Submitted by Tee White

Much of the discussion going on in Barbados today about the current situation in the country tends to ignore both the historical and international context. However, it is very difficult to make sense of the current situation without taking these into account.

From a historical point of view, the origin of modern Barbados can be traced back to 1627, when the rising English merchant class and their aristocratic backers took control of the island and established it as a cog in Britain’s growing imperial economy. Its sole role in this relationship was, through various forms of forced labour and slavery, to generate wealth which would, in the main, be transferred to Britain for consumption. Therefore by the early 1920s, after 200 years under capitalism as slavery and 100 years under capitalism as colonial apartheid, the mass of working class Bajans, who were mainly the descendants of the enslaved Africans, were living in utter poverty and degradation. Mary Chamberlain in her book, Empire and Nation-Building in the Caribbean: Barbados, 1937-1966, points out that “wages in Barbados were the lowest in the region, ….. Barbados was one of the poorest of the British West Indian colonies…… public health was ‘peculiarly deplorable’…and Infant and child mortality were at devastating levels”. Even the British government’s Moyne Commission reported that in 1937, Barbados had the highest infant mortality rate and the second lowest number of government doctors per 100, 000 of the population in Britain’s Caribbean colonies.

It was in order to address these deplorable social conditions that the then generation of Bajans developed the early trade unions and political parties. With the winning of universal suffrage in 1951, there emerged a historic compromise. The old plantocracy, both local and foreign, were guaranteed their continued control of the island’s economy, while the new black governments of the BLP and DLP carried out social reforms to raise the standard of living of the mass of Bajans. These reforms in the fields of education, health care, public transport, public health and social welfare, coupled with the economic benefits of emigration, had a significant impact on the standard of living of most working class Bajans. They were possible because they took place against a background in which the ‘social welfare state’ was the dominant form of management of global capitalism. This approach rejected the 19th century free market arrangements where only the capitalists were considered as having a legitimate claim on the society’s wealth and where for the workers it was ‘every turkey fuh he own craw’. Those who failed to make it in this cut throat approach would have to fall back on the charity of the rich or go over the cliff. The social welfare state rejected this concept and in its place declared the responsibility of the society towards its members ‘from the cradle to the grave.’

Today, the international context has changed significantly. Neo-liberalism has emerged now as the dominant means of organising global capitalism. Its main characteristic is restricting the claim of the working class on the wealth they produce so that more can be funnelled to the rich and super rich. It amounts to robbing the poor to pay the rich. Workers wage levels are frozen or cut under austerity programs, workers are sacked and left jobless, tax cuts are brought in for the rich, social welfare programs which benefit the mass of people are cut or abolished, public utilities are turned into money making opportunities for the rich through privatisation and government contracts to private firms become a new form of corporate welfare. The aim and net effect of these reforms are to erode the standard of living of the working people and, wherever they are applied, there is a deepening of social inequality, with its resultant social despair, frustration and crime.

The point that we need to recognise is that the old model of economic and social development that Barbados has experienced over the last 80 or so years is over. This is the nub of the issue. The neo-liberal economic model demands the step by step shredding of the social welfare arrangements to which the country has become accustomed. Despite the claims of the IMF, this is not a temporary arrangement to help the country get back on its feet, but is intended as a permanent setup in which the standard of living of ordinary Bajans is reduced. All over the world, working people are beginning to voice their opposition to this direction of travel. The question is when will Bajans join in.

572 responses to “Barbados in the BIG Picture”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Georgie Porgie
    It is the concatenation of “best” along with “brightest,” without any specification of what we were being described as best at, that gives the implication that “best” is a moral descriptor.

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

OK PLT . ENGLISH DOES HAVE ITS LIMITATIONS

RE Because you enjoy the rants that makes them cogent?

IF I ENJOY THE RANTS THEY DONT HAVE TO BE COGENT (AS THEY USUALLY ARE NOT LIKE THE BS DPD WRITES) THEY JUST HAVE TO MAKE ME LAUGH AS DOES MANY OF YOUR INTERJECTIONS TO THE DISCOURSE

3. If they are not cogent then expect others to flush them.

4. 1809 Cave-in

from Schomburgk 1848

20 slaves killed, five dreadfully maimed

The north-western part of the parish is mountainous, and the hills rise at Moncreiffe to an elevation of 564 feet.

The great St. Philip’s road, one of the main arteries of the internal communication, leads behind the church gradually up to Bishop’s Hill.

The repair of that part of the road in 1809 was attended by a sad accident.

