The ongoing Brexit debacle has produced a new British Prime Minister and abinet, seemingly intent on mimicking the Disney created urban legend documentary, depicting a lemming-like suicide by leaving the European Union on 31st October 2019, regardless of the cost to its own population and the inevitable effect it will have on both domestic and overseas tourism.

By now I would imagine that our tourism industry policymakers and planners have gone into ‘hyperdrive’ while attempting to fully evaluate the potential damage which resulted in further downward pressure on Sterling against the US$ (last week a 28 month low), together with the consequential repercussion it will have on the cost of living for most UK residents and their ability to absorb massive increases in holiday prices with depleted disposable income.

While we remain a tour operator driven destination those companies will have no alternative but to pass on increased currency and other costs to the consumer, unless once again hoteliers are coerced to accept reduced contracted room rates to save the business.

We have recently witnessed a major airline giving notice of withdrawing from one of our regional competing islands and if media reporting is accurate, the underlying reason is the failure to agree a substantial subsidy to offset the real cost of maintaining the route.

Further reduction in passenger volume on flights into the Caribbean will again bring into question, any airlines justification to sustain service below economically loaded aircraft.

And less we forget, British based airlines flying into the region still have to pay for aviation fuel and leased aircraft in US$.

Another major consideration is that the overwhelming majority of tour operators rely on forward bookings, and the payment of deposits to keep them in business.

Retail prices which are shown in their printed or online brochures are agreed, often a year in advance, based on the rates they negotiate with hotels and villa owners or their management companies.

These prices are of course based on a speculated rate of currency exchange, with perhaps the larger travel entities buying forward (hedging) to hopefully minimize any detrimental impact of a declining Sterling value.

If they cannot absorb any differential, or the hoteliers are not willing to reduce previously agreed rates, the only option is to apply surcharges, which as a former tour operator is loathed by both the holidaymaker and travel company.

Surcharges would be levied across all holidays which involve currencies that are paid for, outside the United Kingdom.

But in our special circumstances, where a whole range of additional taxes have been applied during the last year, it is another step towards being perceived as a destination that no longer offers value-for-money.

I believe ‘we’ are now on that fine line with our tourism offerings, and unless corrective measures are shortly put in place, then everyone who earns a living out of the industry should brace for the impact.

Some may consider these views as alarmist but in the cold light of day, we have no absolute right to demand that people visit Barbados.

We have to earn and entice every single person to our shores and not surprisingly, many of our British arrivals will have to try and justify these huge increases in costs to holiday here.

154 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – B for Bollocks, B for Brexit”

1. @ peterlawrencethompson August 5, 2019 6:45 PM

You are correct. There must be plans for thirty to fifty years ahead: where we are going to go and as I have said with the internet, size does not matter now in science and technology.

2. @ peterlawrencethompson August 5, 2019 6:39 PM

Toucheʹ

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John A
    “Why doesn’t government assemble a green house project and then lease those facilities back to farmers? No instead I must buy red tasteless imported tomatoes and water filled iceberg lettuce every rainy season.”
    If the government assembled a greenhouse project it would be a boondoggle riddled with corruption and a complete waste of taxpayer money leased only to party members. I know this. You know this. It does not matter what party is in power. It is a terrible idea. Corporate welfare payments will not solve our structural economic problems.

If you cannot buy local lettuce and local or Caricom tomatoes you are simply not looking hard enough. I have been back for over two years and I have always been able to find them. If we ALL made the choice to by local or regional then it would be profitable enough to keep prices reasonable and ensure more stability of supply.

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

^buy local

5. @PLT

I was in the market last weekend and had hell to find a few small local tomatoes and only 1 lady had local lettuce. When I asked them why I was told ” boss it raining too much.”

We have to find answers somehow and implement change or we will simply continue to slip further. I for instance have not heard anyone from the ministry of tourism or the BTA, start any discussion on measures to counteract the fall on sterling that is being discussed. Haven’t heard of any town hall meetings to get the views of the public on it either.

Is the plan going to be let’s wait and see what happens then to act based on panic?

I am also still waiting on an update on the foreign debt restructuring that we were promised weeks ago too.

