The article (below) by Barbados Today attempts to capture the contribution on VOB 92.9 Starcom by Minister in the Ministry of Finance Ryan Straughn on the economy and his forecast. To be honest after listening to Straughn – a key man on government’s finance team – the blogmaster was not optimistic the country will see an ease in two years. There are no shovel ready projects and the those in the pipeline are all tourism flavoured.

The banking systems is reported to be awash with money: Barbadians not borrowing, banks not lending or both. There is the sick National Insurance Fund. Not exhaustive but there is a beleaguered middles class who has endured belt tightening mode for more than 10 years under permutations of the Medium Term Fiscal Plan and the Medium Term Development Plan. Now there is BERT!

Thanks to @John A

David, blogmaster

252 responses to “Two More Years”

1. So William do you think Sinckler was making the policy in the last government? Stop being naive for godsakes.

2. William Skinner Avatar

When the policies of the past government were under scrutiny we went after the Minister of Finance. Then we accused the then Governor of the Central Bank of being a conspirator.
    You may not remember this.

3. @ Lorenzo

This is my last conversation with you. You either do not understand or deliberately fabricate. Either way, let us end the conversation now. For the record, I have said, ages ago, that Mr Thompson was bright and had he lived would have been an interesting prime minister. That is hypothetical. I could not say he would be good because I cannot see in to the future.
    About Mr Arthur, I am prepared to take your word for it that Mr Arthur is a top economist. I simply asked for evidence, after some delay, you published something about the performance of the economy and the job numbers. That may be evidence of a good politician, but not of a good economist.
    Don’t reply. I am off.

4. As i have stated the BERT had one target in mind that being that the govt of Barbados repay all loans by any means necessary
    I remember hearing a former PM of Jamaica Seaga when asked what benefits was offered towards growth which would result from the IMF programe his response was simply None and which he furthered stated that when negotiations between Jamaica and IMF were being tabled when the questioned of growth was asked
    The IMF officials replied it was none of their concern
    Going forward the govt looking for growth would be akin to finding a needle in a haystack unless the groundwork which govt had implemented for lowering of Corporate taxes bear fruit
    However if in the past two years nothing has resulted from Corporate receivership
    It is hard to envision any much of anything beneficial coming from Corporate to help create growth
    Growth which is sustainable and reliable in creating jobs

5. @ William

Do the BU crowd understand our form of government? Who makes the decisions and are accountable?

6. William were you sleeping for the last(lost) decade? Frank Alleyne, DeLisle Worrell, Justin Robinson, Don Marshall et al were targeted as being the architects of economic policy.

7. @ Vincent

Don’t mind all you need is a good night sleep to get over the nonesence some write. 2 stiff rums and a good sleep and you will be back tomorrow!

Remember if we let the nonesence go unchallenged the jokers win by default. LOL

8. @John A

Do you give credence to the view making the rounds that Dr. Mascoll is the Central Bank Governor in waiting?

#askingforafriend

9. @ William
    Vincent
    Hal

William I agree with you that basically so far all we have seen is more of the same in terms of a plan. In other words taxation, contraction and lay offs. We are yet to see a growth plan. So far I would say 2 individuals have gained my respect and they are Abraham and Straughn. Abraham for his hands on approach and Straughn for his openness. As for Mascoll with preparing the pitch for the private sector to take the mantle of growth, I give an F as a mark. How the hell that going happen with more taxes coming? If there is $10 circulating in net surplus now and you come for $2 more, how the private sector going do better with $8 than they could of with $10 in an environment of no growth?

Reality vs political fiction once more

10. @ John A

Th Jamaican government is advertising in London for a deputy governor at the central bank. Is this the road Barbados should go: open competition to fill top vacancies?

11. @John A

Do you think Straughn a rookie minister in the finance ministry was lead on policy? Did you hear how many questions he couldn’t answer this week on the program while Mascoll answered all of them without a computer?

12. @ David.

I hope not as so far I find the new GOV to be very balance in his presentations. The last thing I want to see is a hardened politician of a ruling party become the GOV.

Now having said that SO FAR this GOV has not been pressured to print money or do anything foolish, the true test will come when or if something like that was to occur. Then we would see what steel he is made of.