A number of negroes were employed by parochial assessment of negro labour in repairing the public road, and sixty to seventy were digging and removing marl to Bishop’s Hill from a contiguous pit, which from long use for similar purposes was so excavated as to form an immense cavern, and by a gradual inclination was upwards of forty feet deep.

A little after five in the afternoon of the 14th of April, just as about fifty of the negroes had lifted their baskets and cleared the overhanging cliff, it fell upon twenty-five who remained digging and crushed twenty to death; the other five were dreadfully maimed.

Such was the immense quantity of earth that fell in upon these unfortunate people, that upwards of a thousand negroes were employed during the night and the succeeding day before all the bodies were got out.

A Bill passed the Legislature on the 5th of June 1810, for applying a sum of money towards the relief of the persons whose slaves were killed by the accidental falling in of this mass of earth.

On the summit of Bishop’s-hill is the police-station of District C, to which a rural prison is attached. Moncreiffe (or, as it was formerly called, Mount Pleasant) forms a signal-post with a station for convalescent soldiers of the garrison in St. Ann’s.

The prospect from hence over the champaigne land of St. Philip’s, bounded by the ocean, until sea and sky seemingly blending together close the picture, is very pretty: the numerous cottages of the labourers, and upwards of fifty estates which are visible from this point, give a peculiar character to the prospect. The foam of the breakers at “the Cobblers’ Rocks” resembles a eam along shore, which from its white colour forms a strong contrast with the dark watery masses of the ocean behind it.

5. @ john,

Have you read Jerome Handler?

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“A Bill passed the Legislature on the 5th of June 1810, for applying a sum of money towards the relief of the persons whose slaves were killed…”
    ++++++++++++++++
    Note that Schombergk mentions no compensation, monetary or otherwise, for the families of the enslaved people who were killed.

7. Thanks for your posts mr. White. I tend to believe the man of God, the clergyman, who most certainly was also white.

8. William Skinner Avatar

It is no surprise that we are swimming in a cesspool of mediocrity when it comes to leadership. Most prime ministers in the region, have never seen it fit to extend their intellects to benefit the masses. Eric Williams did that, when he turned Woodford Square into an open university. I watch in utter alarm , when I hear certain leaders being accused of being brilliant and being elevated beyond any known achievement outside of catching votes.
    Is also a failure of our educational system, that our better brains are very occupied with the writings of Europeans , who have been almost to a man been proven to be frauds. Most of the so-called great economists that we worship, wrote books when one race had almost total economic domination over another. Many of those textbooks never mentioned slavery and the free labour it survived on. Indeed, their works are mainly centred on the economies of Europe.
    it’s like everything else, our children growing up stupid under the union jack are now getting a second dose under the broken trident. It is alright to read and broaden ones mind but when we consume and hail as genius everything written by our former masters without even mentioning those who have brilliantly discredited them, we do ourselves and intellect dangerous damage.
    It happens to a people who have been ripped of their languages and customs and are trying desperately to correct historical injustices. Our children deserve an educational system that exposes them to truth not the rantings of frauds, who thought that sophisticated argument , while drinking the “best” brandy and cherry, pretending they understood jazz and the blues, made them intellectual gods. Most of them were frauds and die hard racists.
    Eric Williams left works behind a few us can quote . He was no god but he certainly was a a most brilliant historian. Even in this thread it is blatantly ignored that many former slaves were quick in establishing business immediately after slavery. Indeed it is not mentioned that great engineers who never saw the inside of anything called a high school were gifted enough to run entire estates. These stories are not told but we romanticise thieves and vagabonds , who never worked an honest day in their lives but to this day refer to blacks as lazy and careless.
    We remain in the words of the Mighty Gabby still enthralled with HIS story.

9. peterlawrencethompson
    May 9, 2019 3:55 PM

“A Bill passed the Legislature on the 5th of June 1810, for applying a sum of money towards the relief of the persons whose slaves were killed…”
    ++++++++++++++++
    Note that Schombergk mentions no compensation, monetary or otherwise, for the families of the enslaved people who were killed.

The reason is very simple.

They were slaves!!

Like the 114 year old slave their owner’s responsibility was to provide for their welfare until death … cradle to grave.

Mini welfare state!!

The disability insurance for the maimed 5 was their owner.

They were provided for until death.

The families of the 20 who died continued to be provided for by the owner until death.

The owner of the 25 was compensated by the GOB for the loss of their labour, a separate issue.

Here are two intriguing parallels with today.

Geologically, what happened here is the same as what happened at Arch Cot.

In each case, the losses occurred because the GOB put the persons in danger.

The Arch Cot Family .. the Codringtons .. live in an era where there is no slavery.

The GOB has up to now, not given them any compensation.

The maimed and the families of the dead in 1809 were provided for by their owner.

