It is not an original line but sirFuzzy reminded the blogmaster in a recent communication that if we fail to prepare; prepare to fail. We must in this context evaluate Barbados’ precipitous fall from the halcyon days of being regarded the jewel in the crown to a nation that has failed to effectively plan and manage our affairs. It is often said we suffer from an inability to execute.

During the debate of the 2019 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals, Prime Minister Mia Mottley shared an exchange which occurred last week while touring Bridgetown with Prince Charles and tour guide Maurice Greenidge. Greenidge theorised based on recorded events Barbados is due a major hurricane every 67 years. Whether we subscribe to his theory or not, we should agree that despite our strategic geographical location on the archipelago, it makes sense to be prepared for what mother nature tosses up unexpectedly. Contrary to the widely held view – God is NOT a Bajan!

Although Barbados escaped relatively unscathed last year, the videos and pictures circulated that captured the devastation in Dominica and several of the neighbouring islands in 2017 should serve as an incentive to execute the Scouts motto – BE PREPARED!

Inquiring minds therefore must ask the 64K question.

Do Bajans take hurricane preparedness seriously?

“June too soon, July standby, August you must, September remember, October all over”

The official start of the hurricane season is less than three months off. The blogmaster is challenged to be optimistic about what will occur when a major weather system impacts Barbados. A heavy downpour which is not unexpected weather in the tropics always create flooding on the island. Sometimes of a life threatening nature. Our roads are in a poor state. We routinely engage in illegal dumping in our gullies and ‘irreverently’ and illegally construct in water courses. It is not unusual for a national shutdown call to be challenged by maverick players who see themselves slaves to the almighty dollar.

Many Barbadians appreciate the lack of financial resources will negatively affect national planning to prepare for the hurricane season, BUT, the blogmaster is also aware many Barbadians have become complacent because we have a generation who has not had to experience nature’s wrath.

A word to the wise AND as well as the indolent should be sufficient.

133 responses to “Are Bajans Ready IF June Comes Too Soon?”

1. Good post Blogmaster.

This is a very, very serious issue and because major storms have occurred infrequently here, many don’t account for the risk, or worse even take it seriously.

A serious weather event would be catastrophic for an economy on the precipice…and also Sagicor’s retirement village…

2. @ Dullard,

A once in a 200 years event, as actuaries call it. But that risk is not even relevant in this case. It is more basic: the decision by an insurance company to invest in illiquid residential property is unnecessarily high risk, a result of poor regulation.
    What is more, will the buyers get mortgages, or will the homes be cash only? Desperate people do desperate things. The Barbados economy is in serious trouble and they are clutching at straws.

3. @Dullard

You have raised another angle not covered in the blog, the need for thorough ‘business continuity’ plans from household to wider society.

The financial aspect is an important component in helping individuals and businesses reconstruct their lifes/businesses post a disaster. As stated on Sunday under the other blog the substantive point is taken read the risk of investing in illiquid assets. However the blogmaster is sympathetic to the argument that there is limited opportunity to generate decent yields on investments for local players whether government securities, equity in private market etc given the prevailing domestic and regional markets. Couple with the fact Barbados foreign exchange market is still heavily regulated with restrictions imposed on locals how much they can invest overseas. The players in the market do not make the rules under which they operate although they can lobby for change.

This opens a bigger discussion regarding the sustainability of a fully liberalized makert and all the other arguments to follow. Will leave it to the bright boys to ventilate. It is not black or white, that said we have to change it up.

4. Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN Avatar
    Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN

Flip Flop? Before Mia raised bus fares, she had agreed to reduce bus fares! 

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Good morning, David, or whoever you are

Is it possible to know how many households in Barbados are uninsured compared to the amount that is insured? Does the Government ( Barbados Statistical Department) collect such data for purposes of understanding this particular inertia amongst the house-owning public? Interested in knowing.

6. Have no idea if that data is collected. Do not recall seeing it published anywhere.

7. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

The worse Atlantic storm EVER was not Ivan, not Katrina, not Maria, but the one that hit BARBADOS in mid-October 1780, and and killed 10% of the population. Imagine if it happened again and we had to bury the 28,000 bodies of your relatives and mine before they start to stink.

