The following letter was shared by a trusted source – David, blogmaster

Dear Editor,

The Sandals Barbados fiasco: Throwing out the baby with the bathwater, otherwise known in the Caribbean as snatching defeat from the jaws of victory.

My name is James Bristol. I am a lawyer from Grenada and I negotiated the incentive agreements with the government of Barbados on behalf of Sandals.

I have read the recent statements both from the Prime Minister and Sandals and would like to clarify certain matters.

May I state from the outset that I have no political axe to grind and no political affiliations in Barbados.

I met the former Minister of Finance for the first time during the negotiations of the incentives and have not met him since.

I know the Prime Minister both as a colleague and as a friend.

The Sandals Barbados incentives are based on those which I negotiated for Sandals in respect of the Sandals Grenada hotel. The Barbados incentives are more generous than those in respect of Grenada.

The present Prime Minister of Grenada publicly expressed his initial concern over the generous incentives granted to Sandals in Grenada by the previous administration.

However, on attaining office and seeing the financial benefits of the Sandals investment in Grenada, the Prime Minister, not only endorsed the incentives granted, but added to them by including a tax stabilization clause to ensure that the incentives, and therefore the financial viability of the investment by Sandals, was not threatened or whittled away by future legislation.

The Sandals Grenada incentives took effect during a period of financial austerity under the IMF. The IMF program was successfully completed notwithstanding the Sandals incentives which incentives were fully implemented and respected by the Government at all times.

A large part of Grenada’s economic recovery has been attributed to Sandals and I am aware that the Grenada Government is doing all that is within its power to facilitate a Beaches Resort here.

Grenada’s enhancement extends to one of the most sophisticated call centres in the region with over 100 employees and increasing. All from Sandals!

As it is well known, Grenada‘s performance has been applauded by the IMF and Grenada is recording one of the highest rates of growth in the Caribbean.

Indeed, the Sandals incentive model has been adopted by the Government of Grenada for other hotel investments.

If Grenada can survive an IMF program while these incentives are in place and come out with flying colours despite the incentives, why is Barbados finding it difficult to honour an agreement reached in good faith between itself and Sandals?

The Barbados agreement was given effect by Statutory Instruments laid before Parliament under the applicable legislation. I drafted those statutory instruments in conjunction with the government’s legal department.
Far from insisting on additional incentives, Sandals is simply seeking to have certain incentives, not within the Statutory Instruments but within the Incentives Agreement, embodied in some form which would give a level of comfort to its bankers and itself to the extent that the financial basis for the investment remains stable so as to guarantee the ability to repay the loans in respect of the proposed Beaches project.

The Barbados incentives agreement contains a clause which mandates the Government to pass all laws and take all steps which are necessary to give effect to the agreement.

So, the Government is mandated to find avenues to give effect to its obligations under the agreement.

Much has been said over the years about Barbados giving Sandals too much by way of these incentives. Indeed, the same has been said in Grenada and Antigua.

The truth is that none of these countries has given away anything because without the incentives Sandals would not have invested. If Sandals did not come the Government would not have a development nor the benefit of the taxes. Therefore, if Sandals does come and pays reduced taxes, the Government has lost nothing. On the other hand, by Sandals coming, the Government has gained everything by way of the investment and its associated benefits. Sandals is the entity taking the risk by investing its money and being unable to dig up its hotels and take them away if things turn sour.

The way I see the incentives agreement is akin to an invitation to a friend to come to one’s home. The invitation allows them through the door and once inside the benefits of that friendship accrue.

The initial investment which Sandals proposed was the construction of two hotels: Beaches and Sandals.

But an added benefit arose as the Sandals Casuarina hotel has morphed into two hotels, Sandals Barbados and Royal Barbados, at about the same level of investment which was envisaged for the two original hotels, the total invested thus far being over US$300 million.

With the Beaches project the total investment is about US$750 million. Barbados now stands to benefit from 3 hotels as opposed to 2.

The corresponding employment and other benefits have been well documented by others with greater knowledge than me in this regard.

No one can argue that Sandals has delivered over and above what it agreed to do. Has the Government fully delivered on what it contracted to do?

The simple question I would pose to the Government and people of Barbados is this: would it benefit your country if there were no Sandals hotels? Think of the benefits of Sandals building the five star Beaches as opposed to the negative impact on your country and economy if the project is cancelled?
The answers are obvious: any investment of the type made by Sandals is a benefit.

Do not throw out the baby with the bathwater. Mia please call Keith. Keith, please explain to Mia.

James Bristol
Henry, Henry & Bristol
P. O. Box 386
4 & 6 Lucas Street
St. George’s
Grenada

194 responses to “Sandals Barbados Backstory”

1. Look trying to defend the indefensible is a lost cause
    Browne acted out of political expediency then had to ran like a dog having its legs between its tail
    The fact being that Sandals accountants and their books prove that Browne was a bold faced liar

2. Look what most in tge Carribbean thinks of Browne a man who was caught up in a bribe scandal and use Sandals to fight for his political life

Instead, he continues his tracing match with Sandals trying to justify his ill-fated act of reneging on an agreement signed between the resort and a previous Antiguan Government. Browne offers only foolish, bad-minded criticisms of a man who has been Antigua’s saviour in difficult economic times, in the process frightening off potential foreign investors.

