Sir Hilary Beckles Raises His Voice on Reparations and Juneteenth

The following two media releases were sent to Barbados UndergroundDavid, Blogmaster

IMG_00001

P1

IMG_00002

P2

IMG_00001

P1

IMG_00002

P2

102 thoughts on “Sir Hilary Beckles Raises His Voice on Reparations and Juneteenth

1. Once again it turns out that the professor is caught between all chairs.

The answer to reparations is YES and NO at the same time.

It is not the white colonial master who is to blame for the decline of Jamaica and Guyana, but two socialist lunatics: Michael Manley and Forbes Burnham “the butcher”.

By leaving out this side of history, the professor makes it seem as if he sympathises with dictatorship and communism. Obviously the professor has never read his Marx. Then he would know that communism has capitalism as a prerequisite, in a developed country. That is why Stalin failed, that is why Mao failed, that is why Manley and Burnham failed. You can’t lead wild tribes from the middle ages into workers’ paradise, Professor.

Conclusion: Reparations YES, but we have to subtract the economic and political crimes committed by local politicians for 60 years.

p.s. I always have to laugh how much the professor likes his “Sir”. Isn’t it a contradiction when the professor on the one hand castigates colonialism and on the other hand behaves like a noble English colonial ruler? Obviously, he is not annoyed by colonialism itself, but only by the fact that he was not personally appointed Viceroy of all West India.

2. Isn’t he the same man who was keeping noise about the Mutual Insurance? After they put him on the board of directors, didn’t hear another word from him. He didn’t refuse the knighthood. This is all for show and tell.

3. By the way, I would like to mention the very expensive Nelson Mandela Park at Cave Hill as a testimony for the megalomania of the said professor. There are only dogs, cats and drug dealers but no students, because there is no direct way up. The professor is world class at wasting money.

Nelson Mandela has nothing to do with Barbados at all – except by his first name. LOL. South Africans, and all Africans in general, don’t give a damn about OUR problems, while OUR establishment (especially Comrade Commissioner) is always obsessed with pan-Africanism.

4. All Africans in general don’t give a damn about our problems
    ########
    And you have based this statement on what evidence exactly? How many of the 1.2 billion Africans on the continent have you spoken to in order to arrive at this opinion?

5. Lol. Mao failed and now China is about to take over the world. Maybe we need to fail like them instead of being a Nelson loving success with over 30% unemployed, an apartheid economic and social regime and a 95% majority who get treated like an oppressed minority.

6. @ Tee White June 20, 2020 10:53 PM

I base my judgment on the fact of who transfers money to Barbados. So where are your African investors and your African tourists in Barbados? I know very few of them.

7. @ Tron
    So you are basically talking about rich people. From my experiences of living in Africa, where I was always welcomed and made to feel at home, the vast majority of Africans are poor and don’t have money to meet their own needs let alone invest in Barbados. Just like the vast majority of poor Bajans, just because they don’t have money to invest in other Caribbean countries or even in Africa, it don’t mean they don’t care. Stop beating up on Africa, it’s a form of self hatred and it’s not cute in 2020. Given that you’re a strong BLP man, I would have thought you would be behind Mia and her pivot to Africa. By the way, rich people look out for themselves regardlesss of their colour or nationality.

8. The problem is that much of the reparations claims are based on only presenting a warped version by Mr Biccles.

When presenting legal argument you must come with clean hands and be truthful.

Unfortunately he and his partner Ralph Gonsalves have not been truthful or fully informative in there contentions and presentations.

Please readers take the time to read these articles they are so important for historical record.

https://www.iwnsvg.com/2013/09/08/we-are-what-we-are-with-some-exceptions/

https://www.facebook.com/breadfruitnews/posts/letter-they-stole-us-they-sold-us-they-owe-usi-once-wrote-about-antonio-gonsalve/832272356841547/

https://www.ieyenews.com/peter-binose-ralph-gonsalves-ancestry-and-the-establishment-of-slavery/

Part of my overall objection is that you have Biccles wanting to be a white knight and English gentleman. Then you have Gonsalves wanting to be a black man. Neither are fit for the roles they are playing, it really is time to dump them both, send them both to Cuba where they will be most welcome.

9. Sir Arthur Lewis, 1939, Reparations

WWII begun in 1939.

The Barbadian economy was based on sugar.

The destruction in the Pacific and Europe of sugar lands and factories reduced world sugar output from about 30 million tons to 15 million tons.

Demand soared as sugar had uses in the war as well as a sweetener.

Prices rose.

Output in Barbados rose.

Income rose.

Our greatest output was 200,000 tons in 1959 and 1967.

A booming economy financed the Deep Water Harbour and the QEH.

It also improved wages in the industry and caused the overall economy to grow.

Our Government squandered the windfall.

When world output returned and grew to even greater volumes than at the beginning of WWII, today it is 150 million tons, prices fell as countries could produce far more than we could and their cost per ton of sugar was much lower than ours.

Incessant labour demands caused our cost of production to grow.

Britain paid a premium price for our sugar and subsidised us and other countries.

We got our subsidization already.

We got our reparations already.

We blew it.

10. BLACK PEOPLE ACROSS THE EARTH ARE JOINING FORCES…COMING TOGETHER AS ONE PEOPLE….it’s the UNIFICATION OF THE AFRICAN…..

house negros and idiots need not apply , no one needs you…no one plans to carry your heavy, useless, slaveminded asses….

https://youtu.be/sMPGWNWraQQ?t=20

11. The Negro problem in America

What some historians call the “peculiar institution” of Negro slavery is also sometimes referred to as America’s Original Sin. In the 1920s and 1930s, it was euphemistically referenced by white conservatives and liberals as The Negro Problem. In a society that ostensibly professed that all men were created equal, what was to be done about the black population that was the result of the “involuntary” migration resulting from the Atlantic Slave Trade?

It is said and truly so, that Negro slavery was not the first or only expression of human enslavement. The Greeks, the Romans, the Egyptians held slaves. In Africa, blacks enslaved other blacks although much of that was what is termed domestic slavery, quantitatively and qualitatively different from “plantation slavery” practised in plantation America, North-Eastern Brazil, the southern states of the US and the islands of the Caribbean archipelago.

The difference between Negro plantation slavery and other slaveries is the legacy.

Nowhere else has slavery spawned the systemic, pandemic and ostensibly enduring racism that has resulted from black slavery. In the 17th Sir Winston Scott Memorial Lecture, Dr Niara Sudarkasa stated: “Despite all the rearranging of political, economic and technological hierarchies that have taken place in the 20th century, people

By Ralph Jemmott of African descent remain on or near the bottom of all of them.”

The recent killing of George Floyd in the United States was a shock for several reasons.

Firstly, it came only a few weeks after the shooting death of Ahmaud Arbery by three white men who appeared to be hunting him down.

The video shown repeatedly on social media displays either extreme racism or violent sociopathic behaviour or both.

These were sequential on a long list of beatings and unlawful killings dating back to the 1991 beating of Rodney King, the more recent deaths of Trevon Martin, Eric Garner and Breonna Taylor, shot by police in her own home.

Three weeks after Floyd was killed, and while we were hoping that his murder would be a catalyst for change, Rayshard Brooks was shot twice in the back and killed by white police officers in Atlanta, Georgia.

These tragic events speak to a pattern of systemic racism in the US that should be of concern to every black person in the diaspora.

The election to the American presidency of Barack Obama led some to conclude, rather naively, that the United States had entered a post-racial phase in its development. This was because Obama could not have been elected without the support of a significant section of white liberal America. African Americans only constitute 13.5 per cent of the US population, Latinos about 15 per cent.