13. William Skinner Avatar

I have reviewed almost every article on BU. I did not read anybody holding those names responsible.Its obvious that you are of the opinion that we must be informed by consultants and not those elected and who sit in cabinet.
    My question remains: Who should be held accountable to the public if the economy is under scrutiny ?

14. @ david.

So far Straughn may be a rookie minister but he has respected his profession and spoken honestly using it as his basis. Probably for that reason he would make a poor politician. I would tell him it’s better to be a poor politician and remain a man true to his conscience though.

15. Do you think Trump makes policy? The deep pockets in the shadows influence policy. It has always been so and it will continue.

16. William Skinner Avatar

Nice to know that the “rookie” in the finance ministry was sent to take the heat. That takes accountability to a whole new level. Climb some more brother…… climb some more.

17. @Hal

I Don’t think we will ever see that happen here. Remember a Governor ” is an extension of the MOF bout hey”

18. @ David.

Don’t mention trump with these here. As much as we may not like his ways his record in the economy is excellent.

new jobs last month 250,000

Unemployment at its lowest for years.

Highest rate of female employment on record.

Corporate earnings at a high

And the list goes on

Here we can’t brag of none of that. So left him out the discussion let’s stay focused on these here.

19. @John A

Trump continued what Obama left, an economy on the up and up after taking it over from Bush in a recession. Let us compare apples with apples. The Barbados economy was at rock bottom with the then Governor printing 50 Rh million dollars a month to help pay public sector wages. That was less than two years ago.

20. William Skinner Avatar

Hal Austin February 8, 2020 2:21 PM

@ William

Do the BU crowd understand our form of government? Who makes the decisions and are accountable?

@ Hal
    The BU crowd craftily guided by the Apologist in Chief are steeped in Duopoly duplicity.

21. @ William

I feel your pain. Can’t you see the level of intelligence you are dealing with? Either be polite and treat such silliness with respect, or tell them to bugger off. I am of the bugger off variety. Life is too short.

22. @ David.

So What has changed in the 2 years here?

Are the SOEs now operating without subsidy? NO

Have we had any economic growth?NO

Has a redevelopment plan been put in place for the agricultural sector?NO

Have furniture manufactures of furniture say been guaranteed a percentage of the business for furnishing the 1500 new rooms by legislation? NO

Has the alternative energy sector benefited for an open market?NO

Has the duty on electric vehicles fallen so as to reduce the dependence on oil imports? NO

Has our revenue collection agencies improved? NO. Actually we just forgave $400 million in vat receipts cause we couldn’t get it collect.

I could go on but my fingers tired typing. Wait though we get a few garbage trucks and some roads getting fix and weed so I still grateful!

23. Folks forgive the paragraph starting furniture manufacturers of furniture. Lol

Eyes getting tired so going and rest them. Nice chatting with everyone as usual.

24. @John A

Agree it would be a shame if we continue with decisions to further erode the perception of independence of the central bank.

25. @John A

Let us be rational here. To cut off subsidies Big Bang what will it mean?

Who expected economic growth after a decade of contraction? Try to be realistic. We all want growth but it will not happen just so. As the government has been saying of late, the focus now there has been some stabilizing to the economy is to nurture the investment climate and support growth initiatives.

This blogmaster knows little about agriculture suffice to say since Tom and then Owen moved Barbados to a service economy there seems to be a hesitance to prioritize agriculture. To be honest when the last DLP Government was able to secure Benn and Paul there was high expectation agriculture development would have taken place at pace. Just this week the PM and MOA made some encouraging noises but the proof is always in the eating.

Again there seem to be a hesitance to be aggressive with RE implementation to avoid destabilizing BL&P. Now there is talk about drill baby drill. We have to continue to lobby.

Same for the importation of vehicles – a major contributor to government coffers. One has to remember the tax structures must be managed in a way to avoid destabilizing government revenues because political parties are in the business of garnering popularity.

Revenue collection needs to be improve, we need to do more. With the largest Rh cabinet in our history and the world per capita there is no excuse to not have many pots on the boil.

Regards, the apologist

26. PROFITS

FirstCaribbean International Bank has recorded a US$170.5 million profit despite challenges in the region and abroad.

Chairman David Ritch reported on the performance in the company’s 2019 annual report and said last year’s net income was a 69 per cent improvement over the US$100.8 million profit earned in 2018.

