Submitted by PUDRYR

Dear fellow Bajan,

I have a question for each of you. 

What is your country’s good governance worth?

For those patriots mulling over creating  a “Third Party Movement” (against Mugabe or any other enemy of DEMOCRACY) there are a number of things you are probably thinking about. 

Ours is a “Real and Present” FEAR that IF MUGABE IS ALLOWED TO CONTINUE THIS WAY, in the coming years, there will no way to remove her from the post of Prime Minister, for the Electorate, SHE WILL BE PRESIDENT OF BARBADOS, FOR LIFE!!.

Many of you, even though, in principle, you support the nurturing of a committed Third Party Movement, you want to (pre) assess the likelihood of said initiative succeeding. 

And, given our DLP BLP REVOLVING DOOR MALADY, this is a reasonable position.

Even more critically, you would want some practical evidence to show how a new Third Party Movement WILL DELIVER PROPER GOVERNMENT for BIM. 

You want to see the deliverables from any Third Party Movement NOW, not in 2023!!! You want to see it working today.

And it is in this context that this submission is being made. “FAITH, WITHOUT WORKS, IS DEAD” and the thing is that most Bajans are tired of promises, we want to see it now.

And this, fellow patriots, is precisely what de ole man is proposing to do using this INTERNATIONALLY LOCATED E-PARTICIPATION PLATFORM & PORTAL.

There should first be a meeting place where patriots can assemble the thoughts of, and working programs for, a Third Party Movement 

A place where candidates for a Third Party Movement  can enroll and thereafter proactively engage in promoting the collective action required to correct this despotism that has descended on Barbados. 

This is a virtual gateway, for the use of a Third Party Movement which Bajan Patriots, and citizens would each leverage in various campaign and initiatives. 

I believe that, every patriot CAN, THROUGH THEIR CONTRIBUTIONS, “voice” their support for the E-PLATFORM as a viable governance option for Barbados 

I believe that a Mugabe Regime, or any other regime, MUST NOT EXIST IN BARBADOS and I further suggest that, as a Bajan, you, unlike the many coolaid drinkers, are disturbed with the authoritarian actions that this Mottley clan is enforcing!!

In the final analysis, each of you has to decide if you will tolerate the following actions of this government: 

(1) to hire 28 ministers and consultants and pay them $21 million a year WHILE FIRING about 2500 public servants and putting a paltry $3 million toward their continued enfranchisement 

(2) to UNILATERALLY change the Barbados Constitution to import three Senators, one of whom Mugabe immediately gives exclusive access to Central Bank’s unwitting financial infrastructure, (by virtue of the Trojan Horse called MyMoney?)

(3) to give her father a knighthood, in 3 months while purportedly simultaneously giving him a $1 million tax forgiveness of his tax indebtedness

(4) to Rehire the very Police Officer who was fired previously for allegedly wiretapping former Prime Minister Owen Arthur 

and others in this series of egregious, illegal and or morally bereft actions. 

This is just a small part of the purported practices of a despotic and megalomaniac administration.

My constant hant, while seemingly “”a singular, loud , repetitive, conspiracist litany” is based on similar experiences as your own so I unhesitatingly endorse any such GoFundMe initiative.

If de ole man finds such a fund online, an IE-Platform initiative to facilitate this “virtual opposition” for Bajans, de ole man will be sure to bring it to the attention of you other like-minded Bajans. 

But, in closing, I would ask you readers to consider this 

IF DE OLE MAN IS WRONG then each of you might spend a hypothetical US $20 to said E-Platform, or whatever token amount you feel like contributing. 

That is the amount of $$ that would give the homeless indigent NinjaMan, domiciled at the Treasury Building on Broad Street, 2 boxes of Chefette chicken. 

BUT IF I AM RIGHT, your concern which would have elicited your monetary contribution, will lay the groundwork for a Virtual Mechanism to Break the DBLP DUOPOLY THAT HAS KILLED US THESE 52 YEARS!!

Barbados MUST HAVE GOOD GOVERNANCE alternatives. 

Do you think your $$ contribution is worth it?

