… In the midst of a garbage crisis the SSA reports that there is an epidemic of illegal dumping of sheep offal in Barbados, the Police manage to apprehend a couple of the scofflaws who admitted to the dumping but declined to charge them because according to the SSA spokesman they were “cooperative”. I hope that next time someone is caught with a spliff or stealing a nail clip that they could “cooperate” their way out of charges. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/08/14/not-rite/.

Sargeant posted as a comment.

A report in this week’s press highlighted the dumping of sheep entrails in the Atlantic Shores area. According to the report the two offenders were not prosecuted although found to have  contravened the Nuisance Regulation 1969, Collection and Disposal of Refuse 1975, Rodent Regulations of 1969. They escaped with a caution because they cooperated with authorities..

The report piqued the blogmaster’s interest because the dumping of the entrails has occurred at a time Barbados is battling a garbage collection pileup across the island. Also an illegal dumping of waste in gullies, side roads etc. In the opinion of the blogmaster an opportunity was missed to send an unequivocal message to the wider society that we must do better. The report made mention the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) has receiveda number of reports that because of the festival that is being held in celebration of the Muslim belief, there is an increase of the illegal dumping of the entrails of the ram.

At some point the authorities must change gears. Illegal dumping is a big problem. If we do nothing, it will continue and become ensconced in the way we dispose waste if isn’t already.  The scenario playing out is reminiscent to when former Attorney General Maurice King assured the country there were no gangs. Another example is the continuing mismanagement of the PSV sector.

In 2016 there was a report attributed to former Minister of the Environment Denis Lowe declaring that Bridgetown was generally a clean area. Lowe had also promised to give greater authority to environmental officers by amending the law to prosecute people caught dumping illegally.

The time has come and gone to enforce laws on the books. The government as recent as yesterday in a press conference confirmed it is committed to working with citizens to rebuild the society. It is time for some “tuff love” to be administered if we are serious about turning things around. The blogmaster understands that authorities probably exercised discretion given sensibilities at play. Administering the law requires one to be ‘colour blind’.

141 responses to “‘Tuff Love’ Needed Muslims or NOT!”

1. Articles and books contrary to Muslim or Saudi Arabian beliefs or morality will not be allowed into the country
    Christmas trees, crosses, crucifixes, stars of david or any other items associated with religions other than the Muslim faith. *Bibles are allowed for personal use only, ie one Bible per person.

Above extracted from:https://www.blueabaya.com/items-banned-from-bringing-into-saudi-arabia

2. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    I have no magic. It’s just that there are some on BU who believe that everybody who comes on this blog just came to town !
    In all fairness both you and Hal have been engaged in the struggle as we refer to it. You are both my brothers in the struggle. It’s common for brothers to have differences but philosophically , I know that both of you are not apologists for the system.
    I honestly think that our country is being systematically destroyed by the dominant political class. This really means the Duopoly.
    You recall Eric Sealy and thePressure Group. There is nothing like that today. Everybody apparently has found comfort in the political bedrooms on George and Roebuck Streets.
    BU is a safe haven for the Duopoly. I note how easily a recent thread was suddenly shut down. I say no more.
    Watch yuh head and belly my brother.

The Duopoly Rules

3. Sir William

Permit us to know better.

It would be impossible for us to have ANYTHING in common with your supine, ignorant froend.

4. “BU is a safe haven for the Duopoly. I note how easily a recent thread was suddenly shut down. I say no more.”

No safety on Facebook though…they just TURNED UP THE HEAT…and there is not a thing duopoly can do about it, people from as far as US…went off on that topic…still going off on it, at least it gives me a break to recharge..lol

5. The people who would write about the sudden shuting down of threads, waru and skinner, should seek an explanation first.

Should david not have an editorial judgement like skinner has on his own blog? And like waru has with his videos?

6. Pacha…i was not complaining not one little bit…Facebook picked up nicely and are what they are supposed to do..Blogmaster deserves a rest sometimes…and they can carry for even longer and to a much wider audiance…as i said, love the breaks when they come..

