Name withheld – Blogmaster

I firmly believe that the highly respected and soundly run Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) is heading into serious leadership trouble. What I’ve heard is very troubling.

I am a very seasoned banker who has worked across our region. I know a thing or two about banking in the region. I’ve tried to get information directly from CDB but they have not been forthcoming at all, so please publish this letter as I have a few questions to ask.

Is it true that with the generous helping hand from our Prime Minister Keith Rowley and  the other regional Prime Ministers, the newly appointed CDB chairman, Prime Minister Mia Mottley from Barbados, has instructed that the bank appoint her advisor, a British national, as the new president of CDB? Wouldn’t this selection and appointment stink of blatant nepotism and cronyism and taint Barbados? Can a chairman of CDB select the President of CDB from his/her own previous clients and own pool of personal advisers? And no other Prime Minister can stop it?

What about qualifications of the individual being imposed on CDB? Is the British advisor more qualified than any other Caribbean professional to run the Bank? The President of CDB is always a person from the Caribbean of high stature, regional intellect and integrity. Does this British advisor even have a Caribbean identity? Does he know and understand what it takes to achieve successful regional development? Does he have a record of successful projects in the Caribbean? Has Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados and the region not learned anything from the many hotel debacles and the many other failed development projects that die and only leave the lawyers and advisers rich. There are many other highly qualified bankers and economists with good track records of integrity and success in the region who can run CDB.

There are many options. Why has Rowley failed to nominate any experienced banker, economist, or academic from Trinidad and Tobago? Trinidad and Tobago has majority stocks and votes in the bank. Where is Prime Minister Rowley’s voice and why would all the region’s Prime Ministers Gonsalves, Browne, Holness who are so usually loud about regional issues suddenly stay silent and surrender so meekly to Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s moves to capture CDB for her adviser? What is really going on with this coming ugly affair? Something looks very rotten in the region.

Will our Caribbean leaders find the good sense and fortitude to avoid the stench of cronyism and do the right thing to keep the Caribbean in the leadership of the CDB and to maintain its development focus? The dodging must stop. The Prime Ministers and CDB must start talking. We deserve to know.

197 responses to “Why are Regional Prime Ministers silent over their creation of CDB’s leadership crisis?”

1. WURA-War-on-UOctober 17, 2020 12:06 PM

Someone is spreading misinformation about the coconut vendors in Warrens directly across from Simpson though, when they are finished a truck can always be seen there loaded down with shells, it may not be moved right away but these things have to be organized, getting workers to pick up and then load the shells take time, the vendors on the same side as the Dome Mall are a little less organized, dont know if things have improved, i have had much time to observe them over a 3 year period and if your opinion is based solely on passing by in a car once every few years, weeks or days, it is an unfair and biased assumption….in addition, when your governments with their big brain ideas move vendors, it’s always to a location where there is no foot traffic or vehicular traffic, what’s the point if they are making no money….eg…moving them from the terminal to renovate it, to next door to the fire station and they did not make any money, they never take advice that makes sense, too swollen with fake slave titles, and there have been many more examples of idiot policies from the 1970s and coming forward…. good thing we have a life span or this same discussion will be still ongoing a 100 years from now, the new generation will deal with that for sure… I will be sure my kids and grands are aware of it to pass on info..would hate for them to say, did our great grandparents not talk about this 100 years ago.

2. Ok…again, my writings are viewed in some very interesting places, i write papers in my spare time…

now, get over yaselves.

3. True dat about the stupid relocations. Always to a place where there is no foot traffic.

Any fool would know it won’t be profitable.

Why do they keep doing it?

4. These are bread and butter issues we need to solve.

5. what is the differences in what you said to what me and greene said except that you gave a little more information?

6. Donna…they will soon vaccinate them all and put them out of their misery, i can’t wait, it’s like they live to wear out each other and am not the best of candidates…

7. what’s the point of bringing up the subject, if you don’t have the information i gave, here is the problem yall have, a little critical thinking would have solved this in the 1970s…but they are either incapable of thinking critically or don’t want to solve the issue, pick your poison, because they sure are not going to listen to any of you and would only pretend to solve it, if there is a bribe attached and ONLY IF, someone white, indian or syrian is involved, like how the same class of criminals always got the police to remove vendors from Swan Street to somewhere, where they CANNOT MAKE ANY MONEY….am not telling you anything you do not already know…and you know it..