This optimism ignored not only the realities in the present, but the historic past.

It ignored the historic truth that whenever there have been gains by blacks in America, it has excited a whiteracist backlash, particularly in the former ConfederateSouth. The promise of Reconstruction after the Civil War incited a violent reaction ending in the Jim Crow segregation laws of the 1880s ultimately

covering every aspect of public life in the South. The Supreme Court decision, Plessy v. Ferguson, of 1896 ruled that “legislation is powerless to eradicate racial instincts” and as Adam Lively states in “Masks: Blackness, Race and the Imagination”, that ruling laid down the “separate but equal” rule as a justification for segregation.

The current wave of racism is in part a reaction against the successful presidency of Obama and a reflection of Trump’s covert and sometimes not so covert reassertion of white supremacist ideology. Trump’s presidency and Republican Party collusion, including something calling itself the religious right, constitutes a real and present danger to non-white people in America.

The November 2020 election provides a vital opportunity to correct this trend.

After the 1896 Supreme Court decision, the racist actions of the southern states had been given federal sanction.

The result was the systemic lynching of blacks as seen in the gruesome photograph “Strange Fruits”.

Most of the Confederate statues were built as late as the 1920s and 30s. Only 11 states joined the original Confederacy but 31 have official Confederacy statues or emblems. The Civil Rights struggle brought some changes, but many American whites have held on to the worst notions of white supremacy and black inferiority. For them, Black Lives do not Matter.

The current issue is one of police assault on blacks, much clearly reflecting racist attitudes. The correction only partially underway will be a question of federal and state policy. Meanwhile, Donald Trump is trying to “pack” the courts with conservative judges.

Does America have the moral integrity to correct the original sin of black enslavement or is it like the biblical original sin, “The Fall”, endemic and pandemic in human character?

Ralph Jemmott is a retired educator and social commentator.

12. Honesty and transparency. The knight in shining armor needs to get reparations from the African states that were engaged in the slave trade and still are in the 21st century. Don’t try to put all the blame on the Europeans, both sides are guilty.

• People holding your view need to be educated. No wonder the world continues to be embroiled in racial conflict.

13. Amazing how the masses could be so enduringly fickle. That a conman could conjure taking property of persons long dead under the rubric of miseducation and medical systems promoting a newer model of the very maladies those payments are intended to make ameliorate

14. There was a time, not so long ago, when Beckles used to know that both Arthur Lewis and his son did vast amounts of damage to Afrikan peoples. Lewis the elder got his Nobel for advising African countries with junk economics which saw them surrendering billions to european banks. He used to know these truths. But time is a bitch.
    Today Beckles robs the memory of our ancestors to further industrialize the construction of human widgets at factories across the region. Measured in nominal terms Beckles is set to surpassed his uwi predecessors in terms of getting back to forms of slavery.

15. That is why if the UK put money in any of these sell out bitches hands in Barbados and the Caribbean, i hope to live a very long life to see them NEVER HEAR THE END OF IT…….

….as i said recently, there was no modern day technology around in the 14th century and UK, Europe, portugal and spain FOUND A WAY with all their engineering skills… to transport multiple millions of Africans they stole and enslaved across the Atlantic to the Americas and murdered even more millions of those victims..

…this is the 21st Century, they have all the tools, technology and ever better engineering skills available to them to make sure any REPARATIONS for slavery paid out…goes directly in the hands of the descendants of slaves. they have NO EXCUSE, they can’t find not one…since we know that they know, who everyone of the African descended from slavery are.

we have all the tools available to us TO MAKE SURE that these black face wannabe slavemasters in Barbados and the Caribbean do not get away with their KNOWN evil plans….to continue modern day slavery just to invisibly enrich themselves and publicly promote themselves, the negro wretches still trying to feed off Black people and they will not stop UNLESS STOPPED…

16. Pacha…the sell outs don’t even have it in them to PROMOTE BLACK ONLY BUSINESSES in Black majority Barbados….they would not even know how to start..

“Queen Bey also used her platform to uplift a directory of over 150 black businesses, among them companies that sell everything from handmade candles to visual art and even beauty products like sunscreen.”

17. David, if you and persons like you want to believe the knight go right ahead. No man could have gotten off a boat, walked into another man’s country and started rounded up slaves. Do some research. You are the one who needs education. There are people and sheeple. Try to find which one you are.

• That has nothing with a Knight. There is a bigger issue at play here. Turn in your TV if you not not get it. Crabs in a barrel mentality will not move the issue forward.

18. @ Joe Black June 21, 2020 6:36 AM

You do have a ‘white’ point about the duplicitous nature of the ‘chief-like’ protagonist in this merry-go-round of modern exploitation for private gain.

The ‘black’ side of your argument is that reparations have not been received by the descendants of the victims of that centuries old enterprise.

So far, only the white and Western buyers of those slaves have been compensated for the loss of their properties.

Karma demands that the wheel of Justice must turn full circle before there can be any ablution to free the white man of his guilt for this ‘blackened’ blot on his moral history.

After all, it was the same white man who ‘taught’ the ‘liberated’ black slaves Christianity.

Why not let him practise now what he once preached?

When we see a similar payout (in whichever tangible form) from the modern beneficiaries of that enterprise then the mercenaries for Justice will go after the stupid sellers of their own black brothers and sisters.

You ought to read the Biblical fable of Joseph and his brothers who sold him into slavery in Egypt in order for you, old black Joe aka the Bow down man to appreciate the moral lesson contained therein.

19. Waru

Only that these sophisticated sellouts get us all the time. There was a time when Keith Hunte, Beckles’ predecessor, was a firebrand black power radical. He turned into the most reactionary imaginable.
    There was also a former VC, Rex Nettleford, who would advise his charges that when speaking publicly that they should walk through the raindrops.
    You get our drift. In short, we are saying that the uwi has been a hindrance to development. It seems to consistenly produce a straight line of coconuts. Such an organization should be proscribed, not funded
    It is this same Beckles who called the blp victory a revolution. The only thing revotionized was his balance sheet. This is the kind of parasites produced by the uwi.

20. ” Joe Black June 21, 2020 6:36 AM

Honesty and transparency. The knight in shining armor needs to get reparations from the African states that were engaged in the slave trade and still are in the 21st century. Don’t try to put all the blame on the Europeans, both sides are guilty.”

not even the Europeans or en-slavers rely on this trite argument any longer but some of us, if this bloke is a black bajan, always inject it somehow to show black complicity or to furnish a European excuse.

even if that was true or would seemingly blunt any European blame for slavery, let me point out that there were Jewish collaborators during the holocaust but that never stopped the Jews from putting the blame where it should go or excusing the actions of the perpetrators

21. @David
    Lol. Some people wake up early Sunday morning and come pon you blog to provoke people and rile up their blood.

For those of you at the back of the room who didn’t get the memo, the demand for reparations for Atlantic chattel slavery is based on the simple fact that those who benefited financially from this crime against humanity must hand over their proceeds from the crime. Show me one country in Africa, that like England, went from being an insignificant island off the coast of Europe to being the most dominant global power as a result of the enslavement of Africans. Show me one African company that like Lloyds made their money and became the world’s largest insurer from involvement in enslaving Africans. Point out one central bank in Africa, like the Bank of England, thar got rich off enslaving Africans.

So please stop this nonsense talk about reparations from Africa. It’s embarrassing to display such a level of ignorance and it sounds either like white racism or black self hatred. It’s a go to place for those who want to defend the ill gotten gains of Atlantic chattel slavery. That system damaged Africa as much as it damaged her children that were stolen away.

