COVID 19 Impact

One only has to drive pass the Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA) any day of the week during the the 3PM to 6PM time slot to appreciate the debilitating effect the raging pandemic continues to wreck on the country’s main economic sector. The number of vehicles seen in the car park can be comfortably counted on a single hand.

Consistent with how Covid 19 has catspraddle business the recent posting of Goddards Enterprises 9 month unaudited financial statement paints the sorry tale.

The threat to a sustainable way of life is real!

The inability of key stakeholders – the Ministry of Education (MOE) and respective teacher’s unions to discuss Covid 19 protocols in a constructive environment in order to facilitate the commencement of the proposed September 21, 2020 term has come as no surprise. The relationship between successive governments, Barbados Secondary Teachers Union (BSTU) and Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) has been unnecessarily acrimonious through the years. The same point made here about the failure to pass the Integrity in Public Life Bill is apt. All sides will never secure what they want, however, for the greater good there must be give and take.

Our leaders MUST find the solution to get the nation’s children back to school. All agree we have to find ways to coexist with Covid 19 because it will be with us for the foreseeable future even if a vaccine or therapeutic treatment is approved by end of year. This is not the time for the unions and MOE to engage in the usual pedantic offerings cloaked under the guise of industrial relations best practice. Children getting back to the classroom has wider implications for the country if we assess the relationship between home, school and work.

It was reported the 340 teachers and principals who turned up today for a general meeting called by the MOE had a constructive engagement. Let us hope attempts will be made to share findings with the executive of the BUT and BSTU to ensure there is consensus on the best way forward. Although the unions are important stakeholders the MOE has the responsibility to lead the process.

The issue of the reopening of schools is one high on the agenda for almost every country in the world. The risk benefit to decisions taken by the MOE must be data driven. There is the reality we have to accept that COVID 19 is active in the environment we have to exist, therefore there is an inherent risk to being infected. This means controls to mitigate must be well thought out, publicised, monitored and enforced. As adults – MOE, BSTU, BUT and others – we have a legal and moral duty to protect our children during one of the most frightening periods in the existence of humankind.

The feedback coming from some teachers that they are on vacation and should not have been asked to attend the meeting held today must be regarded as a minority view. If it is not then may God help us if this level of mentality exist. The government is on record declaring its committent to pay the large public sector wage bill until the economy improves. One thing the economists agree on is that it takes an economy longer to grow than it takes to contract. The time is coming soon when the government will have to start printing money and with it the implications for negative impact on the foreign reserves. The Freundel Stuart government found itself in a similar situation of printing money to pay public servants, a reread of archived central bank reports should remind us how that played out. Should we have the infants do a performance of ‘there’s a hole in my bucket dear Liza? This is not time for the usual political rhetoric.

We acknowledge the concerns of all sides.

We have to ensure the environment is safe for our students.

We have to ensure the method to deliver the curriculum ensures no child is left behind.

The use of the repetitive WE is not accidental.

107 responses to “Back to School AND No Child Must Be Left Behind”

1. I suggest that instead of listening to these so called Health Experts that say we should hide in our homes and wait for a Vaccine which Historically has some severe side affects, why don’t we have local doctors (that don’t serve the Deep State) test the Trump proven HCQ along with Azithromycin and Zinc. Many doctors have promoted this 6 day cure in the USA and have been vilified by the Pharma companies because they don’t make any money on it. Before you jump up and down and say that there will be a shortage for those with Lupus and others I suggest that someone with some brains either contact Trump or the Indian Health Authorities and get some. Provide it to the people at a reasonable price and be damned with the Deep State and Pharma companies.! Whose more important ? The people and the Economy or Big Pharma ?

2. Bradshaw confident 

by COLVILLE MOUNSEY DESPITE A PALTRY TURNOUT by teachers at yesterday’s first meeting to discuss the restart of schools in the COVID-19 environment, Minister of Education Santia Bradshaw is confident all will be ready for the new term on September 21.

It was reported that 340 out of just over 1 300 invited secondary school teachers showed up for the brainstorming session, to which both the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) and the Barbados Secondary Teachers’ Union (BSTU) strongly objected. They deemed it a circumvention of their advocacy roles.

After the closed-door meeting, which ran from 9:30 a.m. to 1:15 p.m., Bradshaw told the media that even though the numbers represented about a quarter of the public secondary school teachers, she was happy with the robust nature of the discussion. She added that having heard the concerns, she was confident of the start of the new academic year, but there was flexibility for adjustment on the date.

