Submitted by Caleb Pilgrim

While one must never forget the past, nothing is to be gained by overly rehashing the historic failures of the previous DLP Administration. These speak for themselves. Cheap excuses do not suffice, either.

Nor do recent attempts by “the old guard” to reincarnate and resurrect themselves after their May 2018 near absolute annihilation. Pray tell what is their relevance today in terms of party viability, political vision, and Barbados’s future? Others have already asked what do they offer now that they could/should not have offered before. They would better be invited to rest in perfect peace.

But, in moving forward, let us essay a slightly different approach, notwithstanding partisan chatter about the “Deceased Labour Party”.

Assume that women make up a rough majority of the Barbadian people, say 51%+/-. Assume further that the Barbadian women MPs, in terms of Parliamentary seats, typically number at most a disproportionate 20%+/-, despite the fact that women make up more than a 51%+/- majority of the population.

Recognizing such widespread disparities in demographics, a number of universities long ago introduced programs aimed at empowering women and helping to enhance their prospects for electoral success, e.g Women Political Campaign & Mentorship Schools at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government and the Institute of Politics; the short annual Women’s Campaign School (WCS) at Yale Law School; the LBJ Women’s Campaign School at the University of Texas at Austin; courses at Fordham University; the University of Florida; George Washington University. etc. There is obviously a reason for the existence (raison d’etre) of such campaign schools.

The DLP’s “old guard”, given what some perceive as their apparent hubris, their previous erratic behaviour, perhaps their inattentiveness amid other paramount concerns, must or should have known of such women campaign schools at some point during their ten years in office and utilized such training opportunities to mobilize a cadre of more representative candidates.

One example, the WCS curriculum at the YLS, includes staple topics such as:

• Fundraising
  • Budgeting
  • Messaging
  • Paid Media
  • Press Operations
  • Grass roots organizing
  • Voter targeting
  • Ethics
  • Polling and research
  • Get out the vote
  • Speeches and interviews
  • Digital campaigns

Participants have come from far and wide including Panama, Mexico, Zimbabwe, Australia and the UK.

The course purports to be intensive and involves 12 hour work day each day and the basic cost is a mere US $1,800. Arguably, a minor investment, where materials, tactics, strategies and information can be adapted, and participants encouraged to share if not teach other would be candidates in different constituencies. Other courses, including those at graduate level, point to the professionalization of politics rather than the usual jokes and tragicomedy.

Finally, while the BLP has proposed referenda on transition to a Republic etc, the DLP should not shy away from big issues, e.g whether there should be a referendum as to Barbados establishing a system of proportional representation (PR) instead of the old “first past the post” system which, among other causes, brought the DLP into the political wilderness. (Obviously, with a 30-0/ 29-1 majority there is no incentive for the current Administration to entertain PR; but all other parties and interested individuals might see it differently).

122 responses to “THE SEARCH FOR RELEVANCE”

1. Since 1966, the DLP has been in office for about 25 years. If the party was interested in proportional representation they would have made it happen.

Such a proposal now would seem self serving.

2. They are Famous Enuff, they are on everybody’s lips…

https://youtu.be/dJXwW2vptMQ

3. We have more than a modicum of respect for the writer.

However, these routine issues fail to measure up to the magnitude of concerns bedeviling policymakers at this time.

For example, it is now clear that Covid and the underlying deep recession are likely to make, near zero, tourism revenues for two and a half to three years.

This is only a single of the many large problems facing Bajan politicians. Added to that must be the already mounting and precarious conditions of national finance.

We would prefer them seeking to articulate some kind of a strategic response rather than being preoccupied with distracting issues, as important as they maybe in normal times.

4. @ Cuhdear:

So what? All politics is self-serving.

That the DLP, not unlike the BLP, has never embraced PR, while the going is “good” for them, at particular points, does not mean that there is not merit to the PR idea and redrawing the political landscape. Arguably, PR should result in a more representative and potentially more stable system and give voice to those now “unrepresented” in Parliament.

As to the larger, main point pertaining to the professionalization of politics and the role of women there in, the point is unexceptional. It appears political malpractice not to pursue.

Caleb Pilgrim

5. This article is pure hogwash.

6. In these times there is or should be only one question which is relevant to you and me, that you should ask yourself and others:
    “How willing are you to tolerate white racism?”
    You can search for answers on net with relevant search keys to your queries to unlock truths and/or lies.
    But you will need right key and I have the master key.

