There is a conversation that has emerged in Barbados concerning the ‘visible’ leadership style of Prime Minister Mia Mottley. A style that is accentuated if compared to the unobtrusive approach by her predecessor. Some feel justified levelling the criticism because Mottley presides over the largest Cabinet in the history of Barbados, probably the world if measured on a per mille basis.
What justification can there be for a prime minister to be at every ‘dog fight’ if the large Cabinet is unable to give wings to Mottley’s mantra – many hands make light work?
The blogmaster recalls during An Interview with Prime Minister Mottley conducted by David Ellis soon after the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) was elected to office – Mottley explained her reason for the large Cabinet. She asked Barbadians to be patient and to judge her government by results. After 15 months in office, it is fair to suggest several of the ministers are struggling to find their feet and undeserving of a minister’s salary during a time of austerity.
In the pseudo Westminster parliamentary system of government practice in Barbados all roads lead to the prime minister. It is not uncommon to hear the reference “primus inter pares.” Our culture is one where there is an expectation the prime minister must solve all problems. Have a read of this blog through the years, there was an unrelenting attack on former prime minister Freundel Stuart because he appeared to be uncomfortable in the leadership role and was rejected at the polls in unprecedented fashion.
A key characteristic of a good leaders is that they recruit the right people to do the job. This is why the quality of persons offering themselves for political office is important. Are we confident members of parliament elected on the 24 May 2018 possess the requisite skill set to get the job done?
The blogmaster is on the side of the side of the leadership style that works. The fact Mottley is always out front may reflect on the quality of her team. If this is the case who is to blame?
Our governance system needs reform. There was talk from the minister early in her term about devolving authority from the office of prime minister. Update anyone?

252 responses to “Mottley’s Dominant Leadership Style”
@Vincent
We tend to zero in on style over substance. What matters is the ability of the leader to get the job done. Mottley has a weak team which accentuates her style. Barbados has to manage a weak economy with an aggressive timeline. There is little time for incompetence and or experience ministers to learn on the job. The country cannot afford it. One of the warts derived from the pseudo parliamentary system we manage.
Good leadership vs good management – discuss.
The Dems said the same thing about Owen Arthur, calling him a despot. It was a way to get at him and by extension the party. Having failed in 15months to find anything of substance to pin on the government, the tactic now is to create a narrative about a “dominant” leadership style. A ploy to try to get the PM not to use her vast Cabinet and parliamentary experience to guide and develop her nascent colleagues. The opponents know very well that, if after her mentorship, half of the new ones are seasoned politicians and Ministers, their respective parties will remain mummified for even longer. PM Mottley don’t be fooled by the noise and young ministers don’t be either. A lotta people in here can’t run their household but are experts. Yuh think it easy to run a ministry after 10 years of destruction. But the talkers should list who she’s micromanaging. The PM seldom pilots bills in parliament and every post-Cabinet meeting is attended by her and other ministers who are all invited to speak.
@ David BU at 3: 32 PM
You have defaulted to your Goal Post Shifting Syndrome . Your Article specifically is headed STYLE. And it discusses STYLE. Are you the author? Please reread. What is substance in this context?
One of the warts derived from the pseudo parliamentary system we manage.(Quote)
What are the alternatives? Discuss.
@ Hal Austin
Competent managers are good leaders. Let us not split hairs. The moot has been set by David BU let us not hijack it.
On the other hand ,we should not let him lead us where common sense tells us we do not need to go. We ,as citizens, have to be responsible.
@ Vincent
Managing and leading are two different skills. A good leader may not be a good manager; and vice versa. Mottley may be a good leader, but she is not a good manager – unless we were going to re-write the book.
@ Hal Austin at 4:10 PM
I have no intentions of evaluating Miss Mottley’s management or leadership styles.
The constitution defines what the PM of Barbados is and what he/she does. I need no other reference.
@Vincent
The substance of the posting is about leadership. In our culture stylistics feed into a leaders ability to inspire and motivate. In this case a people suffering from 10 year economic fatigue.
@ David BU
The “10 year economic fatigue”is past. We are here and now. We live here and now. We are looking for performance. We are looking for plans and policies that will not cause present and future” 10 year economic fatigue”. What has comparative leadership styles have to do with performance?
@Vincent
It is generally accepted that situations require different styles to be effective. After 10 years of an uninspiring leadership style perhaps a Sargeant major type approach is justified to kick people in the asses to knock them from their reverie.
