Government’s first duty and highest obligation is public safety” -. Arnold Schwarzenegger

In the days when hyenas of hate suckle the babes of men, and jackals of hypocrisy pimp their mothers’ broken hearts, may children not look to demons of ignorance for hope.” ― Aberjhani, The River of Winged Dreams

According to the literature, a tipping point is reached where the addition of a single element to a delicately balanced object causes the whole thing to tip or topple over. It is recounted that the expression, as used originally, referred to that point at which white families would eventually leave a neighbourhood because too many black families had moved in.

I thought of this phenomenon during the last week when I learnt of the assassination of a young man at, of all places, the usually crowded Sheraton Mall. While, with all respect to the relatives and friends of the deceased, the murder itself was not out of the ordinary, given the numerous such events of recent times involving identical gun violence, the sheer recklessness of the deed on that occasion and, moreover, its significant negative implications for the general public physical and psychiatric safety marks it as a tipping point for our treatment of this scourge.

On this basis, that murder becomes more than a mere statistic as the nineteenth such for the year. It also causes to tip or to topple over the entire public assumption that this criminal gunplay has nothing whatsoever to do with the ordinary citizen and is restricted to certain locales only such as the environs of the City, New Orleans, the Pine and Silver Hill, to name a few. The sheer recklessness for the public safety, including that of some of its more vulnerable members, denies the validity of any such belief.

Further, the egregiousness of the act’s impact upon public safety approximates the revulsion felt at the commission of hate crimes in other jurisdictions that have sought to punish these by penalties far more severe than for identical offences with no such element.

It is not at all my argument that this incident in itself does not add anything statistically to the incidence of illicit gun crime that currently plagues us. In fact, I am saying that it does more. That we may be firmly on the way to becoming another Trinidad & Tobago or Jamaica seems to be already a fait accompli, and any attempt to try to halt that descent now would be akin to attempting to close the stable door after the horse has long bolted through it.

Of course, this is not to say that we should not do anything at all. The social compact between the citizens and the state stipulates that the primary consideration for the civic agreement to be governed is the assurance by government of their public safety. And we have certainly tried. From prayers to the Almighty, to warnings, to invocations of demon possession among the perpetrators, to changes of Ministerial portfolios, to pleading with, cajoling, and warning the perpetrators. None of these seems to meet with success and the incidents have continued unabated. Not that immediate success would have been a reasonable expectation in the circumstances, given the nature of the activity with its undercurrent of retribution that, taken to its logical conclusion, will lead to many more killings. Still, one would not have anticipated a seeming exponential increase in these murderous incidents.

Indeed, it appears that while the death penalty, an ever-ready populist solution for this form of misconduct, might now be in forced official abeyance as a punishment for murder, it nevertheless appears to exist and to be utilized among a certain sector of society as a remedy for far less serious offences and without any need for due process either.

In similar vein, the disclosure in another section of the press yesterday that the suspected gunman was on bail for an identical charge seems unnecessarily provocative. A magistrate or judge cannot presume the likelihood that an individual on bail would commit a similar offence in the absence of some at least prima facie evidence to that effect, and there is currently no provision in force that would automatically deny bail to an individual charged with a gun offence. It bears remarking, however, that the Honourable Attorney General has promised some reform in this area.

Earlier this week, a chat group of which I am an occasional member, suggested that we might have been too lax in treating instances of social anomie over the years and that we are now simply reaping the whirlwind of our neglect. This may be as valid a diagnosis of the problem as any offered so far; certainly, a state of affairs that is allowed to fester without condign treatment may eventuate into something far more harmful and thus far more difficult to control. Might it be that our apparent inability to curb other patently lawless activity has now, even if not linearly, led to this whirlwind of lawlessness that has little regard for the lives of others and of those who are in sufficient proximity to them? There are other diagnoses, I feel sure.

152 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Tipping Point”

1. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

FORGET ALL THE WAFFLE

THE ANSWER IS VERY CLEAR
    WE ARE NOW IN THE LAST DAYS

2 Timothy 3 READS

This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.