10. William Skinner

But Dr. Don Blackman extended his intellect to the masses…

Whenever Dr. Don Blackman spoke at his many political meetings back in the day … his objective was to educate the masses and he did so unlike any pollutians in his time and in our present era …

I recall with great excitement when Dr. Don Blackman held a meeting in Carlton Village back in the early 80s and at the particularly meeting the Wordsmith mesmerized the vast crowd with his used verbosity which send me and others who still speak of this meeting to the lexicon a total of ten times that memorable night …

11. William Skinner Avatar

@ Lexicon

I said : “ most prime ministers”. However I do agree that Dr. Blackman was trying to educate the masses. He is still remembered for his great speeches.

12. Piece uh de Rock Yeah Right Avatar
    Piece uh de Rock Yeah Right

Here is a “Big Picture” item for the people and the sheeple

“…Barbados creditors fume at ‘absurd’ $27m advisory fees
    FT.com
    barbados creditors fume at absurd $27 m fee from amp.ft.com
    4 hours ago · Barbados creditors fume at ‘absurd’ $27m advisory fees. A little-known UK advisory firm stands to make about $27m from the restructuring of Barbados’s $7bn of debts — close to what Lazard earned seven years ago when it advised Greece on defaulted debt nearly 40 times bigger….”

13. @Piece uh de Rock Yeah Right
    Thanks for the heads up.The link to the story is here https://www.ft.com/content/164613a4-7234-11e9-bbfb-5c68069fbd15

As long as ordinary Bajans remain spectators to events which have a major impact on our lives, people will do what they want to us. And workers getting send home every day………

14. William Skinner Avatar

“Powerful people cannot afford to educate the people that they oppress, because once you are truly educated, you will not ASK for power. You will TAKE it.”
    ― John Henrik Clarke

15. “From cradle to grave slaves/workers are provided with board and lodging, meals and medical insurance!!”

“A Bill passed the Legislature on the 5th of June 1810, for applying a sum of MONEY towards the RELIEF of the persons whose slaves were killed by the accidental falling in of this mass of earth.”

Hmmmmm……….

A Bill was passed ensuring slave owners were compensated for the loss of their property.

Are there any records indicating if the families of the 20 slaves killed in the accident were compensated by medical insurance or legislation?

John, you are a despicable human being for, according to another contributor, romanticizing slavery, with all this nonsense about Quakers, medical insurance and a Moll living to 114 years because of some perceived exceptional treatment and being fed “good food” by her white slave masters.

This is how white people treated Black people as a result of slavery:

3.bp.blogspot.com/_lHZLyzhmBEQ/Sve6F63OTzI/AAAAAAAAANI/vD_7Fuh2HsU/s320/KKK.jpg

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/14/4c/3e/144c3e0c8852e891c4471b064bc75db5.jpg

4.bp.blogspot.com/-FrnOcAppxNY/ULPKk3d_HoI/AAAAAAAAFXc/gMCeJvBetpw/s1600/055.JPG

https://i.pinimg.com/736x/d4/ad/1a/d4ad1a47b5c22a76bea98f44c22ec790–lynching-strange-fruit.jpg

https://i.pinimg.com/736x/8d/6f/60/8d6f60eed0f3fb03a5e6241af9a6ed1a–american-story-plantation.jpg

michaeltapper.se/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/lynching-1.png

These are issues you should be discussing rather than Googling shiite about the Quakers.

How about Googling sites such as “The Black Social History?”

Tell us how many Black people were “lynched” in Barbados.

John, you come to this forum “saying” you’re bring facts, but you’re interpreting these “facts” according to warped racist mentality. People such as you are sickening.

16. Mr. Lexicon

Would you care to explain the meaning of “pollutians?”

17. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Artaxerxes the Superlative Archiver

And this is precisely the point…

No quarter asked, no quarter given”

When John the Quaker started I thought that the similarity in the Arch Cot matter was of note.

In fact he did raise the same similarity later on in his submissions but …

At times he does make some serious points and I think he sought quite tongue in cheek to show how disturbing it is that a white plantocracy was able to quickly pay compensation for loss of life during a cave in YET WE BLACKS, in a majority black government, ARE UNABLE TO COMPENSATE FREED BLACKS who died in almost similar circumstances close to similar caves.

The problem with John the Quaker is that his white skin overshadows his humanity AND HE WOULD NEVER SAY WHAT I SAID ABOVE DIRECTLY because it would make him into a sympathizer among other whites who read this column

And he can’t have that!!

Of course you have set him a task that is doubly impossible.

I will explain

You see the copious materials he produced on Mr Hal Austin’s genealogy?