Can move forward

“I wouldn’t say it represented the majority, but the fact of the matter is that I have been to union meetings and I have not seen the majority of all secondary schools at their meetings . . . . I think we can definitely move forward with the date but we have to conclude our discussions for the rest of the week.

“There were no concerns raised about the September 21 start date, but there were concerns about the length of the term, which ends on December 18, as some teachers were concerned about the completion of the syllabus,” she said.

Bradshaw said she was not going to be “distracted by the noise”, referencing objections by the BUT and the BSTU, whose leadership were noticeably absent from the meeting at the Gymnasium of the Garfield Sobers Sports Complex,

Wildey, St Michael.

Very focused

“I think people who know me, know that I am very focused. I gave the explanation to the teachers this morning that I had to be focused when I was going through my own treatment [for breast cancer]. I got up every day and still played the role as Minister . . . . I understood that my responsibility to the children of this country is greater than anything else.

“Therefore, I am not going to be distracted by the noise of persons who I believe should know better. Coming to office, I have met with unions and stakeholders more than any other minister in the last decade,” she said.

On Monday, the BUT leadership said it was not going to deter members from attending, while insisting that the issue was a lack of respect as well as a deviation from good faith negotiations.

Bradshaw said the unions appeared to have mistaken her attempt to keep them in the loop, as seeking permission.

“The unions and the Ministry will never agree on everything, but what we must always be, is respectful, and what we must never do is distort the facts either. I believed that the calling of this meeting was disclosed to the unions by my Chief Education Officer, Joy Adamson, because I was saying to her that we needed to repair the gap in terms of communication.

“As a consequence, I believe that they may have taken that to mean that we were seeking their

rubber stamp. There were practical issues that led us to make a decision that differed from what they were told that the Minister was looking to do. It was not a disrespect of the unions in any way,” the minister said.

Good relations

Bradshaw said while she was confident good relations would be maintained with the unions, there must be understanding that attempts must be made to hear all voices within the education sector, especially on matters of such importance.

“I am not concerned that it would ruin relations because the fact of the matter is that this is a meeting called by the minister to speak to teachers across the board. There is no representative of teachers that represents all teachers, and for people to believe that they represent all voices is totally incorrect.

“I believe that while I am going to continue to listen to the union representatives, one has to accept that there are some teachers who are not happy with therepresentation they have received from the unions. There are those who have become disengaged by the process because they feel that everything is a fight with the Ministry of Education and these are some of the teachers who came here today.”

Source: Nation News

3. Franklyn’s lashes
    by COLVILLE MOUNSEY OPPOSITION SENATOR and veteran trade unionist Caswell Franklyn has taken Minister of Education Santia Bradshaw to task, saying she “overstepped her bounds” in calling for a direct meeting with teachers over the start of the new term.
    The outspoken senator also had harsh criticism for the two teachers’ unions over what he described as a feeble response to the development, which he saw as a clear breach of industrial relations practices.
    In an interview with the MIDWEEK NATION after yesterday’s meeting at the Gymnasium of the Garfield Sobers Sports Complex in Wildey, St Michael, Franklyn said in addition to the fact that the teachers were officially on holiday, it was only within the ambit of the Chief Education Officer or the Permanent Secretary to meet with teachers.
    He further contended that the minister, as one responsible for setting policy, was not supposed to be in direct communication with educators.
    “If you look now today [yesterday] there was a meeting with the Minister of Education and the teachers.
    The Minister of Education has no authority to meet with teachers, she should not even be in the room if there is something to do with teachers. However, the unions are not pushing for this.
    When you have unions that do not understand their role, then you really can’t expect much,” Franklyn said.
    Channel it
    “The minister has two staff members that she can give instructions to, and those are her personal assistant and her constituency assistant, no more, no less. What the minister should have done, if she had something she wanted to relay to the teachers, was to channel it through the Chief Education Officer and let her act as a conduit. Under the system of Government that we have, ministers do not meet with civil servants.”
    The MIDWEEK NATION contacted Acting Chief Education Officer, Joy Adamson, who disclosed that she issued the invitation letters to the teachers, with a letter from the minister attached.
    Since the matter surfaced last week, both the Barbados Union of Teachers and the Barbados Secondary Teachers’ Union (BSTU) voiced objection on various grounds.
    However, Franklyn was adamant both unions ought to have explicitly instructed their members not to have attended the series of sessions, which began with secondary school teachers at the Gymnasium.
    “A majority of the unions have been neutered and that is the problem. The unions were more preoccupied with the location and not the fact there shouldn’t be a meeting at all. They don’t know what they are doing. We have people who are professionals in their own right, but they then think that they can be professionals in everything,” said Franklyn, who revealed that he instructed the few teachers who were members of his Unity Trade Union, not to attend the meetings.
    Follow my guidance
    “I have instructed the teachers in my union not to go. I don’t have a lot, but they follow my guidance.
    There is no reason why the minister should be meeting with teachers and she should know better. They [the teachers’ unions] should have instructed their members to walk out if the minister gets up and speak. The only minister that a civil servant should meet with is the minister responsible for the public service because this is the person who assigns the order. No minister has any calling meeting with public servants,” he stressed.
    At the aftermath of yesterday’s meeting, several secondary school teachers said they attended the session because they were summoned by their employer and wanted to hear firsthand what were the plans for the new term. Some said they were torn between the instructions from the Ministry of Education and their unions.
    It was reported that 340 out of just over 1 300 invited secondary school teachers attended the meeting.