8. So now we are on the vendors subject, would the police removing vendors have anything to do with some of them being in the syrian store operating the registers…asking for Greene…

9. Do not bring up topics to deflect or distract because it always lead back to the black face sellouts AND GOVERNMENT COLLUSION…

10. TheO,

It happened in Britain. The algorithm was flawed. The algorithmn assigned a weight according to the school the student attended. Any fool would have foreseen that this would be to the advantage of an average student at a high performing school and to the disadvantage of an outstanding student at a lesser performing school.

Double whammy that could not stand. Teacher’s profiles were then accepted.

So too was there a problem with CXC’s algorithm. NO DOUBT ABOUT IT!

It was not their original algorithm. It was a hasty decision based on an unexpected crisis.

SIMPLE SOLUTION

The CXC would not have just to change the grade but also to give the rationale for the changes for the student who had already submitted to overseas universities. If the grade is more in line with the teacher profile which had also been submitted to the university in order to facilitate acceptance there is no problem. The actual paper could also be submitted to the university for perusal.

And finally, if the student does not perform after arriving at the university, the scholarship can be withdrawn. The scholarship is provisional.

Steupse! I am beginning to see your son’s problem.

11. Why oh why do humans make things seem so difficult?

12. Sweden’s herd immunity ???

Has Sweden beaten coronavirus? Expert claims by refusing to shut the country down the Swedes now have ‘herd immunity’ and have avoided a second wave

The Scandinavian nation was the only country in Europe not to introduce strict lockdown measures at the start of the pandemic.

But scientists believe that this may have helped it avoid a second wave of Covid-19 as it continues to record its lowest number of cases since March – with just 28 infections per 100,000 people.

This figure is less than half of the UK’s own infection rate of 69 per 100,000 people.

Professor Kim Sneppen, an expert in the spread of coronavirus at the Niels Bohr Institute in Copenhagen, said that Sweden might have beaten the pandemic.

He told Denmark’s Politiken newspaper: ‘There is some evidence that the Swedes have built up a degree of immunity to the virus which, along with what else they are doing to stop the spread, is enough to control the disease.

‘Perhaps, the epidemic is over there.’

He said that the virus may now have run out of steam.

He added: ‘That is what they have said.

‘On the positive side, they may now be finished with the epidemic.’

Sweden was initially criticised at the start of the outbreak after recording a spike in its mortality rates which was five times that of Denmark and ten times that of Norway and Finland.

Number of deaths per 24 hours peaked in April at 115 with more than half in care homes.

But its seven-day average for coronavirus-related deaths is now zero.

Sweden’s state epidemiologist Anders Tegnell, who has become the face of the no-lockdown strategy, said in a recent interview that voluntary hygiene measures had been ‘just as effective’ as complete shutdowns.

Sweden kept open schools for children under 16, banned gatherings of more than 50 people and told over-70s and vulnerable groups to self-isolate.

Shops, bars and restaurants stayed open throughout the pandemic and the wearing of masks has not been advised by the government.

‘The rapidly declining cases we see in Sweden right now is another indication that you can get the number of cases down quite a lot in a country without having a complete lockdown,’ he previously told Unherd.

Tegnell added that ‘deaths are not so closely connected to the amount of cases you have in a country’, saying the death rate was more closely linked to whether older people are being infected and how well the health system can cope.

Swedish economic activity has also started to pick up with the effects of the downturn looking less severe than previously feared.

The economy had shrunk by nine per cent but this too was less than the 20 per cent dip seen in the UK.

It is thought that because many younger people have already had coronavirus in Sweden it now has less chance to spread through the population.

England may need to follow Scotland’s lead and BAN households from visiting each other if Rule of Six doesn’t work, Chris Whitty ‘warns Boris Johnson’

13. Of course some will be down graded. Like those average students in Britain from high performing schools who benefited from their unearned attendance at those schools.

The point is that those who got those grades higher than their profile DID NOT EARN THEM AND SHOULD NOT HAVE THEM. THEY KNOW WHO THEY ARE AND WILL MAKE A LITTLE NOISE BUT WILL EVENTUALLY ACCEPT THEM BECAUSE THEY KNOW THAT THEY DESERVE THE DOWNGRADE.