My point is there seems to he no sense of urgency to address anything here right now, or are we too caught up in Cropover to bother?

6. @ Robert Lucas

I have to agree with you it seems as if our leaders are frozen and just waiting to see what happens next, then to react as opposed to act.

I read of all these advisers and experts and have to ask what are they doing for the money. I read the article about Mr. Bynoe saying he has 2 massive machines parked in a pasture for shredding old fridges etc for export and 2 years on can’t get approval to set them up.

We have Persaud whose advice it seems after 18 months to the foreign creditors is ” we ain’t in no rush to pay you cause we ain t borrowing from you in no hurry again anyhow. ”

We just seemed stalled in red tape and BS on every corner with little or nothing getting done in the meantime.

7. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@PLT.

You have determined that we need to be looking at what or where Barbados will be in 30 years. And we have politicians looking at where they will be in the next 5 or fewer years. the election cycle. Maybe that is our real problem. 30 years is a way to far to see or contemplate for our modern leaders or politicians. 30 years is considered a long term. 2-3 years is short term, and between 4-15 years as maybe medium term.

Our leaders are transfixed in the short term, let says their vision goes no farther than 3 years. if they stick around 30 years it will be a long run for them, but that may be consisting of ten 3 years horizons or maybe six 5-year horizons. Also for some of them in 30 years, they see themselves as deceased or totally irrelevant to the society; as some of them are now.

just my take.

8. CEOs of successful companies have the same challenge, shareholders expect predetermined returns on capital on annually but a long term strategy is required to ensure the viability of the company.

9. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@David August 5, 2019 9:01 PM

maybe that is why the Chinese economy is marching so strongly along in the right direction? No real elective politics to undergo by the leaders and leadership?

Maybe we need a monarchy again? if GP sees this he will surely agree that we need a monarch.

10. Any of you have suggestions for a 20 to 30 year plan ?

11. @Hants

A twenty year plan is not practical in our system of government. Political parties to survive will massage policies to suit narrow interest national imperatives be damn.

12. @ PLT

I agree a long term plan is needed but how I see it is this.

Let’s agree that we first need to ensure that we are extracting all we can from our current tourism base. I am not convinced we are. My example of local food supply to the tourism market vs imported is where we should start. Doing this will also strengthen our own supply base as Bajans.

Secondly to talk about a hotel corridor when we can’t even get a decent yearly occupancy rate on current stock, to me is pointless also. We are no where near extracting all we can from our current arrivals, yet we want to expand on our inefficent formula.

Having done the above first, if we must look 20 or 30 years into the future we are in a better position to then do so.

13. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Hants August 5, 2019 9:11 PM

Maybe the question can be asked “whether democracy, as it is practiced in modern a society and in particular Barbados, is it a millstone around our necks as opposed to a feather in our caps/hats”

Are we plagued by leaders/politicians making “political survival” decisions paramount; rather than politicians/leaders making decisions that will move the nation forward to a 30-year strategic objective.

Singapore basically has a democracy that has seen a single party win consecutive election after election. For good or bad this allowed for a continuity of a plan/objective. today many see Singapore as a model to be followed when it comes to an economic model. Can that work for Bim; only God and time will reveal.

Just saying/askng. .

14. Lee Yuan Yew was called a benevolent dictator because he was able to use an authoritarian approach to governing. This is often overlooked when we aspire to model Singapore.

15. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ johnA

“Secondly to talk about a hotel corridor when we can’t even get a decent yearly occupancy rate on current stock, to me is pointless also. We are no where near extracting all we can from our current arrivals, yet we want to expand on our inefficient formula.”

What is your yardstick to determine success or progress? As a non-politician what you are saying is holding water. But as a politician that wants to be measured by things built, or hand greased or friends helped the construction of a “hotel corridor” is politically encouraged.

This highlights the disconnect between what is the right wholesome thing to do and what is politically expedient. From my little time on this island and seeing/observing how the political class operates; the latter will win hands down eva-time.

Just sayung

16. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@robert lucas August 5, 2019 4:47 PM “Do not be so dogmatic about old people and dying.”

I wasn’t being dogmatic. i was being pragmatic. Lolll!!!

