Submitted by Stanton Carter, Brand Caribbean Inc

I usually enjoy reading Adrian Loveridge’s column but respectfully did not see any substantive suggestions for a new game to support the Tourism industry in the March 23, 2020 posting.

To cut to the chase, the reference to and comments about the September 11th, 2001 disaster, the airlift dependency, the suspended cruise ship sailings, the banks’ credit card incentives and speculation that the resident population could generate opportunities for domestic tourism may have helped to illustrate the economic challenges Barbados could face post Covid-19 but the statements in my opinion appeared to be more reactive than proactive.

What was noticeably missing from the article was the absence of a plan to rebuild and sustain the island’s tourism industry post Covid-19. As no mention was made of a recovery program, presumably expectations are that the virus will “miraculously” disappear and it will be business as usual. Unfortunately, the Caribbean Association of Banks’ statement – “It will no longer be business as usual for the foreseeable future” could be a true indicator of what is in store for the island.

If a new game is required to support the Tourism industry, it will necessitate a combined effort between the Private and Public sectors. These two organizations collaborated before to advance the island’s tourism industry and there is no reason why in unprecedented times they could not join forces again. Perhaps they need to be reminded, they are both working to achieve similar benefits for the destination and that a combination of financial and manpower resources, expertise, and industry contacts could help to sustain and restore tourism to new and greater visitor arrivals levels the island ever experienced.

Any attempt to try to return to a state of normality after Covid-19, will involve dramatic changes. Operating on the premise that if we build, re-brand and upgrade facilities visitors will come, will no longer be the industry’s acceptable standard. The new normal for the Tourism industry will depend significantly on

IT and digital technology. The soft sell approach for marketing and promoting Barbados as a holiday destination will have to be expanded to include social media platforms.

Competition between Caribbean member states for visitor traffic will be fierce and some destinations may not attain previous arrival levels. Those islands whose livelihood depends on tourism will be out in full force globally, utilizing digitalized marketing and promotion techniques to motivate visitors to return to Paradise. Most likely, Jamaica, Bahamas, Dominican Republic and Cuba already have recovery action plans drawn up for implementation on short notice. If Barbados wishes to maintain a competitive edge, it must act accordingly.

The way I see it, for Barbados to regain and maintain popularity worldwide with consumers, a rebuilding program should be developed to allow for joint programming with airlines, tour operators and travel agent consortiums serving the destination.

My recommendations for a new game to support and rebuild Tourism are as follows:

A “DOING BARBADOS” RECOVERY PLAN – This plan should consist of two (2) distinct phases:

PHASE # 1- Maintaining a Presence

The immediate creation and launching of a digital destination campaign to keep Barbados foremost in the minds of global travellers and to inspire consumers to visit Barbados after Covid-19.

On April 03 Jamaica introduced its digital “Escape to Jamaica” program on its @Visit Jamaica Instagram channel. On April 06, Grenada followed suit with its “# Grenada Dreaming” campaign. Bahamas also recently launched its new from “The Bahamas with love” mini digital vacation video. All 3 programs were designed to provide consumers with a virtual getaway to their respective destinations. Content involved music, culture, cuisine, nature and friendly people, the trademarks of a Caribbean vacation. Barbados needs to do likewise  and launch a similar type campaign.

PHASE # 2 – Rebuilding the Industry

Barbados tourism industry like most Caribbean destinations will have suffered immense damage as a result of Covid-19. Rebuilding the industry will be a major challenge. It will take time to attain and achieve previous productivity levels. Future tourism programming will also have to be vastly superior to those of other sun destinations as potential visitors will be searching for affordable value for money holiday bargains. To this end, consideration should be given to launching a 3 year incentive rebuilding action plan campaign.

