Submitted by Nathan ‘Jolly’ Green

We have all heard of the saying “history always repeats itself.” Well the COVID 19 virus is a pandemic, just like the Spanish Flu of 1918 was a pandemic.

sick bedsLike today, in Britain, temporary hospitals were equipped; every bed in the picture has someone in it. Many in the country wore face masks, and social distancing was observed. But like today there were the unbelievers, who thought it was all a hoax, and they would never get ill, least of all die. But they could, and they did, they died by the millions.

The Spanish Flu lasted about 36months, and during that time, 500 million fell ill in the world, and between 50 to 100 million died. All those who were going to die, all those who could die, died. There were no more whom it could kill. Fit people had probably developed herd immunity, over a 3 to 5 year period. There was one significant difference between this and the Corona Virus, it killed the elderly and weak first, but it also killed people of all other ages. Some stragglers were ill for several years after that. But the susceptible had died, the old, the sick, the infirm, they all died. The fit eventually stopped being ill from it and it ultimately fizzled out. Like today there were no known potions, medicines, or vaccines.

At the time, Churches were locked down, all places where people gathered were closed, assembly was banned, and stay at home periods observed, even curfews enforced.

When the Spanish Flu first appeared in the U.S. in early March 1918, it had all the hallmarks of the seasonal Flu, albeit a highly contagious and virulent strain. One of the first registered cases was Albert Gitchell, a U.S. Army cook at Camp Funston in Kansas, who was hospitalized with a 104-degree fever. The virus spread quickly through the Army installation, home to 54,000 troops. By the end of the month, 1,100 soldiers had been hospitalized, and 38 [3%] had died after developing pneumonia.

As U.S. troops deployed en masse for the war effort in Europe [WW1], they carried the Spanish Flu with them. Throughout April and May of 1918, the virus spread like wildfire through England, France, Spain and Italy. An estimated three-quarters of the French military was infected in the spring of 1918 and as many as half of British troops. Yet the first wave of the virus didn’t appear to be particularly deadly, with symptoms like high fever and malaise usually lasting only three days. According to limited public health data from the time, mortality rates were similar to seasonal Flu.

The death rate was about 3%, the same as today’s COVID 19. People in those days died a lot easier, and they considered 3% pretty acceptable and in-line with most other infectious disease mortality rates.

Reported cases of Spanish Flu dropped off over the summer of 1918, and there was hope at the beginning of August that the virus had run its course. People were fed up with being locked down and could not wait to get out, down to the pub, down to the chip shop. So by mid-summer, thinking it was all but over the people flocked everywhere, like never before.

What they did not know was viruses tend to come in waves, there was a second wave of infection following closely on the heels of the first infection. About 3.5 million people had been killed worldwide with the first strike by the virus, but it was only the calm before the storm. Somewhere in Europe, a mutated strain of the Spanish flu virus had emerged that had the power to kill a perfectly healthy young man or woman within 24 hours of showing the first signs of infection.

In late August 1918, military ships departed the English port city of Plymouth carrying troops unknowingly infected with this new, far deadlier strain of Spanish Flu. As these ships arrived in towns and cities like Brest in France, Boston in the United States, and Freetown in West Africa, the second wave of the global pandemic began. This second wave went on to kill 10-20% of those inflicted, and now a further 45 to 100 million were to die, and die they did.

From September through November of 1918, the death rate from the Spanish Flu skyrocketed. In the United States alone, 195,000 Americans died from the Spanish Flu in just a month of October 1918. The first wave of the virus had killed all the worlds’ old folk and those with pre-existing illnesses. This newly mutated strain killed anyone, any age, it was unstoppable. Then it got even worse, if that was possible, a massive spike in the middle of the second wave composed of otherwise healthy 25- to 35-year-olds in the prime of their life. They died like flies; no family was spared.

Not only was it shocking that healthy young men and women were dying by the millions worldwide, but it was also how they were dying. Struck with blistering fevers, nasal haemorrhaging, and pneumonia, the patients would drown in their fluid-filled lungs.

If that sounds familiar, it should. Because those dying with COVID 19 also drown on the fluid in their lungs produced by pneumonia.