7. @SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife August 17, 2019 10:45 AM

A great reply.

8. Waru

Fair enough, withdrawn in your case

9. @ Hal Austin August 17, 2019 10:41 AM

I also heard the information yesterday. What can I say.. Advice is ignored. This has been going on for years. Both parties have betrayed the people.. It is truly a sad state of affairs. I feel very sorry for the and those who come later. The immediate post independence generation of which I happen to be part of , has failed this country miserably..

10. I feel very sorry for the young and those who come later.(correction).

11. @William

I never discuss religion or politics because they both have too much in common, in that they both are a matter of interpretation cradled in myth. So today too I shall adhere to that rule.

On your point about the Indians being able to raise ” cash in a flash” it is true. This does not mean as individuals they are rich, but as a community they do have wealth which is readily available for members to have access to via the elders. They are conservative and do not throw around money, but there is one thing every Indian business man invests in and that’s a good safe!

Let me give you an example of how they cooperate as a group which I experienced last Saturday. I wanted a part for a car which one Indian dealer I was sent to didn’t have. Instead of just saying I don’t have it you know what he did? He went on the phone and called another seller who had it and sent me there. At first I said wow that is service, but when I got to the other dealer guess what, yep he was an Indian too.

Say what you like one has to admire the way they stick together and help each other. That is why their business interest on the island is quietly growing and diversifying without fanfare.

12. @Pacha

What an intelligent intervention.

13. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha

A mere observation that the decision to shut down the thread came quite suddenly, in my opinion. Never said the blogmaster should not have the authority. It’s his blog, as you correctly asserted.

The Duopoly Rules

14. William Skinner Avatar

@ John A

Correct ! Now let’s talk about head and belly.

15. @ Hal

Like you I listened to the gentleman on Brasstacks yesterday and was left to ponder what the hell are we doing. Especially when he said they had to adjust the mapping on the radar so as not be affected by these said house roofs.

So this and past governments are telling me my life is at risk because of a blank radar hole so as to accommodate a bunch of blasted squatters! You telling me you will place the lives of every bajan and visitor at risk because no politician got the backbone to deal with this crap!

I mean this is madness. Plus I was told this morning that the government now wants to offer each of them $25000 of our tax dollars to relocate. Relocate to somewhere else so they can squat fresh then is that the plan?

Well give me a few days I know where an old caravan is let me drop it on a spot up there first. You can write the cheque to John A account number ######. Oh and cash please no bonds either. After all i got my eye on a nice brow lot to go and squat on so need real money to buy bricks!

I don’t know which is most laughable the above or the forgiveness of vat due by some who have collected millions but decided not to pay it in. They must of said I really want a new SUV so to hell with paying in the VAT I heading Simpson Motors instead.

Hal boy you ain t lie when you say we are a failed state!

16. Not only stick togetherness. I’ve often travel from the USA to Europe with a group of Asians and at the end of the business day we invariably find ourselves in an Asian restaurant. They seek out and support each other.

There is much we can learn from other ethnic groups.

17. @ William

I will have to conclude dem got the head and the taxes here giving every bajan ” de belly” Lol

Any how before you go and “relieve wunna self make sure the bathroom got planning approval.”

It looking to me the answer to getting ahead in Bim is break the law and await forgiveness and reward.

This government and others are sending a piss poor message on their ability to enforce the law.

We need to stop focusing on the petty issues and push for the bigger picture to be addressed before all is lost.

18. Instead of blaming them what should we do as a majority Black population??

19. That is where the contradiction comes.
    Sir william tells a story about the lack of an ability to mobilize resources amongst black people in barbados.

But yet he does not even want to accept the leadership of david on this blog. No trist!

Then how would it ever be possible to mobilize black capital, formation. Compete with minorities forces.

20. @The0gazerts

You know where it is also very visible, go to anywhere where there is a concentration of Indian based businesses and you will notice the strategic placement of supporting business, all run by the same people. If one say is selling cars you can bet he has a ” cousin” offering car insurance 2 doors down.