SUGGESTED REBUILDING ACTION PLAN MARKETING OBJECTIVES

1. To influence and motivate consumers to select Barbados as their warm weather holiday destination
  2. To grow visitor arrivals to the levels Barbados experienced prior to Covid -19
  3. To improve hotel occupancies, especially the small hotels
  4. To increase visitors’ length of stay
  5. To revisit and reform the Ministry of Tourism and the BTM Inc institutional framework to meet the demands and requirements of the new era tourism

Year

1. The Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. and the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association should convene a meeting ASAP to discuss, create and partner
    a progressive destination marketing recovery program that will span 3 years.
  2. The program should feature a platinum incentive holiday package with add-on items in Year # 2 and #3
  3. The incentive should target market international travellers and repeat visitors. It should be designed to allow the BTMI, the BHTA, airlines and their tour companies, tour operators, wholesalers and travel agents to participate. The probability of including cruise ship passengers in the program should be considered
  4. Local activities programming should involve representation from the BTMI, BHTA, hotels, tour companies, restaurants, taxi companies, water sports operators, entertainers, artists, etc. Consideration should be given to establishing a special task force committee to work on the rebuilding project
  5. The program should comprise of all types of accommodation, especially the small hotels
  6. The program should be supported by social and traditional media platforms
  7. A Public Relations campaign should be launched to let consumers know Barbados is open for business
  8. Training seminars should be undertaken by the BTMI overseas offices in their respective markets to educate travel agents in small group sizes 25-30 on the new program
  9. Educational visitations by travel agents, overseas journalists, travel writers and travel press should be an integral part of the program
  10. Year # 1 programming should be available for implementation at the earliest possible date in the event Covid-19 comes to an early end.

Year

1. Increase incentives and expand activities planned and implemented in Year # 1
  2. Expand target marketing campaigns to include special interest and niche market groups such as Diaspora, Cultural, Foodies, Weddings and Honeymoons and Snow Birds
  3. Advertising and Public Relations campaign expenditures should weigh heavily on targeting consumers to select Barbados as their destination of choice for holidays
  4. Investigate possibility of hosting travel agent evening receptions in some markets
  5. Review, make changes and improvements to the Ministry of Tourism and BTMI Institutional structure to allow for effective involvement in the new era tourism

(a) Review and improve where necessary relations with local hotels, taxis, restaurants, water sports operators, etc
(b) Evaluate external relations with airlines, tour operators, wholesalers and cruise lines
(c) Review and upgrade contractual arrangements with advertising and public relations agencies
(d) Review and evaluate operation and optics of BTMI overseas offices.

(e) Review Community Development and Tourism activities

Year #3

1. Continuation and expansion of activities and incentives utilized in Years # 1 and # 2
  2. Introduce joint BTMI and BHTA overseas promotional tours
  3. Conduct BMTI and BHTA meeting to review continuation of the recovery plan or the introduction of a new and different campaign for rebuilding and supporting Barbados Tourism Industry
  4. Evaluate and consider the possibility of establishing a destination tour company

Finally, the one thought which has been constant in mind while creating this proposal is Robert Burns’ quotation on planning – “The best laid plans of mice and men often go awry”. There is much food for thought in his message. New challenges will crop-up during the planning stages and they should not be ignored. One item top of the list is airlift. Barbados alone cannot kick start the rebuilding of its tourism industry. It will require airline assistance, preferable from carriers with scheduled services and their own tour companies. These will generate a mixture of visitors – package holidays vacationers and F.I.T travellers – and allow for a wider distribution of product sales.

Hopefully the Ministry of Tourism and the BTMI have already recognized this need and are conducting negotiations with the airlines serving Barbados to provide airlift at reasonable promotional rates for post Covid-19 travellers.

The above recommendations are not carved in stone. They can be changed, upgraded or deleted. The whole idea was to provide a guideline on how to deal with the current and post Covid-19 environment.

186 responses to “Recovery Project to Support Tourism Industry”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Tron April 27, 2020 2:02 PM
    “But we would have to make the island more attractive”
    They have property tax everywhere, and the land tax in Barbados is comparable to what people are accustomed to paying in North America and Europe. There is no need at all to reduce it.

