Submitted by Kemar J. D Stuart, President of The Young Democrats

Foreign Policy discussion has not been a strong pillar of discussion within the political environment as it is perceived the voting public may not be too keen on engaging political parties on their foreign policy positions during campaigning or debate time. However after last May 24th 2018 general election an ethos of international relations came into the limelight where the Barbados Prime Minister’s engagement of the African Continent has brought an interest to understanding foreign affairs and the reason for frequent travel to foreign nations.

Through a CARICOM initiative a joint diplomatic mission in Kenya was opened in December 2019 on behalf of member countries of CARICOM governments. This diplomatic mission is the first of its kind on the African continent for Barbados and other CARICOM member states. Such an initiative under the Treaty of Chaguaramas, would be undertaken by the Council for Foreign and Community relations however picturesque discussion of information surrounding impending trade agreements would be more substantial.

While Barbados and individual CARICOM states may have individual nation to nation relationships with African countries there is currently no trade agreement between CARICOM and any African countries. What exist are bilateral arrangements and double taxation agreements which are limited in exploration i.e. Barbados and its planned High Commission to Ghana, the removal of Visa requirements for nationals from eight African countries. Citizens must differentiate the difference between collective CARICOM Foreign policy and Barbados individual Foreign policy. Given reluctance to debate a clear Foreign Policy position before committing Barbados to such, the Barbadian public learns of its Foreign policy position in overseas press conferences at the signing of unknown agreements by the country’s Foreign Minister.

The future of Caribbean diplomats must not only be in a position to exercise their functions as representatives of their Governments but should also have a thorough understanding of trade, finance, investment and technology in order to promote exports, tourism and investment including the opening up of traditional and emerging markets for commerce and business . Given that the Cotonou Agreement between the European Union (EU) and African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of states is coming to an end the thrust of foreign policy must be deeper than cultural links and the commonality of being ‘black’. Barbados and the Caribbean currently transmit more cultural impulses to African than it receives from the Continent so the premise of negotiatons must be to derive benefits for the Caribbean in the industries listed above. 2020 is an interesting year to hear the policy position of CARICOM and Africa and the policy position of Barbados and Africa at a bilateral level within an economic development space.

More than 1/3 of West Indians live abroad, as a foreign policy position Barbados and CARICOM states should consider CARIcities within metropolitan states. CARIcities involves establishing collective commercial facilities, legal advisory services, West Indian Banks, outreach and research centers from the UWI and other institutions of collective representation of West Indian ideals. However, we gatherin 2020.

81 responses to “Foreign Policy in Barbados and CARICOM”

1. A well thought out article but don’t expect much response here
    In light of having no opposition all that is now left are the voices of the few who sees a laughable comical performance on the world stage by Mia lauded as creating growth

2. Not quite sure what the point of this article is…

That arrangements between African countries and Caribbean countries are bilateral in nature at the moment.
    Barbados’ initiatives in foreign affairs are not Caricom.
    That the Cotonou is coming to an end and we need to seek a new arrangement, but isn’t that what’s going on here with the diplomatic forays into African countries?

The author seems to want to criticise the government but ends up effectively saying they are doing by saying “well yes we do need to seek a new arrangement in our relationships with African countries”

3. Mariposa

Trust you to sum up this nonsense, penned by a young Democrat, as “a well thought out article.”

And since you see it at such, then perhaps you may want to explain to BU, what points the author is trying to make.

On one hand, Stuart seems to be critical of government’s engagement with Ghana and CARICOM’s initiative of a joint diplomatic mission in Kenya and he hasn’t presented any evidence to support any wrong doing on the part of government. On the other, he seems to be in agreement.

4. Historically Barbados and the Caribbean have not enjoyed deep relations with Africa. Mia as the elected government is duty bound to pursue opportunities. Agree with the general concern by the author that Barbadians show little interest in foreign affairs.

5. Wuhloss! There is a Stuart at the head of a Branch of the Dems? I thought that there was an embargo on anyone named “Stuart” heading any arm of the DLP? De fella better get heself down to the Registry for a name change, how about “Stewart”?

6. David BU

Yes, I also agree with the author that Barbadians seem not too interested in foreign affairs…….. unless of course, it has something to do with Trump or Boris.

I also agree the Mottley led BLP administration “is duty bound to pursue opportunities.” However, the pursuit of those opportunities should not be driven by self interest or by a desire to create a legacy……. but for the development of Barbados and its citizens.

7. @Artax

To be honest and pragmatic if her interest collide with those of national, could care less.

8. @Sargeant

What is in a name?