Check here for example. Who now controls the reconditioned car import market? Now who controls the car part business?

Enough said. Lol

21. @David.

I for one don’t blame the Indian community for how they do business, further from blame I admire how they try to keep capital circulating among themselves.

Remember too this was practiced among the Jews in Swan Street going back years, from when the families lived upstairs and carried on business down stairs. They too are very family based and supportive of each other. One only has to look at the restoration of their Synagpgue to see this.

22. @John A

As Pacha hinted as a Black people we have trust issues. The Indians and other minorities respect an honour system, a social hierarchy that helps them with focussing on the whole even if it is at the sacrifice of the individual.

23. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha

Do you equate an observation as not accepting leadership on BU. David ought to tell you that I contributed several articles over the years.
    Man Pacha you need to read what I write.You’re the one who talk about no leadership is needed and now you doing this nonsense to me?
    If I did not accept David’s leadership, I would not be on BU this regularly.
    You like being judge jury and executioner but only when you have the guillotine in your hands.
    Make sure you don’t damage yourself bro’. I very good with brother David ; his continued defense of the Duopoly not withstanding.
    Thread gone !

The Duopoly Rules

24. “Instead of blaming them what should we do as a majority Black population??”

the divide and rule by ya leaders is a contributing factor in why the majority black population cannot come together…the idiot politics and D v. B yardfowl society…is ugly, counterproductive and GOING NOWHERE ….. nothing will get done unless the population understand that they must come together to fight off all these FORCES OF EVIL..keeping them apart…

Black Americans have FINALLY UNDERSTOOD THAT..hence the movement for everything black owned, bought and sold….businesses are springing up everywhere and all black owned..even the banks..and that is the US..

Even the crips and the bloods in Baltimore have called a truce and understand that they must stand as one to overcome the evil designed to keep them apart….

..so what is wrong that Bajans cannot understand that the leaders are toxic and are to be ignored, chased the hell off the island and BRANDED as useless…never returned to the parliament twice.

25. @ David.

I don’t think it is as much a trust issue as an embedded jealousy for those who try to better themselves above a standard that others have set for them. I also think the need some have to flaunt the fact that they have ” arrived ” serves only to infuriate those less fortunate.

I mean do we really need a $400,000 SUV in Barbados? What can that do that my 7 year old Toyota can’t?

26. @John A

Call it what you want, we need to fix it stop the blame game. It is our island, governed by a 90% Black population.

27. @ Robert Lucas
    @John A
    @William

You are all right. @Robert, I sometimes advise young people, when approached with ideas of working in Barbados, to forget the idea. If they feel home sick, take two weeks out, visit, eat and drink and dance, then get on a plane and leave.
    For the five to ten years of my retirement planning, a central part was buying a retirement house in Barbados, then I shifted to Grenada, I have long abandoned that idea. I have decided like our young cricketers that, whatever you think of the UK, it is a more civilised place to spend your retirement years.
    @John A and @William, there is a lot to admire about other ethnic and religious groups when it comes to wealth accumulation. In my street, the majority of people are Asians (Hindus, Muslims and Sikhs) and they all have one thing in common: they earn money and keep it within the group – builders, grocers, car mechanics, etc are all from their groups.
    The one exception to this are the Caribbean people, the oldest of the post war immigrants in the UK. I have said on BU before that it must be a cultural thing, we are risk-averse when t comes to starting our own businesses and for some reason lack confidence in employing our own.
    When we do we get shoddy workmanship. Recently I have employed some Eastern Europeans, Sikhs and a Jamaican, guess which one provided the worst service, including asking to borrow money?
    As you can imagine, this is an old story in the UK and I can go on for ages about it. Only today my wife had to take her car to Eastern Europeans, who asked to be paid in cash. So they may be a fiddling of the tax man involved. Of course, she refused to pay in cash.
    Plse remind me, is there a business school at the UWI? If so, what is it for, to provide people with MBAs after their names or to train future business people. Does government (BERT) see the development of an SME sector (out side the hotel sector) as part of its growth plan? SMEs employ 70 per cent of workers in developed economies.