2 For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,

3 Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good,

4 Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;

THIS PREDICTION HAS COME TO PASS, HERE THERE AND EVERYWHERE
    IT IS ICHABOD !
    THE GLORY OF THE LORD HAS DEPARTED
    NEXT EVENT (AFTER THE RAPTURE) IS THE RISE OF THE ONE WORLD GOVERNMENT OF ANTICHRIST AND THE GREAT TRIBULATION AS FORETOLD IN DANIEL AND 2 THESSALONIANS 2

2. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Jeff
    “… the disclosure in another section of the press yesterday that the suspected gunman was on bail for an identical charge seems unnecessarily provocative.”
    While I understand that your instinct is to assume no malice on the part of the judicial infrastructure in Barbados, I do consider this disclosure to be most necessary and not in the least provocative.

Your epigraph that “Government’s first duty and highest obligation is public safety” makes such disclosure, if factual, a moral imperative. It is prima facie evidence that the Government has failed at its first duty and highest obligation. The only thing that it should provoke is a humble and rigorous self examination by the entire criminal justice system.

3. Jeff

You have indicated the environments in which this gun violence is originating, so why hasn’t law enforcement concentrate its efforts in these areas? The police need to put sustain effort on these areas ….

4. Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN Avatar
    Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN

Heads up BU! Who is checking on Rawdon Adams and Bitcoin? Wake up “black people”, Canada just lost $180. M (CAD) in thin air. Check out CEO. How Canada allowed Quadriga’s CEO to manage $180M from his laptop with no backup 

| | | | | |

|

| | | | How Canada allowed Quadriga’s CEO to manage $180M from his laptop with n…

Erica Alini

Customers of Canadian crypto exchange QuadrigaCX stand to lose millions. Where were regulators? |

|

|

5. Georgie Porgie

The gun violence we are witnessing in Barbados was prevalent in the inner-cities of America during the 1980s, and preachers were saying as you have said then, and God has returned some three decades later ….

6. This whole discussion here is highly hypocritical.

Last year all lawyers and other shysters complained how racist the USA was because they accused the honourable Inniss. Bribery etc. was only a trivial offence. The argumentation was that Barbados could best solve its own affairs. And Tron was a slanderer because he accused the lawyers in Barbados of inactivity.

7. @Jeff

The blogmaster agrees with Peter.

On a related note, a comment was made elsewhere that the Nation newspaper sourced the picture of the gunman (see below) from public footage- why would they see the need to blur the face of the gunman. Is there a strong legal position to support?

8. from an enforcement standpoint i agree with Ralph Thorne that firstly policing should be seen as a profession and therefore their salary and conditions of employment should be augmented and secondly the law in regards to gun crime should be made stiffer.

i also liked the earnestness in the way he expressed it. it has come to that. we are indeed at the tipping point

9. The year 1966 was already the “tipping point”. The locals have clearly shown the world with 4(!) IMF programs that they cannot administer themselves and are constantly dependent on help from the former colonial powers.

The whole discussion is, as I said, highly hypocritical. Yesterday they praised former minister Innisss as a national hero and claimed that he had not made himself liable to prosecution under local law, and today you cry over a few dozen dead.

10. Tron,

why dont you ease off the trolling or attempts at it?

you are getting no traction

then again…

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Next important thing about the last days

The Golan Heights were in the lands promised to Abraham in Genesis 15

The rise of Antisemitism was predicted as far back as Deuteronomy in the Psalms and by Jesus himself, and is a clear indication of the onset of the end of the “times of the Gentiles”, and the last days as posited by Jesus.

Israel will thus experience great difficulty from all the nations as the eschaton approaches–just as predicted.

This is sound doctrine that can not be refuted. .

You all may continue to brimble, bark and bray about things over which you have no control!

12. GP

australia belonged to the aboriginal peoples, NZ to the Maori, america north and south to the native americans, all of SA and Zimbabwe to black africans and this is recent where it all can be proven. when all that is returned then you and your ilk can impose the word of the bible regarding the lands of Israel

13. Greene
    Who made you the blog policeman
    Fuh God sake this is an open forum u need to mind your own business
    Tron contributions may not mean nothing to u but along the way they might have been something said that might make a difference in the mind of another person
    Personnaly i find people of your intellect to be snobbish and boring always quick to use dictatorial principles of (sort) telling people what to say do or how to think
    Be gone fly.
    Let people be themselves without your occasionally poking your two cents worth of dictating

Now that i feel free to comment without thinking a green monster is looking over my shoulder