What we should all fear is when they blow the whistle and call the all-clear, tell us it’s OK to go out again, that a second wave will come and catch us all unawares. Because there is a great probability of that happening, virus pandemics tend to behave like that.

For those of you that have failed to grasp why you have all been asked to use social distancing, to wear face masks, voluntary and forced self and family isolation. It’s not because they are trying to stop the illness and stop the prevailing deaths, because that is impossible.

It’s much more straightforward than that. If we all go out and about and we all get ill at the same time, they would never be able to control the rate of which we fall sick and the rate that some of us die. We will all be ill at the same time. They have to slow it down so as hospitals, funeral parlors, and undertakers can cope. If we all get sick at once, the whole system will collapse, and we will all end up dying in our beds, in the street, park benches, everywhere.

As for all the silly people who think if they go out and get the virus will then get better and will, from then on, have immunity from the disease for the future. Well, I am sorry to inform you it does not quite work like that.

Some of you will get well again, some will fully recover, but those that rapidly die will not ever get the immunity because they will be dead.

For me, when they blow the whistle and call the all clear, I am staying under lockdown. I will watch what happens first for a few weeks. Those of you that cannot wait to get out and risk becoming ill and dying, farewell, have an awesome trip.

For anyone over 60, pray that they will produce an effective vaccine by the years’ end as promised. Or they find an existing chemical antiviral drug that works on COVID 19. If they do not, it may be lockdown for some time to come.

For those of you who think I have overstated the case, take a look at this article.

https://www.history.com/news/spanish-flu-second-wave-resurgence

276 responses to “A Cautionary Tale: Understanding the Second and Perhaps the Third Wave”

1. Professor Lockdown of Imperial College whose model had deaths in the UK projected to be 500K and the US at 2.2 million has resigned.

He was caught breaking his own social distancing guidelines making a little nookey with his married lover.

https://www.dailymercury.com.au/news/scientist-breaks-lockdown-with-lover/4009709/

2. So who is Antonia Staats, the 38 year lover of Professor Lockdown?

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/11559162/who-is-antonia-staats-husband/

3. @ Quaker John

She is a statistic.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

seems this epidemiologist thinks the death count is low?
    https://www.theglobeandmail.com/canada/article-canada-lagging-behind-other-countries-in-releasing-real-time-mortality/

“Death data from other countries, notably the United States and Britain, suggest the total number of COVID-19-related fatalities far exceeds what the official counts show. Overall mortality in many U.S. cities, for instance, is far higher compared with last year, which experts say points to the fact not all COVID-19 fatalities are being tracked. There are also likely additional deaths owing to causes indirectly related to the coronavirus, experts say”

5. NorthernObserver
    May 6, 2020 6:14 PM

Look at the recovery rate, Recovered / Total Cases X 100.

For Canada it is about 50%, 27,816 / 63,496 X 100

For the US, it is less than 20%, 206,208 / 1,262,201 X 100

So what the numbers seem to say is that Canada is twice as good as the US in treating the sick.

Germany is crazy, more than 80%, 137,696 / 168,672 X 100.!!

What you will find is that this year in the US will be a good year for the Flu and Pneumonia, few deaths, but terrible for COVID-19.

The numbers are a joke.

When you can hear the Governor of New York only now talking about disinfecting subway cars you know there is an act being played out.

It is all about money!!

6. NorthernObserver
    May 6, 2020 6:14 PM

seems this epidemiologist thinks the death count is low?

Check the funeral directors!!

Seems it is greatly over inflated.

https://tennesseestar.com/2020/05/01/new-york-funeral-home-directors-claim-covid-19-is-put-on-death-certificates-without-confirmed-results/

7. Interesting

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

There are many shocking things about this pandemic but one of the most troubling is the mad rush to embrace counter-intuitive reasoning … and I go back to the banning of Bajan beaches in that regard based on ‘ANOTHER startling’ (with deep sarcasm) discovery by the experts…. Don’t misunderstand that t don’t respect the hard science from the doctors and researchers but it’s simply that sometimes the pronouncements seemed to fly in the face of historical evidence and good old fashioned hard earned experience.

