Submitted by Nathan โ€˜Jollyโ€™ Green

We have all heard of the saying โ€œhistory always repeats itself.โ€ Well the COVID 19 virus is a pandemic, just like the Spanish Flu of 1918 was a pandemic.

sick bedsLike today, in Britain, temporary hospitals were equipped; every bed in the picture has someone in it. Many in the country wore face masks, and social distancing was observed. But like today there were the unbelievers, who thought it was all a hoax, and they would never get ill, least of all die. But they could, and they did, they died by the millions.

The Spanish Flu lasted about 36months, and during that time, 500 million fell ill in the world, and between 50 to 100 million died. All those who were going to die, all those who could die, died. There were no more whom it could kill. Fit people had probably developed herd immunity, over a 3 to 5 year period. There was one significant difference between this and the Corona Virus, it killed the elderly and weak first, but it also killed people of all other ages. Some stragglers were ill for several years after that. But the susceptible had died, the old, the sick, the infirm, they all died. The fit eventually stopped being ill from it and it ultimately fizzled out. Like today there were no known potions, medicines, or vaccines.

At the time, Churches were locked down, all places where people gathered were closed, assembly was banned, and stay at home periods observed, even curfews enforced.

When the Spanish Flu first appeared in the U.S. in early March 1918, it had all the hallmarks of the seasonal Flu, albeit a highly contagious and virulent strain. One of the first registered cases was Albert Gitchell, a U.S. Army cook at Camp Funston in Kansas, who was hospitalized with a 104-degree fever. The virus spread quickly through the Army installation, home to 54,000 troops. By the end of the month, 1,100 soldiers had been hospitalized, and 38 [3%] had died after developing pneumonia.

As U.S. troops deployed en masse for the war effort in Europe [WW1], they carried the Spanish Flu with them. Throughout April and May of 1918, the virus spread like wildfire through England, France, Spain and Italy. An estimated three-quarters of the French military was infected in the spring of 1918 and as many as half of British troops. Yet the first wave of the virus didn’t appear to be particularly deadly, with symptoms like high fever and malaise usually lasting only three days. According to limited public health data from the time, mortality rates were similar to seasonal Flu.

The death rate was about 3%, the same as today’s COVID 19. People in those days died a lot easier, and they considered 3% pretty acceptable and in-line with most other infectious disease mortality rates.

Reported cases of Spanish Flu dropped off over the summer of 1918, and there was hope at the beginning of August that the virus had run its course. People were fed up with being locked down and could not wait to get out, down to the pub, down to the chip shop. So by mid-summer, thinking it was all but over the people flocked everywhere, like never before.

What they did not know was viruses tend to come in waves, there was a second wave of infection following closely on the heels of the first infection. About 3.5 million people had been killed worldwide with the first strike by the virus, but it was only the calm before the storm. Somewhere in Europe, a mutated strain of the Spanish flu virus had emerged that had the power to kill a perfectly healthy young man or woman within 24 hours of showing the first signs of infection.

In late August 1918, military ships departed the English port city of Plymouth carrying troops unknowingly infected with this new, far deadlier strain of Spanish Flu. As these ships arrived in towns and cities like Brest in France, Boston in the United States, and Freetown in West Africa, the second wave of the global pandemic began. This second wave went on to kill 10-20% of those inflicted, and now a further 45 to 100 million were to die, and die they did.

From September through November of 1918, the death rate from the Spanish Flu skyrocketed. In the United States alone, 195,000 Americans died from the Spanish Flu in just a month of October 1918. The first wave of the virus had killed all the worlds’ old folk and those with pre-existing illnesses. This newly mutated strain killed anyone, any age, it was unstoppable. Then it got even worse, if that was possible, a massive spike in the middle of the second wave composed of otherwise healthy 25- to 35-year-olds in the prime of their life. They died like flies; no family was spared.

Not only was it shocking that healthy young men and women were dying by the millions worldwide, but it was also how they were dying. Struck with blistering fevers, nasal haemorrhaging, and pneumonia, the patients would drown in their fluid-filled lungs.

If that sounds familiar, it should. Because those dying with COVID 19 also drown on the fluid in their lungs produced by pneumonia.

What we should all fear is when they blow the whistle and call the all-clear, tell us it’s OK to go out again, that a second wave will come and catch us all unawares. Because there is a great probability of that happening, virus pandemics tend to behave like that.