THE ISSUE IS ONE OF FAIRNESS AND EVERYBODY GETTING WHAT THEY EARNED.

A students sometimes fall to Grade 2. They do not fall to Grades 4 and 5.

Even foreign deans know that.

14. “Why oh why do humans make things seem so difficult?”

that’s why you have to make it just as difficult for them, balance things out a bit.

the parents and kids are horrified, traumatized…..it’s been over 2 weeks, UK got their problem fixed in 48 HOURS…..Barbados is 21L X 14W with less than 300K population, the student population is miniscule..

they are still acting as if it’s rocket science and brain surgery combined…at least no one is making excuses for them anymore.

15. forgot to add that the Caribbean yes, is populated combined, but it’s still less than the student size in UK a population of 67 million as opposed to 30-40 million in the Caribbean….it took them 48 hours only to resolve this ….weeks later and CXC can’t find it’s ass with both hands..

16. Or, if everybody had done a co-ordinated response the virus could have been brought under control long ago.

Two months lockdown and DONE.

Other countries up Sweden’s side have not done badly and have far fewer deaths than Sweden. New Zealand also has done a good job.

They are not even sure how long the immunity will last.

17. https://www.nationnews.com/2020/10/17/mia-dems-last-talk/

i knew i was not imagining it but had to go looking, in that article Mia is accusing DLP of interference in the police force….

so i ask again…

So now we are on the vendors subject, would the police removing vendors from SWAN STREET SINCE THE 70s have anything to do with some of them being in the syrian store operating the CASH registers…asking for Greene

18. “Of course some will be down graded. ”

CXC said they did not do it, maybe they got Gremlins..

19. But some received surprisingly high grades that actually should be downgraded.

20. True…but since the screw up is so BIG, if they are the ones who got the downgrade, CXC is still saying …IT WASN’T ME…

i had to go checking again, but i could swear a retired cop just ACCUSED THE MIA GOVERNMENT of police interference too…so exactly what’s going on here…maybe DBLP will have to form a coalition with all these ACCUSATIONS back and forth…..they leave ya head spinning, no wonder Bajans are deathly afraid of all of them.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/10/10/former-top-cop-says-interference-hurting-police-force

“A retired high-ranking law enforcement officer has accused politicians of interfering in the operations of the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF), and he has urged senior lawmen to stand up to the political directorate. Although he did not identify any particular politician, former Deputy Commissioner Bertie Hinds, in a recent interview with Barbados TODAY, charged […]”

21. “and he has urged senior lawmen to stand up to the political directorate.”

can the gurus, fowl slaves or yardfowls clarify if Bertie Hinds means D or BLP…considering it’s BLP in the parliament…

22. Hope yall can view this video, but am sure everyone remembers it from the BIG “we gathering” victims splash in London…where the lady was asking Mia about fraud against the elderly in Barbados relating to her father’s death and subsequent attempt of the theft of his estate and bank account, same lady who was arrested just last weekend for doing as she was insructed by Mama Mia..

https://www.facebook.com/valeriesuzette/videos/10157614672945983/

23. The same police had sufficient evidence to arrest the victim when she found her father’s body had disappeared from the hospital through forged documents, he was buried using forged documents, his bank accounts were raided in Barbados, using forged documents, there was an attempt to raid his bank account in UK using fraud, but the bank red-flagged it and called in the police, his will was forged, letters testamentary forged, until exposure forced them to have that fraud rescinded via Registrar…and all types of players from Barbados to London are exposed as being involved.

..so in essence, if you go to the police to complain about fraud against the elderly as a beneficiary…THE POLICE WILL ARREST YOU…once the scum of the earth common class self-proclaimed black elites are involved…..Mia should have said that though….while sitting on the world stage..

24. @ WURA-War-on-U October 17, 2020 4:11pm

Are you saying all this fraudulent activity took place in BDS under the nose of our modern security banking system??? One’s account becomes inactive after 6 months without activity. Litigation against the banks are peradventures ?

25. So what does Fowl Enuff and Spike the She-man Lorenza think about all of this, i can never remember the other fowl slave’s name…,,ah thought they would all fly out to defend by now, but not a feather not a fowl.

