There can be no reasonable doubt that the 12 month Barbados Welcome Stamp initiative has brought the destination an almost unparalleled level of media and public awareness and kudos to all those involved in its conception and ongoing content enhancement.

Amongst, the latest exposure is the planned Lion Television Scotland 60 minute documentary, which in their words, will ‘follow adventurous British families and individuals as they take an almighty plunge and relocate in the middle of a global pandemic, to work remotely from Barbados’.

According to the news release ‘the documentary will follow millennial Ashley, who only needs his laptop to work as a 3D digital animator, young family Kris and Brigitta and their three children who have been enrolled in a local school and Steve and Amanda. Amanda has recently retired and plans to get to know the island and its locals, while Steve works remotely for a pharmaceutical company’.

When filmed and edited the show will be aired on the UK’s Channel 4.

Popular shows on this channel, like Celebrity Bake Off have recently attracted overnight audiences of 4.4 million and Googlebox, a television reality series, 4.9 million. Interestingly, the TV Station reported, following extensive research, they have recorded up to a 38 per cent year-on-year growth to the number of 16 to 34 year olds tuning into the channel, bucking past trends. This at a time, when many conclude, that younger demographics are almost exclusively sourcing information and entertainment through other social media options.

Jo Street, Channel 4’s Head of Daytime and Head of Hub, Glasgow, who oversees the UK wide daytime commissioning team, said ‘Welcome to Barbados will bring audiences some much needed sunshine and give them the chance to escape the harsh realities of 2020, whilst dreaming about life in a hammock, on the beach… Now where do I get my Visa’?

This sort of extensive coverage can only impact positively on a destination, while helping drive additional long term visitors.
Each of these so-called ‘digital nomads’ of course requires somewhere to stay, a rented apartment, house or villa. They all have to eat, whether shopping in supermarkets or dining at our myriad of eating establishments, possibly hire a car on a long term basis, whilst paying their fair share of taxes to Government.
It has to be a win-win for everyone.

Since the Barbados Welcome Stamp was launched it has been expanded to offer a number of goods and services of particular interest to visa applicants, to make temporary relocation less challenging.

Hopefully all our tourism partners will fully evaluate the potential of this new market source and target their particular product by offering added special concessions and discounts. After all, they are beneficially piggy- backing onto this pioneering proven concept that has not cost the individual sector players a single cent in promotional costs.

123 responses to “Adrian Loveridge Column – Barbados Welcome Stamp a ‘Hit’”

1. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Lord, I am not singing in your choir?????

2. Salemite/pick-a-noise: 50
    Not-Enuff: 10
    🙂 feeling silly 🙂

Be yourself. Laugh if you feel like laughing. Don’t let the guys with starched shirts and stiff collars set your mood.
    Have a good night.

3. Where was carson cadogan when his dlp was running rampant with all types of maladministration?

And he aint complained then so he’s lost the moral authority to do so now.

That is what party alliances do to yuh.

4. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Are these people being told that Barbados is the 4th most expensive place in the World to live according to a recent international study???

Who will control their money?????

Who is giving them information about where to stay?????

We know that poor people don’t have any websites????

Will they be allowed to mingle with Locals or will they be offguard as they are now????

5. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Carson C Cadogan
    I understand your skepticism and I share it. I am trying to make sure as far as I can that they buy their vegetables from roadside vendors and from Cheapside. I make them feel ashamed to go to Harbour Whites instead of a little rum shop. I tell them to check to see that the places where they spend their money are owned by Black people.

But of course I need to do much more.

6. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@John A November 16, 2020 4:28 PM
    Allowing them to hold foreign currency accounts locally will be more trouble than it’s worth in terms of the money laundering and FATCA implications it poses for us.

To me, it benefits them and us to continue to have their salaries paid to their bank account in the US and they wire funds to their local BBD account which they can use to pay for things locally they must use cash for which will not be too many things.

Transferring large sums of money back and forth will be a financial institution’s nightmare.

7. @ Critical

They can use either a local or USD account locally the end result would be the same for us, but they will be more comfortable knowing they can move their money freely through a USD account.

Also remember under the revised USD account guidelines the PM introduced its free movement without the central bank interference as long as the principle account holder is the same person. To be honest and fair to the PM the legislation has been eased a bit on the USD Accounts, but we still got a way to go.

8. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Carson C Cadogan
    You are not grasping the concept because you are not aware of the changes COVID has brought to make this possible.

