The following was posted to the Fair Trading Commission (FTC) website in July 2008. It is not necessary for the blogmaster to cover the below with comments except to say, ‘we not ready’.

See FTC recommendations on page 26 of the document embedded.

In 2007, the Commission began a follow-up inquiry into fee setting in the professions focusing especially on the schedule of legal fees for non-contentious matters.

The Commission had previously found that mandatory fees set by professional associations were in breach of the Fair Competition Act. However it stopped short of making the same finding in regard to non-contentious fees because they were set in statute. The Commission however determined that the schedule of legal fees for attorneys at law, represented a conflict with the principles of fair and open competition as advocated in the Fair Competition Act.

The Commission therefore has formally recommended that an amendment be made to the Legal Profession Act 1997, so that the fees charged for non-contentious matters can be recognised as being provided for reference only, and attorneys wishing to charge above or below these fees, being able to do so without reprisal.

This will resolve the conflict between the two statutes, and should allow for some competition in the legal profession.

See Fee Setting in the Professions II:  Follow-up Report. [pdf]

Closed July 2008

130 responses to “Fee Setting by Legal Profession and other Associations Left Unchecked by Successive Governments”

1. Steupes. Not one of these political party will touch the corrupt legal fraternity because that is the mafia from which most members of parliament are selected.

They are the lowest form in the listing of Professional .

This is where the average bajan has been crying out for help but to no avail. Politicians and lawyers – lawyers and politicians – same dirty old pants – turned inside out.

Why are we still paying the economic cost at UWI for them to get their certification – so that they can pratise their evil on us ?

2. @T. Inniss,

The answer is simple: let lawyers advertise and compete on service and fees. Why is the state setting legal fees? Conveyancing is a classic example of this state-approved dishonesty. It takes no more effort or searches to carry out conveyancing for a small house than it does for a multi-million dollar mansion on the West Coast yet the range in fees is huge. Why? We must get rid of lawyers from parliament.

3. Their teefing is also unregulated. Bottom-feeding filth, the whole lot.

4. Lawyers hate to give clients their fees for services up front because they charge what they want even thought there exists a fees schedule…..you have to make a scene and demand one to get it in writing…most lawyers believe they should make more money from a transaction than the client and much more money than the clients can afford….most people do not know that there is a fees schedule…no one ever told them…

Mia changed the constitution before any seat in parliament was warm, did you see her rush to change the conflicted legislation that rips off clients…it holds no interest for her and she has no empathy for the clients of her fellow crook lawyers….or she would have made those changes first…

There are way too many lawyers in parliament and ALL of them are DISHONEST and CORRUPT….despite people they robbed crying out for decades, not one of the snakes in parliament ever lifted a finger to stop them from robbing and terrorizing the helpless and vulnerable clients and others……..not one of the lawyers in parliament can be trusted, not one..

ALL of them can be FINGERED for stealing from clients and SELLING OUT cases at the repulsive dump of a Supreme Court…every one……

…..the Bar Association should be disbanded, it is a pit of vipers FILLED TO CAPACITY with well known thieves…

Don’t hold your breath for the Mia government to clean up any of it either..all of them in there are stained, so much so that it is now showing on all of them physically…just like the mark of the beast,…in this case..the MARK of THIEVES..

Ask Mia about all the cases Leslie Haynes has lingering and stuck in the supreme Court for CGI Insurance, him and his rotten judge friends… with many injured people some severely injured, some disabled and waiting many, many years now to be compensated…ask her when those cases will be concluded instead of sitting there backlogging the court system that it is unable to move..

…….ask her what she plans to do about any of it or any of them who are still ripping off their clients and still refuse to finish cases …then you will have your answer about how evil the lawyers are in Barbados…none of them should get work, none, none of them should be eating at taxpayers expense either as Mia now has them all in place and spread out to tief more…

….all of the lawyers who are still actively robbing clients and selling out cases should be STARVED..and they will be once clients continue to STOP using their tiefing services…..