3. “The fact being that Sandals accountants and their books prove that Browne was a bold faced liar..”

I’m not defending Browne, I’m simply stating FACTS……. something you should do sometimes, rather posting UNTRUTHS.

Whereas I presented factual evidence from Antigua’s Parliament and excerpts from the “Deed of Release and Settlement of Claim (Section 18 Finance Administration Act 2006…….

……..you did NOT provided this forum with any proof to substantiate, what is really YOUR opinion and NOT fact.

PLEASE PROVIDE THIS FORUM WITH THE PROOF to substantiate your comment as quoted above.

But I know you will come with the usual “lame excuses” and generalized statements…….. because you’re a “political propogandist and spin doctor.”

Anyhow, dun wid you and dat.

4. Ok .enough of the loud mouth rag muh tag tin horn dictator Browne
    The question in the minds of all
    How is Mia after putting Sandals on full blast going to find revenue for barbados debt to fill the Sandals hole she dug for herself and barbadians

5. Your response was expected……. you’re a bluffer.

Surely Antiguans do not think Browne is a “loud mouth rag muh tag tin horn dictator,” after all, he convincingly won the March 21, 2018 general elections, securing 15 of the 17 seats.

As such, your silly opinion of the man is meaningless.

What you should do is to present proof to BU that confirms Mottley actually “put a halt” to the Sandal’s St. Peter project……

……. without your usual political rhetoric and silly generalized statements…… PLEASE!

6. And finally, to you on this subject (it does not make sense continuing this “argument” with you, because you are clueless about the situation….. and it’s becoming boring.

After reading your 1:31 PM contribution, I’m convinced the source of your information, is the Monday, February 26, 2018 edition of the Jamaica Observer……. a paper that is OWNED by Gordon “Butch” Stuart…….

……… who, during the “lead up” to Antigua’s March 21, 2018 general elections, used the paper to promote a “smear campaign” against Browne…… and wrote several articles criticizing him.

Similarly to how you believe The Daily Nation is somehow affiliated with the BLP and, in your opinion, has a bias towards that political party……therefore, cannot be objective, non-partisan view of the “political climate” in Barbados………

………. given the situation between Stewart and Browne, it is the height of stupidity to expect the Jamaica Observer, owned by Stewart, to offer an unbiased, objective perspective on that issue.

Additionally, to suggest Browne “reneged on an agreement signed between the resort and a previous Antiguan Government,” is UNTRUE…….. to quote what you wrote to Goren….. “you’re a frigging liar.”

The following excerpt was taken from the February 26, 2018 edition of the Jamaica Observer:

“But observers here insist Browne’s Antigua Barbuda Labour Party (ABLP) is rapidly losing popularity among voters, having nothing to show after almost four years in office – during which he famously antagonised investors, including Sandals Resorts, the largest in the eastern Caribbean island.”

In addition to the above comments and although Browne was described as “preparing to go to the polls with a bribery cloud over his head,” Stewart financing the campaign of the UPP and all the negative things he said about the PM…….

……… Gaston Browne’s ABLP successfully contested the March 21, 2018 general elections……… convincingly and overwhelmingly winning 15 of the 17 seats, while the UPP was only able to secure 1, despite financial assistance from “Butchie Boy.”

7. Idiot

Rebuttal shiite……. all you did was posted the same excerpts over and over and over again…… to prove what?

Why did Butch not provided the paper with annual reports or figures there from, which would have verified his comments?

The fact is Sandals Antigua collected and with-held US$37M in ABST, which included 12.5% guest tax.

Excerpts taken from the Act passed in Parliament is much more credible than Butch Stewart talking shiite in a Jamaican news paper.

And you dare criticize the Nation.

Dun wid you and dat.

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ARTAX
    WHY DO YOU WASTE TIME ON THIS BRAWLING CONTENTIOUS WOMAN? THIS IS ANOTHER EXAMPLE OF THE PERSON ILLUSTRATED APTLY BY THE LITTLE VILLAGE DOG IN JILL WALKERS’S PRINTS

9. Listen ole man who call your name. You have proven that calling one self a christain can be deceptive

10. Dr. Georgie Porgie

Some days I’m idle and would engage the lady for fun.

But she wrote “Any how here is a rebuttal to your Parliament excerpts from Butch accountants….”

I could not FIND any information contained in the repeated information, that could be definitively identified as a statement or statements made by “Butch’s accountants.”

All I saw was Butch saying “that for 21 years Sandals has engaged renown auditors Price Waterhouse in Antigua and also has used the services of the very credible firm of Grant Thornton for 4 years,”……..

……. which obviously are NOT “excerpts from Butch accountants”……. but a comment made by Butchie Boy….. himself.