Companies worldwide have been scared to try work from home on a massive scale because nobody wants to take the plunge first a part from a very few maverick companies. COVID dragged all the companies into it whether they wanted to or not in less than 1 month.

Now they have done it for the last 6 months, they now have the financial and work performance statistics to determine how it effective it is compared to the old way and how that impacts their bottom line.

In the US you have people getting rid of their expensive condos and apartments in the crowded city and buying cheaper houses in the countries with lots of space at a fraction of the cost because they no longer need to live close to work so they can go into the office to get their work done.

We are now able to do things working remotely that were not possible last year. That changes the game and opens up significant possibilities for those smart enough to capitalize.

9. Would these people not be bringing in foreign exchange? Would they not also be patronising local businesses that employ Barbadians? Obviously this would not change the status quo wrt blacks and whites or rich and poor but there will be some spinoff benefits, surely.

10. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@BAJE
    “ FIRST REFERENCE FROM YOU TO ME TO A MYSTERIOUS BIG WHEEL IN THE BLP APPROACHING YOU NOW IT HAS TURNED TO A DISTANT ACQUAINTANCE.”
    I see that you are having problems with basic English comprehension. Let me help. The “big wheel” is a guy who was in sixth form at secondary school when I entered lower first. He has a younger brother who was in lower first with me and that is how I knew his name. When he emailed me to ask me to write the memo it was the first time we had communicated with each other in over 50 years. Is that distant enough for you?

“I WATCH YOU ATTACKING ADRIAN LOVERIDGE WEEK AFTER WEEK NOW AN ABOUT FACE WHEN CONFRONTED BY REALITY.“
    Did you not read Adrian thanking me above for acknowledging his central contribution to the development of the idea?? Is this you English comprehension problem again?

“YOUR CLAIM THAT YOU HAVE SAVED BARBADOS AND OTHER COUNTRIES IS JUST A LOGICAL EXTENSION OF BULLSHIT.“
    Again with the English comprehension problem… or maybe it’s an arithmetic problem now. To “save Barbados” from economic catastrophe will take about US$1.3 billion. US$84 million, while it is a start, is just a teacup in the bucket. It is about 6.5% of the job we need to accomplish together. We have barely got started.

“HOWEVER YOU MAY CARRY ON SMARTLY AS I AM NOT ONE SINGING FROM YOUR CHOIR.“
    This I thank you for, because you are dreadfully off key 🙂

11. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

these are “”nice”” protocols::

12. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@John A November 16, 2020 5:53 PM
    Technically them having local and overseas accounts in US currency makes it easier but I fear it will open up a can of worms for money laundering and moving money offshore and those sort of ticklish thing.

The USD revised guidelines are targeted towards locals that come into contact with US currency on a regular basis or work overseas and get paid in US currency in an effort to get that currency into our banking system instead of in the mattress or held offshore.

If they have not done so already, they will have to adjust those regulations to prevent the money laundering issues that can come from them parking US money in Barbados and transferring it back when they leave.

The people are technically tourists to us when they are not working remotely for their workplace overseas and have to be treated as such or we will have blacklisting and FATCA problems.

13. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

This is what Don has to say:

14. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Is that one of the fancy new electric buses with air conditioning they were traveling in in the video?

15. @ critical.

Yes that could be a concern but remember they had to declare their annual earnings when they applied for the yearly passport. AS long as their Inflow stays within that range they can not be accused of money laundering by anyone. After all if a person who declared on their permit that their annual income is $250,000 USD, then moving $100,000 in for a year would be well within their means and claims of money laundering would be unfounded.

16. (Quote):
    What about Northern Observer’s suggestion to build on the Welcome Stamp to include companies that can operate mobile? (Unquote).

Isn’t that covered comprehensively already by IBC legislation?

What Barbados needs to do is to get its digital nomad or e-residency infrastructural framework (like internet and ground services) up to date to rival the likes of Cyprus and Estonia.

Why not make it more attractive to an e-nomad to work in a safe tropical oasis called Barbados any day than anywhere else in cyberspace?

17. PLT

I DON’T LACK COMPREHENSION, I AM NOT TOLERANT OF BULLSHIT.

YOU TOSS AROUND GHOST NUMBERS AS THOUGH YOU HAVE SPECIFIC FACTS EVEN THOUGH YOU ADMIT THAT GETTING FACTUAL HARD NUMBERS FROM GOVERNMENT IS NOT EASY TO COME BY.