The “10 year economic fatigue”is past.
Correct!
This is basically the key strategy of the current govt. And they will keep invoking it until they are no longer in govt because they have no new ideas.
The last govt did the same thing. And the one before.
What a circus!
@ David Bu
This is almost the third decade of the 21st century. Massa Days done with. I would not advise you to take that approach. We live in a democracy. No one elected a dictator. We should operate within certain prescribed parameters.
@Vincent
You are aware one of the most admired leaders of the times is labeled a benevolent dictator?
man you have reverted to your former self. times have evolved and people cannot/ should not be brow beaten anymore. MAM’s style is oppressive, repressive, aggressive and suppressive, to quote Rodney.
i have lived in at least 4 countries and have worked with all types of people and 2 things i never stand for is public disrespect and bad manners and MAM displayed that in that press briefing with the CoP. Marshall did too and were i the CoP I would have gotten up and left.
even the ministers were not allowed to properly address the issues they were to speak on because she had to have the last word.
and i have address how she behaved all those years ago in that debate with Tyrone Estwick.
Regarding leadership- leadership should not be about micromanaging. leadership and management are 2 different animals. simply put management is a process of leadership where leadership is the vision/inspiration and management is the way to get there.
some people conflate the two. sometimes because a manager may lead a project or lead a group of people in fulfilling a vision and other times because the two seems to be used interchangeably nowadays. but strictly speaking a good leader doesnt have to be a good manager and a good manager doesnt always make a good leader.
Stuart was not a good leader or a good manager and should not be used as a benchmark. altho it is convenient for the BLP to so do. whereas Stuart as PM spoke too little MAM as PM speaks too much. the results may in the long run the same- ineffectiveness
those press conferences turn into monologues because she speaks so much leaving v little time for questions from reporters and tho she tries not to she comes over as a bully.
maybe that is what we deserve after Stuart.
@ David Bu
My concern is Barbados and Barbadians. I do not give two raspberries about benevolent dictators elsewhere. My advice to you is not even to think it.
You asked and answered your data mining question when you said AND DE OLE MAN QUOTES
“…Mottley has a [VERY] weak team which accentuates her [DICTATORSHIP] style.
What is in square brackets is my addition
“…Barbados has to manage a weak economy with an aggressive timeline…”
“…There is little time for incompetence [OF WHICH THERE IS MUCH IN HER 26 PERSON PARLIAMENT] and or experience ministers to learn on the job. The country cannot afford it…”
Your answer thought sad, IS TRUE.
Mugabe is surrounded by incompetents AND THE DELIVERABLES are under a critical path timeline.
Unfortunately it is those very incompetents that shd has burdened Parliament with WHO ARE GOJNG TO CAUSE HER TO LOSE 18 – 12 next election
http://imgur.com/68IRRNs
@ Vincent Codrington
You may be putting Barbados first. However when you find yourself among koolaid drinkers and apologists for the Duopoly, you are a minority voice.
They never put Barbados first. All that happened here is that they were feeling put people. That’s why I said from the beginning that Mottley Stuart Barrow Adams Arthur and Sandiford are all leader products that were hatched in George and Roebuck Streets. Why would wunnuh expect anything different ?
The Duopoly Rules
@Greene
Because you disagree with the blogmaster it means what again?
Sometimes it pays to be a dumbass then to be intelligent and write a whole load of shite. Leadership, a focus on style as opposed to the tenants of what constitutes a good leader. In other words, show me your style and I will compare to good leadership. Woe is me. It’s like we going back to the old debate of which came first, the chicken or the egg, or is it Tomato or Tomato-e. Lord, I tell ya. Is Mia Rogue Works Mottley a good leader or not? What do we have coming out from her that would make it believe she is either good or not so good, bad or completely piss poor. Are Mia Rogue Works Mottley justifications for a big cabinet showing their worth after 15 months in office base. Was her big cabinet formulated on the basis of competency levels of the current lot do a good job or a case of finding work for good friends and loyals? Is there any evidence that her big cabinet is performing to the task that the workload is being lightened? If she is a good leader, whatever style she brings to the forefront is irrelevant. Good leadership is effective, attractive, and earns respect very quickly. It is not a style but an approach born from the subconscious that doing right is far better than doing wrong because right decisions bring benefits, instils confidence, lessens the number of fingers casting blame on your aspirations. The style, if one seeks to place it in a context, is base on presenting and perpetuating good with outcomes that provide clear answers to rising concerns and doubtful positions. So either Mottley has shown herself to be a good leader in the last 15 months or a lousy one. As far as I can see, her leadership so far has raised more red flags then they are green ones. She must be credited for getting Barbados back to upgrade status, but even that triumph is marred by the price many had to pay to get there. It is a price of pain, and Mottley does not know what that pain feels like because she will never be at the receiving end of it. It is the reason why she could exalt her father on high with a knighthood because if she understood that pain, she would have waited to knight him later instead of doing it at a time when people were asked to sacrifice and feel the pain. She has already shown what is important to her, and she moved with haste to get them sorted.