Source: Nation News

4. Uh-oh! Another ‘Deep State’ looney!

5. I do believe Santia has erred in reaching outdirectly to teachers. That was never going to work.

The concerns of teachers are legitimate. There should be no heavy hand here. This is a difficult situation where consensus can only be reached by cold heads and an understanding of the issues facing all sides. Teachers have children too. I am certain they wish them to be taught.

They also wish them to grow up with parents.

No need for the heavy hand here.

6. @Donna

How was the matter managed in a heavy handed way? We are operating in a global pandemic with school opening sheduled for September 21. This is a time for out of the box approaches given the importance of addressing the education of our children. This is a conversation ongoing across the globe. Our unions have a track record for engaging in too much politics. The ministry of education via the PS and minister have a right to reach out to the teachers, one of the most important stakeholders.

7. William Skinner Avatar

As the late Gladstone Holder said: language defines a person. Note the language: “I” “ the minister” “my”I and my , obviously the only difference between Bradshaw and Jones is the delivery. This using and blaming teachers is nothing new coming from the BLPDLP.
    Errol Barrow once said he could deal with them because he was a bomber pilot in some war; Louis Tull when he wanted teachers to give up their lunch hour to supervise children, told the public that teachers don’t care because they would let the children eat without washing their hands a A bd spread disease.
    Sometimes union leaders worship their political masters: Mary Redman put on the now ruling party red colors and marched all up and down behind the party of her choice.
    It is pure nonsense for Bradshaw to say that not all teachers are not represented by the same union. We know that! It is a direct attempt to undermine the unions.
    This is always the case, going back to the mid seventies and under both administrations. Those teachers who don’t bend would be accused of not wanting to go back in the class room to teach but expect a cheque.
    Senator Franklyn is right. The unions have been neutered.
    The president and treasurer of the NUPW told the public, that they had “ crunched” the numbers and the last administration could afford a 23% percent wage increase for public servants. Then suddenly with a new administration settled for 5%.
    Bradshaw has a lot of goodwill going for her but she is squandering it with this stupidity of trying to divide and rule. On this path she will be another failure in this ministry and will join all the rest who went before her , perhaps with two exceptions : Sandiford and Miller.
    We all want normalcy and the children back in school but high handed political gamesmanship is not the way. Quite frankly I see no urgency and this period should be used to plan right and reopen the schools in January , if the COVID is still under control. In the mean time , we should be trying to tweak all the problems with online teaching so that if the COVID becomes a further challenge we could better handle the online situation.
    So, delaying the opening until next year thereby giving us time to get every single school up to required protocols; using such time to tweak and continue online teaching will be actually like killing two birds with one stone.
    Colonialist divide and rule plantation styled government will eventually kill us all. At least spare our children this buffoonery.