294 responses to “Would You Support a GoFundME Initiative for Third Party Movement?”

1. Any Party in the initial stages of planning must first present a economic growth plan to the country
    One that is sound sustainable and can remove the wrecking ball of taxes by which this govt have placed upon barbadian heads
    I work too hard for my money to given to wunna bee political exploits and explorers who talk a sweet sale pitch but have nothing to deliver
    So PDYR show me a growth plan first before i give up my nickle and dime to explorers

2. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

NO!

It is a profound mistake to think that GoFundMe money can cure the Bajan political mess.

Most Bajans, including the educated ones and the ones who post on BU, have a completely warped idea of what constitutes good governance and good economic management.

The fault, dear Bajans, is not in our political parties, but in ourselves, that we replicate our historical colonial oppression.

Building a new party based on the same warped nonsense will simply create more dysfunctional political organizations. The BLP and DLP have both failed Barbados… but so have Solutions Barbados, the UPP, the People’s Empowerment Party, the Clement Payne Movement, the Pan-Caribbean Congress, the Barbados National Party, the National Democratic Party, the People’s Political Alliance, the People’s Progressive Movement, the Worker’s Party of Barbados, and whatever other bunches I’ve forgotten to mention.

3. @Peter

They do not get it. A change in thinking can force change from within the existing parties (duopoly).

4. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Certainly NOT…they TIEF more than Enuff once elected..

5. Some of us spend our last breath/type stroke attacking the corrupt and flawed players and system. The blogmaster understands that this is a tool in the citizen’s toolkit – used by the blogmaster sometimes – but the plan must be to win the minds of average people to press for change read how they participate in the democratic system. What we have to appreciate it is that the same passive DNA strand that limits us to be active consumers when prices increase or the utility company does something we do not like, it is the same characteristic creating the drag in the governance/political arena.

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The rot in Bajan culture is far deeper than a “passive DNA strand.” There are two characteristics which persist over the centuries which we need to eradicate.

The first is our slave-like obedience to authority. This shows up in our outmoded educational system, in our continued support of organized religion even when its corruption is obvious to everyone, and in or deference to the powerful even when we all know that the power is the outcome of plunder. We are still a “yes massa” society.

The second is the roots of our culture in greed and selfishness. We still measure success in accumulation of riches to the detriment of those around us: just as our ancestors’ slavemasters taught us by example. This infects our spirituality with the corrupt nonsense called the prosperity gospel. It corrupts our politics because the emblems leadership become Mercedes, big houses, lavish foreign trips, and the habit of bossing people around. We are still a society where our notion of success is to become “massa.”

True leadership is simply service to our community, but the notion of service is degraded by its association with the servitude that our ancestors endured and survived.

7. NO TO GO FUND ME

YES TO FORCED OVERTHROUGH OF ANY(BLP/DLP) PRESENT GOVERNMENT BY ANYONE OF the old colonial masters.

Country is badly in need of NON-CORRUPT STABILTY RULE.

8. Definitely not!!!

I am spending my money and time exposing the corruption that exists and having a ball!!

Let the chips fall where they may.

Who knows, if I and others create an environment where politicians, lawyers, judges etc etc etc are accountable, then we may see some people who do believe in accountability come forward.

9. … more time than money … but then again, time is money!!

10. yes, i would support such an initiative but i would have to know the constitutional objectives of the party, its party members and how and what it aims to do

11. Those at the vanguard and committed to change have to ask what different approaches can be tried to trigger change.

12. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PUDRYR

Et tu PUDRYR ?

NFP for me.

When you do a GM on all the brimblers I will reconsider. Not one red cent ,even if I can find one,.

13. Hello! Are we woke now? I’ve been trying to tell you that jumping in the middle of our problems will not solve anything. I see PLT is of the same opinion. We need to start at the very beginning. We need to fundamental change OURSELVES. Or we will keep going around in circles.

14. @PLT

The first is our slave-like obedience to authority. This shows up in our outmoded educational system, in our continued support of organized religion even when its corruption is obvious to everyone, and in or deference to the powerful even when we all know that the power is the outcome of plunder. We are still a “yes massa” society.(Quote)

Deference to social status, colour, qualifications and received learning – learning by rote.

