Of concern to Barbadians everywhere is the ‘fatigue’ that has set in triggered by an economy stuck in the doldrums for  more than 10 years. Some Barbadians although tired of the persistent state of affairs seem to have expected Mia and the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to flick a switch to quick fix the economic problems of the country.  Old news!

In the build to the 24 May 2018 there was chatter in the country about:

• Austerity measures
  • Government printing 50 million dollars a month
  • Dwindling foreign reserves
  • A judiciary about to crash under its weight
  • Sewage spewing onto the street on the South Coast
  • Garbage pile up across Barbados and the under-resourced SSA
  • Poor public transportation and the under-resourced transport Board
  • Outstanding income tax rebates
  • Low domestic and international investment flows
  • Pothole ridden highways and byways
  • Poor maintenance (physical/environmental of buildings
  • Rapid fire borrowing from the NIS Fund by Central government and questionable lending to private entities
  • Unresolved CLICO mess
  • Twenty something credit rating downgrades
  • Public servants not having a wage hike since 2006
  • Poor financial state of SOEs (see Auditor General reports)
  • Dysfunctional working committees of parliament

The list is not meant to be exhaustive.

What the last decade should have taught us is that we have to find a way to build consensus to move the country to an improved footing. Persisting with the adversarial and fractious approach will not help. Unfortunately the last general election has left the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) a broken party and the so-called third parties have not stepped up to the task at hand (so far) as a credible alternative.

See blogmaster’s pulse chaeck notes in red to the above.

• Austerity measures/no change
  • Government printing 50 million dollars a month/from all reports significantly reduced
  • Dwindling foreign reserves/stabilized as a result of default on loans and IMF and other injections
  • A judiciary about to crash under its weight/no change
  • Sewage spewing onto the street on the South Coast/immediate problem addressed until a permanent fix is implemented, so promised Abrahams
  • Garbage pile up across Barbados, landfills and the under-resourced SSA/moderate improvement
  • Poor public transportation and the under-resourced transport Board/no change
  • Outstanding income tax rebates/significant improvement
  • Low domestic and international investment flows/small improvement
  • Pothole ridden highways and byways/small improvement
  • Poor maintenance (physical/environmental of buildings)/no change
  • Rapid fire borrowing from the NIS Fund by Central government and questionable lending to private entities/significant improvement
  • Unresolved CLICO mess/no change
  • Twenty something credit rating downgrades/moderate improvement
  • Public servants not having a wage hike since 2006/small improvment
  • Poor financial state of SOEs (see Auditor General reports)/no change
  • Dysfunctional working committees of parliament/No change

The blogmaster shares his  musings based on rumshop talk and observation. The thing about debate in a rumshop is participants hold strong views and know they have the answers to everything. The libation does not help!

Postscript: we need to hear more about government’s plan to address concerns about the NIS. It is our lifeline.

158 responses to “Post General Election Musings”

1. William Skinner Avatar

From the outset , BERT/IMF , was promoted as a cure. Now everybody is realising that it is only a medicine that may or may not work.
    Skillful political public relations is now clashing head on with socio-economic reality.

2. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Mia is going to learn the hard way that the wealth in AFRICA…belongs to EACH AND EVERY BLACK PERSON ON EARTH…

She is going to learn the hard way that the WEALTH IN AFRICA…belongs to EACH AND EVERY BLACK PERSON IN BARBADOS..

3. BERT was promoted as a cure?

The blogmaster follows the political scene very closely. The IMF program was the first option to protect the peg in the first phase. Sensible understand that Barbados is in a deep hole and it will take a big effort to turn Barbados around.

A successful IMF program is meant to be the precursor to growing investor confidence and growth.. This is and will always be the X factor. If we are commenting we must be fair.

4. @ SSS,

My apologies for not noticing that we have not always seen eye to eye. My fault. But thanks for thinking I can some times be sensible. I have been coming to BU for years just to be told I could be sensible. Wow! I will tell my mum.
    By the way, plse remind me of the nonsense I sometimes write on BU.

5. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

The only people WHO NEED TO BE HUNG BY THEIR NECKS IN BARBADOS are the thieves in parliament, the thieves in the minority business community and the corrupt criminals in the bar association

6. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Ministers and lawyers colluding with others and stealing from their own country and their own people for the better part of 70+
    YEARS….IS TREASON.

7. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Barbados government was warned…they were warned. When you are the one providing the drugs and guns to young blacks to commit crimes to keep the population scared while you commit more crimes and thefts against your black people, YOU ARE THE ONE WANT HANGING.
    “Barbados: Amnesty International open letter on the death penalty
    29 Aug 2002, 12:00am

The human rights organisation is particularly concerned about a proposed amendment to the Constitution, which threatens to curtail constitutional guarantees protecting people under death sentence.

Should the amendment be passed, prisoners would be prevented from challenging their executions on the grounds of the length of time they have spent under sentence of death and the prison conditions under which they are held. Moreover, the amendment seeks to limit the length of time allowed for intergovernmental human rights bodies to examine complaints from prisoners.

In its letter, Amnesty International urged the government of Barbados to embrace the international trend away from the use of the death penalty and join the majority of the world’s nations who have turned their backs on the use of this cruel and irrevocable punishment. The organization stressed that the resumption of hanging would be a retrograde step and further called on Barbados not to take that path.”

8. @David

Did I say there was a large turnout? Don’t know if some was due to curiosity or other factors but there was a lot of goodwill in the room towards the PM. Most of us in the North are non- partisan, we just want good governance no matter which Party is in power. One of the prime objectives of the Town Hall is to encourage people to invest some of their assets in Barbados but as usual with these things the demographic of the crowd skewed towards the newly retired to the long time retired which in the long run doesn’t bode well for the short/long? term prospects of obtaining investment from those groups as they want to keep their money close to them.

Still trying to understand the rationale behind the “we gatherin” and Duguid (who was not part of the official delegation) said something to the effect -come home in 2020 and make Barbados great again- WTF.
    The Q & A revealed some of the issues that people were concerned about:
    1) Crime
    2) Corruption
    3) Bureaucracy (even within the commercial sphere)

9. Minister of Distraction His Rght Honurable David BU
    Now you might come to the realization that Mia unilateral decision to default on the loan might cause an avalanche of problems for the barbados economy which in effect can be a big problem for the local business economy in getting loans
    Maybe reason why Sandals might have requested a guarantee from govt as a commitment for accessing bank loans
    The business community would be feeling the pinch

10. It is indeed heartening that even those in the diaspora are questioning the measures or lack thereof to deal with corruption. Corruption is the main killer of our economy and society. The Bajans in the diaspora obviously want to help but are wondering who they will actually be helping. I hope any help they give will come with strings attached – action on corruption, transparency, accountability and treatment at least equal to that meted out to those who steal nail clippers. The best thing they can do for us is to keep on that topic. In the spotlight where she cannot hide. They should come with facts and figures, for example, news items and ask specific questions.

Without addressing corruption we will not advance.

David, what does your report card say on that?

11. @ Sargeant,

“We Gatherin 2020” should help vendors and rum shop owners. Nuff Bajans will take their vacations to coincide with de gatherins.

12. @Sargeant

Thanks for the report. Did she say invest in what?

13. Those in the diaspora are not the ones that feeling the daily pinches of high taxes and food prices in barbados
    The PM along with her smoke and mirror plan to coerce the diaspora does not answer to economic problems at home
    WE GATHERING IS NOT A PLAN of sustainability for the economy

14. @ Mariposa,

For Barbadians in the so-called Diaspora to ‘invest’ in Barbados, two things must happen: first, the investment vehicles in Barbados must give better returns than those in their country of residence. And, failing that, loyalty, a romantic idea of home, must be so powerful that concerns about returns and protection will be irrelevant. Remember, this is a government that has just defaulted on retail bonds. The prime minister and her advisers must meet both those barriers. Then of course, there are income tax implications.