It can happen again.

No we are NOT ready. No place in the world is ready or can be for that, but there are some things we can do to lessen the damage and the mortality and morbidity.

No. God is NOT a Bajan.

8. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

So, David, or whoever you are

Isn’t such information a start towards prevention? I mean you might not know, even though I know you could easily find out, after all, you are close to the current government, but would a caring government not want to know how many households are taking risk?

9. You have anecdotal evidence to know that almost 100% of chattel houses are not insured.

We know anecdotally that many homes are underinsured if you listened to the companies quoted in the media from time to time.

If there is anybody with the information you want they are invited to share it. While the data is important there is enough evidence starring us in the face to know our preparation for a disaster is lacking.

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

That is all the evidence that you need, David, or who ever you are. Uninsured houses means that most do not have what it takes to get prepared for the Hurricane season. Should a major storm hit, the few rations that they will accumulate will not last till real aid start pouring in. Some think that a few gallon bottles of water is sufficient. The majority of Barbadians are poor. How do poor people get ready for a major show down with CAT3-5 hurricane. Barbados is not prepared because many Barbadians do not have the means to be prepared.

11. Isn’t such information a start towards prevention?

Nonsense.

Insurance is just a means to recoup some losses in the event you do experience a loss. It is really the last line of defense.

12. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ my Dearest SSS

You have to be careful saying these spurious things about bajans.

Yesterday you spoke about the mentality of a segment of our population

Now today you daud and I quote

“…Barbados is not prepared because many Barbadians do not have the means to be prepared…”

This is too much truth about bajans in too short a period of time!!!

There is a limit to truth here and you exceeded it

Forthwith you shall be banned

13. The average Barbadian ( the ones I have spoken to ) does not believe that a major hurricane is likely to hit Barbados.

They almost always say ” man de hurricanes does pass near sometimes but does miss we “.

The best we can hope for is that the government will ensure that existing hurricane shelters are functional so poor people will have a place of refuge ” wen de hurricane come “.

14. @David

You have mostly covered it but we have become complacent as the island has been spared for more than a generation and there are few memories of Janet. The housing stock looks mostly good at first glance but not sure how well they are constructed since most of the construction is post 60’s without reference to building codes for hurricane resistance etc. I see utility poles standing at various angles that are primed to be toppled over in the event of strong winds. I see large trees that are very close to homes, not sure if the authorities are doing any remedial work on wells that used to take the water away or whether the natural water courses are being cleared to allow for the smooth passage of water. On a positive note I did see a work group trimming some trees that were hanging over Maxwell coast road but I don’t know if that activity is commonplace.

We have seen what a little water can do, imagine it is magnified ten- fold with power failures, communication failure, transportation failure, compounded by potable water problems and food shortages many of us would be jolted out of our mostly comfortable existence.

15. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Wait! Who informed David Bu and Simple Simon that God is not a Bajan though. They duz work at Immigration?
    If he is not one He behaves like one and that is good enough for me.
    Most Bajans have calculated the probability of Barbados being hit by a serious hurricane and the statistics and the geographical location confirm their belief. That having been said we must always be prepared for the outliers. If anything happened in the past it can happen again. There is no harm in being prepared. But how prepared can we be? I think it would be useful if we enforced the checklist mentioned by Sargeant at 9 :37 AM. Flooding is our biggest threat.

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Dullards

Do some of you ever stop to think before you object with a whole load of shite talk? If those who do not have insurance have some other means to fix their houses after a major storm then let them continue holding on tó that. I can bet you, that if a storm hit tomorrow, most on the island will be left skatspraddled with no hope but to hope that outside aid will factor in home repair or complete rebuilding in their aid. If a large percentage of the population are living in uninsured houses, can you not envision the other factors that will play out in a major storm scenario? Lorrrrrd haveth mercy…

17. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

I may be wrong but i can remember within recent times that PM Mottley said she had two very big fears. The fear of gun voilemnce and the fear of what mother nature via a hurricane can do to Barbados. So far 2019 has seen the level of gun voilence unseen in Barbados in recent times, we are experience a part of here worst fears. Come June 2019 lest hope part two of her worst fears do materialise

We/some are poor in a financial sense and cannot prepare adequately; but we are much poorer in all aspects if we decide not to prepare at all.