15. As I have said many times the fight is to work at a grass roots level to change the average man and woman on the street.

16. It doesn’t take much to change the status quo.

In 1994/5 I got involved the Greenland Dump through Richard Goddard.

Whatever time I spent was rewarded by learning at the feet of geologists like Bob Speed and Hans Machel who were also of like mind regarding the dump.

All it takes is for a committed individual to stand up for something that is right and people will give their time to fix any wrong.

We don’t need a political party, we just need a few individuals who will stand firm and demand accountability!!

There are some issues that are particular to the individual and he/she has to fight alone or alongside others who are affected but issues of national import will attract people to the fray once someone stands up!!

17. Many of those particular fights are going on all like now involving a few individuals who have decided to stand up and won’t back down.

18. Just needs a few individuals who understand they have to stand fast and won’t back down.

19. Richard Goddard taught me!!

20. Going to stand with John at 11:07 a.m. and before he runs off the track,

But “who will stand firm and demand accountability!” who will “stands up”.
    Who wants to bell the cat?
    Who wants to lose out on the once fatted calf?

21. TheOGazerts
    February 23, 2019 11:14 AM

Going to stand with John at 11:07 a.m. and before he runs off the track,
    But “who will stand firm and demand accountability!” who will “stands up”.
    Who wants to bell the cat?
    Who wants to lose out on the once fatted calf?

That’s why it takes an individual to stand fast, the “grass roots” don’t have a clue and will follow the status quo over a cliff!!

That’s why Trump exists …. he is an individual who will stand fast regardless because he knows the difference!!

The leftists rely on indoctrination.

The “grass roots” ain’t going to do a thing.

To whom much is given, much is expected … that’s who change things in society.

Imagine if a few people had stood firm in Venezuela a long time ago!!

22. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Mr Blogmaster… I am missing your thrust above!

And @Pieces, I suspect i am misunderstand your thrust also… as has been asked where is the “purpose plan” for your ‘MakeBajanLivesMatter’ or BLM? Respectfully bro awarding a knighthood to a relative is quite emotive but not a sustainable rallying cry for a PM change .

Social media absolutely changes the power dynamic for elective politics and GoFunding is one of those very impressive power tools of change but one still needs a dynamic, purposeful platform/message and an identifiable, ideally dynamic figurehead/leader to effectively use the power tool AFTER establishing a populist ‘reason to be’!

@PLT…well said above in both posts. I would add only the obvious [purely for accurate balance)…as much as “The BLP and DLP have both failed Barbados” just as clearly they have also provided much for the growth and success of this nation…invariably the failures have been manifest bigly in recent decades !

23. Hal,

you seem to have a huge angst about learning by rote. so allow me to ask you this- how do we learn manners, how do we learn to socialise, how do we learn to cross the road etc, if not by rote.

so please explain what exactly do you mean when you throw out that phrase?

24. Who wants to lose out on the once fatted calf?

If the once fatted calf is no more they have lost out already!!

25. @Piece
    The DLP exiting the field provided an opportunity for a third party to enter and make it mark. We had one political aspirant who had a Damascene conversion and decide to spout scriptures rather than to pursue politics. There are other parties lurking in the bushes but waiting for some event on which they can make an entrance

I would be willing to donate to a 3rd party, but it is possible that party politics can exist only within a BDLP framework. Our politics is not sophisticated enough to accomodate a 3rd bparty.

Code    Votes  Candidates  
                                                                         Total  % votes 

Barbados Labour Party Winner——BLP 111,968 72.83%
    Democratic Labour Party————–DLP 33,985 22.10% *I suspect these don’t care about 3rd parties
    Solutions Barbados———————–SB 4,188 2.72%
    United Progressive Party————-UPP 1,965 1.28%
    Coalition of United Parties————CUP 580 0.38%
    Independent Candidates—————IND 1,059 0.69%
    Total Valid Votes—————————– 153,745 100% –

I doubt a third party can chip into the remaining 77%. The BLP would have to be horrible to lose more than half of their 72%.