22. “This is the kind of parasites produced by the uwi.”

no great surprise, it is also being noticed that the ones calling themselves coloreds who do not want to identify with being Black or African under any circumstances and are drawing lines in the sand, as well as the blacker ones who hate being called black let alone Africans are also CRINGING at the exposure of the nelson and minority bajan white fraud perpetrated against the black majority since the 1800s and compounded by sell out black leaders generationally in the last 60 years ….they think taking sides will save them, i would be happy to offer them ALL up as fodder and SACRIFICES for ALL racists NEAR AND FAR. .none of them serve any useful purpose anyway….and someone needs to have them..they are no longer welcomed in the African family, the descendants of the enslaved…we will see if slavemasters, slavemaster wannabes and racists want any of them when they can no longer suck on and steal from the majority population to PROP up a racist, apartheid modern day slavery system..

“It is this same Beckles who called the blp victory a revolution.”

but isn’t that just UGLY though, none of them seem to know what a revolution is and are RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF a REVOLUTION FOCUSED ON ALL OF THEM….Mia did not know what a revolution is either, she called it a trend and must be reminded about that for the next 2 years plus pre 2023 pre election…the fact that they are all self-serving frauds now exposed everywhere should energize the majority to PURGE ALL OF THEM.. out of the lives of the majority population….then they will be on their own…let’s see how they survive on that…

Greene…that fool cannot influence anything except those who are just like him and quickly becoming PARIAHS WORLDWIDE…they have not realized yet what the FALLOUT from their decades of crimes against Black people will be for all of them, they cannot see what is coming, that is why it will be so successful….no true African descended is paying attention to any of them or want any of them around them, they are too toxic, sell out and dangerous…..we got this..

23. “So please stop this nonsense talk about reparations from Africa. It’s embarrassing to display such a level of ignorance and it sounds either like white racism or black self hatred. ”

as we have been smeling their racist stench and reading their self-hating rhetoric for years…it cannnot even cause a ripple anymore, don’t even know why they even bother, they will all soon be the invisible untouchables .

24. “☎” Hello Calling Hilary on the BU Line. I hope you are listening and can hear me.

I’ve been pushing this idea / initiative here on the underground for a minute, but the seeds planted are still bedding in waiting propagation to crow into big trees and forests.

To cut to chase I think Barbados (the British Slave port to Americas in Atlantic Slave Trade) should push for reparation monies to be put into an ethical Black Business / Slave Reparation / Investment Trust Fund as it’s Official Receivers which can be traded in Global Stock Exchange and put into Pension Funds etc managed by BlackRock Asset Managers and Individuals of all Shades could invest in.
    Down the line X-Slave Descendants could be issued free shares and be eligible to be paid Group 1 Special Dividends.

many banks and businesses are beginning to fess up to their infamy in trade of human cargo starting from last week so the cheques should start flooding in

25. “No man could have gotten off a boat, walked into another man’s country and started rounded up slaves.”

They were traded for glass beads, cowrie shells, manilla, tobacco, alcohol, guns and sold for vast profits in Americas up to $1000 equivalent $75,000

Tribes “sold” “traded” children and young adults from other tribes which means the original transaction in the slave trade chain that Stink Ass Brits claim is legal is in fact illegal child and people trafficking of 4,000,000 counts and followed by rape breeding up to 15 children from 14 years of age for 20 generations.

I could go on and on the full has never been told

26. Pacha….in the meantime the half-human black face sell outs in the parliament are busy SETTING UP the descendants of the majority populaton…to be future slaves to the minority criminals currently sucking on the people and island….we gotta make sure that they do not set up our descendants to be dependent on criminal minorities….going forward…for anything..

27. “So please stop this nonsense talk about reparations from Africa. It’s embarrassing to display such a level of ignorance and it sounds either like white racism or black self hatred. ”

This is one of the reasons I skirt talk of racism/classism on BU and would prefer to deal with ‘who is a big tief, who tief dis, who tief dat and who gine tief’. When the talk moves to race some does get new, big and fancy ideas and open dem mout and out rolls a lot of nonsense. And it seems to come from the full pelau spectrum; it is painful to read some of it.

The well of self hatred is deep.

28. First of all i don’t want any of these black face thieves representing me and mine in anything to do with reparations and certainly don’t want any minorities or any other criminal investing in anything due to my descendants, so the UK better make sure that reparations are paid directly to the descendants of African slaves and NONE OF IT IS TRANSFERABLE…

this is when those beautiful engineering skills of the UK will have to come into play, some of which are too special to mention…

29. Theo…by now you should be aware that UK does nothing half way…so when they created self-hating negros they went full spectrum … when they created racist criminal minorities in Barbados, they went all out..

..Barbados was their crown jewel of a trading post and clearing house for slaves coming out of the African Continent….so ya done know it will be next to impossible to reverse any of that…they all have to be starved out of existence….because now it is all heading in the direction of both destructive creations HAVING BECOME A VERY EMBARRASSING LIABILITY..

30. FOR THOSE THAT SPOUT ABOUT RACISM THEY HAVE CHOSEN ONE BAD BEHAVIOUR AND MADE IT THEIR LIFE’S MISSION TO HATE OTHERS WHILE TRYING TO SOUND LIKE THEY ARE RIGHTEOUS.

I thought that racism was making decision based on race and not the PERSON who is before you. But people who spout against racism who say the following “We consider that these people and their systems must be frontally destroyed, by any means necessary.” Advocate racism. Funny how that works. People who say that they hate racism want to exterminate a race by any means. Let’s say blacks were successful in exterminating the white race who is next maybe the yellow race may think they are next and might want to exterminate the black race before they can get to them. Where does this end.

Where do you think those that profess they are against racism and use racism to kill another race are after glory of the world “wealth” and power over those that they intend to rule their own people for they would have killed off the others. Or do you think that if a few other races live among you they will be threaten that you “must not blaspheme” or you will die. And we will determine if you are a blasphemer or not.

I do not know of a man alive that does not sin. We all need to repent. As Christ has said “it is written”

2 For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again.
    3 And why beholdest thou the mote (the little spirally dirt) thing that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam (the biggest piece of lumber that may be used in a house) that is in thine own eye? (Matthew 7:2–3)

ALSO INSTRUCTIVE IS THAT WE SHOULD LOOK TO OURSELVES FIRST TO CORRECT OUR FAULTS NOT AT OTHERS.

Please be aware that faced with destruction nobody goes quietly in to the night.

When someone says RACISM they are attempting to obtain power by HATEFUL DIVISION. This Hate & Intolerance of IDENTITY POLITICS pitches us against each other & has gone too far! It’s time to stop creating divisions in our society & start coming together to solve our shared issues.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/ECRPNQXVUAE5Ujs?format=png&name=small

Divide & Conquer is the Mantra of Leftism!

https://patriot.imgix.net/bfb21571b20fa2e70771f1425793355f99ba6906cf58f1532aeb7c001dce6a4d.jpg?auto=format

31. Do Barbados and CARICOM actually pay reparations because they looked away or even supported the criminal regime of Burnham the Butcher for 20 years? Was Burnham the Butcher not a good friend of Barrow? Why did Barrow never criticize the Slayer in public or throw him out of CARICOM? Was it because his victims were primarily Indians and not black?

The history professor´s works on the history of the Caribbean have large gaps for the period after 1966. The professor must finally put off his ideological eyeglasses and name the crimes of various governments in the Caribbean. Otherwise, he will be suspected of being not a professor of history but of postcolonial propaganda.

32. The professor works in Jamaica. Didn’t Jamaica reject its own citizens for months when they wanted to return home, thus degrading them to second-class human beings? Why did our professor of justice not protest against the Jamaican government? Perhaps because he’s an opportunist?