28. A good movement to follow is the BUY BLACK MOVEMENT…keep the money circulating within the 90% black community, to the EXCLUSION OF ALL OTHERS, just as they have done for the last 70 years to the black majority, and that is only if ya want the black majority to have any UPWARD FINANCIAL MOBILITY….that is the only way to go, it has not worked out at all with the majority spending every dime they earn with minorities, that is not black empowerment, that is stupidity.

Even worse they continue to work for and have successive generations of their children working for these minority parasites, that too is counterproductive to Black EMPOWERMENT.

Barbados is 70 years behind in development because your leaders were never part of the solution and in 2019….STILL PART OF THE PROBLEM.

29. @Hal

Where I first notice this big-time was among the Jewish community in New York. Many of them now are second generation in the USA, but their parents and grandparents would of been among the millions that fled Europe from Hitler and his Perfect Race Plan. Many of them fled with nothing but a suitcase and their life to show for it too. They arrived in the USA and started over making their presence known today in the financial sector of New York.

I don’t have to tell how they did the same in England and are today buying properties in clusters and rebuilding them for their family and a future. You notice what they driving though? Some real old cars as we would say here. Again another race who started with little, having to run for their life who are quietly amassing wealth on both continents.

My point is it can be done if you want it bad enough and are willing to work for it.

30. @ David

” SSA reports that there is an epidemic of illegal dumping of sheep offal in Barbados.

The Police manage to apprehend a couple of the scofflaws who admitted to the dumping but declined to charge them because according to the SSA spokesman they were “cooperative”.

Did this ” cooperation ” include removal and proper disposal of the offal ?

31. @Hants

As reported in the press the proper burial is to dig a hole at the dump under the supervision of SSA officials. There you have it.

32. @ David.

I agree with you 100 percent but who are we going to look to for guidance, certainly not government! Point to one thing they have managed successfully over the last 15 years.

Airport unsafe because of squatters, a tax system that allows debt to be run up then forgives them. Even the basics like garbage and public transport, BOTH governments have proven dismal failures at. With this as an example of management at the highest level, what do you expect from the man on the street?

In the meantime they are slaughtering the middle class with taxes while ” the small man” breaks the law and is awarded with $25000 for doing it and the ” rich man” walks away with millions in VAT he couldn’t bother paying in.

You don’t see something fundamentally wrong here?

33. @John A

Nice prose but guess what, Barbadians whether on the rock or elsewhere are vested by the umbilical chord those who resist it are from another place.

34. @ David.

Lord that mean I from Bora Bora and got a bajan passport by accident !

35. @John A

The simplistic answer is that the elders in a society must hold their hands up. The current state of things suggest this is at the root of the problem, our elders have become irrelevant in the process by allowing their offspring to assimilate for wont of a better word.

36. The simplistic answer is that the elders in a society must hold their hands up. The current state of things suggest this is at the root of the problem, our elders have become irrelevant in the process by allowing their offspring to assimilate for wont of a better word.(Quote)

What does this mean in simple English? Do Bajans speak in code, or only on BU? What does holding your hand up mean? What is the problem? In what way have the elders become irrelevant? What do we mean by assimilation? Assimilation to what?

37. @ David

To a point yes but government have a massive role to play by sending a strong message which is a society must adhere to rules or pay the price.

Look at this squatting issue for example what message does that send to the young?

It says to them ” don’t worry with expensing yourself with buying land paying bank and thing. Just pick piece of land and squat on it.”

On top of that we will instead of bull dozing it, pay you $25000 to move if need be.

Now in the same time Maloney could do the same thing and build a cement bond, even after being told by the TCP to cease construction.

So what good for the goose good for the gander, is how those that squat looking at it. Plus remember at heart every minister is a politician and the vote matters. Why you don’t ask them squatting by the airport if both candidates last elections didn’t go up there begging for votes!

