Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup

Barbadians have been drilled from primary school that we are a water scarce country. There is a technical definition, a simple translation is the lack of available water resources to meet demand. In Barbados there are three reasons to explain the predicament we find ourselves- change in climatic conditions adversely affecting water catchment, a growing demand for potable water AND poor management of available water resources.

In 2016 or thereabouts a  water shortage severely affected the North of the island and gave rise to a citizen group calling itself the Water Warriors- there was talk then as there is now- that solutions were/are in the pipeline.  It is 2019 and if we listen to the cries of citizens about the lack running water, the problem appears to have gotten worse.

People pay taxes to ensure critical services like water, waste disposal, transportation and a few others are efficiently supplied by government. The fact that we continue to demonstrate the poorest management that forces citizens to embarrass themselves by making public cries is unacceptable.  Can we honestly label ourselves an educated people if we continue to mismanage our affairs to this degree?

Here is a reminder of short and longer term solutions promised in 2016 by the then Minister of Water Resources David Estwick.

• The Barbados Water Authority has put in an order for eight additional water tankers to provide potable water for residents of St Joseph, St Andrew and St John.
  • The tankers will take the BWA complement to 13, and they should be in Barbados in about two months.
  • The BWA is presently rehabilitating a well at Groves in St George aimed at providing an additional 500 000 gallons of water to the Golden Ridge/Castle Grant system which supplies the northern parishes.
  • The BWA has also completed a new pumping station at the Lazaretto, Black Rock, St Michael which allows it to push desalinated water down the island’s west coast into the St Peter system to get water to St Peter and St Lucy until the completion of the Northern Upgrade project which was started under a previous administration.
  • The St Philip Water Augmentation project to find additional water to alleviate shortages in the south of Barbados will be commissioned next Wednesday, allowing the BWA access to an additional 3.5 million gallons of water per day, some of which will be pushed to St Joseph, via Bowmanston in St John – Nationnews

The Ionics desalination plant was also upgraded and contracted by government to augment the supply of water.

The majority of middleclass Barbadians have invested in water storage facilities, it is always the poor and vulnerable who are exposed by the chronic mismanagement by authorities.

The same lament can be repeated to explain the garbage pileup across the country. We hear the excuses and promises from Minister of the Environment Trevor Prescod that new garbage trucks will be deployed shortly.  However sensible people are asking what is the backup plan. Is there a good case to contract private waste-haulers to assist with short term waste collection? Do not forget there is a systemic problem to be solved of implementing a waste management plan. Dumping garbage in a landfill is a primitive waste disposal solution and exposes successive governments for the inability to implement relevant solutions.  The current flare up by sanitation workers is another symptom of mismanagement of our national affairs.

The quality of debate in this space and elsewhere means we can anticipate political operatives tossing the usual vacuous barbs to defend narrow political interest. This is where we are and where we will will continue to be as a nation- a country in decline if…

236 responses to “Garbage Pile Up Water Shortage Pon De Replay”

1. ” It could be a dark, dry weekend with water, power, telephone and internet outages across Barbados.”

This is as a result of severe shortages of electrical power as the Barbados Light & Power Company continues to grapple with faulty generator equipment, which is also expected to trigger water outages in many areas.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/241396/dark-dry-days

2. BWA pumping stations could have back up generators to work when there is a power failure.

The supply of water is an ESSENTIAL SERVICE.

Pumping stations could also have their own SOLAR POWERED electrical supply.

3. With all these problems that effect a good quality of life for people
    Yet PM Mottley in one of her drunken koolaid stupors a year ago openly stated an open immigration policy for all Caricom nationals given cause to loosen the laws in place and more leadway in allowing Caricom citizens easier acess to allowing their extended families to live in barbados
    Which begs the question with shortages in water and poor garbage pick up how will it be possible for govt to provide proper quality in these areas with an increase in population
    This govt from the first day of goverence has shown that its plans or policies towards implementation are those having political undertows having nothing to do with the best interest of the country
    Now with the highly touted”We gathering” one can expect the piles of garbage would increase and most likely people in rural areas having no water for weeks as govt tries to find a plan in tow with the BWA to give water preference to the hotel industries first

4. With all these problems that effect a good quality of life for people
    Yet PM Mottley in one of her drunken koolaid stupors a year ago openly stated an open immigration policy for all Caricom nationals given cause to loosen the laws in place and more leadway in allowing Caricom citizens easier acess to allowing their extended families to live in Barbados(Quote)

Spot on Mariposa. Don’t be bullied by the brainless..