You might have to pucker-up, put some lipstick on a reincarnated DLP pig and kiss it. But then you are back into the old BDLP circle.

26. @John. 11:41
    Off the track.
    I barely got in.

27. @ Greene,

I do. Learning by rote is one of the reasons why we are held back as a people. It is intellectual obeah. We must always question received wisdoms, orthodoxies. Even toddlers ask ‘why?’ It is the alchemy of language. In Barbados we seem to dislike questioning authority. This goes right to the heart of how knowledge is produced and transmitted.
    Had Galileo not been questioning we will still be flat earth believers. In the modern theory of knowledge, that is the epistemological value of Popper (Conjectures and Refutations) and Kuhn (The Structure of Scientific Revolutions). This is best explained in Plato’s Allegory.
    If you doubt me, just look at the received economic orthodoxies that shadow BERT. That is why I say it will end in tears.

28. Gazerts,

what is the total for eligible voters

29. Hal,

so you see no benefit in learning anything by rote? i just want to be clear on what you are trying to convey

30. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Wuhloss…Enuff…are those yall DLP companeros expoung yall on Facebook…wuhlosss…lol, murdahhhh!!…

Piece, Bushman…where yall…why ya abandon the blog though…lol

Graham Gibson
    1 hr ·
    THE BLP TAKES ALL CREDIT AND PASS ON THE BLAME

The BLP day by day is proving that they say one thing and do something totally different. Their words are hollow sounds that are empty. They are master propagandists that have infected the Bajan people with the idea that they have their best interests at heart.

Their words are not validated by actions that show they care, but by persistent promises of greater things to come. They are expert manipulators who like to take the credit for anything the previous government did well, but pass on the blame for everything that goes wrong. They are treating the Bajan public like puppets, pulling their strings according to what they want them to hear and believe.

They lack substance, foresight, and vision on how to take the country forward, but pretend they are in control when in reality all around them things are falling apart. Their lack of solutions for our country’s pressing problems is clear for everyone to see, but is covered over with great photo opportunities and grand pronouncements.

They tell people what they want to hear, but have no intention whatsoever to fulfil it. It’s promise based politics that, in my opinion, is empty, deceitful politics that will only hurt our country in the long term. For example, we were not told that for 2 years the then opposition BLP was in talks with the IMF, not a squeak was mentioned about this contact in their political campaign, yet they were quite happy to string along the bajan public. This is a common occurrence in everything they do, from job cuts, to taxes hikes and recently, the floating of raising bus fares.

The BLP was in Government for 14 long years before the last DLP government came into power. That administration had more access to money than any other previous government in the history of our country. It was an administration that Mia Mottley was a top lieutenant in, but none of them did anything to transform or modernise our country. Instead they left Barbados in the same run down, dilapidated state with the biggest debt the country has ever seen, which has added to our present problems. Now, they are talking about having solutions to our country’s problems; what a joke.

When I hear BLP supporters claim that the last DLP government was the worst government in our nation’s history they really need to take a pause and look back. The previous BLP administration shamefully abused massive amounts of resources they had access to. They squandered mountains of money, and, deplorably, drafted in their friends and cohorts as consultants in massive numbers, the same thing we are seeing once again today.

For example, the Stuart administration’s consultancy bill was just over 200,000, that has now skyrocketed under this BLP administration to 14 million. How can they throw stones at others while living in self erected glass houses? Squandering millions of borrowed public money, giving it away in huge sums to their pals as consultancy fees, but they have the temerity to send home ordinary Bajan workers. They then come out with the same lame excuses to justify this horrendous spending by Ministers and advisors in a time of austerity. Only an insane person can comprehend this waste.

Let me remind the Bajan people about a few things. I know some of you will call me names like “yard fowl” that are typically assigned to people who stand up for their beliefs. One thing I can assure you – I have never had a Political Party give me anything in my life. I believe public service is not simply about what you put in your pocket but what you do to transform your Country for the betterment of all. When I hear the BLP supporters talk about the pain of the DLP administration I wonder what planet they were inhabiting between 2008-2015.