15. @ Donna who wrote ” Bajans in the diaspora obviously want to help”,

They have been helping their families and friends for decades.

16. @ Mariposa

The prime minister handed out a leaflet for her Montreal speech entitled: Barbados, Your Place is Here, Grow with us.
    It had the following sections:
    An Attractive Centre for Global Business-2 paragraphs
    Revised Tax Regime- 4 Pages
    Establishing a new Business-1 page
    Emerging Industry and guess what it uses Bitt the new Cryptocurrency as the only example- 1 paragraph
    Business Opportunities- 1 sentence

This is why BERT will fail, if this is the best the government has to offer.

17. Hal well said
    We gathering “A Romantic idea” emerging from smoke and mirror policy to hoodwinked the diaspora

18. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Without addressing corruption we will not advance.”

don’t know which part of that the corrupt don’t get.

….Mia thinks she can dance around the corruption topic…hoodwink everyone and continue with corruption…as usual.

and actually introducing the Bitt scam, because that is all they got…..well..we shall see..

19. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Did she say invest in what?”

Indeed…what will bajan Canadians and bajan Americans etc be investing in on the island…ah hope she don’t think they are just going to pick up money by the thousands, millions and hundreds of millions and put in Mia’s hand…when all them lawyers and ministers got over 120,000 offshore accounts with hundreds of millions of stolen dollars and stolen land belonging to black bajans …..all sitting across the four corners of the earth…which Mia refuses to return to the island…

so exactly what will diasporans be investing in Barbados in when they got DIAMOND MINES, GOLD MINES and all manner of investments…IN AFRICA TO ACCESS…for themselves….their ancestral wealth that belongs to THEM..

If Mia gets her hands on their money…she will take it and invest for herself and black bajans will see nothing…as usual.

20. Hants,

I know that first hand. But I am talking about at another level this time and in another way. But I want them to keep on her about the corruption. That is the most important thing they can do for us. Keep it in the spotlight.

21. When this blogmaster posted to give Savid Thompson one year free of criticism many attacked that position.

A similar courtesy has been extended to this government with the variant that the urgency of the predicament the country finds itself makes it a 9 month year read prison year.

Of one thing we are certain, unless we find common ground to rally the country there will be no improvement. The rabid political way we continue do business is doomed to fail. There are enough examples.

The little this blog can do to support the transformation that must take place through discussion, we will.

22. What is happening in the region? The IMF is forecasting zero growth in 2019 for the great economy of Trinidad?

23. Trinidad having oil can help to buffer what growth it will not produce
    What does barbados have. Zero productivity
    To make matters worse govt major concern on paying debt seems to have placed very little concern on forecasting or creating a path for growth.

24. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Hal Austin

Hal,

Sometimes you can be spot on.

You alone noticed the Mugabe Regime insertion of the MyMoney scam in its diaspora trick.

I mean to say, where are the reports from the Central Prank of Barbados that state thd rigourous testing that WeMoney was subjected to?

Where are the independent reports that state it passed due diligence?

They need money to Prime ghd pump an legitimately show the movement of the drug money to be investments from the Diaspora

ALL HAIL MUGABE!!

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

Barbados awaits the payback from the $6 BILLION investment in the social economy, made from 2010-2018.

26. @ Donna,

Rich ? Bajans in the Diaspora will invest ( risk ) their spare change and will do so out of patriotism.

However the LEGALISATION of all marijuana and Casino gambling could be a game changer.

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Like what you saying Donna and Hal Austin

The biggest problem is the ease at which politicians help themselves to the Treasury via their various schemes. Up until now, the haste and speed at which Rogue- Works moved to sort out her personal interests in comparison to the tentative approach to putting measures in place that will assure Barbadians that we definitely seeing that Mia GOT THIS, is a perfect example of where her dedications lie. Corruption has robbed the island of billions, yet she handed the tax cheats an amnesty and further their stakes by giving their businesses a tax free ticket to operate, while the majority of depressed and deprived bajans have to feel the whip of her tax impositions.