5. 28 Ministers and 28 supporting ministries along with supporting staff in each case and accompanying salaries, office real estate, office equipment, vehicles, travel allowances, stationery, overseas travel, per diem, electricity, water, holiday with pay, NIS contributions….and the list of expenses goes on; and what do we get? Same old sh*t as the last gaggle of non-performers.

WTF are we paying you for? Excuses? Or do we have to await manna from heaven just before the next election in order to be made aware they you are “The Chosen”?

You better beware that you don’t make history a second time.

6. Why cant you make a comment without attaching something disparaging to it? You need to clip that chip from your shoulder.

7. Why would you David call a fact a disparging remark
    Are you seriuos
    Mia Mottley did place the plan for increased immigration in the public domian
    Now (my ) having to look back at Mia ignorance you states the comments as being disparging
    David too early to be drinking koolaid

8. @Fearplay

Some of us appreciate the last government bought zero garbage trucks, zero buses, ignored the south coast sewage system read lack of maintenance. We get it. The Mottley government was overwhelmingly elected to fix the problem. Fix the damn problem. 18 monthly nearly is enough times to expect incremental improvements in all areas. Start fixing the Rh problems!

9. @ Mariposa

Here are some facts: in 1970, less than 50 years ago, the population of London was 90 per cent white. Today it is 40 per cent; the capital of this great country has a majority ethnic and foreign population – and London has changed.
    For the last 15 years, Britain has absorbed over 500000 people every year, Eastern Europeans, refugees, etc. Let us put that another way: Guyana is bigger than England, can you imagine a population nearly the total size of the entire Guyanese population being imposed on Guyana every year, even if many are seasonal workers?
    Demography matters so when the president calls for a greater Barbadian population she is playing with fire. New populations do not just move to a country to absorb its culture; they bring theirs with them.
    I am all for free movement of people, be it Caricom or a United States of Europe, but it must be thought through.

10. I have a plan for govt to fix the dam thing
    Fire White Oaks and use that money to buy more trucks and fix broken pipes
    This govt has wasted too much money in tax giveaways under the disguise it could not collect from these tax bandits including Mia Father who got his share of the waiver pie
    All this money could be used to correct multiple problems
    As i stated too much politics involved in running the country
    I bet all these govt officials have running water and garbage pick

11. Crooks in Office to busy walking away with money and no one is focused on the jobs at hand, those responsible need to be fired, All garbage and key things of clean Life need not be in the had of PVT people nor companies at this point they are proof they are scamps. People Voted for SWAP or SWAMP, not CHANGE, THERE IS NO OPPOSITION IN THE BARBADOS GOVERNMENT, THESE new imposters don’t have to wait till 2023 to speak up Blp part 3, the BBBLP in office wasting time, The People are getting ready to Rumble,The people now see “Plantation Deeds” Words and Warning, Massive Land Fraud and PONZI is about to boil It feels better to be Correct than right!

12. Correct Hal but this govt seems not to understand “realities” causes and consequences
    All that matters to govt is being on full blast as an advocate for all things political
    Country and people be dam

13. A look at the dilapidated headquarters of the DLP at George Street and BLP at Roebuck Street speaks volumes. The 2 main parties entrusted with governing the affairs of country and cannot maintain their party headquarters is instructive. These people own the same brains responsible for managing country. Connect the dots.

14. “FORT GEORGE FIND”

“There has been a major archaeological find in Barbados”. Not So Fast, Freedom’s Son and his friends used to take an inflatable Raft into this Cistern in their Youth. So Please do not mislead the Public… There was a Concrete Pad with a hole in the top that allowed entrance into this Architectural Marvel. Historians say the coral stone structure could date back to the 19th century. “When a news team visited the area a number of bats were seen hanging from the inside while some sections of the structure had graffiti.” So how could it have been that nobody knew it was there?

