Grenville Phillips, candidate for St. George North and Leader of Solutions Barbados

The Prime Minister advised that CBC should allow debates between all candidates contesting the St George North by-election.  Political parties do not have to participate in these debates.  However, we think that it would be unwise not to participate.

By participating, Candidates have the opportunity to both explain their plans to voters, and defend their plans from scrutiny from other candidates and the moderator.

At present, candidates are simply mentioning their plans to voters.  But neither our professional organisations or journalists are checking to see whether the plans are workable.  Neither are they questioning whether the candidates have any capacity to implement their plans.

The debates are an opportunity to expose the plans to scrutiny.  In preparation for the debates, let us review each party’s plans.  The parties can then improve the plans for the benefit of the constituents, and to better prepare for the debates.

REVIEW OF PARTY’S PLANS.

The BLP plans to bring prosperity to the people of St George North through fish farming.  The main questions are: Is this an idea whose feasibility now needs to be studied?  Is the implementation date this year, or 2023?  Who is funding this idea?  What experience does the candidate have to implement it?

The DLP plans to assist the youth in cricket, and to have a skills bank.  The main questions are:  What about the youth that do not want to play cricket?  The skills bank idea has been tried and failed, because people want to employ the best skills available in Barbados for their job.  So, what is different about this skills bank that improves its chances of success?  What experience does the candidate have to manage a skills bank?

The UPP plans to monetise the creative industries.  The example given was making money by uploading videos to YouTube on the Internet.  The main questions are:  What training is required to implement this idea?  What experience does the Candidate have in making money from YouTube videos?

The BFP plans to do construction activities.  The main question is: What capacity does the Candidate have in implementing this idea?

Audio Link of Article

The PdP plans to do farming.  Farming has been proposed by political parties in every election since our Independence.  Those who try it have to contend with monkeys and humans stealing their produce.  There is also the risk of excessive rain, drought, and limited water.  Farmers have to invest much for months before seeing a return.  So the main question is, how are these foreseen issues being addressed?

Solutions Barbados plans to employ persons in the construction of houses, and to train families to start businesses, with no start-up money.  I have 30 years of experience in the construction industry, and am the 2014 winner of the National Innovation Competition.  I already train people how to build strong and low-maintenance houses, and to start profitable businesses.  Therefore,
I welcome the scrutiny.

Let the debates begin.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer, and the Solutions Barbados’ candidate for St George North.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

277 responses to “Let the Debates Begin”

1. UPP pulls out of election debates
    THE UNITED PROGRESSIVE PARTY (UPP) is out too – no televised debates for it.
    General secretary Wayne Griffith officially informed the Barbados Association of Journalists and Media Workers (BARJAM) yesterday of their intention not to participate in the proposed televised debates for the November 11 by-election in the St George North constituency.
    On Tuesday, the Democratic Labour Party and its candidate Floyd Reifer said they would not be part of the two debates, scheduled for October 29 and November 6, because they had not had enough time on the campaign trail.
    Griffith said the UPP and candidate Ambrose Grosvenor would be prioritising campaign work directly in the constituency as well.
    “The party is more focused on the by-election campaign, considering the time frame was so short. We think our resources would be well spent at this time in the field with our candidate to ensure a better chance of winning the seat,” he added.
    He said Grosvenor remained “extremely confident” of his chances.
    “We’ve had a fantastic response so far. We were out last weekend and the response from constituents was very good. They are very keen on considering the idea of supporting a new political party. They are understanding the dynamics of Barbadian politics require that is the direction they should be going at this time.”
    The debates will see Barbados Labour Party candidate Toni Moore, Solutions Barbados candidate Grenville Phillips II, and Alex Mitchell of the
    Bajan Free Party face moderators David Ellis and Julius Gittens, respectively. (BA)

2. Here is an interesting article about the different strategies political parties are using around the world because of covid.