▶ March Down Babylon Dub Version
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GNqgepmKTRA

7. How would proportional representation advantage ordinary working Bajans?

8. David
    The Paris Club is refusing to alter debt repayment terms.

We see an impending and generalized possible strike coming, especiallly by South countries.

For Barbados this means SD2, as we said 2 years ago was likely.

9. What countries like Barbados really need is a debt jubilee.

Northern Observer is likely to disagree.

However, it should be accompanied by a constitutional requirement for a 67 percent threshold in a referendum for central government to do most kinds of borrowing.

10. @akenatenl
    Short and to the point.
    I disagree with the use of the word pure.

11. @Pacha

It fits with first world doctrine to keep south countries poor. There has been a concerted effort to stem the flow of capital to south by changing rules governing offshore jurisdictions. It is no secret that said countries see no problem with exercising debt forgiveness and or rescheduling.

12. The road to excellence will begin for Barbados when Mia gives back cousin Elizabeth her colonial system, ah hope she has a timeline for that event, cause she is not keeping that toxic weapon of black mass destruction in place so she can parade on her own people and sell them out as usual…it’s not her system, she did not create it, give it back and create YA OWN.

watch muh nuh…ah can’t wait..

for every action there is an equal and OPPOSITE REACTION.

13. For Barbados this means SD2, as we said 2 years ago was likely.

Pacha, you say this casually but there is much merit in this. The probability of another default is non trivial at this point and will only be increasing over the next few quarters.

14. It fits with first world doctrine to keep south countries poor. There has been a concerted effort to stem the flow of capital to south by changing rules governing offshore jurisdictions. It is no secret that said countries see no problem with exercising debt forgiveness and or rescheduling…(Quote)

What paranoia. It is easy claiming racism for our failures. It is a good excuse for gross incompetence and institutions not fit for purpose.
    How about the property money laundering going on on the West Coast? How a out the failure of our financial regulatory system? How about the failure to carry out an investigation in to the Donville Inniss scandal? How ab out the systemic use of the prison tp incarcerate innocent men and women? How ab out the mismanagement of the nation’s finances?
    We must stop blaming others and sort ourselves out.

15. @ Hal
    How dare you!

It is easier to blame the proverbial “White Man” than to get on with the serious business of building a fair, just and functioning society. Though the Albinos are not blame free, at some point we must recognize and accept our own failures. The two issues are not mutually exclusive and both should be wrestled to the ground.

16. Dullard

Apologies. But there are no longer any normal economic management solutions to the problems which are mounting that few want to talk about. Except the most dire, of course.

17. @Dullard

We have Haiti as an excellent case study of what the first world is capable of. Keep drinking your koolaid. Some of you have been living too long in white man’s country and unable to see the forest from the trees.

#BLM

18. Dullard, David

What can be done about a self-hating nigger so embued by Whiteness that only rightness can be seen.

He is best left ignored as the ignoramus he’s always been.

19. Hal has developed a higher tolerance and threshold to white racism, but this can be deleted by your inner eye looking left and right repeatedly, which works if you trust the process

▶ Mash Down Babylon

▶ Mash Down Version

20. @ Dullard

It is always someone else’s fault. Never our own. But even in this mess we are building up further problems. Is Barbados part of China’s New Silk Road initiative? Yes or no. How would proportional representation advantage ordinary working Barbadians?
    So far the very talkative president has not replied to the China allegation. It is easy to resort to juvenile abuse and foul-mouthed ranting instead of answering simple questions.

21. The Chosen Brothers

Rhythm & Sound

Mango Walk

Mango Drive

22. As usual you cinfalt the issues. The North South dialogue is clearly controlled by the first world, IMF, World Bank, WTO, OECD etc. We live in a world that is interconnected, defined again by the developed world read globalization. South countries have opportunities that are constrained by this reality. We can do our best but existential threats are an everyday reality. However you slice it it is what it is.

23. https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

24. David

More damning is that net capital flows have continued to increase towards northern countries.

25. https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

26. @Pacha

We should not forget East countries are being exploited as well by the so-called expansion of businesses of the West looking to exploiting labour markets to defend profit margins.

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

27. Barbados like other developing states is dealing with a problem that is GLOCAL.

28. @David
    We have Haiti as an excellent case study of what the first world is capable of.