For those of you that have failed to grasp why you have all been asked to use social distancing, to wear face masks, voluntary and forced self and family isolation. It’s not because they are trying to stop the illness and stop the prevailing deaths, because that is impossible.

It’s much more straightforward than that. If we all go out and about and we all get ill at the same time, they would never be able to control the rate of which we fall sick and the rate that some of us die. We will all be ill at the same time. They have to slow it down so as hospitals, funeral parlors, and undertakers can cope. If we all get sick at once, the whole system will collapse, and we will all end up dying in our beds, in the street, park benches, everywhere.

As for all the silly people who think if they go out and get the virus will then get better and will, from then on, have immunity from the disease for the future. Well, I am sorry to inform you it does not quite work like that.

Some of you will get well again, some will fully recover, but those that rapidly die will not ever get the immunity because they will be dead.

For me, when they blow the whistle and call the all clear, I am staying under lockdown. I will watch what happens first for a few weeks. Those of you that cannot wait to get out and risk becoming ill and dying, farewell, have an awesome trip.

For anyone over 60, pray that they will produce an effective vaccine by the yearsโ€™ end as promised. Or they find an existing chemical antiviral drug that works on COVID 19. If they do not, it may be lockdown for some time to come.

For those of you who think I have overstated the case, take a look at this article.

https://www.history.com/news/spanish-flu-second-wave-resurgence

276 responses to “A Cautionary Tale: Understanding the Second and Perhaps the Third Wave”

1. โ€œIn both instances it was mayors and city leaders who encouraged the spreadโ€[quote]
    is this YOUR way of taking POTUS OUT of the equation?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

NOPE,

Trump shut down two vehicles of infection. travel from China at the end of January then travel from Europe in March.

Mayor de Blasio encouraged New Yorkers to join the parades a week after Trump shut down travel from China.

2. He also dismissed the pandemic by referring to it as a hoax.

Steuspe

3. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mariposa, first rule of thumb with logical reasoning…if something apples to two outcomes then you CANNOT cite that something to refute a point of one outcome against the other!

Govt can NO MORE or LESS enforce social distancing on a beach that they can it on the street or a crowded supermarket parking lot…. Thus if they can enforce social rules on the street, the lot or at curfew then there is absolutely no reason they can’t enforce those rules on the beach!

We are NOT talking about a spring break party… rather about seniors primarily and others who have been enjoying an early morn sea bath for years … do you conceive that that these folks will be NOT heed the rules…. (as the article you cited depicted they did)!

The bottom line is intent… just as a van rolled up after 9 AM one could have been there at 6 and patrolling periodically for an entire day… any idiots breaking the rules would be ordered off the beach, arrested if they refused (just like the curfew beaker) and sent to Dodds for a day or two to rethink their stupidity . That done once or twice would stop the folly makers and allow folks who thoroughly enjoy the serenity of Brandon’s or Batts Rock and Miami Beach to take their beach leisure.

That’s my view but clearly the admin felt a complete shut down and this gradualism of 3 hours a day is better… to me its a waste of lovely stress-busting resources but I ‘m NOT going to criticize the govt aggressively for their stance because I fully appreciate their line of reasoning… just don’t agree with it.

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

excuse the apparent convoluted ‘speak’ ..didn’t reread carefully after deleting some words!

Read as if grammatically and textually correct ๐Ÿ™‚

5. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

A well written article.

6. @Dee Word

Logic escapes a few on the blog because the objective is to squeeze every argument into a narrow prism.

BTW the NCC management issued a statement that its rangers will remind beachgoers about physical distancing.

7. Well let’s bear it and see what more will be relaxed come the 18th. The supermarkets hardly have lines now so allowing us to shop when we want from the 18th, can’t be an issue now. I also feel the shopping hours for supermarkets etc should be extended from 8am to 8pm. The beaches too should be reopened and stop the crowding between 6am to 9am.

Having said that wunna should still all got to wear a mask and social distance for a while yet. Besides people like David look better with the mask on anyhow! Lol

8. JOHN

RE Trump shut down two vehicles of infection. travel from China at the end of January then travel from Europe in March.

YOUR OPINION IS VERY SOUND HIS ACTIONS ACCORDS WELL WITH SENSIBLE PUBLIC HEALTH PRACTICE.
    HE WAS ACTUALLY AHEAD OF THE SO CALLED EXPERTS, DR FALSY & DR BURP WHEN HE DID SO

RE Mayor de Blasio encouraged New Yorkers to join the parades a week after Trump shut down travel from China.

