Last week the four main opposition political parties announced they will combine forces to support one candidate in the by-election to be held on the 11 November 2020 in St. George North. Leading political commentator @budavid described the move has “shrewd”and one that finally demonstrated a level of political maturity not witnessed since universal suffrage in the Caribbean.

When asked to elaborate by international foreign affairs correspondent @Pachamama, @budavid indicated adversarial politics was the vestige of a colonial past and had demonstrably failed to optimally define the people of the island state of Barbados. He stated, “we are a homogenous society and a consensus type of politics should be the alternative to determine the future of our small predominantly Black nation- and to ensure the hopes of a proud small island developing state are realised and fears are assuaged“.

The entrenched incumbent political party has implemented and supported a raft of polices on winning office which have weakened the voice of the opposition and served to destabilize the system of governance as envisaged by the framers of the Westminster system which the country has parodied. Two polices continuing to attract scathing critique from the BU intelligentsia are the politics of co-option and the reluctance of the incumbent and entrenched government to relax the rule governing a subvention for opposition political parties.

And the politics of inclusion practised by the incumbent party reared its head again last week with the head of the largest trade union fast tracked for membership in a record setting one week to support her candidature in St. George North. The leader of the incumbent party admitted party rules had to be ‘abridged’ to accommodate the new member.

The incumbent political party has dismissed repeated calls to relax the rule that prevents a subvention to political parties who have not faced the electorate. @budavid recently reminded the prime minister from the #barbados_underground that she had a “duty of care” as primus inter pares and guardian of our democracy to be bipartisan when treating with certain matters. She was also reminded that there was no hesitation by the government she represents to amend the Constitution for less important matters as reflected in Hansard.

The shrew decision of the Opposition parties to coalesce behind the candidate with the best chance to win has resonated across Barbados and resulted in the needle on the Political Apathy Index (PAI) shifting +10 – the most significant movement in 40 years. A desirable outcome of the tectonic shift in political sentiment has resulted in the redundancy of political pollsters.

That the political system has mechanisms by which political parties can reach a compromise even though they disagree on policies. In Sweden, difficult issues are sent to a commission on which all the parties and key interest groups are represented in order to reach an agreement, and, in Austria, Government, business and the trade unions agree on the main economic policies and the left and right parties accept what has been agreed.

Britpolitics

@budavid throws his support behind the move by the main opposition parties to embrace a consensus style of politics and hopes that it will be the catalyst for a transformation event to a consensus style of democracy. For too long the hopes and aspirations of a proud people have been superseded by the paramountcy of the political party.

369 responses to “Opposition Parties Reach Compromise to Run One Candidate in St. George North By Election”

1. WS
    There is a saying who the cap fit
    Well Lorenzo is a kool aid drinker.That is so easy

2. Lest we forget based on Skinner and your comments both of you are koolaid drinkers of the Dem kind as well.The difference is everyone knows who i support but you two hide and pretend to be neutral .Time to be big men and openly support who you want to.

3. WS,

Bree was quite a decent man. a man i admired a lot from that dishonest and underhanded bunch of BLP pols at that time. he was one of the best, honest and most underrated politicians we have had. he was also a good PM. wished he could have been PM for a longer time.

4. Lorenzo
    Barbadian educated middle age female voters between the ages of 25 and 45 are going to lead a revival in Barbadian politics where the ethics and morals of politicians are scrutinized. They did it to the DLP where a 30-0 whipping was administered. Now the most heavily used words against Msr.Moore across social media are she is constitutional right in sitting as an Independent senator but morally and ethically wrong in sitting as an independent senator why knowingly campaigning to win a seat for the ruling party. These people are not Kool aid drinkers

5. @ Carson

We have so normalised our aggression that we do not even notice. This is an aggression that can easily develop in to violence. Therefore there is no surprise when we get gun violence on the streets.
    It is almost conceivable that most of it is over irrelevant differences. The root cause is in our culture, not social class. This social pathology runs right through all Bajan classes and ethnicities.
    All this is a recent development, a post-independence one; generations before had built a very good reputation which post-independence Barbadians have squandered.
    They are arrogant, rude, obnoxious, dumb and unrepentant as they have law degrees so must be clever, if only in their sad minds.

