than bringIng in Bajans from overseas who are capable.
    I should have gone further and stated that we overlook even Bajans on the island who can do the job.

THIS IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED (TITUS 2:8)
    IN THE LATE 70’S WHEN THE BLP SOUGHT TO INTRODUCE OUR NATIONAL HEALTH SYSTEM, AND THEREBY IMPROVEON OUR EXISTING PRACTICES AT THE TIME, THE KELLOG’S FOUNDATION WAS SOUGHT TO ADVISE.

THEIR PEOPLE CAME AND ASKED THE PROFESSIONALS ON THE ISLAND FOR THEIR ADVICE AND WROTE THEIR REPORT THEREON. THEIR REPORT WAS UNTENABLE, AS THEY OFFERED NO REAL SOLUTIONS

ON OBTAINING AND DIGESTING A COPY OF THIS DOCUMENT, AND AT A TIME WHEN THE MEDICAL FRATERNITY AND GOVERNMENT WERE AT LOGGERHEADS OVER THE THEN IMMINENT INTRODUCTION OF ADAMS WISHES FOR A NHS, I WROTE ADAMS WITH A PROPOSAL, WHICH THE MEDICAL ILLITERATE REJECTED.

FORTUNATELY, HE DIED SOON AFTERWARDS, AND VIC JOHNSON LISTENED TO ME, AND MY VIEW PREVAILED, EVEN IF NOT IN ITS ENTIRETY. .

14. @ Mr. Skinner

Thanks for the clarification.

“We’re still bringing in expatriates in” as managers, executive chefs, executive housekeepers, financial controllers, chief engineers, purchasing managers and even ‘head gardener.’

I recall a few years ago a local hotel advertised for a executive chef/trainer and among the qualifying requirements for the job was, the applicant must also be a qualified teacher with a degree in computer science. We all know they exaggerate the requirements so as to disqualify certain applicants and as a basis to justify them applying for a work permit for the non-national they already chosen for the job.

It so happened a Barbadian, who was a teacher and had a degree in computer science before leaving Barbados to work in the hotel industry and subsequently became a qualified executive chef, applied for the job. Although, he would have met the all qualifying requirements, they did not even acknowledge receipt of his application.

I’m amazed that, with BCC’s PomMarine Hotel and UWI offering degrees in international tourism management, hospitality & tourism management etc, Sandy Lane Hotel can never find a suitable applicant for any job and must always apply for work permits. That hotel has recently advertised a vacancy for an ‘executive housekeeper.’ I’m sure they will not receive any suitable applications and apply for a work permit to bring in a non-national for the job.

We have discussed these issued on BU numerous times, but, unfortunately some idiot made a snide remark at my observations, only to subsequently make or agree with similar comments. It’s not about what is contributed, it’s who makes the contribution.

15. RE It’s not about what is contributed, it’s who makes the contribution.
    ONCE MORE, THIS IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED (OR CONDEMNED)

16. John 2,

This has ALWAYS been my point. There is blame on both sides.

I have known some totally obnoxious and resistant stay-at-home Bajans.

I have known some equally obnoxious and condescending returning Bajans.

My mother studied nursing in England. Many people often asked her how she could get co-operation from the junior nurses and have the ward running so smoothly. She said instead of giving orders she always asked if the junior would mind doing this or that task for her, PLEASE. And she was generous with her thank yous. It was as simple as that!

It is ALL in the attitude. People can be won over, but not by others who see themselves as superior and cannot hide it.

17. David i submitted a comment and i am awaiting to see the posting
    Some how i am beginning to believe in all reality that with so much fire being heaped on govt orders are being handed to shut out ingoing criticisms
    My last comment which you have not posted was fair and on point
    Deal with freedom of speech and avoid shooting the messenger

18. Monday this week I had to give an impromptu speech to a group of colleagues for two minutes. Can you guess what came to mind. I talked of Independence day and a little of my history. I surprised the hell out of myself.