The things we need to do to make the island more attractive have nothing to do with reducing costs… they have everything to do with eliminating the ridiculous bureaucratic nonsense that is an excuse for public services on the island. The Government must implement improvements so that everyone can do everything online. Absolutely everything. There must be no reason to visit a government office even once in your entire lifetime.

Citizen by investment is a scam that attracts criminals and tax evaders. That isn’t what I’m talking about. Bajan citizenship is not for sale. I am talking about a permanent residency program for individuals with foreign currency income that they deposit each month in a bank account in Barbados. Of course after living here for half a dozen years or more they could apply for citizenship if they wish to, but it isn’t for sale.

2. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Tron
    The property tax rate on a condominium in Toronto is 0.940384%, The property tax rate in Barbados is 0.7% up to $850,000, and 1% over that amount.

3. PLT,

Thanks for your advice. I’m just not as altruistic as you, but I’m lobbying here 😉

4. PLT
    A key element missing from your take on tourism, both land and cruise, is human behaviour. The impact of Covid-19 is not reserved solely for tourism. Lenstec employees can’t make lenses from home! Like I said on a previous blog, change, including the wearing of masks will become the norm until a vaccine is found and people will adapt. The airline industry will find ways to ensure passengers are fit to travel. Therefore, tourism is neither dead in Barbados nor globally and it remains one of our more lucrative sectors at this time because of some of the same reasons you cite for other sectors. Secondly, why continue to speak as if it is one or the other? Tourism and other industries based on our specialisations/competitive advantage can co-exist. Why can’t ecohesion work with the hotel industry to create a more sustainable industry? I heard Minister Caddle talking about a communal solar-powered energy strategy for hotels. So more Lenstecs, knowledge economy oriented businesses and well designed, sustainable, modern hotels, restaurants, bars, casinos and clubs. We need to expand our 24-hr economy to increase productivity; the night-time economy is therefore essential and leisure is the main facet of the night-time economy, of which tourists (including Lenstec and Gildan expats) play a major part.

5. @ PLT

yes we will have to go outside the box to survive. Just yesterday I was talking with a friend with a sizable hired car fleet and he said he didn’t know where to turn now.

I told him calculate the cost of owning each car and forget renting short term to tourist foe now. Instead approach the companies and Embassies and offer a local monthly rate inclusive of insurance and licensing. After all its better to break even that lose money until things change.

6. William Skinner Avatar

Ladies and gentlemen
    The island as we knew it before COVID-19, no longer exists. If we choose, to go into the post CONVID-19 with the same half baked ideas , we could as well shut shop now. This apparent contentment with constantly going back , hoping that we end up going forward is non productive.
    There are basically three kinds of people:
    1. Those who see things happen
    2. Those who make things happen
    3. Those who wonder what happened.
    It’s time to make things happen. Tourism in any form will not be back any time soon;
    Failure to develop agriculture fisheries , live stock production and so on will lead to economic starvation. I don’t care if we reading Marx or Bruckner!
    As the old people say: Too much education is a bad thing.
    Carry on nicely. There are millions of people rich , poor, black , white , Asian , who are going to Board the airlines and flock back to our island-just so.
    We going to borrow enough from the creditors who apparently owe us some favor.
    Carry on smartly…………..
    @ John A
    Take it easy. By now you should have learnt, that we want to change everything under one condition: that it remains the same. Have a drink; get a front row seat and watch the magicians work. Peace.

7. @ William.

It just frustrates me that all government does is talk about diversification without actually diversifying anything. I really hope those in charge understand the kind of change a post covid economy has in store for them. Plus this time you wouldn’t be able to tax your way out of failed policies, as there will be no increase revenue for us to pay it from. Further than that all like now they should be revising their estimates to function on 30% less annual revenue.