So hers is clearly NOT a rebuttal…….. and CONFIRMS she is CLUELESS about the situation.

11. @Hall Austin, can you update us on what is going on in England with Brexit?

https://www.ft.com/content/5f3df8bc-4c03-11e9-bde6-79eaea5acb64

The Brexit farce is about to turn to tragedy
    Britain is paying for its ignorance of how the EU actually works
    March 22, 2019

What foolishness to lose Ivan Rogers, who presumably resigned as the UK’s permanent representative to the EU because he told the truth © Reuters
    Welcome to Disneyland. Leading Brexiter Jacob Rees-Mogg is playing Mickey Mouse as the sorcerer’s apprentice from Fantasia; Theresa May is the wicked witch from Snow White — though she is short on magic. Across the pond, an evil ogre known as Donald Trump is waiting to eat us all up……………………

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Across the pond, an evil ogre known as Donald Trump is waiting to eat us all up……………………

YOU GOT THAT WRONG! VERY WRONG!
    IT IS ANTICHRIST AND HIS ONE WORLD GOVERNMENT THAT WILL DO THE EATING UP

13. @Enuff March 26, 2019 10:16 AM
    How do we as a people let this man insult us daily? I know people with UWI law degrees who are doing very well in the UK.

Hal Austin is a self-hating bullshitter from the Ivy, so very few on BU take him serious enough to be insulted.

14. @Enuff

How do we as a people let this man insult us daily? I know people with UWI law degrees who are doing very well in the UK.(Quote)

A law degree (medicine, pharmacy, nursing, etc) only qualifies one to practice in the jurisdiction for which one is qualified. If a UK qualified lawyer wants to practice in Barbados, in general they will have to go to Mona or Wooding. The inverse is also true. Remember the pre-election discussions on BU about LECs?

15. Bro u can talk to the cows come home u not changing my mind
    I back winners .you could stand behind that tin horn dictator all u like ( he) having nothing to offer his people but loud mouth political rheteroic
    If he is so certain that Sandals is committing by way of theft in taxes due to the country
    On behalf of the people he can take the Corporation to court
    All he does is hoot and holler and as of now he hasnt got the guts to fight Sandals with legal ammunition
    What a tin horn loser

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE A law degree (medicine, pharmacy, nursing, etc) only qualifies one to practice in the jurisdiction for which one is qualified. THIS IS BULLSHIT AND UNTRUE, AND IS THE TYPE OF WAFFLE CHARACTERISTIC OF ONEWHO BRAIN HAS ALL THREE TYPES OF MUSCLE FIBRES

MANY UWI GRADUATES IN MEDICINE HAVE BEEN PRACTICING IN CANADA AND THE USA FOR YEARS IN THEIR NUMBERS

MANY BCC GRADUATES IN PHARMACY AND NURSING ARE ALSO WORKING IN THE USA FOR MANY YEARS NOW

HAL AUSTIN LIKES TO EFFLUX FROM HIS SHELVES OF HOUSTON ABOUT THINGS HE KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT

ONCE HE ARGUED WITH ME THAT NO RESEARCH WAS DONE AT UWI MONA ON SICKLE CELL DISEASE

17. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bajan in NY
    Hal is highly respected in his hometown. . There are people on BU who take personal jabs at people they don’t know.
    Don’t join them my brother. Peace.

18. @ George Porgie,

I do not like calling people liars, but in this instance you are. I have never written about sickle research on BU – or anywhere else. Re-post it if it s true.
    I usually ignore you as your buffoonery is clear for all to see, but I know nothing about research at Mona. About your other stupid claims, a UWI qualified medical doctor must meet General Medical Council standards to be allowed to practice in the UK (I know at least three Barbadians who qualified in the Caribbean and work in the NHS).
    Overseas qualified nurses (with the exception of the EU, until Britain leaves) have to meet Nursing and Midwifery Council standards to work in the UK; others have to meet the various professional requirements.
    May be the nastiness in you is the Dominican coming out.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE A law degree (medicine, pharmacy, nursing, etc) only qualifies one to practice in the jurisdiction for which one is qualified. THIS IS BULLSHIT AND UNTRUE, AND IS THE TYPE OF WAFFLE CHARACTERISTIC OF ONE WHO BRAIN HAS ALL THREE TYPES OF MUSCLE FIBRES

IT IS WELL KNOWN THAT DRS WHO GRADUATED IN THE UK ARE PRACTICING MEDICINE ALL OVER THE BRITISH COMMONWEALTH AND BEYOND.

MANY DRS WHO GRADUATED FROM MEDICAL SCHOOLS IN THE BRITISH COMMONWEALTH ARE PRACTICING IN THE UK AND ALL OVER THE BRITISH COMMONWEALTH AND BEYOND.