sensitive much? mate, get over yuhself please
http://imgur.com/U8U0S7z
Actually you are the one who is sensitive by exposing your panties. All the blogmaster has done is to be provocative about an issue being discussed under street lamps.
Relax yuhself!
@Hal “Bullshitter from the Ivy” Austin, good leadership is what obtains in the UK at present. Why don’t you tell us about it.
As per the usual de ole man going go south to come north
A BBC article said and I quote
“…Conservative MP Phillip Lee has defected to the Liberal Democrats ahead of a showdown between Boris Johnson and Tory rebels over Brexit.
Dr Lee, the MP for Bracknell, took his seat on the opposition benches as the PM addressed the Commons.
His defection means Boris Johnson no longer has a working majority…”
De ole man has prophesied that Mugabe Mottley’ s style of management IS GOING TO LEAD TO A BREAKUP OF HER PARTY as is happening in the UK this moment!
As usual the poochlickers come and deny what de old man KNOWS WILL COME TO PASS but the fact is that Mugabe micromanaged everything AND BECAUSE SHE IS UNTRUSTWORTHY HERSELF, sees everyone as a teif and Judas!
That is weighing heavy on her so called colleagues who have the misfortune of being BLP members.
And it is going to result in a breakup
But Doan tek me word for it wait and see!!!
[Tron says The DLP is a criminal syndicate, without question. What other party puts a suspected criminal as an idol behind the president’s desk at headquarters? We were economically raped and robbed by Barrow’s henchmen for 10 years. They humiliated Barbados and set it back 30 years in its development. And we are to remain silent? Are we still the slaves of this blue, arrogant upper class that lives only at the expense of others?]
This maybe true or maybe its the nastiest of lies and falsehoods that’s why there is a court system to adjudicate.
Why hasn’t Mottley, Payne, Marshall, Kerrie Symmonds, Hinckson et al each a paragon of virtue who have never been accused of lying, corruption ,dishonesty even assault don’t without delay place the former DLP cabinet before the law courts to prove Tron’s theory and that of his fellow political pimps.
Mottley is a bully on steroids she hogs the show even with senior foreign leaders like the PM’s of Kenya and Trinidad.
Those visiting dignitaries barely spoke before she brusquely interrupted to babble on usually about subject matter we’ve heard from her before ad nauseum.
Her Ministers hard back men and women look and act like frightened school children in her presence. She decides who speaks, when, for how long and interrupts when she feels like.
Her question to the Commissioner of Police in front of the media was inappropriate to say the least.
Her management style cuts negative optics of leadership and respect for one’s colleagues.
Pulling the cap off Abrahams head on national tv as if he was a ten year old was omg embarrassing.
This is a B movie we need to watch to the end twists are up ahead and a possible surprise ending.
Mottley is invincible all knowing and all powerful with her -I don’t talk I do mantra- her running dogs on underground like Tron and Dave cant get enough of her funky stuff.
Was this what short man OSA tried to warn us about with frequent lectures on despots.
Donks Gripe
The same short man the DLP ran an election campaign ad comparing him to Castro? The same one chairing a government established commission on trade for the same “despot” Mottley? Mummified mi sey! Keep it up.
Donks Gripe
Every word u have spoken about Mockley makes for good comedy
The funny of it all she doesn’t know how silly she looks
One of her most memorable moments etched in my mind was her straight faced ability to sit amongst the poor peeling onions draped in expensive jewlery and wearing a Mercedes Benz hat
We had a choice, deal with a take charge Mia Mottley or put on the shades and look up to see if Stuart was to be found lazing on top Mount Olympus.