38. William Skinner Avatar

@ John A

What did our African ancestors arrived with ?

39. @ William

Nothing

40. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    Can’t agree with you totally here:
    James A Tudor
    Marcus Jordan
    Miller / Ricks
    Jordan’s/ Jordan’s Supermarket
    Neville Rowe
    Elma Grant
    Everson Elcock
    Gittens / Ideal Homes
    Enid’s
    Granny’s
    Broomes/Welcome Inn Hotel
    Literally hundreds of small black entrepreneurs
    Rawls Brancker
    Trevor Clarke

It cannot be proven that they were risk averse.

41. @ William

We have had this debate before. It depends on how we define business. I respect all small business people, having been one myself for a few months, but I am not talking about shop keepers, welders, mechanics, and small bed and breakfast proprietors. I am talking about big manufacturing and service industries. I knew Trevor and loved him dearly, but he was no magnate. He was brave, determined and ambitious.
    I still think the Nation newspaper did him a dis-service. His legal case against them should have been heard before he (and Sir Fred Gollop, the top lawyer) died. It would be nice to know where Gollop qualified as a lawyer? We urgently need a new Companies Act.
    But, to return to the issue, since the abolition of slavery, we have had a number, a very high number, of self-employed people, but we can exaggerate that by projecting them as dynamic business. Our failure must be cultural, since it spreads across traditional black and white communities.
    Our top property developers have had to borrow money from the NIS; our leading businessman sells cars at exorbitant prices; our top retail store sells cou-cou, clothes, polyester shirts and everything in between in a confusing emporium that occupies the heart of our main thoroughfare and our top hotels, banks and insurance companies are foreign owned. Only the Goddards seem to keep going, with or without Charles Herbert.

42. RFLMAO….Yawn….I made a conscious decision in 2017 never again will I use the hours I have left alive to clean up Bim. Let those who aid and abet by their lack of enforcement to get their indifference backsides to take up the cause of cleaning up.

It’s gut wrenching to clean up a gully or field only for persons to be caught and told remove litter.

Why cannot the police take the same approach to spliff smokers who do not threaten the health of the nation unlike illegal dumpers.

A bundle of jokers!

43. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John A August 17, 2019 2:10 PM “I mean do we really need a $400,000 SUV in Barbados? What can that do that my 7 year old Toyota can’t?”

You should hear what people have to say because I have no car. You should hear how people harass me, insisting that I NEED to buy a car. No I do not. Haven’t owned a car in more that 20 years. Nobody else in my household owns one either. Went to work everyday until retirement. But I must thank my old man, who way back when Adam was a lad took bus transportation into account, telling me “think, if you do not own a car, how are you going to get around?” Then I purchased a spot based on his intelligence. One of the best decisions I have ever made. It has freed up tens of thousands of dollars, maybe a couple of hundred thousand, which i have successfully deployed elsewhere.

I still say that our major public policy failure has been our failure to develop a comprehensive, safe, timely, public transportation system.

But still I get by.

I have determined that i will NEVER again buy a car, and certainly not a $400,000 SUV.

44. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Even the boys of BU from time to time cuss me because I take ZR’s, yellow buses, Transport Board buses, and taxis, airplanes too, because since i do not have a car it frees up money for air travel.

45. @Sir Simple

Well said for sure. It’s all a matter of priorities and what one thinks is of greatest importance. That being what one thinks of you as opposed to what you think of yourself.

46. @ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife August 16, 2019 10:22 PM
    “A spokesperson from the Muslim faith said that they had arranged for skips to be placed and emptied immediately after the Eid slaughter. It seems that some people did not comply.
    No need for Robert to “remove” the women’s veils, nor to wish Trump and Orban on we good Bajans, whether we be Christian, Rastafarian, Muslim, Jew or non-believer.

Miller will not get his wish to see women walking around daily in panties and bra only. That will only happen on Kadooment Day or at the beach.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You, Sir Simon(e), in your simplistic silly way seem to have missed the point by not being able to see the bigger picture portrayed here.