Mayor de Blasio AND THE GOVERNOR ARE BOTH CERTIFIED MEMBERS OF THE LOWEST ORDER OF THE EQUINOIDS

9. NorthernObserver Avatar

did they not smoke pipes and home made type cigarettes before it became an industry.? I have a picture (circa 1900) of 8 men at my wife’s east coast family home (built in 1887) and all 8 have a pipe in hand. There is a collection of some 40 pipes, which adorned the mantel since I first saw them in the 80’s, and her father told me they were his uncle’s and grandfather’s (two of the pictured men). Truth be told, we haven’t clue the incidence in that time period?

next to your parade theory. How come Toronto, Vancouver and SF, all three with large asian populations and Chinese NY parades/celebrations have come up well shy of ‘relative’ deaths of some other cities? Not that more couldn’t have been done everywhere. Nor that POTUS can/should be blamed for the actions of Governors or other state officials.

And the 3yr comparison to 2 weeks? [which was my main point]

10. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Ok David…one and done from me so as not to make it about that jackass…but re “He also dismissed the pandemic by referring to it as a hoax.”… Not ONLY that…

… after his supposed awesome act of stopping flights from China…the great man still allowed in several thousand Americans (not like Min Young you say ๐Ÿ™‚ ) returning from the SAME China… and as you know he was told in JANUARY- early, early- by his Health Sect. Azar in an urgent call to Air Force that there was this dangerous possible virus afoot… the smart POTUS told him in effect ‘WTF you don’t stop being an alarmist, nah’ and surely with some American equivalent of a long steeeupse then asked him some abot the more SERIOUS vapiing ban thingy they were dealing with!

Mind you the POTUS (NOT mayors or governors ) is tasked with the protection of the US homeland so although stable genius was given Intel from his agencies and too from his aggressive Trade Advisor also in January on the grave problems possible… ALL the geni did was to stop flights from China and Europe…

David if you have a manager who 1) closes the barn door after being warned about horses possibly fleeing the damn barn and then 2) after 100 horses or so have fled… do you applaud the manager for safeguarding the 100 inside or get rid of his backside for losing so many of his horses!

The flight bans were a good ploy (like closing the door) but there were already several infected inland US already and he dd NOTHING further immediately to address (or go get back those horses running wild).

So every time these resident stable geniuses pull out these looney toones arguments to defend UV light style stupidity we should bleach their inside with rebuttal! ๐Ÿ™‚

11. POOR WUNNAH POOR NOBODIES
    TRUMP IS POTUS!
    I HOPE THAT HE CAUSE SOME OF WUNNAH TO GET HEART ATTACKS DUE TO YOUR INSANE HATRED! CAUSE NONE OF WUNNAH CANT TOUCH HIM OR STOP HIM.

ALWAYS REMEMBER DANIEL 2:21

And he (GOD) changeth the times and the seasons: he removeth kings, and setteth up kings: he giveth wisdom unto the wise, and knowledge to them that know understanding:

IF HE WINS AGAIN I WILL LAUGH
    IF HE LOSES I WILL BE EVEN HAPPIER…………BECAUSE THAT WILL SIGNAL THAT MY REDEMPTION DRAWETH NIGH!

12. Well 500 people on a beach at any time can fall into the category as a social event
    Notice that the beaches in America which were given the go ahead to reopen quickly close as the affect of social distancing was not happening
    Anyhow barbadians are different as often been said we punch any and everybody against above our weight
    With evidence of not having a vaccine
    Any govt that encourages people to congregate in masses where social distancing is near to impossible to undertake is being irresponsible

13. @Dee Word You would have noted the reason the Minister of Health in Bahamas had to resign?

https://g.co/kgs/48TJYh

14. Freedom Crier Avatar
    Freedom Crier

@ Dr.GPโ€ฆ

SO COVID DEATHS SOAR IN CERTAIN CITIES, BUT WHY ??

It is not all about the virus itself in all cases ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿผ this nurse is broken hearted at what she sees. As we would say out here, there is more in the mortar than the pestle.๐Ÿ˜ฃ Heart-wrenching but it explains a lot.

Yup every city will have its own unique dynamics.

Inner city NY has its own- but too much media scare about the disease and not enough exposure of the โ€œ Corvid deathsโ€ that were mismanaged, and otherwise caused. Ventilators themselves can kill, if not used correctly, or if unaware of the patientโ€™s history. If you have a bunch of โ€œ donโ€™t care medicsโ€ , and marginalized minority groups, it makes for a perfect storm.๐Ÿ˜ญ

15. Freedom Crier

It is no secret that in certain cities and states run by morons that there is trouble—-and lots of it.