28. “….while the majority of depressed and deprived bajans have to feel the whip of her tax impositions.”

What taxes have been imposed on the “majority of depressed and deprived bajans”?

29. BLP FINISHING A DLP PROJECT ?

Representatives from the United Arab Emirates, France and the Barbados Water Authority toasted the official commissioning of major solar photovoltaic projects at the Bowmanston Pumping Station in St John and the pumping station at Lakes Folly, Bridgetown, at a cocktail reception recently.

The signing of a US$3.5 million funding agreement between Barbados and the United Arab Emirates was completed in November 2017 and saw the project beginning in early 2018. Funded by a grant from the UAE-Caribbean Renewable Energy Fund, the two systems will assist in reducing Barbados’ dependence on fossil fuel.

The Bowmanston plant is a 500-kilowatt ground-mounted system while Lakes Folly is a 350-kilowatt solar carport.

30. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants at 4:41 PM

There are no political party projects. A party that forms the GoB becomes the GoB and sign contracts as the GoB. So it is a GoB project.

31. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mr. Vincent Codrington

If one extrapolates on your statement regarding the non distinction between the GoB under either a BLP or DLP party, can we be so bold to believe that a sovereign contract that binds one former government to pay, say Cahill and its affiliates, of whom some are former DLP politicians, binds the BLP?

32. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PUDRYR

You can, but you may not extrapolate.
    You will have to verify that there was a binding contract. Was there a contract? And was it signed? How come that information was not published? Are you an accessory to this (f)act?
    Wuh Loss, Piece.
    Do you see why you have to fight so hard to get piece of this rock? LoL!!! You better try to get some hard rock cement. Lime stone too good for you.

33. @ Vincent,

I doan have to read and spell for you.

Just want to show that the DLP did something good……at least once. lol

@ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right you have not commented on the video I provided showing that

Ghanians are talented and John King should invite them to visit for Crop Over.

34. Did Mascoll boldy state that barbadians have more disposable income
    Has he ever heard of a word called Inflation and what it can do to a dollar in a day
    Btw has he gone to the supermarket recently.
    Or does his goodies become delivered in a barrell via the USA
    The man gotta be 😠

35. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Brother Hants I saw the Ghanaians and thought that both the rendition AND those rendering were to be commended.

I note that you have not lost your talent for finding good links, virtual and visual.

@ Mr. Vincent Codrington, yes the constitution of the Rock and the size of the valise under the table sometimes will determine if, in the absence of a contract, or for that matter, an Environmental Impact Assessment, whether a project will proceed, with the blessing of one party, or fail by completely dissimilar pronouncement by the very same person.

We could possible compose a tune about it and agree to meet and Come Sing A Song but alas…

36. Mascoll.it must be nice knowning yuh have a job and dont have to wait hand in mout for a income tax check or govt sending a pension check or returning some of the savings they took from your account to pay govt debt
    Mascoll i bet you not having to wait for yuh monthly check in the mail to in order to buy groceries or pay bills
    You lucky Dog.

37. Hmmmmm……

I guess you now know how Sir Frank Alleyne, Hugh Foster, Guyson Mayers, Hammie Lah, Undene Whittaker and all the other known (and unknown) consultants felt, “not having to wait for duh monthly check in the mail to in order to buy groceries or pay bills.”

They were lucky dogs too.

Sorry, Donna…….. uh cun leh dis wun pass.

38. But none uh dem ministers or consultants under a govt that have implemtened austerity measures so draconian that have people shitting bricks so hard that mek them afraid to flush toilet
    Man i tell yuh fuh anyone to come here and mek defense fuh Mascoll got nuh feeling at all .
    Boy go lie down and rest yuh self cause yuh sounding just as foolish as Mascoll wid he disposable income tripe

39. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Still waiting for Mia to address the nation about this..but it’s too late now, everyone already found out about her crab mentality..

https://www.facebook.com/AFRICANFind/videos/2161769173906853/?t=159

40. Seems like Roy Morris Rape case was dismissed.

Note that Ralph Thorne was his Attorney and his tactics used to delay and prolong the Rape Trail of the 16-year-old girl.