The review: We could see your passion and your love for your country.

It is quite possible that some of what I write my cause some of you to think that I show shade, but the love is there.

TheO Independence Day Honors: The blogmaster for creating a place for different voices.

—————————xx————-
    🙂 One recipient refused a TheO’s honor.
    Guess who is off of TheO’s good list but is on the committee’s other list 🙂

19. I had a well-qualified friend who had even worked for some years on Wall Street. She had to leave due to worsening asthma, maybe triggered by 911 toxic dust. She was told that if she ever returned there would be a job waiting for her without delay.

Down here she had to leave a couple of positions because they brought some white guy from overseas and expected her to train him to be her boss.

Everybody knows the “NO SUITABLE APPLICANTS HAVING BEEN RECEIVED” scam. I think Trevor Marshall has identified that as his post-Nelson project.

Caswell should join forces with him.

Somebody needs to compile a folder on the work permit applications. It would be a good task for an investigative journalist, if we had one.

20. Yup! I refused. Did not want to be in that company. Still don’t.

21. @ William

I have been singing the praises of the Jamaicans since I was a young man, with their strength in athletics. But they are now beating the rest of the English-speaking Caribbean across the board – academic, business, sports, etc.
    The Jamaicans have just opened a bank in the UK _ they insist on calling it a CARIBBEAN BANK, AND QUITE RIGHTLY. And they have done something that I have been calling for in Barbados for years. (www.jn-UK.com)
    The chairman, a former Bank of England adviser, and chief executive of the bank are both Brits. This neutralises all over-scrutiny by the Bank of England.
    But, here is the key, the deputy CEO is a young Jamaican woman, who has lived in the UK for a number of years and has had her education, including degree and post-graduate degree, in the UK. In time, all things being equal, this young lady will smoothly move in to the CEO’s chair.
    Remember, the BNB tried for years to get a branch in the UK and failed. Our national problem is not only one of competence, but of a deep psychological urge to tell the world we are world class, as individuals and as a nation.

22. Let me say something about the blogmaster.

I believe that the man does not fully recognize his ‘genius’ or the true value of his product.

I see a man who tries to wear too many hats- a champion of change and improvement, lobbying for a more constructive discussion and then in the words or Mariposa “holding an umbrella over Mia”.

Three cheers for the blogmaster.

Have a fun morning guys. Catch you later

23. Well almost two hours and counting havent seen my comment
    Any how this is a summary in a nut shell
    Toni Moore and Mia threw govt workers under the bus not once but several times
    The promised of a wage increased which turned out to be nothing but pennies not enough to buy food
    The Boss implementation which all but took back the measly increase
    Now the Severance pay revision which gave the benefits to the employer while workers rights were left hanging by a thread
    Moore and Mia looking out for workers right when past evidence has shown they have not is like putting the mongoose in charge of the hen house

24. @ Artax
    We spend so much time looking at the messenger that we never get the message. We are still at the “half a loaf is better than no loaf at all stage”. The damn thing is that we never even got close to the blasted half loaf ! Imagine after nearly three decades of independence , we can’t tell a hotel that if they don’t employ quailified nationals or put a specified time to train Barbadians to fill positions , we will shut your ass down.

@ Hal
    The greatest entertainer Barbadoshas ever produced was Jackie Opel. He was instrumental in developing the Jamaican music scene. He came back to Barbados and created the Spouge beat. We failed to develop it. Look at reggae and jerk-they are internationa products/. brands. Our national stadium has been in disrepair for donkey years. Look at Jamaica, one of the most advanced high school athletic training programs in the world.

25. @ Mariposa

Plse note that we have had nearly 3000 blogs about the nauseous US presidential elections, something we have never had to my knowledge about anything in Barbadian politics. This tells you everything.

