grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II,

The year 2020 was my year for playing shots – using Clyde Mascoll’s recent cricket analogy. This was to be the year of making significant investments, all of which would have benefited Barbados and Barbadians. Then Clyde got in the way.

Like so many other Barbadians, I have a mortgage. The only benefit of a mortgage is that it allows you to occupy your house about 10 years earlier. For that privilege, you get to pay the bank a lot of interest.

The amount that you borrow is called the principal. The amount that you repay is about 2.5 times the amount that you borrow. Therefore, if you borrowed $500,000, you get to repay the bank about $1.25M over 30 years.

The amount that you repay the bank, over what you borrowed, is called interest. The interest is about 1.5 times what you borrowed. So, if you borrowed $500,000, then you must repay the bank the $500,000 you borrowed, plus 1.5 times that amount, or an additional $750,000 in interest.

The amount paid to the bank during the first 10 years is almost the same as the amount you borrowed. While most of the amount you pay during the first 10 years goes towards the interest payments, some goes towards the principal.

If you had a responsible employer, then you likely have a retirement savings plan with an insurance company, or a bank. When you reach 55 years of age, the retirement funds must be paid to you. I encouraged persons to use those funds to pay the remaining principal, rather than paying interest for the next decade or two.

Over 5 years ago, I started warning people that the DLP would try to tax our retirement savings. By that time, they had taxed everything that could be taxed, and retirement savings was perhaps the only thing left. So, I tried offering economic growth proposals that did not require additional taxes.

Trying to get anyone to listen to economic growth plans 5 years ago appeared to be impossible. The national: accounting, economics, banking, and business organisations seemed to have only one aim – to get the DLP out of office, and the BLP in. The Chamber of Commerce actually passed a regulation to prevent me from sharing our economic growth plan with their members. That regulation is still in place – but only for me.

Even the DLP would not listen – they seemed to have the same agenda. So, one year later, our economic growth plan was published for public scrutiny, and Solutions Barbados was formed to contest the general election, and implement the plan for the benefit of the public.

If families could pay off their mortgages early, then everybody wins. Families would have significantly more disposable income to ‘play shots’, the government would reap the tax benefits of that additional spending, and banks would need to compete for short-term business growth loans – or go under.

During the general elections, I was on a panel with Clyde, where he told the audience that our plan was ‘voodoo economics’. So, we provided our anti-corruption, quality management, low-tax economic growth plan to individual economists and accountants, and received a very favourable report.

The independent expert confirmed that we could achieve $1B in surplus during our first year, without borrowing, laying off a single public worker, or reducing salaries. He further noted that all political parties pushing high-tax austerity needed to review our plan.

After the general elections, Prime Minister Mottley, to her credit, acknowledged that the BLP did not have all the answers, and instructed her party that all ideas must contend. But Clyde would not. The BERT leadership publicly admitted that they never looked at our economic growth plan, and dismissively noted that they would never look at it.

Last week, BERT signalled that they had failed miserably to grow the economy. All they had to show for the past 20 months is: severe austerity, high taxes, zero economic growth, and arrogant public relations to hide their gross incompetence.

Last year I reached 55 years – but it was too late for me. The clown car had rolled up the year before, and Clyde and company tumbled out – and started performing tricks. They did what I was warning that Sinckler would do – but wisely chose not to. They confiscated much of my retirement savings, and passed a lunatic law to make that theft legal.

Mercifully, they left me with just enough that I could still pay off the mortgage, and start playing shots this year. But that was too much voodoo for Clyde. So, they decided not to release all my money until 2033. They have now entered the comedy phase of their routine – telling us to ‘play shots’. With what Clyde, with what?

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

356 responses to “Too Much Voodoo”

1. The Objection Grenville was addressing was the Corruptness of Government and their Insatiable Appetites for Taxes the Expence of people, where you work for the Government and all your Labour is to Pay the Government…THAT IS CALLED BEING MODERN DAY INDENTURED LABOURERS WITHOUT A RELEASE DATE!

PTL IS MAKING A POINT BUT DELIBERATELY MISLEADING OTHERS, he is trying to say that you are going to end up paying the Tax but people pay all taxes. Government do not pay Taxes they Collect Taxes from people. Even when they pay Civil Servants and give them a raise they raise the taxes on Gasoline and Everybody pays including the Civil Servants.