Enuff so what is your point
One can expect that when two opposing forces meet the gloves come off
However when a former PM speaks ill of his minister well that is UGLY and OSA made publicly his feelings know is the most despicable manner about Mottley enough said that his words were hard hitting and unforgettable
The choice was made but along with that choice would be criticism and dont u forget that
You will be first in line to criticize always Mottley. She is a Bee.
Liar !note i commend her in one of my comments on this thread today when she spoke on behalf of the people of barbados in an act of support for helping the Bahamian people
What was there to criticize by her showing a humanitarian face?
Plenty .i can point out in the news reel were she might have added a bit of embellishment
But i choose not to do so
And she REFUSES to address:
the corruption
the THEFTS of taxpayers money..
the BILLION DOLLAR THEFT of Vat..which she wrote off as though it is her money…
the THEFTS of pensioner’s money..
she is yet to have any of the THIEVES LOCKED UP…
so am SO NOT IMPRESSED..
http://imgur.com/tqJjBEa
Here is Mugabe’s report card
http://imgur.com/QTird9f
@ Bajan n New York
@Hal “Bullshitter from the Ivy” Austin, good leadership is what obtains in the UK at present. Why don’t you tell us about it.(Quote)
Your bib is showing. You and @hamicb65 seem to have an obsession with Brexit and wanting me to comment. I suggest you consult Donald Trump or CNN. In plain English, and I know Frank Collymore taught you, I DO NOT HAVE ANYTHING TO SAY ABOUT BREXIT TO YOU.
By the way, I think I know who you are. You always wanted to be an Ivy boy.
Can’t even help Barbados with their broken down infrastructure…the rats in parliament would collude with their crooked bribemasters in the business commununity and TIEF ALL THE MONEY…they would have to be watched 24/7/365..
Now CBC retrenched staff are crying for out their money…both wicked governments have the same mentality…TIEF ALL THE MONEY…and REFUSE to pay workers who are not their yardfowls…disgusting lowminded, pretenders who should NEVER be leaders.
“BRIDGETOWN, Barbados – The Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) recently kicked off a project to make Dominica’s water supply resilient to climate change and tackle inequalities in the access to water.
With support from the United Kingdom through CDB, a strategic plan, a feasibility study and detailed designs are under development to help the Government of Dominica improve the water infrastructure.
“The improved water infrastructure will be important for Dominica’s key economic sectors, including agriculture, manufacturing, and tourism. The project findings will serve as a roadmap for medium to long-term interventions in the water sector in Dominica,” said Andrew DupignyHead of Infrastructure Partnerships, CDB.”
@ Donks Gripe and Josh September 3, 2019 7:18 PM
“Why hasn’t Mottley, Payne, Marshall, Kerrie Symmonds, Hinckson et al each a paragon of virtue who have never been accused of lying, corruption ,dishonesty even assault don’t without delay place the former DLP cabinet before the law courts to prove Tron’s theory and that of his fellow political pimps.”
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
It seems this lot has successfully followed your 2008 DLP campaign script to the ‘T’.
Weren’t the very same accusations of corruption leveled at OSA and his tainted brigands by your dead paragon of virtue Thompson of “we will not lie, steal or cheat, nor tolerate among us anyone who does” infamy?
And what did you guys do once elected to office other than taking bribing and ‘kick-backing’ to the apex of corruption as exemplified by the Don of Pornville, the Lowedown sicko, the artful dodger Stinkliar and his nemesis the Pitbull of St.Philip West?
Why not show your vindictiveness by breaking the cycle of corruption among the William Skinner’s Duopoly?
How about calling out the current BLP for reneging on its promises of recovering the taxes which should have been collected longtime on the Mercedes Benz sighted nightly being driven around the Coverley roundabout by a ghost Abijah Holder staying at the local hotel California dubbed the Hyatt?
Why not demand- in the interest of the much promoted transparency as promised in the May 2018 campaign-an update on the White Oak situation which should have been settled by the end of August?
Why not enquire- with the help of your friend Hal the ‘Ass-tin’- whether the Four Seasons fiasco is having any negative ramifications for the stalled negotiations with overseas creditors?
While ‘waiting” to hear from the wild boy from the Ivy you should consult your opposite number “Enuff” for an update on the fate of the Four Seasons ship which has been nothing but a wreck on the economic shores of Barbados for almost 10 years now.
@Miller
well, that made me laff.
as a matter of interest, what set were you in?
1) It is laughable to accuse the Most Honourable Prime Minister and her Honourable Attorney General of being rude to the COP.