33. @WURA-War-on-U June 21, 2020 8:48 AM “…beauty products like sunscreen.”

Sunscreen is not a beauty product.

Why would black people who live in their tropical homelands need sunscreen for “beauty”?

I’ve NEVER used sunscreen. NEVER will.

Waste of good money.

Stupssseee!!!

34. @Tron June 21, 2020 10:23 PM “The professor works in Jamaica. Didn’t Jamaica reject its own citizens for months when they wanted to return home, thus degrading them to second-class human beings? Why did our professor of justice not protest against the Jamaican government? Perhaps because he’s an opportunist?”

Why doyou have to be so deceitful?

You know as well as I do, you know as well as all sensible people do, that Jamaica, like Barbados was managing the return of its nationals in order to prevent the rapid spread of COVID 19.

Would you feel better if Jamaica had had 10,000 cases of COVID19, and Barbados 5,000.

Would it give you the jollies in 800 black Jamaicans had died; if 400 black Bajans had died?

35. Reparations for enslaved Africans…Period. Do not allow greedy, racist bandwagonists to squeeze their way on board at the 25th hour. Africans were the only peoples in the caribbean & americas (besides native peoples) to be legally considered a FRACTION of a human being (3/5) and physically, mentally & spiritually BONDED to free labour for hundreds of years.Legally & systematically raped, tortured, decultured, worked to death and children sold away to enslavement elsewher. Indentureship was NONE of those aforementioned abuses and was PAID LABOUR over a CONTRACTED, finite period, after which Indians were given land OR passage back to india! Formerly enslaved africans were TAXED to pay for Indian immigration. Hilary Beckles has to be held accountable for allowing Indian indentureship to even be considered as worthy of attachment to the african reparations movement (they are manipulating him)

36. THERE WERE HORRENDOUS ABUSES BY THE SLAVERS, BOTH TO AFRICANS AND IRISH AND SCOTTISH.

All Barbadians born on this beautiful gemstone, of Barbadian heritage, have ancestors who were slaves originally; the Chisel of Oppression Carves us all from the Same Stone. Everyone in Barbados whether they think they are white or whether they think they are Black have other Races in them. If you think otherwise simply, open the phone book and see the names listed of the Black Irish and those of Scottish Ancestry that most are unawares of their Heritage.

“It’s interesting to see this video especially having grown up with Bajan people. I am of a black decent that actually held slaves in Africa. So people are confused all over the World thinking all blacks were slaves when some blacks were slave owners who owned the slaves that Went to America.”

“I’m a descendant of the mixture of slaves and indentured servants who were originally prisoners of war from Ireland banished by that tyrant Cromwell to the West Indies. My fam is directly from Barbados, but I got relatives in Jamaica, Montserrat, and St. Kitts and Nevis, and many other Irish chattel was sent to Bermuda, Virginia, and New England. My ancestors got freed, according to legal documents, in 1834, and then became simple fishermen and day laborers after being freed from the plantation fields and sugar mills they once worked. These redlegs, my ancestors, immigrated to the Midwest in the early 1900’s and I’m proud to claim my heritage.”

SLAVES OR INDENTURED SERVANTS?…

There has been a lot of whitewashing of the Irish slave trade, partly by not mentioning it, and partly by labelling slaves as indentured servants. There were indeed indentured, including English, French, Spanish and even a few Irish. But there is a great difference between the two. Indentures bind two or more parties in mutual obligations. Servant indentures were agreements between an individual and a shipper in which the individual agreed to sell his services for a period of time in exchange for passage, and during his service, he would receive proper housing, food, clothing, and usually a piece of land at the end of the term of service. It is believed that some of the Irish that went to the Amazon settlement after the Battle of Kinsale and up to 1612 were exiled military who went voluntarily, probably as indentured to Spanish or Portuguese shippers.

However, from 1625 onward the Irish were sold, pure and simple as slaves. There were no indenture agreements, no protection, no choice. They were captured and originally turned over to shippers to be sold for their profit. Because the profits were so great, generally 900 pounds of cotton for a slave, the Irish slave trade became an industry in which everyone involved (except the Irish) had a share of the profits.

Ireland became the Biggest Source of Livestock for the English Slave Trade.

Few people today realize that from 1600 to 1699, Far More Irish were Sold as Slaves than Africans…

BARBADIAN HISTORIANS SUPPORT THE VIDEO DOCUMENTARIES PRESENTED…

SCOTTISH SLAVES IN BARBADOS

The Irish Sugar Slaves of Barbados

37. Feliciaa…these evil greedy fcukers for minorities in Barbados are just waiting to tief any reparations for the African descended on the island…and the dirty sell out negros in the parliament are more than eager to help them…they are all pariahs and parasites in the lives of the black population…and always will be..

The African descended in the US and the wide Diaspora, have somewhere to go, they have always had a home to return to…

https://thegrio.com/2020/06/21/black-americans-come-home/

“TheGrio

Ghana’s Minister of Tourism to Black Americans: Come home to Africa
    In light of the nation’s current season of civil unrest, African country seizes the opportunity to persuade Black Americans to return to the Motherland

By Christian Spencer -June 21, 2020
    Barbara Oteng-Gyasi, Ghana memorial for George Floyd (Sceenshot)
    Ghana’s Minister of Tourism Barbara Oteng-Gyasi capitalized on America’s poor race relations, specifically the treatment of Black people, to recruit and nationalize African Americans.

The Minister of Tourism made her appearance at George Floyd‘s memorial and wreath-laying ceremony. She could not resist and recite her government’s message to Black people to “come home.”

READ MORE: ‘Year of Return’ movement beckons Blacks back to Africa prompting powerful cultural and economic exchange

Because of the current season of civil unrest, the deaths of Ahmed Arbery, George Floyd, Rayshard Brooks, and Breonna Taylor, Ghana is seizing the opportunity to persuade people of the African diaspora living in America, to move.”

38. Is Sir Hillary aware that black people were once slaves? I think BU regulars should write to the Cabinet Office recommending Prof Keith Arlington Patrick Sandiford for the highest award in the land. He is not only our greatest living historian, but he knows about and understands slavery. We must not allow what happened to Kamau Brathwaite to happen to \Prof Sandiford.

39. Gaston Browne has called Ron ‘Singh’ Sanders and intellectual giant. Can he be compared with Sir Hillary or our president?

40. @ charles skeete June 22, 2020 9:37 AM
    “Is Sir Hilary aware that native americans kept black people as slaves?”

So too did the Romans keep both black and white slaves!

The difference between black chattel slavery in America and the British West Indies (BWI is that the ‘white’ slave owners in the BWI were handsomely compensated for the loss of their black ‘properties’ and nothing was given to the blacks as monetary compensation for the 200 years of dehumanizing treatment.

Was the ‘free’ transportation to Liberia on board the Christian ship called “Cora” the compensation for the Bajan ex-slaves?

41. Miller
    Chattel slavery stands alone as the worst of all abomination.

Those who seek to find parallels with serfdom, indentureship, other forms of deprivation will never be able to overcome the mountain of wickedness therein represented

42. “You May Choose To Look The Other Way But You Can Never Say Again That You Did Not Know.”
    ― William Wilberforce

BRITAIN WAS THE FIRST MAJOR POWER TO ABOLISH SLAVERY IN ALL OF ITS COLONIES BECAUSE OF THE TIRELESS PERSISTENCE’S WILLIAM WILBERFORCE!

https://www.facebook.com/164391610288681/photos/a.165236216870887.40750.164391610288681/165236340204208/?type=3

Many ‘West Indians’ have Irish surnames. Many of their surnames that are doubtless as a result of their ‘owners’. What a sad and despicable way humans treat one another and still it continues here and anywhere else in the world; just slightly more covertly.

