The William McIntosh Vs Peter Odle (second defendant) – Foreign Investor Unable to Have Case Heard Against Hotelier Peter Odle – raises the question who should be considered fit and proper to carry out duties of state. Peter Odle is a veteran hotelier who was recently appointed to the post of Chairman of the Barbados Port Authority to replace Senator Lisa Cummins. In light of the court matter lodged against him the question taxpayers must ask – is it unreasonable to ask Peter Odle to stand down as Chairman of BPI until the matter is resolved?

The blogmaster is of the view if good governance is to be seen to be practised by the government and other actors in civil society the answer is a resounding YES.

The BU blogmaster has been around long enough to understand how influence is exerted on the system by the prominent and powerful in Barbados. There is the old Bajan saying who the cow likes he licks, who he does not, he kicks. A big part of the reason Barbados and other countries are witnessing significant citizen apathy in the double standards as it pertains to how the directorate is seen to do business in the country. A robust democracy requires its citizenry to be vigilant. It is not nebulous, it required discrete behaviour from citizens.

The first blog referenced above poked at what Barbadians know, the local court system is groaning under its own weight. This is a paraphrase view shared in public by the incumbent Attorney General Dale Marshall. The McIntosh Vs Peter Odle also exposes other actors complicit in a weak governance model being practised in Barbados. Based on the documents related to the contentious matter under review this blogmaster, it is important we discover ways to examined these matters that have traditionally been swept under the carpet.

A few questions for the BU intelligentsia to discuss for 100 marks.

1. Was Dan Rossen appointed director in Sandy Bay Holdings (2014) Inc without his knowledge? How is this possible under the Companies Act of Barbados?
  2. Did the Attorney General (AG) of Barbados reply to an email from a concerned member of the public on the 10 February 2020 citing Mr. Peter Odle allegedly making claims that the AG was advising him personally on a incident that occurred at The Sands Hotel on Saturday 8th February 2020? The incident is reported to have occurred in the presence of police officers.

The concerns and questions posed suggest our governance model is compromised. It means not only our court officers and political class are engaged in supine behaviour, it extends to other state actors. It is time the citizenry awake and accept its role of holding elected AND paid officials accountable.

The democracy we practice is described as fragile, a key check and balance must come from the citizenry cognizant of its civic responsibilities. A well worn quote from Abraham Lincoln “that government of the people, by the people, for the people, shall not perish from the earth”  was to recognized soldiers who sacrificed lives to give truth to the statement. In Barbados citizens are not required to fight wars to defend the cause of democracy – is it asking too much for Barbadians to adopt other forms of sacrifice for the greater good?

Food for thought.

364 responses to “The Peter Principle – The Peter Odle Imbroglio”

1. Yes, it comes from the persons who understood the racist intent of a PPP which is currently kicking Black ass in Guyana.

Only Black people, aided by the mindless, fail to understand the realities in which we exist.

It comes from people who understand the implications for justice of what the UN, circa 2000, called crypto-racism in Barbados.

Anybody lacking an understanding of the intersection of justice and critical race theory is a complete cunt.

2. @John A September 6, 2020 8:53 AM “the party faithfuls always have to be given a feed at the trough.”

The man and his sister both seem to be quite chubby.

if we love our fat people, regardless of party, ’cause wunna know that i non-partisan, we should not give them access to more money/more food.

That is a reality.

3. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

Anybody lacking an understanding of the intersection of justice and critical race theory is a complete cunt.

xxxxxxxxxxxxx

What you really mean is that anybody who don’t condone election rigging and downright dishonesty even if done by black people you support is a cunt.

Yes I am a cunt because you are a convenient twisted and bent individual like Granger and his corrupt band of both black and Indian benefactors previously engaged in election vote rigging egged on by supporters in Guyana.

4. @cuhdear 4:50
    That was worth the wait.

5. We never supported Granger. Never even called his mame. In fact, we were highly critical of him once selected to lead apnu some years ago. And his spineless concession was the final proof.