That material has no “complexion” for John among his fellow white readers

It is a scholarly pursuit “he helping Austin whom they consider an illiterate, find his roots”

But the task that you have set John the Quaker, that has “complexion” and IF HE WERE TO UNDERTAKE THAT TASK WITH ANY REAL ALACRITY, you know that he would find similar atrocities in Barbados

And in so doing John the Quaker WOULD BE BETRAYING HIS FELLOW WHITES HERE ON BU

His task is not to augment any image that we have of ourselves OR TO BUILD IT UP, directly or indirectly, IT IS TO SHOW HOW WE BLACKS HAVE FAILED.

A thing which I unfortunately WHEN FACED WITH THE TEIFERY DAT WE BLACKS PERPETUATE AGAINST OURSELVES, here in Barbados under the BDLP duopoly, and further afield, begrudgingly have to agree with him 95% of the time.

A broken clock tells the right time TWICE EVERY DAY, does it not?

He will not find those local lynching articles though…

18. Tell us how many Black people were “lynched” in Barbados.

None as far as I know!!

Please prove me wrong … if you can!!

19. Hal Austin
    May 9, 2019 3:39 PM

@ john,
    Have you read Jerome Handler?

He did work at what is known “The Slave Burial Ground” at Newton.

http://jeromehandler.org/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/African-Healer-97.pdf

It is actually a Quaker Burying Ground in which Edward Oistine was buried in 1669!!

“1669 – Edward Oistine of Christ Church gave half an acre of his land “unto the People called Quakers in this Island … for a burying place … which shall be in part before my Garden which is encompassed with Plantaine trees where I desire that I may be buried”.”

I reckon slaves and other Quakers are also buried there.

When I found the reference in his will to how he desired to be buried I asked a historian if Handler had done any DNA testing!!

It wasn’t available when the excavations were done so academia believes it is the only slave burial ground found in the New World!!

Oistine is the Irish spelling of Austin …. he may be your ancestor!!

In the absence of DNA my gut is the African Healer with “grave goods” of European manufacture is perhaps him!!

There are Quaker burying grounds all over Barbados in which slaves are also buried.

But for a few exceptions, all are in unmarked graves!!

20. I know a guy who was sweet on one of the female students working with Handler at Newton.

He told me he visited the site when work was being carried out to see what was happening and visit his friend!!

The researchers had just found a gold ring in one of the graves.

He raised the apparent inconsistency of a slave owning a gold ring and was told to but out!!

If you look at a map of the area from the 1800’s … believe it was Barrallier, 1823, you will see the name “Golden Ridge”.

When I told him my theory he cracked up laughing!!

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WUNNAH WILL CUSS ME AS USUAL……BUT I DONT CARE

SINCE I BORN I HEAR BOUT ALL THE ATROCITIES THAT WHITES DO TO BLACKS
    BUT I NEVER HEAR BOUT WUH BLACKS DO TO BLACKS………AND WUH BLACKS STILL DOING TO BLACKS

I WONDER IF ARTAX AND JOHN COULD HELP US WITH THAT
    I WISH SOME ONE WILL GO BACK TO THE BEGINNING AND TELL US BOUT HOW IT WAS POSSIBLE FOR WHITES TO ENSLAVE BLACKS AND WHY BLACKS ENSLAVE BLACKS STILL AND ENJOY IT

COME CUSS ME AS USUAL FOR NOT SPEWING THE NARRATIVE I BEEN HEARING SINCE I BORN

22. “Please prove me wrong … if you can!!”

It isn’t a matter of proving you wrong and you purposely overlooked the salient point in my contribution.

You come to BU with only ONE side of the story as it relates to slavery, to give us the impression that the white slave owners loved the people who were defined by the “Barbados Slave Code” NOT as human beings, but as “CHATTEL” or their property.

The following excerpt was taken from the Barbados Slave Code 1688:

“A N D be it further Enacted and Ordained, That if any Negro or Slave whatsoever mail offer any Violence to any Christian, by Striking, or the like, such Negro or other Slave shall, for his or her first Offence, by Information given upon Oath to the next Justice, be severely whipped by the Constable by Order of the said Justice;

For his second Offence of that nature, by Order of the Justice of Peace, he shall be SEVERELY WHIPPED his Nose flit, and be BURNED in some part of his FACE with a HOT IRON; And for his third Offence he shall receive, by Order of the Governor and Council, such greater Punishment as they shall think meet to inflict.

PROVIDED always, That such Striking or Conflict be not in the lawful Defence of their Matters, Mistresses, or Owners of their Families, or of their Goods.”

John may want to tell us that the punishments as described above, was for the slaves “own good.”