The Irish slave trade began when 30,000 Irish prisoners were sold as slaves to the New World. The King James I Proclamation of 1625 required Irish political prisoners be sent overseas and sold to English settlers in the West Indies. By the mid 1600s, the Irish were the main slaves sold to Antigua and Montserrat. At that time, 70% of the total population of Montserrat were Irish slaves.

Ireland quickly became the biggest source of human livestock for English merchants. The majority of the early slaves to the New World were actually white.

From 1641 to 1652, over 500,000 Irish were killed by the English and another 300,000 were sold as slaves. Ireland’s population fell from about 1,500,000 to 600,000 in one single decade. Families were ripped apart as the British did not allow Irish dads to take their wives and children with them across the Atlantic. This led to a helpless population of homeless women and children. Britain’s solution was to auction them off as well.

During the 1650s, over 100,000 Irish children between the ages of 10 and 14 were taken from their parents and sold as slaves in the West Indies, Virginia and New England. In this decade, 52,000 Irish (mostly women and children) were sold to Barbados and Virginia. Another 30,000 Irish men and women were also transported and sold to the highest bidder. In 1656, Cromwell ordered that 2000 Irish children be taken to Jamaica and sold as slaves to English settlers.

Many people today will avoid calling the Irish slaves what they truly were: Slaves. They’ll come up with terms like “Indentured Servants” to describe what occurred to the Irish. However, in most cases from the 17th and 18th centuries, Irish slaves were nothing more than human cattle.

As an example, the African slave trade was just beginning during this same period. It is well recorded that African slaves, not tainted with the stain of the hated Catholic theology and more expensive to purchase, were often treated far better than their Irish counterparts.

African slaves were very expensive during the late 1600s (50 Sterling). Irish slaves came cheap (no more than 5 Sterling). If a planter whipped or branded or beat an Irish slave to death, it was never a crime. A death was a monetary setback, but far cheaper than killing a more expensive African. The English masters quickly began breeding the Irish women for both their own personal pleasure and for greater profit. Children of slaves were themselves slaves, which increased the size of the master’s free workforce. Even if an Irish woman somehow obtained her freedom, her kids would remain slaves of her master. Thus, Irish moms, even with this new found emancipation, would seldom abandon their kids and would remain in servitude.

In time, the English thought of a better way to use these women (in many cases, girls as young as 12) to increase their market share: The settlers began to breed Irish women and girls with African men to produce slaves with a distinct complexion. These new “mulatto” slaves brought a higher price than Irish livestock and, likewise, enabled the settlers to save money rather than purchase new African slaves. This practice of interbreeding Irish females with African men went on for several decades and was so widespread that, in 1681, legislation was passed “forbidding the practice of mating Irish slave women to African slave men for the purpose of producing slaves for sale.” In short, it was stopped only because it interfered with the profits of a large slave transport company.

England continued to ship tens of thousands of Irish slaves for more than a century. Records state that, after the 1798 Irish Rebellion, thousands of Irish slaves were sold to both America and Australia. There were horrible abuses of both African and Irish captives. One British ship even dumped 1,302 slaves into the Atlantic Ocean so that the crew would have plenty of food to eat.

There is little question that the Irish experienced the horrors of slavery as much (if not more in the 17th Century) as the Africans did. There is, also, very little question that those brown, tanned faces you witness in your travels to the West Indies are very likely a combination of African and Irish ancestry. In 1839, Britain finally decided on its own to end its participation in Satan’s highway to hell and stopped transporting slaves. While their decision did not stop pirates from doing what they desired, the new law slowly concluded THIS chapter of nightmarish Irish misery.

But, if anyone, black or white, believes that slavery was only an African experience, then they’ve got it completely wrong.

Irish slavery is a subject worth remembering, not erasing from our memories.

https://i.pinimg.com/564x/0d/41/3f/0d413f103b485416cf4ab59f2c92240f.jpg

43. @ Pacha
    This is not the first time that Sir Hilary has put his stamp of approval on an election. He once said that the .NDP
    will only disrupt the great progress made by the DLP and BLP. He returned to Barbados and was quickly endorsed and worshipped by many as a superior historian and he had the charisma and eloquence to confuse the entire country. I know he is a “ productive” academic but Sir Hilary was always going to be another Sir Keith Hunte.
    Like the ladies say : Hilary looks good in jeans. Call the man Sir! Well respected by his “peers”. I seriously believe he has a good chance of ending up in Illaro Court or Government House.

44. Sir William
    You could call him that but we will never recognize such trinkets of empire except in jest.

We could never agree that such a man who disavows large tracks of him own work should have pride of place in any society. As ourself devout anarchists we support the reverse of what Beckles espouses and has always represented while pretending the opposite.

This is a man who disavowed the movement in Barbados for economic justice. This meally mouthed fucker even recoiled from mentioning the Mutual book in his resume …… And announced that to the world. Now only cunts could believe that Beckles has any interests other than commercial exploitation in African peoples. This raasoul man is worthy of death for selling out our ancestors. And we pronounce such a sentence herewith. The Damocles sword to the neck not that of the woman in Buckingham Palace.

And Sir William you are wrong. Beckles is by far the most reactionary son of a bitch known to man.

Even Farrakhan in the US spotted Beckles as a neoliberal seeking to use Black people for personal gain and he called him out as a man not willing to suffer for Black liberation. Now this son of a bitch sees another opportunity in the BLM movement to be exploitative of Black historical struggle.

May Hilary Beckles burn in the hottest fires of hell.

Sir William, Beckles is far more a conservator of the establishment than all the rest of traitors combined.

45. Sir William

That Beckles could force you to bend the knee not only talks about him but you Sir William as well.

46. It has been NOTED this unpleasant woman keeps preaching her bile on this FORUM along with “honest” John. David how about applying some censorship to BU

47. @TLSN

This refugee from the Soviet Union comes on a black-focussed blog talking nonsense about Marxism almost everyday. It is the one time I wished that Stalin had got his (wo)man. She should be in a gulag. @Mariposa, who became an embarrassment to the ruling junta, was banned.

48. There was NEVER any irish slave trade, maybe except for the irish who sold each other into slavery and even that was exposed on FB yesterday as being a TOTAL LIE… because no one can find the evidence, but this drug trafficking, gun running, money laundering liar continues to spread that misinformation incessantly although it has always been fact checked as a complete lie..

49. @Waru,
    I hope that they will work out a formulae for reparations. We all know that slaves who shared their master’s blood received a direct inheritance from his estate. And have directly benefitted from this advantage throughout the ages.
    Reparations should be weighted to benefit those of a darker hue.

50. @ Pacha
    The Mahogany Coconut blog does not go about looking for petty fights to prove a point. If Mr. Hillary Beckles’ office instructed/ requested that he prefers to be addressed as Sir Hillary, it is not a problem for the Editorial Committee. It’s called respect . You prefer to be addressed as Pachamama and you are given that. Bending and breaking are two different things. Why don’t you call up “ Hillary” and cuss him.

51. THEY SAY BEAUTY LIES IN THE EYES OF THE BEHOLDER. AND THAT IS TRUE TO A GREAT EXTENT.

Whom you would consider as beautiful may not be beautiful to me. However when it comes to the Use of the Tongue we all Agree on What is Beautiful and What is Ugly.