5. What I have seen on BU the transfer of land by lawyers on the island is usually written in invisible ink. We have a bar up here for lawyers that separates them from the people to practice their trade in a professional manor overlooked by a law society and judges to keep everything on the up and up. In barbados if lawyers are called to the bar its usually to pick up a tray of drinks for some tourists as most legal jobs are not crazy paying ones….. but real estate law is a different kettle of fish and if what people say on here is true…. which I honestly believe…. it is like the feed bell going off on a hog farm. People dying with no will … relatives inheriting property from abroad a naive population..etc all make for the three card monte men to appear.

6. And yet when Bajans see these bottom feeders they bow and scrape and give them their full fake titles. Make up your minds!

T. Inniss,

That again is a comment with which I would like to associate myself. Now you have two jackets.

P.S. I still know a few good lawyers. If you want a tief free conveyance I can hook you up.

7. “The Barbados system of conveyance is different from that of the United Kingdom in that it has for the most part an unregistered system of conveyance. An attorney acting for a purchaser has to trace title back 20 years to ensure the property purchased has a good and marketable title. This accounts in part for the length of time the matter takes between contract and completion. Requisitions on title and title searches are carried out after contract and the vendor is required only at this stage to answer the requisitions as to title. Prior to completion the vendor or his agent points out the line marks to the property. In experience this should be done as soon as possible after contract. Any difficulty in locating line marks or any incorrectly placed marks or encroachment on property will result in a delay in completion.”

http://businessbarbados.com/investor-guide/real_estate/buying-property/

8. Steupse, wunnah really expect anything different when 90% of any Gov’t is comprised of lawyers? As one member of the legal establishment so eloquently said to me “when yuh pay peanuts yuh get monkeys” he didn’t say who the monkeys were but……..

9. Donna

2 jackets ? Cheez -on – bred.I was besides myself with one but yuh mean to say yuh gine gimme two.Dah fuh lick yuh GP. – she ain’t even gih yuh one yet lollll.

10. Bajans like to copy tings from ova seas so copy dis system.

https://www.ontario.ca/page/overview-land-registry

11. Been there done that. ( I did not need a lawyer ) lol

https://www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/english/family/guides/fc/part_2.html

12. On another note can someone tell me please whose agenda is Mia fulfilling ?

I mean to say – goodness gracious me – if yuh sending home security guards from the Public Service – then what de brassbowl – you extending the CSME LIST OF WORKERS WHO CAN ENTER WITHOUT A WORK PERMIT AND SEEK WORK IN Barbados for.?

Why allow security guards to come in from any country to get work here – what about those who were laid off from the government Mia?

Why allow Barbers,and Nail technicians and hairdressers – this is pure shite lemme tell yuh.

Remember 10 – 15 years ago and still today – whenever the female drug mules came in from Jamaica – they all cited nail technicians and hairdressers as their professions?

So now the whores and pimps can all come in free – because all they have to say is that they are hairdressers or barbers etc and they don’t have to run from the immigration and police no more in de strip club.

That is what happens when you have a leader with no MORAL COMPASS !

Edmund Hinkson – don’t worry man – fresh meat coming in so.

Wait you had anything to do with that extension of skilled workers categories Eddie boy ?

Tell me if Mia care about those laid off persons who are facing a bleak xmas and an even bleaker New Year – does it look like she is worried about whether they can find a job to replace the old one ? – or is it that she want to big up she self in the presence of the other CARICOM Leaders.

Yuh should check their expression when she is speaking – study the body language real good.

They are treating her like how the other world leaders treat Trump with a “you go girl – we never had it so good until you came on the scene” Hahahaha

While behind her back they are brekking down wid de laugh – because they dun know -while Barbados will push to open its doors to let in the most destitute of the other islands into our country – to compete at a time when unemployment is increasing – they will not be doing the same.

Then we have government ministers telling bajans – go to these other islands because nuff opportunities in these CARICOM countries – so why de hell their citizens are running from these golden opportunities ?

Wunna gih she de vote and watch she.

Wuh yuh seeing ? – Talk de truth – wuh wunna really seeing huh peoples. Steupes.

13. Donna

Name the good lawyers you know so we could all check them out.