I see other governments have slashed politicians salary what we doing with our 30? Also when we going hear from Minister Straughn about a revised estimate and expenditure plan?

Old people use to say ” take front before front tek yuh “.

8. @John A

Government is one stakeholder. Where is the lobbying of ideas from the private sector and NGOs?

9. @ John A April 27, 2020 3:44 PM

When it comes to taxes you should not rely on common sense. Remember that Chris Sinckler is now a government advisor. The man has a certain reputation. Also OSA is not known for saving money.

All tax increases since 2008 have taken us deeper into the abyss. No native politician has been able to learn from this. Why should it be any different now?

10. @ David.

Government is responsible for policy hence they must always be the place where it all starts.

As was the case with closing the supermarkets some decisions my be workable others total nonesence.

What has The MOF shared so far as a revised budget based on their major shortfalls in revenue anticipated over the next 2 quarters say? Nutting

What has the Minster of tourism outlined as a new plan for post covid tourism. Will they for instance lend support to a a bonus day package? Pay for 5 days stay for 7 for example. What’s the word there? Nutting

How many acres of land has the ministry of agriculture ploughed and planted over the last 4 weeks, what’s the latest word there? Nutting

I could go on but what would be the point but don’t worry ” we are diversifying the economy as a matter of urgency.”

Talk talk and more talk.

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Enuff
    “The airline industry will find ways to ensure passengers are fit to travel.”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    Without data to back up this assertion it is nothing more than wishful thinking and self delusion.

They might… but the human race has NEVER before succeeded in creating a vaccine against a coronavirus, despite many decades of trying. It is well known that the air conditioning systems on aircraft virtually guarantee the spread of disease, so aircraft will have to be upgraded. Even after air conditioning upgrades masks and physical distancing will be required, radically reducing the seating capacity of aircraft and causing fares to rise substantially. The balance of probabilities is therefore that the airline industry itself is in dire straits and several important carriers will go bankrupt, likely including Virgin Atlantic.

You are still reacting with yesterday’s logic. This makes you part of the problem rather than part of the solution.

12. @John A

Policy making is at government but it must be informed.

13. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John A April 27, 2020 4:26 PM
    “Government is responsible for policy hence they must always be the place where it all starts.”
    ++++++++++++++++
    You are still reacting with yesterday’s logic. So is the government. They say “the private sector is responsible for economic activity hence they must always be the place where it all starts.” The NGO’s say “only the government and the private sector have any resources hence they must always be the place it all starts.”

The inevitable result? NOBODY EVER STARTS!! They just sit around complaining.

Everyone must start where they are with what they have. Nobody should wait for anybody else. We have already run out of time.

Plant seeds TODAY.
    Help your neighbor TODAY.
    Think about tomorrow TODAY.

14. @ David

Agreed. But when a decision is made then there must be urgent follow through.

15. William Skinner Avatar

@ John A
    @ PLT
    I have been more than reluctant to get in this discussion so quickly. Quite frankly, I have one position at this time and that is supporting our government with our efforts in combatting an enemy we did not choose.
    I realize that the same format will emerge with the political axes drawn . I don’t have the time or desire to return to pre COVID-argument.
    We either realise it is a new day or we perish.
    Those who have eyes to see will see.
    I am a Barbadian first and foremost. I intend to contribute to the rebuilding of my country. I will continue to support our government as we grapple with this enemy.
    I will put radical progressive ideas out there and hope somebody listens. Those stuck in the pre COVID era, I wish them luck but I have no intentions of engaging them.

16. @ William.

I think once we open and accept our reality all will then see the pitch we must bat on. At this point I think few want to admit how radical a change will be needed in the short to medium term especially.

17. @John A

It is difficult to comprehend that the government will go down a business as usual path.

18. @ David.