Thanks for posting about the quinine tonic water, a few weeks ago. I have found it very beneficial for another indication.

16. Since the corona virus made its debut 430,000 people travelled to the US from China including 40,000 since the travel restrictions were imposed.

Talk about closing the barn doorโ€ฆ.

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/04/04/us/coronavirus-china-travel-restrictions.html

17. Trinidad & Tobago ranks second on a COVID-19 โ€˜lockdown rollback checklist,โ€™ but caution remains

How to balance easing restrictions and remaining vigilant?
    Posted 1 May 2020 19:28 GMT

In a press conference on April 29, 2020, Terrence Deyalsingh, Trinidad and Tobago’s minister of health, highlighted a study conducted by the Oxford COVID-19 Government Response Tracker (OxCGRT), which provided โ€œa cross-national overview of which countries meet four of the World Health Organisationโ€™s (WHO) six recommendations for relaxing physical distancing measuresโ€. On the list, Trinidad and Tobago ranked second, just after Vietnam. The only other Caribbean nation in the top 10 is Barbados.

While this may be welcome news in terms of how effectively the government has been coping with the pandemic (as of April 30, the country recorded 116 COVID-19 cases, with 72 patients discharged and eight deaths), the minister has said that the study’s findings should not lure citizens into a false sense of security.

The study itself also laid out the challenges the researchers encountered in collating the available data:

While the OxCGRT data cannot fully say how ready countries are to leave lockdown, it does provide for a rough comparison across nations. Even this โ€˜high levelโ€™ view reveals that few countries are close to meeting the WHO criteria for rolling back lockdown measures.

At the time of writing [April 23, 2020], only a handful of countries are doing well at the four โ€˜checklistโ€™ criteria OxCGRT is able to track.

Naturally, one of the variables to be considered is that the study was unable to secure data for two categories that help the WHO determine whether or not a country is ready to roll back lockdown measures: vulnerable settings and preventative measures in workplaces. The other four criteria โ€” controlled cases, success with testing, tracing and isolating, the management of imported cases and community understanding โ€” were ranked on a grid ranging from โ€œlessโ€ to โ€œmore ready to exit lockdownโ€. Of these, Trinidad and Tobago’s performance was slightly lower when it came to testing and community understanding.

https://globalvoices.org/2020/05/01/trinidad-tobago-ranks-second-on-a-covid-19-lockdown-rollback-checklist-but-caution-remains/

18. As Trump would say the above news reel is Fake News
    With Trinidad locking out its citizens how in Gods earth can any grade place Trinidad amongst the top tier for lock down
    As for Barbados implentation measures had the people standin in the broiling sun trying to buy food in three hours
    That news reel got to be Fake news fuh trute

19. @ Mariposa

Hmmmmmm……………….

Nowadays I’m scared to engage you in discussion, because your lawyer seems to believe asking you a question is tantamount to attacking you and you believe anyone who does not agree with you is a “BLP foot soldier” or “govt attack dog.”

However, “how can ‘government’ enforce social distancing” for people:

….. shopping inside the various wholesale and retail establishments?
    ….. going to SurePay or Western Union?
    ….. walking through any street in rural or urban Barbados?
    ….. waiting for a bus in the Princess Alice bus terminal or Oistins Depot?
    ….. waiting at bus stops for public transportation?
    ….. liming on the block?
    ….. who don’t give a ‘rat’s botsy’ about ‘social distancing?’

The ‘government’ has been informing the public about the dangers of COVID-19.

Are you suggesting citizens aren’t mature enough to be responsible for their actions and police officers or soldiers have to be everywhere to enforce ‘social distancing?’

My friend, your comment is NONSENSE. It’s about time you stop this silly habit of ‘nit picking’ to find something to criticize the government.

20. MARI

At first the beaches were opened for a few weeks even when the amount of positive cases per week were increasing. It is was thing start to look like they were getting out of hand that the government shut thing down – the 24hrs curfew, supermarket closed, beach closed etc.

For the last few week with limited and also with increased testing we have ben getting a lot of 0 and one positives per day. Also in that period all of the cases seems to be connected to the NAB only.

The health officials seem to be doing an excellent job in contact tracing, testing, quarantine etc and also advising the government.

