The decision to have a national TV debate between the candidates contesting the St. George North constituency seat has been mired in controversy from the beginning. The result is that of the six candidates registered to contest the seat made vacant by the ‘retired out’ Gline Clarke, only candidates Toni Moore (BLP), Grenville Phillips (Solutions Barbados) and Alex Mitchell (BFP) are the three left standing. The other candidates have offered excuses for not participating, the blogmaster suspects the real reason is that there is a fear to speak to the issues publicly in an independent setting.

It is ironic that the current week has seen Barbados experiencing heavy rains which must be negatively affecting house to house and platform campaigning. What an opportunity tonight’s debate offers to convey respective party messages to SGN residents while in the comfort of their homes.

#bigworks #anyidiotcanplaycricket

447 responses to “2020 St. George North By-Election National Debate”

1. @Hants

By all means shout.

2. Ignorant, backward black leaders, a shame and insult to the existence of our enslaved ancestors, the new negros and wannbe pedigreed who practice racism and prejudice, classism and all the negative status quo poisons are PRACTICING VIOLENCE ON THE BLACK POPULATION…

https://youtu.be/3iRHJEw2th0

3. Quite true that pedigree has been a part of our culture forever. I thought, however, that people like Santia Bradshaw understood how damaging it is and was ready to jettison such by way of educational reform that recognises ALL the types of intelligences our children possess and seeks to develop and reward them equally.

4. Whatever became of this announcement in 2011:
    https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/blog/new-hospital-for-barbados/

5. Is slavery and a life of domestic work part of one’s pedigree?

6. Instead, this so-called progessive Education Minister follows up her relic of a father’s “any idiot can play cricket” comments with the old damaging concepts of pedigree.

And this after a former Minister of isionEducation and present Prime Minister continues the derogation by speaking of “debates” vs “debats”.

Where is the vision here for the future of our children? Are we to be stuck in this elitest society forever?

This, this is what has brought us to this point of peril.

Barbados will not move forward unless we value, develop, recognise and reward ALL of the talents of our children.

We have too many doctors, lawyers and the like. We have too many rejects who give up in despair.

7. Enuff
    All the talk about political pedigree is hurting your candidate.Reifer seems to have the party catspraddle. He is posing a serious challenge as he is constantly forcing the entire party to be on the defensive His speech last night was biting and hit home at how national policy could be used effectively to get home the point to the constituents of SGN that better could be done for them. It make no sense speaking abut the last eight years because Glyne Clarke was in for 26 years and S. Lukes School road was so from that time.

8. @ David,

as reported “continued provision of care to persons classified as Elderly for Care (EFC),” the release said.”

“Presently, the QEH is home to at least 30 EFCs who have been cleared for discharge but whose relatives, due to socio-economic and other factors”.

SOLUTION!!!!

Move them to temporarily to a hotel or alms house or nursing home or airbnb or…

Let the Government maguffees and CONsultants do what they are paid to do.

Buh doan mine me. I retired early, lazy and here watching IPL cricket.

9. One way or the next yall are going to be DISMANTLED fu*king FRAUDS…

Donna…it’s psychological violence against the masses and their children, nothing good can come of something that evil, retrograde and SLAVE MASTER INVENTED…… KICK THEM ALL OUT…they are poison..a dirty display of gutter politics…and then extending it to groom underage children…into their filthiness…

10. I read Ronnie Yearwood piece and is disappointed in our bright young men.He was touted as a star in the BLP because of his qualifications and work.These young men like Jeremy Stephens and others must not only speak out but must move out from under any political umbrella and bring a difference to Barbados politics by forming a third party going forward.It makes no sense complaining and toeing the line when persons speak about pedigree and you recognize that it does not include you.

11. @ David November 2, 2020 10:54 AM
    “Was an new hospital approved by the last government? Let us be reasonable with discussions for crissakes.”

Are you calling your “friend” Donville a damn liar?

12. Bottomline is that each party will say what they believe the electorate wants the hear for the vote and after the election the priority of the party will take precedent. The paramountcy of the political system takes precedent. The duopoly will continue to rule.

13. @Miller

Yes.

14. @ Lest We Forget

The only reason why Ronnie Yearwood was not a candidate at the last general election was his St Peter pedigree. This generation must not lose their nerve.
    They must break away and come to the people of Barbados with a worked out plan, a proper vision. They have two years to get it right. Barbados needs its brightest and best and most ethical, and urgently.

15. You know this how? Does Sandra Husbands have pedigree? The candidate selected to run?

16. HELP!!!!!

” The Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) stands in need of support, whether financial or via the donation of equipment or supplies, for its ambulance service, its Physiotherapy Department and in the area of its paediatric programming.