GOSSIPING, LYING, CURSING, SLANDERING, NAGGING AND BACKBITING are but to name a few acts we do not consider as attractive. And sad to say, there are many women who are beautiful in how they look but ugly in how they talk. They are simply not refined

https://i.pinimg.com/564x/13/2f/2d/132f2d25e3536b0e41baf647c9944d06.jpg

52. Sir William
    Call him up! There is no need for that. What is necessary is the launching of a class action law suite against beckles pesonally, the institution suborning his illegal activities, caribbean goverments, etc in a non regional court. That is a more appropriate strategic response.

Sir William you, like the quintessential bajan are crimpled by small mindedness. Be jesus christ man, the man is stealing from the ancestors to crimple the region with a junk miseducation.

What about you? Do you like to be addressed as sir too? Do you really think that that is the real issue at stake? True to form Sir William goes for the small beer, the mundane.

53. BTW Sir William
    Is the mahogany in the coconut representative of the likes of Beckles. Black on the outside but white on the inside?

54. @ TLSN June 23, 2020 4:57 AM
    “And yes, Mariposa should be reinstated.”

Totally agree that Ms Many P and her many ‘blue and yellow’ alter egos ought to return to the BU blogs if only in the interest of balancing the ‘red’ one-sided seesaw of lies and propaganda.

There are now too many ‘red’ fowls dominating the yard holding the party for political ass-lickers.

We have had “Enuff” of Mariposa’s absence.

Ac, where are you, Angela cox?
    Please come back to your lover.
    Poor Hal Austin is pining away over you!

55. @ Pacha
    I don’t give two hoots about Beckles. I have never jumped in his band. I publicly via the Advocate News defended Beckles many moons ago when Bizzy Williams and white Bajans were slaughtering him and calling him a racist. I was threatened by those who used to meet at the Boatyard. I have never met the man.
    As for MCG Blog , it has been out there in the public for several years; people can form their opinions. You can answer yourself about whether it’s black or white. You can appoint yourself as : judge , jury and executioner.

56. I am sure that @Mariposa would be good company. We as a nation are paying a high price to defend free speech, a principle much talked about on BU, but little understood.
    @Mariposa is not only needed for ‘balance’, but because we need to hear a wide discussion in order to progress knowing we have explored every angle of an argument.
    But, like most things, people say more about themselves when they try to cover their tracks through deceit and cunning, than they realise. That is why the security agencies keep people to decipher conversations and letters.
    Bring back @Mariposa should be a campaign slogan. While we are at it, we should also campaign to free people from prison immediately who have been on remand for ten years or more. Get the president to make a speech about that.
    Little Barbados must join the civilised world, and 2020 is not too late.

• How do people who are blinded by a political affiliation bring balance? Independent minded people bring balance.

57. @ The Fibbing Crackpot:
    GOSSIPING, LYING, CURSING, SLANDERING, NAGGING AND BACKBITING are but to name a few acts we do not consider as attractive. And sad to say, there are many women who are beautiful in how they look but ugly in how they talk. They are simply not refined
    “Every woman is beautiful until she speaks”: African Proverb (Unquote).

It is a pity you had to resort to your portfolio of racist imagery and propaganda to attack black women when you could have remained at home in your racist world and easily quoted from your “Christianized version of the Judeo book of misogyny, myths, tall tales and downright lies.

“It is better to live in a desert land than with a quarrelsome and fretful woman.”
    ( Jewish) Proverbs 21:19

“Let a woman learn quietly with all submissiveness.
    I do not permit a woman to teach or to exercise authority over a man; rather, she is to remain quiet.
    For Adam was formed first, then Eve; and Adam was not deceived, but the woman was deceived and became a transgressor.”
    Timothy 2:11-14.

58. @ Miller,
    One does not have to be an Einstein to decipher F. C. @ 6.38. She just can’t help herself.

As a minority figure she would do best to ingratiate herself with the majority population and to be humble.

She of all people and all the other minority groups should understand that Barbados remains an island with an enormous and an increasingly restless black majority population.

Events can change rapidly on the ground. Zanzibar, Kenya and Uganda are three black majority countries which ended badly for minority populations.

59. Sir William

He was invited to be band leader after something was started. Now, who is the jumper and who is leader and financiere. Our afrikan friends would call this small small.

60. “@Waru,
    I hope that they will work out a formulae for reparations. We all know that slaves who shared their master’s blood received a direct inheritance from his estate. And have directly benefitted from this advantage throughout the ages.
    Reparations should be weighted to benefit those of a darker hue.”

UK and Europe do need to work out a formula for the reparations to be paid DIRECTLY the African descended in Barbados and the Caribbean that DOES NOT include the descendants of indians, irish or minority whites….WHOSE ANCESTORS WERE NEVER ENSLAVED…never part of the TransAtlantic Slave Trade..

..those three groups of FRAUDS with their history of thievery previously mentioned are trying to INSERT themselves into the Black population’s business as usual to STEAL what is not theirs as usual and with the help of the idot Comissiong…we can never allow that to happen in this era nor the next and our children and grandchildren must be warned against ever allowing them to continue their crimes against them…

61. That is the reason Africa is getting rid of ALL MINORITIES and their parasitic criminal behaviors…no one needs them, let them go find someone else to suck on in white countries…

62. In 1834, there were officially 82,807 slaves valued by the Barbadian commissioners at £47 each. The owners were compensated at 8.6 per cent of the value. At the time there were 5200 slave owners. There were also many slave owners who did not own plantations or any land.

63. @ TLSN June 23, 2020 10:37 AM…You must feel when you threaten people and you are threatening with the weight of the Majority of the whole country. Nobody elected you, you cannot speak for anybody except for yourself. You are a Demented individual, you want to see people Divided by Race but you have no Power, but the Rule of Law is Still the Rule of Law in Barbados and Law is made from Reason, you are only speaking from Emotion. TLSN you can never rule a country with Emotion, because you will be Eaten by those with Greater Emotion than you. As for Uganda, your Fate would probably be as it was for
    Idi Amin Dada.

Freedom Does Not Live in Fear…You can Raise an Army to come for me but you can only kill me once, “COWARDS DIE MANY TIMES BEFORE THEIR DEATH”. When you kill me I will be UN-Bowed as my God Awaits and Freedom wishes the same for you but not sure which god you Serve.

ONLY THE ONE WHO CREATED THE LEOPARD CAN CHANGE THE SPOTS OF THE LEOPARD

SYMBOLICAL OF HOW REPENTANCE CAN CHANGE A MAN’S HEART.

https://i.pinimg.com/564x/75/2f/f6/752ff6f66d862c363244ab138ab52506.jpg

@ Miller June 23, 2020 10:02 AM You are a Deceiver, you take an African Proverb and you say that Freedom Represents a “portfolio of racist imagery and propaganda”…

You somehow feel that when you Tell Lies, you think it will appears Truth…that is the Definition of Propaganda and it comes from you. Freedom continually Try to Bring Reason and you Continually bring Distortions. You may know the Scriptures, but that is Like reading a Book of Calculus without knowing Arithmetic. You are Devoid of Understanding who Pretends to Know it All…

A Wise Man Never Knows All, Only Fools Know Everything!
    African Proverb!

https://i.pinimg.com/236x/56/22/73/562273ae92e7405fafea3759e58e700e–leadership-book-jacket.jpg

64. Pacha…let the talking heads at the UWI SUCK ON THIS when they are hobnobbing with the low class, nobody RACISTS and thieves like the cow bizzy et al…

“Minister of Labour Colin Jordan has called on Barbadians to confront “pervasive and systemic” racism, which he said still exists in Barbados.

During debate on a Private Members’ resolution on Black Lives Matter in the House of Assembly yesterday, Jordan said he would not be silent on the issue.