14. There is hope given the promise of ” digitization “.

http://www.landregistry.gov.bb/Default.aspx

15. This is a serious matter which both political parties must hold blame.

The FTC issued its public recommendation and what?

The issue of implementing an efficient system for registered and unregistered tiltes must be addressed.

16. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@ Hal Austin

I will give you a perfect example of how crooked and backward the Legal system is in Barbados which you can verify and understand.

To setup a limited liability company or incorporated company in Barbados it is mandatory to use a lawyer $1500, government $750 and name search $100 total $2350.

In the UK it is not mandatory to have a lawyer or accountant when forming a limited liability company where one can issue shares from inception the cost is 15 pounds just under BD$39.

You know what is the amazing thing the Forms to complete the incorporation including the wording is a carbon copy of the UK incorporated documents.
    (I know as I have done both)

These crooked black for the most part Barbados lawyers are copy cats and lack any original thought process as they seek to fleece others.

Below link is from an individual in the UK who formed his own LTD including cost.

https://medium.com/@trevormydata/week-2-incorporating-a-company-in-the-uk-cost-me-15-what-s-the-catch-4a7aa954fd6c

Barbados is a failed ripoff island.

17. @Barbados Underground,
    To set up a limited liability company in the UK is free – just fill in the Companies House form. I can also give you an example of legal robbery. A lawyer’s letter in the UK cost about £25 to £50 (Bds$150). I got a lawyer in Barbados to send a letter to someone for me and it cost me Bds$500 – I did the first draft .
    I will give another example: in the UK, part of a redundancy agreement is the legally mandated settlement agreement, which includes that the person being made redundant must get legal advice about the terms of the redundancy. The employer is duty bound to pay up to £400 for that legal advice. Trade unions usually offer the member legal advice and take the money.
    In Barbados not only don’t redundant people get legal advice as part of the deal, it appears as if it takes them weeks to get paid.
    Barbados is a failed state.

18. A good lawyer in Barbados is Lisa Marshall. She has over 20 years experience and her hourly rate is $300. She charges $100 for a legal letter. i did not enquire about her other rates which i believe are fixed for all lawyers. She takes civil cases and is now studying and branching out into commercial law.

19. Sorry, one of them already gets hell from the Bar Association because she shows them up to their clients. She likes to keep a low profile. One of them is currently working as junior to one whom she needs to navigate around. The other one also keeps a very low profile. I have known her almost all her life and she too keeps a low profile.

20. Donna… all women lawyers… no males

21. I set up my own LLC in NJ… Cost was less than $100.00,
    One would think that with 6-7 lawyers/sq mile, the competition would push down prices and put some out of business.

22. Why would the government want to force lawyers out of business if the taxpayers are burdened with subsidizing the economic cost up to 80%?

23. In a free market, let the lawyers compete. But first we must get lawyers out of parliament.

24. TheO,

Yup! All females.

25. A prison officer sued the prison boss and won damages. The prison officer claims not to have received any settlement owing to him and threatened to have the prison boss charged with contempt of Court; now the prison officer is under arrest on charges of inciting muting at the prison.

Is there some payback here?

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/10/12/supersession/

26. A prison officer sued the prison boss and won damages. The prison officer claims not to have received any settlement owing to him and threatened to have the prison boss charged with contempt of Court; now the prison officer is under arrest on charges of inciting muting at the prison.
    Is there some payback here?(Quote)

Where is the attorney general? Where is the minister of home affairs? Were is the prime minister in all this? Barbados is a failed state.

27. @All
    Riddle me this:
    How many lawyers in Barbados today are politicians and how many politicians are lawyers? How many delay cases and rip off clients?

Re the homegrown copying of non Barbadian ideas, forms etc.
    Even realized how ‘some’ is copied and not all?How the ‘some’ does not necessarily make sense in our part of the globe? How if you question it the person you are asking goes into a rage and insults, ignored or angrily tells you that is how it is-that is the rule?