The truth is that it was the PPP which rigged the election. They prevented the cleaning up of the electoral list through lawsuites and at every turn flustrated the last government which was led by Granger, an odiot.

You know nothing about the politics of Guyana. Our proud position has always been “race first” just like your PPP is now imposing of Black people in Guyana. Well, if you are a cunt, by your own admission, maybe you are a cunth×le as well.

6. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

You know nothing about the politics of Guyana. Our proud position has always been “race first” just like your PPP is now imposing of Black people in Guyana. Well, if you are a cunt, by your own admission, maybe you are a cunth×le as well.

xxxxxxxxxx

By your being obvious simple minded all the Courts in Guyana 🇬🇾 ruled against Granger’s crooked party APNU including a Black Chief Magistrate. CCJ also ruled against them for obvious vote rigging.

I guest all like myself who don’t vote in Guyana are PPP supporters.

You are not only twisted you are a full blown dishonest bigoted idiot.

One doesn’t have to know Guyana politics to call a spade a spade similar to all the Courts ruling both inside and outside Guyana.

However fools like you seem to think that everyone must believe your version of the truth even when proven to be a lie over and over again.

7. @ Cuhdear

So much for transparency and accountability i guess.

8. Oh well, Phyllis Coard croaked.

Enquiring minds are wondering why the Irish dude is complaining that he wrote to, was it the former minister of tourism and also wrote a letter to Mia about the useless court system, so how is it he got no answer from either and if it’s because Odle’s sister Jessica is Mia’s assistant of some sort which means correspondence more than likely goes through her and then to the PM….so why no answer…

9. Donna…i only heard at the time they were up against the wall, that one is Haloute’s cousin a Zack Nadur, don’t know the others and you are not getting information, if it was a Black person with a salt bread or any other infraction they would be splattered all over the news, like those young men now in the media, but they are apparently trying a cover-up, they know that people rarely read print media these days unless it’s online, you know how that goes in Barbados, they know someone, who knows someone who could muzzle the media…..when ya in bed with cartel, that’s how things go, they keep accurate records and have long memories…lol

everyone is watching and waiting.

10. @ WURA-War-on-U,

Jessica is NOT Peter;s sister,

11. Hants…sister, cousin, my first post said it could be either, they are related for sure…

12. @Hants,
    you beat me to it. Jessie’s brother is Ian. She was a pretty little girl and very chubby.

13. @ Pacha
    You are absolutely correct. History is on your side.
    GEORGETOWN, Nov 27 1996 (IPS) – Two weeks after Guyanese President, Cheddi Jagan made what many regard as a racist remark, he is still coming under fire at home from those who feel such a remark is unforgivable.

The trouble has its genesis at the Travel Lodge Hotel in Toronto, when while addressing a group of Guyanese nationals, most of them of Indian extraction, Jagan is reported to have said blacks are at the lowest end of the scale.

Such a statement, coming from a man who talks about his love for all races and who governs a multi-racial country, was immediately the subject of widespread condemnation from the political opposition and Afro-Guyanese.

Jagan, 78, who has been described as a “mellowed communist leader,” was retracing various political events dating back to the 1940s and trying to explain the two occasions on which he was jettisoned from office — in 1953 and again in 1964 — when he made the comment.

“The People’s Progressive Party (PPP) is not an Indian party. The British and Americans did not remove me from and put Burnham (late president Forbes Burnham) in because of race. In fact, if they were using race, I should have been kept there and Burnham should have been kept out forever. Because as we know, Blacks are at the lowest scale of the social ladder,” he said.

At elections in 1953, the first held under universal adult suffrage, the left-wing PPP led by Jagan, received 51 percent of the popular vote and won 18 of the 24 seats in the House of Assembly.

The leaders of the PPP came to power with a commitment to a radical political programme which they rushed to implement with the aim of achieving independence at the earliest possible time.

Their firm left-wing ideological stance brought them into direct conflict with the colonial authorities and aroused the concern of the United States.