@ William

It is my belief that had death not robbed us of David Thompson at such an early age, he would have turned out to be a successful prime minister.
    I say again, my big question about Thompson is why it is that a UK born man of Guyanese heritage with a St Lucian wife could become prime minister of Barbados? Will the same or similar happen again with our Republican president?

6. Bree was in pm long enuff to be called a good pm

Thompson was not in power enuff to be judge as PM

You DLP. Full of sh…. smoke and mirrors. 🙂

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    I honestly don’t know what type of PM Thompson would have developed into. I often tell people that politically he was a lot of Tom and Barrow. What I can say about him ; that I know personally , he was extremely mild mannered when there was conversation.
    In my limited meetings with Mia , I also find her to be quite mild mannered as well. I think Barrow has been her greatest political influence. After watching her for two years , I haven’t seen the depth that would have been expected of a person who has had her long experience. But It’s still too early to judge.
    @ Greene
    You are absolutely right about Bree St John. To hear him talk about trade , tourism fisheries , agriculture etc., was an education. They could not touch him!

8. Lest we forget i notice you did not deny being a dem.However what are you a fortune teller now? Give me a break! Social media hits do not win elections , hard work on the ground listening to people issues and developing strategies to try to help them do.The other point you made about the loss by the Dems in 2018 was due to one main thing incompetence from top to bottom in my view. The point on Ms Moore did she appoint herself to the senate? I thought it was the Govenor General.Therefore the GG could revoke the appointment at any time i would think.

9. Lorenzo you are not batting well
    The people said it is legally right but morally and ethically wrong. Do you agree or not? The GG cannot give persons morals or Integrity. I was here thinking how our Government was seeking to uphold integrity and transparency going forward but from what you are saying that is not the case.

10. @William

Nobody knows what kind of prime minister Thompson would have developed in to. I am talking about my belief, which I am entitled to. I cannot see in to the future.
    I am not aware of having a personality part Barrow, part Adams, since I have no admiration for either man – one a national hero, and the other, no doubt being lined up to be a national hero..
    We have two years of government on which to judge Mottley, and almost all of it suggests someone who is out of her league, who promised more than she can deliver and is forced to depend on nepotism and political trickery.

11. Lest we forget i might agree with you but i am not Ms Moore.It is her decision or the GG,s.I never said the GG could give her morals I said the GG sppoited her and can revoke her appointment.My question to you dems though where all these ethics and morality suddenly come from since 2018? Where were they before 2018?Isn, t an ex Mp in the USA on charges from your party?On another note John 2 i agree with you Mr St John whom a i had great respect for and Mr Thompson were PM for about the same time but Mr St John could be termed a good PM but Mr Thompson, s time was too short.Well well it was not too short to put the economy in a tailspin with his first or second budget though.In my view Mr Thompson was totally overated as a PM.

12. DT was in power about the same time as MM as PM. Yet MM is the worst But DT wasn’t in long enuff to be judge 🙂

Ok she didn’t go to combermere so she can be judge anytime

13. William Skinner Avatar

In our political culture transparency and good governance depends on the party in office:
    When the BLP is governing, the DLP calls for transparency and good governance. When the DLP is governing the BLP calls for transparency and good governance.
    In the end we do not get it from either of them.
    Pot calling kettle black for nearly sixty years after independence.
    The only certain thing is that the BLPDLP never runs out of kool aid.

14. We know enough in the short time Thompson was prime minister that he was not different from many of the rest. A corrupt politician read CLICO.