John also wrote that the slave owners took care of his “property” from “cradle to the grave.”

“AND it is hereby further Enacted, That all the Slaves within this Island shall have Clothes ONCE every Year (that is to fay) Drawers and Caps for Men, and Petticoats and Caps for Women, upon Pain of forfeiting Five Shillings for each Slave that shall not be clothed, as aforesaid, One Third to the Informer, the other Two Thirds to His Majesty, for the Use of the Poor of the Parish where the Offender liveth.”

23. @ John,

Sometimes your conclusions are wrong (mixing me up with the Austins of BS&T, Guyana etc), but you do a great service to BU and Barbados. There was a great archaeological dig at Seawell by some Americans, do you know anything about it?
    By the way, there are two Austin tribes in Barbados – one from St Philip, and one from north. When the boats came in at Holetown the slaves were dispatched north; when they came in to Carlisle Bay, they were dispatched to the South and East.
    After the abolition of slavery those in the East left the plantations and headed for Bridgetown (Carrington Village, Rouens, Ivy, Boarded Hall, Chapel Gap, Dash Valley, etc) and those from the north to Eagle Hall, Bank Hall, Bush Hall, etc.)
    Keep digging.

24. Since “John” is so au courant with Bajan history could he tell us if any copies of the “Slave Bible” are in existence in Barbados? These books were printed in England and anything in England made its way to Little England in those days. John could tell us how the benevolent slave owners in addition to providing nourishment to the bodies of the “workers” also provided food for the mind with the introduction of passages from this bible.

Some descendant of a “Quaker” family is sure to have a copy lying around on a musty library shelf.

25. By the way, there are two Austin tribes in Barbados – one from St Philip, and one from north.

From early … and both tribes are from the same origins!!!

The first Edward Oistine bought 1000 acres in the east of Christ Church, Ridge to Oistins Bay!!

That was 1627 and he paid 100 GBP … 10 p per acre!!

They expanded north into St. Thomas and St. James.

The first Edward Oistine is described thus!!

“It has been thought that the name “Oistins” is a corruption of “Austin’s”. Austin was an early landowner in this area, described by Richard Ligon, one of the first historians of Barbados, as “a wild, mad, drunken fellow whose lewd and extravagant carriage made him infamous in the island”.

“The name Oistin is known from the annals of Irish and Highlands of Scotland history. It is probably a Gaelification of the Norse name Thorstein. The name Oistin is still used in Ireland today.”

Needless to say it is conceivable that the first Edward Oistine may have lost whatever land he owned!

Until the 19th century and Guyana, they were not a prominent family from what I have seen.

If you ever do your DNA, don’t be surprised to find you may have ancestors who were Vikings!!

26. 2022 Marijuana and Casino gambling

When BERT fails MARY JANE will come to the rescue.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/05/09/herb-payday/

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JOHN

CAN YOU PLEASE RESEARCH AND TELL US MORE BOUT HOW IT WAS POSSIBLE FOR WHITES TO ENSLAVE BLACKS AND WHY BLACKS NOW ENSLAVE BLACKS STILL AND ENJOY IT

CAN YOU FIND THE ARCHIVES THAT TELL US ABOUTBLACK MALTREATMENT OF BLACKS
    CERTAINLY THE DLP HAS PUT BAJAN BLACKS BACK TOWARDS SLAVERY……..AND NOW MIA AND THE BLP ROBBERS SENDING BLACK BAJANS FURTHER IN TO THE DEPTHS OF DESPAIR AND SLAVERY

28. Sargeant
    May 10, 2019 8:38 AM

Since “John” is so au courant with Bajan history could he tell us if any copies of the “Slave Bible” are in existence in Barbados? These books were printed in England and anything in England made its way to Little England in those days. John could tell us how the benevolent slave owners in addition to providing nourishment to the bodies of the “workers” also provided food for the mind with the introduction of passages from this bible.
    Some descendant of a “Quaker” family is sure to have a copy lying around on a musty library shelf.

Few slaves converted to Christianity in the beginning.

I believe it was a prerequisite for being given freedom.

It is an undisputable fact that some slaves were given freedom from the 1650’s and 1660’s.

One ancestor of mine received his in 1721, more than a century before emancipation.

Christianity was and is a personal and an individual choice.

My thinking is most slaves chose not to convert and in effect chose to remain in slavery.

Those converting would have used the KJV of 1611 copies of which abound!!

Descendants of Quaker families of all colours abound in Barbados .. ask anyone of them for their copy … or you can use Amazon!!

It wasn’t until the late 1700’s that you see the Anglicans, Moravians and Methodists baptizing slaves in numbers.