In October 1953, six months after the election, the British removed Jagan and his colleagues from the Executive Council, accusing them of planning a Communist take-over, suspended the new Constitution and replaced it with the elected House of Assembly with an appointed legislature.

Since that time analysts say Guyanese have consistently voted along racial lines. Indo-Guyanese make up just about half of the population, while Afro-Guyanese comprise 40 percent, whites, Chinese and Amerindians another 10 percent.

For several decades the issue of race has been used to divide the country along political and economic lines. During the 28-year rule of the Afro-Guyanese dominated People’s National Congress, headed by Burnham, Blacks here were the political masters, being dominant in the civil service and the army.

The Indo-Guyanese on the other hand developed a strong economic base and now controls much of the wealth of the country.

So once the private VCT-28 television station aired part of the tape with the so-called offending statement, the criticisms started pouring in from all quarters, pushing PPP and other government operatives on the defensive.

But prior to the airing of the speech, Jagan and his Information Minister, Moses Nagamootoo had hastened to do some damage control by suggesting that the president was referring to American Blacks and the tape had been tampered with.

Bowing to pressure to air it in full for the public to make up its mind, the state-owned GTV-10 television station complied. But what viewers saw and heard only further angered the Afro-Guyanese community, threatening to further divide the two main groups at the height of the political season.

Most Blacks who saw the tape are convinced that Jagan was referring to locals, although at times during the speech he did make reference to the plight of African Americans on the social and economic scale.

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Blogmaster
    I “think” John A answered. There is something called integrity and ethics. One can blame the political class for appointing a person under a cloud of a legal matter. If I am the Irishman the message is very clear. Similarly, the person accepting the post is governed by similar. It speaks volumes of the acceptors integrity.

15. Cuhdear Bajan,

No, not all Bajans try to marry lighter than themselves. My mother didn’t. I didn’t. My mother only liked dark men. I judged on something other than colour.

AND I know several women who don’t like light skinned men and many others who don’t care.

I swear, I meet different people than many of you.

16. WURA-War-on-USeptember 6, 2020 7:10 PM Oh well, Phyllis Coard croaked.

Good riddance, nasty murderer.

17. DonnaSeptember 6, 2020 9:34 PM

This blog alone demonstrates the Bajan preoccupation with color. But as PLT said re the influence of the plantation era upon Barbados today, is a result of heavily instilled ideas, cruelty, grudges.

Some admirably try and are able to rise above it, as you do, but it runs deep.

18. Definitely Crusoe. It’s nice to witness her suffer on the earth first before heading to another hell.
    The racism and classism both remnants of slavery that has served minorities on the island so well economically and financially that they embedded their own criminal cartels in the society to become untouchable and control and own both governments, the legislature and destroy any opportunities for the Black majority who fund the country and always have, must be brought to it’s knees and abolished. They are all responsible for the island’s present predicament and must be held accountable and they all better keep their greedy, covetous, envious criminal eyes off Africa. Making sure all their names and that of their house negros are famous on the Continent from now. They will not be crawling in there to steal not one thing or to manage any new criminal enterprises..they can cover up all their evil shit in Barbados, but not anywhere else.

19. I wonder if Odle got Central Bank permission for his Guernsey loan?

20. Regardless of blood relationship, the question remains, why was the letter from the Irish dude not answered by Mia, Kerry the Fraud or one of her other underlings as thousands over the decades have asked repeatedly about the corruption, inaction and uselessness of the taxpayer-funded supreme court, so whether Jessica is his mother, aunt, cousin, wife etc is irrelevant since the nastiness of nepotism is a way of life on the island and no one can dispute that…

why was the letter ignored, that is the point right there.

21. I have said before, follow the names and the marriages. The inter-connection is very, very important in Barbados. Younger people may not know of these connections, but the families know who they are. They look after each other.

22. A letter from a litigant with respect to the courts, will never be answered by the PM.

Not in any country.

Probably it has been passed to the AG and CJ for actioning.