The 24 hrs curfew has been reduced. The supermarkets opened with restrictions, beaches open with restriction and workers going back to work with restrictions.

IF not for the NAB cluster we would probably me further along to opening the island for all PEOPLE ON IT NOW.

IF the is a surge in positive case in the future then government may have to reverse some of its measures.

I agree with the beaches being opened / should be closed in the first place. I also understand why they ware closed at that time.

21. Why do u Artax insist in twisting peoples language to fit your deceptive narrative
    First of all i did not direct the question to u
    Any how the question was relative to the opening of the beaches and govt asking people to social distance in a setting that is tantamount to having an out door event
    Man go bag yuh face and leave me alone
    Furthermore your name was not mention but leave it to you to display your foot soldier drum beat to prove me wrong
    Dont know why yuh even bother cause nothing u say is of interest to me

22. Look John2 the whole world knows that contact presents a very high risk of contracting the virus
    Barbados has a population of aprox two hundred and seventy thousand
    So far of that number the latest data suggest that less than three thousand people have been tested
    Also in the past two weeks there have been active cases amongst the population which were undetected
    Given that fact how is it possible for govt to overlook those realities and open beaches where people interaction is a great possibility for contraction through various forms of engagements
    Any how i am one not waiting for govt to tell me how to protect myself
    For those who are waiting i say Good luck

23. mari

I the past two week all the cases were traced to the NAB. They have been tracing and quarantining the NAB worker that have been exposed, their families and their contacts and getting very few positives

AGAIN – the last two week all the positives were for contact at the NAB only

When do you want the beaches to be opened? after the whole 270 000 people has been tested?

24. Critical Analyzer Avatar

We are blindly following WHO recommendations and only have gotten this far by our luck and climate not by our skill. We need to research all the virus data ourselves, compare it against our demographics, health care system and societal structure to create a protocol to match Barbados’ needs.

Statistics is telling us at least 80-90% of cases are minor i.e. not require medical intervention. We should be focused on measures to protect those at-risk groups more likely to be in the 10-20% serious cases and not restrict everybody from doing things that will build their immune system and feed their families. For example, elder care facilities are potential hot-spots, are we doing scheduled, random or otherwise testing of workers at any of these facilities or are we waiting for a worker to present first and then start scrambling like the NAB.

With all the doctors we have here, we should never have needed a contingent of Cuban doctors and nurses. With the large number of primary care doctors all over the place, we should have been able to do that job ourselves or are our doctors so bereft of critical thinking skills they are unable to look at all the data out there, collaborate and figure out how to treat our people.

25. @ Mariposa

Whenever you’re asked a question you become ANGRY and AGGRESSIVE, then you go on a tantrum of personal attacks.

Isn’t this behaviour symptomatic of the “Barbados Condition?”

As I mentioned on a previous occasion. This is a PUBLIC FORUM and similarly to how you have the right to post a comment, other contributors have the right to respond or ask questions if they don’t understand what you wrote.

The CHOICE is yours to IGNORE or RESPOND.

However, your argument is WEAK and SILLY.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

@ john2

Your friend, Mari has a problem with beaches opening for 3 hours, but don’t see any problem with large supermarkets opening for 8 hours and accommodating 75 customers at a time.

For example, what is the likelihood of 20 customers queuing and standing 6 feet apart at the supermarket’s poultry section for a chicken or a crate of eggs?

Government has been relentless in its efforts to make people aware of the dangers of COVID-19 and they should be mature enough to take responsibility for their actions and adhere to the precautionary measures.

It’s just ‘nit picking’ to find some silly reason or the other to be critical of the ‘government.’

26. PAHO chief warns against relaxing social distance rules – by Barbados Today May 6, 2020
    The Director of the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) Dr Carissa F. Etienne today warned that relaxing social distancing measures โ€œtoo soon could accelerate the spread of the virus and open the door for a dramatic upsurge or for spreadโ€ to neighbouring countries