Quakers did not believe in Baptism.

Early Barbadians had two paths to Christianity .. through the Quaker Ministry or through the Anglican, Moravian and Methodist ministry.

Quakers were informal, meeting in the open or in Meeting Houses.

Anglicans, Moravians and Methodists were formal meeting in substantial physical churches.

Spiritual church vs physical church.

That’s why you won’t find a physical structure of a Quaker “church” in Barbados.

The Meeting Hoses decayed or were destroyed by hurricanes.

That’s the beauty of a Spiritual Church … it is down right cheap, no physical buildings needed, yet it provides access to the Word of God!!

29. COME CUSS ME AS USUAL FOR NOT SPEWING THE NARRATIVE I BEEN HEARING SINCE I BORN

False equivalence arguments won’t cut it sir. Stop being silly

John has his views and presents evidence that he feels supports it. While I question the sincerity of his motives at least he tries to approach it from an academic perspective. You sir add nothing to the discussion, you are John’s proctologist.

BUT I NEVER HEAR BOUT WUH BLACKS DO TO BLACKS………AND WUH BLACKS STILL DOING TO BLACKS

Trying to make this about yourself huh. Well no one did anything to you, you RAN (left as you claim) from Barbados not because of persecution but because you could not handle the reality of being mediocre. At least the slaves had a reason, what was yours, cowardice.

30. Here is a Black man asking a White man to tell the blog how Blacks mistreated Blacks and assisted with their enslavement. Coming from a scholar no less.

#steuspe

31. Sargeant

++++++++++++++++++++++

The point Sargeant is that in all likelihood, you are a descendant of a “Quaker” family or families, … just as I am!!

You may not know it but there are probably a lot of things you and I don’t know!!

Who knows, you and I may share a common ancestor who happened also to be a Quaker!!

32. @John
    You didn’t answer my question, I specifically asked about the “Slave Bible” i.e. a bible produced by Christians to justify slavery and curb the slaves appetite to resist enslavement.

33. Sargeant

If only one is in existence and it is being shown as a museum piece isn’t that also an answer to your question?

But the simple fact remains Quakers abolished slavery!!

So obviously, this single copy of the Bible never informed their thinking!!

Seems to be more of a curiosity than anything else!!

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Here is a Black man asking a White man to tell the blog how Blacks mistreated Blacks and assisted with their enslavement.

WHY NOT? I HAVE BEEN HEARING BOUT THE SLAVERY PART ALL MY LIFE

AS A SCHOLAR I WANT TO HEAR THE OTHER SIDE OF THE STORY TOO FOR BALANCE

THAT IS WHAT SCHOLARS DO THEY SEEK BALANCE. NOT ONE SIDE OF THE STORY.

AS I HAVE SAID BEFORE MUST WE ONLY FOLLOW THE PREVALING NARRATIVE AND STICK TO THE SCRIPT. AND ONLY SAY WHAT OUR BLACK SLAVE MASTERS TELL US TO SAY?

RE Coming from a scholar no less.
    THAT STICK IN YUH CRAW?

35. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Redguard

YES COME CUSS ME AS USUAL FOR NOT SPEWING THE NARRATIVE I BEEN HEARING SINCE I BORN

BOTH SIDES OF THE STORY OUGHT TO BE TOLD

I NEVER HEAR BOUT WUH BLACKS DO TO BLACKS………AND WUH BLACKS STILL DOING TO BLACKS

RE Trying to make this about yourself huh.
    NO SIR. NOT AT ALL

AND I DIDN’T RUN from Barbados NOR WAS I MEDIOCRE. I WAS ABLE TO SET UP SOMETHING IN BARBADOS IN 1985 THAT EVEN THE USA CANT DO TODAY

NOW IN MY MEDIOCRITY I ALSO BUILT A NUMBER OF HOUSES AND APARTMENTS……LOL
    I CAME TO THE USA TO ENGAGE IN REAL ESTATE AFTER STUDYING THEIR REAL ESTATE SCENARIO IN BOOKS

REAL ESTATE WAS MY PASSION IN BIM . MEDICINE FUELLED THAT INTEREST

HOW YOU GUYS GIVE ME MIRTH WITH YOUR AD HOMINEMS. LOL
    YOU GUYS ARE ALWAYS ATTEMPTING TO JUDGE ME WITHOUT KNOWING THE FACTS

36. “THAT IS WHAT SCHOLARS DO THEY SEEK BALANCE. NOT ONE SIDE OF THE STORY.”

Like how your friends on Breitbart deny the Holocaust to give balance. Stop being silly

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Here is a Black man asking a White man to tell the blog how Blacks mistreated Blacks and assisted with their enslavement. Coming from a scholar no less.