I am not too sure what the Bible says, but my old man used to say “a green lime may drop, but a yellow lime will drop”

Since the Brexit vote was so close, and since a lot of the people who voted Brexit are already dead…and since a lot more of them WILL BE DEAD by October 31, it would be extremely foolish, and entirely undemocratic for living people to “honour” the vote of dead people.

But we understand that this is not about honour, nor is it about democracy. If a new referendum were done tomorrow, the British people would vote not to Brexit, and they would also vote against the Conservative party, and where would Boris Johnson and the conservatives be then?

17. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@robert lucas August 5, 2019 6:59 PM “first class spin doctors ,Mottley and Persaud.”

Can you explain why you consider Persaud to be a “first class spin doctor?”

he has not persuaded me about anything yet?

18. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@irFuzzy (Former Sheep) August 5, 2019 9:10 PM “Maybe we need a monarchy again? if GP sees this he will surely agree that we need a monarch.”

@Hants August 5, 2019 9:11 PM “Any of you have suggestions for a 20 to 30 year plan?”labour of others?

We don’t need a monarch. What do monarch do, but sit on their thrones and live off the labour of others. No we don’t need a monarch. A monarch will not, cannot save us.

And to answer Hants’ question. We need to work hard, work smart, work consistently, and to teach our children and grandchidren the same.

Our foreparents enriched others, surely we have the capacity to sustain ourselves?

19. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) August 5, 2019 9:28 PM “whether democracy, as it is practiced in modern a society and in particular Barbados, is it a millstone around our necks.”

No.

For most of Barbados’ history we had a form of government that was a millstone around the necks of the majority of Bajans.

We don’t want to go there again.

After 50/60 years are we already tired of our attempts of democracy? Do we hanker for a more dictatorial form of government? Why? And if we should “achieve” a dictatorship why do we think that the dictator would behave any better that the current political class?

20. @ peterlawrencethompson August 5, 2019 7:10 PM

There is no such thing as local lettuce. The seeds are imported. The same for local cabbage and so. The last of any local thing we had were the Bajan cucumber and local peanuts. The former were more crunchy but produced few fruit; the latter were indeterminate (nuts matured at different times and a lot of them had to be discarded).

@ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife August 6, 2019 12:28 AM

Persaud is a beautiful talker ; fluent and the words pour out of his mouth like syrup don’t under estimate him.

21. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Robert all i can say then is that beauty is in the eye (or is this case the ear) of the beholder.

22. I’ve read all the comments under this post. And have come to the conclusion that we spend too much time “long” talking.

Hal Austin stated, recently, that the current government is incapable of governing the country because they are clueless. Whilst I have stated for several years that there are insufficient “adults” residing in Barbados who have the nous to govern the country. We gained our independence in 1996. Since when we have seen little evidence that Bajans have the common sense to govern themselves.

We need to attach ourselves to a country that can assist us to manage our affairs and if it means a loss of our independence – then so be it.

23. @TLSN

We got independence in 1966, and since then we have failed to manage our own affairs. But the Bajan Condition dictates that we should blame others for our failure: the former colonialists, corrupt public officials, the failure of the school system, the stay away tourists, etc.
    Everyone and everything but ourselves. We are a failed state because our ruling elite are incompetent, they suffer from a poverty of ideas and ambition.

24. Hal, Bajans love moving pieces around the chess board to show to others how smart they are. What i have stated is irrefutable. We just need to come around to my way of thinking. We have kindergarten politicians who will never be capable of running this country competently. Let us accept this and pass over the reins to another nation that can.

25. Ah beg all yuh do some research before talking nuh.

“FEED’s emphasis on practical and scientific knowledge and technology is inspired by Netherlands’ precision farming model. Under the program, clusters of farmers would be provided with greenhouses, vertical farming facilities, several hundred acres of land and enhanced post-harvest transportation. Agricultural workers would be trained and empowered to manage facilities, participate in urban farming projects and drive policy discussions. Government would be tasked with the job of research and development, regulation and facilitation and the state-owned Barbados Agricultural Development and Marketing Corporation (BADMC) would be charged with finding markets for agricultural output.” Too much misinformation.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/daphneewingchow/2019/03/25/agriculture-project-promises-to-slash-barbados-hefty-food-import-bill/amp/

26. “Lee Yuan Yew was called a benevolent dictator because he was able to use an authoritarian approach to governing. This is often overlooked when we aspire to model Singapore.”