The wealthiest nations buckled under the weight of the financial crash like biscuits under the pounding of a hammer. To save the auto industry and the banks in America the Obama Administration quickly accumulated $750 billion to contribute to their survival. In addition, unemployment soared, and major banks either folded like paper or tottered on the edge and had to be rescued. In the UK retail sales rapidly declined, businesses had problems securing loans and some went under. Employment climbed and Britain introduced the longest period of austerity in the country’s history which is only now coming to a halt. Europe experienced similar difficulties, especially France, Spain, Portugal, Ireland and Greece.

Yet, a small nation like Barbados which is externally dependent for almost everything it requires, was supposed to create a miracle in the face of such relenting challenges. Sometimes our people are hard to please. Lets take oil prices, for example. Between 2010 & 13 oil prices skyrocketed to over a 100 dollars a barrel. We as a nation import 10,000 barrels a day. So, you can understand the sums we were paying out for oil at that time ($1million dollars a day). And that was only one aspect of the challenges the last the DLP Government faced. Remember we were also in the midst of a raving recession that was crushing world economies, but we were expected with limited resources not to be affected by this deadly financial crash.

The bajan people voted for promises and misinformation rather than sound policies with meat on the bone. They were lured by the pied pipers of the BLP Government with carrots and sweets that took them right over the cliff and are now paying the price for short termism. In their campaign, not once did the BLP tell the bajan people that they were in talks with the IMF and that cuts along with austerity would be the order of the day. I wonder if the people were told that there would be massive job losses etc, would they have still given the BLP the mandate they now have?

I hear some of their supporters come out with the ridiculous fear tactic that we were down to 4 week reserves; so what? We did not owe a fellow anything and no one could come and tell us what to do like the IMF is doing now. How many people including bajans live from month to month until their finances are sorted out? The BLP has extorted the bajan public to gain power and is now sharing out millions of dollars among themselves disguised as consultancy fees.

This abuse of public trust is leading the Bajan public to lose faith in our democracy at a time when it is most needed. The BLP has proven to be nothing more than a mouthpiece of the wealthy and big business in Barbados. They voted to watch power evaporate from the masses back to the well off.
    There is a quote I once saw that I believe would apply to this BLP government it says “ In a world where vows are worthless. Where making a pledge means nothing. Where promises are made to be broken, it would be nice to see words come back into power.”

Irene Sandiford-Garner Fertur Lux
    Irene Sandiford-Garner Fertur Lux Tight tight Graham👍🏿
    Hide or report this
    · Reply ·

31. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Wuhloss…worth repeating for prosperity in case it gets lost in the mix…lol

“The BLP has extorted the bajan public to gain power and is now sharing out millions of dollars among themselves disguised as consultancy fees.”

AKA..tiefing the people’s money by syphoning it off and funneling it into their friends and families’ pockets…same shite DLP tiefing ministers did though…

wuh i was just told recently how Sinkler managed to syphon off too, using a family member, ask Mia she should have some pointers..

Enuff in LaLa Land…care to explain….

32. @ Greene,

Yes. Critical analysis is not an absolute.

33. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

Piece…Piece…ya two cents worth…pretty please..lol

34. Hal,

i think i understand you now.

i will put it this way.

learning by rote is necessary when you are young for survival because at that stage you know nothing and learning from adults (tradition) is crucial to navigate the society you live in. as you get older and have life experiences you ought to question the world around you, if not to learn to re-enforce traditional values

if that is what you mean i agree if it is not clarify.

btw learning multiplication, division, addition and subtraction by rote is valuable too. i dont have to use a calculator like young people nowadays. i see cashier unable to give back change without a machine

35. @ Greene,

You put it better than I could in a million years. Young minds are mapping knowledge; older minds want to get under the bonnet and see how the engine works.
    I can give examples that we frequently get on BU, but will stay away from re-opening old wounds. Just think of the old science versus religion debates. Some of the leading scientists are religious – Christians, Jewish, Muslim. That does not compromise their religious or scientific beliefs. The key is to know WHEN to question received wisdoms.

36. Irene could go and hide herself. The DLP and the BLP are the same shit. No difference. Does she still believe we don’t get that??????