Questions: Wha part de newSC sewage plant gine be? Back in the swamp land?
    Who gine monitor and make sure it is maintained as it should?Will they keep records?
    What is the projected capacity of the “New” SCSP?
    Will other Hotels be built on the overburdened South Coast? if so what size and number of bathrooms, sinks etc?
    What will be done that was not done with the Bridgetown or South Coast Projects to ensure that it the SC one will will function properly?
    Will the same people be involved? If not, who? What is their track record of SUCCESS in similar environments?
    Will the sanctuary remain closed? If so why?
    Too bad we do not appreciate the swamp, the mangroves, the fish, birds-the pleasures it brought to many Barbadians and visitors over the years. If it were possible to offer it up for sale and removal, offers will clear the Nsational debt with some left over to assist the needy until they can help themselves.

Last night while in de country – sewage scent still doing damage to my health and STILL no help from the BWA or Government – I heard the P.M. on the News say words to the effect that people will do what they determine as best for them.(Something to do with Caricom? Not sure).This also applies to tourism. Guess what,? Tourists are more than foreign currency-they are people too-just as we are when we travel abroad. Let us remember that home drums beat first- if we cannot or would not put things right for ourselves can we for others?

Carryout a Survey, ask the tourist how our streets compare with theirs re Bush, debris,garbage piled up, bush weeded and heaped along the sides of the narrow roads, paths covered with grass, coconut shells left to rot on the highway, blind corners due to high bush, mini buses stopping in the middle of the road to pick up a passenger, broken, no, or skimpy sidewalks,car horns honking, men peeing all over the place, 10 wheeler and vehicles with trailers etc attached speeding at any time of day, no schedules public transportation, BWA digging up the road due to flowing water which reappears within 3-4 days of the first attempt to stop it AND flooding and speeding motorist wetting up pedestrians.
    Would they give a favorable comparison you think? And while all of that is being done be cognizant that there is NO TOURISM WITHOUT LOCALS.

Speaking of water-wunna want to see water? Guh in Brewsters Gap/Road, Worthing View Christ Church
    Nuff, nuff water sitting pun de vacant land half wey down de gap. Said land used to be planted with canes…before some idiots changed the water course of the swamps and the water now busting loose where it has NEVER gone before.
    Yup, they drawing it off but it coming back the same day. Ask de people about the septic removal services they now using evah time they look around.

Seriously, our Prime Minister Ms. Mottley, cannot do it all…she needs some real help from professionals-locals who know the terrain – hands on experience and not theory. It would be wise to succeed in one area before running on to many others at the same time. As I said before, she needs to revisit some decisions made.

A Wonderful December to all.
    Keep Barbados in your prayers and always do right by our Island home.

28. Mia is carrying out HER AGENDA and not the AGENDA OF BARBADOS AND BARBADIANS.

The things that matter to ordinary bajans – whether they can eat,whether they can pay their mortgage or rent,whether they can pay their water bill – these things do not cause her to loose any sleep.

She and her 28 ministers and other 10 consultants and 3 Tsars all eating, drinking and sleeping well.

Yuh could like it or yuh could lump it – I ent losing my night rest for nobody – they sang that calypso for Sandie – well they could sing that one for Mia now.

29. Has the prison officer got bail? If he has been charged and is due in court soon, why is he still in custody?

30. Oops! I believe I said the Bar Association. I actually meant other attorneys of the Bar Association type give her hell.

31. What is going on in Barbados? A prison officer, leader of his union, has been arrested and charged for allegedly encouraging his members to go on a sick out (which is legal) and not a strike (which is). I this the erosion of our democracy? Not even at its worst would the DLP government done something like this. Why the silence? I have said this authoritarian BLP rule will end in tears.
    You ain’t see nothing yet. As its policies fail it will panic and become more draconian. Watch this space.

32. @Hal A
    Where is the attorney general? Where is the minister of home affairs? Were is the prime minister in all this?
    +++++++++++++++
    Don’t you think that Dale signed off on this? And Dale doesn’t do anything unless the PM is informed.

You should ask where are the other Union leaders (Caswell excepted), is his union part of NUPW? Where are the lawyers? Is the Speaker available?