https://barbadosunderground.net/2007/08/15/the-demise-of-roy-morris-veteran-journalist-at-the-nation-newspaper-part-ii/

41. Scotia Bank closed Ronald Toppin account
    Ronald Toppin excuse (is) the banks targeting politicians
    What a duffus
    But what he did not say is why would the banks target him
    Also what proof does he has that the banks targetting politicians
    The banks is in business to make money and only would close an account unless it has a very good reason to do so
    But being based on a politician is ludicrous
    Between Toppin Marshall and Mascoll this trio are showing signs of mental fatigue on the job and should to be fired
    Phew four more years of this babble and guess what only God knows

42. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

I wonder if people do like I do.

I mean I sometimes stop and wonder “what if…”

How many of us men sat, and actually read the link to the Roy Morris rape blog posted here earlier?

How many read that blog with the teenager who says she is the one who was raped?

I read it and saw her pain and the emotional trauma, and the parents responses and her lifelong agony.

And i also saw the responses of we men. And i recalled years ago in a similar matter how the lawyer if the defendant had asked the victim “if she had liked it?”

I wonder how men like Ralph feel when they are in a court representing men like Roy, when they study their own underage daughters?

I guess that men like Ralph Thorne are of the bajan mentality “if she old enough to bleed, she old enough to breed!”

What if it was your daughter Ralph? Would you be defending him too?

That is why I laugh when I see the rampant crime on the island now, the Hollywood style murders, the total confusion of the authorities and all this hanging conundrum that abounds in the media, and the paralysis that grips the nation.

As long as it is someone’s daughter being raped or someone’s son/child being shot, these people, be it Mugabe, or Fumbles or Adriel Nitwit or Smiley Teets Dale, these people dont really give a fvuck

Carry on smartly…

43. That’s okay, Mariposa……. I’ll go and lie down and rest muh self.

But yuh know, you should be laying down and resting yuh self permanently. Because with your silly incoherent sentences, generalized, political statements and a lack of knowledge or understanding of the issues on which you are so fond of commenting……

………. you duz “sound foolish” ALL the time.

When you talking ’bout economic issues, you duz “sound just as foolish as” Jester Ince, when he was on the radio arguing about a “physical deficit.”

And when you talking ’bout everyt’ng else, makes it difficult to convince me that you don’t “sound just as foolish as” Denis Kellman.

44. Oh welll. Hee heee..rolling my eyes

45. Look old man that was brought up for discussion on another blog in reference to some lawyer denied entry to the bar because of past criminal behaviour
    In Roy Morris case he was forgiven by the powers that can bend laws rules and even the Constitution to serve their self and political interest

46. Artax here is something to sink yuh teeth
    Scotia Bank closed Ronald Toppin account and he blames him being a politician for the reason
    Could it be that Scotia said more than what Roland Toppin is telling

47. In cases like Roy Morris it has nothing to do with bending laws. The victim for what ever reason will withdraw from the matter.

48. Mariposa…..

I don’t know…………could it be similar to the reasons why CIBC told your own Leroy Parris to take a hike with the $8M?

Could it be, at that time, CIBC said more than what Leroy Parris was telling?

You feel Toppin cud do like Leroy and deposit his money at the Central Bank?

Now, dem is t’ings you should sink yuh gums into.

49. Artax,

It is your right to post what you wish. No need to apologize to me. I just wish you would ALSO give your input on the report card as presented by David. Note that I said YOUR INPUT. And so that means YOUR OPINION and not mine. That is all I’m asking for. I have an open mind.

What do you think and based on what grounds?

50. @ Mariposa,

There are two answers to the awful decision from CIBC: first, if that decision was not cleared with the banking regulator then they should be asked to explain themselves, and if they fail their banking license should be withdrawn.
    Second, they should be compelled to pay a penalty for damage to reputation. This is naked arrogance, and has nothing to do with political parties. Afterall, these obnoxious Canadians have done this to the ruling party.