In this time of austerity, it is important to be reminded of Jesus’ encouragement to hope for the best, but prepare for the worst.  Jesus taught this through his story about a planned wedding.  Ten virgins were supposed to walk with their oil-lamps burning during the ceremony.

Five of the virgins assumed that the bridal plans would run as scheduled, and only carried enough oil in their lamps that would last for the duration of their assignment.  The other five hoped that everything would run as scheduled, but took additional oil just in case the plans failed.

We are living under the Government’s BERT plan.  It was promoted as 18 months of severe austerity, and we have one year left.  We were told to bear the suffering for the remaining 12 months and then all will be well.  Given the general agreement that the BERT plan has been implemented with a high level of incompetence, we would be wise to plan for the worst regardless of our expectations.

After the initial set of layoffs during BERT’s first phase, Solutions Barbados offered free public workshops in starting and growing a successful business with no start-up money.  We will hold additional free training workshops after the next set of mass layoffs during BERT’s second phase.  As repeatedly explained during the training, you need to help your future self.

In 5 years, you can be trained to become anything you wish, and 5 years goes by very quickly.  Therefore, you are well-advised to start your training now.  This Christmas is an opportunity for spending on others.  Please do not squander this opportunity.

Purchase gifts to help others to start or grow their business.  If someone is a mason, then purchase a laser level to help increase productivity.  Give gifts like additional memory for digital equipment, higher capacity tools, printer cartridges or fuel gift cards.  Love your neighbours in this manner this Christmas.

Please resist the temptation to be foolish this Christmas.   Jesus gave a ratio of 5 wise to 5 foolish.  Given the pattern of shopping observed this Christmas, that ratio may hold true for us in Barbados.  Why would anyone purchase a limited-use toy or ornament or drapes in a time of severe austerity?  Why not purchase some tools for yourself and make a better toy, or a sewing machine and make better drapes?

How will an expensive necklace, bracelet, watch or pendant help someone to become more productive?  We all need to wise up.  Of course, all husbands are exempt from this criticism – their productivity depends on them spending foolishly.  On behalf of the 17 candidates of Solutions Barbados, Merry Christmas.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

234 responses to “Christmas Message – Don’t Be Foolish”

1. That Green man is the only reason I buy the Nation newspaper. He is my soul brother.

2. The Sunday Sun.

3. RE it is important to be reminded of Jesus’ encouragement to hope for the best, but prepare for the worst.
    COULD THE MORON WHO WROTE THIS PLEASE KINDLY CITE BOOK CHAPTER AND VERSE FOR THIS ALLEGED DICTUM OF JESUS

4. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Grenville Phillips 11

I agree with your advice %110.

5. Clearly the author does not understand the Olivet Discourse, or understand that Mathew 25 is a part of the Olivet Discourse

6. Georgie Porgie

No where in the King James Version (KJV) did Jesus implored His followers ” to hope for the best but prepare for the worse” as a matter of fact … Jesus spoke categorically and unequivocally though at times He did so in parable …

7. Man from st john Avatar

Why are bajons still buying that rag called the Nation News Paper?

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dr. GP

Clearly you have not read the book of Abraham as your namesake GP

There you would read of “hoping for the best but planning for the worst” Thou Myope Heathen heheheheh

GP has been able to expose your eschatological Achilles Heel

9. Georgie Porgie

Jesus taught His followers plainly what their faith entailed and he was at no time ambiguous in his articulation of the message entailed in that faith … there is no such thing in the Bible as to hope for the best but anticipate the worse … long-
    suffering, trials and tribulation are analogous to the Christian walk of faith …

10. Geogie Porgie

Some of your making have a form of godliness, but are in denial of the power thereof … if the Spirit of Christ hasn’t taken residency in your mortal body … there is no way you can come to full understanding of who God really is because the Bible tells us that he who has not the Spirit of Christ is none of His … and what is the Spirit of Christ? The Spirit of Christ is the anointing God gives us when our hearts meets His all conditions …devoid of that you can sit in a Church pew for fifty years and never come to true understanding of who God is …

