A General Election is scheduled to be held December 6, 2019 in Dominica. As a fellow Caricom state Barbadians should be concerned about the political instability being stoked by provocative language being reported on the political trail by BOTH political parties contesting the election manifested in daily street violence.  The Caribbean in the main has been known as a zone of peace therefore Barbadians and others in the region should not feel detached from events currently unfolding next door in Dominica. A word to wise people should be enough.

Wishing the best for the people of Dominica on behalf of the BU household and family!

David, blogmaster (thanks to Tee White for the assist)

MEDIA RELEASE

ON THE EVENTS IN THE COMMONWEALTH OF DOMINICA

CARIBBEAN ANTI-IMPERIALIST NETWORK [CAN]

04 DECEMBER 2019

The Caribbean must demand a peaceful election in Dominica

An appeal to CARICOM, individual Caribbean governments, political parties, religious and social organisations and individuals.

The upcoming election in the Commonwealth of Dominica which is scheduled to take place on Friday 6 December has become a focus of both regional and international attention.

The ruling Dominica Labour Party (DLP) is locked in bitter disagreement with the opposition United Workers Party (UWP) over the conduct of the election. As a result, the UWP has launched so far unsuccessful legal attempts to postpone the election while at the same time fielding candidates in each constituency. In addition, it has launched protests against the decision to go ahead with the election as scheduled.

Speaking at a campaign rally recently, one of the leaders of the UWP declared that the organisation would not accept the results of the election if they lost and would oust Roosevelt Skerrit, the leader of the DLP, from power in the same way that Evo Morales was ousted in Bolivia. The spokesperson further added that the UWP would gladly get the help of the Organisation of American States (OAS) to achieve its goal.

This position represents a serious danger to peace in Dominica and to the safety and security of Dominicans. If those who have outlined these aims are allowed to continue on this road, there is a serious danger of bloodshed and loss of life in Dominica. This is an outcome that the Caribbean must raise its voice against. There is no justification for shedding blood in Dominica over an election.

It is essential that everyone make themselves heard and demand in no uncertain terms that the election in Dominica be carried out peacefully, according to the laws of that country and that those who take part in the election abide by these laws and the procedures for challenging any alleged violations.

In this regard, it is necessary to condemn in the strongest possible terms the destructive interference of the OAS in the situation in Dominica. This organisation which is notorious for undermining democratic governance in the region, organising coups, backing racist forces and acting as an instrument for Washington organised regime change has been brazenly making demands of Dominica with regard to its election. The OAS must end its colonial interference in Dominica.

Today, the times demand that all of us raise our voices in unity to demand that the elections in that country be held peacefully and that those who are pushing the situation towards bloodshed step back from that dangerous course of action.

Caribbean Anti-imperialist Network.

Contact list for further information.

1. Shaun Hutchinson, Email Address: shaunbighutch@gmail.com Tel: 18687073668

1. David Denny, Email Address: ahsaki66@hotmail.com Tel: 12462864052

195 responses to “Dominica General Election 2019”

1. The show of military action against the opposition was indeed a WoW moment sending a message to small islands society that the govt in power would entertain powerful action to squell or discourage opposition sentiments demonstrative of actions which govt deems intolerant and unnecessary

2. @WURA-WAR-on-U
    If you have managed to get out of having a colonised mind, there’s no reason why other Bajans can’t too. The issue is to discuss with ordinary people so that this awareness can be built amongst the people. Once the people have this awarenes, they’ll be able to work out what they need to do to move the situation forward.

3. We have been trying Tee White…but it’s a work in progress and no easy battle…which morphs into 2 battles when you have the colonized mind…FIGHTING BACK…because they were never educated to LEARN NEW THINGS.

…..it will take at least 3 generations…75 years to reach that place, i personally don’t have that time, so the younger generations will have to PICK UP THAT BATTLE and folks like Blogmaster will have to make sure they have a template with which to carry on…it’s not an overnight thing.

Luckily for me i escaped the brainwash and destruction of the African spirit which starts at a very early age in Barbados, most have not been that lucky.