IT IS WELL KNOWN THAT HAL AUSTIN FROM THE IVY CAN LIE LIKE A HORSE CAN TROT AND THAT HAVING SPENT MANY YEARS IN THE ONCE GREAT BRITAIN -BUT GREAT NO MORE- HIS NERVE CELLS HAVE UNDERGONE DYSPLASIA AND BECOME MUSCLE FIBRES

SOON HIS “BRAIN” WILL BE DISPLAYED IN SOME MEDICAL SCHOOL’S HISTO PATHOLOGY MUSEUM AS SMOTH STRIATED AND CARDIAC MUSCLE — BUT MAINLY SMOOTH MUSCLE WITH A HISTOLOGICAL PATTERN CHARACTERISTIC OF THE SHELVES OF HOUSTON IN HIS RECTAL AREA

SEEING THAT CELLS ARE DEVELOPED FOR SPECIFIC FUNCTIONS WE CAN NOW UNDERSTAND THE NATURE OF WHAT HE PRESENTS PERPETUALLY AND PERENNIALLY

20. @ Georgie Porgie,

You drunken, silly idiot, the NHS is made up of staff from all over the world, even if the standards are too high for a half-born Dominican scumbag like yourself. But to practice, as I have pointed out, they must been the various standards set by the regulatory bodies or take the UK exams. You must stop abusing alcohol.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE I do not like calling people liars, but in this instance you are. I have never written about sickle research on BU – or anywhere else. Re-post it if it s true.

THIS IS ONE OF YOUR PROBLEMS DUMMY
    YOUR BRAIN IS POOR AND SO IS YOUR MEMORY
    MINE, HOWEVER, IS STILL AS SHARP AS A TACK, MORON

RE I usually ignore you as your buffoonery is clear for all to see, but I know nothing about research at Mona.
    THAT WAS VERY CLEAR TO ME WHEN YOU WERE TRYING TO CONVINCE ME OF WHAT I KNEW TO BE TRUE SINCE I PERSONALLY KNEW DRS WHO WERE INVOLVED THEREIN

RE About your other stupid claims, a UWI qualified medical doctor must meet General Medical Council standards to be allowed to practice in the UK (I know at least three Barbadians who qualified in the Caribbean and work in the NHS).

SINCE ALL MEDICAL SCHOOLS IN THE BRITISH COMMONWEALTH WERE ACCREDITED BY THE GENERAL MEDICAL COUNCIL GRADUATES OF MEDICAL SCHOOLS IN THE BRITISH COMMONWEALTH WERE AUTOMATICALLY QUALIFIED TO PRACTICE IN THE UK. THIS WAS SO UP UNTIL 2003

UWI qualified medical doctor GO TO CANADA AND THE USA. THEY ARE AFRAID TO GO TO THE ONCE BUT NO LONGER GREAT BRITAIN AND BECOME MAD

RE Overseas qualified nurses (with the exception of the EU, until Britain leaves) have to meet Nursing and Midwifery Council standards to work in the UK; others have to meet the various professional requirements.

WHO CARES? NURSES FROM ALL OVER THE BRITISH COMMONWEALTH ARE COMING TO THE USA TO WORK WHERE THEY GET PAID VERY WELL

. MET A NUMBER OF THEM FROM NIGERIA UP TO SUNDAY AT CHURCH.

WHO WANTS TO COME TO THE ONCE BUT NO LONGER GREAT BRITAIN ANYMORE?
    ONLY THE MUSLIMS WHO ARE TAKING OVER THE UK.

RE May be the nastiness in you is the Dominican coming out.
    I AM AS MUCH BAJAN AS YOU. I JUST DIDNT SPEND LOTS OF TIME IN THE UK TO SEND ME CRAZY OR WARP MY BRAIN

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE You drunken, silly idiot,
    You must stop abusing alcohol.

I HAVE NOT TAKEN ALCOHOL IN MY LIFE SIR.
    I DO NOT USE ETHANOL FOR GASTRIC LAVAGE
    I ONLY USE IT FOR DERMATOLOGICAL APPLICATIONS L

RE if the standards are too high for a half-born Dominican scumbag like yourself.

THE DOMINICAN PART OF MY HERITAGE WERE PART OF THEIR PLANTOCRACY THEY OWN LOTS OF LAND AND OWN SCHOONERS BACK IN THIER HEYDAY BY WHICH THEY TRADED IN BARBADOS

THEY AND I DID NOT LIVE HAND TO MOUTH AS YOU DID WHEN YOU WERE GROWING UP THUS IN THE BACK IVY

But to practice, as I have pointed out, they must been the various standards set by the regulatory bodies or take the UK exams.