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

See, now he has been joined by Leximoron… you are in perfect company

The only way it can get any better for you would be if Legion joined them and quoted you from the Concordance of B.E.R.T which states ” thou shalt not speak evil of the Prophet Mugabe nor her imps”

12. Piece

I rebuke you in Jesus name old man and hope the God who sits on high and looks down low beat ypu about your head with the Rod of Correction for troubling His anointed … touch not my anointed and do my prophets no harm…

13. no pieceuhderockyeahright December 21, 2018 8:39 PM

i have not read the book of Abraham SIR in my studies on Bibliology nor has grenville exposed my eschatological Achilles Heel
    but as you proclaim I am indeed a Myope and a Heathen Sir

14. Piece aka old fogy

Do you recall the passage of Scripture where King Saul King’s David’s father-in-law ( David was married to Saul fourth daugther) caught Saul sleeping under the cover of darkness, and David’s men were about to slay Saul and David said to them: touch not God’s anointed …” who God bless no man curses Old Fogy… so be circumspect with respect to how you employ your words regarding God’s anointed … because you must be mad in mind or sick you head … to challenge the power of the Most High…

15. question
    who is God’s anointed?
    who God bless?

16. Sad

” Police are currently on the scene of shooting at Marhill Street, The City, where the body of a man is lying near the market.

Bystanders say he is Oscar Hamblin, also known as Nard, of Deacons Farm, who is said to be in his 70s. “

17. Georgie Porgie

How yah mean who is God’s anointed?

Anyone whom has received the Holy Spirit by the laying of the hands of the Elders …

18. Georgie Porgie

Many are called but few are chosen …the pure in heart shall see God … the meet shall inherited the earth

Remember in Revelation John said that he saw a new earth and a new heaven?
    Well the pure in heart shall see God: new heaven
    The meek shall inherited the earth: the new earth

19. Meek

20. Georgie Porgie

The Scripture says that the young men shall dream dreams and the old men shall see visions … Well God speak to me and others like me through the intuitive conscience …

21. Geogie Porgie

God spoke to me through a dream this very week …I dreamt that a black dog was biting my fingers … and when I saw the interpretation of the dream …the very interpretation of the dream was playing out in my life at work … anything you dream of a dog biting you, you are in fact dreaming about betrayal and the very fact was taking place in my life … but it was God speaking to me …

22. Georgie Porgie

And lastly, God took me to the heaven one morning at work while I was laying my car … and when He took me to heaven …He took from me my sense of gravity, but He left me with my consciousness or awareness … and I felt at one with the universe as I looked down at the earth … and what I felt cannot be explained in words … because it was a feeling of complete transquility like no other …

23. God is really brother but the only way to know that He is really … is by His Spirit which lives within you …beyond that you would never come to a true understanding who God really is …

24. GOD IS REAL AND ALIVE …

25. Georgie Porgie

I won’t necessarily call a heathen, but for a man who can quote so much Scripture your words surely contradicts your actions … the Bible says by their fruits you shall know them … by their works or actions you shall know them …
    Let your speech be always with grace …

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dr. GP

I hope you realise I was joking bout de imaginary book of Abraham

BUT, notwithstanding that little levity, You see what Ide ole man means?

Now , like a moth to the flame, you have a “shadow” who believes that, because the dog bit him, he is now to be your spiritual guide.

And this one is nointed too

But, given de tin foil pun de ole man head, I can only “speculate ” about the effect that the electrical shock from the defibrillator to Leximoron ‘s brain

As those of you here are seeing in Leximoron s submissions

Watch the 5 submissions dis going ellicit from Lexicunt heheheheh

27. Piece

Boy I glad de defibrillator is your best friend … CPR might life threatening because of the fragility associated with your osteoporosis…

28. I seed a lot of illiterate god-bothering blather on here from the usual ‘wordsmith’ moron.

By the way, it is prepare for the WORST, not the worse, you sad old fool Leximorfon, or Lexicunt as Piece so aptly dubbed you!.
    If you are a preacher Lexicunt it is no wonder the heathens are taking control.