..a work in progress…

4. The upside is…MANY BAJANS ARE WAKING UP…they are forced to…they were robbed, mistreated, terrorized, they had no choice, but there are still the hardcore idiots who no one wants to waste any time on…and they should not…let them go to their graves as they arrived..it will be mentally healthier for those left behind..

5. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@David. Dreaming! no bro. There are countries abound in the hemisphere that the leaders are bound to one term at a time. Mexico, Chile, and Costa Rica,and Panama comes to mind. I am referring here to the head of state specfically and not the parties.

6. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Bingo! Tee White. The same opposition today who are hell bent on getting in power no sooner start behaving like, or even worst than the same people they campaigned so tirelessly to get rid off. This has been going on since humans beings transition from a hunter-gatherer society. As they say in africa: it is our time to eat.

7. Piece the Legend Avatar

De ole man must admit to a lack of schooling after 11 years old.

Life does do dem sorts of things to you so you got to play the hand you are given.

I look at Dominica in Particular and the world in general through a lens defined by two questions really one of which is

“…Why am I always hungry?…”

And, were you to google that, every single response would read as a variant of

“…Your body relies on food for energy, so it’s normal to feel hungry if you don’t eat for a few hours. But if your stomach has a constant rumble, even after a meal, something could be going on with…”

And it is precisely this linear, pigeonholed thinking, by society at large, that has Dominica next door, Jamaica, Trinidad, Guyana, Venezuela and all of our world in the state where there is violence and uprising and social unrest.

Our LEADERS??? are selfish nasty, self centred, spineless, self gratifying snakes WHO WE HAVE CHOSEN.

I always use my paedophile example (not because of anything or anyone here who triggers the thought but) because ALL OF YOU respond with distaste (sorry the majority of you) respond with distaste when you think of these deviants around your children.

Yet, and here is the mystery, you have no such distaste when you appoint similarly disposed individuals to rape the nation AND SUBJECT MULTIPLE FATHERS AND MOTHERS to selling their children to the same deviants BECAUSE WE COLLECTIVFLY ARE HUNGRY!

if Barbados continues along the path it is going with Mugabe the Dictator AS THE PRIME MINISTER, we will experience the similar, distasteful social unrest that grips Dominica, and Trinidad and Jamaica variously WHILE MUGABE MOTTLEY WILL RAPE, MUTILATE AND KILL YOU ALL!

Watch de ole mans words!

8. ” Our LEADERS??? are selfish nasty, self centred, spineless, self gratifying snakes WHO WE HAVE CHOSEN..”

well worth repeating, particularly for the colonized adult yardfowl mind that still processes everything at A SECOND GRADE LEVEL….in the 21st century

9. Here I was wondering if Barbadians would stand by and let the RSS invade the country… So I am on Wikipedia and I see this
    “The R.S.S., as it is commonly referred to, is based in Barbados at the Paragon Centre”.

I abandoned that thought. Next.

Scrolling down I see they were involved in suppressing the Prison uprising
    2006 Glendairy Barbados Prison uprising

Members are
    Antigua and Barbuda (since 1982), Barbados (since 1982), Dominica (since 1982)
    Grenada (since 1985), Saint Kitts and Nevis (since 1983)
    Saint Lucia (since 1982), Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (since 1982)

10. “Scrolling down I see they were involved in suppressing the Prison uprising
    2006 Glendairy Barbados Prison uprising”

what prision uprising…there was a fire at the prison, is that the story they gave yall in the US…lol

11. In the house negros (pretend leaders) and their yardfowls it’s even worse, miseducated, limited intellect and lack of reasoning skills in adults, it’s ugly, the colonized countries in Africa are complaining of the same thing. Those damaged minds are decades behind. And of course none of them will want to admit they have debilitating problems and address them so the issues can be resolved, they would prefer create another generation socialized with the same problems, who will also live in denial because none of it is being addressed…

https://youtu.be/pWWV5GyFD0Q?t=26

12. According to preliminary results of the election, the DLP won 18 of the 21 seats in the island’s parliament with the wife of the Prime Minister Melissia Skerrit comfortably winning the Roseau Central seat which has been a stronghold of the United Workers Party.

https://dominicanewsonline.com/news/homepage/homepage-carousel/breaking-news-dlp-wins-again-according-to-unofficial-reports/

13. @Hants

The opposition created a lot of huff and puff. Were they punished?