9. Pursuing deepening relations with Africa is the correct thing to do. Over the years some attempts have been made but they fizzled out. The reason people don’t appear to be interested in foreign affairs, is because the ministry takes a backseat to more high profile ones. Building solid relations with Africa is in our geopolitical interest.

10. @David
    What’s in a name?
    Here are two different interpretations;
    What’s in a name? that which we call a rose
    By any other name would smell as sweet;

.&

One’s name is mud
    One’s reputation has been tarnished, discredited, one is out of favour

BTW Stuart and Stewart are the same (you could look it up)

Life is too short, I don’t take myself too seriously, neither should you.

11. @William

Maxine McClean was a senior minister in Cabinet last government and Jerome is also senior. This status should give them the opportunity to pursue relevant foreign affairs initiatives.

12. The blogmaster has some time for Kemar. He is young and is willing to put his views out there for critique.

13. @ William

Does the Mottley government have a coherent foreign policy? If so, what is it?

14. To Artax and Observer , yes i am critiquing the Governments use of Foreign policy or lack there of for moot points and photo opportunities. Foreign policy should be discussed at home before committing a country to such, and there is no evidence so far to show the foreign initiatives by Barbados has amounted to any economic development initiatives to help Barbados’ cause or the Caribbean. No trade deals, no investment, no commercial or business developments or has there been hashed out discussion within the political environment only at international press conferences we find out little . The call is to bring foreign policy discussion into a national debate so citizens can have a say. I also provided suggestions to take the photo opportunities further that and to use the travels to African for region benefit and not so much political postering . Yes the nonsense i wrote is from a STUART and DLP member get accustom to hearing Kemar Stuart and get accustom to hearing the DLP . Points made for your clarification !

15. Amen. Spot on Kemar

16. @ Kemar

You are the outstanding DLP voice of this generation. Keep it up.

17. @ Hal

Quite frankly I don’t know. Back in the 60s there was more movement in relation to Africa throughout the entire Caribbean. The post independence period seemed to have had some common goals but after independence and the weakening of the Organization of African Unity interest declined.
    We now have to wait and see where the current efforts are heading.

18. @ Kemar Stuart

De ole man commends you for a good article that takes another perspective on the Mugabe Regime gallivanting

“…The future of Caribbean diplomats must not only be in a position to exercise their functions as representatives of their Governments but should also have a thorough understanding of trade, finance, investment and technology in order to promote exports, tourism and investment including the opening up of traditional and emerging markets for commerce and business…”

The point that you have made WHICH SURPRISINGLY ENOUGH Artaxerxes did not comment on, lies in these words “…but should also have a thorough understanding of trade, finance, investment and technology in order to promote…”

Service in the Foreign Service departments on NON BANANA REPUBLIC COUNTRIES requires something more than sucking the minister’s pooch.

It requires exactly the competencies your perspective sought to bring to this subject that the BU BORG representative nor Mariposa CANNOT SEE!

Artaxerxes can see this but preferred to toy with Mariposa heheheheh

As usual de ole man “going go north to come south…”

“…the Foreign Service Officer Test (FSOT) requires a wide range of knowledge of various subjects including geography, economics, history, government, English, (think SAT) and popular culture…”

In short, appointment to these critical posts IS NOT FOR THE SYCOPHANTS OF THE NEW ADMINISTRATION but for “competent dexterous minded people ” who can engage the requisite counterparts in the sovereign states they are deployed!

Simply put Kumar, the Marine who guards a US EMBASSY is not going to be the Economic Officer or CIA agent in country.

So when one took a Maxine MClean and made her Minister of Foreign affairs you essentially are taking a poor talk show moderator AND TOSSING THEM INTO THE DEEP END OF THE INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS POOL and hoping that they swim.

Dont worry Kumar, I am an Equal Opportunity Dissenter so I will mention the BLP appointment of Jessica Odle and Ambassador Phillips? In Brazil.

The international deployment of Waste Foops like sleeping Erskine Sandiford was deployed to China.

What therefore you are raising here IS AN OBSERVATION THAT WILL BE LOST ON BLP AND DLP poochlickers alike (that remark DOES NOT INCLUDE ARTAXERXES)

Your point about Mugabe opening an embassy in Ghana AND ITS DISCONNECTEDNESS WITH ANY POLICY far less operational efficacy IS AN EXCELLENT ESSAY HERE ON BU and is commended by Piece the Legend (foremost among strategists and Thought Technicians)

Now sit back and watch how those few words bring a host of bloggers to this article!

You have to understand THE BARBADIAN CONDITION! they are not going to discuss concepts THEY SEEK ONLY TO DENIGRATE PEOPLE because such is all they are capable of!