So now we are being told that “Health experts say people are significantly less likely to get the coronavirus while outside.” They are not saying it’s “completely safe” because you must surely maintain the social distancing protocols but what had always seemed so realistic and obvious is that they are: “… increasingly confident in evidence showing that the coronavirus spreads much more readily indoors than outdoors…”. DUH!

In Bim with our heat aggressively affecting the ‘half-life’ of the virus outside its host I just dd NOT understand the long term logic of closing the beaches and now just opening them for 3 hours.

Of course people cant be ‘up in each other’ or do Spring break parties but being in the park and on the beach is where we need to be to exercise, feel more relaxed and build our ‘energy’ to block this virus from our systems.

Did we really need an expert to opine as Tom Frieden, the former director of the CDC in US did that we should “Enjoy nature [because] it’s good for us, and it has very low risk of spreading the virus.”

Free up the beaches and let NCC do their jobs, please… we have enough stress and long term problems as it is without that!

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

the numbers are a joke.

I agree.

10. Interesting article on the scientist leading the search for a vaccine for COVID19

Halfway through the school year, Myrtis Bradsher found herself paying close attention to a little girl called Kizzy. She always looked sharp, with ribbons knotted to her ponytails and socks that matched every outfit. But it was the way she rushed to help other fourth-graders with classwork that really stood out. “She had so much knowledge,” the teacher recalled. “She knew something about everything.”

https://www.washingtonpost.com/climate-environment/2020/05/06/kizzmekia-corbett-vaccine-coronavirus/

11. ” No one asked Corbett — whom Collins had just described as a “wonderfully talented young scientist in our midst,” as well as the only woman and black person at the table — a single thing.”

https://www.nbcnews.com/news/nbcblk/scientist-kizzmekia-corbett-leads-way-covid-19-vaccine-trials-dedication-n1181626

12. @Hants

No questions were asked of this woman for three obvious popular explanations: first, she was a black woman and, by definition, black women can sing and dance, but know nothing about science; two, you must not underestimate the deep seated racism in the media, I know I worked with the buggers; and three, consumers (the public) do not like important knowledge being conveyed to them by black people. Talk to some black teachers and university dons in the UK.
    It is OK having the occasion Obama, that can be treated as light relief, but if it happens too often it must be stopped.
    Just ask Trump.

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Northern, are the numbers really that much of a joke… or is it that the media accept garbage in and push garbage out!

1.NY is a drastically different world than all others (based on @John numbers above and practically) .. So is consideration being given to the fact that that state has been one of the most aggressive with testing? I am not aware that Canada has been the same.

2.If we capture NY as part of the entire US including states like Georgia and Wisconsin or Ohio were much less testing has been done I suspect the relational comparisons will be much different… and the context of what is the ‘recovery rate’.

3.If we look at the US numbers based on population for example the lament that Blue states are more virus challenged that Red states is actually turned on its head as Baum in the WP noted back on March 25 (so-far-coronavirus-is-heavily-blue-state-issue-thats-likely-change/). Then he noted as a summary to his article that:

“At one point earlier this month, Ohio’s leading public health authority estimated at least 1 percent of the state might have been infected. The genesis of that claim wasn’t clear, but it makes clear the problem: Fewer tests mean fewer confirmed cases and an understatement of the pervasiveness of the problem. […] Might that be one of the drivers of partisan divide, a failure of some states to understand the breadth of the problem? New York has been testing aggressively and found a lot of cases. What if other states did the same?”

“The data over the past week do not seem to support the idea that increases are only a function of surges in testing. The states with the biggest increase in cases aren’t necessarily those that ramped up their testing the most. […] What’s important is that the number of cases has increased significantly across the board. In states that voted for Clinton in 2016, which make up three-quarters of known cases, the number of new confirmed cases from March 17 to March 24 increased by an average of 530 percent.[…] In red states, the average increase was 860 percent.

Never knew who said it but I always heard the phrase: “… lies, damned lies, and statistics.” …. Stats today can still be used to bamboozle as ever!