14. In Antigua, Dominica, Grenada and St. Vincent, we have prominent families controlling the political system and state apparatus for lengthy periods, winning elections over and over again.

This is not a healthy state of affairs, particularly if these families are in a position to help each other through the regional security system that was set up by the Americans.

15. 5th term? Mia must be thinking of what could be……

16. @Sargeant

Is Mia not on record to say no more than two terms?

17. SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife Avatar
    SirSimple SimonPresidentForLife

@Sargeant December 7, 2019 1:53 AM “5th term? Mia must be thinking of what could be…”

Man Sarge you should know better!!!

Mia was born on October 1, 1965.

5 x 5 year terms would bring her to 2043, and age 78.

Wunna does always mistake Bajans ya know, because we quiet wunna does mistsake quiet fah foolish.

We Bajans does get tired of weown children, and does be glad enough to see them out the door long before their 25th birthday.

We love Mia now, but will we love her in 2043 when she is 78?

Nope.

And she knows this.

Dat is how we is.

18. Taken from a OAS report on Nov20 2019
    Noting concern for the electoral process in Dominica

The August joint report identified three main areas of concern the government needs to address to ensure that elections are fair, free, and transparent: 1) Removal of deceased persons and ineligible voters from the current electoral list; 2) Issuance of photo identification cards to electors to facilitate more accurate identification at the polls; and 3) Removal from the current electoral list of all diaspora voters who are ineligible to vote by virtue of being out of the country for more than five years. Sadly, the Government of Dominica rejected all of these recommendations.

On November 5, Prime Minister Skerrit called national elections for December 6, a full half year before they could be held. He also dissolved Parliament on November 6 for a month. Prime Minister Skerrit has moved the elections up to December 6 without implementing recommendations listed in a joint OAS/CARICOM/Commonwealth report issued in September 2019.

19. If what the OAS say is true and with an overall view to state openly that the recommendations required for fair elections were not implemented
    Skerritt had opened a door by which those in opposition had a democratic right to be angry
    The election although over and Skerritt the winner Skerritt would have lost in the eyes of the international world who begins to see him as a potential dictator ripen with laws and rules unto himself

20. Nothing from the so-called OAS is worth reading. That organisation is nothing but a regime change front for Washington.

21. @ Tee White

The OAS is a front organisation for Washington. You are absolutely right. Also have a look at the so-called training courses offered by the US military. Almost every military coup in Latin America was headed by someone trained in the US. The media too is part of that: watch out for so-called free trips to the US and Middle East.
    I have said that it should be illegal for senior Barbadian civil servants, military and police to attend private parties at foreign diplomats or military or in any way communicate with them unofficially. To do so would be a criminal offence.
    We have senior civil servants who discuss government business with the private sector; remember when officials went to Europe to buy garbage trucks and staff from a private organisation turned up? There should have been a criminal investigation and the culprit who mentioned the official itinerary should be jailed.
    Remember the senior Coastguard officer who allegedly passed information to the Canadians and Americans? Is he still in his job?

22. Culling the electoral list in the islands is a common concern, Barbados included.

http://www.caribbean360.com/news/hundreds-of-errors-found-in-voters-list-ahead-of-barbados-elections

23. BRAVO…forward thinkers are emerging in Africa backward black leaders with their cursed fake colonial titles and wicked sell out negro mentalities will soon become passe…

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1187301848146019&id=100005986451739

24. YES….,this is called PROGRESS, this is called Africa standing up to french voleur et asticots….this is called FORWARD MOVEMENT of AFRICAN PEOPLE………COLONIAL house negros in Barbados and the Caribbean…. BE GONE.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10157800563634085&id=647299084

25. And while ya at it…take ya evil, tiefing, racist minority criminals and parasites with yall..POS..

26. Would. agree that many USA back.organisations dabbled in outside elections
    However one cannot closed eyes when their is proof that problems based on unfair elections are cited
    History has show that leaders who hold seats for unpredecented number of years have underminded the electoral process
    Also one should be mindful that these Long term PM become ripened for dictatorship
    Whether one agree with the OAS or not 21 years in power is long enough to say enough is enoug

27. Twenty one years in power us a long time whuch brings up thoughts of Baby Doc and Chavez and Castro
    All dictators who claimed to have free and fair elections
    The thought of one person being head of a country for so many years run chills up and down my spine
    Power corrupts
    Absolute power corrupts absolutely
    A place where i know finds Skeritt

28. All your prophecies fell flat, the RSS did not shoot people in the streets. You have no idea the politics on the ground in Dominica.