26. And of the 3000, 2000 were posted by 2 commenters so what is your point?

27. I was on my way out..
    I do not usually comment on the Trump blog, but to me it is now the funniest section of BU.
    It has everything…a daily sermon, John telling nuff lies, critical posting useless stuff, sargeant, dpd, he/she off theo’s xmas list, the blogmaster, Hants (whose keyboard is only producing numbers), mariposa who doesn’t know which side she is on, cuhdear who is punching well above her weight, et al.

Enjoying it.

Stick in your lane and let others drive where they want.

28. The second point the analyticals would have taken note – we have multiple blogs about local issues compared to one blog posted a month ago about the US election.

29. @ William

I remember Jackie Opel before he went to Jamaica but missed his return with the Spouge. Barbados has always produced great entertainers: Michael Wilkinson, Norma Stoute, Richard Stoute, Clarence Thompson, Ken Jemmott, the Opels, the Draytons, Jiggs Kirton, Tony ‘Fatchild’ Norville, I can go on and on without mentioning Rihanna.
    I have also called for Richard Stoute to be given the highest award in the land, but of course he did not go to Harrison College or UWI, so the powers that be will whip up some bogus case against him. People who themselves are unethical and amoral.
    Remember WIRL? We have failed to exploit the Rihanna dividend in the way the Jamaicans have the Bob Marley spin off. The biggest attraction in Jamaica for Japanese tourists is the Bob Marley trail.
    You may recall I have called on a number of occasion fora the development of a leisure industry, to go alongside our hotels. But we have allowed New Barbadians to capture the tourism narrative with crap about hotel occupancy.

30. Hal yeap
    It is called the rabbit hole syndrome cleverly created by the master
    Very clever indeed so much so that the posting can attract the attention of the socalled intellectuals some that have no stake in the USA
    Meanwhile the

31. William Skinner is fond of saying “peace”; whereas I am fond of saying that black Bajans are surplus to requirements in Barbados.

Mia has merely echoed my long held views. Her masked slipped and she revealed what our leaders and their backers truly think of the black masses.

It is rare for a leader to use such candid language towards their fellow citizens. It was dismissive at at best.

We should thank Mia for her candour and move on. She has probably set in train a movement that will mobilise the masses to safeguard their future. Prepare for a rearrangement of the ship deck. I envisage a rejection of our political elite and the growth of a new political party; possibly under the tutelage of Franklyn and Kammie. True Bajans who represent the pulse of the train. We need others to board the train – hint, hint GP2 and the rest of you.

It should be apparent to all like-minded black Bajans that their very existence is in jeopardy under this current regime.

32. Nation not train!

33. And Rudy Boyce the Golden Voice who made the mistake of lusting after a white woman.

Just yesterday I was speaking to my Rasta cousin about the tremendous opportunities Rihanna has handed to us on a platter. Her success at being genuine Bajan is all she needed to give us. She really should not have to do any more.

Some of the my young people who are off on scholarship studying in American universities such as Columbia and Stanford tell me that some American girls find their Barbadianness fascinating and bug them constantly to hang out.

34. SKINNER WROTE
    Imagine after nearly three decades of independence , we can’t tell a hotel that if they don’t employ quailified nationals or put a specified time to train Barbadians to fill positions , we will shut your ass down.

AGAIN, SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE CONDEMNED OR REFUTED

HOW MANY OFFSHORE MEDICALS DO WE NOW HAVE IN BARBADOS?
    HOW MANY OF THEM EMPLOY BAJAN DOCTORS?
    AS FAR AS I KNOW- ONE AND HE IS A WHITE MAN!

NOW I KNOW THAT ALL OF THESE SCHOOLS MUST PAY THROUGH THE NOSE FOR WORK PERMITS FOR EXPATRIATE TEACHERS

ARE WE NOT TO WONDER THAT GOVERNMENT ALLOWS OFFSHORE SCHOOLS TO COME AND EMPLOY EXPATRIOTS BECAUSE GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS ARE MAKING GOOD MONEY POCKETING THE MONEY COLLECTED FOR WORK PERMITS?