15. What is laughable about Mia views on Moore candidacy is that while wearing the independent hat
    Moore is campaigning as the blp candidate for the SGN seat
    There is obviously an unethical two pronged fork in her candidacy which Mottley deliberately placed to keep Moore name at the forefront of publicly
    In show business there is a saying that any publicity is better than no publicity
    I guess the strategist assumes that like throwing spaghetti in the ceiling some got to stick
    My hope is that the people of SGN would define Moore by her actions
    Actions suffice to say that are all borne on self interest

16. Plse remind us of Clico and the corruption surrounding it.

17. @ David BU

I join you in endorsing the message as well.

I also believe the BLP should give serious thought to the following comments:

“Sitting as an Independent Senator while running on a BLP ticket is making a mockery of our Parliamentary system. While on her way to Roebuck Street Ms Moore should have had the integrity to drop her resignation letter off at Government House.”

18. Any one who could leave govt workers out in the cold while she seeks betterment has no morals or ethics
    Wonder how many union members in SGN she knocking on their doors asking them to vote for her
    A vote which in essence secure her a job and many perks which these members might never have
    My thoughts on Moore a bold faced twofaced hypocrite

19. Good to know that my instincts were correct back then. I had a respect and a liking for Bree St. John. He did not come across as a cut throat politician.

20. Floyd Reifer a political unknown has the blp associates and yardfowl supporters on the back foot to the point they have taken to social media to spread vicious lies and rumours like this
    xxxxxxxxx

Is Floyd Reifer’s blood related to Colin Reifer who allegedly brutally killed his wife and is currently out on bail? Naked Deparature

21. Mari
    You sure you didn’t post that so you can come on here and saw a blpite posted it ?

22. Tell Donville Labour Party to ask the former speaker to resign from DLP Before dem come talking about integrity

She ain’t do nothing illegal

I think she should resign but since dem wanta make it a talking point let Dem talk

23. Steuspe

24. Yes David steupse where only gutter rats live and search for food
    Meaning that the person who posted such rubbish on social media got to be a gutter rat running around the blp camp

25. Barbados has a serious drainage problem
    But we have a PM prancing up and down on stage pelting big rocks at Floyd Reifer a man she promised that if should win
    She would financially block any projects that would help the people of St. George North
    See what a maniacal despot she is
    Again OSA is right

26. Wait Mariposa you were on here prancing about social media bigging up Mr Reifer and now the negative come you crying foul? Are you serious? This is politics where you share licks and recieve licks..This ain, t no sunday school therefore if this got you rattled you and Mr Reifer in the wrong field.You need to grow up.

27. @ Mariposa

I also join you in condemning those unscrupulous individuals who are spreading rumours about Floyd Reifer. It is wrong.

Similarly, prior to the 2008 general elections, the BEES also “took to social media to spread vicious lies and rumours” about David Thompson.

A similar deed was done by the DEMS to Dr. Mascoll when he ‘crossed the floor’ to join the BLP. And, hammie Lah suffered a similar fate from yard-fowl supporters of BOTH the BLP and DLP, each time he ‘crossed the floor?’

However, your hypocrisy has not gone unnoticed.

I also recall, prior to May 24, 2018, when “DLP associates and yardfowl supporters (were) on the back foot to the point they (took) to social media to spread vicious lies and rumours” about Mottley, while YOU, Mariposa, ENGAGED in similar activities on BU.

You are the SAME Mariposa who ENDORSED the scathing tongue-lashing Mottley received from the DEMS, when the DLP launched their 2018 general election campaign meeting on Sunday, May 6, 2018 at Waterford, St. Michael.

So, why are you COMPLAINING now? You should made it known to your DLP supporting colleagues, and by extension, BLP opponents, that PRACTICING this type of ADVERSARIAL politics is WRONG…….. and should not be CONDONED on either side.

What I find extremely amusing is, while you and Carson C. Cadogan come on BU every day to cuss Mottley and the BEES……. to be rewarded with “spot ons” and advised to ”ignore the background noises,” by your adoring fans………. they and DEMS are seen SOCIALISING TOGETHER at karaoke sessions, bars, sports and other events hosted by Maloney, Bizzy, Arabs and Indians.