Do you know who is in charge of the Prison?

Here is a blast from the past

https://barbadosunderground.net/2007/06/06/was-lieutenant-colonel-john-nurse-responsible-for-the-glendairy-riot-and-burn-outwhy-was-he-being-protected-by-mia-mottley/comment-page-1/

33. @Sargeant,

This is really serious. Whereas the DLP government was grossly incompetent, the BLP are authoritarian bullies who would, in my opinion, stop at nothing. There is going to be a reign of terror, people, if they are lucky, will lose their jobs; if unlucky, they will go missing.
    The ‘fun’ is now starting; as BERT fails, as it will, it will get more oppressive. I warned about this before the general election. To my mind Mia is not a democrat. She has an over-blown impression of herself and the nation will pay a price for this. Some may see all this as something to joke about, but it is serious.
    Barbados is a failed state.

34. Where is the attorney general? Where is the minister of home affairs? Were is the prime minister in all this?
    Where is the jackass with the whacker?
    Why is he not out there whacking albino centric brass bowls or asking a citizen to get behind him?
    ha ha ha oh shirt wuh loss etc
    Why is he not out there , as often surgical in his plethora playfull attacks bullshitting?
    oh me am

35. Where is 9of9
    Bitcoin is 3.6K. Did you dump your coins on some sucker here?

36. The Legal Industry was once the Legal Fraternity. They make the laws and govern over us the sheeple. We are a country of cowards and brassbowls. Perhaps the millennials will be sensible enough to hold the babyboomers accountable for crimes against the country.

37. @ GP
    Are you some kinda masochist?
    When you see a big dog laying still …why don’t you let it sleep?
    But looks Bushie crosses nuh….!!!

Jackass with a whacker indeed!!!

Wunna jokers only NOW get around to what Bushie has been reaching since back in the days for Owen and 3S…
    …and you got the gall to call for Bushie to whack now….?

As man though GP…
    If you need some more lessons ….like you got with the H2 O recently…. don’t be ashamed to ask Boss…
    For example, don’t you want to know WHY H2O2 had to be engineered to complicate simple water…?

Seek and ye shall find
    Knock and it shall be opened
    Ask and it shall be given…

(Note that there is NOTHING there about ‘studying’, exegeses, or about being a shiite scholar…)

38. are you still asking peopLe to get BEHIND YOU?
    ARE YOU DENYING THAT YOU ASKED ME TO GET BEHIND YOU?
    WHY WOULD YOU WANT SOMEONE TO GET BEHIND YOU BUSH SHITE?
    YOU GONE FROM WHACKING TO BULLING NOW?
    I KNEW THAT YOU ARE A DEVIL BUT I DIDNT KNOW YOU DOES BULL TOO!
    NOW WE KNOW
    IS THIS WHAT DAVID KING MEANS WHEN HE SAID TO YOU

Some commenters intrigue by their articulation in delivery.
    AND THAT
    You are often surgical in your plethora of attacks (playfully) on fellow commenters?

39. @Hal Austin December 6, 2018 1:30 PM. “I got a lawyer in Barbados to send a letter to someone for me and it cost me Bds$500 – I did the first draft.”

Oh dear Hal, I am truly sorry to hear this. Arthur Holder did a letter for me a year or two ago for $175. Your lawyer must have mistaken you for a wealthy returning national, and took you for a ride.

40. I NOW AFRAID TO RETURN TO BARBADOS IN CASE I MEET UP WITH BUSH SHITE
    I DONT WANT ANYONE TO ASK ME TO GET BEHIND THEM
    I FRAID

41. @December 6, 2018 7:31 AM “Lawyers hate to give clients their fees for services up front because they charge what they want even thought there exists a fees schedule…..you have to make a scene and demand one to get it in writing.”

I always ask “Since you have done work like this efore, how much do you anticipate that it will cost?”

I need to know because I need to know if I can afford the lawyer.

Between pension checks there is 53 cents in my bank accounts. So no lawyer better not try being “smart” with me because if he/she does, very likely he/she will NEVER EVER get paid. I am NOT made of money.

