The monthly murder analysis extracted from caribbeansignal.com – BU, blogmaster

The final month of the year saw two murders taking place. The victims were Rondell Alexander (27 years old) and Kirk Bowen (26 years old). The killings took place in the parishes of St. Michael and St. Thomas respectively. Both deaths were shooting related. 2019 saw a total of at least 49 murders taking place across Barbados.

Heat Map of Murders in Barbados – January to December 2019
Table of Murders in Barbados – December 2019
Chart: Murders Per 100,000 People January to December 2019

Read full report on caribbeansignal.com.

101 responses to “December 2019 Murder Statistics”

1. Did we just hear former head of the Police Service Commission say that?

2. Piece the Legend Avatar

Say what Honourable Blogmaster?

3. Three murders in one month
    Another one bite the dust

4. they were 4 or 5 shootings in the Orleans last week but absolute nothing in the nation or on the news until this morning in Barbados today

5. Piece the Legend Avatar

You have to realize that the Gathering is en vogue SO ALL UNCOMPLIMENTARY NEWS WILL BE BLACKED OUT!

If the news is not SUPPRESSED THE NEWS MEDIA WILL NOT GET ANY GOVERNMENT ADVERTISING Dollar$

6. A terrifying shooting Tuesday afternoon in New Orleans sent bystanders scampering for safety,

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/01/15/send-in-the-army/

7. Hants the are criminals now using fully automatic glocks that have modified with switches that have been smuggled in china but useless police force and customs still haven’t caught on bunch useless cunts

8. @John

We have several Johns posting here, please change your name to avoid confusion.

John John A John2

Red

9. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Brother Hants

In the article that you posted this is an excerpt

“…“I am frightened and scared because it feels like the shootings are starting back again.”

A year ago, they recalled a walkthrough of the area by Attorney General Dale Marshall, the police high command and the Barbados Defence Force’s top brass in response to a sudden upsurge in gun violence. At the time, Marshall admitted the depth of the problem was great.

But he assured residents the problem would be dealt with…”

The fact is that Teets Marshall IS OUT OF HIS DEPTH!

And until Mugabe Mottley brings in expertise WHO CANNOT BE BOUGHT OUT BY HER DRUGLORD ASSOCIATES and has free reign to solve these issues we going try to BREK the 100 mark this year!

To catch a teif you got to know how teif does think!

Right now, only de small teif getting kill!

For there to be a seismic shift and stoppage of this crime before we hit 100 deaths in 2020 ONE NEEDS TO HIT AT THE CENTRE OF THE HIVE!

For that to happen, one must engage outside expertise THAT CANNOT BE BOUGHT and give them the support they need

A special Section of the Judiciary ASSIGNED SOLELY TO DEAL WITH THESE PROSECUTIONS!

SO INVESTIGATIONS, ARREST, PROSECUTIONS AND SENTENCING ARE DONE EXPEDITIOUSLY!

And what is being done is not know EVEN TO THE Attorney General or the Prime Minister CAUSE IF DEM KNOW, de whole plan effed up!

10. PIECE
    YOU REALLY EXPECT THE JUDICIARY TO BE FIXED? GET SERIOUS MAN
    THE ONLY THING WE CAN GET DONE IN BARBADOS IS UNNECESSARY AMPUTATIONS. ASK GP2 IF YOU DOUBT ME

11. Piece the Legend Avatar

Dr. GP my fellow myope and apostate

I still have a little hope that something good might arise from this madness.

Look at this article excerpt

“… Cop accused of assault – by Barbados Today January 15, 2020

Policewoman Vonnette Latoya Lee has allegedly found herself on the wrong side of the law.

The 34-year-old officer, of Lot A10 Berlin Road, Woodbourne, St Philip appeared before the District ‘A’ Magistrates’ Court today on three charges…”

So while it would appear that she was beating people WHAT IS INCREDIBLE IS THAT SHE GET CHARGED.

In Amurica she would have lost her job for police brutality but at least something happened here

During de next three months approaches are going to be made to the complainants TO DROP THE MATTER ,so we will wait and see!

12. Can you confirm your source?

13. Piece the Legend

I’m a bit curious. Do you know for a fact if Lee’s charge was as a result of police brutality or because she is a WPC, you’re making that assumption?

I know of several police officers who have been accused of assault and other crimes, charged, found guilty and subsequently resigned or dismissed from the RBPF.

However, what I can “say” is, sometime ago, when Lee was assigned to Operations Control, she was charged for not reporting for duty for several days……was arrested, charged and released on $5,000 bail.

14. St Alban’s Primary School is closed today after a man was shot and killed while dropping off his son.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243513/update-school-closed-fatal-shooting

15. @Hants

Executed.

