Government Ministers can corrupt a national economy by giving no-bid (or no-tendering) contracts in exchange for bribes.  The participating businesses are normally the least competent in the country, who can only survive by paying bribes to shield them from fair competition.  Their incompetence is normally revealed in the substandard goods and services they provide.

The substandard goods normally require excessive and costly maintenance and premature replacement.  The same protected businesses are normally contracted to provide those additional services.  The public is forced to pay for the bribes, and the excessive maintenance and replacement costs, through increased taxes – craftly taken.

The advice of no-bid consultants tends to be abysmally substandard, resulting in costly consequences for the Government.  The Ministers dare not accuse the no-bid consultants of gross incompetence, since that risks exposing the no-bid contracts to scrutiny.  It is much cleaner politically to simply increase taxes on citizens to pay for the no-bid consultants’ costly mistakes.

In Barbados, both political administrations have accused the other of awarding no-bid contracts to their supporters.  However, what occurred during the last decade should never be repeated.  A first-hand typical example in one economic sub-sector should suffice.

A Consulting Engineer’s curriculum vitae (CV) currently has a functional life of 5 years.  That means that if the Engineers cannot prove that they have worked on similar projects during the past 5 years, then they are disqualified from tendering on those types of projects.

Under the last DLP administration, there were several projects in my field that I would normally have submitted a tender.  However, tendering seemed to have been abolished.  My qualifications and experience are internationally competitive, and I was able to find sufficient work around the Caribbean.  However, what was merely inconvenient for me was disastrous for others.

As the 5-year CV deadline was approaching, I was contacted by several Engineers who needed to participate in some work in order to keep their CVs alive.  I helped as many as I was able, but tragically, I could not help them all.

I literally begged three Ministers of Government to allow tendering to resume in Barbados, and was told that a ‘berry’ could be found for me.  I explained that I did not want any ‘berry’.  I just wanted all Engineers to be given the same opportunity to tender fairly.  I received no ‘berry’ and no tenders were allowed for about 7 years.

To disqualify Barbadian Engineers from tendering for 5 years is wicked.  To extend that to 7 years, thus damaging the competitiveness of Barbadian Engineers, is to cross a boundary into an evil that we have hitherto not known in Barbados.

I have been informed that members of other professions had similar complaints of the last DLP administration, with all work being given to the politically favoured through no-bid contracts.  Many good companies were severely harmed, and became significantly less competitive, due to the DLP’s unconscionable behaviour during that time.

Before DLP candidates even think about making any public comment on any issue in Barbados, they first need to repent of the wickedness and be exorcised of the evil that they embraced, to our harm, during their last time in Government.  Nothing less should do.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

151 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Repent”

1. “So your issue is COW?”

My issue is any Cow, Pig or Goat that is ripping of the taxpayers and pensionsers….corrupt ministers and lawyers will easily find a replacement briber…that Spring Garden roadwork is NOT the best I have ever seen…am not impressed..

Was driving a sedan recently and had to switch post haste to an SUV or risk breaking off the wheels in those post holes…, the roads have been badly neglected for decades and they were NEVER properly built to begin with..again…Cow is not a real road builder, him and his brother are hustlers and parasites living off the majority population…always were…always will be..unless ministers who are NOT corrupt…puts an end to it.

Someone was telling me about the road in Black Bess…people were asking why Black Bess did not pave the road themselves because it is in such a horrible state…well it turns out that 3 companies in the area gave the government money to pave that same road…, the ministers took the money and they never did it, I suppose it is the former government. ..so, none of them can hide the fact that between Cow and both governments, they destroyed the islands roads to such a degree that if you do not have an SUV…ya cars got short shelf lives.

….even in the Warrens area where property taxes are sky high…the roads in certain areas are horrible…residents are afraid to walk on the road so as not to end up with a broken leg or ankle….so busted rims and tyres and broken differentials are not the only problems..

Ah remember when Donville was lamenting how his mercedes tyres got busted twice on the potholed roads while the idiot Kellman, who drives an SUV was gushing how potholes saves lives..

.after all of that…, none of them in government thought it necessary to concrete the roads properly and get rid of Cow and his stupidity once and for all,.

2. As a matter of fact, some of the ministers from bith governments are so stupid it escapes me how they function at all, let alone end up in taxpayers parliament..

3. To reiterate and prove my point, ah dont know what Abrahams was smoking, but…if they all were not such good bosom buddues and partners in crime…a few from the former DLP would already be in handcuffs…this vicious mind game they are playing with the people will not end well..

“BREAKING NEWS |

Abrams: Government not on a ‘witch hunt’ CHRISTINA SMITH CREATED : 4 DECEMBER 2018 BARBADOS NEWS
    The Mia-Mottley administration is not out on a ‘witch hunt’ for members of the former Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government for perceived mismanagement of funds.