Adapting to the New Normal

3. Listened to former Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner yesterday defending the decision of the DLP to withdraw from the debate. She said something that may have been missed by many. The main point she made is that it was a by election and therefore a TV debate “is a waste of time’. She also said that they should have been a TV debate to support campaign strategy in the last general election. Was this a gaffe?

4. This copy cat mentality serves well the carnival barkers willing to keep nuff noise but do nothing.

It represents the ultimate sleight of hand.

When will piliticians, like the writer, stop seeing most Bajans as peripheral to capital formation structures?

How many times had this public debate fiction has been erected?

How do we remove a goverment or a representative when they fail to perform in a timely manner?

How much long shall we accept lies and excuses from elites?

The writer asked some questions to misdirect. We’ve asked others more prescient.

5. This is self-serving nonsense. This is a by-election and any debates should take place in the constituency, in a local church hall or school.
    A TV debate, moderated by a ‘journalist’, is totally irrelevant to the impact of a failed government on the lives of residents of St George North. Sit in front of the voters and answer their questions.
    If candidates want to represent those people, then talk to them ask them what are their concerns, how can they best represent their interests in parliament.
    No doubt, some candidates want national exposure, some journalist want to feel a sense of importance and being at the centre of events, and, indeed, CBC can do with the viewers. Sanka Price has got more important things to do in the Pine.
    But, apart from entertainment (remember the fly on Pence’s head?) it serves no real purpose.

6. @Pacha

Spot on!

7. @David,

quote]Listened to former Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner yesterday defending the decision of the DLP to withdraw from the debate. She said something that may have been missed by many. The main point she made is that it was a by election and therefore a TV debate “is a waste of time’. She also said that they should have been a TV debate to support campaign strategy in the last general election. Was this a gaffe?[unquote

was what a gaffe ?

8. @Greene

She threw shade at Fruendel.

9. i dont see that as a gaffe or whatever. if there is to be televised debates they should be reserved for the general elections and between party leaders and or their designates. additionally i would go so far to say there can be one between prospective Finance Ministers. televised deabtes for a by election is a waste of time, IMO.

what she has said has been said on this blog numerous times.

a debate between MAM and Freundel would have been great theatre. i am surprised that the BLP didnt call for it. or did they? too bad it did not happen.

10. @Greene

Listen to the podcast and you will get it.

11. Allow the blogmaster to be clear. Any candidate should welcome the opportunity to beam into the homes of the constituents especially given the short preparation traditional canvassing and prevailing COVID 19. It is simply using an electronic channel to get your views out there in the constituency.

12. i dont disagree. this can be accomplished by using social media to broadcast their views and or field questions from audience in attendance or from viewers. a debate is not the only answer and because of the adversarial atmosphere debaters hardly answer the questions asked.

please post the Irene’s podcast, if you are so willing

13. David

We tend to agree. However, people like Moore who are always on TV would have an inordinately high advantage over neophytes in the scenarios described.

14. @Pacha

True and the DLP made the decision to avoid the debate because of what they perceive to be the disadvantage all observers have identified. Time will tell how it impacts.

15. @David

what exactly does ‘throw shade’ mean?

16. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

This is bare nonsense. It is a waste of time.

It is not, nor mandated by any law in Barbados. It is an imposition borrowed from AMERICAN politics which serves no use at all.

17. These jokers had years of preparation and expecting Reifer who has only 45 days in politics to participate
    Boy yuh tell yuh some wunna really unfair
    However i sense spite in this debate especially coming from the blp and one which lays out a wicket to disadvantage Reifer
    Last night on Zoom Verla was explicit and logical as to why the dlp did not participate and she is absolutely correct
    Now flip the coin where Moore is a newbie on the political landscape and has only 45 days to prepare along with having to do ground work in the field
    Do u think the blp would be agreeable to having Moore participate in a debate
    Fuh christ sake get serious
    All knows that that the blp is now using the left foot movement bowling against Floyd and would do anything to bowl him out
    Politics is indeed a dirty game and Mia is showing how dirty she can be
    Only idiots would fall for this debate charade

18. @Greene

Throwing shade is a widely used term to mean ‘a subtle way of disrespecting or ridiculing someone verbally or non verbally’.