There are many variables why barbados has found itself in such a dire social predicament
    It simply is a case where the politics of self interst came before a moral persuasion to do what was in the best interest of a country for many years
    The question which bodes well and must be answered goes to the heart of a country borders that remained wide open to all and sundry as drugs and guns made their way in broaddaylight unsupervised and undetected
    Now as the situation hits home upon every doorstep a recovery method to put in place to handle the upsurge in violent crime is no where to be found
    Yes the courts should be blamed but first and foremost the buck stops at our officials doorsteps whose first job was to protect our borders from unseen and malicious evil doers

14. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Who is checking on Rawdon Adams and Bitcoin? Wake up “black people”,

First black people in the Caribbean and Barbados eill have to be ROBBED BLIND in that scam, cannot buy food, , cannot pay their bills or send their kids to school……then they will wake up to the reality that are these con artists and grifters…lol

15. I can’t recall a more pessimistic column from Jeff and his feelings are shared by the majority of the population, but I have to ask how did we get to a point where the disintegration of the moral fabric of our society is so apparent. The brazenness of the crime is one that in former times we would associate with other jurisdictions, a public execution where the alleged gunman didn’t even seek to conceal his identity complete with a “getaway car” it boggles the mind.

How did we get here? There are several “tipping points” ; ZR culture; Disrespect in all segments of the public especially schoolchildren; police inability to stamp out gang activity in some areas where public intimidation was an everyday occurrence and embrace of gang leaders by politicians. Those are among the “tipping points”, there are several more.

16. Jesus..
    Once things would be in moderation
    Once “you posted that already”
    But now it is going to an alternate universe

KInda good story…. if your bitcoins get stolen, you may get back some, eventually
    https://www.coindesk.com/us-government-returns-bitcoins-retrieved-following-2016-bitfinex-hack

I have seen psoat about the recovery of bitcoins, but the numbers seems to be a small fraction of those that were lost – one example.
    https://blockonomi.com/mt-gox-hack/

17. @Sargeant

You are man of many adages.

How about the ostrich and the sand?

18. @ Mariposa March 24, 2019 9:03 AM

Dearest Mariposa,

Mr Green is just a patriot who doesn’t tolerate bad news, even if his surrounding slowly sinks deeper and deeper into the mud.

As you know, I am one of the few commentators who don’t see everything very positively or very negatively. I want to remind you that I was the first to criticize the oversized cabinet and the lack of savings in public service at a time when everyone else was still on so-called election drugs. Everyone criticized me for it.

19. Mariposa

actually i have no issues with what you said except that i ask you to think about what Tron said wrt 1966 as the “tipping point”. does that make any sense? really.

an open forum doesnt mean a place that anyone can talk any nonsense and feel it is accepted or is it? remember freedom of speech is not free speech.

you are right to berate me- i have no tolerance for what i believe is nonsense. i believe that is why the world is in this state – we tolerance nonsense masquerading as nouveau intelligence.

but i do enjoy a bit of teasing and sarcasm. if that is what Tron is doing, i apologise

20. While I understand that your instinct is to assume no malice on the part of the judicial infrastructure in Barbados, I do consider this disclosure to be most necessary and not in the least provocative.

Peter, it implies that the magistrate or judge is somehow complicit in the murder. How is a magistrate or judge to apprehend that if given bail the accused is likely to re-offend? It is at best a guess…no more!

21. On a related note, a comment was made elsewhere that the Nation newspaper sourced the picture of the gunman (see below) from public footage- why would they see the need to blur the face of the gunman. Is there a strong legal position to support?

@ David, I am very sure that if they had not, his lawyer would have made a no-case submission immediately the charge was read…

22. @Jeff

The is one interpretation. The other is that it points to a court system under stress given the length of time accused people are out on bail. This is not the first time accused people have been charged again and again.

23. @ David, it may not be the court system. “An accused is entitled to bail unless…” It is just that our recent practice seems to have become “An accused is NOT entitled to bail unless HE justifies it” The society appears to have bought into this

24. If you wanted to insult a Bajan and see him smile, then use a few big words and fancy phrases and see the large grin on his face.

To me, some of Tron’s remarks are disgusting, offensive and degrading.

Sometimes, I “abandon ship a bit late”, but will place him on my “scroll past quickly” list.

He has the right to express himself as he sees fit,

BTW: That’s one of the things that Barbados need to fix. Stop smiling when people are pissing on you.