19. @ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Kemar

20. Kemar Stuart

It would be much appreciated if we could “get accustomed to hearing the DLP.” After all, apart from the occasional “luke warm” speeches by Verla and Denis Lowe feeling proud defending his tenure as Environmental Minister, during which not a single garbage truck was purchased…..you guys have been extremely silent during the past one year and 7 months.

I’m of the firm belief there aren’t any fundamental political, philosophical or ideological differences between the BLP and DLP.

What members of both political parties do best is to criticize each other, without presenting any feasible alternative policy proposals. We usually have to wait until during an election campaign when each political party releases its manifesto.

You’ve suggested “bring(ing) foreign policy discussion into a national debate so citizens can have a say,” which I wholeheartedly agree with.

However, you could start the discussion, by telling explaining to us what objectives were achieved by former PM Stuart and Foreign Affairs Minister Maxine McClean that has resulted in any economic developmental initiatives for Barbados, trade deals, investments or commercial or business developments.

Next, you could tell us how you would have gone about dealing with Ghana and CARICOM’s initiative of a joint diplomatic mission in Kenya.

And, finally, you could discuss with us, what foreign policy initiatives any future DLP administration plans to pursue….. if pursuing relations with Africa is a correct decision and what are the possible benefits to be derived…… what about CARICOM.

In other words, instead of criticizing…….tell me wuh wunnuh gine do.

21. @ William

We do need a relationship, but not a bourgeois, reactionary one. In the 1950s and 60s Barbados would have been sending nurses to Africa, not trying to steal them from countries that are badly in need of proper health care. Have you seen any of the television advertisements for Save the Children about Kenya, the very country we want to do a cosy deal with?
    We have a president that cannot avoid a photo opportunity; it is like an addiction. Speeches and grand tours do not make policy. I have said before, she is not a details person. She reminds me very much of Boris and Trump, all headlines and no details. But where is the Opposition?
    It is a pity because she sent her entire adult life wanting to be prime minister and no she has the position does not know what to do. No vision, the people perish.

22. Piece the Legend Avatar

A second request to the Minister of Disinformation to retrieve my comment please

Though it has parts that will vex and “flame” you and several readers!

23. Kemar J. D Stuart was a SOLUTIONS BARBADOS candidate in the last General elections. Hope Grenville trained him well before he jumped from one puddle to another.

googling is sometimes a good thing.

http://www.caribbeanelections.com/bb/candidates/bb_candidates_2018.asp

24. Barrow was once a member of the BLP. Mascoll was once a member of the DLP. What’s the point.

25. The reason why small nations stay away from Africa because of african govts knowingly having a high stain of corruption
    It is all well and good to have these dreams of building bridges
    However a bridge built on rotten wood sooner or later collapses taking with it all that stands upon it.
    The fact that the govt of Kenya would be quick to sign back door agreements with Barbados without allowing the full spirit of democracy wherein transparency takes precedent sends the wrong message where both govts are willing to pursue illegal engagements to suffice each other while the people are being shut out

26. Piece the Legend Avatar

A third request for your kind retrieval of an item here in suspense

De ole man humbly apologizes for referring to you as the Minister of Disinformation WHICH PART OF YOUR BU BORG IS

heheheheh

Cant we jes all get along?

27. Piece the Legend Avatar

Heheheheh heheheh heheheheheh

De ole man gots to congratulate you pin de new skills wunna has acquired during this Ministry of Disinformation appointment

STOP THE DEATHS LIKE YOU ARE STOPPING MY POSTS!

heheheheh

28. RE Kemar J. D Stuart was a SOLUTIONS BARBADOS candidate in the last General elections. Hope Grenville trained him well before he jumped from one puddle to another.

IF THIS IS TRUE DOES THAT NOT IMPLY THAT THIS LAD WAS SMART TO JETTISON THE SHIP OF DIOTROPHETIC GRENVILLE PHILIPS?

IF THIS IS TRUE DOES THAT NOT IMPLY THAT THIS LAD WAS SMART ENOUGH TO PERCEIVE THAT THE DIOTROPHETIC GRENVILLE PHILIPS AND SOLUTIONS BARBADOS REALLY AND TRULY HAS NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS.

I ASKING SINCERELY AND HUMBLY AND WITH OUT RANCOUR OR BEING “BOMBASTIC”
    LOL MURDAH

29. @ GP

We are told that Solutions members do not want to be publicly identified for fear of losing their jobs. We should ask Kemar if this is, or was true during his time.
    Or is that claim as bogus as the person who made it?

30. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Please give Grenville II a break nuh. It is Xmas.