WHY MUST A BLACK MAN WANT TO ALWAYS HEAR ABOUT HOW WHITES TREATED BLACKS BUT CAN NOT FACE UP TO THE FACTS THAT BLACKS MISTREAT OTHER BLACKS AS OCCURS IN CHICAGO?

QUESTION
    WHY WAS HENRY FRASER – A WHITE MA KNIGHTED BY A BLACK GUVMENT; AND MAJOR SAM HEADLEY NEVER KNIGHTED BY THE SAME BLACK GUVMENT? OR WHY WAS OSCAR JORDAN NOT KNIGHTED? ALL OUTSTANDING LODGE BOYS!

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE

Like how your friends on Breitbart deny the Holocaust to give balance. Stop being silly

LIKKLE BOY I DONT STUDY BREITBART I STUDY BIBLE BIOCHEMISTRY BIOLOGY LOL

39. attempting to justify slavery is insulting even though not novel but equating slavery with socialism is unparalleled

40. William Skinner Avatar

” The BBC has sacked Danny Baker, saying he showed a “serious error of judgement” over his tweet about the Duke and Duchess of Sussex’s baby.

The tweet, which he later deleted but which has been circulated on social media, showed an image of a couple holding hands with a chimpanzee dressed in clothes with the caption: “Royal Baby leaves hospital”.

The BBC 5 Live presenter was accused of mocking the duchess’s racial heritage.

41. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right
    May 10, 2019 4:05 AM

@ Artaxerxes the Superlative Archiver

The point I wanted to make is that the Slave Plantation was more of a Socialist Utopia than Barbados is today!!

You preferred to interject your colour bias!!

The worker was cared for till death by the mini state …. the plantation!!

My point is that slavery is really a socialist construct which the capitalists eventually abolished!!!

The plantation was like a collective.

I think the individuality fundamental to both Christianity and Capitalism eventually led to the abolition of the collective!!

God’s gift to mankind is accepted or rejected individually.

You can’t force Christianity down a person’s throat!!

It is a matter of belief.

Capitalism thrives on the individual getting up and making something work through belief in an idea.

That’s why I think Quakers were so unusually successful in business.

God blessed their individual efforts, the first and foremost being to honour Him.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Quaker_businesses,_organizations_and_charities

42. @ William,

Danny Baker has form, ignore the moral outrage. He will be back at the BBC (or LBC, another radio station) when the noise goes down.

43. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Dr GP my fellow myope

“…CERTAINLY THE DLP HAS PUT BAJAN BLACKS BACK TOWARDS SLAVERY……..AND NOW MIA AND THE BLP ROBBERS SENDING BLACK BAJANS FURTHER IN TO THE DEPTHS OF DESPAIR AND SLAVERY…”

Truth!!!!

An transient one, since Mugabe and Fumbles will pass as did Thompson and Adam’s and Barrow, but truth nonetheless.

Notwithstanding his racial bias one has to accept that John is a mirror who (rather that) reflects our inadequacies in our faces.

It was Fumbles who administered this self slavery over our people and now it is Mugabe who continues the enslavement.

John speaks to the Arch Cot? Deaths and subsequent abandonment by Teets when he was AG, by Fumbles and Adriel Nitwit and now by Mugabe Mottley

44. Is it true that the Quakers played a significant role in establishing the African slave trade, including as founder members of the Royal African Company?

I also found the following comments interesting:

“In common with other prosperous groups of the time, 19th Century Quakers opted for fashionable evangelical religion and philanthropy instead of lending support to working people’s co-operative, trade union or socialist movements. Radical journalist William Cobbett complained of the ‘money-getting tribe of Quakers’, ‘none of whom ever work’, while they enriched themselves at the expense of the poor. (‘Weekly Register’ 1826, ‘Rural Rides’ 1830).”

45. Freedom Crier Avatar

JOHN AN INTERESTING FINDS. THE CORRELATES OF THE IDEA THAT YOU BROUGHT TO THE FOREFRONT FREE LABORER IN BARBADOS IS A / BETTER, MORE CHEERFUL, AND MORE INDUSTRIOUS WORKMAN THAN THE SLAVE EVER WAS UNDER A SYSTEM OF COMPULSION….1861.

THE ORDEAL OF FREE LABOR IN THE BRITISH WEST INDIES.
    BY WM. G. SEWELL.
    NEW YORK: HARPER & BKOTllEKS, PUBLISHERS,
    PEA N KLIN SQUARE.
    P 39-40

file:///C:/Users/Anybody/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/INetCache/Content.Outlook/UE112MZ1/ordealoffreelabo00seweuoft.pdf

It is a fact, which speaks volumes, that within the last fifteen years, in spite of the extraordinary price of land and the low rate of wages, the small proprietors of Barbados holding less than five acres have increased from 1100 to 8537. A great majority of these proprietors were formerly slaves, subsequently free laborers, and finally landholders.