WHO CARES ABOUT the regulatory bodies IN THE ONCE BUT NO LONGER GREAT BRITAIN

SMART FOLK GO TO CANADA AND THE USA THESE DAYS
    MANY WHO WERE TRAINED IN THE ONCE BUT NO LONGER GREAT BRITAIN, CAME TO THE USA AND HAD TO RETRAIN AND MEET US STANDARDS

23. @ George Porgie,

You Patwa-speaking idiot, we were talking about meeting standards to practice, but your alcohol-induced brain now got you shifting the argument. First you claim, knowing it to be a lie, that we had some discussion about sickle cell. Now you move on to something else suggesting regulatory bodies are not important..
    We have never, and I have never had a discussion abut sickle cell research at Mona on BU or anywhere else. It is not the first time I have caught you lying, although I have ignored – but not forgotten – them.
    Just for the record, even f your buffoonery would not allow it to sink in, the UK has the fifth strongest economy in the world still. Remind me of where the Canadian economy stands in the pecking order..
    I am a Caribbeanist, but this is the thanks Barbadians get for allowing your children of Dominican domestics to benefit from living in Barbados without making any contribution. You vile man.

24. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

I take it Mariposa has missed making a total idiot of herself on BU and is now catching up…steupppsss..

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ARE YOU DONE NOW MR MUSCLE BRAIN AUSTIN WHO BULLSHITS ABOUT THINGS ABOUT WHICH YOU KNOW NOTHING

WOULD YOU LIKE TO GIVE ME A TOUR OF YOUR ROOTS IN THE IVY?
    WOULD YOU LIKE ME TO GIVE YOU A TOUR OF MY MOTHER’S FAMILY ESTATES IN THE NORTH OF DOMINICA?
    WOULD YOU LIKE ME TO GIVE YOU A TOUR OF MY UPBRINGING IN BARBADOS, SIR?
    THANK GOD I DID COME UP HAND TO MOUTH, GOING SCHOOL BARE FEET OR SLEEPING ON KHUS KHUS GRASS ETC

IN YOUR RANTING YOU SEEK TO PRESENT THAT DOMINICA IS LESS A PLACE THAN THE IVY?
    DID YOUR PARENTS PLANT AND REAP AND EXPORT TONS OF FRUIT AND OTHER FOOD TO BARBADOS AND OTHER CONTIGUOUS ISLANDS INCLUDING MARTINIQUE AND ANTIGUA VIA THEIR FAMILY SCHOONERS?

WHAT HAVE YOU ACHIEVED IN YOUR LENGTHY SOJOURN IN THE ONCE, BUT NO LONGER GREAT BRITAIN, WHERE YOUR BRAIN UNDERWENT DYSPLASTIC CHANGE TO MUSCLE?

26. Mari/Art
    I once watched a Star Trek movie with two men who were doomed to travel through eternity fighting each other,
    Would be funny if they were a married couple with computers in different rooms

27. “…….. loud mouth political rheteroic (rhetoric)??”

Ammmm……..sorry…….but we’re NOT discussing you.

“I back winners.”

I know de type uh winner you duz back……… case in point, Freundel Stuart and the other 29 incompetents.

However, my friend, you are sooooo predictable……. you don’t know when to “quit when you’re ahead.” You will continue and continue, until you trap yourself into revealing you’re an idiot.

“Watch muh.”

I must remind you the issue concerning Sandals collecting and with-holding ABST was RESOLVED since December 5, 2016.

“Browne pointed out that his government DID NOT PURSUE Sandals for back taxes but, in the interest of peace and unity and to ENSURE a GOOD INVESTMENT CULTURE in the country, WROTE OFF the$101 million in UNPAID taxes.”

(And here you are, complaining about Mottley writing off taxes deemed to be uncollectable).

ALSO, according to the “Deed of Release and Settlement of Claim #6,” which states as follows:

“Without acknowledging or agreeing the said claim, Sandals has AGREED with the Government to SETTLE the said ISSUE AND THEIR DIFFERENCES whereby Sandals will pay ABST at the FULL STATUTORY RATE as from 1st January, 2017 thus WAIVING any RIGHTS to a DISCOUNTED RATE of ABST under the said Certificate as from that date and by the execution of the release on the conditions hereinafter expressed.”

Now, yuh see that “Sandals AGREED to SETTLE the ISSUE and DIFFERENCES” wid de guv’munt…….

…………and wuh you suh ’bout “All he (Browne) does is hoot and holler and as of now he hasn’t got the guts to fight Sandals with legal ammunition” is nuff, nuff shiite talk?

Therefore, you are essentially REHASING an OLD ISSUE, and presenting it to this forum as though it is an ON-GOING SITUATION……….

………… which is not only a DISHONEST act, but it serves as an attempt to MISLEAD the readers as well.

But, with your track record and lack of credibility, I honestly believe you don’t know any better. You piece together bits of information and make up things as you “go along.”

Looks like the “tin horn dictator” is the actual winner.

28. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THANKS DAVID FOR EXPOSING MUSCLE BRAIN AS THE LIAR THAT HE IS

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE I am a Caribbeanist, but this is the thanks Barbadians get for allowing your children of Dominican domestics to benefit from living in Barbados without making any contribution. You vile man.