35. No, we are not at the half a loaf is better than none stage. We are at the once we we had none. Then we had the crumbs. Now we have two slices. It’s time for the cheese. Lettuce and tomato will come a little later.

36. Heather
    I maintain that those entitled to severance pay who apply for it should be paid.

On your points, could you point me to the amendments to the act that “disadvantaged poor people” and removed employers’ responsibility to pay? What would have been the impact of keeping the 13-week threshold for severance eligibility? Were unemployment benefits extended to 26 weeks and who benefitted? Who will have to cover the cost of the extension? On the $300M, how should it be split between both parties? Isn’t the money only accessible to those who join the programme (which is part grant/part shares) and is to pay for re-engaged employees at 80% of their salary, limited VSEP, training and support retrofit/upgrade plant? Aren’t employees therefore benefitting and are hotel owners required to contribute upfront? Aren’t workers’ entitlement to severance maintained, unemployment benefits restored after 12months and most importantly jobs secured?
    The government thinking of the bigger, long-term picture does not appear to be seeking to “disadvantage poor people”. Disadvantaging poor people is engendering their long-term unemployment for short-term gain. I repeat, we are also experiencing the effects of the Covid pandemic, it has not bypassed us.

37. Baje we call that short sighted thought process the Mugabe effect.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

@ Lawson you as a white man would like to see the status quo on the 2 x 3 island where the majority of local blacks barely eked out a living dominated by white and to a lesser extend indian owned businesses that they patronise.

For black Bajan masses to truly progress they need to take their spending power and circulate primarily among themselves.

THAT IS THE ONLY WAY THE MENTAL CHAIN WILL BE BROKEN AND THEY WILL THEN HAVE REAL POWER AND PROGRESS.

38. For black Bajan masses to truly progress they need to take their spending power and circulate primarily among themselves

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Agreed 100%

39. Mia needs to talk less. Those workers had been more than patient. If she wanted them to be quiet she should have instructed her Minister of Labour to keep abreast of these situations. If she thinks poor industrial relations will deter potential investors she should make it plain to employers that exploitation of workers will not be toletated. We do not need more unscrupulous foreign investors looking to rape the country and leave a ten dollar bill on the dresser. They can stay away from Barbados. Those who are prepared to offer mutual benefit would see the indignities being visited upon workers as the problem and not the noise and protests of the workers demanding respect.

Who is she looking to attract?

But really she just sees it as a blemish on the international brand she is seeking to create for herself.

But ….”[she] belly full but dem hungry.
    A hungry man is an angry man.”

Bob Marley.

She knows the lyrics. She ought to be made to write 100 lines in detention.

40. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    I had the experience of visiting the Bob Marley birth place. Talk about authenticity! I have long said that the entire Walcotts Ave where Sir Garry comes from should have been developed into a tourist attraction involving his Neighbour’s and family home etc. I know that English and Australian tourists would have visited and promoted it.
    BTW have you ever seen a proper Tourism ad centered on cou cou and flying fish?Imagine, I visited St.Lawrence gap , looking for a breakfast joint and the people offering me bagels! We could have developed a traditional Barbados kite industry etc. Right now Road Tennis should be earning some foreign exchange. We should have a major agro/ fruit producing industry.
    I have gone to official functions sponsored by overseas government agencies and did not see a single bottle of our rum. I looked around the room and there was no dynamic net working or promotion of the island. I was involved in preventing a major embarrassment when we were trying to promote World Cup cricket. We have political party hacks representing us overseas who cannot give/present a simple speech / presentation etc.
    Peace

41. “It is rare for a leader to use such candid language towards their fellow citizens. It was dismissive at at best.