“This underground water storage facility in Fort George Heights, St Michael was discovered over the weekend by workers of the Barbados Water Authority (BWA), while Destroying 50 % of the Structure before halting the Demolition.” The Blue Rust Bucket Water Storage tank seen in the image has been leaking and Wasting water for a long time.

https://barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/IMG_2810-650×317.jpg

The Structure of this Water Cistern Looks like it could hold Several Thousand Gallons of Water and far Exceeds the Size of the Above Water Tank, So Why could it not have been Utilized, Especially being a Coral Stone Structure it would have Filtered the water through the Stone.

Now the Historians want to Preserve what is left of it “With about 50 per cent of the structure already destroyed, Sir Henry Fraser and Dr Karl Watson have called on authorities to preserve what is left of it.

Watson, who is a past president of the Trust, described the “historic 19th century water storage underground facility” as beautiful.

Insisting that what remained of the structure should be preserved, Watson suggested that it could be used to tell a part of the island’s rich history.

“People would love to go and see it. You could have dinners in it. You could have concerts in it. You could think of many things to do. You have to,” he said.

The historian said it was the site where “the planned Fort George started but was then abandoned”.

https://barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/IMG_2783.jpg

A LOOK AT INSIDE THE OLD CISTERN.

Sir Henry who could hardly contain his excitement, described the structure as amazing, insisting that it was of “enormous historical interest and archaeological value”.

https://barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/IMG_2849-650×324.jpg

Professor Henry Fraser “Clearly there is a lot of damage to the structure, but there is a lot more to be seen, there is a lot more to be discovered. Clearly the Barbados National Trust, the Barbados Museum and the people at the Garrison Historical Consortium and an appropriate archaeological and engineering team need to be established as a matter of urgency . . . This is of such enormous value for our history, for our people and for our tourism, of course. So this has huge intrinsic value as well as economic value,” he said.

“This is a solid structure, the walls are several feet thick. It is astonishing that this was hidden and there was no oral history or memory being passed on,” he added.

He is especially happy that Chief Executive Officer of the BWA Keithroy Halliday was able to put a stop to the demolition.”

In a statement this evening, the BWA said It has been agreed that until further investigations can be carried out by the Ministry of Energy and Water Resources, the Barbados National Trust and the BWA, work on the project would be halted.

Read More @ https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/08/20/fort-george-find/

15. Barbados has lost ALL ITS ARCHIVES for external relations from the 1960s(independence) to the 1980s. The British has piles of records from the days of slavery in Barbados in it is Public Records Office (Archives). What does that tell us?
    Barbados is a failed state.

16. A blessed and happy morning to all of Barbados.
    Seem like it will be a nice day in my part of the world.
    Hope that it is the same for you.
    Have a great day Barbados

17. Even this twenty twenty iinitiative flies like horse patties
    Govt put this melody go around into the public domain as a disguised growth plan a plan to increase the treasury funds
    Her Mia puts a plan without thinking once again of cause and consequence with a need for good transportation proper roads free of potholes
    Not to mention the uncontrollable traffic backup daily on the highways in addition to ongoing social problems that effect good quality of life

18. You may comment as you like but take note you have zero credibility on the blog. You are a dye in the wool DLP supporter, a party responsible for digging one of the deepest economic holes the country has seen post independence. On the other side of the two party system high expectations are waning!

Will our leaders please stand up!

19. “Fire White Oaks and use that money to buy more trucks and fix broken pipes.”

Great idea…except that White Hoax already got the 54 million…that could have STARTED some of that …and taxpayers are yet to SEE anything for their money.

20. “Not So Fast, Freedom’s Son and his friends used to take an inflatable Raft into this Cistern in their Youth. So Please do not mislead the Public… There was a Concrete Pad with a hole in the top that allowed entrance into this Architectural Marvel.”

” Historians say the coral stone structure could date back to the 19th century. “When a news team visited the area a number of bats were seen hanging from the inside while some sections of the structure had graffiti.” So how could it have been that nobody knew it was there?”

Good comments by FC.. Indeed the graffito had me puzzled, but it could have been done at a much earlier period.

I wonder what made the men stopped at 50% destruction.. Did a new person came on the scene and stopped them, or did the workers reach a point where the folly of their actions became obvious?
    Did BWA not talk with the locals before beginning work?
    Could it be possible there are other structures like this that BWA is not aware of?
    What changes will be made so as to minimize the chance of this occurring again?

21. “A look at the dilapidated headquarters of the DLP at George Street and BLP at Roebuck Street speaks volumes.”