“Today at this time I believe that we have come to a pivotal place in our history where we have to say we are duty-bound; we are bound by our own morality and ethics to say that enough is enough. Racism must be debunked as a theory and it must be dismantled,” the St Peter MP said.

In a debate in which much attention was directed at the call for the removal of Lord Nelson’s statue from National Heroes Square, Jordan also called for the erection of a Speightstown monument in honour of Cuffy, a slave rebellion leader from St Peter, “to represent the struggle of black people in this country against racism in all its forms and against slavery in all its forms”

65. The development of a plantation economy and African slavery in Carolina began before English colonists even settled Charles Town in 1670. In 1663, eight Lords Proprietors in England received land grants in North America from King Charles II for their loyalty to the monarchy during the English Civil War. The Lords decided to combine their shares to establish a profit-seeking proprietary settlement, Carolina, between the English colony of Virginia and Spanish Florida. To ensure financial success, they sent representatives to study the lucrative sugar plantation system on the Caribbean island of Barbados. They also recruited white settlers from this English West Indian colony to help launch their new North American settlement. These white Barbadians often brought enslaved Africans and African Barbadians with them.

Sugarcane never became a major cash crop in Carolina, but these Barbadians eventually transplanted their West Indian model of plantations and slavery to the new colony. Initially, Lowcountry planters attempted and failed to develop a cash crop from olives, grapes, mulberry trees, and different English-based grains. Carolina settlers also engaged in the fur trade with American Indians, extracted tar and pitch for naval stores, and raised livestock for exporting packed beef to the English West Indies. By 1690, however, Lowcountry planters had successfully applied the West Indian plantation model to rice, and Carolina rapidly developed into a lucrative plantation economy and slave society.

66. An overview of the early colonial history of Barbados provides context for why this English West Indian colony was so influential in the development of plantation economies in the Lowcountry and throughout the English North America. In the late seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, Barbados was an ideal place to recruit settlers who could promote the Lords Proprietors commercial interests in Carolina. By the 1660s and 70s, this relatively small Caribbean island featured the most lucrative trading system in the English colonies, and the most profitable sugar plantation system in the world. Barbados’ booming plantation economy had developed in just a few short decades, due to a series of geographic and historic advantages.

After the English settled Barbados in 1627, they quickly began cultivating different crops to find a lucrative export. As a coral island, much of the land in Barbados is flat or sloped and arable, in contrast to more mountainous volcanic islands elsewhere in the Caribbean. In addition, in the early seventeenth century, the island was reportedly uninhabited. Though Amerindian groups had a long history of occupying Barbados, conflicts between these groups and prior encounters with Spanish explorers (and European diseases) had nearly wiped out their numbers before the English arrived. In contrast, other English colonies in the Caribbean, such as Antigua and St. Kitts, continually struggled with attacks from Amerindian inhabitants, which delayed settler attempts to develop plantation economies. Geographically set apart at the eastern extremity of the Caribbean island chain, English settlers in Barbados could avoid conflicts with both European rivals and Amerindians and quickly develop cultivation and trade systems.

67. When English settlers arrived in Barbados they brought enslaved Africans captured from European rivals in privateering skirmishes. Dutch traders also brought enslaved Amerindians from British Guiana in South America. In the first few decades of settlement, however, the Barbadian labor force primarily consisted of white indentured servants, convicts, and “barbadosed” or kidnapped workers from Scotland, Ireland, and England. Barbadian settlers used this mixed labor force to cultivate cash crops such as tobacco, cotton, and indigo on small to medium-sized landholdings, but they struggled to find a successful export. In addition, labor conditions were extreme and oppressive, and indentured servants protested their treatment on the island through riots in 1634 and 1649.

The colony of Barbados continued to struggle financially until the 1640s, when the Portuguese expelled Dutch traders and Sephardic Jews from northern Brazil during a civil war. These settlers turned to English West Indian colonies for new trade markets. They particularly looked to Barbados to cultivate sugar for the booming European market, and to encourage a consumer base for their connections to the trans-Atlantic slave trade in West and Central Africa. As the easternmost Caribbean island in the Lesser Antilles, Barbados was ideally situated to become a port for European trade, and an entryway into American trade systems. European sugar consumption also grew tremendously in the eighteenth century. New Barbadian sugar planters as well as traders became immensely wealthy. The Sugar Revolution transformed Barbados from a colony of small landholdings to an entirely deforested island, covered in plantations worked by enslaved Africans and owned by a handful of elites.

68. Minister of Labour Colin Jordan has called on Barbadians to confront “pervasive and systemic” racism, which he said still exists in Barbados.

During debate on a Private Members’ resolution on Black Lives Matter in the House of Assembly yesterday, Jordan said he would not be silent on the issue.

“Today at this time I believe that we have come to a pivotal place in our history where we have to say we are duty-bound; we are bound by our own morality and ethics to say that enough is enough. Racism must be debunked as a theory and it must be dismantled,” the St Peter MP said.

In a debate in which much attention was directed at the call for the removal of Lord Nelson’s statue from National Heroes Square, Jordan also called for the erection of a Speightstown monument in honour of Cuffy, a slave rebellion leader from St Peter, “to represent the struggle of black people in this country against racism in all its forms and against slavery in all its forms”. (GC)

69. @ David I am cognisant of your ownership of BU but it is my opinion that Bajan White supremacists should be banned from BU. Their vile anti black vitriol is offensive.

• @Hants

It will take a long time to eliminate if not reduce the scourge of racism and bigotry so long as humankind exists. The best approach it to allow it to be exposed so that the excoriation can be applied with precision. It is a process of recalibrating the establishment through education. Cussing ranting and raving will not do it. Discrete action must be the order of the day.

70. Massive Attack
    The internet is policed by NSA GCHQ Mossad and #BLACKLIVESMATTER and #REPARATIONS and #BLACKJESUS are deemed a clear and present danger and threat to their shenanigans and corrupted games and anyone who is too black too radical too strong will be blacKKKlisted.
    Trump and Johnson falsely claim people hate them because they won leadership in AmeriKKKa and United KKKingdom, but people say they hate them for their racism and they should know why they hate them.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PLvFCRzL79Y

71. @ The Fibbing Cry-baby June 23, 2020 12:06 PM
    “A Wise Man Never Knows All, Only Fools Know Everything! African Proverb!”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Is that how you are trying to get back at the miller for exposing you to be a liar and a fraud?

As a “confessed” Christian shouldn’t you be sticking to your only book of Truth and moral direction?

Why this constant reference to ‘African culture’ which you deem as inferior to the ways of your whitewashed Christianity?

So which comes first?
    The African proverb or your biblical equivalent in the following passage:

“The way of a fool is right in his own eyes: but he that hearkens unto counsel is wise.” ~ Proverbs 12:15,

Who copied what from whom?

What next are you going to plagiarize? The spells of West African Obeah practices and call them blessings of New Age witchcraft from the Vatican?

For you to claim that ‘white’ Irish and Scottish poor women were used as breeding machines to produce mulatto babies through the black male slaves is a clear example of your unashamedly despicable attempts to distort history.

Is this the reason you proffer for having so many Irish and Scottish names in the Bajan telephone directory?

Which white slave owner would have allowed his white women of any social class or religious persuasion to be deflowered and despoiled by African male slaves to produce malleable brown-skin slaves when he and his heirs and white male servants could have done a similar job by raping the young black slave women and keeping the ‘sweet juicy’ fruits as bed wenches?

Those rapaciously randy white blokes could have always claimed (and seek forgiveness from the Church) that they were just following your Yahweh’s orders as instructed in your good book on moral guidance.