37. John, you are one mixed up dude! Have you not seen what your Trump has said this week about lawyers who make sweet deals with child sex traffickers? Have you not seen his lukewarm comments regarding the white supremacist would be terrorist who planned to unleash a killing on most of the world’s population in the name of Trump? Can you not yet see that Dorian Gray image in the mirror – that monstrous ugliness that seeped from his soul and found its way onto his face?

TheO,

Have you not yet learnt not to stand with John??????? The quicksand should have swallowed you!

38. @ Greene,

I missed your maths example, which is apt. Maths is a linear subject and is the same if you are in China, the US or Africa. But if you are interested in the history, philosophy or sociology of maths, then views differ. I am interested in ethno-mathematics, especially the history.
    One of the things I do to pass the time, apart from BU, is read quite a bit about the history of mathematics. You should too, if you are interested, to see how people are written out of history. The only time Africa is mentioned is when we read about Egypt. West Africa is never (or rarely) mentioned.
    This is not an over-sight, it is deliberate. Learning by rote means you can do a PhD on the subject without challenging its fundamentals. That is the danger of learning by rote.
    I will end with this: black Americans receive about 7 per cent of PhDs across all disciplines, but only one per cent in mathematics – and most of those go on to teach undergraduate courses, rather than post doctoral research. Black Americans are 13 per cent of the population.
    We must break the death grip of received wisdom. That calls for an ability to think.

39. The grass roots will understand if we have real discussions with them. I know because I have these discussions with them daily. They understand what is wrong but they have been conditioned by the Europeans to behave the way that they do. It’s a bad habit that they KNOW needs to be broken. They are not stupid. They are just conditioned. But unlike the Barbados scholar known as John they have figured Trump out and are having none of him. They do not speak about the Left or the Right. They understand balance. They are NOT EXTREMISTS like the two mixed up far right wing fools who have posted here.

We have to find the time to work with the people at the grass roots level to break the bad habits PLT spoke about. It is not an overnight thing. It takes a sustained effort. Not just talk but follow up action. Opportunities to put new understandings into practice.

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@PLT February 23, 2019 8:55 AM

I ‘believe’ you lived elsewhere for many years? Is the Canadian experience, and I mean politics, religion, education etc all that different? The political systems are similar, with almost identical roots, and the two party duopoly, with an aged 3rd party who despite forming the opposition has never governed. They do much of the ‘same sh!t’. I observe the immigration, I was one, and that whether home was Korea, Italy, China, Greece, Africa, the Caribbean, Latin or South America, England or Europe, many of the ‘flaws’ you speak of seem to be adopted by many. The consumerism is rampant. Religion, the great number of them, play a major role. Many strive to have their children educated in the ‘best’ schools, even if that means a group of Asian parents buying a house in a certain neighbourhood so they can send all their offspring to the school serving that area etc etc
    And yet Canada doesn’t have a major history of slavery?
    My question….are you attributing behaviour correctly? Or are there other factors which are more formative.

41. It gets a bit monotonous to read this repeated bull shit ON BU SPOUTED BY A FEW MORONS, about LEARNING BY ROTE

HOW ELSE SHOULD LEARNING OCCUR? OR BEGIN?

ANIMALS LEARN BY ROTE OR REPETITION AT THEIR PLAY THE SKILLS THEY ABSOLUTELY NEED TO SURVIVE IN THEIR ADULT LIVES.

IN EVERY SUBJECT OR DISCIPLINE THERE ARE CERTAIN BASIC THINGS THAT MUST BE KNOWN. EVERYTHING ELSE GOING FORWARD IS A FUNCTION OF THIS FUNDAMENTAL KNOWLEDGE OR LEARNING ACQUIRED BY ROTE!.

ABC I23 DOH RAY ME ARE FUNDAMENTALS THAT WERE ALL LEARNED BY ROTE AND SO WERE THE BASIC SKILLS OF CARPENTRY, ——MEASURING, CUTTING…PLANNING– VISUALIZING–LEVELLING ETC

EXPERTISE AT THESE IS A FUNCTION OF DILIGENT APPLICATION OF THESE BASICS LEARNED BY ROTE!