Have you seen the road DIRECTLY in front of Llaro Cout, supposedly official…residence of the PM..it is literally A CART ROAD.

22. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/08/24/paul-looks-forward-to-cess-on-milk/
    Read the story and (apart from what I suspect it is – a tax ) I had no idea of what is a cess. Went googling and found this (sep 14, 2018)

https://www.business-standard.com/article/pti-stories/haryana-reduces-cess-on-milk-to-5p-l-118091401078_1.html

https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/economy/Milk-consumers-to-pay-more-in-one-per-cent-levy-and-cess-plan/3946234-4521448-eqj7ui/

Is milk a cash cow for govenments all over the world?

23. Yet maybe Govt use the squatters Hand Book or go on Squatters Row to get a look on how this self imposed sytem of goverence worked for the squatting community over ten years

24. Just thought of it… Does the blogmaster has a policy (soft or hard ) on the posting of links to stories from a “possible competitor”

25. Greater than 2.

26. David dont mek me laugh
    Do u think that the blp yardfowls would like anything i say against this govt
    Which brings to me the Cahill project which Mottley brought down hell and heaven to stop
    Now today with all the promises made to correct enviromental problems the country garbage has becoming and increasing eye sour
    Sewage being pumped into the ocean which is in itself a laughable solution and people daily taking to media outlets asking solutions from this govt.
    Btw the landfills are over flowing as a result more fires will become problematic across barbados landscape

27. Go and help Verla fix the windows in George Street or Mia in Roebuck Street.

28. All these wicked politicians do is lie, lie, lie to vulnerable people to get votes just to get into the parliament, just to pretend they are important and better than the people who elected them and then do SQUAT …..hopefully the FUNERAL HOMES GOT GENERATORS..

29. @ Hal Austin August 24, 2019 7:54 AM

“Barbados has lost ALL ITS ARCHIVES for external relations from the 1960s(independence) to the 1980s.”

This proves once again that the arrogant Barrow could not rule any state. He only wanted to redistribute as a socialist, as he learned from his teachers at LSE. It is time to blow up his monument and place a more worthy person like Grand General Bussa.

By the way: if there were no international investors and businessmen on the island, all historical buildings would have rotten or burned down long ago.

30. Garbage Pile Up Water Shortage Pon De Replay???

As always, blind alarmism instead of praising the government.

I don’t know if you live on the island at all. When I turn on the tap, water always comes out. Maybe some locals should clean the pipes and the filters.

It’s also a fact that the garbage truck comes at least once a week. At least. But I remember that it was different under the DLP terror regime.

31. Mariposa

Being off topic for a moment…….

………….. a friend of mine attended a meeting held at George Street last night at which the party faithful planned to discuss the possibility of “re-running” Denis Lowe as your party’s candidate for Christ Church East.

Yuh mean, of all people, Denis Lowe????

Anyhow…… if you attended, I hope you did not consume too much of Astor’s extra strong rum punch.

“Now, back to the scheduled program.”

32. TheOGazerts August 24, 2019 8:11 AM RE “Could it be possible there are other structures like this that BWA is not aware of?”

What is Aesthetically Displeasing is that Large Water Tank that commands one of the Best Views of the Island can be seen from miles around, soon to be Replaced by an even Bigger Structure. While on the other hand the Huge Historical Water Cistern Edifice that was Constructed and was done so that it was unnoticeable and became one with the Landscape.

Other Questions, What about Gun Hill are there Underground Tunnels as they are by the Garrison? If they are Discovered, that would be a Great Tourist Attraction. There is a Gigantic Hole in the same Fort George area a Stone throw away from the Tank, it maybe the Remanent of a past Quarry could not the New Tank be placed in that Excavated old Quarry? It is certainly Big Enough, that would Ensure that we do not have another Tank viewed from All parts of the Island and the Aesthetic would be far more Pleasing.

THE GRAFFITI ON THE WALL IS MODERN, WHICH TELLS THAT THIS WAS NOT AN UNKNOWN PLACE!