Why should members of the Muslim faith be allowed to flaunt the Health Laws of Barbados by engaging in unauthorized backyard yard slaughtering of animals for human consumption or otherwise?

Can any other sections of society kill animals for human consumption on any festive occasion without undergoing the strict abattoir-like conditions?

On what grounds is the local community of Islamists exempted when strict health and safety prerequisites are the sine qua non of food production, preparation and consumption?

It certainly can’t be a case of giving a pass to a practice which started over 4,000 years ago in a semi-desert society to recognize the dominance or rule of the constellation Aries in the Solar Wheel of Mankind’s fortune and fate?

Suppose the Miller wanted to slaughter a cow in his backyard as a sacrifice to the god Vishnu as a ritual of contriteness for the many times he has cussed you, the man-hating myope, would you support my right to ‘do it’ to a cow like you without prior approval from the relevant Health authorities?

47. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Miller etc. “Suppose the Miller wanted to slaughter a cow in his backyard as a sacrifice to the god Vishnu.”

Vishnu does not accept animal sacrifices, and certainly does not condone the slaughtering of the sacred cow.

48. @ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife August 17, 2019 10:13 PM

And here, all along, we are being conned into believing you were a ‘real’ real connoisseur on the ‘effective’ use of “irony” at its most sarcastic level!

But you still have not dealt with the ‘meat’ of the matter.

Do you support the Muslims’ practice of slaughtering animals, Vishnu or no Yahweh, without adherence to the strict regulations required by the Law and to which others involved in animal husbandry must follow to a ‘T-bone’?

49. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I am not a supporter of backyard slaughtering of animals, although I have safely done it myself hundreds of times. The ideal situation would be for the Muslim community to fund and a halal slaughterhouse. I believe that there is already provision for the halal slaughtering of chickens, I see halal chickens in supermarkets all of the time, so the community needs to step up to do the same for larger animals, sheep, goats etc.. That said if the meat slaughtered in backyards is not for sale, but cooked immediately and shared with family and friends the risk is probably minor.

But we should not use this misdemeanor to beat up on Islam or on the Barbadian Muslim community. What the Ministry of Health needs to do next Eid season is to strictly supervise the disposal of the offal. Don’t wait until it creates a literal stink. What the Muslim comunity needs to do is to ensure that members of the community know and follow the rules for the proper disposal of offal. If the rules are not followed we need to prosecute somebody next year, not to prosecute them because they are Muslim, but a prosecution for breaking the health regulations.

Howeverw we need not make a mountain out of an entrails molehill.

Islam, with 1.8 billion adherents is NOT going to disappear in your lifetime nor mine, nor the lifetimes of our children and grandchildren.]

Christianity with 2.4 billion adherents is NOT going to disappear in that time frame either.

50. @ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife August 17, 2019 11:02 PM
    “But we should not use this misdemeanor to beat up on Islam or on the Barbadian Muslim community. What the Ministry of Health needs to do next Eid season is to strictly supervise the disposal of the offal. Don’t wait until it creates a literal stink.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Who is beating up on the “Barbadian Muslim community”?

What we are talking about is the enforcement of the country’s health and safety regulations whether Bajan Jews, Christians, Muslims Hindus, Buddhists or Chinese pork eaters (or even hypocrites like you) are involved.

As you quite rightly pointed out let them engage the services of a halal butcher approved by the relevant authorities instead of engaging in a practice that belong to the ‘dark’ ages.

What we would like to hear from you is your feminist view regarding that ‘ancient’ practice still existing among the local Islamic community of segregating the males from the ‘ladies’ while praying in the name of the ‘One God’.

Why are local Muslim women relegated to a prayer room whose outward appearance seems more befitting of a place occupied by the character described in the Jewish tale of a prodigal son?

Where is the feminist solidarity movement against such backwardly atrocious acts meted out to this vulnerable group?

Where are the voices of the Marsha Hinds and NOW?

Where is your voice Simple Simon(e)?

Are you afraid a fatwah is imposed on your head like a bounty?