This is certainly an evidence of industrious habits, and a remarkable contradiction to the prevailing idea that the negro will only work under compulsion. That idea was formed and fostered from the habits of the negro as a slave; his habits as a freeman, developed under a wholesome stimulus and settled by time, are in striking contrast to his habits as a slave.

I am simply stating a truth in regard to the Barbadian Creole which here, at least, will not be denied, I have conversed on the subject with all classes and conditions of people, and none are more ready to admit than the planters themselves that the free laborer in Barbados is a / better, more cheerful, and more industrious workman than the slave ever was under a system of compulsion.

These are the opinions of men who themselves were once violently opposed to freedom, and who still strive to keep the laboring classes in complete dependence ; and they are opinions so universal that I have sought dilgently, but in vain, to hear them contradicted.

The negro will not work with the steadiness of a white man, nor can it be expected that he should, with all the disadvantages of a tropical climate against him. But from my own observations, which I purposely made as extended as possible, I can assert that the crowds of laborers, male and female, whom I frequently met in the cane-fields, were as diligent in the performance of their duties as any other class of Africans I ever saw either in freedom or in slavery; and actual comparisons have proved that the free laborer gets through more work in a specified time than ever a slave did under the old system.

John have you any Figures for Sugar Production in Barbados Prior to 1700.

https://s3-us-west-2.amazonaws.com/courses-images/wp-content/uploads/sites/1935/2017/05/31181216/ve-dance-to-banjo-2c-1780s.jpeg

46. @John

I think the report said there were 3 surviving bibles but how do they know? I just thought that there may be more lying around but people don’t know their historical importance.

Do you know Nat Turner’s Bible survived his execution? Perhaps he read the part of Moses leading his people out of Egypt (missing from the Slave Bible) and tried to lead his people out of Slavery in Virginia.

I’m sure that there must have been Slave bibles in Barbados, how else can one explain the docility of Bajan slaves and their descendants? Please canvas your friends and family.

47. Artax
    May 10, 2019 12:28 PM

Is it true that the Quakers played a significant role in establishing the African slave trade, including as founder members of the Royal African Company?

Very unlikely for them to have been founder members of Royal African Company which was founded in 1660!!

The King of England,, Defender of the Faith and head of Church and State was one!!

Many Quakers spent much of their time in jail from 1648 when they first appeared to 1689 when the Act of Toleration allowed them to practice their beliefs!!

Quakers attracted envy as most successful people do!!

48. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PIECE

IN BARBADOS WE SPEND THE TIME HARPING AND RECOUNTING THE CHORUS OF WHAT THE WHITE SLAVE MASTERS DID

SO ENGROSSED ARE WE IN THESE MELODIES THAT WE ARE MOST DISTRACTED BY WHAT THE CONTEMPORARY SLAVE MASTERS ARE DOING TO BLACKS TODAY.

I STILL CANT FIGURE OUT HOW A BLACK GOVERNMENT KNIGHTED A FORMER WHITE LODGE BOY, HENRY FRASER, BUT OVERLOOKED TO KNIGHT TWO MORE OUTSTANDING LODGE BOYS, SAM HEADLEY AND OSCAR JORDAN.

49. In common with other prosperous groups of the time, 19th Century Quakers opted for fashionable evangelical religion and philanthropy instead of lending support to working people’s co-operative, trade union or socialist movements. Radical journalist William Cobbett complained of the ‘money-getting tribe of Quakers’, ‘none of whom ever work’, while they enriched themselves at the expense of the poor. (‘Weekly Register’ 1826, ‘Rural Rides’ 1830).”

If you are really interested in the Quakers, you should read more about how they evolved over time and appreciate that there isn’t one generic identity called Quaker.

What do you understand by Evangelical Religion and when did it start?

Quakers were unusually successful in business.

That was the only avenue open to then because of the persecution they faced.

In 1826 or 1830 slavery had not been abolished.

How do you think a working people’s cooperative, trade union or socialist movement would have helped them achieve their goal of the abolition of slavery?

Were any of them at the Anti Slavery Convention of 1840 in England?

Here is a link for first anti slavery convention in England which Samuel Jackman Prescod attended, shown in the picture.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Anti-Slavery_Convention

50. @ John,

Barclays, Jordan’s, Cadbury’s, Friends Insurance, et al.