Juliette Bynoe-Sutherland, Executive Chairman of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) acknowledged the above, just recently.

“This is the hospital that all Barbadians and visitors have to come to at some point in time and that is why there is always so much interest in it. And so we recognise that there’s always a need for giving. When we receive donations, whether it is financial or in equipment, supplies or materials, what they do is reduce the amount of money that taxpayers have to find, in order to support the institution,” Bynoe-Sutherland explained.”

17. @ David November 2, 2020 12:27 PM

And a thief too?

What about the current lot, a reincarnated Cahill notwithstanding?

18. @Miller

Unfortunately many of the MPs and others serving in public office are susceptible to corruption.

We have a problem in Barbados prosecuting wrongdoers.

We have a problem enforcing laws to protect the assets owned by the crown – see successive auditor general reports.

We have a problem enforcing laws generally.

We have a problems.

19. If they would read MORE MODERN BOOKS and PLOT LESS SCAMS to rob the people, they would’ve known that this 1950s style of political governance created by slave masters is NOW REDUNDANT and no longer suitable for the 21st century, since it NEVER benefitted Black people, no matter how many little ugly wannabe slave master twists they add to it…

one of the first things i said after the 2018 election is that style of governance MUST BE REMOVED….must have paid some parasitic con-sultant to tell them differently….now, HERE THEY ARE……🤣 looking like fools, the laughing stocks across the region and the diaspora…

20. (Quote):
    And so we recognise that there’s always a need for giving. When we receive donations, whether it is financial or in equipment, supplies or materials, what they do is reduce the amount of money that taxpayers have to find, in order to support the institution,” Bynoe-Sutherland explained.” (Unquote).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

These stupid academically-qualified as***holes running things were advised long ago to establish a national health lottery to help with the funding of the hospital.

The basic infrastructure is already in place. So there is no need to reinvent the games of chance wheel for a worthy national cause.

21. Sandra Husbands has very solid pedigree. As people on BU say, do your home work.

22. @ David November 2, 2020 12:42 PM

We have a problem enforcing laws generally.

Not when it comes to the possession of marijuana. Just look what has happened to poor Kemar!

23. So you agree there is a space where pedigree is used in a Barbados context.

24. @Miller

There are always exceptions my dear man.

25. Pedigree of a compliant slave…when the Windrush denigrating and terrorizing Caribbean people and was exposed and decried all around the world, the pedigreed slaves in Barbados’ parliament said not a word, not before and not after the 2018 election.

While sitting as Caricom chair for 6 months, Ms. FIghting Imperialism voluntarily and secretly arranged to send 50 Black people from Barbados into UKs toxic racist, hostile environment to work for 8 pounds an hours to experience and subjected to being treated as inferior slaves while being observed and monitored like animals in a zoo….

26. “We have a problem enforcing laws generally”

not when it relates to the taxpayer funded parasites in the parliament, bar association, the judiciary, and their friends, family, hangeron or the thieves and criminals in the social partnership…the black faces can only find laws to lock up black people to run their prison scam..

27. People with REAL pedigree in Barbados do not get on political platforms and talk about pedigree. Does Rawdon Adams, MSc, political sociology, talk about pedigree? Does Odle talk about pedigree?
    If you talk about your pedigree, it means you have no pedigree. You are just a pet mongrel.

28. @ Miller,

Net Profit to the Province, of which $2.2 billion went to the operation of hospitals and other provincial priorities and the balance earmarked to problem gambling prevention, treatment and research, local and provincial charities and Ontario’s amateur athletes

https://globalnews.ca/content/4298333/ontarios-lottery-and-gaming-revenue-where-does-it-go/

29. So why cant govt transfer the abandoned elderly (those that family doesn’t want ) to a geriatric hospital
    Why hasn’t govt found alternative plans for this type of recurring problem
    Obviously it bodes well to say that some of these families are in no position to take care of these family members
    Govt wasted no time in the heightened time of COVID extending a hand to stranded ships at cost to tax payers
    So why not the same sympathy at cost extended to the abandoned elderly
    This problem would continue to get worse
    Hence it is a problem that govt needs to fix

30. Simple, the geriatric hospitals are full.

31. Those persons who leave their parents and family at the QEH should be located and interviewed When this is done persons who did this deliberately and has the resources of the person should be denied access to those resources.The government should then used those resources to support the person in private care.On the other hand those persons who are working and cannot stay home with them or do not have the resources to manage them should not be ridiculed but places found in the district hospitals or private care homes sponsored by government. The care giver with a sick parent suffers tremendously when they have to work or study while looking after them.