They can’t as their entire way of taxation has been decimated. Departure tax, vat on accommodation and all other forms of revenue from tourism will be affected. The government will have to operate on income that could be 30% less a year or more, than what they budgeted in the estimates. Would we need 30 ministers then? What about several different tourism bodies?

It is all of these things I am yet to hear our MOF speak to. We must move fast to address these issues or we will be facing a massive deficit by December. In other words what is government doing about the cost of government in light of the above? Regardless to what is put in place this has to also be addressed urgently. It is fair to therefore say that unemployment numbers have not capped out yet. After all every businessman is waiting to see what the economy has in place for him come May 3rd when doors open.

19. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A at 6:41 PM

The businessman is part of the economy,so he should be asking himself,” what can I do to grow this economy?” So all economic agents have to get on board and put in the elbow grease. So if you are a business man, you should not be watching GoB. You should have completed your post COV-_19 Recovery Plan. Where is yours? Do not share. David Bu waiting to copy it.

20. PLT
    So people gine travel by birds? What Lenstec and Gildan gine do when they reopen? Just let everybody come through the door? It will not be business as usual.

Diversification is not as easy as JohnA and others make it seems. I don’t understand why we continue to talk about economic diversification in a vacuum. The world is not made up of only an island called Bdos. I think people should read and re-read PLT’s piece about advantage. I may adopt a new trade theory rather than his Ricardian approach, but he is starting on the right track even if in the wrong lane. One of my faves on BU.🤣

21. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@ Enuff
    Gildan has marketing, administrative and design functions here, so they have probably been working from home all along. Lenstec relies of air freight services which have never stopped, so no problem their either.

It’s not a matter of diversification being easy… it is just that we have no choice… tourism as we knew it is a dead horse. No amount of carrots or sticks is going to bring it back to life, so let us please stop pretending.

Please do develop your new trade theory; but do it fast, we don’t have time to fart around.

22. @ Vincent.

You know I had experience with that fellow David already.

For me I agreed to put some money in a agricultural project with some young fellows. They say they want to plant, so we going and offer a lady with a few acres to pay the land tax on the land and give her a percentage. Thing is I there to bring the parties together. She has the land but ain’t able with it. The young fellows want to work it but they ain t got the money for the few things they need. Who knows I might get a few heads of lettuce and a few tomatoes out of it. Lol

Seriously though it is projects like that which government must look at on a bigger scale. In other words put the land bank to work by bringing the land to those who want to work it. Plough it prepare it and let the guys take it from there. Put up the green houses on state land and rent it to those who will work it. We want assets and the workforce to now meet in partnerships. Put those that have been laid off back in the game with a vested interest as opposed to a pay check.

Of course if I come back and tell you I lost nuff blasted money in thiefing don’t Laff at me!

Government in the post covid economy must act as the facilitator as much as possible. In other words put state assets to work but do not get involved in the actual ventures.

23. Brilliant suggestions from PLT, John A and others. Hard to find fault with the suggestions and underlying passion on the submissions as we all want to see Bim succeed post Covid-19.

But the one glaring elephant in the room that is 100% required to make anything change is “who”. Who will be the change agent politician needed to grab the new opportunity by the balls and dismantle old ways of business that stifles innovation but funds political campaigns and their own survival? Who will be so brave, focused and most importantly thinking of country before self to implement these plans any stay the course. Who? Who? Who?
    Vacancy Bold leader to lead through bold times. Without that it’s all just talk and no change

24. The blogmaster understands that Christiana Amanpour will interview PM Mottley tomorrow April 28 @ 2:00pm EST on CNN. The interview will be of 20 minutes in duration…

25. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Baje Abroad

Trust me we will get there.This country has reserves that you are yet to see. Barbados bounced back before and we will again. It is a good thing that BU has a limited audience,if not it would be a source for sapping Barbadians creative ability. We do not talk. We do.

26. @ peterlawrencethompson April 27, 2020 4:28 PM

We can’t turn planes and airports into hospitals.