27. Context

Ease up cautiously, PAHO advises
    DIRECTOR of the Pan-American Health Organisation (PAHO), Dr Carissa Etienne, is advising Caribbean countries against removing COVID-19 control measures too early.
    โ€œThe social and economic pressure we are seeing now will be even greater if we fail to contain the virus, if we remove control measures prematurely and then overwhelm our health systemโ€™s capacity. We must all continue to act aggressively to contain the spread,โ€ she said.
    She was giving an update of the COVID situation in the Americas from Washington D.C. yesterday morning, via the online platform Kudo.
    Etienne urged all countries to think locally as this was the best way to combat the virus.
    โ€œWe need national unity and regional solidarity, but we must fight COVID-19 at the local level. Not all communities are affected in the same way. Health system capacity is also very diverse.
    โ€œBased on evidence and WHO (World Health Organisation) and PAHOโ€™s guidance, each country must adjust its approach to what is happening at the district, city or state level.โ€
    Etienne added that the number of cases seen for the region suggested now was a time for intense vigilance.
    โ€œEvery country in our region is unique and so are some of the challenges they face when battling COVID-19. But we now know what works to prevent transmission and we learn
    more every day.
    โ€œTo all our countries in the Americas, I urge you to consider the following approach.
    โ€œFirst, be cautious. Easing restrictions too soon could accelerate the spread of the virus and open the door for a dramatic upsurge or for spread to [other] areas.
    โ€œTwo, base your policy decisions on data. Analyse the rate of new cases, evaluate hospital bed capacity and determine what it tells you about the spread of the virus in your country,โ€ she advised.
    The PAHO director said the region needed to be keep observing community-based social distancing measures.
    โ€œWe know the experience of the European countries, and that suggests that the reduction of social distancing must be gradual and prioritised. It must be planned for with each step taken at least 14 days apart,โ€ she said.
    โ€œWe need community engagement and I want to stress this. What is the awareness and commitment of the general population to physical distancing and public health measures? Of course we need to take into account the public health impact.โ€ ( RA)

28. @ Critical Analyzer May 6, 2020 1:04 AM
    โ€œWith all the doctors we have here, we should never have needed a contingent of Cuban doctors and nurses. With the large number of primary care doctors all over the place, we should have been able to do that job ourselves or are our doctors so bereft of critical thinking skills they are unable to look at all the data out there, collaborate and figure out how to treat our people.โ€
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Some excellent points based on simple COMMONSENSE.

Why has this trait seem to have disappeared from the decision-making local landscape especially when it comes to informing public policy?

It would be most interesting to find out if the Cuban-trained Bajan doctors can now practice medicine in Bim without having to jump through a prejudicial circus of hoops to overcome the many stumbling blocks put in their path by the local Mafiosi quacks in the medical closed shop association.

Why open the beaches for only the 6.00 am to 9.00 am window?

Wouldnโ€™t such a move just encourage a gathering-and-crowding situation?

A scenario rather โ€˜invitingโ€™ to the spread of the same virus you are trying to contain since many people who go to the beach during this now โ€˜restrictedโ€™ period are in the age range which is more susceptible to Covid-19 (as it is advised by the public health authorities).

29. By local doctors getting together to fix the problem you mean the public health ministry collaborating with BAMP? The policy framework must be set and relevant to our circumstance.

30. @ Critical Analyzer

An interesting contribution. But there is another key point that the smoke and mirrors is shielding: are Cuba-qualified doctors and nurses now recognised in Barbados?
    All the ministry of health has to say is yes or no. But in typical Bajan style they will avoid the question, tip-toe around it, then speak in tongues, basic dishonesty.
    Can our great newspapers pin down the minister and president and ask them if Mickey Waldron in his arrogance got it wrong all those years ago?
    Minister, are Cuban medical and nursing qualification now recognised in Barbados? Yes or no? While you are at it, are they recognised in all CARICOM states?

31. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David May 6, 2020 7:12 AM

By local doctors getting together to fix the problem you mean the public health ministry collaborating with BAMP? The policy framework must be set and relevant to our circumstance.

Yes, but a policy framework sounds too much like red tape. All that is required is a private forum where information on the problems at hand can be presented for doctors to put forward ideas based on their knowledge, patient experiences and research. The public health ministry can be responsible for putting it all together in weekly newsletters or presentations.

32. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@ Hal Austin May 6, 2020 8:11 AM

As usual, you want to turn a health discussion into a a political decision. COVID19 love politics bad because politics allowed people to ignore or selectively follow the science allowing it to survive and spread all over the world.

Whether the Cuban doctors are authorized to work or not is completely irrelevant, they are qualified otherwise they would not have been here in the first place. That is international politics at play and you fully know it.

I will answer your question with a question. If you have to get a life saving procedure done, which doctor will you go to, a qualified doctor with lots of experience doing the procedure but has not been approved in your country or a doctor that hardly ever done it but is approved?