16. Barbados murder rate 2020 keeps climbing and AG tell the people to hold strain
    This guy needs to be fired forth with

17. @ David,

I hope Bajans are outraged at this killing. That little boy is likely to need therapy for several years.

Condolences to the little boy and his family and friends.

We can expect a whole lot of bs from Ministers and the COP.

18. @Hants

The murders we are witnessing is the result of years of a dysfunctional society coming to bear. We tend to focus on the symptoms at the expense of the causal factors because it feeds sensationalism.

19. Mummy say he was a nice loving fella, loved her, his son and his family.

I don’t know why only nice boys get murdered.

Don’t know why somebody don’t kill the bad men.

20. And not only this little boy. Two of my neighbors little children attend that school. Two of the nicest, smartest, cutest, tidiest,most well mannered kids you could ever encounter.

They did not deserve to witness big hard back MEN doing foolishness AGAIN.

21. Mia words on crime while campagaing was “not up in hey”

Well all and sundry at home and abroad are seeing what is happening is up in hey
    Mia how long are you going to keep the same people on the job who are helping to shove barbados society into a cesspool of violence because of there inability to find solutions
    At least the sounds of the school children screaming and people running for their lives should be enough and sufficient a persuasion to say enough is enough
    Where there is no vision the people perish

22. Why must we make attack this issue from the political angle everytme? This is only one facet to consider.

23. @David
    The murders we are witnessing is the result of years of a dysfunctional society coming to bear. We tend to focus on the symptoms at the expense of the causal factors because it feeds sensationalism
    Now, now David! You are pointing fingers, remember the words of the Atty General after the murder at the school? “Now is not the time to point fingers”. Let me know when he gives the OK.

24. @Sargeant

We have to depoliticize certain issues, this is one of them. There is Trinidad and Jamaica we can learn.

25. 2 Timothy 3
    1 This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.

2 For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,

3 Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good,

4 Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;

5 Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.

6 For of this sort are they which creep into houses, and lead captive silly women laden with sins, led away with divers lusts,

7 Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.

LIKE UM OR LIKE UM BUT UM IS TRUE

26. @ GP January 16, 2020 3:04 PM

“UM IS TRUE”, alright!

But applicable today as they were in the days of the Jewish writer of that letter to Timothy.

How about the days when Cain killed his brother poor Abel or Lot offering his daughters gang-raped by lovers of angelic men?

There is nothing new under the Sun.

The challenge today is that those in authority entrusted with the duties to protect the citizens have prostituted themselves to be bought by certain individuals involved in the drug and the other buy-and-sell trades in the importation of illegal weapons.

This is karma at her best and her rain will fall also on the innocent until blind Justice arrives to deal with those responsible for those illegal weapons now in the hands of black fools.

Remember when that shipment of condemned chicken wings were imported and swept under the carpet?

Do you think it was only dead chicken wings that were in the container(s)?

Now who is singing for his supper for this blatant act of corruption?

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Correct @David the symptoms of society’s rot!

@Hants, re “I hope Bajans are outraged at this killing. That little boy is likely to need therapy for several years.” ….
    That’s all true but if my father lives by the sword then it’s reasonable that one day I may see him die by the sword also!

Recently, a friend was binge watching episodes of that popular series “Breaking Bad” and I watched a few but then demurred and wanderered away….it got to me!

That series if u are familiar depicts the conscious acts of very smart high school chemistry teacher who “cooks” methamphetamine to manage his financial problems of a son with cerebral palsy and his own terminal cancer…he becomes fifthy rich but quickly loses all moral moorings with killings and other desperate criminal acts done to maintain his meth business enterprise….

His children too would need lots of therapy if they saw the bodies he dissolved in acid or the many other lives he ended… or if they saw their dad executed one day on way to school.

You can’t live ‘abnormal’ criminal lives and try to fit them so sweeetly into some sorta normal existence …not today anyhow….not in BIM and no where else!

There are too many of these Bajan young gangsters who perceive that it’s NORMAL to be wild criminals showing themselves in videos with AK47s, pounds of gold around your neck and other trapping of illicit activities and then parade the next day as a decent, well meaning parent.

There are too many of these older elite gangsters who also accept as NORMAL their parade as decent, well meaning parents after they steal from clients at their law firms, corruptly laundry money via fraudulent invoicing or trans-ship drugs and guns on beautiful yachts.

Societal rot …through and through… cooking meth, sellng weed or rampant corruption! NOT a damn thing will change until and unless a large number of bad people are taken off the scene!