26. Don’t know what alternate world you live in, but an account can stay active if someone wants it to, it’s after a year activity ceases and depending on the amount..etc, etc, ah can ‘t help ya with timelines for withdrawls, ya will have to ask Fowl Enuff….but multimillion dollar accounts are known to COMPLETELY DISAPPEAR in Barbados, forged documents and powers of attorney are easy instruments to forge and not from Black people’s accounts alone..the fowls may be able to furnish you with details…

it as my understanding a couple years back that one dude had up to 20 accounts and 3 or 4 completely walked out the bank door, WITHOUT A TRACE….i don’t run in those circles, ask the defending yardfowls…

27. Individuals make irrational decisions under less circumstances. This matter could become devastating…

28. I have been reading and trying to understand this blog. I simply cannot understand the comments about the selecting of the President of CDB.
    Will someone please explain the process.
    Who selects the President?
    Is it one person?
    Is it a group of people?
    If so how many?
    Just trying to understand the process.

29. @ WURA-War-on-U October 17, 2020 5:06pm

That occurred in Guatemala, not Barbados 🇧🇧

30. Dear patenham I , like you don’t understand it either . What understand for sure is that it is about cursing the prime minister of Barbados . The chairperson cannot on his / her own appoint the president . Any proposal would have to be endorsed and agreed upon and voted for . So why blame and accuse the chairperson .

31. If you say so, the person i know lives in Barbados and held the accounts in Barbados…so am not the one to argue…as i said, i dont run in those circles…..plus there are other missing accounts belonging to Black Bajans in Barbados who never been to Guatemala…so i cant dispute what they say, if you know better, please share.

32. “This matter could become devastating”

yep…but there is even worse, so fasten ya seatbelt..

33. ‘’The chairman , WITH THE GENEROUS HELPING HAND OF KEITH ROWLEY and the other regional leaders “ How does that make her a despot or dictator deserving of all the nasty and negative things being posted on this blog

34. @ WURA-War-on-U

Who are we now???????

It’s a dam shame. We are actually stealing from the dead. Our profound ethical standards has withered away.

35. “Multi million dollar accounts are known to completely disappear in Barbados “ Could my dear friend Wara-war -on – u give us at least one proven example. Don’t want no long winded nonsensical or nasty rant or rave Just a factual comment

36. @ WURA-War-on-U

I would hope this is just an alleged that has no merit whatsoever. However, If there is any sound proof surrounding this matter, I’m very certain our Prime Minister will appoint a board of inquiry.

This pill is hard to swallow. Stop throwing darts 🎯 @ my Mia, she’s not responsible for this one…you need to direct your queries to the banking systems..

37. “Could my dear friend Wara-war -on – u give us at least one proven example.”

why don’t you go ask the Bar Association…WHO HAVE ALL THE COMPLAINTS…or ask the banks and their heaquarters about the complaints, or ask the victims, yall love to go after victims anyway, so ya can ask a question and don’t pretend you don’t know who the victims are, you are probably one of the BIGGEST THIEVES. …it’s only in Barbados people pretend to never be aware of what’s going on, especially when the criminals AND joke elite, frauds and sell outs are involved…then when all the shit comes out WITH EVIDENCE, VIDEO EVIDENCE, yall want more…and then disappear when asked questions…..but that is one video that’s playing all across the earth and none of you can make it disappear…it’s on a loop, especially on the Continent, to keep the thieves and their toxic racist wannabe slave masters out..

“This pill is hard to swallow.”
    imagine how the victims feel.

“We are actually stealing from the dead.”
    yall been stealing from the dying, weak, elderly, dead and unborn from the 1940s, yall have been REWARDING THE THIEVES with slave titles out of UK and rewarding them with high paying jobs AT TAXPAYERS EXPENSE…..

“Prime Minister will appoint a board of inquiry.”
    at whose expense? surely NOT THE TAXPAYERS, surely at the EXPENSE OF THE ACCUSED, who all get fine salaries at taxpayer’s expense already…..their names have been all over FB for over a year, so don’t pretend you don’t know.

and surely not an excuse to hold another inquiry, like the removal of nelson where there was one 22 years ago but Mia was still planning to hold another unnecessary one, if people who live off island know who all the THIEVES ARE IN BARBADOS especially those in the judiciary, bar associaton and the parliament…..what yall need an inquiry for…steuppps….another board of inquiry to NOWHERE? do you plan to benefit from it financially.

when frauds and bullies believe they can RULE Black people and not lead, and do so by intimidation and fear over a 50 year period, one day, one day, they tend to meet their match, in the form of their VICTIMS….methinks Karma has finally arrived, Retribution is standing right there too…ENJOY!!!