SIMILAR TO YOUR FALSE CLAIM THAT YOU CAME UP WITH THE ORIGINAL IDEA FOR WELCOME STAMP ALREADY UP AND RUNNING SEVERAL YEARS AGO ELSEWHERE.

YOU MAY HAVE THE LAST WORD.

18. @BAJE November 16, 2020 3:55 PM “FIRST REFERENCE FROM YOU TO ME TO A MYSTERIOUS BIG WHEEL IN THE BLP APPROACHING YOU NOW IT HAS TURNED TO A DISTANT ACQUAINTANCE.”

It is possible for someone to be both a big wheel in the BLP AND at the same time to be Peter’s distant acquaintance.

For example my paternal first cousin’s, maternal first cousin is a BLP Cabinet Minister. My first cousin and I grew up in the same village, ate out of the same pot, slept in our mutual grandmother’s bed, the same we talk every day. But I have never met her maternal first cousin who is BLP Cabinet Minister. I expect that if I wanted to meet the cabinet Minister, I could, but why annoy a Cabinet Minister when at present I have nothing important to share with him?

19. Thanks Peter for going to look at the place where I am an occasional housekeeper [even if officially retired] and for so quickly uploading the information to your site. The place is currently occupied by family, and a previous long term visitor is booked from Christmas to the spring. But maybe we will be ready for a Welcome Stamp Visitor late spring.

You are being far too nice to BAJE.

I remember once I said on here that I grow produce because I enjoy doing so, and that I give away much of it, maybe most of it, and one of the capitalist on BU expressed disbelief.

I have less that 20 years left on earth. The “children” are adults, hard working, capable, smart, well educated, so why do I need to accumulate more, more, more, more?

20. “This I thank you for, because you are dreadfully off key.”

OUCH!

21. Cuhdear Bajan,

I believe you. Nothing to doubt.

By the way…. today I saw my first cucumber.

22. @Carson C Cadogan November 16, 2020 4:45 PM “Who will this “come and work form Barbados” really benefit??? Which “”Barbados””??? The privilege “Barbados”” with their millions of dollars which they don’t want to spend or the other “”Barbados”” is made up of BLACK POOR BARBADIANS who have little money???? Are these people from overseas coming to stay in the “”New Orleans””, or “”Deacons farm””, or “”the Pine”” or “”Country Road””???? or are they going to the PALATIAL homes of people who already have money, millions of dollars????? Apartments of the well to do???? The rich and famous who have two and three story houses?????”

Actually the owner of the apartment where I am the occasional housekeeper is a lady from deep, rural Barbados who only had the opportunity to attend an “all age elementary” school. Remember those? Two room neighboring schools which went from lower primer to class 2, and from class 3 to class 7. Lower primer, Infants A and Infants B shared one room, no partitions, no walls, and class 1 and 2 the other. The headmistress had her desk at the top of Infants B, she did not have an “office” The lady migrated. Worked and put herself through school. Entered an always in demand profession. pand worked for 40+ years. Is deeply committed to Barbados so built a place here, but instead of building a 2,000 to 3,000 sq foot house. Built a modest 2 bedroom apartment, and a one bedroom on the same lot. Used the rents from those to repeat the process over a 15-20 year period. She could have built a 5 bedroom, 4 bathroom house, and bought a big ride. But does a retiree really need 2,000 sq ft of space? She had errands to run today. She took the bus. I too haven’t owned a car for more than 20 years, but I have owned a house for more than 30. I left school with 5 O’levels. Anything after that I had to pursue on my own as I was one of many, many children.

23. @ Miller,
    I have been to African countries like Kenya and have witnessed first-hand their prowess with technology. They are innovators.

PLT has offered one option that will benefit the economy of Barbados in the short term. I suggested that the country should offer sanctuary and the appropriate infrastructure to 100 Information technological savvy East Africans.

Kenya is currently building a large IT complex to accommodate the country’s burgeoning surge within its IT industry.

PLT’S “Nomad” workers are a good temporary stop gap in the face of Covid-19.

I believe that importing technically talented African IT specialists would boost our economy and offer the country a sustainable development model.

24. @Donna November 16, 2020 9:06 PM “By the way…. today I saw my first cucumber.”

Wonderful.