Here is the link to podcast with Irene’s comment.

http://www.vob929.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/10/DBTOCT21-03.mp3

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Talk to the people to the people in the constituency fo SGN this is not a general election.
    This is only a bye election. Plus the PM have no authority to call for Televised debates . The other parties are right to boycott them .

We borrowing every tactic from overseas. Cant we think for our selves???

Under what statue on the statue books is being used to back this decision?????

The parties are right not to contest these so called debates.

20. Who is forcing the parties to participate? The DLP and UPP have signaled that they will not participate. Nobody has a gun pointing to their heads.

21. @David,

widely used by whom? i have heard it before used by an American Broadcaster but never checked its meaning. i see it simply means criticise- oh well

fix the Irene link

22. Now that i have spoken truth on the debate charade
    Here is another truth one that calls for logic and compassion
    All knows that Canada is a hot spot for COVID and the elderly are at most high risk
    Which therefore must ask a moral question borne in logic and compassion
    Question to be asked Why would Mia send an elderly man namely Clarke in his seventies in a hot spot Covid environment to work
    Not to mention the frigid cold temperatures which he must endure
    Have anyone thought of the asinine and convoluted logic behind such decision
    I sincerely hope he does not have an ending similar to OSA
    What kind of friend would do such a thing

23. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Why don’t we think for ourselves and STOP BORROWING EVERTHING????

We buying everything from every country on Earth and we borrowing too????

We don’t have any ORIGINAL IDEAS OF OUR OWN???? That is when 3% of the population THE WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS have inordinate say in Barbados.

POOR BARBADOS!!!!!!!!

24. @Greene

It must be an age thing…LOL.

The link is fine.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

She just wanted TONI MOORE of the so called Barbados Trade Union would be on her side when she make her unpopular decisions which are coming. Remember the leader of the opposition said that she is settling old scores.

Anyone in her Govt. who was close to OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR got to go one or the next.

26. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

NO ONE WOULD BE REPRESENTING the WORKERS. Only taking what little money they have as contributions and not looking after their interests.. Remember TONI MOORE words are not to trusted. SHE SAID THAT SHE IS NOT POLITICAL.. But here she is representing the Barbados Labour Party. While driving around in their MERCEDES BENZ AND BMW’s. Those who can not be trusted in little can not be trusted in much.

The workers will be left out in the cold.

At the mercy Of the WHIE BAJAN control BARBADOS PRIVATE SECTOR and Govt.

And At the mercy of a BLACK DICTATOR.

27. Stop posting nonsense. Toni Moore can be removed by the exec council if they are of the view Moore is compromised.

28. Must be an age thing, I too have problems with the link.

Mariposa 8:20
    It’s not an age thing. It’s a next dead 🐎 that you are beating and an insult to Mr Clarke and his family intelligence. They should know the risk and make calculated decisions

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

She already compromised!!!

She wearing too many hats.

30. I agree with election debates but between leaders of national parties on national TV and I think a debate in a local by election should be confined to the constituency. I am just wondering if the idea of this debate came from political eyes fixed north when the news cycle was fixed on the then upcoming presidential debates in the US which makes it a case of monkey see monkey do.

31. @Sargeant

Obviously it is a politically motivated decision. The parties have the right to refuse.

32. Yes, we may agree that Mugabe is a black dictator.

If those making this specious agrument also concede that every PM Barbados has ever had was also a black dictator as well, after independence.

These same people were here supporting Stuart just 2 years ago with gusto. Was he not a black dictator with cowardice as well?

33. Those political ambassadorships and high commission positions should be abolished. We have career diplomats who should be offered those positions.
    Gline Clarke should be sent to settle on his St George mansion.