“They fought against Midian, as the LORD commanded Moses, and killed every man……..Now kill all the boys [innocent kids]. And kill every woman who has slept with a man, but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man. (Numbers 31:7,17-18)”

72. @FC and company
    The one thing that amazes me is how an individual can come before a a large group of people and say
    “You all don’t know what is going on; you all don’t know who to vote for; you all don’t know who is your ‘enemy’; you all don’t understand what you read; but you all are lucky; I am here to tell you how you are murdering each other, about abortions, imprisonment; who to vote for and explain some of what you read. You all don’t have to think. I will do the thinking for you.”

These self appointed leaders or messengers don’t recognize their own ignorance and insolence; don’t realized that they they are acting as new racist plantation owner with all of the answers the darkies need. If they were not so ignorant and arrogant, they would realize how odious and racist their own behavior is.

Have a great day Barbados.

73. 8:40 a.m. Started to sweat like a pig and had to turn on the ac.
    Hope you have a better day than how my day started.
    Have a great day Barbados,
    Think for yourself.

74. Yeah! And if anyone ever ask you the question
    “Who is the number one set and sound?”
    You will quickly reply “Boogie Down Productions”
    And if they have any questions on what you are talking about
    Please play them this album
    Yes yes, let me say one thing
    “There is human education against lies
    shirts out there that is the movement that is the movement that is putting this on
    The stuff they are protesting about
    is of course what you are not hearing about
    It’s called Jesus was an African
    Noah was an African
    Abraham was an African
    All these people were Africans
    And you must rise up on that”
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2-jQ4xSaE7M

75. I tend to scroll on by, TheO. I only catch what I can’t help from seeing as I pass.

Money on the Brain, Johnny ma Boy, Looney Tunes have nothing good in mind for us.

They are enjoying the status quo too much.

76. @Donna
    On the Grenville matter.

When his numbers were not adding up, I could let that pass as there would be others to assist when/if it really mattered.

When it was biblical stuff, it was way over my head and I was not interested. I was content to let that pass as well
    But now he has gone down and avenue where I have an opinion which is different from his. I had to speak up.

Here are some quotes for him and that I should also try to remember
    Jack of all trades and master of none
    A little knowledge is a dangerous thing’
    Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance.
    Real knowledge is to know the extent of one’s ignorance.

Saw this as I was scrolling:
    It is better to have but little knowledge with humility and understanding, than great learning which might make you proud. For a person’s merits are not to be estimated by having many visions, or by knowledge of the bible, or by being placed in a higher position; but by being grounded in true humility, and by seeking always, purely, and entirely, the honor of God.
    Thomas a Kempis

77. Better start seriously preparing to get rid of all those stinking racists/minorities out of your parliament/legislature in Barbados, out of your treasury and pension fund to effect the necessary changes and if they do not comply, chase them all off the island and that includes the toxic and evil Syrian Cartel, the majority population have the numbers to do this and they cannot fight back, there is not enuff of them..nor enuff sell out leaders to stop you…

“(WINSTON-SALEM, N.C.) — Three members of a North Carolina police department have been fired after a department audit of a video recording captured one of the officers saying a civil war was necessary to wipe Black people off the map and that he was ready.”

78. Re …Miller June 24, 2020 8:29 AM “Why this constant reference to ‘African culture’… So which comes first? The African proverb or your biblical …?”

People who read do not always understand what they read it happens to me all the time I have to read it many times to get the meaning, language is imperfect and to convey meaning through words does not do the job adequately. GOD SPEAKS TO ALL MEN AND AS THEY LEARN PEOPLE OF ALL RACES AND CULTURES CREATE SIMPLE SAYINGS TO EXPLAIN THEIR WISDOM. So the African sayings can have merit and whatever is good or virtuous can be for the befit of all mankind. Not all saying however in the same culture have equal weight as not so good people try to sow discord. Therefore, I will use wisdom wherever I find it whither in the bible in proverbs or African proverbs.

Re “What next are you going to plagiarize? The spells of West African Obeah practices and call them blessings of New Age witchcraft from the Vatican?”

QUOTING SOMEONE IS NOT PLAGIARISMS IT IS ONLY IF YOU CLAIM THAT YOU SAID IT. I did not write history, it is history. I did not Distort History; Freedom offered videos to show by Historian and Excerpts from historian as to what occurred. IT IS YOU, WHO DOES NOT LIKE WHAT WAS SAID, SO YOU ACCUSE OTHERS OF SOMETHING OR ANYTHING TO FIT YOUR NARRATIVE.

https://emilysquotes.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/EmilysQuotes.Com-pride-wisdom-intelligence-African-proverb-consequences.jpg

79. Freedom does not preach race, I do not advocate race why would I advocate any race supremacy when I pray the Lord ’s Prayer which starts with OUR father. FREEDOM TRIES TO SHOW PEOPLE THAT RACE DO NOT MATTER. I did not make my skin colour neither did you make yours. All the IQ tests in the world do not show any real differences on IQ scores so who is preaching supremac?

Freedom have met Black people brighter than me, more intelligent than me and the same for Indians, Whites and I will presume other people. Please read what I say and not what others say about me as I have been called Drug Runner, Arms Runner, Racist, Hater, Blob, Anti-Black, threatened with a mob of Bajans coming for me ETC. I seek to inform the BU readers not how to vote but how to think for yourself and then vote or choose where the choice is yours not what others tell you to say or do. “Seek and you will find, Knock and the door will be open to you” But you have to seek!

I DO NOT WORRY WHAT THEY CALL ME I WORRY ABOUT THE DECEPTION THAT ABOUNDS. The people killed Jesus, who am I? What do you think they will do to me? Do you think they will erect a stute in my honour? IF YOU KNOW THE ANSWER WHY DO YOU THINK, I WOULD PUT MYSELF IN DANGER FROM THE BU MOB IF NOT TO SHOW PEOPLE HOW TO ENLIGHTEN THEMSELVES BY QUESTIONING AND SEEKING AND NOT BELIEVING THE DECEPTION THAT ABOUNDS.

When Freedom comes on BU, it is for the readers as I try to explain for each man to learn how to think for themselves, to open their eyes and not to be woke but to be awake. The woke crowd wants you to follow what they say, the awake crowd want you to think for yourself and come to your own conclusion without the propaganda clouding your thoughts, whatever that conclusion is.

As for the colour of God I do not know what colour he was or is now but even God does not want that to be an issue. God has the commandments and in them He said Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth. Thou shalt not bow down thyself to them, nor serve them: Some people make what they think is a likeness of Jesus, I have seen images of a Black Jesus a White Jesus a Mix race Jesus. A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WILL STILL BE A ROSE, WE HAPPEN TO CALL IT A ROSE SO THAT WE ALL MIGHT KNOW WHAT WE ARE TALKING ABOUT.

Re • TheOgazerts June 24, 2020 8:35 AM

https://netstorage-tuko.akamaized.net/images/0fgjhs44uaieapls1.jpg?imwidth=1200&impolicy=default-amp

80. Black progress, black enterprise..

https://thegrio.com/2020/06/26/robert-hartwell-buys-slave-house/

“Broadway star Robert Hartwell has purchased a historic home built by slaves that he intends to “fill with love.”

The actor turned entrepreneur shared the exciting news with his followers on Instagram, noting that he bought the house after stumbling upon it while perusing the Internet.

“3 weeks ago I found this house online. I said “this is my house”. I called the seller and was told it was a cash only offer and that “I’m sure that takes you off the table”. Don’t you ever underestimate a hard working black man,” he captioned a photo on Instagram of himself standing in front of his new property. He did not disclose the location of the home.”

Leave a comment, join the discussion.