23. Hendrics question on the other hand……… can of worms?

24. Hendrics… you clever sod you.

25. The blogmaster confirms from the documentation Central Bank approval was requested to register the funds.

26. “A letter from a litigant with respect to the courts, will never be answered by the PM.”

especially when there is thievery , family members and CORRUPTION INVOLVED….

…but technically that’s not true, the letter could still be answered without referencing the complaint…..and passed on to the useless CJ and AG for action …but nothing was done, nothing as usual, so why was nothing done.

27. That is why the island is being exposed and it will only get worse from here…, the nasty shit those lowlifes with no ethics and morals in the parliament do, they INTERFERRED in a sub judice case while the WHOLE WORLD WATCHED to free a tourist, a white British sexual predator from assaulting a black woman but can’t answer a letter from a complaint about one of their dirty little thieves and fraud. robbing people….

28. They routinely interfere in cases especially, when they are BRIBED by insurance companies and others…..but cherry-pick what they pretend not to interfere in, this has been happening for decades, it did not just start, political interference in the supreme court…only as it suits them…..however, their game will soon be up, they will choose the right case to interfere in….they can’t help themselves, everyone is waiting for that particular one.

29. A private legal matter has become public debate. How? Why?

PM, I voted for you. Please don’t let blind loyalty blight your record. The stain of corruption is hard to shift and we are tired of protectionism and nepotism.
    This embarrassing debacle brings unwanted distraction. People are hurting for real.
    Strong leadership = Odle removed from public office until matter is resolved. If vindicated, by all means stand by your man.
    But, be ever mindful of potential wider embarrassment. The man has a nonpayment reputation that is no joke!

30. elections must be coming up. all of a sudden Atherley speaking up about his relationship with MAM and Shortman Pressie saying he has not been bought and will speak on issues close to his heart. even our David criticising MAM for the appointment of Peter Odle

31. Crusoe,

The preoccupation with colour on BU is black and white, I think, not different shades of black. This is understandable considering our history and even our present reality. I don’t judge a person based only on colour but that does not mean I am blind to the reality of race relations in Barbados and all that derives therefrom.

So, I am not sure what you mean by “rising above it”.

32. Good riddance to bad rubbish in the form of Phyllis Coard.

But this is how many revolutions end. The participants don’t know where to stop.

Not sure what else Bishop could have done to get rid of that wicked Gairy though. He had the elections rigged.

I think Bishop should perhaps have held elections himself to get a mandate from the people. Then again Coard would probably have killed him for that too.

One should be careful with whom one joins in revolution.

33. Back to matters. I think that the letter could have been acknowledged in an appropriate way and passed on to whom it concerned. But ultimately our judicial system needs fixing so that matters are heard promptly. This should be the focus of the government. I don’t know how cases are scheduled or if certain cases are deemed to be priorities.

Can anybody enlighten me?

34. I don’t know Odle or his family or his friends (yuh gotta put that out there because people may think you have an agenda) but I could understand the furor here if it was a criminal case and not a civil one. I don’t think Odle is responsible for the Court’s inefficiency or tardiness and the letter should properly be directed to the AG – not that it would have made an iota of difference – If one is before the Court on a civil matter one can’t be expected to put their lives on hold until the matter is resolved because hens will grow teet before justice is served if ever.

This is Buhbadus and there are several people who could tell McIntosh-“you only waiting 3 years?” “Hold my beer”

35. @Sargeant

The first blog focused on a dysfunctional court and related matters. This blog focuses on Odle being fit and proper for the job given the matter field.

36. Legal process should never be a mystery. The PM is an attorney and from a family of esteemed attorneys. She is steeped in the law and SHOULD know all inner workings well.
    Easy to snipe from opposition benches. Now she has opportunity to deliver FAST reform.
    Covid has allowed draconian steps to be taken in multiple areas. Please use it to MODERNISE our antiquated law courts and systems. ALL BAJANS will benefit.
    Too many suffer injury and injustice from YOUR PROFESSION. Be an innovator and don’t hide from or delay what might be the biggest challenge of your leadership.