You are correct. I do not disagree with you, the western white supremacists do not play fair. But Hal is also correct on this score in that we do not own enough of our problems. As I said before Western imperialism and corruption/ incompetence in the global south are not independent – – but the two are not mutually exclusive either. Each can be tackled without ignoring the other.

29. @Dullard

There will always be problems to solve. Black countries in the Caribbean do not own the patent. You cannot issue a blanket or generalization on this matter. It is a complex issue. As a region in the South we are battling a challenge to the establishment. Can we do better of course, it does not remove the systemic blocker we face every day in governing our countries.

30. David

Yes. If by East you mean Africa as well. Of course, the Asians countries.

This has been the order of the world for 500 years.

Why Asians tigers departed from the general principle of antidevelopment is because they avoided the international financial institutions. That is the main causal reason why they were able to be the exception from the rule as stated by you, in development trajectory.

31. David
    *Some of you have been living too long in white man’s country.. *

What do you suggest David? Beg Wuk for Wuk fuh a lil pick or sacrifice our daughters to the Prime Wicker?

32. @Dullard

To support a weak position you retreat to trivializing the point being made. You may have the last word.

33. Dullard

Where are your critiques of gross mismanagement in Western countries.

And if we are to presume that mismanagement by White people under capitaliam equals the criticisms of that in developing countries like Barbados we are now left with David’s erudite position. It’s a position well established everywhere, but here.

34. @ Dullard

One of our favourite games is whataboutism. When I was a little boy, Barbados imported its rice, a staple, from Guyana and Haiti. When I go shopping now at Massy’s in Oistin’s, there is a little part of the shelf fora Guyanese rice, and the vast majority is from the US.
    Even the carrots are imported from California and |Canada; I wonder what the environmental dame that inflicts on us.
    Most of our CARICOM members are producers of citrus fruit, yet we import most of our citrus from Florida; you get the picture?
    Then let us look at the Chinese debt diplomacy, which has been bought in to by both the DLP and BLP. In the late 2000s, bank interest rates in Japan were under one per cent. Barbados was preparing to take part in the 2007 Cricket World Cup and I proposed that we could use the development at Kensington Oval as our Millennium project.
    I suggested in a letter to the Nation, which they gratefully published, that prime minister, a top economist, could use the Japanese carry trade to borrow money for the development, which of course, was ignored.
    Had Barbados done as I suggested, the moment they got the cheque, at a rate of about 2-3 per cent, and placed it in a local bank, offering about six per cent interest, they would have been making money. Servicing such a debt would have been child’s play.
    As it was, our top economist did not understand a basic of financial economics. We can go on with this government: it came to power on May 25, 2018, and five days later FIVE DAYS, it defaulted on its domestic and foreign debt. This act of financial lunacy was piloted by a government, headed by a world class leader, and three top economic consultants, and two junior ministers, also economic experts. You could not make it up.
    Let us now fast-forward to the recent Queen’s (Throne) Speech in which, in art, the government allocated Bds$300m to revive a zombie hotel sector. It was yet another example of bogus economic planing.
    In that speech, we also got the smoke and mirrors of a post office and credit union bank. But the 18 post offices are part of the public sector, and a government with a 29:1 parliament does not need any referendum or any long parliamentary debate to turn these post offices in to balance sheet banks, after all they have the premises, do a large amount of the work that banks do and people have confidence in the institutions.
    (While we are on about this, the UK will see a new Jamaican-owned digital bank opening next month -www.jnbank-uk.com – something the clever Bajan could not do with the BNB).
    Barbados is a failed state, the splashing out and screaming and blaming others will not save us. Unless we get sound and progressive leadership it will all end in tears.

35. Capitalism

36. Congrats Verla
    This is the year for the females
    Verla vs Mia come next election

37. Our sense is that Bajans are generally nonplussed but this Depeiza girl.

Al we have is the same spineless coward which the dlp gave us in the the persons of Stuart and Sandiford.

Further she shall be useless in making any measurable contribution on matters of economy.

38. @ David
    Don’t run off yet. Reread your comments from 6.57 and you will see that they are not far away from my position. This complexity to which you refer is what I am talking about, just in different terms.

But it seems that our point of departure is how to take action.
    Do you think that the White Supremacists will suddenly own up to their sins and play fair? Do you believe that the West will suddenly stop meddling in our countries? Stop stealing? These types of behaviors will not stop like that so why continue to beg them and hope for them to change?