32. 1 Billion dollars was WRITTEN OFF for the tiefing crooked ass business people, that SHOULD have built MORE CARE HOMES for the AGING population….were taxes not WRITTEN OFF for friends and famly as well, all that money could have FIXED QEH…and build more care homes, but no, let the minority thieves get away with robbing the country and yall are busy legislating laws to help them escape stealing all that money…

that is what happens when you take pedigreed slaves and put them in charge of a slavemaster political system of governance….nothing but disaster…

33. 1 Billion dollars IN STOLEN VAT was WRITTEN OFF for the tiefing crooked ass business people, that SHOULD have built MORE CARE HOMES for the AGING population..and UPGRADED QEH….

ya have to remind the pedigreed slaves that the MONEY WAS AVAILABLE AND THEY ALL STOLE IT…..Black people’s money, let them ponder that…

34. @ David,
    Same wayyou turn Hotels into ” Quarantines ” government could rent a hotel or some airbnb houses and turn them into TEMPORARY GERIATRIC CARE facilities.

35. @Hants

It is possible but why should the government encourage the behaviour? Would that not open the flood gates so to speak?

36. Over decades they’ve all had the money to rebuild and funs QEH and elder care homes, guess who got the money to build care homes instead..guess who got the money to fund their private healthcare…the pedigreed slaves are a living disgrace and shame on Black people’s lives in Barbados..

Wait…am not hearing anything more about encouraging UK to tief resources out of Africa to pay SIr Slave Title Shillary 50 billion dollars in reparations…so whatever became of that hot and sweaty conversation…..seems like an iceberg hit it…

all they can do is think in billions of dollars for money that DOES NOT BELONG TO ANY OF THEM….THIEVES…

37. Clown!

38. This is what the pedigreed slaves in the parliament want to mimic at Black people’s expense….mimic on… YOUR END IS DRAWING NEAR…yall frauds too wish ya were royalty….royal shitehounds from the tainted bloodlines of TRAITORS….

Elizabeth should sell yall blackened asses and get some funds in her coffers….problem is no one likes traitors and thieves, so unless they find desperate buyers….ah hope they do…

“With these reformative thoughts becoming a requirement in present times, experts are also advising the Queen to follow the Swedish model of monarchy and open Buckingham castle as a year-long tourist attraction, or give it up to the National Trust.

Many other experts have even taken to wondering why the Queen requires multiple palaces for work obligations and why she cannot simply hand over some of her estates, namely Buckingham, Balmoral and Sandringham, over to the government for revenue generation and only keep her Windsor abode as a private property.”

39. https://www.nationnews.com/2020/11/01/qeh-runs-bed-space/

“The QEH has reached its maximum capacity as the majority of its 519 in-patient beds are currently occupied. This is due in part to the large number of persons awaiting elective surgery, and the continued provision of care to persons classified as Elderly for Care (EFC),” the release said.

They mention 30 Elderly for Care patients out of 519 beds. That’s less than 6%of the capacity. That does not sound like the reason to me. How many people are awaiting elective surgery? What is the reason for the capacity crunch?
    Is there an increase in persons with Covid-like infections?

40. @ Dullard

I asked that question in a different way. How do we explain the over-capacity? I also asked the the mortality figures for 2019, and 2020 so far. It went unanswered.
    My suspicion tells me that the authorities are cooking the books. There is nothing better than the smoke and mirrors of party politics to hide the reality of what is going on on the ground.
    The bluff of the St George North by-election is a good way to hide bad news.

41. @Dullar

You are going on a feeling?

If the have say 10 vacant beds plus the 30 that is 40. That is not a significant number in a 519 capacity hospital?

42. Miller…ya right there, tell them what is coming down the tubes at them do……🤣😂🤣😂

Ah sure Sir Slave Title Shillary is reading the whole article and CRYING REAL REPARATIONS TEARS…

43. @David

I won’t point out the irony in your above comment.

That aside, let’s take your hypothetical figures.40/ 519 is less than 8% so no not significant.
    What has lead to the public statement? I have never seen the QEH do this before.

44. @Dullard

You obviously do not live in Barbados. This is a perennial problem. You understand the word perennial? Do a google.

45. As I walk around Barbados I hear not a sniffle or a cough.

And….

COVID patients are not being treated at the QEH.

Steupse.

46. David
    The geriatrics hospital full
    Simple answer but for thirty patients cannot see no reason why not these patients can’t be split up amongst the other geriatric hospitals

47. You obviously do not live in Barbados. This is a perennial problem.

Do they perennially advise that they have reached capacity? And discourage non urgent treatment?

48. Do a google, the information is out there.