We should thank Mia for her candour and move on. She has probably set in train a movement that will mobilise the masses to safeguard their future. Prepare for a rearrangement of the ship deck. I envisage a rejection of our political elite and the growth of a new political party; possibly under the tutelage of Franklyn and Kammie. True Bajans who represent the pulse of the train. We need others to board the train – hint, hint GP2 and the rest of you.

It should be apparent to all like-minded black Bajans that their very existence is in jeopardy under this current regime.”

if they can’t see it now and get rid of black face governments that hold such hatred and disdain for the black population who elected, hire and pay them, they never will, if they don’t STOP spending their money with minority white, indian, syrian and others and circulate that money among themselves instead, they’ll ALWAYS BE REDUCED TO POVERTY….we can only do so much and post so much, before the BLACK POPULATON HAS TO TAKE CONTROL of what is theirs for their own best interest and safety. Black America is having tremendous success with their BUY BLACK initiative in a WHITE MAJORITY COUNTRY, and so to can Black people in Barbados and around the Caribbean in BLACK MAJORITY COUNTRIES..we can only say so much TLSN, but we keep trying.

Am extremely pleased to see the people at last standing up to tyranny and selloutism…a huge improvement to what obtained before, baby steps before that GIGANTIC LEAP….i just hope they speed it up.

“The workers are protesting against the hotels (which are responsible for paying the severance) and not against the government who would be heartless not to assist them in their plight (any government in any country).”

and that’s how Mia exposed herself, she’s taking up fire rage for tiefing, no good hotel industry employers by trying to shut down the press from reporting on the worker’s protesting against said employers, they were not protesting Mia’s big brain cockup of amending the labor laws, most don’t even know she did that, the protest was about getting their money from employers and she went after the press, the workers and everyone who tried to help them…..BIG COCKUP….that is what the yardfowl is missing as usual, that’s what happens when ya operating with only a few braincells…

42. Theo…I believe Blogmaster will make sure BU evolves, he will be forced to, given the current rapid changes taking place on what websites and informational forums are now experiencing and are expected to accommodate for progress, the extensively increased DEMAND for upgraded information….the info is out there, it’s just to find what’s now in demand and upload.

i was blown away at the new upgrades, same sites but better information delivery, AGAIN, INFORMATION CONTENT UPGRADE, nothing else was changed..