“Despite all the challenges outlined above, prudent management of the bank has meant that 2019 has been a good year for CIBC FirstCaribbean,” he said.

27. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin at 2 :37 PM

I am surprised at Jamaica’s advertising in London for a deputy Gov. I thought they had quite a crop of bright juniors. By the way ,I noticed that the new Governor of BoE is an insider. Did the Carney experiment not work out?

28. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    at the last CBB review, there was a new (fall 2019) Deputy Gov, a Mr. Alwyn Jordan

29. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants

Re FCIB’s Profit . We on the ground are not surprised. If one lowers the costs of funds , raise and introduced user fees , reduced high risk loans that should be the outcome .

30. @ Vincent,

Open competition does not stop local talent from coming through. It just means they have to compete. The Jamaicans are always more open about these things. They want the best. Look at Kaymar.
    Carney was out of his league. But the Brits always go for a safe pair of hands. The best governor we never had was Lord (Adair) Turner. His problem is that he can think for himself and is genuinely bright.

31. @ Northern

They have more than on deputy. This is for the senior deputy, the number two..

32. @VC
    By the way ,I noticed that the new Governor of BoE is an insider. Did the Carney experiment not work out?
    +++++++++++++++
    Please direct the query to an impartial advisor, HA has been voluble on his preferences and they didn’t include Carney. BTW because they hired someone from outside the usual stream that doesn’t mean that future hires would be outsiders.

33. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ NO at 5:10 PM

Mr. Jordan is a former economist of the CBB. He had an extended ” sabbatical” at the CB of Bahamas. He knows the ropes.

34. @ Sargeant

Are you saying I am not objective. Carney was simply not the best person. Read the reviews of his term.

35. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin

I too was impressed by Adair Turner’s performance. I admire his clarity of thinking.

36. @ Vincent

You are not all bad. He is incredibly bright. I attended his farewell lecture at the London Business School when he was laving the FCA and was like a teenager at a pop concert. If you like ideas you will love Adair.

37. @HA

If I recall correctly you were opposed to Carney’s hiring from the get go, are you seeking negative reviews to support confirmation bias?

38. @Sargeant

He should not have been appointed, as I have said. Adair Turner was the better choice. And his performance as governor was not stellar. Thus the suggestion of reading the reviews of his term.
    He came from the Bank of Canada, a second division central bank, and at a time when the Bank of England needed steady hands. The problem is that the Tories wanted someone they could control. They obviously could not control Turner.

39. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Could our low-growth outurn a result of poor statistics. ? It’s is no secret that the BSS is under-staffed and under-funded. Are they using the latest nation accounting methodology? Are the data they are using relevant, timely, and accurate. What about the assumption used in the model for extrapolation? are we using the correct deflator and base year? When was the last time the economy was rebased?

It’s about time now for us to establish a credible central national statistic agency where data is timely and easily accesable.

40. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin at 5 :52 PM

A good back hand point you are making to one of the Blogmaster’s concerns. The independence of a central bank depends on the character, competence and suitability of the Governor for the job. One needs to acquire the skill of managing one’s boss.

41. David
    Yes left out Trump and all the good thing happening in the USA economy
    And i agree with a that they are good
    One thing he forget to mention is the amount of debt trump is racking up to keep the economy going

Poor little barbadis had already gone past it’s debt limit and have very few resources so it can do wha the USA/ trump is doing

Sooner or latter some one will have to repay the debt trump is racking up and trump will long be gone from power

42. Piece…chickens are home to roost..

See what happens when you have been stealing your peope’s creative ideas and innnovations for decades, this one will bite, no one should share any ideas with these lowlifes who have fought against black inventors and creators for decades, stealing their inventions and selling them out.

Don’t think any sane person would go near her or any of those other frauds wit their ideas and creations, they know better…IDB would have to send in monitors.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/02/08/moreno-idb-will-back-new-bajan-inventors-creators/?fbclid=IwAR3Ob0GPOgcM0ZeZqRpnu8wi_Kf1_n3cqRbVhC0dS5Mgf_xbAyoLma0LSzc

“The head of Barbados’ main development financier has thrown out a challenge to Prime Minister Mia Mottley and her fellow leaders to produce more inventors and creative minds to help solve lingering and emerging challenges affecting the Caribbean.