So tell me how much, up front.

42. @ BT
    Jackass with a whacker indeed!!! YES Jackass with a whacker WHO ASKS MEN TO GET BEHIND HIM. I.E A BULLING Jackass with a whacker

LOL ha ha haL

RE As man though GP…If you need some more lessons …don’t be ashamed to ask Boss…
    I DONT WANT NO LESSONS IN BULLING BUSH TEA. I WONT BE GETTING BEHIND YOU AT ALL. I AINT RAISE UP SO SUH.
    I TOO OLD TO START GETTING BEHIND MEN

I NOW UNDERSTAND WHY YOU ALWAYS TALKING ABOUT
    Seek and ye shall find
    Knock and it shall be opened
    Ask and it shall be given…

LOL ha ha haL
    NO BUSH TEA I AINT SEEKING KNOCKING OR ASKING NUTTIN FROM A MAN WHO WANTS ME TO GET BEHIND HIM
    LOL ha ha haL

43. The woman, 78-year-old Margaret Carter, is living in deplorable conditions and the fear is she may soon die in the dilapidated, partially collapsed house.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/220685/elderly-woman-living-squalor

Hon. Miss Cynthia Y. Forde, J.P., L.C.P.
    Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs
    4th Floor Warrens Office Complex Warrens ST. MICHAEL
    Telephone: 1 (246) 535-1604
    Fax: 1 (246) 535-1694
    cforde@barbadosparliament.com

44. That is what happens when you have a leader with no MORAL COMPASS !

@ T. Inniss

I know you like to call people who disagree with you BLP supporters, but you’re pushing this nonsense a bit too far. You are creating things to criticise Mottley for. Further proof you’re a DLP pimp incognito.

Please stop being dishonest just to score cheap political points. You are misleading us by trying to suggest it was Mottley who introduced extending the list of unskilled workers that can seek employment in CSME member states, when you know full well that it was a collective agreement by ALL CARICOM heads of government.

Cricism of the government is warranted, but to make up things just to find something to criticise is wrong. Maybe at the next CSME meeting they should included skilled political yardfowls, allowing you go through the region without a work permit to spread political propaganda on behalf of opposition parties.

45. “There is going to be a reign of terror, people, if they are lucky, will lose their jobs; if unlucky, they will go missing.”

Seriously, @ Hal Austin?

Explain how you arrived at that conclusion. Are you being provocative and silly as usual or is this something you use your muscle mind to create?

46. @ Robert Goren,

I think it is a matter of a muscle mind/brain. We already have people losing jobs, under the BERT redundancy scheme, which is meant to be under the flawed system of last in first out. We have, on top of this, workers in SOEs being sacked (for this is what a redundancy is) without the senior executives being told – and then one or two of those executives themselves having been removed.
    I take it the matter of job losses is not disputed. About people going missing, just look at the last 50 years at the number of people who have died in mysterious circumstances, have gone missing, or have died and suspects have not faced due process.
    I am not suggesting that the prime minister or her colleagues will be responsible for any missing persons. What I am saying is that misguided supporters may take it in to their own hands to remove people they see as enemies (have a look at Jamaica in 1976, unless you are saying this cannot never happen in Barbados). Look at Central America, unless you are saying this can never happen in Barbados;; look at Sri Lanka or the United Arab Emirate, both of which the DLP and/or the BLP has wanted to do business with; look at Saudi Arabia, or at our favourite super-state, China.
    Remember, China is now offering to train our police.

47. Browne is charged that between May 1 and 9, he maliciously endeavored to seduce prison officer Shanell Ellis-Vaughn from her duty and did the same thing to Ophneal Austin, David Davis and Stephenson Trotman during the same period.
    The prison officer is expected to appear before the District ‘C’ Magistrate’s Court located at St Matthias, Christ Church tomorrow morning to answer the charges.(Quote)

Catch-all legislation is the tool of the despot. Was this a set up? Our democracy is at risk. Wait until it really gets going. Barbados is a failed state.

48. You should ask the obvious question, who has reported and given evidence in the matter, a fellow warder?