My cucumbers this year were the ones referred to as “Bajan boys” hardier and more drought tolerant than the imported varieties. They do not bear as many cucumbers at the same time,but they do bear for a longer period. Today i picked one that I had allowed to over ripen on the vine, turned brown and crackled. I am drying the seeds now. Will try planting a few in a week or two, but may save most for the beginning of the next rainy season.

25. After putting the seeds aside, i peeled and sliced the overripe cucumber. The flesh is white instead of green but it still nice and crunchy in salads and sandwiches.

26. @PLT good work sir!

So far so good. But Barbados really needs to grind out its first mover advantage and make hay.

The Dullard has several ideas on how this initiative could be built out and taken full advantage of but unlike you The Dullard is a ‘capitalist’ and his expertise is not free. LOL. Besides he has no inheritance and ‘retirement age’ is decades away. lol

27. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Cuhdear Bajan
    Thanks for letting me know a little about some of the people who are not rich White people that are in a position to benefit from the Welcome Stamp program. I’m very grateful.
    I still take Carson C Cadogan’s criticisms very seriously because the stratification of the monetary benefits is a significant risk that the program poses for Bajan society.

28. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Dullard
    Thank you.
    I totally understand that I am extraordinarily lucky not to have money worries, so I’m not advocating that everyone give away their ideas.
    If you want to partner to develop an idea I will sign any non-disclosure you wish ahead of time. I’m always reachable peter(at)remoteworkbarbados.com.

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

By the way, earlier tonight I was at a Global Entrepreneurship Week event put on by the nonprofit Barbados Youth Business Trust. Kerrie Symmonds was also there in his capacity as Minister of Energy, Small Business and Entrepreneurship, and I’d never met him before so I introduced myself. His face lit up and he asked if I was the same Peter Thompson who wrote the memo that got the Welcome Stamp started. I told him that I was and he asked me if anyone had ever thanked me. I told him no but that I was not looking for thanks, but he thanked me on his own behalf because he had been the tourism Minister back then in April. We had a longish chat where I tried to get him to understand how he could leverage the new market of thousands of Welcome Stamp visitors to help develop early stage entrepreneurship at a grass roots level (Carson C Cadogan’s criticisms were still on my mind). Let’s hope something comes of the conversation.

30. @Peter

Good stuff, we need 10 more like you.

Hint Dullard.

31. @ PLT
    Well this is amazing ! The administration literally stole your idea; the PM all over the international media taking credit; the then Minister of Tourism did not even make any effort to have a chat with you and they have the nerve to talk about we in this together.
    At the very least the PM should have been upfront and should have told the public that you were the citizen , who conceptualized the idea.
    Regardless of how generous you are , there is no excuse for such poor manners.
    And then we get on BU promoting these BLPDLP miscreants.
    You are on the way to making our country millions at a time we are really in need. Is it any wonder therefore that creative citizens carry their talents elsewhere?
    Unbelievable.

32. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Anyone cares about what is happening to the WORKERS At CLUB BARBADOS which is a part of the Barbados Tourist Industry????Where is the BARBADOS WORKERS UNION???

Or we are only fixated about “”come and work from Barbados”” program??????

33. @ William

Did this behaviour surprise you? I have already told of my small encounter with Invest Barbados. I have had one academic regurgitating my ideas as if they were his originally and one politician doing the same.
    I know you do not like the term, but it is cultural, the Bajan Condition.

34. Yes, Barbados is a failed state. The blogmaster wrote it for you.

35. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Ben and David:

36. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Carson C Cadogan November 17, 2020 4:32 AM
    This is only the first of many more severance payment problems to come and it is entirely government’s fault.

They should have extended unemployment to last at least as long as the state of emergency exists.

37. @Critical Analyzer

Why state the obvious? Covid has and will continue to negatively affect the hospitality industry. Until it bounces back or alternatively grow organically, what would you have done?

38. @ David
    At least you should have the guts to look at the bigger picture here. You are the one who is always talking about transparency and good governance. You seem to be a part timer . It’s only relevant when you are blasting Stuart and company.
    I know there are companies that invite any employee from any level to make suggestions. Should any of those suggestions be implemented, according to their worth to the company, that employee is usually promoted , given a raise and the company acknowledges often publicly , from whom the idea came.
    I respect @PLT, he debates at a high level and he is obviously a genuine philanthropist but Mottley should be ashamed to have not publicly elevated the gentleman, not as Peter Thompson , but as a CITiZEN whose idea is the ONLY new Tourism policy of her administration , that after two years , has been short on new approaches. Quite frankly if you remove your blinkers , you would note that almost ninety per cent of what is being skillfully termed as new legislation is nothing more than persistent tampering and “ changing up” of what happened in the so-called “ lost decade”.
    And allow me to say that the same way you and others talk about the “lost decade “@Hal also has the right to make his pronouncements as to how he sees his country. I don’t agree that my country is a” failed state”and I have certainly not bought into crap about some “ lost decade”.

39. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Why state the obvious? Covid has and will continue to negatively affect the hospitality industry. Until it bounces back or alternatively grow organically, what would you have done?

I already did state the solution, extend NIS unemployment at least as long as the state of emergency declared by government remains in effect. Ideally it should keep going for 1-3 months after the declaration ends.

Businesses would be able to plan better knowing they can maintain skeleton staff to keep the plant maintained without the burden of paying staff with no revenue or huge severance payments hanging over their heads when they don’t know if they have a chance of staying afloat long enough to avoid bankruptcy.

40. @ William

You miss a key point. One of the lessons of management theory, the doctrine of collegiate management, is that you encourage members of the team to out-perform ; they get recognition for their out-performance and, at the same time, as their manager, you are also praised.
    I will give an example: as editor of a publication, if you have an outstanding young writer you give them a free hand; if they win any awards, by implication you are also a winner. So by implication, if my paper won an award, then I too was caught in the slip stream as the captain of the ship.
    What I am trying to say is that if @PLT is recognised for his tourism proposal, and the idea grew out of BU, then BU and its founder/moderator/chairman will also get the much sought after recognition.
    Sometimes people act against their own interest – unless there is a higher interest?

41. @William

You have joined others to add labels to the blogmaster, nothing new here. This blogmaster prefers to accept that a citizen of Barbados feels compelled to do all in his power to help his country. If and when he is rewarded will not detract from a noble ideal. The fact that Kerri Symmonds acknowledged his contribution (an ardent follower of BU) should give an indication to you about what is possible. If greedy wait hot will cool.

Now back to Rh off.

42. The blogmaster is not looking for recognition as defined by you. You have no credibility in the eyes of the blogmaster. You are on record of accusing the blogmaster of being an agent of a foreign force, that we are covertly monetizing the blog etc. ALL Rh lies.

The blogmaster derives satisfaction from in a small way contributing to making Barbados a better place. No reward expected from others.

Your mind is your wealth. Your heart is your riches. Your soul is your treasure. Your life is your reward

Mashona Dhiliwayo

43. David
    Pachamama is a witness to the charges laid. But when you bring a perennial liar before this bar of justice what could you expect but denial after denial, even in the face of incontrovertible proofs.

44. @ Hal
    I have long recognized the Blogmaster’s predicament and I am certain he has also recognized mine. I backed off the Blogmaster a long time ago.
    I also know very well that there are mobs who throw stones, burn and loot. I usually find myself agreeing with them.
    I have only called the Blogmaster an apologists and an obstructionist. He calls me a RH and a JA. Nothing new there , he is just following his newly minted mentor.
    But there are mobs and then there are intellectual mobsters and intellectual mercenaries. The Blogmaster is not either of those but I am a RH and a JA. He is an apologist and obstructionist. Hopefully after his tutorials , he would remain those. I would really hate to see such a really nice guy become an intellectual mobster and mercenary.
    It’s a known fact that there are proper ways to recognize and reward workers and citizens. I guess turning up at a function and seeing @ PLT and telling him : Oh you’re the guy who came up with that brilliant idea, nice to meet you , is a fit and proper recognition.

45. How many time will PLT have to say he is not looking for thanks/ recognition for others to stop being his self appointed seeker of recognition? PLT recognition will come at an appointed time and may be in a way that he appreciate even though he say he doesn’t need it.

46. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Is this good for the customer????

47. Are the Bajan authorities selling their Welcome Stamp initiative to the Chinese, the world’s largest ethnic group with the second largest economy?

After all the Chinese government is a big player in the economic affairs and political landscape of Barbados. So those digital nomads from mainland China should feel somewhat at home.

Wasn’t little Barbados one of the early nations to recognize the People’s Republic of China (since 1977) and the geo-political dumping of Taiwan?

48. @Miller

Do the Chinese have a Covid problem?

49. @ David November 19, 2020 9:34 AM

Do the Americans and Europeans have a “Covid problem”?

50. @Miller

Yes

Leave a Reply to DavidCancel reply