HAL MY MOTHER DID NOT COME TO BARBADOS AS A DOMESTIC AND HAS NEVER WORKED A DAY AS A DOMESTIC OR AT ANY JOB ANYWHERE IN BARBADOS AT ANY TIME

MY MOTHER HAD A SHOP AND FED MANY PEOPLE IN THE VILLAGE, AND BEYOND

SHE RAISED THREE SONS AND TWO NEPHEWS, ALL OF WHOM ARE BAJANS AND ALL OF WHOM HAVE MADE A VALUABLE CONTRIBUTION TO BARBADOS, WHILE YOU WERE HAVING YOUR MINISCULE BRAIN FROZEN IN THE UK, SUCH THAT IT HAS UNDERGONE DYSPLASTIC CHANGE TO MUSCLE TISSUE

NONE OF US LEARNED TO SPEAK FRENCH PATOIS, UNFORTUNATELY. WE DID NOT NEED TO, WE LIVED IN BARBADOS

RE Just for the record, the UK has the fifth strongest economy in the world still. Remind me of where the Canadian economy stands in the pecking order..

IT DOES NOT MATTER where the Canadian economy stands in the pecking order..
    OUR TRAINED PROFESSIONALS ARE WORKING IN THE USA AND CANADA, BUT NOT IN THE ONCE GREAT BRITAIN. THEY DONT WANT TO GO MAD LIKE YOU HAVE BECOME.
    YOUR DYSPLASTIC BRAIN IS NOW SO POOR THAT YOU CANT REMEMBER WHAT YOU WROTE HERE ON BU 6 YEARS AGO

YOU FORGET THAT I AM A SCHOLAR–SECOND CLASS NOT FIRST.. LOL MURDAH

30. In Canada all foreign Doctors, Dentists, Nurses and Pharmacists have to take the provincial exams in order to practice. In fact, I think you cant move from some provinces to another to work without getting approval. I know of a Guyanese Doctor who went to UWI who could not pass the exams. She had to go work as a medical assistant to a Dr. for two years, while going to school before she passed said exams. I know a Bajan nurse, a good friend who studied in England and had a hard time passing the Ontario exams, while others from England sailed through.

@Artax

I watched Gaston Browne’s presentation in Parliament at the introduction of the Bill and his reasons for it. I was captivated. The man is eloquent, rational, with an analytical mind and damn smart. I did not leave my computer to even go to the bathroom as I did not want to miss anything. Stellar.

31. @ Georgie Porgie,

There are areas of medicine and health that we should be actively involved in, if not leading the world: sickle cell, prostate cancer, type-two diabetes, etc, which have a high ethnic and cultural correlation. But their greed has confirmed the urgency of the need for health care reforms, restricting the business and private practice of contracted health service doctors and imposing a strict demarcation line between the expertise of doctors and the care and welfare responsibilities of nurses.(Quote)

Where is the comment on sickle research at Mona? You lying fraudster. You prowl BU almost everyday being abusive to people who do not offend you. Now you are lying about being a Patwa-speaking child. I know your type, crawling about Nelson Street fighting each other.

32. With regards to law, all foreign lawyers wanting to practice in Canada HAVE to go back to school to study Canadian Constitutional law in order to pass the bar exams and practice here. I have a Pakistani friend who I warned about this scenario and yet she let her son go to England to study law because he wanted to study there. Now he is back in school and cant practice until he passes the course and write the bar exams.

33. @ William Skinner

You are one of the few contributors to BU that I respect because of your unbiased views. You don’t play the BLP/DLP cards.

However, despite Hal being respected in his home town, are suggesting he has the right to take personal jabs at people he does not know and they have to accept what he dishes out, but it disrespectful for them to respond to him accordingly?

You are being dishonest if you’re not admitting that Austin is the one who starts insulting people. Ask PLT or the blogmaster.

You should warn him to be a bit more respectful to others.

34. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

For Caribbean governments….the land is the key to your people’s wealth…free it up…TO THE PEOPLE..

….for Barbados governments…when you steal the land from the people and from their beneficiaries..you steal their futures…exactly what both governments have done for decades…..and don’t have the intelligence they were born with to know those crimes against the people will return to bite them in the ass…

https://www.facebook.com/BetweenTheScenes/videos/2432691540347452/?t=194

35. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Both unitile governments OWE the majority population reparations for what they have done…and if yall think people don’t know what you criminals did and are still brazenly trying to continue….ya know… ya criminal acts against ya own people….think again.

36. Are u speaking about the $1EC settlement agreement agreed by govt to accept from Sandals as a good faith payment
    More or less which Sandals did agreed to pay to get the devil off their back

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MUSCLE BRAIN
    GO TO YOUR POST ON April 5, 2013 1:46 PM FOR A START AND FOLLOW THE DISCUSSION THERE
    IT IS MOST REVEALING
    THAT WAS THE OCCASION WHEN YOU ASSERTED IN YOUR IGNORANCE THAT THE FINDINGS OF KLEBSIELLA AT QEH WAS THE RESULT OF A RAT INFESTED HOSPITAL, THEREBY DEMONSTRATING YOUR IGNORANCE THAT RATS CAUSE LEPTOSPIROSIS

Hal Austin
    April 5, 2013 1:46 PM

Georgie

One again you are wrong. The most advanced research on sickle cell is done in the US and Britain.
    This is an issue close to my family, and although I do not like mentioning them, a close relative of mine is doing her PhD on sickle cell a promise she made as a little girl when her mother died from complications related to sickle cell.
    Just as interesting, the major sickle cell organisation in the UK is organised by a Bajan nurse.
    In the Caribbean, the Bahamas were ahead of the UWI.