You prefer hand wringing. The Dullard prefers owning our own issues (not withstanding many are imposed) and attacking them. We should be able to control our own behavior. Or do you think that the Albinos control our moral agency as well?

39. Pacha
    The West gets no plaudits from me. Many of the in built flaws of capitalism are well known and Bim is not exempt. The problem is that we seem to generate all the flaws of capitalism but too few of its benefits.

40. @Pacha

Your concern is ours. In her two years she has demonstrated no freshness to the political landscape at a time opportunities abound. Her deliberate style does not align with how Barbadians want their primes to act. Your last point is also important, so far Verla has not been able to win any traction with the financial narrative at a time there is ready made opportunity.

41. Oh and David that was no trivilization from the Dullard. Thats a fact, a reality that many Bajans face. What does racism have to do with Bajan black politicians trading jobs and money for sexual favors?

42. All:
    Don’t you guys ever see or seek our own solutions to our own problems. Don’t you all realise that constantly couching the region’s problems in ONLY a global context is our major problem. We have been so narrow in our thinking that even in the midst of a debilitating epidemic, that have us on our knees , we still focus on what the same empirical powers are doing and will continue to do to us.
    Why can’t we focus inward and strengthen ourselves rather than constantly believe we can only see this battle of economic survival in only a global/ international context.

43. I revert back to my morning meditation question
    “How willing are you to tolerate white racism?”
    in the case of USA and UK they chose the wrong answer with Brexit and Trump and embraced backward racism of the past
    white racism needs to be called out and rejected by the west in the present so it can live in peace with the east in the future
    Making History
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=olfABkGSo3s
    History Version
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iJQhKQ1c43M
    White Racism is an euphemism for Corrupted Capitalism and Racial Wars for Global Supremacy. West is abusing technology for Global White Supremacy.
    Hal is picking up the same racism as the Whites in the West regarding China, is this because he is living in the West and married to a White, or is it the prejudice of Blacks against Chinese. Blacks need to unite with the non-Whites in the East, even if Whites still want to Divide and Rule.

44. Verla test woukd be the bi-election
    That election would indeed show her strength as a leader
    Going by her past two years in leadership there is not much anyone can use as an example that will demonstrate her strength
    Wishing her the best as she tries to lead her party forward the next three years for a victory

45. David
    Moreover, and beyond Depeiza, we would have though that recent events would have led the party to an internal evaluation, the public exposure of findings and the chartering of a different way forward.

That Depeiza came in as somewhat of a caretaker, we should be better aware as to the processes established in chosing a political leader. Whether we’ll have a woman for a woman’s sake. Only because women are in vogue as prime minister.

46. The dlp will loose the by-election by a wide margin.

Certainly, it is impolitic to set that as a measure of leadership.

47. @ William

Home-grown solutions are always best. But what ideas are on the table? Remember, we have 40 per cent unemployment and our president recruits nurses from Ghana. We have now got a failure in our school system; and, after a three-week prorogation of parliament, the president simply gave us a Queen’s Speech that proposes reinforces her dictatorship.
    They have stolen @PLT’s idea, they are offering the hotel sector furlough for its laid off workers; Dee or Bee, the policies are the same, as you know.

48. Well at least if she can capture a win it would close the mouths of the naysayers who says the dlp is dead
    A win would also fuel much needed positive political energy into the party which is badly needed
    Verla strength lies in a victory since the party still is in the rebuilding and restructuring phase after two years
    That election is a must win for the dlp
    The candidacy of Moore is not that strong since her level of representation as Union Head has left many open wounds unattended and bitterness by union members towards
    This should be an easy win going by Moore poor performance leadership in the Union
    Verla must do all she can to capture this win if not she will face an uphill battle trying to keep the party intact while facing the risk of losing long time followers support
    Not going to be easy St. George will be a tell tale sign of her proven leadership

49. Some how i am pressed to believe that Mia.and supporters wanted Verla to represent the party
    Hopefully Verla would step up into the spotlight of engagement having and giving a fierce fight for the people who are suffering under present govt policies

50. Not accepting that a mortal blow was given to the dlp in living with denialism. That is a cathartic process was so necessary especially for the yardfowls.

A win is highly unlikely. But if that were to happen somebody other than Depeiza would be in parliament. Now this would raise the issue as to who is the real power, the political leader or the party chair. More loss than profit for Depeiza.

Moore’s many past misdeeds will be of little help to the dems.

You, yourself, seem to be conceding that the crisis within the dlp is existential.