29. I buy the Sunday Sun for Adrian Green, Man from St. John. Didn’t I clearly state that?

P.S. Grenville is again exposed. And I find no joy in that. He is just an engineer, I’m afraid.

30. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Lexicon

My reading of the 23rd Psalm suggests that God has both a rod and a staff. Do you not think that having used the rod of correction on Piece that He will save him from falling over the cliff with his staff? Wuhloss!!

31. Lord mek peace.

Yuh mean 9 posts just so one after de other.Steupse man.

32. One would have thought that a note for Barbadians to be wise in spending their money would have generated all positive comments.

Where the author, and I differ is that he mentioned the name of Jesus. But, like him, I would warn my fellow Barbadians “to hope for the best, but to prepare for the worst”. And if the worst does not happen and there are only good times then be thankful to whatever God that you serve.

We have often referred to ourselves as “keyboard warriors” or being in the “rum shop”. Many have condemned the man after each of his various posts but once again we see the incessant desire to reach out and help his fellowman:
    “After the initial set of layoffs during BERT’s first phase, Solutions Barbados offered free public workshops in starting and growing a successful business with no start-up money. We will hold additional free training workshops after the next set of mass layoffs during BERT’s second phase. As repeatedly explained during the training, you need to help your future self.”

“P.S. Grenville is again exposed. And I find no joy in that”.
    I do not know what “exposed” mean here. Is she is saying that Grenville continues to demonstrate a continuing belief in himself and an unending desire to help his fellowman. With each post he get a set of licks, but like a pit-bull he returns to the task at hand. Onward and upward, my friend.

“He is just an engineer, I’m afraid.” Just an engineer? I thought that was one of the fields that young Bajan males see as part of the trinity? It is clear that he is not a lawyer and we should all say “Thank my ‘God’ for that”.

Upward and onward….

33. 45govt

I respect your opinion and would defend it with all I have to make sure that it is heard, but I cannot wait to see the day when you and those of your making breaking down Heaven’s Gate saying to Our Lord: I knew how some You existed, but You could at least made it a little more obvious for me? That will the atheist cry when he or she is called to give an account of his/ her stewardship…

34. Grenville should be aware that he will get flack from at least two directions.

1) The reigning champs, The BLP. Their goal is to ensure that he does not receive any momentum and become a viable challenger”.
    2) The ex champs. The DLP. These want to remain a part of the duopoly and must discredit any third party that surfaces

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Theophillus

Grenville took flack here from de ole man AND FROM DR GP, for one reason only

He, as a so called Christia, pretended to quote from the Bible A PASSAGE AND PARAPHRASE WHICH DOES NOT EXIST!!

Those of us who know this very gently sought to highlight this to the man.

I want you to look at the number of entries that went into this “correction” AND THEIR TIMBRE

He was spared by the One Man here who has Chapter and Verse of The Holy Bible – SPARED!!

Why is that Theophillus why was he spared for this obvious misquotation of The Holy Bible?

By not one, but 2 who seem to recall it much better than he does?

Did anyone stop and say to him that he has done a serious injustice to the Word of Our Lord by fabricating content that is untrue?

Did anyone pause to say to him Grenville why did you do this thing?

Did anyone stop to say to him that there was no need for him to pretend to be guided by The Words of Our Lord and Our God while making this insubordinate point about this transient issue?

Did anyone stop and say to him “Grenville how comes it that you took all that time to talk to Mr Jeff Cumberbatch about defamation AND THIS LIE ABOUT A BIBLE VERSE, YOU HAVE NOT RETURNED TO CORRECT?”

I for one refused to even comment on Grenville’s school ting because 3 times previously I AM ON RECORD HERE AS ASKING GRENVILLE NOT TO COME BACK TALKING SHYTE BOUT HE CLASSES.

In fact de ole man suggested to Granville that M&E, by a 3rd party, was going to be critical to him commenting on his classes going forward.