14. @Hal,

the politics of science. like you were trying to explain to Robert Lucas. you know Hal i felt blessed to have been educated and to have grown up Barbados. so that when i went to the UK and faced overt racism i knew i could withstand it. i was fortified in knowledge and self belief.

i used to be a team leader and white people seeking advice would at meetings look at and address their issues to my white team members who would then turn to me and say boss. it always nice to look at faces of those seeking advice. that is what we have to put up with

and having lived among other races i can say without fear of contradiction they are full of shite- just like anyone else.

but there are no better bull shiters than the English white man. they are good at it. v good. they have it down to a fine art

15. No questions were asked of this woman for three obvious popular explanations: first, she was a black woman and, by definition, black women can sing and dance, but know nothing about science; two, you must not underestimate the deep seated racism in the media, I know I worked with the buggers; and three, consumers (the public) do not like important knowledge being conveyed to them by black people. Talk to some black teachers and university dons in the UK. It is OK having the occasion Obama, that can be treated as light relief, but if it happens too often it must be stopped.

@ Hal . Absolutely true. You know what you are talking about.

but there are no better bull shiters than the English white man. they are good at it. v good. they have it down to a fine art
    This made me almost spill my coffee. Again, right on the money.

16. @ Dullard

I know exactly what you mean. Our political and business leaders do not understand the nuances of English speak. They think they do.

17. @ Greene

You missed out something: if you assert yourself they say you are aggressive or obstinate. I know exactly what you are talking about. I was once the editorial representative on the team re-negotiating our editorial legal insurance.
    The team was headed by one of the top lawyers from head office. I am not a lawyer, and my involvement was purely journalistic, but it was interesting looking at her face and that of the man from AIG. After the meeting, the lawyer sent out a ‘thank you’ email addressed to the team. I was copied in as an after thought.

18. Listen to Pierre Kory, M.D., M.P.A.,Critical Care Service Chief,Associate Professor of Medicine
    University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

Dr Kory starts speaking at around the 49 minute mark in a Homeland Security teleconference (link below) with a US Senator and various medical doctors involved in treating Covud-19 patients. He states in the video that he and a group of doctors he works with came up with a protocol for treating even severely ill Covid-19 patients and the mortality rate using this protocol dropped precipitously once it started to be applied. He says he has contacted the White House several times urging them pass on the information about this protocol to various medical agencies etc. but although Kushner was very receptive on hearing about this successful approach nothing seems to ever come of the discussion. However, this type of treatment is being successfully used in various parts of the world. The protocol involves treatment with steroids and Ascorbic Acid, i.e. Vitamin C. He says Vitamin C is a critical part of the successful treatment protocol and works synergisticaly with the steroid medication to dramatically reduce inflammation. He says patients that they were ready to have an “end of life talk” with were able to get up and walk out of the hospital a few days later once this treatment protocol was applied.

Video Here (Dr Kory’s presentation starts at 49min in, Vitamin C is mentioned around 59min mark):
    https://www.hsgac.senate.gov/covid-19-how-new-information-should-drive-policy?fbclid=IwAR2HZLtta3T4PTWlUupjEs9TsrVjU8HsYAyhf6TRYolaOr5v95J4mL9YRVA

Dr. Kory and his associates Covid-19 treatment protocol here:
    covid19criticalcare(DOT)com/treatment-protocol/

Of course if successful treatments for Covid-19 are found to exist, it would probably dramatically reduce the demand for Psycho Bill Gates’ DNA altering experimental vaccine therapies (with tracking nanobots included at no extra charge). Not that I am saying there is a conspiracy by the CDC, WHO etc. to favour Psycho Bill’s “lets vaccine the whole world” approach over simple and effective cures.

19. Freedom Crier Avatar

RE…GreenMonkey May 7, 2020 11:55 AM “Of course if successful treatments for Covid-19 are found to exist, it would probably dramatically reduce the demand for Psycho Bill Gates’ DNA altering experimental vaccine therapies (with tracking nanobots included at no extra charge). Not that I am saying there is a conspiracy by the CDC, WHO etc. to favour Psycho Bill’s “lets vaccine the whole world” approach over simple and effective cures.”

@ Greenmomkey… It’s sad but even intelligent people have been transformed psychologically to live by their feelings, so they no longer live by logic, truth, and critical thinking…Freedom believes that you are a Critical Thinker!