Barbados National Trust Image
    https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosNationalTrust/photos/pcb.2466950480040215/2466909183377678/?type=3&theater

33. Artax. Btw wuh happen to the economic guru Clyde Mascoll
    Oops off topic

Back on topic
    Did this govt not promise timely garbage collection
    Did this govt not promised better Transportation
    Did this govt not promise a plan to tackle crime
    Did this govt not promise to lower taxes hence giving people more disposable income
    Did this govt not promise more jobs
    Did this govt not promise a better health care system
    Did this govt not promise better housing for the most vulnerables

How is it that in a year taxes has gone through the roof
    Garbage still piles up in the street
    Water woes have increased with citizens having to wait for long periods for water and garbage pick up
    As for putting money in peoples pocket ask a retrenched worker or a pensioner how much money govt has put in their pocket
    The answers are mind blowing

34. Each day our illustrious blog leader posts another story underlining BARBADOS FAILED STATE status. It’s incredible to Wily that highly supposed educated citizens do not understand, or is it that this citizenry is not so educated or this is the way they want to live. It’s becoming time for those who can immigrate to start planning thier moves, NIGERIA, HAITI, VENEZUELA, ZIMBABWE here we come.

Blog master posted three(3) reasons for the present situation, of which only one is TRUE, MISMANAGEMENT.

35. @ David,

Maybe there is truth to the rumour I am creating that offshore gas reserves are massive and potential saviour of the Barbados economy. lol. wishing and hoping.

“THE Prime Minister left today for Barbados. A statement issued by the Office of the Prime Minister said Dr Rowley will participate in the signing of a memorandum of understanding between TT and Barbados for co-operation in energy development which extends across the maritime border of both countries.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/08/23/pm-leaves-for-barbados/

36. @Hants

This is good news given the tension over this and other issues between the two countries. The devil is always in the detail read execution.

37. @ Wily

Would it be nice to have a chairman who is impartial ie non-partisan and objective?

38. @ David,

The Trini PM knows that the richer Barbados becomes the more Trini goods Bajans will buy.

It is interesting that the Trini PM is flying to Barbados to sign the agreement.

Hope it is good news for the economy.

39. @Hants

A good economic argument, the reality is that Mottley seems to have a better relationship with the regional HOGs. The thing to watch will be IF she can translate it to creating opportunities for the island.

40. Sorry doing a rain dance would not help or even praying to a rain God
    Nature is precise and works on a plan that is well fined tuned
    Yearly the seasonal planning comes on time and into effect
    With man negative effect on the climate drought would last longer so for any individual to be delighted at the prospect of rain to solve the water problems need to think again
    Govts over the years knew of all the underlying problems attached to barbados water problems but did nothing to correct
    Hence on the eleventh hour when drought raises it ugly head barbadians must not rely on excuses as a solution
    Wuh happen to the decaying under ground pipes that govt ignored?

41. What happened is that the government you support dumped hundreds of thousand of dollars worth of pipes at St. Barnabas and decided to build a 50 million dollar headquarters, also dragged their feet negotiating a deal with BWA workers to implement the pipes laying project.

42. Let’s us try for once and leave politics put of this and be honest with ourselves here. If we do that then the following points are undeniable.

Garbage is piling up in the island again especially in the rural areas.

Water outages are back with us as was outlined in The Nation News, Barbados Today and on Brasstacks. Now some of this may be the fault of the Light and Power but I coming to them next!

The Light and Power over the last 2 weeks has been doing a piss poor job supplying electricity to the island. For the record I am dam tired of your excuses about “generator issues.” So based on this 3 out 10 for wunna! Now let’s go on to be realistic and have a discussion.

18 months ago we were promised 30 garbage trucks by this government. So far we have bought roughly 6, even after imposing a massive sewage tax on the water bill. As for trucks being available they are brand new Perterbuilt and Freightmaster trucks available for roughly $140,000 USD in the USA. All ready to collect garbage. Just Google “Garbage trucks for sale” for dealers in Florida . For your performance here I give you 4 out of 10.

Next Water:
    The last government spoke of bringing in 3 portable desal plants and placing them in the effected areas so as to solve the problem by using them to refill the reservoirs in the area directly, as opposed to depending on central distribution. For failing to follow through on this as government is a continuance, again 4 out of 10.

While The Light And Power is a private company and government must not be blamed for their tardiness, has the FTC written them yet demanding a better service or advising them of penalties for their tardiness? If wunna haven’t 4 out of 10 for you all too!

So having said all of the above are you starting to see a clear picture yet? If not let me help you. Governments will come and go but the civil service remains unchanged. Promises made by one party are no different to the ones made by the other.