IT IS SO IN MEDICINE ALSO …..HISTORY TAKING REQUIRES REALLY LISTENING NOT ONLY JUST HEARING WHAT IS SAID. THEN CAREFUL OBSERVATION, PERCUSSION , PALPATION AND AUSCULTATION. ALL OF THESE TECHNIQUES ARE LEARNED BY ROTE!

I GUESS EVEN BULL SHITTING ON BU HAS BEEN LEARNED BY ROTE BY THE BETZPAENIC BRIMBLERS, BARKERS AND BRAYERS WHO TALK ABOUT IT MOST., AS THOUGH THEY ARE SMARTER THAN EVERYONE ELSE BECAUSE THEY LEARNED BY SOME OTHER SUPERIOR METHOD?

WHEN I FOOLED AROUND BUILDING I USED PHYTHAGORUS THEOREM–WHICH I LEARNED BY ROTE – TO ENSURE THAT THE FOUNDATION OF THE BUILDING WAS SQUARE.

ONCE A DR MUCH MORE SENIOR THAN I WAS, BROUGHT A BOY TO ME WITH A SWELLING BENEATH HIS TONGUE.

THOUGH 14 YEARS MY SENIOR, SHE HAD NEVER SEEN SUCH A THING, WHETHER IN HER TRAINING OR IN HER YEARS OF SERVICE.

SHE SAID TO ME “WHAT IS THIS?” I ANSWERED CONFIDENTLY AND IMMEDIATELY, “THAT IS A RANULA!’ EVEN THOUGH I HAD NOT PREVIOUSLY SEEN ONE EITHER!

HOW DO YOU KNOW? SHE ASKED

I REPLIED “OH THAT CONDITION IS PICTURED IN HAMILTON BAILEY’S SIGNS AND DEMONSTRATION IN SURGERY ON THE RIGHT SIDE AROUND PAGE 89 TOWARD’S THE BOTTOM OF THE PAGE!

YOU SEE AS A STUDENT I USED TO LOOK AT PICTURES WHEN I WAS TOO TIRED TO ABSORB INFORMATION BY READING.

THAT DAY I APPLIED SOMETHING THAT I HAD LEARNED BY ROTE!

ANOTHER DAY, I WAS CALLED TO THE HOME OF A YOUNG MAN, WHO ALONG WITH HIS DEAR WIFE WAS ASTONISHED, FLABERGASTED AND CONFOUNDED AND PETRIFIED BECAUSE A “TUMOR” HAD SUDDENLY APPEARED COMING FROM HER NETHER REGIONS.

I WAS ABLE TO IMMEDIATELY SMILE AND REASSURE HIM! DONT WORRY, I SAID, THAT IS NO BIG THING MAN. THAT IS ONLY A BARTHOLIN’S CYST. TAKE HER DOWN TO QEH AND THEY WILL MARSUPIALIZE IT.

I HAD NEVER SEEN A BARTHOLIN’S CYST BEFORE OR SINCE……..BUT I HAD LEARNED ABOUT THEM BY LOOKING AT PICTURES IN BOOKS…………….BY ROTE!

ALL WUNNA THAT LEARNED OTHER THAN BY ROTE CAN CUSS ME NOW.

BUT I GOT FAIRLY FAR IN LIFE BY USING SIMPLE THINGS THAT I LEARNED AT SCHOOL……….ALL BY ROTE.

42. DEAREST DARLING DONNA

RE But unlike the Barbados scholar known as John they have figured Trump out and are having none of him. They do not speak about the Left or the Right.

I AM ANOTHER BARBADOS SCHOLAR, LIKE JOHN —-I HAVE ALSO FIGURED OUT TRUMP…….AND I BACK HIM TOTALLY.

WUNNA CAN CUSS ME AGAIN FOR SAYING DAT.

WUNNAH HEY ON BU CAN CUSS HE AS MUCH AS WUNNAH LIKE, BUT HE WILL BE THERE TIL GOD MOVE HIM LIKE HE MOVED KING SAUL, OR TIL GOOD HAVE HIM MOVED, AS IN THE CASE OF JOSIAH’S SONS.