34. @Hal

you must be bonkers, mate. how else would we reward political patronage?

35. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

hal

I agree with you.

36. We must be fair. How on earth can anybody blame Mia for Clarke accepting to resign and head off to Canada? All Clarke had to say was :”I am not giving up SGN and I am not going to Canada”. It’s pure partisan crap to blame Mia . She made an offer and Clarke accepted. After twenty six years of loyalty from the constituents he simply decided to throw SGN under the bus.
    Same thing with Moore. She accepted Mia’s offer ; joined the BLP ,to run in what everybody , Moore included, figures is a safe BLP seat. Has not one blasted to thing to do with workers/union. Anybody who wanted a good shot at getting in parliament would have accepted Mia’s offer. It’s opportunism folks.
    Ladies and gentlemen it is called opportunism. It’s the bedrock of our politics. Look at Comrade Prescod. He fly up cussed the white Shadows got kicked out of the cabinet and next morning he got the “opportunity” to be a special envoy and he took it.
    It’s all about what’s in it for me.
    Wake up people. None of the bogus nonsense deserves to be taken seriously. Barbados is a political playground for the BLPDLP and their political psychopaths.
    We so damn lost that just the other day somebody probably listening to CNN or FOX news, heard a term : “ throw shade “ and just so they introducing it to BU. Copy everything. The damn term was around now for nearly thirty years but it now reach us and we lapping it up. Copy cats.
    Opportunistic pseudo intellectuals, political psychopaths and copy cats.
    That’s who we are.

37. Gazzerts the only dead horse beaten is the one which you tries to ride called. Ignorance ok

38. @WS,

What about ‘gaffe’? lol

39. William you are an old cogger. Throwing shade is a phrase often used by young people in the lexicon of social media.

40. “At present, candidates are simply mentioning their plans to voters. But neither our professional organisations or journalists are checking to see whether the plans are workable. Neither are they questioning whether the candidates have any capacity to implement their plans.”

I hope Mr. Phillips II means the plans outline in Solutions Barbados’ manifesto for St. George North should also be scrutinized as well. Although I endorse some of those plans, I’m curious as to know if some of them “are workable” and if Mr. Phillips II “has any capacity to implement” them.

Let’s look at Solutions Barbados’ “Wealth Creation,” for example.
    “We will train people how to start and grow a profitable business, with no start-up money. The 8-week training will be at no cost to St George North residents. The aim is for each willing participant to have a viable Internet based business, by the end of the workshop. This should provide each household with a separate income stream.”

An entrepreneur does not need a university degree to establish a business or an accountant to interpret financial statements.
    The five (5) main courses usually associated with business development (depending on if the prospective entrepreneur already possess those skills/qualifications), are principles of management, accounting, information technology, marketing and customer service. Then, he/she has to learn the rudiments of the business, if they do not have knowledge of and experience in the venture.

Although the idea is expressed in the sub-heading “Wealth Creation,” it has not elaborated in the description. Therefore, I’m curious to know:

(1). what is the ‘curriculum’ of the eight (8) week training workshop……… and if it is enough time to equip an individual with the necessary skills “to start and grow a profitable business?”

(2). since a detailed business plan is an important document for any business……. and includes a section dedicated to ‘start-up costs,’ how will the prospective entrepreneur be able to finance the business “with no start-up money?”

41. @Greene

This blog from 2011 should interest you. Note the title.

Steuspe

https://barbadosunderground.net/2011/02/27/gaffe-was-a-gaff-after-all/

42. ********* I hope Mr. Phillips II MEANT………..

43. @ Greene
    @Carson

It is all corned beef and biscuits politics, only sometimes the ‘corned beef’ is a job, what you guys call a pick. Corned beef, different flavour.