29. Who said the RSS would shoot people
    In any case the outcome of the election has many wondering if the election was fair given the OAS recommendations which Skerrit did not commit himself
    Also why is Caricom silent on these revelations
    Can it be that small island govt have an agenda to become dictatorship
    Haiti is a good example of how countries can not recover when a leader over stays his welcome
    Can also add Venezuela
    The long term influence of such leaders is hard to erase from the minds of people leaving a vaccum for anarchy

30. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Please pay attention to what Mariposa has said above. It is very important that you do.

31. Mariposa does not have a dog in the election except to reflect on history and see how these political low hanging sweet smelling fruit becomes over rippen and rotten at the core with negative ramifications for the country and people
    A country exposing itself to dangerous precedents should be warned
    If the people so chose to pushed away those warnings one day coming soon they will feel the effect

32. @Vincent

Credibility is a characteristic this blog,aster holds dear.

33. @David
    Is Mia not on record to say no more than two terms?
    You like you don’t listen ah tell yuh that I am the only one who can make those kinda jokes 😊
    Yuh know Xmas is around the corner and you like you still believe in Father Christmas or Santa Claus or whatever name he goes by nowadays. Rememba the “good old days” when he would show up at Seawell from the North Pole (without Rudolph) and there would be a motorcade to B’town and he (Harold Kidney) would throw out some “sweeties” along the way and fool some of de little boys and girls?

I just had to throw that in there because anyone who believes a politicians word still believes in Santa Claus and is a good candidate for residency in a place depicted in ‘One Flew over the cuckoo’s nest”……………..

34. @Sargeant

You have become the forever cynic!

35. Don’t worry we got this, house negros got a lot of whitesplaining to do ..lol.

36. What is most troubling in this election is that Caricom knows of Skerritt political pattern of deception but rather than hold him to accountability in a transparent manner rushed out with military forces which sends messages of favour and enablement
    After Caricom govts reading the OAS report and reply with silence one would have to believe that Caricom Govts either entertain the undermining of fair elections while huddled together in darken rooms out of the glaring eyes of the public
    Something is definitely wrong when Caricom deliberately ignores warning signs of a dictatorship in the making and answers from Skerritt are not forthcoming on his intent to undermine fair elections

37. In my opinion, the problem with this discussion on term limits and dictators is that it misses the whole point about how the system of ‘representative democracy’ actually works.

In this system, the politicians are simply fronting for the powers that be. They are the puppets, while the puppet masters are the real dictators. These never put themselves up for election and there are no term limits on their power and control. Far from it, they pass down this power and control from generation to generation. Let me give an example. Some time back a friend of mine went to do a job at the home of one of the local elite (old plantocracy). While there, the owner of the house introduced my friend to a Bajan who had just returned from Jamaica and who was not yet involved in local politics. The house owner introduced that individual as the future prime minister of Barbados. So said, so done. How could someone who was not even active in local political parties make such a confident statement about who would be a future prime minister of Barbados?

Another example, when in opposition the current government was criticising the proposed Hyatt hotel project. It was said that the project would deprive Bajans of access to the beach in Bay Street. What is happening now to Mr Maloney’s project?

Term limits might cut off supply to the low feeders but would leave the dictators at the top of the food chain untouched. One unintended consequence might be that the low feeders decide they had better teef even more since they going to have only one bite at the cherry.

38. @Tee White

What the political partisans are unable to grasp is that the political parties serve ONE master. In this case Miss Ram has contributed to the coffers of BOTH political parties and heard publicly bragging about it.

What did Bizzy state publicly about PIP?

39. @ Tee White

I note the prime minister is now in Kenya, a good stepping off point to ask if Barbados is a signatory to the International Criminal Court. If it is, then instead of fuming on an unimportant blog, it may help if we gathered evidence and pass it on to the ICC.
    By the way, how is the issue with Kenya and the ICC going? Barbados is making friends with some wonderful African states. As tyo CARICOM, the less said the better.