But, when I highlight the biased, one-sided arguments you people bring to BU, I’m either accused of being a BLP supporter or “criticizing what is good about the DLP and pretending to be neutral.”

28. Lorenzo i expected that once the blp yardfowls saw how social media was rapidly warming up to Reifer
    I suspect that the yardfowls would fly off the fence in a hurry to pelt boulders at Reifer
    My intent in posting is to show the gutter rats that frolic inside the blp party
    Not at all complaining

29. Artax
    Was not around them times
    So i can only speak to present
    I see an unethical wrong that unless Mia take charge and correct i would speak on
    Also because the past had similar circumstances it does not make it right going forward

30. So wait…. what if he is related to a murderer? The only way it could in any way reflect on him is if it were his son.

Steupse!

31. Mari sole purpose of bringing that sh8 is so she can get on BU and talk bout gutter rats in blp

32. Where is the lie?
    Where is the rumor?
    How does she know the Person is connected to the blp?

Talk about spreading rumor and gutter rat

33. “Was not around them times……. So i can only speak to present.”

@ Mariposa

Why you ‘don’t stop telling lies?’

Mariposa May 7, 2018 4:02 AM

Yes cat piss and pepper licks like peas for Mia and all she deservrs………..

ac May 7, 2018 7:08 AM

A good nite for the dlp.A nite of facts
    And yet there is more to come. The blp can keep counting downgrades
    and revenue shortfalls
    In the meantime the dlp would pile onto Mia character a deficit so high one which she would not easily rebound

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    Give @ac credit. She was perceptive enuff to realise there would be a deficit so high somebody would not easily rebound. She just got mixed up as to who it would be? Likely a result of the facts which were provided.

35. Artax

Not in any one of my comments going back to 2018 did i go to gutter rat status by words or pictures indicative of connecting blp ministers name to murder
    You ought to be condemning such actions by blp supporters and the lowlife standards by which blp supporters are using to destroy the reputation of Reifer
    Shame on you

36. Why is the blp running scared of Reifer
    Reifer made a noteworthy statement of cleaning up the bush in SGN
    Now out steps the minister of Environment a day after Reifer makes the statement sends bulldozers to clean up the area and talks about building a park
    These jokers are not fit for purpose no shame at all
    Mia had the nerve to tell Reifer that any plans he has for SGN must go through her and she is the one who says yea or nay
    Some one ought to send a message to Mia reminding her she is a servant of the people and she does not own the treasury
    Power has gone to her head and like Trump power eventually would destroy herself and the country
    Mia handlers must tell her the truth slowly her tendencies of becoming a dictator are rising to the top

37. @Mariposa

Mottley as president is a failed experiment. Until May 24, 2018, I too thought she would have been good for Barbados. It was her badly advised and irresponsible default that first made me aware she hadn’t a clue. Every policy since then has reinforced it.
    It will end in tears. Barbados is not only a failed state, it is also entering the tunnel of doom. Wait until she brings in her 80000 non-black New Barbadians and, as she is likely to do, the first past the post electoral system is replace with proportional representation. With that will go the black parliamentary majority forever.

38. “You ought to be condemning such actions by blp supporters and the lowlife standards by which blp supporters are using to destroy the reputation of Reifer. Shame on you”

@ Mariposa

Firstly, it seems as though you read, but DO NOT UNDERSTAND what you read………. or you’re a very DISHONEST individual……… or BOTH.

Secondly, l wrote the following comments:

Artax October 6, 2020 9:29 PM #: “@ Mariposa, I also join you in CONDEMNING those unscrupulous individuals who are spreading rumours about Floyd Reifer. It is WRONG.”

Thirdly, don’t try to change the subject, because l NEVER MENTIONED anything about YOU “going to gutter rat status by words or pictures indicative of connecting blp ministers name to murder.” You’re being dishonest.