FOLLOW THE DISCUSSION THERE
    IT IS MOST REVEALING

RE Now you are lying about being a Patwa-speaking child. I know your type, crawling about Nelson Street fighting each other.

NONE OF MY MOTHER’S CHILDREN OR MY COUSINS WHO SHE HELPED RAISE SPEAK FRENCH PATOIS. MY FATHER AND GRANDMOTHER WOULD NOT PERMIT IT

I GREW UP MAINLY IN CH CH AND THEN ST JAMES, BUT NEVER CRAWLED ABOUT NELSON STREET

38. William Skinner Avatar

@ Robert Gore
    Thanks for your compliment. I was merely suggesting to Bajan in N Y, that he did not join those who take personal jabs at people they don’t know. In this instance, I really meant referring to Hal as a
    “bullshiter” from the “Ivy”. I know for a fact that Hal is extremely well thought of in his hometown. In terms of the back and forth, between Hal and others, I think that Hal should at times desist from trying to engage in that type of thing because he is more than capable of getting his points across without such engagement.
    There is one other contributor, Whom I would also like to avoid that style because he is perhaps one of the most erudite and absolutely brilliant writers about the place.
    We are here to elevate public discourse and we can’t follow the party hacks and others who believe that they have to go personal to win an argument.
    And I suspect that ladies contribute and we should always respect the sisters.
    Your point is well taken.

39. SKINNER MA BOY

RE I know for a fact that Hal is extremely well thought of in his hometown

IT HAS BEEN SAID, AND IT IS TRUE THAT IN THE LAND OF THE BLIND, ONE EYE MAN IS KING. BECAUSE HAL ASSTIN THE MAN WITH PORCINE FACIES WHO SPEWS PORCINE FAECES WENT TO LIVE IN THE ONCE, BUT NO LONGER GREAT BRITAIN, FOR MANY YEARS HE IS THE ONE EYE MAN KING IN THE BACK IVY

RE In terms of the back and forth, between Hal and others, I think that Hal should at times desist from trying to engage in that type of thing because he is more than capable of getting his points across without such engagement.

LEFF DE MAN, MAN . LET HIM MEK AN ASS OF HIM SELF TELLING LIES AND TALKING BOUT TINGS HE DONT KNOW BOUT

YOU WILL NOTE THAT HE CAN NOT RESPOND TO THIS

WOULD YOU LIKE TO GIVE ME A TOUR OF YOUR ROOTS IN THE IVY?
    WOULD YOU LIKE ME TO GIVE YOU A TOUR OF MY MOTHER’S FAMILY ESTATES IN THE NORTH OF DOMINICA?
    WOULD YOU LIKE ME TO GIVE YOU A TOUR OF MY UPBRINGING IN BARBADOS, SIR?
    THANK GOD I DID COME UP HAND TO MOUTH, GOING SCHOOL BARE FEET OR SLEEPING ON KHUS KHUS GRASS ETC

IN YOUR RANTING YOU SEEK TO PRESENT THAT DOMINICA IS LESS A PLACE THAN THE IVY?
    DID YOUR PARENTS PLANT AND REAP AND EXPORT TONS OF FRUIT AND OTHER FOOD TO BARBADOS AND OTHER CONTIGUOUS ISLANDS INCLUDING MARTINIQUE AND ANTIGUA VIA THEIR FAMILY SCHOONERS?

WHAT HAVE YOU ACHIEVED IN YOUR LENGTHY SOJOURN IN THE ONCE, BUT NO LONGER GREAT BRITAIN, WHERE YOUR BRAIN UNDERWENT DYSPLASTIC CHANGE TO MUSCLE?

RE And I suspect that ladies contribute and we should always respect the sisters.
    I IS ONE DAT RESPECT THEM ESPECIALLY THE ONE DAT IS A SELF CONFESSED PICKER UP OF TICKETS AND MY FAVORITE– THE ONE DAT CONFESSES TO FAKING ORGASMS

SKINNER YA GOT TO UNDERSTAND DAT I GET PUT OUT TO PASTURE IN MY MID 60’S, AND BEING A MERE SECOND I HAVE TO FIND SOME INNOVATIVE WAYS TO ENTERTAIN MYSELF

WHAT IS MORE ENTERTAINING THAN DEALING WID A MAN WITH DYPLASIA OF HIS BETZPAENIC CELLS?