40. This is for your edification because we know you abhor google.

The prime minister of Barbados is in Kenya to attend the 9th ACP Summit to discuss the post Contonou agreement, also a diplomatic office was handed over to Caricom by the Kenyan government to act crystalize opportunities in the Africa space. Now go ahead and criticize as is your wont.

41. The point remains that a govt in power for unprecedented time have a high risk of wanting to attain and sustain that power by any means necessary
    The demonstrative force of military called upon by Skerritt is just one example of executive power and influence to shut up those who exposed his wrong doings and not to include observers who knows of his ongoing attempt to undermine the political Democratic process

42. Just maybe Mia trips to African countries some of which are run by iron hand dictators just maybe her affront is to be schooled in charm and charism which has be one on a signature characteristic of dictatorships

43. Is the US, UK and other so-called Western democracies trading with China?

44. You see why small island leaders with colonial mentalities are so dangerous.

because of their out right ignorance.

more on that will present itself.

45. The Dominican elections reminds me why it’s wrong to refer to animals as dumb if the recent expose’ on Al Jazeera is used as a yard stick. Thus, we got it all wrong for any electorate that can re-elect a politician after such an investigative report makes a jackass and sheep look good as it relates to intelligence.

46. A Caribbean politician made a Privy Counsellor by David Cameron for his ‘loyal service’ to Queen and country is being investigated after he tried to leave Britain with £70,000 in cash, The Mail on Sunday can reveal.
    Dr Denzil Douglas – who was Prime Minister of Saint Kitts and Nevis for 20 years – was detained at Gatwick Airport by the UK Border Force three weeks ago.
    Officers seized the equivalent of more than £70,000 – in sterling, US dollars and eastern Caribbean dollars – from him on November 16 when he could not explain why he was attempting to leave the country with the cash.

© Provided by Daily Mail Dr Denzil Douglas (pictured) – who was Prime Minister of Saint Kitts and Nevis for 20 years – was detained at Gatwick Airport by the UK Border Force three weeks ago
    Mystery surrounds the bizarre incident on which neither the Home Office nor police will comment.
    However, the MoS understands Dr Douglas is the subject of a probe by the National Crime Agency.

47. 18 seats out of 21!!!

The magic number, 3!!!

The opposition can be defined.

It can elect a leader.

The result is manufactured.

He can because he can!!

Smallest possible opposition without breaching the Constitution!!

Skerrit has had a year to review his beliefs.

If yo don’t remember here were his stated beliefs back in 2018.

Prime Minister, Roosevelt Skerrit, has taken aim at the opposition in Dominica saying there is no need for such on the island and has described opposition members as lazy men.

Speaking at the launch of a housing project in Portsmouth on Thursday, he said it is “foolishness” to say there is a need for an opposition.

“Grenada and Barbados have taught us so, it is foolishness to talk about you need an opposition,” he stated. “We don’t need no opposition in Dominica.”

According to the Prime Minister, it is “a waste of money to give an opposition man money and he does nothing for us.”

“Useless, lazy people,” he said to applause.

“Because let me tell you if you are a boss man and you are the boss man of Dominica with your vote, so you are our employers. If a man is not working for you, you fire him.”

He said members of the opposition are “a bunch of lazy men who have no interest in Dominica.”

“And I am saying to you that we should send them a clear message as they have done in Grenada and as they have done in Barbados,” Skerrit stated.

In general election in Grenada on March 13, 2018, Dr. Keith C. Mitchell’s New National Party (NNP) took all 15 seats in that country’s parliament, defeating the National Democratic Congress led by V. Nazim Burke.

A similar landslide victory took place in Barbados on 24 May 2018 when the Barbados Labour Party (BLP), led by Mia Mottley won all 30 seats in the House of Assembly.

https://dominicanewsonline.com/news/homepage/news/politics/pm-skerrit-says-there-is-no-need-for-opposition-in-dominica/

48. Only problem is he has exposed Ms. Mockley and Mr. Mitchell as leaders of illegitimate Governments in his efforts to “manage” the win!!