8. David

Covid has more damage to a dying capitalism that governments can only resort to turning working people and our children into cannon fodder to feed the maw of their Covid war machine

9. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

Let me start from the top. In my mind there is no plausible reason why school cannot restart IN SOME FORM with regard to the present COVID-19 situation in Barbados. The govt’s defense is that current protocols have seen at one point in time a reduction to 0 active cases and the present active cases have been imported. The curfews and stay at home orders have been removed and as yet there has been no”community spread” of COVID-19 in Barbados. Reading the articles that DavidBU posted and from what i have heard over the news, the teachers unions are just ( for lack of a better term)”frustrating” the process. They have presented weak responses to stop the meetings farless presenting a fundamental case as why schools cannot restart. Caswell as union leader is only using “officialese” as reason why a minister cannot meet with teachers. The bigger picture is that the Ministry wants to find out from teachers their concerns and any other reasons why schools cannot restart.

10. Vincent Codrington Avatar

The reopening of school is a policy matter . Obviously, the Minister of Education have had inputs from the COVID -19 Advisory Committee and needed the inputs of the main stakeholders – principals and teachers. This is not an industrial issue and I am of the opinion that the Teachers Unions are out of order. Parents ought to have been included.They have had a hard time with the distance learning experiment. The children are developing problems with their eyes from staring at bright flickering screens, not to speak of the low level radiation.
    So we do need to get back to the class rooms with social distance protocols. Maybe we can have classes with 15 pupils or less with morning and afternoon sessions.

11. @Vincent

If GDP is a measure of economic activity, are we to assume that if schools were not functioning fully that such inactivity would impacted the economy, however slight?
    You are right about the teachers’ unions. They have proven themselves to be enemies of the state. Where did this atavistic behavioural attitude come from?

12. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin at 9 :34 AM
    Yes. All domestic activities that have been put on lockdown have impacted negatively on economic growth. Directly , those who operate school canteens,the private transport systems ,and those providing ancillary services at schools constitute a leakage to the circular flow of income. We may have little control of the external economy but the domestic economy, small though it be, is under our control.

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@VC as an experienced former civil servant your views are ‘interesting’ or troubling depending on one’s perspective!

Isn’t the ENTIRE process of gaining input from ”the main stakeholders” fully defined or ‘established’ by having small groups of selected representatives (called unions oftentimes) – whether for principals or teachers – as the conduit for gathering info???

Of course meetings of the ‘full’ population of principals/teachers can be convened but realistically what more or better data will be gained that could or would not have been passed through the ‘union’ reps. This type of grandstanding is POLITICAL posturing as the admin is bluntly signaling that the unions are obstructionists and no longer viable partners for negotiations … so in sum they are clearly also signaling that it is “an industrial issue”.

Maybe a teacher or two can come on and explain how ‘much time’ during the closing stages of the last school term was time ‘wasted’ that could have been used for teacher group meetings led by MoE executives!

Or they can speak of the Zoom and at-school meetings they attended on various matters during those last weeks…. all types of minutiae of school governance were decided in the background (as it should be) … so note, the reported remark by teachers that ”they attended the session because they were summoned by their employer”.

The issues now being faced are very much the same as were known then so any argument that the period since offered new data points that better informed decisions is blather. They could have covered this ground weeks ago without trying to paint teachers as recalcitrant malcontents who didn’t want to give up just one day of their paid holiday!

This, as in other parts of the world is just pure and simple ridiculous, “heavy-handed” political posturing and has absolutely no place in the serious process of getting our schools and life back on track.

14. The curfews and stay at home orders have been removed and as yet there has been no”community spread” of COVID-19 in Barbados.
    (~_~)

Tell that to the bars and nightclubs that were closed because their patrons believed that too.

15. @ Vincent
    Children have been staring at those bright flickering screens long before the distance learning experiment. Even now with the schools on holiday, many of those same children will stare at said same screens all day and night.

This does not in anyway seek to dispute your assertion that they are developing eye problems.

16. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dpD

The call for the inputs of persons with direct skin in the reopening schools is not an industrial issue.What is being sought are solutions to very pragmatic matters. The widest possible suggestions are relevant. To suggest that the union leadership has all the relevant knowledge and experience is repugnant to common sense.

By the way, I spent a very short early period of my life in the Civil Service. The bulk of my working life was in the wider Public Sector corporations. I was not hemmed in by following precedents.

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Raw Bake

What is the point you are making? Just because something is being done should I not point out that an implementation of a GoB method of delivering child education exposes more children to health hazards?

18. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Raw Bake
    There is more to education than covering a syllabus. We are Homo Sapiens. Direct social contact between child and teacher is faster and more diagnostic…..quicker communication and feed back. Of course we can develop automata….posterity without emotional intelligence. How much of our heartless crimes are inspired by what some perpetrators saw on TV as youngsters?

19. Correction – cool heads

20. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

@Raw Bake i ain’t understanding your “logic”. Bars and nightclubs were totally closed until around July 1st. They were among the last places allowed to reopen BUT with conditions. If you don’t follow those conditions you will be shutdown. No different than when a health inspector shuts down a restaurant . The situation in Barbados is not like in other countries like Jamaica or even Trinidad that have a invasive spread of Covid 19 within the country.

21. Maryanne Redman clarified this morning the MOE changed the conditions of the meeting after it was agreed. Also the BSTU did not ‘instruct’ its membership whether to attend the meeting called by the MOE. Here we go again.

22. David,

William Skinner has given my answer for me.

As I said, teachers have children They also want them to be taught. They have this in common. This should not be so hard.

23. There you go! It has happened before. After one has agreed one should not change the conditions unilaterally.

24. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar

I heard Miss Redman on Brass Tacks on this issue. My impression is that mass media is making this matter more confrontational than what it really is in an effort to “sell news”. It would also explain why the BUT did not “deter members from attending the meeting” as compared to an outright objection against it. All that has to be done is govt can hold subsequent meetings to the satisfaction of the teachers’ unions. What the govt has done is to start the ball rolling and held a meeting for those teachers willing to attend regardless of if they are union members.

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

Barbados has a golden opportunity to change its education system. It idyllic climate is ignored, no reason schools cannot operate 12 months of the year. This is an instant reduction in class sizes, as students will rotate when their “term” is off. And teachers will now work 12 months a year, with vacation taken in line with the rest of society. They will have a group of non-assigned teachers who will ‘fill in’ as required. This summer off concept was born in places where climate make schools less habitable without extra air handling capabilities.

On another note, if a private sector conglomerate decided to pull the move of speaking directly to employees, represented by multiple unions, the noise would be immense.

26. @Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

Earlier you said:
    –> The curfews and stay at home orders have been removed and as yet there has been no”community spread” of COVID-19 in Barbados.<–
    In other words, the children can go back to school.

I said:
    –> Tell that to the bars and nightclubs that were closed because their patrons believed that too.<–
    In other words, the authorities ain’t too sure, so dem suffered the consequences of their patrons not doing wuh de people seh fuh do.

I think it will be a challenge getting school children to observe protocols, but that is based on my fuzzy “logic”

27. I taught for a number of years as a young and healthy woman who had no children of her own and no responsibility. I also loved the job. That was thirty years ago when children were far easier to handle.

You want teachers to teach with three or four weeks vacation?

You want mad ass teachers?????

28. Minister Bradshaw just explained her side on national radio and a good explanation it was too.

29. @NO
    Our school year was adopted from other countries e.g. the long summer vacation is modelled on the countries where children were expected to help the family on the farm harvest the crops in summer so they needed the extra time off.

What about Gov’t? Where did the idea of pre- retirement leave come from? I’ll bet it is a hangover from the time when all the senior positions in Gov’t were held by folks from the mother country and when they left the locals carried on the practice.

We can muse about changing the school system but the first person to try to do it will be burned in effigy on the Garrison.

30. @ Vincent
    The point is; this is an age where children are staring at screens even before they can walk. As they get older, the time spent on these devices increase to the point that parents routinely confiscate them as a means of punishment. No cou cou stick, leather belt or tamarind rod required any longer.
    I didn’t gather that parents were perturbed by the three hour long sessions.

RE: @ Raw Bake
    There is more to education than covering a syllabus.
    Vincent, you should try telling that to the Ministry and the Minister.

31. I’ll bet it is a hangover from

S/B I’ll bet it is a holdover from

32. School for 12 months a year. Why not make it 13.

Do you think the students would survive and if they do…. Perhaps the weekend is too long.

33. You must forgive me. I have this throwaway bucket that I use too quickly and too often. Once it hit the bucket, my narrow mind and limited intellect takes over.