But you uncharacteristically have drunken his coolaid Theophillus

Because you have always dealt in proof

But Granvile this is like you though, to come and hint at things, like your alternative to the Mugabe Austerity plan, these free classes ARE SUPPOSED TO BE THE SALVATION OF THE NATION, SINE (latin) INDEPENDENT VERIFICATION

Steupsee

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here forague Theophillus Gazerts thank you

37. Mr Piece Sir
    re @ Dr. GP

I hope you realise I was joking bout de imaginary book of Abraham
    off course I know that you know they aint no book of Abraham
    But we waked up the idiot to go on one of his stupid rants

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Theo, agreed. I also thought Phillips absolutely awesome gift giving ideas…not forgetting his clesr spousal provisio 🤣… was gist for good discourse but the man is being ridiculodly lambasted on? spurrious grounds…what a ting!

@Pieces, this is not fair from you senor. Beat up Phillips when he errs surely but come on man just as surely you cant misconstrue and verbally assault the man for a rather fundamental series of ideas just so!

I attended Stanbpipe secondary so clarify the reasoning that got you to assert: “GP has been able to expose your eschatological Achilles Heel”?

Phillips said clearly and practically: “In this time of austerity, it is important to be reminded of Jesus’ encouragement to hope for the best, but prepare for the worst. Jesus taught THIS (caps my emphasis) through his STORY about a planned wedding. Ten virgins were supposed to walk with their oil-lamps burning during the ceremony.

The man never said that the words ‘hope for best, but prepare for worst’ are in the Bible. He simply cites a biblical parable/story to highlight his message of our modern day speak.

Help me understand here my brother how he has been exposed eschatological…and you dun know I had to look up dat word!

As far as I recall this engineer fella has been a preacher of the Word for some years and felt moved enough about his religious matters to do deep enough research to produce a PhD size thesis/book on Christianity and Islam… I may disagree with the man on many of his governance policies but certainly he cant be faulted on every issue because of that folly. Just saying!

39. Georgie Porgie

The idiot knows the first five books of the bible is called the pentateuch or the history … reframe from underestiming the idiot very wide range of knowledge on many of the subjects here …

Of the 66 books of the bible

History
    Poetry
    Prophecy

and I cannot remember verbatim how the bible is categorized now … read it when you were misdiagnosing the poor Barbadian kids GP

40. Georgie Porgie

You are just and ignorant as Peice … I have been a Christian for 31 years … and I have worshipped with the: Jehovah’s Witness whose doctrine is grounded on the Blood, I and the negation of pagan holidays; Seventh Day Adventist whose doctrine is grounded on the Sabbath and diet; Pentecostal whose doctrine is grounded on speaking in tongues, and the negation of Trinity; the Mormons; the last prophet Adam Smith
    …they all came to my home and did studies …

41. Georgie Porgie

Just wanted to hear the idiot say Adam Smith wrote the Wealth of Nations and Joseph Smith of the Mormons was the last prophet ….

42. Phillips said clearly and practically: “In this time of austerity, it is important to be reminded of Jesus’ encouragement to hope for the best, but prepare for the worst. Jesus taught THIS (caps my emphasis) through his STORY about a planned wedding. Ten virgins were supposed to walk with their oil-lamps burning during the ceremony.”

The man never said that the words ‘hope for best, but prepare for worst’ are in the Bible. He simply cites a biblical parable/story to highlight his message of our modern day speak.

Help me understand here my brother how he has been exposed eschatological…and you dun know I had to look up dat word!

DPD YOU ARE HERE COMPLETELY OUT OF YOUR LEAGUE

WHEN THE MAN SAID it is important to be reminded of Jesus’ encouragement to hope for the best, but prepare for the worst through his STORY about a planned wedding. Ten virgins were supposed to walk with their oil-lamps burning during the ceremony.” HE IS IMPLYING THAT JESUS SAID IN MATHEW 25 AT THE END OF HIS OLIVET DISCOURSE THAT JESUS SAID the words ‘hope for best, but prepare for worst.