GOVERNMENTS FEEL IT IS THEIR SACRED DUTY TO TAX PEOPLE TO HELL! THEY WILL ALWAYS DO THIS UNLESS WE SAY ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.

The more we say that the Government should do this and the Government should do that and the more we want Government to do things for us…Gives them the Execuse to tax us more…GOVERNMENTS DO NOT MAKE MONEY THE SQUANDER MONEY , OUR MONEY. It is like a man telling you, I am going to give you Free Everything and then he says Give me aaaall the Money you got now and what ya going work for and then gives you a little somethings back, saying we out of money. SO YOU STILL END UP WITH A PROMISE AND BRECK!

Whereas Previously with money in my pocket and could have made a decision what I want to Buy Now, what I will try to Buy later and if I want to put down some for a Rainy Day. The Difference is that I make my Decisions about what is in my pocket. Other than that Government Takes what is in your pocket, while you are left Breck and without a release Date and Beholding to the Civil-masters.

LET YOUR VOICES BE HEARD LOUD AND CLEAR, Civil Servants work for the people not the other way around. The power is in Our Hands; we can prevent them from becoming the Civil-master!

WHY SHOULD WE DESIRE ECONOMIC SUICIDE? The Have made us All Hopeless that is why some Desire the Financial Suicide by calling for More Government like PLT AKA Peter Lies Taxingly!

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CZe6XzGWkAA9R6i.jpg

2. Boy, ain’t it nice when i don’t have to TAX my brain to respond to Grenville’s Voodoo or David Copperfield Economic and Fiscal policies! Despite studying the subject matter years ago, it is not my favourite thing and so I cannot fly out of the starting gate like some of you here. I would have to wade through and figure it out step by step. Much like the Bible.

But I can surely follow your submissions without any lag time and it’s not looking to good for the $1b surplus without layoffs at all.

Wuhlaus!

3. That should be too good not to good.

4. @ Hal.

I ain t going there. LOL

plus I doubt them sales would show in the financials!😊

5. @John A

There is room for GEL to rationalize its operating model.

It should be stated GEL is known to be a reputable company.

6. @ David.

The reason i picked GEL is because they are one of the best diversified companies in the region with a consistent history of profitability yearly. They have also plowed a considerably amount back into the company in the way of retained earnings. If a company that has done all of this is fighting to get 4% of sales in net profit, can you imagine how tough it is for the smaller under capitalised businesses?

To be honest Barbados does not have a bad tax plan, where we fail miserably however is that our tax collection itself is piss poor as the $500M in vat forgiveness confirmed. We don’t need new taxation what we need is better tax collection.

7. Dear All:

To avoid discussing semantics, you can think of our plan as abolishing VAT and corporation tax, and replacing both with a sales tax of 10% on actual revenues/fees.

VAT is a grossly unfair tax. The current corporation tax is also grossly unfair and easy to avoid paying. A sales tax is fair since all competitors have to pay it.

Our income tax proposal is 10% of actual income with no deductions.

It is possible to run well-managed public services at approximately 5%. However, we started at 10% to be conservative, and it was easier for most people to calculate.

8. Is it true that three of the new shiny garbage trucks has out of commission waiting for parts to be have them repaired
    What a ting doah

9. @ next party 246

What I pointed out is not semantics but reality. So let me make it as simply as possible for all to understand with the below example.

NOW:

Company sell $ 10,000,000 A year and makes 4% of sales in pretax profit. Company makes $ 400,000 before tax and pays tax at 5% = $20,000 in tax. Company retains $380,000 in retained earnings for expansion.

246 growth plan.

Company sells the same $10,000,000 and makes the same pretax of 4% as above hence makes same $400,000 pretax. 10 % of its gross sales in a final tax is 10% of $10 million in sales =$1,000,000 in taxes. Subtract the $1,000,000 in taxes from the $400,000 in pretax profit and COMPANY LOSES $600,000 IN A SINGLE YEAR.

So much for a corporate growth plan. As I said i would like to meet the accountant that recommended this! As I showed above this would shut most companies down in a single year, while making the rest unfinancable by any commercial bank.