37. A good comment, she has it within her remit to walk where her predecessors feared to venture. Say what we like the execution commands significant influence over the judiciary, be it quality of the CCJ appointed, making resources available to ancillary units and the like.

38. @David (BU).

Do the Guernsey documents show that Central Bank approval was applied for / granted or was it the Sandy Bay documents?

39. Too much doubt surrounds Mr Odle. He is not currently fit and proper for public appointment or office. If he wants to be, he should fight for swift address by the Courts of Barbados. Until then, all he causes is embarrassment to our Nation.

The Minister of Labour and Social Partnership Relations, Colin Jordan, worked for Peter Odle before entering parliament. He is a senior accountant and will no doubt have knowledge and role here too. An absolute fiasco.
    “Imbroglio“ appears to have been well used.

40. @David

Of all people you should know that when you post a blog the responses go madly off in all directions, I was trying to cover at least three. To your point about whether Odle is fit for the job, the idea that someone should be fit for a job has never been a calculus in bajan political life where patronage is part of the DNA.

41. @ David

The court will eventually get around to the case and hopefully the Irishman and Odle will still be alive to have their day in court. That however is not my concern.

What is my concern though is while this matter involving millions of unpaid dollars is pending, why was he offered such an important position with a state entity? Government’s decission to do this therefore sends a message that is unwelcome by foreign investors.

Secondly had Odle possessed the smallest amount of principle he would of refused to accept his appointment. All he had to say was “under my current situation i am uncomfortable serving.” The fact that he did not do this and accepted, shows him in a poor light also when it comes to principals, or better yet a lack of them.

So we have 2 things at play here. The reward of a party faithful at all cost and secondly the acceptance of that party faithful of the offer showing a total lack of ethics and principal. So madam PM the people have voiced their displeasure, it is now left to you to put the voice of the electorate over the reward of the party faithful. Also Mr Odle having heard the wrath of the public you too have the option of simply resigning.

The outcome of this will set a president for future decisions mark my words on that.

42. @ David

Remember too the other board members if they have any back bone, can also refuse to serve with him on the board, thereby forcing his appointment to be recalled. Of course that too will call for a level of principal which they will have to show if he does not resign or be recalled.

43. @Jim Hendrics

The Barbados filing CV1233/2018 makes mention of the 1st Defendant (Sandy Bay Holdings (2014) Ltd) failing to register the funds.

44. @John A

This is the old board i.e. who served under Lisa Cummins, it is common practice for sitting directors to make their resignations available to a new Chairman.Does it apply at the BPI?

https://www.barbadosport.com/sites/default/files/inline-images/group.jpg

The Board of Directors: (Front row from left) Permanent Secretary, Mr. Esworth Reid, Deputy Chairman Mr. Dennis Cadogan, Chairman Senator Lisa Cummins, CEO Mr. David Jean-Marie, Director Sir Roy Trotman, (second row from left) Directors Capt. George Fergusson, Mrs. Lisa Gale, Mr. Ricardo McConney, Mr. Reynold Grant, Ms. Janice Brown and Mr. Iain Thomson.

45. @David (BU):

The loan in Guernsey is distinct from the Sandy Bay loan. It should have obtained it’s own Central Bank approval in that case? I don’t see how approval for the Sandy Bay loan can cover the Guernsey loan.

46. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 9:18 AM

The BoD is appointed by the Minister, not the Chairman. It is not the chairman’s board. No need for them to put their appointments at his disposal.

47. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A at 9:10 AM

What is the “principle ” that is being violated in this matter? Did you check the law relating to membership of BoDs in Barbados?

48. @Vincent

You are correct. In this case the youthful Kirk Humphry.

49. May Phyllis Coard rest in peace. Despite the error of the New Jewel Movement, her husband Bernard Coard made an enormous contribution to the politics of education in the UK, for which he will always be referenced.

50. @ Vincent

As a board member each individual director has the right ro decide if they feel comfortable in light of everything that has been outlined serving under him as chairman. It had nothing to do with the rules of the Bods here.