25. Have a Greta day folks.

26. It is a sad place for a tiny country to find itself
    All knowning that the horse has bolted trying to find comfort in who and where place should be blamed
    From my vantage point i stare clearly and continue to see a problem which was left all by itself to grow and become uncontrollable
    Still no official has stated how the problem of protecting our borders would become first and foremost a point of concern
    Yet we continue to debate and wring our hands about dealing with the criminal instead of taking preventive measures

27. @Jeff

Have no issue with your above but does it obviate from the point that accused are out on bail too long that an equitable justice system should cater for.

28. @Jeff

A case of the law being an ass?

29. Agreed, David, …we do need a more efficient court and criminal trial system…

30. Remember this ?December 22, 2018

“An 83-year-old pensioner was shot and killed by stray bullets in the heart of the capital on Friday night as police appealed for assistance and the Home Affairs Minister, Edmund Hinkson, condemned the murder.

The killing took place within the vicinity of the Parliament building and Hinkson described the murder as “appalling” and “disturbing.”

31. I agree with Greene. Tron’s words are usually quite despicable unless they are meant to be tongue-in-cheek.
    While we have indeed proven that we are incapable of governing ourselves, so too has most of the world. Chaos currently reigns in most of Europe. Chaos reigns in the USA. Chaos reigns in Asia. Chaos reigns in the Middle East. ETC. ETC. ETC. Only Scandinavians seem to be enjoying life at present. Despite their exploitation of almost the entire planet the former “colonial powers” are not!

Chaos has reigned in the world for as far back as history is recorded. (That is the idea of the Bible – that MANKIND is incapable of governing himself.)

Who then should take over the running of our affairs? The last governors kept order by brutal oppression and exploitation of the majority black population. Things were NOT better for my ancestors then than they are for me now. Far from it! We had a brief lull in violence after slavery ended and the riots and so on. That was when black people got some money in their pockets and had hope for a brighter tomorrow. That hope is now absent from the minds of many of our young people. And that is the main problem.

Voting by virtue of property ownership especially weighted, as Tron suggested on another blog, has also been done before. Owning vast amounts of property does not mean that the property owners are more intelligent or hardworking. Most of the property was paid for by the free labour of the oppressed. It was stolen property and the modern system of economic injustice perpetuates it. The ancestors of those who own the property were just more ruthless than the few bad boy gunslingers whom we are now deeming to be so evil. I maintain that these and other “property owners” are still the root of the problems we are experiencing today.

“Help” from the former colonial OPPRESSORS AND EXPLOITERS would really not be help but pay back. But that’s not what they’re doing is it? They are not helping at all, are they? In fact they have ordered the affairs to benefit themselves and obliterate us.

OECD? WTO?

So I ask again – who should govern our affairs? Who would make it better and govern in the interest of the majority? Who? Who? Who?

32. @ Donna March 24, 2019 10:17 AM

As you can see, this is where I initiate important debates. We need hard debates to achieve the best for the island. No more and no less. Chicago teaching style, no sheltered Oxford learning. The island has been braising in its own intellectual porridge for more than 50 years. My job is to add Tabasco and other spicy ingredients to flavor the soup.

Or do you seriously think I would ever, ever slander Barbados in reality?? I am the best advertising medium for the island!!! I have repeatedly defended the island internationally and will continue to do so where local diplomats failed. My name is not ex-Gov of the Central Bank, who is selling his own country as a consultant.

33. @ Jeff who wrote ” we do need a more efficient court and criminal trial system “.

I agree but that will take time.

What we need right now is a plaster on the wound while seeking the proper medical attention.

The Police should be working overtime to find the guns and drugs.

34. @Jeff Cumberbatch, what are your thoughts? “SEVERAL PEOPLE who received mandatory prison terms under Section 30 of the Firearms Act could have their sentences reviewed by the Court of Appeal. In the first major criminal appeal to be heard by new Chief Justice Marston Gibson, attorney-at-law Ralph Thorne, QC, has asked the court to declare that section unconstitutional. Thorne, in association with attorneys Sally Comissiong and Mechelle Forde, is appealing the ten-year sentence imposed on Elvis Alexander by then High Court judge Justice Christopher Blackman after he was found guilty of firearms offences in 2007. They argued six grounds of appeal. The matter was heard on September 26 and 27 before the Chief Justice and Justices of Appeal Peter Williams and Sandra Mason. (MB) Read full story in today’s SUNDAY SUN.” http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/15556/jail-challenge

35. Trini COP ent playin.

36. @ Panalpha6 March 24, 2019 10:41 AM

You don’t ask that! You are unpatriotic, arrogant and hurt the feelings of the local population. LOL.