Facts vs political fiction.

10. Also as you have made the tax of 10% of sales a final tax on gross sales with no other deductions. That means all depreciation cost on equipment will be disallowed. So if the above company wanted to improve its equipment say the cost of that equipment would have to be added to the $600,000 loss making improvements a thing of the past.

As I said i want the name of the man that approve this. It sound like it could of been that fellow Sinkler that was bout here a few years back.

11. Semantics???? This is not about words. It is about numbers. Any first year student of Accounts with a Meigs and Meigs (if that is still in use some thirty-five years after I used it.) would rubbish this tax plan.

Heaven help us!

This man knows just as much about accounting as he does about the Bible.

12. The “monkey” is up the tree with its ass exposed! Wuhlaus!

Please note that the word “monkey’ is in inverted commas.

13. This man knows just as much about accounting as he does about the Bible. IS TRUTH YOU AH TELL!

REThe “monkey” is up the tree with its ass exposed! Wuhlaus! Please note that the word “monkey’ is in inverted commas.

HE NOT A MONKEY HE JUST A CLOWN IN A MONKEY SUIT

HE ONCE SAID THAT HE WAS A SLOW LEARNER
    MAY BE DUE TO HIS APPARENT FRONTAL BOSSING

THESE ARE THE CAUSES OF FRONTAL BOSSING
    Acromegaly
    Basal cell nevus syndrome
    Congenital syphilis
    Cleidocranial dysostosis
    Crouzon syndrome
    Hurler syndrome
    Pfeiffer syndrome
    Rubinstein-Taybi syndrome
    Russell-Silver syndrome (Russell-Silver dwarf)
    Use of the antiseizure drug trimethadione during pregnancy

14. That is why the word “monkey” is in inverted commas, GP. It is a common saying. it does not mean that he is a monkey.

15. @ nextparty246 February 12, 2020 5:28 PM
    “VAT is a grossly unfair tax. The current corporation tax is also grossly unfair and easy to avoid paying. A sales tax is fair since all competitors have to pay it.
    Our income tax proposal is 10% of actual income with no deductions.
    It is possible to run well-managed public services at approximately 5%. However, we started at 10% to be conservative, and it was easier for most people to calculate.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Why are you, Grenville Jr., dodging the matter of the applicability of your proposed tax regime to the international (offshore) business sector and the financial services ‘industry’?

Would your 10% tax on “actual income” also apply to the hotel and tourism industry?

Of course you will not respond to these queries even though they are ‘bereft’ of any personal attacks directed at you or any member of your family.

Only goes to show you are no different to the other ‘parties’ who bluntly refused to entertain your harebrained tax plans.

16. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Freedom Crier February 12, 2020 12:19 PM

Everything you have written in this post is so pathetically stupid that it is hard to know where to start. The heart of it is that you appear to think that I’m a supporter of big government, which only shows how utterly ignorant of what my political position is. If you can find any defense of big government in anything that I have written on BU or anywhere else I will donate $100 to your favorite charity. If you fail to find such evidence and quote it here in context it will amount to your admission that you are a filthy liar.

Your choice.

PS Grenville now understands that his 10% flat tax proposal is “a sales tax of 10% on actual revenues/fees.” He has thereby proven that is fully capable of learning from reasoned discourse, a skill I share, but which completely escapes you.

17. Below are some comparisons That may help to give a better idea but the subject matter is too complicated to even use this model to look at.
    When a Government collects more than what a company can make as a profit that is always a problem. Do all the work take all the risk and give what you earn to the government. Bad Idea.

This is the Present System in Place…

Sales including Vat $10,000,000
    Vat payable on Sale 17.5% $1,489,362
    Bought Good @40% Vat Inc. COG $4,000,000
    Vat paid on Good bought $595,745
    Net Vat paid by company $893,617 8.94%
    Profitability of Company $400,000 4.00%
    Old Corp Tax 25% $100,000
    Profit to keep $300,000
    Old way Corp paid to in direct Taxes $993,617
    New way 5% tax on profit $20,000
    Total paid under Mia Now $913,617
    New way Corp Profitability $380,000 3.80%
    Gov total Revenue Old Way @ 25% corp tax $993,617 9.94
    Gov total Revenue new Way @ 5% corp Tax $913,617 9.14