What I wrote was, you’re complaining about people spreading rumors about Reifer, which I ‘said’ was WRONG.
    Yet, you SUPPORTED the action of the DEMS assassinating Mottley’s character, at their Sunday, May 6, 2018 political meeting, which was EQUALLY WRONG as well.

So, shame on YOU.

39. Hal however why isnt the mainstream media not calling Mia actions to account
    Why isnt the media drawing on mia utterances which is telling sign that Mia is serious on taking barbados onto a political system of rule by dictatorship

40. Artax u used my comments of 2018 to push a narrative that would suggest that i have slurry blp ministers name in like manner actions which are indicative of murder or connected to convicted murderers

41. @ Mariposa

It is about time you realise that a lot of Barbadians, including the media, are not interested in dismantling the Mottley deception. They get comfort out of trying to prove that you are a liar or evil or both.
    It is juvenile and stupid, but not surprising. It is the end result of learning by rote. In this big, robust world, some of them will never survive with that attitude.
    The reality is that Mottley has been a failure, that is the big picture. Concomitant with that is that we are in the last chance saloon, there is no way back if we fail this time. The world has changed.
    I do not advise people, but I would suggest you remain focussed on the reality and ignore the buzzing flies. They get pleasure out of telling people how many properties they have, what qualifications, how many holidays they go on, etc. It is a sign that someone is not confident in themselves.
    Just note those whose contributions are always negative, attempts to prove someone wrong, instead of putting forward ideas. They do not because they have no original ideas.

42. All politics seems to be conducted from the gutter.

Everywhere.

Crusoe,

At the risk of sounded right wing I agree with you on the invasive government score. It has led to a dependency mentality. No problem with giving somebody a leg up but they must learn to ride the horse.

I have a friend who regularly changes one side of her wooden house at a time so that her house is always practically new.

I myself do not believe in letting repairs get out of hand.

Just yesterday afternoon I spoke about the coconut broom and the hoe and how they were my maternal grandmother’s daily tools. Every morning she attacked the yard. My mother needs no hoe but she deals with weeds in her flower garden beds and the lawn daily.

Debushing of the area should be a community affair. We could cook a little food for everybody and buy a few drinks and get the job done.

We have gotten more dependent and more lazy and more nasty.

Now, it’s out to my garden beds. Got okras, tomatoes, sweet peppers, hot peppers, beets, thyme, marjoram, basil, parsley, celery, chives, eggplant, cucumber, butternut squash, spinach, kale and lettuce at various stages of growth. Got chinese cabbage, regular cabbage, onions, carrots and radishes to hatch. The yams, sweet potatoes, cassavas will be next. Grapes, melons, pumpkins, and English/Irish potatoes will be last. By the middle of next year my food bill will be very small.

My lime tree has finally been planted to join my bananas, paw paw and pomegranate. The old timers – the coconut, mango and sour sop are still standing and bearing. Pea trees and guava trees promised for this week. Plaintain also promised.

New lawn laid in places. New hedge to be replanted. I had to let some die when the rain stopped for a while after they were planted.

And I feel better than I have in ages simply by doing a little physical labour, producing my own food and beautifying my surroundings.

Bajans need to turn off the T.V. and put down their phones. NCDs would decline dramatically and we would have more energy.

And what would we do with all our new energy? Chase down the corrupt politicians and run them out of Barbados!

We need to stop looking to government for everything.

And now I will tear myself away from Morning Psycho Joe get out of bed and hit the garden bed.

If people only knew…

43. Thank you Nation Editor. This is where the debate needs to be instead of the rabid partisan nonsense being discussed by some here.