THE BILLY G COVID VACCINE WILL REPROGRAM OUR DNA TO A NON-HUMAN CONSTRUCT.

Billy G Wong’s Vaccine is like on no other that they have ever Created before this one has in RNA which when administered will seek to rewrite the DNA Code of a Human being. We will become something other than a human being and the first people that they administer this to they have to Pledge not to have Sex, because they don’t want you to see what the Offspring would look like. That is why this Push is mandating people to take the Vaccine, that is no choice in the matter…Seven Billion people in the world according to Billy Wong. And Guess who has Shares in those Major Vaccine Companies? Do We Want Our DNA Altered?

20. Hal Austin
    May 7, 2020 9:30 AM

It is OK having the occasion Obama, that can be treated as light relief, but if it happens too often it must be stopped.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Joe Biden (a white Democrat) built Obama up when he said, “I mean, you got the first mainstream African-American who is articulate and bright and clean and a nice-looking guy,” Biden said. “I mean, that’s a storybook, man.”

… but, Al Sharpton a black man and one of the Justice Brothers took great exception to Obama.

21. @de pedantic Dribbler May 7, 2020 12:48 AM “So now we are being told that “Health experts say people are significantly less likely to get the coronavirus while outside.” They are not saying it’s “completely safe” because you must surely maintain the social distancing protocols but what had always seemed so realistic and obvious is that they are: “… increasingly confident in evidence showing that the coronavirus spreads much more readily indoors than outdoors…”. DUH!”

DUH!! indeed.

I lived in the great white north for more than ten years. I was young then and presumably “healthier” then than I am now decades later. I got colds and flu much more frequently then. One is bound to get more colds and flu when shut up in buildings, buses and trains breathing stale-ish bacteria and virus laden air with all kinds of people. In Barbados, from January to December I rarely entirely close my windows. Except for when there is heavy rainfall the windows are open to their maximum 24-7. I don’t mind heat, in fact i like heat, so even when I owned an air conditioned car in Barbados I did not always use the ac. I like warmth. I like Barbados’ fresh Atlantic breezes. Even though I am old I haven’t had the flu since 2012. I had a “fresh cold” in January, a runny nose for a day or two, nothing else. Took a little Buckley’s, [It wasn’t bad enough for ceresee.] chased it away.

So I doubt that it is a black people are more resilient thing. It may well be that those of us, black, white, and multi-ethnic, who live near to the equator have excellent access year round to better air, and more health enhancing vitimin D year round. It maybe that living near the equator is the optimum thing for human beings. After all human beings evolved near to the equator and first lived there for millions or hundreds of thousands of years. Even the Bible agrees with the equatorial origins of humanity. After all weren’t Adam and Eve naked. Has anybody tried walking naked in London, or New York or Toronto for much of the year?

I however haven’t forgotten hurricanes which too like to bother us who live in equatorial regions.

Yes indeed, I am genuinely afraid of hurricanes.

22. @John May 6, 2020 4:30 PM “Professor Lockdown of Imperial College whose model had deaths in the UK projected to be 500K and the US at 2.2 million has resigned. He was caught breaking his own social distancing guidelines making a little nookey with his married lover.”

Adam the first man, Solomon the wisest man, Sampson the strongest man all refused to practice social distancing when required to do so. Now this professor too? Cheese-on-bread. What is it about men and nookie? I don’t understand.

Educate me.

23. Quaker John

Jesse Jackson also took opposition to Obama. It was a case of historic black Americans opposing a first generation black man.

24. John;

In an Island that is replete with closet racist whites and wannabee racist whites you have now amply demonstrated that you are arguably the greatest of them all.

Nasty fuh days!

25. Hal Austin
    May 7, 2020 1:46 PM

Quaker John
    Jesse Jackson also took opposition to Obama. It was a case of historic black Americans opposing a first generation black man.

The problem the justice brothers had with Obama was factual, he did not have a lineage affected by slavery like them.

His father was African!!

They considered themselves authentic African Americans.

They considered Obama an interloper.

In short, the two of them were the same racist bigots they claimed everybody else was.

They are hypocrites.

26. Turns out 66% of people who were in lock down in New York ended up in hospital with COVID-19!!

Lockdown did not work!!