This Example is as bad as the what we presently do

GP2 Way No Vat No Corp Tax (Sales Tax @ 10%)
    Sales including New GP2 Tax $10,000,000
    GP2 Tax payable on Sale $1,000,000
    Bought Good @40% GP2 Tax Inc. COG $4,000,000
    Net Tax paid by company $1,000,000 10.00%
    Profit to keep $400,000
    Gov total Revenue GP2 Way $1,000,000 10.00%

This Below Example is a better way as the sales tax is lower and the Corp gets to keep more of what it earns.

GP2 Way No Vat No Corp Tax (Sales Tax @ 5%)

Sales including New GP2 Tax $10,000,000
    GP2 Tax payable on Sale $500,000
    Bought Good @40% GP2 Tax Inc. COG $4,000,000
    Net Tax paid by company $500,000 5.00%
    Profit to keep(Profit + Savings from Tax) $900,000
    Gov total Revenue GP2 Way $500,000 5.00%

Another point worth noting small business can do the paper work when the accounting is simple but once you start saying some things are vat exclusive and some are Vatable then they want and have to hire an accountant and that is an expensive proposition for a small business so simple tax like what GP2 is proposing is beneficial to all size business but more so small business.

If the 10% sales tax were to remain other taxes would have to go to make the corps move viable. EG: Import Duties or Port Charges which Penalize all Bajans.

In the End What will be the Best Economic Plan that will Bring Prosperity!

https://i.pinimg.com/736x/41/82/6b/41826bafe930cc66bf73becea2442ea3–january–political-views.jpg

18. Thanks for your examples John A. Nice and clear for us non-accountants.

But tell me how would Solutions Barbados plan affect ordinary workers, for example those people working for $400 per week

Those people working for 1,000 per week

For example the two adults in household A are working for $400 per week and $600 per week respectively. They have two young children.

And household B, both adults in the home are working, one for$1,000 per week and the other for $500 per week. Two young children also.

19. I suspect that a flat 10% tax would hurt ordinary working class families, and working/middle class families, but I am not a numbers person, and not too familiar with taxes, except my own.

20. Silly Woman,

No need for further calculations.

What would happen is that if the people work in the private sector they would soon be unemployed. And after the businesses close the government would collect less taxes and so if the people work in the public sector, they would eventually be unemployed.

But you can wait for confirmation from John A. No hard feelings!

21. Sometimes people who were brought up in very comfortable circumstanses have no idea how the rest of their compatriots live.

They have an extremely unrealistic view. They do not know that many people, perhaps most people live from pay check to pay check. Does Solutions Barbados or any political party for that matter know for example how many Bajan families have cash savings of for example between $1,000-$2,000; or $4,000-5,000; or more than $10,000 etc.

Long, long ago I remember a person who subsequently became a member of the political class saying during a CBC debate “well if people can’t find jobs, then they should go overseas and study or something” I was amazed. I suspect that the speaker had no idea that people who are not well educated enough, or well connected enough to find paid work in Barbados have very little hope of going overseas to study. How do you go overseas to study when you may not have the bus fare to go to Bridgeown for a job interview?

People need to get real.

Certainly when I went to work at my first job my parents bought me 2 dresses, a pair of shoes and a handbag. In order to get a third dress i had to wait a month until I got paid and then take the third dress on credit, paid down a little and paid the balance bit by bit until the debt was cleared. hose three dresses served me for a ear or two. Wear one on Monday, one on Tuesday, wash those teo on Tuesday evening and have them to wear on Thursday and Friday.

This is how poor people live.

Poor people don’t have what our political class have taken to calling “fiscal space” but which poor people more correctly call “I have no money”

All of our political class have to get real. Most of us were not raised in upper middle class families with 1-3 children. Most Bajans are still not upper middle class. And let me remind everybody that it is working and lower middle class people who do most of the work of reproducing the work force. That is poor people and lower middle class people have more children, and raise more children. They are the one who reproduce the work force.

Reproduction is WORK. It is not called LABOUR for nothing.

22. @ Silly Woman

The tax plan at 10% was for businesses only. We would have to look at their personal income tax plan for individuals to see what is in store for them.