28. The media has become a part of the problem
    Now using cover up methods in avoidance of telling the truth

29. When is MIa going to hold a press conference on these ongoing murders
    She for one has been the most boisterous asking past govt to speak to the people
    Now it is her turn to speak her voice is silent.

30. What is Mia going to do? Have these individuals perpetrating crime to desist tomorrow? Or have the delinquent parents suddenly become responsible?

The part she needs to take care of to ensure the Ports have scanners, the police is well equipped and the DPP and Solicitor’s office is well manned. That integrity legislation is enacted and operationalized etc. This is a multifaceted issue.

31. Social media is ablaze asking for the AG to step down or Mia do the right thing and shove him out the door

32. Trust you to try to distract. It will NOT work.

33. @David
    I am not politicizing anything, the Atty Gen. has no problem politicizing some issues. In any event how does he know where people are willing point fingers? They may blame the parents, or school culture or teenagers or TV or the boys on the block or the Church or society in general.

I am waiting for his take on this latest shooting.

34. With children lives being in danger
    The call for AG to step down is loud and clear all.across social media

35. @Sargeant

We have to resist being led by narratives from the political class. It has to stop.

36. Why even bother to post the video
    The AG talks about a “handfull of people comitting murder
    This guy is clueless
    His first thought should be on stopping the drugs and guns that flow upon the shores ending up in the hands of people
    It is the guns and drugs stupid
    First deal with that problem
    No guns No drugs therin lies the answers to barbados escalating murders
    The sad truth being that if this problem persist innocent lives would be taken
    It was only Gods mercy that saved the children and other passengers in that car
    But as for you AG u should be fired you are a waste

37. This crime spree not going away
    Imagine the AG cant catch a handful of those people committing the murder
    Wonder what he would do if they were hundreds
    Dont mek me laugh a handful of people
    The AG is really a joker fuh trut

38. Piece the Legend Avatar

What is a fatwah?

And what is its relationship to crime PARTICULARLY THE MURDER YESTERDAY OF THE DRUG DEALER at St Albans!

“…A fatwa is an Islamic religious ruling, a scholarly opinion on a matter of Islamic law.

A fatwa is issued by a recognized religious authority in Islam…”

The most renown of these fatwas was “…On 14 February, Ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini, the Supreme Leader of Iran and one of the most prominent Shi’a Muslim leaders, issued a fatwa calling for the death of Salman Rushdie and his publishers for the Satanic Verses”

It is time for the Druglords in Barbados and the Caribbean to create their own fatwahs

Killing your own WHILE ILLEGAL cannot be legislated away.

In fact, with your known associations with the Prime Minister Mottley, it is obvious that even the Attorney General Teets Marshall and the Commissioner of Police CANT TOUCH WUNNA.

But wunna drug lords HAVE TO ISSUE A FATWAH AGAINST THESE KILLERS AT ST ALBANS!

They have “written the satanic verses yesterday WHEN THEY KILLED THAT MAN in the car with their children!”

You drug lords HAVE TO DESTROY THE KILLERS AND SEND A MESSAGE THAT NO SUCH EFFING MURDER MUST EVER HAPPEN AGAIN!

Any such murder of the INNOCENTS, and this is such a murder because those children ARE SCARRED FOR LIFE, such murders WILL MEAN IMMEDIATE DESTRUCTION TO THE KILLERS!

You have to have rules else wunna is just animals!

39. Piece the Legend Avatar

How many of wunna remember when de ole man post dis last year

https://imgur.com/gallery/BRPuA9k

There will be 75 murders in 2020!

One is not NOT POLITICIZING this matter!

But the fact is that TEETS MARSHALL simply does not know what to do to quash this epidemic!

Listen to de man ingrunce

“…The conviction of former Government minister Donville Inniss demonstrates what is possible when people say what they know, said Attorney General Dale Marshall.

“It is significant that the conviction came about because individuals who had knowledge of the events were prepared to speak out and to give evidence about wrongdoing.

“This is something that is required at all levels in Barbados’ society whether dealing with the scourge of corruption or the scourge of gun violence…”

“SNITCHES GET STITCHES” TEETS!

You, nor you people, do not instill any confidence in confidentiality

De ole man gine tell wunna de answer IN A PARABLE THOUGH

Wunna know what PREDICTIVE TEXT IS & WHAT IT DOES?

“…ith predictive text, you can write and complete entire sentences with just a few taps.

As you type, you can see choices for words and phrases you’d probably type next…”

http://imgur.com/a/Jp2IoFU

So for example when wunna do dis interdiction yesterday wunna did ***

So, in order to *** more ofter wunna gots to *** bu doing ***

But since your top Policeman and judiciary are involved in *** then you have to ***

Wunna unnerstan de ole man?