Change financing rules
    THE NOVEMBER 11 St George North by-election is a parochial campaign but it holds national interest not only for the politicians, political scientists and the political strategists. It should also command the attention of an observant general public. It is about more than the eventual outcome.
    It is important that very close attention be paid to the spending by all five political parties in this contest, an aspect of the election campaigns in Barbados which has for too long not been seriously scrutinised.
    We do not have a political ombudsman to monitor spending, while the Electoral and Boundaries Commission (EBC) has not undertaken any investigation into the matter and published its findings. There is therefore no accurate information on the level of spending on political campaigns.
    This bad practice must not continue for eternity.
    The public must be wary and not let it slip on this occasion.
    St George North is a good place to start demanding greater transparency and accountability of our political parties and the candidates. We understand they need contributions to help with the expenditure they incur while in the hustings, and the civic-minded contributors must be lauded for their willingness to give to such political causes in the interest of democracy.
    These contributions, however, cannot be private matters, which is why there must be full disclosure about the donors, especially as we seek to avoid impermissible funding and influence peddling. Existing rules do not compel political parties to report their expenditure, and they therefore avoid being held accountable.
    This must change, and even with no law in place, the parties, as part of their commitment to good governance, should use the by-election as the starting point to make audited expenditure declarations post-election. Such an important step would be one in the right direction.
    The Barbados Labour Party administration has committed to bringing the Integrity In Public Life Bill back to Parliament this session after its failed
    efforts during the last one. This, however, will be meaningless if there is no complementary legislation which deals with campaign financing. All critical loopholes must be plugged, given the continuous efforts to circumvent the regulations.
    During the by-election, the parties should declare where they stand on this issue of campaign financing and give a commitment to support the introduction of such legislation during the current Parliament.
    There are glaring weaknesses in our political and electoral process which need to be addressed, and the EBC must seek amendments to the relevant laws to ensure political parties must be registered and audited annually. Those that are beneficiaries of taxpayers’ funding should have to publish their accounts.
    We must institute checks and balances to ensure political parties, their candidates and officers do not operate outside or see themselves as above the law when it comes to campaign funding.
    Enough is enough of this unacceptable behaviour.
    There are glaring weaknesses in our political and electoral process which need to be addressed, and the EBC must seek amendments to the relevant laws to ensure political parties must be registered and audited annually.

Source: Nation Editorial

44. all the Reifers in St George are related or so says my wife. Colin Reifer is the brother of Judge Magaret Reifer and Dr Cyril Reifer and a few more well to do family members. they are from Freehill, Workmans area of St George and Floyd’s clan are from the Charles Rowe Bridge / Airy Hill area. the clan of George, Tony, Elvis (RIP) and Leslie and a few others. the thing is, most of them are BLPs so i was surprise when Floyd announced for the DLP. but such is life and he is a good home choice. that is how my wife says people from St George like their candidates. at least the DLP is listening.

45. “Artax u used my comments of 2018 to push a narrative that would suggest that i have slurry blp ministers name in like manner actions which are indicative of murder or connected to convicted murderers.”

@ Mariposa

YOU KNOW THAT IS FAR FROM THE TRUTH, you’re being DISHONEST.

In response to my comment that supported the behaviour of the DEMS at their May 6, 2018 political meeting, you wrote:

Mariposa October 6, 2020 9:51 PM #: “Artax, was not around them times. So i can only speak to present.”

I simply posted your comments to PROVE you were actually “around them times.”

However, the comments are there for everyone to read and make their determination.

Anyhow, this is a waste of time. I’m done with you and that.

46. Artax you know Mariposa/ AC is a notorious liar.Here she is claiming she was not around in 2018 yet you post her comments and rather than admit her amnesia she tries to still deny them.Yet her partners Spot on and CCC would not call her out on her despicable behaviour.As you stated she endorsed the reprehensible behaviour at Waterford by Mr Blaclett, Mr Sinckler and others that night as a woman herself anf there were at least three other women up there endorsing that behaviour.Where are they today?Therefore if you want to speak of gutter behavior look no further than that meeting in Waterford possibly the worst in the histpry of Barbados so reel and come again Mariposa.