EVEN FOR A PERSON WHO WENT TO SCHOOL IN AUGUST AT THE PIPE THAT IS THE CLEAR INTENT OF THIS STUPID STATEMENT

IF HIS INTENT WAS TO SAY hope for the best, but prepare for the worst, HE SHOULD OF JUST SAID SO WITHOUT MIS QUOTING AND MIS-APPROPRIATING PART OF THE CONTENT OF THE OLIVET DISCOURSE., WHICH HAS NOTHING AT ALL TO DO WITH A “STORY about a planned wedding.”

PIECE IS QUITE CORRECT IN SAYING THAT THE IDIOT WAS “exposed eschatologically, SINCE THE OLIVET DISCOURSE IS PERHAPS THE MOST IMPORTANT ESCHATOLOGICAL PASSAGE IN THE WHOLE BIBLE….SIMPLY BECAUSE IT IS IN THIS DISCOURSE THAT JESUS, GIVES THE KEY TO INTERPRETING THE PROPHETIC SCRIPTURES CONCERNING THE ESCHATON.

IN THE OLIVET DISCOURSE THE LORD JESUS RELATES THE SEMINAL PASSAGE IN DANIEL 9 TO HIMSELF AND THE SECOND PHASE OF HIS SECOND COMING, WHICH IS A MAJOR TOPIC OF OLD TESTAMENT PROPHECY.

I HOPE THAT I HAVE LIGHTENED YOUR DARKNESS AND REVEALED ” how he has been exposed eschatological…” PIECE IS 100% CORRECT AND YOU HAVE REVEALED YOUR PROFOUND IGNORANCE IN SEEKING TO CHALLENGE HIM

AND YES WE dun know YOU had to look up dat word ESCHATOLOGY

43. RE Lexicon December 22, 2018 11:29 AM

You are just and ignorant as Peice … I have been a Christian for 31 years … and I have worshipped with the: Jehovah’s Witness whose doctrine is grounded on the Blood, I and the negation of pagan holidays; Seventh Day Adventist whose doctrine is grounded on the Sabbath and diet; Pentecostal whose doctrine is grounded on speaking in tongues, and the negation of Trinity; the Mormons; the last prophet Adam Smith
    …they all came to my home and did studies …

THANKS FOR HELPING ME TO UNDERSTAND WHY YOU ARE SO MIXED UP

44. Georgie Porgie

Say all you wish but when I studied with the Seventh Day Adventist all they talked about were the Sabbath and pillars of Health…

45. Georgie Porgie

When they studied with the Jehovah Witness all they talked about how cleaned it was to mixed blood and the Pagan days that you should not observe …

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I again would ask the Honourable Blogmaster, the one of the 3 on duty, for your assistance in posting my remarks about Grenville Phillips misappropriation of the Holy Word.

@ DpD

“We” can be soft to our so called brothers in spirit when we understand their intent.

Yet, when they state fully, which you now seek to translate, and which he Grenville does not have the balls to revert to?, and correct, it shows the nature of the man does it not?

Sometimes De Ingrunt Word you would be best advised to let Granville fight his own battles.

Or have the 17 other candidates that he mentioned, come and fight these battles for themselves

For unless Lexicunt is ond of his party, NOT A FELLER HAS COME FROM THIS IMAGINARY FOLLOWING HAVE THEY???

47. I imagine the poor Seventh Day Adventists were talking more of when the Lord was going to relieve them of the tendentious old illiterate Leximoron and his verbal diarrhoea.

48. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

SMH…as ignorance is bliss, so too is a lotta learning absolutely the foudation of blissful “nonsense” (ignorance as in lacking commonsense).

Let’s get grounded.

Jesus spoke to the MASSES via simple yet profound parables.

This particular Olivet message emantes or itself is grounded in a parabale. I remain blissfly ignorant of all the interpretations and discourses around this Olivet mesaage but that has nothing to do with the man’s message.

Will that particular ignorance disallow anyone to accept any faith in Jesus … steeupse.. does lack of knowledge of the Maccabees books or any accepted non/accepted
    messages-passages of the bibical story disavow a person’s intent

Sigh!

Mr Phillips’ essay was clear and all those who can read and understand simple English grasphed his intent.