Submitted by Kammie Holder

Click on image to read about Future Trust Clean Up Barbados initiative

On the eve of the launch of Clean Up Barbados 2010,  Barbadians saw garbage removal been undertaken by illegal dumpers under the supervision of the health inspectorate. I don’t know who is responsible for the prosecution of illegal dumpers, however I will boldly say this person should resign and save the taxpayers some money. Four illegal dumpers have being paraded in the newspapers over the last 24 months. What is insulting to the persons reporting illegal dumpers and all Barbadians.

Man hours were used to supervise the clean up.  The pay of the inspector should be docked for failing to use the authority so vested in him to deter illegal dumping. At least the treasury would have been compensated for man hours lost. The indifference shown by the inspectorate is dismissive to say the least of the efforts of NGO’s like the Future Centre Trust and other civic minded groups who clean up after these miscreants.

Is this how the authorities want to encourage the average citizen to take ownership of their environment. The inspectorate seems to be irrelevant towards enforcing  illegal dumping  laws, and should be probably disbanded.  Will it take a water contamination incident, for the said authority to realise that shaming is not a deterrent.

Illegal dumpers are like gamblers or alcoholics needing socio intervention to break habit.  The Future Centre Trust could  do with some violators as volunteers, with the many litter removal projects they undertake.

113 responses to “Inspectorate Should Be Disbanded”

1. @Pat. It took you long enough?

2. Bosun
    Not only Pat. I realise it too. And you too love to submit dese ol pics. Dat is wah sell ya out wid me. Ya still swoiteeeee. A rose by any otha name is still a rose. Ya can’ fool me a’tall.

3. Who cares Bagehot?

In following the blogs, I have not seen any contribution from you of any merit.

In contrast GP has in his posts taken much of the mystery out of medicine in his posts. In addition I have learned a great deal about the Bible. Certainly more than I have learned during my lengthy sojourn in the Anglican church at St——————.

And J, do you know that in the scholarship examinations there is an English Paper? So that a Science nerd can not get a scholarship if he did not have some mastery of English.

Why do Bajans seek to pull down others, when we can not do better than they have done?

GP spell how you like and irritate these idiots. Dont let them get to you. They have nothing else to offer to BU. There is more to litteracy than spelling. I am sure that when you needed to spell well, that you did.

4. Monica
    I luv ya contribushion. On BU we spell, write n even read as we like so like you said, de grammar is no big deal. But while on dat, I wantS ta correct one a you words. Literacy only got in one ‘r’. Just teasin. We knowS what you meanS. Bagehot n J just pulling Porgie legs man. Doan lose na sleep ova dah.

If I had ta write de plural fa ‘thesis’, I woulda write ‘thesises’. Just so. LOLLL

5. Once upon a time we had regular visits by the Aedes Egypti team, aka Mosquito Chasers. What ever became of them ? Perhaps we need to institute a similar team to tackle the ever increasing population of the Giant African Snail, as the Ministry of Agriculture seems to be doing very little to rid us of these pests. Between the Giant African Snail , the enormous Millipedes and the obese Rats ,I am beginning to understand how Pharaoh and his people felt during the 10 Plagues of Egypt. The Acting Prime Minister & Minister of Education just spoke about bringing closure to the farmers in Gibbons Bogs,reference the fuel spill. Is he aware of a greater danger which is advancing on the horizon …or ridge ?. The Giant African Snail is now in Newton Industrial Estate on a rapid Blitz Krieg.

6. @Bosun

You do have a way with words 🙂

7. David
    you should read de letter dat he write ta me askin fa my han in marrij. I is still cry evry time I reed it. He’s a real shakespeare.

8. Bonny, and in spite of that you have turned me down, waiting for-you-know- who’s proposal.

9. Bosun
    proposal or approval?

10. Kammie Holder Avatar

Provocative and bold statements always elicit great conversation. I want to thank all those who called me jackass,idiot, cynical and naive, without these descriptives the debate would have been dull.

11. @Kammie
    How old are you. Just asking!

12. Kammie
    How can I contact you? Just asking!

13. @Mr HK ‘I want to thank all those who called me jackass,idiot….’

Is this an invitation for more? I am sure there are many out there who are willing to oblige, not that I am syaing it is justified, but ….just saying…

@ac, KH probably bout 98. That pic probably old, never believe what you see pon the net.

JUST KIDDING!