33. @ Critical Analyzer

Politics? I simply asked if Cuba-qualified doctors and nurses were officially qualified to work in Barbados? This is a simple apolitical issue. How it is answered may be political.
    I will also answer your question: sadly, I do not have to accept any doctor allocated to me, no matter his/her qualifications, be it at my family doctor or in hospital. At my family doctor I only see either of two doctors; at the hospital I decline to see any doctor I am not comfortable with.

34. NorthernObserver
    May 5, 2020 2:02 PM

And the 3yr comparison to 2 weeks? [which was my main point]

Padded data for COVID-19 deaths!!

All sorts of other categories have disappeared and are recorded in the COVID-19 column.

https://reachmd.com/news/where-have-all-the-heart-attacks-gone/1634588/

“…. where have all the heart attacks gone .. gone to COVID every one โ€ฆ when will you ever learn โ€ฆ when will you eeeeever learn.”

Sing to the tune of “Where have all the flowers gone”

35. Seriously though, State bailouts are being targeted by some States which have been mismanaged for years.

There is money in them there COVID-19 deaths!!

Did you know you are 2.9 times more likely to survive if you live in a Red State than if you live in a Blue one?

https://wjno.iheart.com/featured/rush-limbaugh/content/2020-05-05-pn-rush-limbaugh-if-you-want-to-survive-move-to-a-red-state/

36. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Hal Austin May 6, 2020 9:18 AM

Politics? I simply asked if Cuba-qualified doctors and nurses were officially qualified to work in Barbados? This is a simple apolitical issue. How it is answered may be political.

My substantive point is we have spent tons of taxpayers money training lots of doctors and nurses. We should be able to easily hold our own without need for outside doctors and nurses from Cuba, USA or anywhere else. Was all our taxpayer money wasted if we have to depend on significant outside help to treat a few cases in our country?

There is nothing apolitical about the word apolitical when the word political is a part of the word itself. We all know why they would not have been allowed to operate in the past irrespective of whatever qualifications they possess but COVID19 has shown those and other excuses by politicians to be the lies they are.

You are using ‘qualified’ when you should be using ‘allowed’. In any profession, qualified means you have the necessary education or can demonstrate you have the experience to be considered skilled. Allowed only means you are given permission to operate. Allowing criteria can be changed at the stoke of a pen but not qualifications.

37. Hal

It could be a lack of Neanderthal DNA that predisposes people of African descent to succumb to COVID-19.

https://www.nature.com/news/neanderthal-dna-affects-ethnic-differences-in-immune-response-1.20854

38. @Critical Analyzer

You point is taken.

One has the arms distance impression governmentโ€™s focus is on creating capacity in the system to deliver care in the event we were to experience a rapid increase in the rate of infections that leads to a burdening of the healthcare system.

39. @ John May 6, 2020 10:39 AM

Sir Johnny, the bible-thumping Quaker, you are really a curmudgeon of a being with an amazingly split personality of the intellectual kind capable of thinking with both your elbow and your donkey at the same time.

How can you ‘believe’ in the scientific existence of the Neanderthal man which supports the theory of evolution but can still come on BU and peddle your whitewash shit story of a white-skin Adam and a nakedly pale Eve with the serpent of sin painted black all of whom was created by a desert mirage of an idol called Yahweh about 10,000 solar years ago?

So what’s it with you John?
    The Neanderthal story of making the European man immune from diseases such as the black death of a plague or the black race from the Equator belt with faulty blood and more prone to autoimmune diseases?

But you might be on to something which you are too religiously blind to see even through the eyes of the โ€˜cursedโ€™ Ham.

40. DAVID

SPOT ON !

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

every coin has 2 sides?

In Ont/Que where +/-50% of deaths attributed to Covid are residents of senior homes, the story being bandied about is there was an initial denial of the cause of death. Panic was bad for business. Hence, the Covid death toll is actually higher.
    No question there has been a huge drop in ER visits seemingly across the board. And it is possible for the cause of death to be inaccurate, especially when the crematoriums are working at or near capacity.

42. Orange and the Blond have the unenviable label of leading countries with the highest COVID 19 deaths.

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

as the thread was initially on wave 2 and 3. One of the major factors some months ago, was the inability of care facilities to handle a “spike”. They didn’t have the beds nor equipment, given that patients were not in and out, either by the front or back door, in a few days. Even controversial triage procedures, if capacity levels were reached.

Now we have cranked up industry, to produce ventilators and PPE. By mid-late June, it is likely there will warehouses full of ventilators, and certain PPE. Testing still remains an issue in many places, for a variety of rotating reasons. Swabs, reactive solution, test kits, lab capacity etc etc etc

Several physical spaces have also been re-purposed.