31. VINCENT
    HAVE YOU EVER HEARD ABOUT THE BOXING DAY TEST ?
    AT WHAT SEASON OF THE YEAR IS IT PLAYED?

HAL
    We should ask Kemar if this is, or was true during his time.
    Or is that claim as bogus as the person who made it?
    GREAT PERTINENT QUESTION
    THIS SIMPLE QUESTION IS MUCH TOO HARD FOR SOME ON BU
    THEY WILL SAY THAT YOU BOMBASTIC YUH!

32. VINCENT
    RE Please give Grenville II a break nuh.

I AM BEING A PATRIOT

AS A PREACHER I WAS TEACH IN SEASON AND OUT OF SEASON AND WITH OR WITHOUT BOMBAST! murdah

33. @ Hal
    Amazing how these political miscreants try to reinvent the wheel. You know that all the real progressive thinkers have now gone silent or have given up on these idiots. You and I were fortunately exposed to some of the best minds this region has ever produced. I fear the tap maybe forever dry. What we have now are some of the most opportunistic villains jumping on and off the Duopoly train. It’s pathetic to observe the antics of some. You can find them any day of the week by Lionel C Hill Supermarket or St Cyprians Church
    Less than three years ago Mia was kicked to the political curb by almost every body now in her cabinet. She was called a despot and unfit for office. Today she rides high. Miss Depeiza’s day may yet come. The Duopoly protects its own. Anybody who doubts me just needs to check Mia and Owen.

The Duopoly Rules

34. The local public space has not seen replacements for players like the late Oliver Jackman, Waldo Ramsey and to a lesser extent Peter Laurie whose special interest was foreign affairs.

35. MR SKINNER, Sir
    DO HAVE A GREAT CHRISTMAS SEASON
    MAY GOD BLESS YOU AND YOURS REAL GOOD IN 2020 as The Duopoly Rules

36. @GP

Thanks. The very same to you and yours. And all the best in 2020, my Friend.

37. Piece the Legend Avatar

De ole man will continue to expand on Kemar’s point(s)

To do so I will resort to the Job Requirements Specification for an International Foreign Trade Specialist

“…The role of a Foreign Trade Representative

An effective FTR will give the trade advisory service a commercial edge, will proactively work with a group of client exporters and will do substantive work for a number of strategically important small to medium sized enterprises (SMEs).

The majority of offices in a foreign trade office network will be staffed by experienced generalists with a keen interest in commerce and in business…”

Now Kemar, de ole man will not hold it against you for going to the DLP! You are young and probably did not know of the PdP and now you are in a rut but…

A line by line examination of the skill sets underscores the points you seek to make here AS TO WHAT CONSTITUTES POLICY and the paucity of comprehension of thus word vis a vis the Barbados/CARICOM Ghana outreach.

De ole man notes that you said and I quote

“…What exist are bilateral arrangements and double taxation agreements which are limited in exploration i.e. Barbados and its planned High Commission to Ghana, the removal of Visa requirements for nationals from eight African countries…”

For the truly discerning reader, one can see how you clearly point out the lack of any meaning exploration of synergies to be achieved when you enumerate what the focus of either Barbados or Caricom is.

In fact, de ole man would suggest that you already know what this outreach is going to become IN 5 YEARS!

Again I gone back north with my job requirements description.

“…The most successful Trade Support Institutions (TSIs) recognise that some trade promotional jobs are specialised. They recruit the best qualified people available.

The makeup of the client base usually informs the background of the people that are hired…”

Oh really bad badword Kemar you hear what dem people write? Onomatopoeia?

“…If a key industry sector is “food” the organisation will hire executives
    with a “food industry” background, particularly for the support unit in head office.

Some TSIs open up recruitment for key posts to external candidates. The successful candidate might be retained on a 3 or 5 year contract….”

I would add that this should be on a performance based contract SO THE TRADE OFFICER’s ssalaryis based on deliverables.

“…Typically, the successful candidates have knowledge of a specific market or industry sector. It is common to hire an external candidate with specific knowledge of a high-tech sector or of sectors deemed to be of strategic importance…”

Oh really bad curseword Kemar!

Look how dese badword people saying what de ole man been writing bout from 2015 at least.

Production & Deliverables!!!

Dem continues “…Invariably these
    appointments improve the standing of the TSI with the private sector.

The nationality of staff is normally not an important factor AS LONG AS DEM BADWORDS DELIVER!!!

Kemar, Piece the Legend HAS SPOKEN!!!

38. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Kemar that continues to support his piece here

39. @ Piece the Legend, google ” Kemar J. D Stuart “.