At some point, at least 2/3 of all people have antibodies against COVID19, like the other known corona viruses.

COVID19 just takes care of the weak. The whole life is selection, is risky.

Life must continue as normal.

27. @ David April 27, 2020 8:37 PM

Our leader Mia Mottley rocks the world!

28. Personally I believe once we act quickly and remove the barriers for change we will get there. Our goal should be to reduce the red tape and the things that make business difficult. We knew before this that we were badly placed on the ease of doing business scale, but now more than ever things must be simplified. Time is not on our side and we can’t use the same long winded approach as in the past. Those that can change gears quickly will win this race.

29. @Vincent

BU is reflecting concerns from Barbadians. One just has to read the newspapers or listen to the talk shows. Do not make out that concerns being expressed here about post Covid effort is a BU hatched affair.

30. Caswell ent mekkin sport.

31. Critical Analyzer Avatar

This definitely is one of the best discussions on BU. Brilliant ideas all around but some more brilliant than other.

The biggest elephant in the room by far is the upcoming hurricane season.

The second biggest one is how as we going to deal with Flow and Digicel to get them to improve their network performance without robbing us blinder. We can’t have tourists working from their condos with the poor quality and high cost slow internet we have here.

Tourism might not necessarily be as dead as it seems. I see an opportunity for a possible uptick in tourists scared of catching COVID during the upcoming flu season. I strongly suspect research will show our climate greatly lowers the transmission rate compared to colder climates and available effective treatments using existing drugs.

Registered Professional Associations are required for all jobs (e.g. mechanics, construction artisans, farmers, manufacturers, etc.) with their sole purpose being to work with government to develop effective policies and strategies their membership will support from the start.

The top down approach where government sets the policies and laws from on high and dictate to the people on the ground has to go away. We also need a bottom up approach where the people on ground form associations to push their ideas and agendas with fewer voices.

32. @ Hants April 27, 2020 9:31 PM

The senator seems very unfocused and rambles like a woman selling fish.

I’m glad that Mia Mottley is Prime Minister and not Senator Caswell.

33. A lot of what happens in Barbados will be a result of what happens in the UK USA and Canada.

After covid 19 planes will fly, ships will sail life will go on.

A lot of things will change but tourist still want to travel and I will visit Ziggo Dome…if I live.

34. PLT
    So Gildan employees will work remotely indefinitely? And Lenstec employees make lenses remotely or return to full production lines, without changes? You are still ignoring human behaviour and of course technology. In reconfiguring planes, a balance will be struck between health and finances. Departures and arrivals will change–processes and physical layout. The pandemic gives us an opportunity to refine and expand elements of our economy and society. The Sagicor Estates project is retirement accommodation and it exemplifies what I alluded to early about specialisation. I must add that this type of ‘tourism’ always existed in Bim even if in a more informal way. But if travel gine be so injurious to health due to COVID-19, why would vulnerable retirees get on a plane to Bdos to fill up our retirement accommodation? You clearly agree that tourism isn’t dead…just what kind.😛
    I believe that we have a tourism product that is hard for others to replicate. I remember I took a washpan of licks from BushTea and others on BU when I argued that villas was a good way at intra-sector diversification of our tourism. That sub-sector served us well in the last recession and is best poised to respond post-Covid. Here is another angle, could the prospect of a more aggressive second wave during fall and into the colder months engender extended stays in warmer climes for some? Regarding diversification, I am a big proponent, this is obvious in my posts, but a lot of what I hear is based on feelings rather than hard evidence and a clear definition and differentiation of those advantages you promote.

35. PoorPeacefulandPolite Avatar
    PoorPeacefulandPolite

People with property for rent have already been helping to change the character of our tourism offering by marketing their apartments and homes to visitors for LONG TERM tenancies. I myself have guests that come for four months at a time and have all their annual medicals, eye and dentistry checks done here. They love it just as it is – and find everything very reasonably priced. We don’t need the whole world – but our capacity and reputation for retirement can grow very nicely and serve us Barbadians in our own retirement. I like Peter’s idea of terming the strategy one of “attracting NEIGHBOURS”:. . . rather than short-term escapist. “Neighbours” then attract their friends and family to come and have reunions in Barbados, and this takes care of any shortfall in “new visitors” arrivals.