David, I have heard that argument many times and it’s no doubt true — but!.
    In the meantime look where many so-called democracies are – what I call democratic, poor-ass and backward.

Lee Kwan Yew realized Singapore had no wealth of natural resources other than it’s people and inculcated in the population the idea that they could only survive and prosper by their efforts rather than looking to others to pity and save them.
    So long after he left the scene his ideas still live on and his country prospers.

27. “We are a failed state because our ruling elite are incompetent, they suffer from a poverty of ideas and ambition.”

And ideas abound in the UK within the ranks of the ruling elite? Isn’t a major plank of the leave platform relate to blaming the EU for hindering the UK’s return to its halcyon days as an empire? You will forever stay in the UK because that’s where you can feel important in the eyes of some within the diaspora, but know very well Bajans at home will not fawn over you. PIMRHP

28. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) August 5, 2019 8:54 PM
    “30 years is a way to far to see or contemplate for our modern leaders or politicians.”
    You are correct, that is why we need to STOP relying on politicians to lead us. Only sheep need a shepherd, so unless you are willing to completely abandon reliance on politicians you will have to edit your handle to read “SirFuzzy (Sheep).”

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@robert lucas August 6, 2019 1:00 AM
    “There is no such thing as local lettuce. The seeds are imported.”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    Thanks for pointing that out to me. However, when the lettuce is grown locally by local people the overwhelming percentage of the value added is local. Therefore I will persist in calling it local lettuce even though I am now aware that it is only 90% local.

30. @Enuff

Words like “plan to” and “‘intend to” mean nothing to me. I prefer words like “have done” and “have implemented.”

Your clip speaks to introducing these measures by June 2019 and we in August with nothing done. When I see the greenhouses erected and functioning I would believe it.

I still waiting to get my garbage collected properly and 18 months later that hasn’t happened either. Don’t get caught up in all the talk and promises, focus on what has actually been delivered and then come and tell us that.

I remember hearing on the political platform your party saying ” we intend to” buy 30 garbage trucks and get this island clean.” So far wunna buy how many 6?

Talk and promises followed by excuses for not delivering is what I have seen so far. Other than taxes of course, wunna real good at delivering them!

31. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Enuff August 6, 2019 7:55 AM
    It is not Enuff for you to simply parrot the party line in defense of the BLP government. I voted for you guys, but I expect some level of critical analysis from you all.

FEED is a start, it is better than nothing, but it is lacking in ambition and long term vision to change the roll of agriculture in Bajan Culture. Minister Weir is modeling it on private sector ownership as occurs in the Netherlands, but Barbados has a different history and different social needs.

We need significant community ownership of agricultural production. Not government or BADMC ownership, but community ownership. Without community ownership we both know that the logic of capitalism will result in agricultural production being owned and controlled by a very similar White oligarchy to that which owned and controlled the plantations of our regrettable past.

You need to look beyond the next election Enuff.

32. PLT

07:57

We have been making this very point for decades.

Indeed, the best thing Caribbean peoples can do is to ignore all you present themselves as leaders.

Of course, there are some who will see this as sacrilege

People like Sir William Skinner and David are too wedded to the existence of a ‘misleadership’ class and ethos, still

33. @TLSN

Didn’t the Bermudan turn their backs on independence? How about the Turks and Caicos and Cayman Islanders?

34. PLT

Again at 08:15

Correct, again.

There needs to be a radical land reform with Bajans tied to their lands from the cradle to the grave.

We seemed to have hoped that the land ownership and transformation which should have happened after slavery could have been avoided. History has proved that model to be unworkable.

Along with the cooperative ownership of land by communities we also demand that food importation will be stopped – 100% – as a constitutional requirement.

Of course, that would be going against American foreign policy. Wake up, Buhbadhus!

35. @robert lucas
    Since God is a construct of human imagination it is axiomatic that He moves in mysterious ways… indeed it is the only way He can move.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Correct, again!