If VC likes the above comment… We will be enemies for life 😄

34. There are some things that need to change and there are some things that don’t. When I was enjoying my teaching I used to be glad for vacation time and equally glad to return. At the end of every term I was exhausted and my voice was gone. Those children were relatively sweet and not rude or inclined to fight very often or beat teachers at all. There were no weapons in that school or a proliferation of gang activity as there is now.

In my opinion a week or two could be shaved off the summer vacation but nothing more unless you want teachers with nervous breakdowns.

35. School operating in more months of the year doesn’t mean that all other things should stay the same, perhaps the school day could be shortened but students would be able to spend the same number of hours in class. I’ve noticed that students and people in general lose concentration after midday, I’m sure there are stats that measure productivity during the morning vs productivity during the afternoon.

36. The Ministry of Education was under no obligation to seek the unions’ “rubber stamp” to conduct meetings with teachers, Minister Santia Bradshaw has said.

While vowing not to be distracted as she charts the way forward, Bradshaw contended that Tuesday’s meetings to discuss the September 21 reopening of schools allowed “disengaged” union members and unrepresented teachers to share their perspectives.

Nevertheless, the Education Minister expects discussions on the resumption of school to continue between her Ministry and the unions.

Bradshaw was responding to accusations of disrespect, levelled at her ministry by leaders of the Barbados Secondary Teachers’ Union (BSTU), the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT) and the Association of Public Primary School Principals (APPSP).

The unions contended that a decision to meet with hundreds of teachers at the Wildey Gymnasium was a deviation from an agreement reached during discussions with them less than a day before. BSTU President Mary Redman also argued that such a large meeting in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic was placing some lives at risk.

While giving the representative bodies a sound chiding, Bradshaw acknowledged that the smaller meetings with teachers, previously agreed upon, needed to be adjusted at short notice. She explained that information was only disclosed to unions to strengthen communication with them.

“I believe they may have taken that to mean that we were seeking their rubber stamp for holding the meeting, but things changed in the course of a short timeframe. We were able to secure this gymnasium, which was capable of holding the large number of teachers that we wanted. To try to do it over the number of schools we had initially looked at would have presented problems in terms of the length of time our discussions would have taken,” the Minister explained.

“It was not a disrespect of the union in any way and I have explained that to the teachers and I think that they understand the sincerity with which I operate.”

In further defence of the Ministry’s stance, Bradshaw declared that none of the unions represents all teachers and even among the ranks of the unions are “frustrated” individuals.

“There are some teachers who have become disengaged by the process because it seems as though everything always seems to be a fight with the Ministry of Education. These are some of the teachers who came here today and said first-hand that this is how we feel and we are grateful for the opportunity that the Minister and the Ministry have given them to express and share their views for the first time in a long time,” she told reporters.

Referencing her recent fight with cancer, she added: “I think people who know me know that I am very focused… and I kept focused because I understood that regardless of what was going on in terms of my health, my responsibility to the children of this country is greater than anything else; and, therefore, I will not be distracted by the noise of persons who I believe should know better, because on coming to office I have probably met with the unions and all of the stakeholders more than any other Minister in the last decade.”

Bradshaw added that just as the Ministry invited the unions to discuss other matters, such dialogue would be allowed to continue after the series of meetings with teachers. (kareemsmith@barbadostoday.bb)

37. William Skinner Avatar

The vacations are really for the children. Only a joker would want children in school all year. These stupid politicians don’t have any idea of what our teachers go through. They have little respect for teachers, especially primary school teachers. The problem we have is the public being brainwashed against the teachers. This political hatchet job started in the 70s.
    Some very young teachers suffer from hypertension, mental and physical fatigue because of the abuse of some parents , administrators and students.
    Teachers often go beyond their duties and sometimes they are the only hope the children have.
    We have spent forty years sweeping every known negative under the carpet. Every single negative that COVID has exposed was always there waiting to be exposed. There is no where to run and hide now.
    We are too ashamed to accept that the country has been in decline for sometime.
    Personal testimonials offer hope but they are never the reality for those who are barely getting a good daily meal.
    I always say the child who pulls a fridge door and has five choices of cheese and three choices of a high quality juice , cannot even imagine that a child sitting next to him or her , has not seen a really good meal for months.
    And so it is with teachers. Anybody who has not had the experience of teaching could never imagine the horrors of the profession.
    But, that’s how we are.

38. What is the issue again?

Let us restate.