36. Is there a role for Peter’s favourite people- Airbnb?

37. Enuff is absolutely right here on tourism in two aspects:

First, we have a basic unemployment rate of 10%. Diversification therefore does not mean reducing tourism, but rather that we continue to operate tourism at full steam and develop additional business areas alongside it.

Secondly, renting out villas is a good thing because it means that not the red-burned riffraff but the moneyed aristocracy will come to our island.

38. The Dullard predicted that Covid-19 will simply lead to a doubling down on the same tired tourism related thinking. He’s not been disappointed. Now if a pandemic and resultant economic depression can’t inspire change then nothing will. The Dullard makes another prediction. Nothing will be no discernable change in policy, approaches or thinking in Bdos.
    Too many square pegs in round holes. Too many Lorenzos and not enough GPS.

39. @Dullard

You should reserve opinion until the post-Covid Plan of which Arthur and Sinckler are members is rolled out.

40. David,
    With your blog work over the past 10+ years you better than most know how things work in Bim. I will remind you. Find the most sensible, efficient, cost effective, long term, home grown solution to any given problem…then do the opposite.

41. @Dullard

Let us stay with your comment one back, if in the face of a pandemic which threatens the Spanish flu there is no motivation to break free from established models, we deserve the outcome.

42. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Enuff April 28, 2020 8:45 AM
    Lenstec will return to full production lines, probably adjusting their production floor layout to accommodate more physical distancing. Gildan can choose their mode of working depending on the prevalence of the virus locally.

I am not at all ignoring human behavior, just pointing out that the pandemic means we must change human behavior if we are to prosper in the utterly changed economic environment.

You are still stuck reacting with yesterday’s logic. We could have a tourism product that is hard for others to replicate, but it is not your ‘belief’ that makes it so. Furthermore, the government’s plan for a high rise hotel corridor along Carlisle Bay is exactly what makes our tourism product easiest to replicate because we are simply replicating the experience of hundreds of other Hyatts around the globe. You need to take off the blinders that the tourism industry has imposed upon you.

The villa model of tourism was useful because it encouraged longer term stays of people with deeper pockets, but now we have to grow beyond that. We need people whose stays are measured in years or decades, not weeks or months. This is because as air travel remains somewhat risky and certainly more expensive in the long term, we need to maximise the ‘dwell time’ of each visitor. Someone who owns property here will not balk at the testing and potential two week self isolation if they intend to stay here for a couple of years, but they will not take a month long trip if it imposes those same inconveniences.

That is why we should build a new industry here that uses the competitive advantage of our enviable social and environmental climate by inviting high earners to come and be resident here, but we should not call it tourism. We are inviting neighbors, not recruiting tourists. We should call it something like our International Residency sector.

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

Some peripheral observations
    a) LONG term, particularly OLDER (retirement) long term, needs changes to the health care system. I read Dr GP say the capability of QEH is top class, but when one enters and waits in the ER, it does not generate that ‘feeling’. My wife will not go for any extended period, due to this; and I note several of the local monied persons have doctors in Florida. Obviously those with underlying conditions will take more note than those without.
    b) the conclusion, CLIMATE is the big plus, is accurate. We also need to appreciate a ‘knock on’ benefit of 1-2 week tourism, is people get to ‘know’ the island. This leads to greater things. Always felt B’dos needs a better understanding of exactly why an offshore entity (person or corp) would select it, than mere climate; and market to those bigger button issues.
    c) everywhere, post Covid, governments have to examine HOW they earn revenue. It will be an ongoing watch and analyse for businesses to understand the new landscape. The early birds will catch the worms.