Wasn’t it the same COP who stood up to Donville and claimed that without “complaint” he couldn’t investigate corruption? And didn’t the Attorney General condemn him for this statement?
2) The Most Honourable Prime Minister is well advised to control the government’s press appearances. Wasn’t it the case that in the old government every rotten fart was announced in the press, that afterwards people didn’t know what was going on? Wasn’t it the case that the old Prime Minister kept quiet about the economic rape of the island by Donville and Chris?
We now have a coherent government presence where only what is implemented is announced. This is a good start and strengthens investor confidence.
3) Whoever only shoots ad personam does not use a factual argument, but only polemics. This clearly shows the reader that the opposition is not capable of constructive work, but only wants to destroy Barbados once and for all.
@ Greene September 4, 2019 8:58 AM
Set ‘A”. But the colour was ‘Blue’and not ‘Red’; and not ‘crossed’ with yellow.
But now the miller could be a card-carrying member of the UK ‘Green(e)’ Party.
We know you were in set ‘B’ while at Waterford. But what about you now?
Are you now a ‘mixed-up’ yellow and blue caused by being white-washed by a ‘Red’ brush?
@Miller
another good laff there, man
my set was D Green(e). Set B was never an option. yellow (gold) was too Set C for my taste and dont like Blues
would be something if Thommo was in Set B
Hal sounds like a Set F man lol but i dont think that existed in his day
@ Greene
Spot on. Set (House) F – the Cambridge Blues. In those days all relatives belonged to the same set. Jack Adams was our main man. If I may say so myself, not a bad sprinter. Not keen on hockey, tolerated football, but fancied cricket. Athletics was (is) my obsession.
Mr Blogmaster, above ‘keen’ students of Bajan n regional politics reminded us of the powerful leadership styles (and actions) of the Dipper and Tom; @Skeete even took the effort to reinforce with the Duffus Commission reference that “all roads led to Barrow”…. so do tell what is exactly so new and so provocative under those street lamps being discussed about Mia Mottley and leadersjip!
Of course the woman is a dominant leader …and has been from her teenage days, just as the other spitfire of the era who is now deceased. And in her case she also appears to have some credible skills at effective management !
Mottley has vanquished the efforts to ’emasculate” her by another formidibly strong leader in Arthur…that truimph alone sets her as someone not to triffle with…so is there really a debate as to the withering power she wields over a cabinet of very accomplished men and women like Marshall, Bostic, Hinkson, Payne at al!!
Thus considering the change of times and what Mr Austin ‘grandly’ notes requires more collegiate, non-top-down leadership it can be argued that Mr Mottley is now even more imposing (and thus freightening) as a cabinet major-domo than the all roads to Barrow, himself!
We can pontificate endlessly on what’s great leadership or the distinction of leading and managing but the simple fact remains that we admire/despise the leaders who adopt the attititude that she—usually he [of course]—is the only one who knows what the country needs, and the only one who can deliver it, and undeservedly relegate those who embrace collegiality, compromise and working with their opposition to the also-rans !
According to Brown and his The Myths of The Strong Leader …Mottley fills the characteristics of any of the dominant personalities he chronicles there. ….He also speaks of leaders as redefining [those who drastically change the political scene by changing it to their goals and direction] and transformational [those who basically reshape the political and economic system itself].
The latter is a massive get and he cites folks like Mandela and Gorbachev as leaders of the vintage…but Mottley surely fits the former bigly in local politics!
All that to say this leadership palaver is a long held discourse and Ms Mottley’s style has the same A type persona attributes of many a good leaders and many a piss-poor leader … based on her actions to date (oversized cabinet; multiple and overlapping consultants/advisors; grand no bid financial services contracts; constitutional changes to satisfy whimsical Senatorial appointments etc) she seems destined to be just another meglomanical leader who does NOT leave her nation in a different and fundamentally better place than it should be…(she found it in a mess and surely will move it beyond that) but can she take Barbados to the start of a better place! Unlikely.
Incidentally can we PLEASE stop according Ms Mottley special accolades for simply doing basic stuff (eg. informative press conf.)… are we so blassé that we have forgotten that a freaking head of govt is SUPPOSED to do or effectively delegate those matters as easy as if she is walking the beach at Brandons or Maycocks Bay or Bay Street … the fact that Stuart embodied very poor leadership cannot now make Mottley superior for doing the basics!