I will reward you in the Diaspora corner.

40. Piece the Legend Avatar

I already Googled him Brother Hants as you suggested.

Certain recommendations by certain bloggers are ALWAYS FOLLOWED!

And, after you point me to that fantastic Kadooment Band, Glennis and Fleur East, you can do no wrong!

Ergo my remark about not holding his political affiliation against him.

It is sad that Kemar did what Walter Blackman did, and joined up with the Demonic Labour Party AND WALTER WAS AN OLDER, WISER MAN!

But he is still young and can correct his path

41. William Skinner

The best minds this region has produced are, for the most part, people you would not know. These people usually live private lives abroad, and you have never heard about them because they usually avoid government jobs, and would never even consider descending into the gutter of politics.

If they were to do so, they would have to compete with crooks, and become targets of abuse for every Tom, Dick and Harry

42. So Ewart, you are not on the list then?

43. “Foreign policy should be discussed at home before committing a country to such, and there is no evidence so far to show the foreign initiatives by Barbados has amounted to any economic development initiatives to help Barbados’ cause or the Caribbean.”

Pure hogwash, Stupse!!

44. And Merry Christmas to you too, Hal

45. Money laundering policies of corrupt Caribbean governments, their only goal, steal as muh as they can, keep their people in poverty and mentally enslaved. The uppity negros and their greed.

https://www.masinthecemetery.com/2019/08/nation-bank-in-panama-papers-possible.html?m=1

46. Then there the nasty lawyers and insurance companies who keep cases going in the supreme court for 3 and 4 decades. Your cases can never end. Marston Gibson ran his mouth in lip service, kept collecting a salary and did nothing about these evil lawyers and insurance companies, he too is screwing the taxpayers by doing nothing.

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2012/03/26/barbados-chief-justice-blasts-profiteering-weasel-lawyers/

47. Take away those diplomatic passports and get this scum from around you, they will ruin the island even more, forewarned is FOREARMED…THEY WILL BRING THE WHOLE ISLAND DOWN…get BLP out of the parliament PERMANENTLY…things have gone way too FAR…

“So who is George Walton Payne?
    What we have learned is that Shell companies require the expensive services of tax lawyers and more often than not middlemen are needed to manipulate official records, protect clients and conceal suspected transactions.

GEORG PAYNE OF BARBADOS
    George Walton Payne is a lawyer and politician, and an associate of PM Skerrit’s creepy advisor Hartley Henry. In fact George Payne is a current minister in the Barbados Labor Party government .The legal services provided by George Payne’s law firm include international business and financial services (Wink wink Peek A Boo!!). George Payne has had his fair share of controversies – many accusations of corruption and alleged misrepresentation or falsification of his credentials. The name Thornhill Andrew is also shown in the NBC organization chart- Thornhill is the law partner in the law firm of George Walton Payne.

At the time the corporation was registered in Barbados all of the Dominicans listed as directors of the corporation were serving on the board of directors for the National Commercial Bank of Dominica. Very interestingly the notorious Steven Isidore who was also a board member at the time was conveniently not listed. Also left out of the directors list is the enigmatic and mysterious managing director at the time Grenadian Gregory De Gannes.”

48. Money Launderer’s Inc. set up money laundering services for other islands.

wuh guess who will go to prison..”watch muh nuh”

49. […] Kemar Stuart’s (Young Democrats) recent intervention on Barbadian foreign policy – Foreign Policy in Barbados and CARICOM [Link inserted by the Blogmaster]. It helps if it causes us to re-think and re-examine our foreign […]

50. For those still struggling with the REALITY….

Your evil house negro governments and evil lawyers set up Money Launderer’s Inc. to rob poor, vulnerable Black people WHO LOOKS JUST LIKE THEM all across the Caribbean…..wrap that around your HEADS.

That way the Black populations in the Caribbean, BARBADOS INCLUDED and in PARTICULAR while these vicious negros line their pockets with billionsof YOUR DOLLARS and generations of their own people,WILL ALWAYS REMAIN IN POVERTY, in colonial BONDAGE and forever HELPLESS….house negros with the nerve to believe they will ALWAYS COMMIT THESE CRIMES AGAINST THEIR OWN.

…of course the toxic UK will continue to hold the blame…..just as they deserve.

If that is not a case for all these wicked new negro ministers and lawyers TO ALL GO TO PRISON…nothing is…they will see the insides of prisons. they cannot HIDE BEHIND DIPLOMATIC PASSPORTS FOREVER..

..watch mu nuh……because any evil anti Black laws., plans, CRIMES and SCAMS against Black people ALWAYS ORIGINATES IN BARBADOS.