44. @ David April 28, 2020 9:50 AM

Exactly, we’re waiting for the grand plan of our two geniuses:

Sinckler, the decimal genius
    and OSA, the debt genius and management genius at LIAT and GECOM

At least I give Sinckler credit for successfully deferring five years of bankruptcy. No private business owner could have done that.

The great COVID19 plan will be a mixture of BERT, Greek-IMF, DLP manifesto of 2008, Anderson’s fairy tales and lots of maruihana, spiced with blind patriotism and insular naivety. As usual.

At least no unpleasant surprise awaits us, because the plan will fail like all other plans since 1966.

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David April 28, 2020 9:14 AM
    “Is there a role for Peter’s favourite people- Airbnb?”
    AirBNB is very badly wounded by the pandemic… perhaps fatally. They have loaded up on debt in order to try to survive the crisis, but the IPO on which they were depending this year to raise capital will have to be indefinitely postponed. On a local level bookings have dropped to zero, so if the property owner was depending on bookings to pay a mortgage on the property the could find themselves in very deep financial distress. I know that several investors who were planning on building accomodation to use as AirBNB accommodation have abandoned these plans.

AirBNB will also have to change operational details such as enforcing more rigorous cleaning and disinfecting between occupancies, and this will change the profitability calculations for property owners.

46. @PLT

I think also we need to look at long term assited living tourism. In other words rooms with nursing care all inclusive with a doctor on premises etc. I am not talking about nursing homes here, but places for those that can travel on their own still and want to leave the cold for say 5 months and come to a warmer climate. In other words a “no hassle” long term getaway where not only their housing needs are dealt with but so are their health needs.

Sagicor is going behind those that want to buy such a place in St George. Why can’t we offer the same type of product for rental on a beach somewhere on the South coast say?

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@TronApril 28, 2020 9:21 AM
    “Diversification therefore does not mean reducing tourism, but rather that we continue to operate tourism at full steam…”
    Nobody in Barbados is “reducing tourism,” but the pandemic has reduced it to zero. At the moment tourism is dead, but so many wish to pretend that it is only taking a nap. This is pure self delusion. The horse is dead… it is pointless to invest in either more carrots or better sticks. It makes no sense to perform CPR on the horse, as much as we loved that horse it is not going to miraculously come back to life.

Mourn if you wish… arrange a decent funeral… but then we need to move on with concrete and practical plans to rebuild the society and economy in Barbados.

48. @NorthernObserver who wrote ” My wife will not go for any extended period, due to this;”

I thought you were rich. Surely you can aford an air ambulance if you or or your wife became ill in Barbados.

49. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John A April 28, 2020 10:25 AM
    “… places for those that can travel on their own still and want to leave the cold for say 5 months and come to a warmer climate.”
    You are still stuck reacting with yesterday’s logic. That assisted living tourism model means that they need to travel twice per year and they must maintain a residence and care in their country of origin. That means we get at most 41% of their disposable income spent locally. Not good enough. I want 99% of their disposable income spent in Barbados and their primary residence to be Barbados so that they do not have to risk travel more frequently than once every two or three years.

This is a critically important distinction because a seasonal tourism model means that our expensive capital assets are only being utilised for 5 months of the year. This is an awful inefficiency and we should not put up with it… we certainly should not design it into an economic system.

We will not need tourism if we build an International Residency sector.

50. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@NorthernObserverApril 28, 2020 10:15 AM
    “… LONG term, particularly OLDER (retirement) long term, needs changes to the health care system.”
    ++++++++++++++++
    You are entirely correct. However, let me point out that it is also every BAJAN who “needs changes to the health care system.” I think we should build a system for ourselves that our international residents will also be happy to use. A new hospital is one of the things that we can get financed by the IDB.

P.S. I know that cultural change is also required and is a much harder problem to solve that the finance capital.