40. Piece the Legend Avatar

Give de ole man a consultancy for one year AND I WILL MEK MOST OF DE CRIME BOUT DEAH DECREASE RADICALLY

But de ole man will only work wid and through Jeff Cumberbatch and a specific cadre of HR competed under him!

WHAT IS THE REDUCTION OF CRIME IN BARBADOS WORTH FOR YOU?

heheheheh

41. Hope all is keeping count
    Another victim of a gunshot dies
    But watch this govt not gonna include this one
    Most likely the death report might say he died from diabetes or some RH
    This guy was shot last month which would bring the total murders for 2019 to 50
    What Mottley ought tp do is go to Ghana and bring back them slave bones

42. Owen Allister Mottley, who was shot in both legs last month died on Wednesday.

Condolences to his family and friends.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243526/shooting-victim-dies

43. @Piece the Legend January 17, 2020 4:50 AM “But wunna drug lords HAVE TO ISSUE A FATWAH AGAINST THESE KILLERS AT ST ALBANS! They have “written the satanic verses yesterday WHEN THEY KILLED THAT MAN in the car with their children!” You drug lords HAVE TO DESTROY THE KILLERS AND SEND A MESSAGE THAT NO SUCH EFFING MURDER MUST EVER HAPPEN AGAIN!”

But Piece word on the street is that the St. Albans killee and the presently unknown St. Alban’s killer are/were both drug lords. Maybe the killing is the drug lords way of already sending a message.

I doubt very much that it was a random killing. I expect that the killing was so well targeted that nobody else was physically injured, although no doubt the children present have suffered untold harm.

if I know this and if you and the police do not, then i posit that wunna are spending way too much time at your desks and at your computers and not enough time LISTENING on the streets.

44. There is no gainsaying the fact that Singapore is generally considered to be a most acceptable and desirable development model for developing nation states. Barbados is 166 square miles with a population of approximately 285,000…THOUSAND…with 30…THIRTY… murders occurring in 2017.Singapore is an island (-city-state) of 278 square.miles with a population of approximately 5.6 million… MILLION… with 11…ELEVEN… murders occurring in 2017..Barbados has,practically speaking,abolished the mandatory death sentence/execution for those convicted of murder, whereas Singapore has maintained the death penalty and those found guilty are still being executed. Perhaps we should consider A REFERENDUM ON CAPITAL PUNISHMENT FOR MURDER and LET THE PEOPLE DECIDE ! After all,”VOX POPULI VOX DEI.! And let us also ensure that is applied irrespective of race,colour,creed, or socio-economic background ! Let us also consider meaningful legislation with respect to integrity,transparency, and accountability so that the poor, the down-trodden,the less fortunate in our society are less exploited by those in authority…the political ,social and economic elite !

45. Unfortunately the poor would always be the underdog in small island societies and having the death plenty would see more of them executed more so than the those high and mighty and powerful committing identical crimes
    The judicial system in barbados is corrupt and shameless to the core
    Exhibit A Charles Herbert
    One can bet that if his colour was black he would still be rotting in jail waiting his day in court for drug importation

46. @JP
    11 murders with 5.6 million people.
    I couldn’t believe it, but you are 100% correct. To have a murder rate comparable to Barbados, Singapore would need more than 700 murders.

When I think of St Lucy, then 3 murders in 2019 are astounding. This only shows how difficult it is to make sense of looking at murder rates by themselves; other data need to be considered. We (Barbados) can and must do better,

Murder rates
    https://www.worldatlas.com/articles/murder-rates-by-country.html

Crime rates:
    http://worldpopulationreview.com/countries/crime-rate-by-country/
    (Statistics were/are not povided for Barbados in this list.

47. A situation that I see many West Indian parents encountering is that some of their children think of the islands as places for vacation and not as homes.

We send them to the island frequently and for extended vacations, but there come a point when they lose interest.

Have we tire them out? What did they see that we missed?

It make me wonder what informs this thinking. Are we (the older ones) locked into nostalgia and good old memories of a simpler time? Are they (younger generation) able to see the cold brutal reality and wants none of it.

I will probably anger a few …

48. While the AG is continuing his tepid attempts to moderate the level of criminal activity in the island, the hand- picked Speaker of the House is giving aid and comfort to one accused who among other things is charged with shooting at Police.

Every accused has the right of a defense at trial. Should that defense be led by the Speaker of the House who in his other robes is charged with being an impartial arbiter in the debate in the Hof A?

A 30-0 result means there is no need for impartiality and the PM seems not to be able to rein in her Speaker.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/01/17/cop-accused-shot-at-me/