Its purpose was to prevent the overwhelming of the Hospital system.

Turns out they would have been better off outside in the sun!!

27. If you all would listen to Rush you would not be as ignorant as you are!!

28. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Re “Jesse Jackson also took opposition to Obama. It was a case of historic black Americans opposing a first generation black man.”

That’s a very genteel way of framing that.

He also did what they couldn’t do and that infuriated many of their lineage… Nothing fundamentally strange about envy and or the ‘luck of the draw’ so to speak and the angst it evokes.

@John, you were called out by @LyallS so I’ll only add this…

What u call bigotted I call the expected envy between brothers… and hypocrisy is NOT unique to this POTUS if that is what u are actually trying to say 🤔… Yes it’s exists with all pols.

The bottom line difference between brothers who disagree and your quite dyed-in- wool version of distaste written on these pages is that Jackson, Sharpton and all such like put aside envy and differences and worked diligently to elect Obama.

Your folks have done everything possible since then it seems to erase all mention of the first Black president.

29. Its too simplistic to write that Jesse Jackson et al opposed Obama because he wasn’t descended from slaves. They opposed him because they were all in with Hilary, they knew the Clintons and felt that they owed Bill and they also thought that Obama hadn’t earned his stripes and that he should “wait his turn”.

The “wait your turn” was an echo of his run for Congress where as an Illinois State Senator he ran against local Black activist Bobby Rush in Chicago and got trounced.

Incidentally Rush is still a member of Congress

30. Regardless of colour, Obama was a disaster for America.

31. Jimmy Carter was a disaster for America too!!

… regardless of his colour.

Performance not colour counts so if Obama’s “legacy” is swept away it won’t be because of his colour.

32. @John

What is this blog principally about?

33. @ Sargeant

There are also unintended consequences. Do you remember the CNN so-called debate between Sista Souljah and Bill Clinton during the 1992 campaign, in which Clinton used the debate to send a message from the New Democrats and his ‘Third Way’ to black America. On his , which election he introduced the three strikes policy which led to the over-representation of black people, in fact an overload. Tony Blair later took up his New Labour and Third Way nonsense from the Clintons.
    The support for Clinton – how many remember the idiocy of Toni Morrison calling Clinton the first black president – also lent cover to the Clintons to make racist attacks on Obama during the campaign. In fact, Bill excelled in his attacks.
    But as a southerner and former attorney general, he was playing an old tune. Obama was too dignified with the Clinton, even appointing her as Secretary of State.
    Do you remember the Haitian earthquake when David Thompson wanted to visit Port au Prince and Hilary Clinton banned him from attending. She opted instead to meet a few CARICOM leaders in Jamaica. In the meantime, she took Chelsea to Haiti.
    The battle between Hilary and Trump has led to the worst political leader since|Hitler; but may voters just decided anyone but Hilary. The Clintons deserve each other. Note Hilary’s attacks, unprovoked, on Bernie Sanders. They are not nice people.
    The argument about Obama is till ongoing with low level arguments about Africans and Caribbeans. It is a little ethnic civil war.

34. “What is this blog principally about?”

A rabbit does not respect boundaries. It digs a hole wherever it wants.

Hi Grasshopper

35. Blacks in Britain are four times as likely to die of coronavirus as whites:

We knew this to be the case in the US, now information has surfaced that the situation is the same in Britain and France. Incidentally in Canada the MOH is belatedly gathering statistics.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/europe/blacks-in-britain-are-four-times-as-likely-to-die-of-coronavirus-as-whites-data-show/2020/05/07/2dc76710-9067-11ea-9322-a29e75effc93_story.html

36. Sargeant
    May 7, 2020 7:22 PM

Blacks in Britain are four times as likely to die of coronavirus as whites:
    We knew this to be the case in the US, now information has surfaced that the situation is the same in Britain and France. Incidentally in Canada the MOH is belatedly gathering statistics.
    https://www.washingtonpost.com/world/europe/blacks-in-britain-are-four-times-as-likely-to-die-of-coronavirus-as-whites-data-show/2020/05/07/2dc76710-9067-11ea-9322-a29e75effc93_story.html

Co-morbidity

37. David
    May 7, 2020 5:21 PM

What is this blog principally about?