YA GOT TO LIKE DE RUM SHOP……EVEN THOUGH I DONT EVER ENGAGE IN ETHANOLIC LIBATIONS

40. William Skinner Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie Porgie

Well I certainly wish you happy days on the pasture. At least I would think or should I say I know, that as members of the University of De Bay Land via Bay Street, do have a little Bussa bussa on BU, civility would be the order of the day.
    Go easy on the grass my brother.

41. You never cease to amaze me. I admire your spirit. Although you’re wrong…… and you know you’re wrong, you will not go down without a fight, even if it makes you look silly in the process.

Your bravery far exceeds your good sense and your head is hard as shiite.

42. I ask a question and you rattle on
    Steupse

43. MR SKINNER
    Well I certainly wish you happy days on the pasture. At least I would think or should I say I know, that as members of the University of De Bay Land via Bay Street, do have a little Bussa bussa on BU, civility would be the order of the day.
    Go easy on the grass my brother.

YOUR POST CARRIED ME BACK 60 YEARS WALKING ACROSS THE PASTURE EITHER TO WALK DOWN BECKLES RD OR TO WALK DOWN ST PAULS WITH MY BROTHER

AND I DO REMEMBER ” MANNERS MAKETH MAN” THERE
    AND ” HEAD HEART AND HAND” AT ST LAWRENCE

BUT HARD HEADED LIARS WHO TRY TO PUT ME DOWN I ABHOR!

TEN -12 YEARS AGO BU WAS MUCH BETTER. YOU COULD COME HERE AND SHARE INFORMATION WITHOUT IRRITANTS INTERRUPTING ERRONEOUSLY

44. @Williams, it will be difficult, but I will try to follow you advice and stop referring to Hal Austin as a BSer.

45. @ Mariposa

You don’t read, do You?

46. It is amazing how on all blogs we have the same people posting the same predictable responses. It is as if our online egos take over.

Disappointing.

47. Taking into consideration the amount of information I posted on this topic, I was surprised that you could ask such a STUPID QUESTION. But then I remembered you’re the type of individual that would still “hold fast” to a position, even if it’s proven over and over again, you’re wrong.

In your March 26, 2019 8:37 PM comment, it seems as though you’re suggesting Sandals made a decision to pay the Antiguan government EC$1 as a “good faith payment,” and the government did not have any choice but to accept.

Government’s decision to write off the EC$101,424,448.54 ABST Sandals collected at a discounted rate and with-held…… and then having to pay EC$1 to be “released” from the debt, was legislated in Parliament. Stewart had a choice of complying with the terms of Act or filing a law suit to Court.

Yuh dun know he AGREED and COMPLIED with the Act.

However, I must also remind you that, in 2006, the previous UPP administration, “way of a certificate issued pursuant to Section 16 of the Financial Administration Act, 2006, dated 20th January, 2009 (“the Certificate”), sought to grant Sandals a remission of Antigua and Barbuda Sales Tax (ABST) by reducing the applicable rate.”

According to the “Deed of Release and Settlement of Claim”:

“There has been an issue between the parties hereto and differences have arisen as to the efficacy and legality of the said Certificate.”

Browne was concerned about the legality concerning the previous administration granting the authority to Sandals to collect ABST at a discounted rate, while “Butchie Boy” contended it was legal.

Also, in the “Deed of Release and Settlement of Claim”:

“Sandals shall pay ABST at the FULL STATUTORY RATE as from 1st January, 2017 thus WAIVING any RIGHTS to a DISCOUNTED RATE of ABST under the said Certificate as from that date and by the execution of the release on the conditions hereinafter expressed.”

Now, it’s clear that, through the appropriate legislation, Browne revoked the “right” given to Sandals by the previous UPP administration to collect ABST at a discounted rate.

“Butchie Boy” AGREED and ACCEPTED……… CASE CLOSED.

According one of your previous comments, “However what (you’re) not now clueless (of) that Browne, after all the huffing and puffing about Sandals came to an understanding that he could whip Sandals into submission.”

48. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

And Brown is absolutely correct…when ya are a weak-minded leader…it is kinda hard to hide it..lol

“Browne… I feel embarrassed for those weak-minded leaders who allowed themselves to be used

The attack by Browne over the weekend shows up a growing rift in CARICOM as it followed similar criticism by Ralph Gonsalves, the prime minister of St Vincent and the Grenadines who accused the United States of trying to divide the region. The prime minister of Trinidad and Tobago, Keith Rowley, has also weighed in on the matter.”

49. Look i can go on all day with u
    After telling me that Sandals paid the back taxes
    You now resort to legal mombojumbos to convince that the little tin horn dictator won
    The fact being that Browne initial argument was of having Sandals to pay the full debt of taxes calling them unfair while he was raging he hit a brick wall when Sandals close the resort which caught Browne unaware and clueless having him to make a deal sufficient and enough for Sandals to accept an agreement of tax waivers and 1$ as a good faith agreement on both sides
    My point being he tried to be the village bully about asking Sandals to pay full amount of “taxesdue” but in ths end had to renege and waived taxes and accepted $1 EC