At the same time, President of the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) Luis Alberto Moreno said that institution stands ready to offer assistance.

Moreno told the opening here of the IDB’s ninth annual consultation of Caribbean governors forum: “As we begin our conversation today, I want to urge you to consider the need that we have to harness the untapped potential of all the citizens of the Caribbean.”

43. Piece the Legend Avatar

You, Honourable Blogmaster said and I quote

“… David February 8, 2020 9:41 AM

How does a government steal ideas from people in a democracy that in theory is meant to be participatory?

#askingforabuffoon…”

Are you for real?

When you sit and write these statements approaching jobby does anything go off in your head?

Would you at least try to reach out to John Q and ask him to use his source and see the number of cases of John Public vs The Givernment if Barbados for government stealing people’s ideas!

You may for example want to reach out and ask a question of Basil Scott Attorney at Law who would show you conclusively what sort of buffoon you are!

Try to raise the collective game of the BU BORG or direct some of you not to lower the standard of the bright ones among your number

44. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ John A

One noted that you are veering to the cardinal north with your comments.

You said and de ole man quotes

“… John A February 8, 2020 11:51 AM

@Hal

It is looking to me like no one sees the need to break down our reality in terms that can be simply understood.

The opposition and the press for sure have failed us, so it seems we are expected to just follow quietly and drink the Koolaid….”

The issue always was one that IF ATHERLEY WAS IN FACT A MUGABE PLANT, how would the team assembled around him BE GIVEN LICENCE TO SPEAK OUT ABOUT THESE ISSUES facing Barbados!

Not to speak, BEING MUZZLED AS THEY ARE BY THE MUGABE DIRECTIVE, obviously will attract the notice AND COMMENTS of citizens, LIKE YOU!

And for them to speak, UNDER SUCH PRESSURE, would risk internal wrangling AND RUPTION, which wiser warriors HAVE CONSIDERED, AND DECIDED AGAINST!

An opportunity WILL PRESENT ITSELF, before the next General Elections to test the waters and see where Bajans Mind Space is!

45. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr William Skinner

Sir, I now see why, when you wrote here, the First of the Rented Jackasses Hee Hee (now supposedly retired from Bu, would rush to Barbados Underground and call you all sorts of names!

Your expert summary at 12.13 pm among several other truths said, and i quote

“…There was never any clear economic program to create jobs or growth.

The next step convince the gullible that some fancy “ homegrown program” quickly endorsed by the IMF will save devaluation restore foreign reserves and it will be clear sailing.

The cool aid drinkers and the Apologist in Chief were all over BU hailing this “ brilliant” policy…”

AND THIS IS WHY MUGABE MOTTLEY IS PRESIDING OVER THESE IDEAS GATHERING 2020 meetings all over the island SPREADING A WEB TO TEIF PEOPLES IDEAS!!!

Both you, Mr Hal Austin and John A have seen through the sham

Mr Austin says and I quote

“…Instead of running around the country looking to steal ideas from people, the president should be drilling down on policy surrounded by good and radical ideas…”

VISIONLESS LEADER FOLLOWED BY BLIND PEOPLE!

46. @fortyacres

You have no confidence in the BSS?

47. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your help please

48. You continues to expose your idiocy on the blog. Barbadians attending an ideas forum of their free will to share suggestions/ideas to improve the lot of country is to be discouraged? It seems in your haste to be the Joe Atherley on the blog you prefer to conflate works to be patented/copyrighted with the sharing of routines ideas of citizens borne from civic responsibility – something that represents the pillars upon which a participatory democracy is built.

49. Google is upping its Canadian presence with a plan to open three new offices, giving it enough space to accommodate 5,000 employees by 2022.

https://www.cbc.ca/news/business/google-jobs-canada-1.5454552

50. A quick peek in BU and I noticed that even in my absence the former Senior Editor still finds it necessary to call my name. It is also true he’s still misleading the blog. Remember few months ago he argued that pension funds are not invested in commercial development? https://www.dtzinvestors.com/en/news/2019/may/dtz-investors-secures-approval-for-redevelopment-of-southernwood-retail-park/
    Back to maintaining my sanity while talkers do what they are good at–talk. One still could not muster the courage to ask ‘Mugabe’ a question at the townhall in London. #enjoyingmytimeawayfromBu