I noticed everyone is pretending there is not an accusation of political interference in the police force, by a retired cop no less, keep on pretending, don’t stop, it looks even better when all the dirty shit comes out.

38. Australian economist: Covid-19 Lockdowns like “using a sledghammer to kill a swarm of flies”.

39. We had $800,000.00 disappeared after being paid to a lawyer. In this case, there is little talk of restitution as all I see in the papers is ‘brilliant legal’ bullshit on what can be done to the lawyer.

There are two other cases where a total of more than half million dollars disappeared from lawyers.

Then, there is a case where a woman from England is claiming that her deceased dad estate was stolen. Heard the victim went to Barbados looking for justice and was jailed.

Victims are known. The thievery is known and documented.

There is even talk of a meagre victim’s fund which has as one of it rules.. “You ain’t gun get back all of yuh money. Just a symbolic amount”.

Yet it would tax the mind of some to imagine that thievery from others is ongoing. Even when it has be proven that ‘the king has no clothes’ some would pretend he is wearing a suit and tie.

In a corrupt society that is built on secrecy, the request for details is part of the cover-up.

40. The purpose of the Compensation Fund is not to make the injured party whole.

41. It is possible that funds in a ” client account ” could be an overdraft facility for some lawyers in Barbados.

42. BU blogger Peece de Profet wrote that if lawyers in Barbados did not have access to client funds some of them would be bankrupt.

43. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

patenhamOctober 17, 2020 5:30 PM
    “I have been reading and trying to understand this blog. I simply cannot understand the comments about the selecting of the President of CDB.
    Will someone please explain the process.
    Who selects the President?
    Is it one person?
    Is it a group of people?
    If so how many?”
    The Board of Governors of the CDB is the body that elects the President & CEO of the Bank by a vote of its members. Nominations to the post of President closed on September 29, 2020. The first vote must be taken by October 28, 2020. The term of office of the President is for five years.

“Each member country nominates one Governor and one Alternate Governor. Each Governor casts the votes of the member territory which he/she represents. The British overseas territories of Anguilla, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Montserrat and Turks and Caicos Islands are regarded as one member.” — CDB website

Borrowing Member Countries:
    Antigua and Barbuda
    Barbados
    Belize
    British overseas territories of Anguilla, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Montserrat and Turks and Caicos Islands
    Dominica
    Grenada
    Guyana
    Haiti
    Jamaica
    Saint Kitts and Nevis
    Saint Lucia
    Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
    Suriname
    The Bahamas
    Trinidad and Tobago

Non-Borowing Member Countries:
    Brazil
    Canada
    China
    Colombia
    Germany
    Italy
    Mexico
    United Kingdom
    Venezuela

44. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

So there are 24 entities entitled to vote for the next President & CEO of the CDB, of which 15 are from the Caribbean.

45. “The purpose of the Compensation Fund is not to make the injured party whole.”

That is exactly my point. Let me make it as absurd as I can. A crooked lawyer steals 800k. Along comes the fund and gives you 2k. Then you are supposed to say thank you sir and disappear.

I seem to recall that if you prevail against the lawyer and get some money back, then the 2k would have to be paid back. I am doubtful you will get this 2k if there is a chance of prevailing.

No, it is not raining and I am not a fan of golden showers.

Have a great day.

46. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David October 18, 2020 7:37 AM
    “The purpose of the Compensation Fund is not to make the injured party whole.”
    If that is so then it is NOT a compensation fund.

“com·pen·sa·tion
    /ˌkämpənˈsāSH(ə)n/
    noun
    the action or process of awarding someone money as a recompense for loss, injury, or suffering.”

If the ‘compensation fund’ does not recompense the loss then it is simply a token, mostly meaningless gesture, so that the Bar Association can assuage their obvious collective guilt.

It must immediately be renamed the Barbados Bar Association Token Payout to Assuage Our Guilt.

47. You need an insurance plan to cover some of the risk and an enforcement of the laws not the compensation fund.

48. FROM THE LITTLE clip what did bradshaw said that should not be heard by children? children nowadays are exposed to a lot more on the tv and internet than anything i heard on that clip.

49. wrong blog !