++++++++++++++++++++++

Not Obama!!!

Who the fcuk introduced Obama?

38. JOHN
    THE PURPOSE OF THIS BLOG IS TO SHOW THAT IT WAS TRUMP’S FAULT THAT 5000 FOLK DIED IN NY BECAUSE THE AUTHORITIES THERE MADE A MESS OF THINGS

THE PURPOSE OF THIS BLOG IS TO SHOW THAT THE FRENCH EXPERT WHO ACHIEVED A 91% SUCCESS RATE IN TREATING COVID19 PATIENTS WITH HYDROXYCHLOROQUINONE

THE PURPOSE OF THIS BLOG IS TO ASK HOW IS IT POSSIBLE FOR A PERSON TO DELIVER TWO GIRL CHILDREN THROUGH HIS URETHRA

39. I guess the longer a discussion goes on for the more likely it is for Obama’s name to crop up – Godwin’s law!!

40. NO JOHN YOU MUST NOT EVER MENTION OBAMAS NAME
    THAT IS LIKE THE UNFORGIVEABLE SIN –BLASPHEMY AGAINST THE HOLY SPIRIT

41. I see you guys are doing the full looney! One of you seems to have examined Michelle Obama’s private parts! I guess we need not ask for an opinion on Barrack’s birth certificate. Maybe you also delivered him! And we all know that he, “Shitbama” is also a sodomist! I guess you were also present during the shit digging!

Boy, this doctor sure gets around!

Physician you really need to heal yourself! And you dare to call us Trump haters????????

You may proceed with the cussing. But I must warn you, you will only be providing me with much mirth.

Lawd have mercy!

42. This one is dedicated to the very stable genius Donald Trump from one of the “nothinarians” (Funny, I was taught that God so loved the world, including me, that He gave his only begotten son etc. But now I am taught by the Bible literate supremo that I am a nothinarian. I stand corrected.

https://youtu.be/Brp8Va8XVQw

I will not follow you guys down a rabbit hole. This song is all that’s needed. And the active cases in the USA today – 998,445.

How far is that from zero? i can’t count so I’ll let the scholars answer.

If you did not see the buffoon say it because FAUX news did not play it or Rush Limbaugh did not mention, it I am sure I can find it on youtube.

Oh hell! You guys will say it’s a deep fake!

43. The blog is dealing with the second and possibly third wave of the covid 19 virus. One would have thought men of learning were capable of adding value to the subject. Two Rh scholars no less!

44. By their fruit ye shall know them! The tale of two scholars.

45. THAT THE FRENCH EXPERT WHO ACHIEVED A 91% SUCCESS RATE IN TREATING COVID19 PATIENTS WITH HYDROXYCHLOROQUINONE is a fact! AND RELEVANT AND ACCURATELY STATED BY A SCHOLAR IN PHARMACOLOGY. THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED

IT IS A FACT THAT THE NY AUTHORITIES MESSED UP REAL BAD THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED as stated BY A SCHOLAR IN PUBLIC HEALTH

I MAKE NO APOLOGY FOR MAKING COMPARISON OR MENTION TO THE UNFORGIVEABLE SIN

I ALSO KNOW THAT BABIES DO NOT COME VIA THE URETHRA
    THIS IS STATED BY A SCHOLAR IN OBSTETRICS AND GYNAECOLOGY

I HAVE ADDED TO THE BLOG IN THE SAME WAY THAT THE ILLITERATI ADD TO THE BLOG
    I WAS JUST SEEKING TO JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, LIKE EVERY BODY ELSE CAUSE YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

OTHER FOLK ARE NOT ATTACKED WHEN THEY EFFLUX USING THEIR METAPLASTIC BETZ CELLS

IF ONE PRACTICES BAD PUBLIC HEALTH POLICIES AND FAIL TO USE THE TREATMENT MODALITIES THAT HAVE BEEN FOUND TO BE 91% SUCESSFUL dealing with the second and possibly third wave of the covid 19 virus. WILL NOT BE VERY SUCESSFUL uh lie ? this is sound doctrine that can not be refuted

46. — and luckily, there is no Obama to screw up if there is a second and third wave!!