43. To the topic at hand.

Mixed views on industrial actions
    By Michelle M. Russell
    Last week, the media was filled with several people expressing views on the industrial actions that have taken place over the last few weeks.
    The views have been divergent but most have expressed support for the workers’ actions.
    Both Senator Caswell Franklyn and the Opposition Leader Rev.
    Joseph Atherley bIamed the current administration for the protests.
    Atherley accused the Government of favouring capital over labour, causing detriment to the working class.
    Franklyn claimed it was “[PM Mia Amor] Mottley’s attempts to neutralise the country’s labour movement that is now coming back to haunt her administration in the form of wildcat action.
    While empathetic to the plight of these workers, Franklyn advised that he declined invitations to lead aggrieved workers in demonstration as “walking around in the hot sun won’t put money in people’s pockets and food on the table to feed their children”.
    Well, walking around in the hot sun (and rain) allowed the ex-workers of The Club Beach and Resort and The Cliff to get speedier payment of their severance so they may disagree with Franklyn’s latter statement.
    Minister of Labour Colin Jordan also made comments in Parliament last week concerning the strike actions. He chided employers who mistreat their workers and encouraged employers to communicate with their employees. However, he discouraged workers from protesting since “Barbados’ claim to fame . . . in the post-Independence era is to maintain a certain level of order”.
    Wildcat action
    Similar sentiments were expressed by Prime Minister Mia Mottley who, during her Independence address, advised workers that “there are ways of dealing with these matters . . . without undermining the confidence that those who may be watching us from outside have in us literally, because they see all of these examples of what they view as wildcat action taking place in this nation”. She promised that Government would assist workers by providing severance payments through NIS [National Insurance Scheme].
    I found the Prime Minister’s remarks somewhat surprising since while the then Opposition Leader, she participated proudly with the unions and people of Barbados in the July 2017 nationwide protest against labour and other shortcomings of the Freundel Stuart-led administration.
    Perhaps the most pointed comments emanated from Dr Don Marshall, who stated that “the outbreak of wild cat strikes in recent months is an ominous sign of a workforce that is now out of patience after more than ten years of pent up frustration, exacerbated by the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic . . . the workers are saying that they will trust that their institutions will work for us or we will trust that putting down our tools will”. He
    Workers are financially strained and desperate times call for desperate measures.impressed the need to “expand the Social Partnership in order to come up with solutions to this increased militancy within labour or face an industrial relations crisis”.
    This brings me to the meat of the matter. Despite several comments on the industrial actions, particularly from Government ministers, very little was said on practical solutions that would be implemented to reduce the unrest. Will a meeting of the Social Partnership be convened to address the mistreatment of workers by employers including imposing sanctions, policies or agreements to deter the breach of labour laws and best practices?
    Will labour legislation be amended to create penalties for employers who flout the labour laws? Will additional resources be dispatched to NIS to increase the processing and issue of payments? And what additional measures are being considered to assist workers in managing the next six months of the pandemic once their unemployment benefits and or severance payments run out?
    Workers are financially strained and desperate times call for desperate measures.
    Unless speedy and tangible solutions are put in place to assist the unemployed and underemployed, then the remarks of Marshall may prove true and Barbados may face a possible industrial relations crisis. Government must provide not only speedier payments of benefits or severance, but must also introduce legal sanctions to enforce compliance with labour laws and help quiet the unrest. One last thing. What is being done about employers who hide behind corporations while avoiding severance and other payments to previous workers?
    Michelle M. Russell is an Attorney-at-Law with a passion for Employment Law and labour matters. Email: mrussell.ja@gmail.com

44. Realistic expectations needed by both sides
    by Sheena Mayers-Granville
    The increased activity recently seen in the industrial relations climate is directly linked to both employers and employees struggling under the weight of the economic fallout from the COVID-19 pandemic. While the impact continues to be felt across the entire island and in all economic sectors, the tourism industry, our major income earner, has seen the largest contraction.
    Below are a few key considerations that apply to the current industrial relations climate:
    • The decision to retrench staff
    is never an easy one. Employers have been thrown into an operating environment where the level of uncertainty is unprecedented. Many would have been aiming to re-open and recall workers for this winter tourist season only to receive sudden cancellations as Britain introduced a second lockdown. Many employers have also been trying creative ways to remain open only to be met with unforeseen hurdles and therefore forced to make the difficult decision to terminate staff.
    • Only successful businesses have
    employees; closed ones do not. It is easier for a business to recover and reemploy persons from a scaled down operation than from a complete closure. Therefore, businesses must maintain cashflow to weather the storm and re-employ staff in an improved economy.
    • The Severance Fund which is
    administered through the National
    Insurance Scheme (NIS) exists to
    assist employers where they cannot afford the initial payments. However, even when not contested, and with the expedited procedures at NIS, there is
    a process to be followed which takes time.
    Juggling commitments after losing a job or having reduced income is difficult for anyone. We especially empathise with those workers awaiting severance payments. In this reality, there must be effective communication between employees and employers, supported by realistic expectations on both sides, for the
    relationship to work and to settle disputes with minimum acrimony. Employers are therefore encouraged to inform employees at the earliest possible opportunity when it becomes apparent that it will not be possible to maintain existing employment levels and reach out to NIS for assistance where necessary. Employers must maintain communication with employees on matters that affect their employment and therefore their ability to meet their commitments.
    Where employees are unsure about benefits or rights, there are various institutions that can assist them including the Labour Department or trade union. The Barbados Employers’ Confederation (BEC) has been helping businesses to navigate industrial relations issues, with many matters having been resolved without industrial activity. As we continue to assist employers through these difficult and unprecedented times, we again call for greater collaboration in labour management relations, and encourage employers grappling with uncertainty to lean on the BEC for assistance.
    The BEC remains committed to ensuring that all employers have access to the necessary guidance as we navigate these challenging circumstances.
    Sheena Mayers-Granville is executive director of the Barbados Employers’ Confederation.