To recoup the loss on profit caused by the 10% on gross sales as a final tax, as opposed to what exist now, our companies would be forced to increase markups and that would affect all of us.

23. Also remember that any increase in prices always affect those at the lower income level the worst. In other words if an item increases by $5 it is not felt by the person earning $5000 a month, the same way it would be by the person working for a $1000.

24. John AFebruary 12, 2020 5:55 PM

So much for a corporate growth plan. As I said i would like to meet the accountant that recommended this! As I showed above this would shut most companies down in a single year, while making the rest unfinancable by any commercial bank.

25. Most of us are not corporations.

I would still like to see the tax plan for individuals.

How would a Solutions Barbados government work for the majority of us non corporate barbados.

How would it work for ordinary Bajan families, police constables, gas station attendants, housekeepers, sales clerks, beginning civil servants, nursing assistants.

How would it work.For the time being, until the cheap robots come along, how wuld the Solutions Barbados solutions for those people whose labour keeps the corporations going.

How would it work for the lady who cooks the meals for the corporate titian, for the man who does his/her garden work, the the woman who minds his children so that he/she can actually go to work, travel for the job etc. for the ladies who looks after the elderly demented parents of the corparate executives (there is not a robot yet who will mind our elderly demented parents)

26. @ freedom

Your analysis is so flawed I don’t known where to start so I will just mention one issue. The vat on sales is not paid in as collected. It is netted off against the input vat.

Finally 5% as of today’s tax rate on 4% net profit of sales of $10,000,000 = 400,000X5% = 20,000

Plan 2 calls for 10% tax on saLes of $10,000,000 = $ 1000,000

don’t bother to go any further as you are simply confusing issues of mark up which already factored in the net profit of 4% after expenses. You also failed to factor in operating expenses.

Just stick to the 2nd and 3rd paragraphs and you safe as that is all that is required for a comparison.

27. Donna

Meet Freedom Crier
    Note that he is GP2 “pooch licker” and he only he can try to explain SB 10% tax growth plan – which even SB/GP2 is attempting to do.

28. it said both PERSONAL and CORPORATE income tax would be reduced to 10 % of income

29. “This can be done by reducing taxes on personal and corporate revenues to 10% of gross revenues – with no deductions. This will make taxes easier to calculate, pay and audit. It is also fairer.”

30. Where in this proposal isn’t it trickled down economics?

Reducing corporate taxes and the taxes for the rich individuals while roping in those at the lower end that don’t have to currently pay taxes/ or get back a reverse tax.

it would be the lower wages workers that make up the difference for the tax cut for those at the top.

So who claim this isn’t trickled down?

31. @ John A
    @ John2

Very good analysis.

Perhaps those individuals who were annoyed because 2 or 3 contributors asked Grenville to produce the accountant’s report for perusal……. and believed they were pursuing a hidden agenda……

…….. could ask Grenville to use your analysis, see where he went wrong and make the necessary amendments to his economic policies.

32. All political parties including Grenville and SB realistically courting the electorate must be open to being transparent in how it engages the public. In a new dispensation this is non negotiable.

33. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Sage Annunaki

When you plan to open the College on Polemics and Syllogism?

“…Such a proposal to completely transform the corporation tax system- which would effectively get rid of the Income Tax Act and tax accountants- can only come from the fertile imagination of a person closely connected to Don Quixote without the guidance of the level-headed sidekick Sancho Panza the Moor to keep the airhead tied to the ground of reality…”

This is exactly why de ole man need to come to your school cause you call this wannabe politician a madman AND IN THE PROCESS, did not incur any comments from Artaxerxes the Superlative Archiver (for whom I have much respectful regard)

@ Artaxerxes

Have you ever found yourself among a group of people where one person, be it a family member or work colleague IS FOREVER PRETENSIVE?

You ever had cause to speak out about something they did?

For example, of late you have been talking about the use of the Panama Papers why?

I mean, you ent publish the papers, nor is your name among them, yet you feel convicted to defend what you see as their abuse

Why?

I put it to you that there is no difference in the impartial conviction that motivates you to speak out about the Papers’ usage AND “the 3 people who talk about Granville here.