As i was told on many occasions, “mess wid me and you will see which god you serve”. I hope we are not testing and pushing the envelope to see whether God is a Bajan after all? lol

Just saying

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My Sweet Piece

There is so much shite-hole pretense going on in Barbados that you have a few on here who seem to think that God’s gift to them to know all things, perceived all things, and be critical of all things. I contend that there is more to hurricane preparedness than just saying be prepared. Either we make what we need for preparation affordable or the vast majority of the population that are on the unaffordable line will remain prepared but far below the basics. That is why I ask about the insurance. This alone should be a sign that many bajans lack the ability to cover themselves well during storm preparation, and during a storm, your house, food and water and love ones are foremost in your mind.

19. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

A correction.!

I may be wrong but i can remember within recent times that PM Mottley said she had two very big fears. The fear of gun violence and the fear of what mother nature via a hurricane can do to Barbados. So far 2019 has seen the level of gun violence unseen in Barbados in recent times, we are experience a part of here worst fears. Come June 2019 let us hope part two of her worst fears DON’T materialise

We/some are poor in a financial sense and cannot prepare adequately; but we are much poorer in all aspects if we decide not to prepare at all.

As i was told on many occasions, “mess wid me and you will see which god you serve”. I hope we are not testing and pushing the envelope to see whether God is a Bajan after all? lol

Just saying

20. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

Would u agree with me that an essential part of “Preparedness” is “Maintenance” both restorative and preventative maintenance.

We also know that maintenance has being a bad word or an outlawed word and concept within the GOB for generations.

So maybe just maybe the GOB and it ministries; departments, divisions , SOEs etc has demonstrated to the society that no one needs to take “preparedness” to seriously after all we never maintain thus prepare for what is normally inevitable for mechanical things ans building etc. so why should you; so follow us as we skydive from the air-plane without parachutes……etc

Just thinking out loud.

21. PoorPeacefulandPolite Avatar
    PoorPeacefulandPolite

I would feel much more comfortable sheltering my family under an asset with a Rock Hard precast concrete roof that will re-sell eventually for much more than the money-in-the-bank is yielding !! Sagicor’s project will be sold out in a flash – and we should all help to stimulate the economy from now by making our own homes and businesses stronger . . . but the St.George retirement village should serve as a model for the promotion of a new, less wasting tourism: health tourism.

It was our RESILIENCE as a people that made Barbados accomplish what it has so far, and the same resilience in our physical and cultural structure will work again if only we would stop picking at each other and get our shine on !!!

22. @ SSS
    Take a step back, perhaps have a stretch a cup of tea and compose a coherent paragraph. What is the point you are trying to make?

Do you know that many important types of insurance cover are unavailable for chattel houses? What then?

The best bet is for government to mandate and assist with minimum building standards.

23. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

If we look at the potable water requirements. We must look at adequate storage facility of the water. Then we must consider the number of person living in the household. If we consider all these things some households with a large number of person living in one house or Govt. housing unit may just be unable meet the minimum expectation for “potable” water. Also what we must understand is that these are “minimum” storage expectation and it states for three(3) days. So the impact of the “natural event/disater ” according GOB expectation will and can only last 3 DAYS otherwise we “up the creek”?

I emphasised water storage as water always becomes the more important substance we need when/after “the shit hits the fan”. Electricity is a luxury when you cannot have water etc. But in a modern society electricity is close second place; but can be more easily generated due to PV technology than it is to get your hands/mouth into clean safe potable water.

If the GOB is kinda fooling person that 3 days water is all u wil ever need to out pace any natural event/disater the GOB is tying a noose around amny of the head of its citizens. Leaders want the title and the perks of leadership, but at least lead occasionally and stop the non-stop fooling …etc. we are offered as leadership.

Just saying.