I would like to say though that at least this party has cleaned up the bush quite a bit in the rural areas. I passed through Content this week and didn’t realise the road was that wide!

In closing i shall borrow Williams favourite words and say The Duopoly Rules!

43. @ David August 24, 2019 7:38 AM
    “A look at the dilapidated headquarters of the DLP at George Street and BLP at Roebuck Street speaks volumes. The 2 main parties entrusted with governing the affairs of country and cannot maintain their party headquarters is instructive. These people own the same brains responsible for managing country. Connect the dots.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Well said, Bogmaster!

So why are we so surprised at the poor state of the country’s infrastructure?

If these people can’t even keep their own political shack from turning into a pig sty how can they be expected to look after the public hygiene of a 166 sq. mi. pit toilet that Barbados has been turned into by these low-class “sums of beetches” (to copy from Gabriel’s flowery lexicon)?

You can be become poor because of changes in your financial circumstances but for heaven’s sake that does not mean you must turn into a filthy nasty person.

That’s the condition in which Barbados, the former gem of the Caribbean has found itself under the leadership and management of a bunch of low-class mis-educated johnnies.

Are these people blind or what? Have they lost the sense of smell and taste of aesthetic beauty?

Have these mis-educated jokers ever read John Keats’ poem “Endymion” with its eternally famous phrase that “a thing of beauty is a joy forever” which immortalizes what ought to be the hallmark of Barbados to replace its current ‘foolish’ Pride & ‘lost’ Industry?

Barbados used to be positively compared with Bermuda and the Bahamas when it came to public cleanliness and orderly appearance. Now where does Barbados stand in the ranking?
    Why has the once stylish old girl called Bim fallen so fast in a descent similar to its many economic and financial downgrades?

Just take a look around the so-called Capital called Bridgetown and you will the deplorable state of that “city”.
    Even its main thoroughfare Broad Street is beginning to fall into disrepair with the many potholes littering this well-travelled former ‘buggy-and-cart road.

These people managing the country need to get back to basics by cleaning and sprucing up the place especially the City.

The same way the resources of the Defence Force can be redeployed, in cooperation with the police, to fight ‘blue-collar’ crime, real or imagined, why not employ similar tactics to help fight a war against the bigger threat to the country’s economic recovery and the safety and health of its residents.

In the interest of everyone’s wellbeing wouldn’t it make a wealth of commonsense for the leader(s) to mobilize the many trucks and idling manpower under the aegis of the Defence Force to clean up Barbados before any further plans to invite people to your fast disappearing paradise whether for the coming tourism winter season (which could be one of the most competitive given the Brexit repercussions) or for the red carpet to be laid out in 2020 labelled ‘We Gatherin’ but Not in Dirty Bim.

What are the ‘black’ authorities waiting for? An outbreak of cholera or some other communicable disease of epidemic proportion?

Stop playing the game of Russian roulette with the health and of innocent people.

Who wants to visit a country where their health and safety could be at ‘mortal’ risks?

44. @John A

We do not have to see it in the Nation or Barbados Today to know garbage is piling up, some of us live on the damn rock.

The other point is that BL&P has been held up as a beacon for years, since EMERA what are we seeing? See the introduction of the new E;ectric Bill what are we seeing? Things to ponder.

45. @Miller

Telling comment that!

46. @ David.

I only referenced the articles for those who may be ” politically challenged” and hence in denial. Lol

I would be the first to say this government inherited a country with its services in demise to put it mildly. The point is 18 months later little has changed even after the Imposition of massive taxes specifically for these purposes.

On the plus we have resurfaced a few roads and cleaned up some bush. So I can say that the increase I am paying at the pump has been partially justified, in that the road infrastructure has improved.

My question is what about the other issues that are still with us 18 months later?

47. What happened David was govt relying on BWA for sound solutions which in practacllity did not do what these solutions were meant
    As for the building plenty govt buildings are under the watchful eye of enviromental scruinty
    Having envuromental failures which has and can be potential hazards for employees
    Also slow and inefficient process of handling workable problems by way of inadequate and outdated technology
    Reasons enough for govt to build a multifaceted building

48. @ David

For example where are we on the 4 portable desal plants? Bear in mind now a days a portable plant comes in a container and just needs to be lifted on to site by a crane. 18 months later where are we on this?