45. Sorry i can’t help more than that, but because of prior commitments and a sense of loyalty, this is the best that can be done, which is good info still….and no one needs a useless government to proceed to the more positive and life changing movement to reverse generational mind damage.

46. PAY WARNING
    Political scientist says Govt letting companies off the hook
    By Colville Mounsey colvillemounsey@nationnews. com
    Government is being warned that its decision to pay protesting former hotel workers outstanding severance through the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) is allowing employers to emerge unscathed despite flouting industrial relations expectations.
    The admonition has come from University of the West Indies political scientist Dr Tennyson Joseph, who said the recent spate of wildcat strikes over the non-payment of severance pointed to an industrial relations system that needed tougher laws.
    On the other hand, fellow political scientist Peter Wickham is arguing that both Government and the hotel sector are in an unprecedented situation and while he is sympathising with the workers, one could not force hoteliers to pay what they did not have.
    Joseph told the Sunday Sun that while paying the severance might solve a short-term issue, it was likely to embolden greater disregard for industrial relations practices.
    “It is actually making them get away with doing the wrong thing. Instead of taking a firm stance against them and insisting that they face their responsibility, Government is taking the option of providing the solution for them. I know that Prime Minister [Mia Amor Mottley] said in her Independence Day message that the necessary steps would be taken to recover the funds, but we all know that if a company goes into a receivership, there is very little that can be done in that regard.
    “What we are seeing is Government stepping in to save capital when capital has broken its industrial relations expectations. So, the workers may eventually be happy, but the broader problem is allowed to fester,” he said.
    In her Independence Day address, Mottley vowed that the NIS would pay the protesting workers but put employers on notice and asked frustrated employees to turn down the temperature.
    Imbalance
    Joseph was adamant the COVID-19 pandemic had shown the imbalance in the industrial relations scales which the Government needed to correct or risk even greater backlash from the workforce.
    Wickham, on the other hand, said people had to appreciate that companies had not earned any revenue to continue paying salaries or severance.
    “I think that the hotel associations are dealing with it the best that they can, and I believe that any political fallout will be minimal and short-term. The vast majority of people are understanding but I do acknowledge that there are some very angry people,” he said.
    “If a company goes into receivership, then what can the Government do about it? My thing is that we can discuss consequence if I do not have a debt profile that essentially says that I do not have the money to pay. That is why Government designed the BEST [Barbados Employment and Sustainable Transformation] plan in order to give people a lifeline,” he said.
    Retired political scientist Dr George Belle said Government was in the unenviable role of balancing the needs of capital and labour during a health crisis.
    “On one hand, the former workers have nothing to survive on now, and at the same time we do not want to call on the employers to take up that responsibility because the employers are not saying that they want to get out of the industry altogether. Rather, it is a case where they just have no revenue,” the retired academic said.
    “So it is ultimately, but unfortunately, falling on the shoulders of Government and taxpayers of this country to say that the industry is too big and too important to fail. If the workers are claiming severance, it means firstly that we have tourism labour deficit when the sector restarts, and then they are putting pressure on the employer, who is not committed to leaving the industry and would be needed when the sector bounces back.”
    Meanwhile, Democratic Labour Party leader Verla De Peiza has slammed hoteliers for heartlessly abandoning employees who gave several years of service.
    “Today, in their time of dire need, they are forced to fight their own battles to secure their entitlement to severance,” she said.