So “if’ there is a second wave, physical and equipment capacity concerns may no longer be valid? In a “free” society, do the governments just let things go, and let the cards fall where they may.

44. Everybody makes mistakes even Czars

The alphabet system does not apply to the beach.

The clarification has come from COVID-19 czar Richard Carter after a lawman, on patrol at a St James beach, suggested the lettering system also related to those house-bound Bajans who flocked to the beaches on Monday.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/245220/abc-beach-covid-czar

45. @Hants

I am confused (no jokes please) the Czar says that the lettering system doesnโ€™t apply to the beach, yet the magistrate said

โ€œYou are not allowed to be on the road period unless it is your time. You are allowed to be out if it is your day. But Bajans canโ€™t get up, as they did this morning, and get in their cars and decide they are going to drive โ€™bout because I got up to 8 oโ€™clock to get off the road. That is not how it is working,โ€

Does that mean if I drive to the beach on my non letter day I am subject to arrest but if I get to the beach all is well?

46. David
    May 6, 2020 12:49 PM

Orange and the Blond have the unenviable label of leading countries with the highest COVID 19 deaths.

Might just be just that the countries that have large populations who can afford to smoke and damage their lungs are worse off.

It might be good to be poor and can’t afford cigarettes.

47. robert lucas Avatar

Readers maybe interested in the extract below. What is interesting about this work is the fact that monoclonal antibodies have been manufactured. Monoclonal antibodies are more precise and suffer from fewer cross reactions results, than the polyclonal antibody method.

http://www.israelhayom.com Wednesday May 6, 2020
    By Maytal Yasur Beit-Or , Reuters and Israel Hayom Staff Published on 05-05-2020 08:31 Last modified: 05-05-2020 13:42

Israel isolates coronavirus antibody in ‘significant breakthrough’
    “Monoclonal neutralizing antibody” developed at Israel Institute for Biological Research “can neutralize [the disease-causing coronavirus] inside carriers’ bodies,” Defense Minister Naftali Bennett says, calling the step a “significant breakthrough.”
    Defense Minister Naftali Bennett said on Monday that Israel has isolated a key coronavirus antibody at its main biological research laboratory in Ness Ziona, calling the step a “significant breakthrough” toward a possible treatment for SARS-CoV-2, the coronavirus that is the source of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The “monoclonal neutralizing antibody” developed at the Israel Institute for Biological Research “can neutralize [the disease-causing coronavirus] inside carriers’ bodies,” Bennett said in a statement.
    Bennett visited the IIBR on Monday where he was briefed “on a significant breakthrough in finding an antidote for the coronavirus.”

A statement from the defense minister quoted IIBR Director Shmuel Shapira as saying that the antibody formula was being patented, after which an international manufacturer would be sought to mass-produce it.

Shapira said the developmental stage for the antibody was complete. The antibody has yet to receive an official name.

The IIBR has been leading Israeli efforts to develop a treatment and vaccine for the coronavirus, including the testing of blood from those who recovered from COVID-19, the respiratory disease caused by the virus.
    Antibodies in such samples โ€“ immune-system proteins that are residues of successfully overcoming the coronavirus โ€“ are widely seen as a key to developing a possible cure.

The antibody reported as having been isolated at the IIBR is monoclonal, meaning it was derived from a single recovered cell and is thus potentially of more potent value in yielding a treatment.
    Elsewhere, there have been coronavirus treatments developed from antibodies that are polyclonal, or derived from two or more cells of different ancestry, the magazine Science Direct reported in its May issue.

48. MTA

Just giving Hal the option of believing the science pushed by researchers, or not โ€ฆ getting a laugh โ€ฆ and trying to see how long it would take you to respond!!

My smoking theory is still way ahead of the various avenues pursued by so called researchers!!

Difficult for me to be wrong when stats say smoking killed 100 million in the 20th century and is projected to kill 1 billion in the 21st century.

I have the preponderance of common sense on my side!!

49. Rush got a good laugh at Cuomo.

He is now disinfecting the subway cars, never thought it was possible!!

If you live in a Blue state you are more likely to die from COVID-19 because the governors and mayers are Democrats and are useless!!

https://news.iheart.com/featured/rush-limbaugh/content/2020-05-06-pn-rush-limbaugh-andrew-cuomo-arrogant-ignorant-failure/