24. If a hurricane comes I can assure you that all the residents in Clarkes Road will be washed away. What is the government under Mottley doing to prevent this? The white woman will still be in her castle on the hill.

25. ..you have a few on here who seem to think that God’s gift to them to know all things, perceived all things…

You said it. You are not far off…

Ironically, you have accidentally stumbled upon a profound truth:

But as for you, Christ has poured out his Spirit on you. As long as his Spirit remains in you, you do not need anyone to teach you. For his Spirit teaches you about everything, and what he teaches is true, not false. Obey the Spirit’s teaching, then, and remain in union with Christ.

26. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Dullard

Stop talking shite. My aunt lived in a chattel house during the days of crooked British American Insurance and the house was insured. Then when she turned it into wall, she went with the other crooks called ALICO. Where the heck you get that from? Does it sounds to you on here that I give a rats ass about coherent paragraphs, punctuation, grammar or whatever else you will try to bring to prove that you does just look to object for objecting sake?

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Dullard

You are a piece of work. Go look at every comment I ever wrote on here and you will see what I comment to. There is too much pretense concerning what the facts are, and persons like you does try to turn every shite upside down. Lokka check yaself yeah. You can be more objective but always ramgeorge looking to dispute every shite someone says.

28. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Sunshine Sunny Shine March 26, 2019 10:47 AM

Property insurance is a secondary part of the puzzle. First the property owners must be in position to truly afford the “insurance premium” but before that we need to know whether his property is “insurable”?

Before any of the above the property in my opinion needs to be a good condition whether constructed outa stone or wood or the newer materials now available etc. Our first line of defence is a “building code” that is equally enforced whereby houses or buildings constructed stand a high probability of weathering the event.

I am sure the insurance industry will prefer such building code enforcement as it would help them manage a portion of the risk they undertake as property insurance provider.

Just saying

29. My aunt lived in a chattel house during the days of crooked British American Insurance and the house was insured.

So this means that insurance cover is adequate and fit for purpose generally in the event of catastrophic storm right?

30. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Sunshine Sunny Shine March 26, 2019 10:47 AM

BTW who need property insurance if my god Is a Bajan? My god will protect me and supply all my need. So what insurance company can offer me any better insurance coverage than than provided by the “all mighty”. The last %0 is proof that the plan offered “all mighty” is supreme to any insurance. Plus it free. don’t cost me one cent.

Bout hay we dont need nah insurance we all covered by the “all mighty” and besides that My god izah Bajan? lol

just musing?

31. You … always …looking to dispute every shite someone says.

No, only the fallacies.

I thought you liked rum shops. You ever went to a rum shop and aint get opposed yet?

32. @sirFuzzy

Agree that maintenance is critical and is embedded in a decent BCP. Have we adopted this best practice across the board?

33. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Dullard

What fallacies what! Bunch nonsense that is what it is. Oops oh sorry, just read your comment. You did not refute what I was saying….silly me..

Sir Fuzzy

No insurance company is going to insure a house that is a hazard. That is a given.

34. interesting

35. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@SSS

Assuming the TCCP dept has completed their site lot/ grid layout of Barbados. That land tax department has an accurate registry of all the buildings on the island, and the list of insured properties by the insurance industry we can cross tabulate and determine how many building are insurance and uninsured etc.

Only the insurance industry will know the level of and type of coverage the buildings have on the individual properties.

One thing that we need to consider is that insurance is an expense. Some person who can afford insurance CHoOSE to non insure their properties based on a number of factors that that individual has internalised.

If over the last 30 years they paid property insurance they go nothing other than coverage and receipts. lol
    However if they had paid a 30 year annuity they will have gotten something or access to the value of the insurance etc.
    This view has a lot to do with the fact that Barbados has been spared major hurricane damage for the last 50 years.

I have even heard some older persons that had or have properties insured for a least 30 years dating back to the 1980s are considering not renewing the insurance as it has become too expense.
    (b) they are questioning the value of the insurance as i has given them back nothing over the 30 of premiums they paid.
    (c) they are now experiencing cash flow issues and need to reduce their expenses and property insurance is the best candidate to give up.

the list will vary from person to person

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

At least we have an insight into how average Barbadians think about Hurricane Preparedness. It is a matter of weighing the risks. There is no right or wrong answer.

37. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants

We have only had 24 hurricanes in almost 4 centuries. Do you think ,with that record, house owners should get a deep discount in insurance premia? Some countries get a hurricane almost every five years.

38. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Vincent Codrington March 26, 2019 1:31 PM

We way the risk. But there are some behaviours that increase the impact of the event if i does occur. We need an equally enforced building code. We need the relevant dept of GOB to invest in an inspectorate to carry out this functions.

Its funny that i have noticed that the average bajan got more respect for “electricity” and would try and fing an electrician when encountering those issue than he has for the carpenter or mason. We as bajan seem to know that the house will withstand the high wind; therefore not need to reinforce any part. But find the electrician cuzz i dont want the house to bun down? lol

These measures will better prepare the home built today and onwards. But please dont lest us commit any more sins of omission by not preparing us for what we know will eventually come.

39. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Vincent Codrington March 26, 2019 1:48 PM

There is a disconnect. Why has my property insurance rate risen as a Barbados property owner if Barbados has not experienced any major hurricanes. Too many also see house and building structure insurance as a scam. A scam that you pay yearly for years and get nothing back

40. @ Vincent Codrington,

Insurance companies exist to make profits for their investors.

41. Janet 2

42. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

is there agriculture or crop insurance offered in barbados?

43. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Surfuzzy at 2:03 PM

They group all Caribbean country risks together. They are not interested in dis-aggregation of risks. They think like Hants . They are driven by profits. You would have noticed that our premia hike after there is a hurricane in the Caribbean.

44. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Do we have enough medicine on hand? And is the hospital and clinics equipped with generators or solar power so that after the hurricane the sick and injured people can be treated?

When we are doing retraining for boys on the block we must not forget the training of builders, carpenters, masons,electricians, plumbers, electrical linesmen etc. These are essential workers after a hurricane. I believe that the Defense Force also does some cross training with its men and women so that they know not only how to march and to use weapons, but also how to use tools. Even if a young person does not earn his/her living as a builder, knowing how to use building tools is a very useful life skill.

Women and children: My grandmother’s father, a cooper/carpenter died of pneumonia after the hurricane of 1898. My grandmother was 12. He left behind a widow and 18 children. So we must think not only about property insurance, but also about disability and life insurance for widows/widowers and minor children.

45. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

@ Vincent Codrington March 26, 2019 2:14 PM

I inferred that, but those rises in premiums is counter intuitive to how many think and therefore see property insurance in a very bad light. It will cost me more if the hurricane strickes SABA or USVI? Then my insurance will probably be rising each year after the hurricane season. Thus i am not about this insurance thing; them just tiefing my money.

A lot of the property insurance is driven by mortgage contracts. As property insurance is mandated . So if the mortgage uptake declines u may see a decline i property insurance rolls.

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re My grandmother’s father, a cooper/carpenter died of pneumonia after the hurricane of 1898. My grandmother was 12. He left behind a widow and 18 children. So we must think not only about property insurance, but also about disability and life insurance for widows/widowers and minor children.

he was a cooper/carpenter wid 18 children HE WAS AN ALL ROUND WOODMAN THEN ! AND HE TRANSMITTED WOOD GENES RIGHT? IS THAT WHY…………………………………?

BUT WHO CARES?
    WHY DO WE ALWAYS HAVE TO HEAR ALL THIS SHITE BOUT YOU AND YOUR SIBLINGS AND YOUR OFFSPRING. KNOW ONE HERE ASKED OR CARES
    HOW DOES ALL THIS BULL SHIT AFFECT THE PRICE OF CHEESE?

47. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ my fellow myope Dr GP

Precisely, she has no understanding about anything on the blog.

She writes bout herself in every RH ting.

But a thing she said is very disturbing

She said and I quote

“… My grandmother was 12. He left behind a widow and 18 children…”

Her Grandmother was a he?

Dat mussee why she is a Sir.

She like she is an inbetweener wid mixed up genes yuh!