47. @ William

Paucity of ideas. Still waiting to hear what tourism officials think are the attractions of Barbados, apart from sun, sea and smiles (sometimes).
    I have said before, tourists do not come from London or Montreal or New York to get a poor intimation of French cuisine; or of Opera; or of luxury.
    They come for the Barbados experience. But our officials, in their shiny suits want to be world class. So if something is important to them it must be important to the rest of the world.

48. De Peiza’s challenge to PM on displaced workers
    President of the Democratic Labour Party, Verla De Peiza, is calling on Government to speak up on the details of the promised fast-tracking of severance for former tourism workers.
    And she wants Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley to give leadership on the industrial issues in order to calm the brewing unrest.
    De Peiza’s comments came following her recent meeting with hotel workers, some of whom were involved in wildcat strikes over the non-payment of their severance monies. She also expressed concern about the treatment of the workers by their former employers.
    “We call on the Minister of Labour and Social Partnership Relations [Colin Jordan] to give details regarding the promised fast track: are the tribunals already set up and functioning? What are the time limits for a matter to be heard? What is the time limit for payment? In respect of those who remained in work, what safeguards are there to protect the workers’ right to negotiate their contracts?” she asked.
    De Peiza said the BEST (Barbados Employment and Sustainable Transformation) programme was designed to assist workers who were offered training if they opted to remain employed, and a fast-tracked severance hearing before the Employment Rights Tribunal if the National Insurance Scheme was called upon to pay the severance.
    “The reality is, though, the former workers now find themselves caught between a rock and a hard place. Reports are that those who remained are being pressured to accept much lower wages and disadvantageous working conditions. And those who opted for severance in light of the unfavourable terms in the sunset legislation have reached the point where the unemployment benefits have expired, and they are left without guidance and no word on their severance,” she stated.
    “We call on the several ministers in the Ministry of Finance, Economic Affairs and Investment to address the country on the health of the National Insurance Severance Fund in light of the unprecedented numbers who qualify for severance; and to speak positively of the efforts to be expected to recoup the monies from the employers, several of whom receive their funding and capitalisation from outside of Barbados,” she said in a press statement.
    De Peiza said that Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs Cynthia Forde should speak up on what provisions would be available over the holiday season to ensure families were provided for, especially children who would be without school meals during the vacation. ( PR/AC)

49. Talking to myself here but…the same ideas William Skinner has are the ideas I have. I do not understand why we have not Barbadianised our tourism product. I fell in love with this place and its people almost immediately, in spite of the fact that I, as an act of childish defiance, had decided to hate it.

But there is no paucity of ideas in Barbados. I got a million of them.

And these ideas involve the whole Caribbean. I love the Caribbean vibe.

The wrong people are in the wrong positions. That is and always has been the problem.

50. Too big to fail another old and tired worn out cliche
    Well if they too big to fail
    It then begs the question what have they done with all the govt hand outs and concessions over the years
    Ram was a big company and did serve purpose for many years ( whether one agrees with Ram business approach or not) govt went ahead seize her business and threw many employees on to the street) no talking head cliche of too big to fail was said .
    Fact being that when these companies in the hotel industry behaves acts illegally against employer and govt failure is the only option along with legal recourse
    Letting them go will send a message to other companies that barbados system of govt will not tolerate any illegalities against the people or the govt
    Legal action is the only option going forward
    Meanwhile another door would be opened for fresh and clean investors to enter
    It is not fair to ask the people to pay these one arm bandits bills
    Furthermore accountability is a crucial part of achieving good governance
    Be it private sector or public sector sending stern messages across the board will reap greater benefits long term and in the long run
    COVId has exposed the good from the bad it is up to govt to do what is right by use of a fair and democratic process for the country and people disallowing these business culprits to eternally suck off govt nipples without issuing any form of punishment when they behave badly
    My cliche for these festering eyes sores call business it to let them reap what they sow
    No excuses !

Leave a Reply to MariposaCancel reply