NONE OF WUNNAH CAN DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. NOR CAN THE MAIN STREAM MEDIA IN THE USA OR THE DEMS.

LET ME TELL YOU SOMETHING, THE RINOS WILL GO AGAINST HIM………BUT IN THE PROCESS THEY WILL LOSE POWER!

43. Donna
    February 23, 2019 1:50 PM

The grass roots will understand if we have real discussions with them

Trump’s supporters are grass roots!!!

He did not need to go and have discussions with them.

He listened to what they were discussing among themselves!!

Do you see why Barbados has a problem?

The grass roots are easily distracted and programmable and do not think for themselves.

The grass roots in America is completely different to the grass roots here!!

44. The grass roots who are descended from ancestors who created America come from people who were naturally individuals …. Christians if you like!!

They escaped generations of persecutions and went to the “New World”.

They overcame obstacles by their individual faith and perseverance.

You cannot have a discussion with an individual and get him to follow your lead!!!

That’s why “White” and “Christian” are anathema to the left in America today.

They symbolize the people who made America what it is … with all its triumphs and tragedies!!

Trumps supporters are not dumb or ignorant, they just have not been programmed by the Democrat leftist elites!!

They think for themselves!!

That’s why they will stick with him!!

45. How do you learn by rote?

It is impossible to memorise the amount of information thrown at you.

I learnt by rote like this.

Every Exam term at University in the UK, I would take over a lecture room and blackboard.

Not hard because by then there were no lectures.

I would go through my notes and books and look for the 3 or 4 salient points on a topic.

Those points I would memorise and write them out from memory on the board.

Then I would recheck my notes and books.

From those compressed points could flesh out any answer required of me in my exams.

It worked like a charm!!

The result – First in each of my years and a First Class Honors!!!

Learning by rote works … you just have to know how!!

46. @Jobn

The author of this submission wants to find iut about what again?

47. YES JOHN

YOU NEED ONLY TO LEARN WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW
    FROM THIS KNOWLEDGE, YOU OUGHT TO BE ABLE TO WORK OUT EVERYTHING ELSE!

WHATS MORE USING THIS METHOD YOU CITE, YOU REMEMBER MUCH MORE THAN YOU THINK AND FOR A VERY LONG TIME

48. i have listened to the grass roots in Barbados. They understand the problem. They know that the answer lies not with any one cult leader but inside themselves. They just need a little encouragement and an action plan to get them there. Most have rejected political leaders, . Most have rejected religious leaders. The problem is that they don’t know what to replace them with.

Belief in a saviour is what brought us to this point. The last thing we need is for another master manipulator like Trump. He did listen to the racist grass roots of America. He heard their racist cries and he used them for his own purposes. Now he is relishing the prospect of a civil war if he is impeached. He, of course, will be hiding behind the grass roots idiots. Many militias formed and were training and stockpiling weapons and ammunition during the Obama presidency.

Most people here voted for Mia not because they believed in her but because they did not believe in Freundel. They picked what they thought was the lesser of two evils. Unlike you, they do not support any politician wholeheartedly. They know who and what they are dealing with.

P.S. Don’t bother to challenge me! I am sure I can find the video of all the civil war talk from Limbaugh, Hannity and Digenova. I saw them on television last night. I won’t be the one caught in the crossfire, GP. It will be you, your wife and your children. I take it you are of the hated black race?????

SMH.

49. @ Piece:

Why waste your time. Bajans render lip service when it suits them. You are off shore, so am I. I am behind you and will financially support a third party as I do up here in Canada. But you have seen from the comments here that they will talk up a storm but have no intention of changing anything. You came up with an idea and they are all putting you down. I say, let them continue to suffer.

I am off to enjoy a seafood buffet. Celebrating turning 72, hope a few more years are in store.

50. I am willing to support a movement for changing the entire system by changing our mindset. It is not an immediate solution but it is the only sustainable solution. This has been my position from day one. It is what I meant by starting from the very beginning. I will put my money behind that. The deprogramming and re-activation of my people.