47. There you have it folks, John the Nostradamus of our times!

48. In one memorable New Testament scene, Jesus’ critics accuse him of being in league with the devil himself. In answering his critics, Jesus refers to something that has troubled Christians ever since: the so-called “unforgivable sin.”

Here are Jesus’ words:

“I promise you that any of the sinful things you say or do can be forgiven, no matter how terrible those things are. But if you speak against the Holy Spirit, you can never be forgiven. That sin will be held against you forever.” — Mark 3:28-29 (CEV)

Different Bible translations word this differently; some use the phrase “eternal sin” or “unforgivable sin.” In some, the sin is to “blaspheme against” or “curse the Holy Spirit.” Whatever the wording, what troubles many readers is the suggestion that there is a type of sin that God will not forgive. Doesn’t this contradict verses like 1 John 1:9, which state that God will forgive all of our wrongdoing? What exactly is the sin that can’t be forgiven—and is it possible that you’ve committed it, even unintentionally?

These are serious questions. For an answer, I turned to author and apologist Lee Strobel’s Investigating Faith newsletter, where earlier this year he published a thoughtful reflection on a difficult Bible passage. Here’s Lee’s response to the question.

What is the unforgivable sin, and how do I know I haven’t committed it?
    “If you’re worried that you may be guilty of the unforgivable sin, you almost certainly are not,” Rick Cornish aptly points out in his book Five Minute Theologian. “Concern about committing it reveals the opposite attitude of what the sin is. Those who might be guilty wouldn’t care because they have no distress or remorse over the possibility.”

Jesus talked about the unforgivable sin in Matthew 12:31-32: “And I tell you, every sin and blasphemy will be forgiven men, but the blasphemy against the Spirit will not be forgiven. Anyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man will be forgiven, but anyone who speaks against the Holy Spirit will not be forgiven, either in this age or in the age to come.”

Let’s face it – that’s a very sobering teaching! But let’s put it into context. Note that Jesus didn’t address his comments to his disciples or a mere crowd. He was talking specifically to Pharisees who had personally witnessed his miracle of completely and instantly healing a blind and mute demon-possessed man (Matthew 12:22). Rather than acknowledging the obvious fact that Jesus was exercising divine powers, the Pharisees were so spiritually depraved that they attributed his power to Satan (v. 24).

“Their problem was not blind ignorance, but willful rejection,” pointed out Cornish. “That deliberate refusal to believe, even though knowing the truth, seems to be what Jesus called the unforgivable sin.”

As the Quest Study Bible puts it, “Jesus gave the solemn warning in these verses to people whose hard-heartedness placed them on the brink of disaster. Blasphemy against the Spirit evidently is not just a one-time offense; rather, it is an ongoing attitude of rebellion – a stubborn way of life that continually resists, rejects and insults the Holy Spirit. This is what makes it, in effect, an eternal sin (Mark 3:29). Blasphemy against the Spirit is not unforgivable because of something done unintentionally in the past, but because of something being done deliberately and unrelentingly in the present.”

So if you’re an authentic Christian, don’t spend time fretting over whether you have accidentally committed this unforgivable offense. “There is no biblical evidence that a genuine Christian can commit this (unforgivable) sin,” says the Apologetics Study Bible. “Fear that one has done so is probably a good sign that one hasn’t, for full-fledged apostasy is a defiant rejection of everything Christian and lacks the tender conscience that would be worried about such an action.” — Lee Strobel

49. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DIW
    joke refers to ‘meaningless without further exploration’.

Look at the big picture numbers
    https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

USA & Canada are almost identical in testing relative to their population. UK and France are not far behind, but seemingly losing ground each day as testing in NA ramps up. Then you look down at Belgium which has much higher relative testing, and yet, higher relative deaths, than almost anywhere. Yes NYC skews much, yet the nearby states are also ‘off the relative map’. Why is California so low? LA has 50%+ of that state’s deaths. And that’s the bluest of blue states, just cuz John likes to compare red and blue states. Canada has a similar east-west difference. Lots of anomalies, far less explanations.