But there is a resident preacher who will term this truism as blasphemy.

Of course, it could only be that for the hopelessly misguided.

36. @David

Yes the Chinese will not roll over and play dead for sure. Hopefully the dollar will be forced lower against the major currencies and that will help soften the effect the weak pound will have here.

What is interesting is that it looks like we will have 3 major currencies in the pound, Euro and USD all trading close to 1 to 1 against each other shortly. It’s nearly like we are seeing an unofficial revaluation and alignment of these 3 currencies being driven by external forces.

We are in some very interesting times for sure here.

37. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha

You certainly have no understanding of what I write or represent. For sometime you have been speaking on David’s behalf and now you are attempting to speak on mine.
    My quest to herald in a unified Caribbean Nation State will not be detracted by your persistent red herrings. I have never been an advocate of any misleadership and you know it. You seem to be in the business of developing an intellectual cult devoted exclusively to your world view. I know how those things end. Remember Jim Jones in Guyana.

38. There won’t be many visitors from UK except for richest

USA may fill the gap

39. @sidboyce

Your point is understood, his charisma no doubt greatly influenced transformation in Singapore. Our system of democracy often referred as a parody by Senator Caswell is mostly executed in the breech . The direct way Yew was allowed to intervene in Singapore will never occur in Barbados. Our system does not welcome a person who will be allowed to disrupt.

40. Toni Morrison has died.

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“…the function of freedom is to free somebody else”
    —Toni Morrison

42. @PLT
    @Vincent

Start a blog on Toni Morrison, the black canon and Barbadian literary journalism. Should be interesting. (Don’t hijack this one)

43. Adrian seeing that the BTA are silent on their plan to combat the falling sterling, I would like to ask based on your experience your view.

What do you think the local sector can do to combat a fall in sterling to say 1 to 1 to the USD over the short to medium term?

Do you see the hotels as a body getting together to put in place a value added promotion like pay for 6 nights and get the 7th free for example?

Finally based on the onslaught of taxes in the last budget what position are the hotels in to financially weather a fall in the pound to 1 to 1 against the USD over the next 12 months let’s say?

Would like to hear from you guys how vulnerable you honestly think the industry is going to be to the above based on your current situation.

44. John A,

First on the subject of the new taxes/levies. The US$70 second departure tax and room levy are additional costs to the consumer and not the hotelier. Likewise the VAT on air travel. Compound this with lower value of Sterling and it makes it cost inhibitive for families especial during school holiday periods where the airfares rise dramatically. If the UK does exit the EU, higher cost of living expenses are inevitable so our UK visitors will have even less disposable income. Meanwhile, with hotels (throughout the Caribbean) barely able to achieve at average 63 year round room occupancy (2018 was the lowest for 8 years), Barbados did slightly better at 67 per cent but when you factor in properties like Sandals who boast 80 plus per cent yearly occupancy, the true figure is lower. YES we need more value-added initiatives like our http://www.re-discover.com initiative, but they need to be better promoted and supported. July recorded the hottest temperatures on record and you will see what this did to the main UK tour operators last year, like Thomas Cook. What we need is an all embracing Value-Added promotion which includes all aspects of the tourism product, from when the guest leaves their front door until their return.

45. Sir William

Have you heard of poetic license?

Have you not oft represented a leadership ethos different to the current one?

Have you not opined that what we’ve had has not served us well?

And should we determine that what you intend would be no better than that, would it not be more misleadership?

Has this writer not represented that the people should not look to any class for leadership, at all, but instead lead themselves?

And are these positions not diametrically opposed?

46. @ Adrian.

You see a promotion then where both private and public sector will have to be involved?

Do you know if the hoteliers have requested a meeting yet to speak to the minister of tourism on this matter?

Sorry for asking you all these questions but I have see nothing in the media about this important issue so said I would ask you based on your first hand involvement in the industry.

47. Is there a conflict with Rudy Grant heading the BHTA?

48. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha

You have not yet presented any clear example of the leadership you proposed. A few weeks ago you declared yourself an anarchist. Are we to conclude that you believe that anarchy is the way forward?
    I am not into shock value and you are way better than that !