During an unprecedented time caused by a pandemic in the form of COVID-19 members of the general public are ‘pissed’ key stakeholders lack the competence to agree to immediate solutions to efficiently manage how we deliver education to our children.

39. Why is every decision made is becoming confrontational with one individual who was totally silent for years and all of a sudden that voice is heard with every issue? Before I elaborate, let me deal with the refusal of Union Representatives engaging teachers from attending two crucial meetings with Ministry Officials headed by Minister Bradshaw prior to the re-opening of schools on September 21, 2020. Both Union heads were adamant that face-to-face meeting should not be held stating social distancing will not be adhered and it would be better to have virtual zoom meetings. That is utter nonsense since it would be impossible for teachers to have the freedom to be involved. The location of the Gymnasium with its high-tech audio system is far better giving teachers, Ministry officials and Unions to have uninterrupted dialogue.
    I was totally disappointed with the behaviour of Wendell Callender arrogant behaviour on Brass Tack regarding alternatives for the face to face meeting. I say no more.
    I want to know the decision why Mr. Know-it-all from the Unity/Opposition and Upper house have to response to every statement using unknown jargon to pretend he is an unmatched guru. Unfortunately, a Minister has the right to speak to his/her staff on crucial matters. In order for easy consultation knowing teachers and headteachers would like to quiz the Minister and her staff, a face to face encounter would be better once Covid 19 protocols are. Franklyn, sometimes you have to look away sometimes. Whilst at it, how many teachers signed up with your union?

40. @David
    members of the general public are ‘pissed’ key stakeholders lack the competence to agree to immediate solutions to efficiently manage how we deliver education to our children.
    ++++++++++++++++
    Are you serious? The word “unprecedented” has been overused in this situation but this is an unparalleled situation in modern times. Teachers/Administrators/Politicians/Parents/Students all over the world are having a difficult time coming to grips with this situation, there is no “best” solution and to expect people to come to “immediate solutions” is the height of lunacy. I expect the folks in Barbados will have many discussions before they come up with a model that is acceptable to the majority of all concerned.

41. @Sargeant

You do realize the issue last week was agreeing to what form the meeting should have taken?

42. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ TheOGazerts at 1:31 and 1 :34 PM

I recognized the sarcasm hence the Like. I am OK with the enemies for life threat. We need to get practical in this blessed country of ours. Why are we still playing petty political games? We are in a crisis and we have to stop playing games and get on with our lives. We must have a protocol so that we may not retrogress in the field of education and social cooperation.I would hazard a guess that unions in our situation have lost traction. We need solidarity in a crisis.

43. Another matter to consider is that not all teachers are members of the unions.

44. William Skinner,

I know the vacations are really for the children. But the person who suggested they be cut was suggesting children attend at different times.

What I am saying though is even when children were relatively easy to manage and teaching was a joy I was glad for the vacations to recuperate.

I would not wish forty-eight straight weeks of teaching in today’s school climate on our teachers. That would be manslaughter.

My son had a few more rotten teachers than I had but most of his teachers tried their best and some were wonderful. There are some I meant to thank personally and send a fruit basket for but my son kept putting off his visit. When school re-opens he will probably not able to do anything other than collect the certificates we never picked up. We will find a way to thank them.

No doubt some teachers will spend even more of their own money on students and supplies this year.

I considered it a privilege to be able to spend it thus in my days of teaching. Those were great days spent with teachers who really cared. What a bunch they were!

45. round and round the mulberry bush we go

Just observing

46. @Observing

That pretty much sums it up.

47. @David
    Yup
    While everyone is trying to mark their “turf” our children and their parents are left clueless and uncertain.

Just observing

48. Critical Analyzer Avatar

I can’t understand what is wrong with our government ministers and ministries. On one hand they say COVID is a serious thing, nothing to play with and implement harsh protocols they say are following the science and best medical advice but they selectively flaunt the rules when it suits them.

If our protocol restricts gatherings to less than 500 people, why ask for a special exemption to hold a meeting in the air-conditioned gymnasium of all places when the science clearly states the virus is most likely to spread in air-conditioned above all other environments. Was a deal made with the virus to not infect the attendees or do they know something about this the true nature of this virus they have not been telling us?

School is the head place for rules so the ministry should be the last government ministry to exploit the loopholes in the existing COVID protocols.

49. Is Barbados the US or U.K.? Have we not stopped community spread? It is a MOE supervised event.