44. @ David
    Make that old “Bajan” clogger. BTW got at least four bottles of Mount Gay sold in a liquor store yesterday. Complete strangers never heard of it. Not bad for an old Bajan clogger. Lol
    Now if they like it and each tells 3 Neighbours , work mate friends……..you get the drift.
    Peace

45. Another one of Solutions Barbados’ plans that needs further explanation is “Finishing School.”

“Regardless of how well or poorly students did at secondary school, we will train all willing St George North secondary school graduates (in six weeks) to be employable, and/or ready to start their own business. Training will be at no cost to St George North residents.”

“Participants will learn to speak, write, listen, calculate, draw, and do tasks at an excellent level. We will teach them to become responsible adults, and model employees, and employers.”

I also commend Mr. Phillips II on this proposed policy as well.

On one hand Solutions Barbados and Mr. Phillips II are hoping to equip prospective entrepreneurs with the necessary skills to establish a business, after an eight (8) week training workshop……….

………. but, on the other, they are hoping to train recently graduated students “to be employable, and/or start their own business,” after six (6) weeks of training.

Perhaps Mr. Phillips II should provide us with more information.

46. @David

i will let you off the hook with gaffe. nice play on words there- lol

but i abhor the Americanism creep into our lexicon. you recently used the term, “founding fathers” to describe those person who around independence has something to do with our constitution but there is no reference to those person ever calling themselves by such a term. that term is one distinct to America. when used the reader or listener is immediately transported to the USA

and now, “throw shade” which began popular usage by American social media types to criticise each other primarily in jest.

certain words have cultural implications and sometimes they are imported into other cultures with different meanings. for that reason i prefer terms like, “mekking sport at” instead of “throwing shade at”

47. @ Greene

Once more you are right. We have no institution to protect our language, like the French. We get such careless use of language quite often here on BU, with those in North America and Australia spelling one way, those in Europe spelling another and a large number speaking in Bajan dialect.
    This goes right back to our educational system, the quality of our journalism and the poor nature of our civic leaders. We can tell the historical point at which the rot started from the mutilation of our language. Not since the death of Mr Wickham have we had literary journalism in any of our publications and it shows.
    The same people who sabotage our language are the same ones who want to celebrate Kamau Brathwaite, ‘Tom’ Clarke and George Lamming
    Only today I got an email from an old school friend celebrating the superior nature of English literature as it was taught at the old school. Nothing in it was about the golden age of English-speaking Caribbean literature.
    The real measure of our decline is not politics, but education in its broadest sense, as the old timers will tell you about their classical learning.
    We pay lip service to cognitive skills, yet the greatest insult on BU is that one is a polymath and reads books, or one ‘name drops’ English intellectuals. Can you believe it?
    One silly phrase that makes me laugh is that of ‘town hall’ meetings, which the Nation started using some years ago. Which town hall? They import these Americanism without thinking.
    I now hear Americans talking about conversating, which no doubt will soon turn up in Barbados. I will like to conversate the semi-educated idiots. You only have to read academics essays by some of those at Cave Hill to get my point.

48. @ Greene
    Our distinguished Blogmaster is very take with cliche and what used to be called newspeak forty years ago. We continue to monitor his progress under the direction of @Pacha himself an erudite gentleman quite capable of tutoring our affable Blogmaster.
    Kindly do a little research on the term throw shade. I am certain that @Pacha will not take too kindly to his student using it.
    Peace

49. @ Hal
    They are frauds! There are some on BU who pretend they want to destroy the English language under the pretense that vulgarity is Bajan and we culture. Yet in the company of those they consider their intellectual equals they use the finest language and even use words that are frequently used by classical scholars.
    They deny the scholarship of those whom they believe were not the recipients of studying at the great British university. They call one group historians and other historians chroniclers because they works have apparently not been approved by so called peers.
    They see the world class only through the same lens that the most decadent conservatives see it. Then take puerile shots at those who see a genuine Caribbean civilization as our only hope. No wonder we are just spectators in the global space we so vainly try to imitate.