Your focus on The Panama papers is even more of interest to us 3 cause what happened in the past, in a place few of us know about, is less important than me exposing a consummate pretender and liar Granville!

I was hoping that I could get some classes from the Sage TO IMPROVE MY ENGLISH AND BAD WORDS BUT THE SAGE HAS NOT OPENED HIS SCHOOL YET

34. So a gas station attendant, a gardene, a maid, a cook, a baby sitter, a nurses aide, who currently pays no income tax, and who receives a $1,300 reverse tax refund, would pay $40 per week in income tax and would not receive a reverse tax refund.

$40 per week X by 52 weeks=$2,080 per year which the low wage worker would have to pay, in addition the low wage worker would lose the $1,300 reverse tax credit.

$2,080+$1,300=$3,380. So a low wage worker who currently pays no income tax would lose $3,380 per year or $281.00 per month; or $65.00 per week.

Can anybody explain to me how it would help a low wage worker to take home $65.00 per week LESS?

We really need to stop pretending that most Bajans live in upper middle class homes with well educated well paid professional parents.

And we need to stop fooling ourselves that poor people cannot count, and would not understanding that in spite of a 10% flat tax being easier to calculate, that they would not understand how such a tax would literally take the bread out of their mouths.

We need to get real.

35. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ silly Woman

I fraid to axe you to come by me to “assemble” anything.

You is a woman who does eat nuff edoes and yams and ground provisions and you sound very healthy and “cougarish” in the sense of the word nowadays

I fraid that de ole man will get unfair during the “assembly of the flat box” and, when next I come heah, and lie bout my “adventures” you only type up one word!

Hehehehe (without the last “h” cause you is a woman) and wid dat every body get to know bout de ole man business INCLUDING FREEDOM CROAKER.

So I gine tek my time and assemble my own tings effin you please befo’ de news reads

“The Legend, WHILE SUPPOSEDLY BUILDING SOME WOODEN DESK, was found with a Piece of Wood in his hand”

“He and his wood had collapsed and had to be transported to QEH to ICU.”

“No fowl play is suspected, though the ambulance attendants indicate that, even though unconscious, Piece had a big smile on his face and was murmuring the words “Silly I want a piece more” all the way going down in the Ambulance”

No one was found at the house and the doors were closed

36. Seeing as how this is a joke blog, think it appropriate to borrow from,the Joker who famously said –

” I have found a name for my pain, and it is Batman!”

Well…. I have found a name for this pain and it is Fiscal Flatulence!

Wuhlaus, Piece! The Emperor has no clothes on and he farting freely.

Murdah!

All this voodoo economics got me thinking about other African religions and a Caribbean man of real excellence whose brilliance I have revelled in since childhood.

I feel better now.

37. I wish you a speedy recovery. Lolll!!!

38. Goosebumps!

39. All that talent and so handsome too!

40. re No one was found at the house and the doors were closed

PIECE ARE YOU SAYING THAT AFTER SS RUN YOU AGROUND SHE WENT IN SHE GROUND?

HEADLINES SHOULD BE

PIECE HAS A WEAKNESS FOR SWEETNESS AND DROWNED IN THE SYRUP

DR SAYS HE COMMITTED SUICIDE………..MURDER

41. @Artax

As I said above any plan is worth looking at but we must review it without prejudice and based on financial reality and real world application.

Many of us on reviewing BERT said it had nothing in it to promote growth and were called DLP supporters etc. Now 2 years later the fact that no growth occurred has been confirmed by the central bank governor and others.

Many may cuss this blog but at least here we refuse to drink Koolaid and ask for more.

42. Here’s one i had forgotten!

“If nothing go wrong cost of living bound to come down!”

43. @Donna

Lol haven’t heard those songs for years!

Life without laughter is pointless.

44. And since Piece, Silly Woman and GP are intent on being “wicked”-

45. John A,

I am always looking for a laugh.

46. Donnnnaaaa. Behave do. Nenwood Dick??? Lolll!!!

47. CORRECTION: Benwood

48. Silly Woman,

See how skillfully he writes! I sang that song as a child and had no idea what it was the man had fuh she.

49. Now i know why our parents tried to prevent us from singing banja.

You remember when calypso was considered banja?