The establishment will not give you an answer because many lawyers personally benefit from drug trafficking through lawyers’ fees.

37. @Jeff Cumberbatch, what are your thoughts?

@Panalpha, I will need a fuller brief in order to comment usefully, but mandatorily imposed sentences are not ordinarily upheld as constitutional. The separation of powers suggest that punishment for crimes is a matter for the judiciary and not parliamentarians…

38. @Jeff

To expand on this question. Do lawyers have a responsibility to decline ‘certain‘ cases?

39. So,Tron, you are actually being provocative as I asked on another blog?

We have discussed these things before though. Many many times. Still you never know when someone new is on the blog or how many times we need to repeat before it sinks in.

40. The definition of what is a ‘tipping point‘.

41. I would think that the tipping point would have to do with scales and the point at which added weight tips the balance.

42. Side note:
    In statistical analyses we have a similar idea.
    Here an analysis is repeated by making slight changes in one of the parameters and noting where the conclusion of the analyses change.

I was surprised to see Jeff talking about “AI” in a previous post and was pleasantly surprised at his use of the words tipping-point this morning. I am wondering if the teaching of law at UWI evolving from a “by rote” [ (-: Hal 🙂 ] methods to include the use of statistical evidence.

PS: The “by rote ” is only a repetition of a commonly use BU phrase.

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

The “tipping point” is when society accepts a challenge requires a solution.
    You do not have to be a statistician, to know the proponents in these murders are almost exclusively YOUNG MALES. The method of choice is a gun. Wha else ya need to know? The rest is just static.

44. @Norther Observer

Do you vote with those who say we have reached the tipping point?

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

tip·ping point
    noun
    the point at which a series of small changes or incidents becomes significant enough to cause a larger, more important change.

46. I am searching for the article about MP Sonia Browne who complains that the killings have come to close to home, HER HOME and that her daughter was at Sheraton Centre recently and could very easily have been there for the killing.

She is however, calling for killings by the state,, judicial as well as extra-judicial it seems, since in addition to calling for the death penalty, she is also quote as saying that anyone who shoots at the police should not live to tell the tale.

I said just last week that they are going to feel it eventually. And here it seems they are.

But look at the solutions they come up with.

Does Dr. Browne believe these poor little black boys have the funds to bring in $10 million in drugs???????

Is she not aware of the social conditions that cause these poor little black boys to line up to slaughter and be slaughtered????

Does she not realize that their life expectancy is low and they have already accepted that????

Live fast, die fast! They know and have accepted that. You will hang one and another will step up and take his gun.

They are disposable. And they know that.

But maybe Dr. Browne should move to a gated community and have her daughter shop at Limegrove. Maybe that would solve her problem for a little while. After all, that is what it’s all about, isn’t it? That’s what we pay her for, isn’t it – to look out for herself and her daughter?

The tipping point we need is not just one for ordinary citizens but for the powers that be to stop dealing with the foot soldiers and kill the blasted elephant in the room!

I am ashamed of Dr. Browne! She is exposed!

47. Good point Donna. Wondered the same.

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

If our elected officials are the “voices of the people”, WHEN they act, is when the tipping point has been reached.
    In NZ, a single mass murder was enough. In the US it happens almost monthly and they do little but talk.
    The Barbadian issue is echoed globally. We have a similar problem in Toronto; the CoP tells us “he knows it is gang related, and the police know where the problems lie” and yet, the murders continue. They “talk” of all kinds of solutions, but beyond “needing to hire more cops”, do very little.

49. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The Tipping Point

I recall that in order to get the feet of sluggish policymakers moving is that a matter complained about so often must reach the crisis point for there to be action. If we have not seen from the previous gun incidences that the country has been tipping for some time, why must an act of hideous proportions push us towards the tip? The Sheraton matter as terroristic at it was meant to be is just the tip of the boldness of the crime clusters that have accumulated 19 murders in 3 months of the new year. The tipping point has been reached since the first murder of number 19 since there are no other statistics in our history that reflect such an extremity. We are crisis oriented and that is the time that we always tend to wake up and act.

50. Hey Donna

Yesterday I wrote about a politician calling for summary execution for those who shoot at Police…..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/03/23/execute-them/