Rather, the aim is to ensure any evidence of corruption is uncovered and good governance and accountability is the order of the day.

This was the contribution in the House of Assembly made by Minister of Energy and Water Resources, Wilfred Abrams, on the resolution to accept and adopt the 2013-2018 report of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC).

Minister Abrams said it is imperative all Barbadians know the full contents of the report. Coming out of the report, Abrams said was evidence of overrunning contracts and questionable hiring practices at the NHC.

He said “it looked bad” when the DLP government attempted to revoke the legislation which governs the Public Accounts Committee as sensitive information was made public.

“We should not as the new government, trying to move forward, be here having to debate the scandals of the last administration because this [report] should have been laid and properly ventilated before the last Parliament.”

“People initially said that we are trying to witch hunt and target certain people for election purposes… we went simply to investigate and get to the bottom of what was happening.”

Abrams said despite the findings made public by the Auditor General, no one was brought to justice for the millions of dollars unaccounted for at the NHC and the fact that hundreds of persons still went on to be hired, even after the NHC was declared “insolvent”.

He shared with the members of the House the 15-point recommendations made by the PAC which included instituting criminal and civil proceedings against public officials who pervert the law while in office as well as preventing government ministers from signing contracts which intend to bind government.

Abrams revealed the Integrity in Public Life bill is being finalized and a four-week extension would be granted for the Integrity Committee to properly review the bill before it is brought to Parliament.”

4. re The Mia-Mottley administration is not out on a ‘witch hunt’ for members of the former Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government for perceived mismanagement of funds.

Rather, the aim is to ensure any evidence of corruption is uncovered and good governance and accountability is the order of the day.

This was the contribution in the House of Assembly made by Minister of Energy and Water Resources, Wilfred Abrams, on the resolution to accept and adopt the 2013-2018 report of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC).

I AM NOT TO BRIGHT AS EVERYONE KNOWS, BUT IT SEEMS THAT WHAT THIS MORON SAYS IN PARAGRAPH TWO ABOVE IS WHAT IS SAID IN PARAGRAPH ONE

HE THEN CONTINUES WITH HIS PORCINE EXCREMENT THUS
    “People initially said that we are trying to witch hunt and target certain people for election purposes… we went simply to investigate and get to the bottom of what was happening.”

Abrams said despite the findings made public by the Auditor General, no one was brought to justice for the millions of dollars unaccounted for at the NHC and the fact that hundreds of persons still went on to be hired, even after the NHC was declared “insolvent”.

WHY WAS NO ONE BROUGHT TO JUSTICE?
    IS IT BECAUSE WUNNAH PLAN TO DO THE SAME THING AND BECAUSE YOU HOPE NOT TO BE ALSO CHARGED WHEN YOU ARE REMOVED FROM OFFICE BY THE ELECTORATE?

5. WARU

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT “BU is just another artery in the social media distribution network that share information and opinions” .

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT BU EXPECTS commenters TO intrigue by their articulation in delivery.

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT YOU ARE NOT DOING THIS AS YOU AND OTHERS CONTINUALLY CONTINUE TO TELL THE TRUTH ABOUT THE DULY ELECTED GUVMENT BY THE UNPRECEDENTED 30-0 LANDSLIDE

PLEASE KINDLY HOLD YOUR PIECE (PUN INTENDED) AND ONLY TELL THE TRUTH A LIKKLE BIT WHIL ENSURING THAT YOU intrigue by YOUR articulation in delivery.

PERHAPS YOU CAN ADD GREEN VERBS IN your plethora of attacks (playfully) on THE GUVMENT

I HOPE THAT I HAVE MADE MY SELF VERY CLEAR o me am!

6. GP…I hope they know that bajans are not as stupid as they all thought for decades…they love to insult their own people’s intelligence because they love even more to be seen hobnobbing with the crooks and parasites, it makes them feel like they are somebody once the electorate gives them titles and those diplomatic passports…..but the electorate gives and the electorate takes away…

….real power belongs to the people, not to government ministers and lawyers..as long as they know..

7. re the electorate gives and the electorate takes away…

IT IS TRUTE YOU AH TELL SISTER
    YA AINT LIE AT ALL SISTER
    RUN THE BASTARDS RAGGED
    ONE TERM FOR THEM. ONE TERM

PIECE IS RIGHT
    THE LORD PUT MIA UP SO THAT WE ALL CAN SEE THAT SHE AINT GOT WHAT SHE THOUGHT SHE HAD
    WATCH HER NOW FALL SLOWLY AND GRADUALLY DOWN TO HER SHAME.

8. GP..I aint got time for all the bells and whistles though…Mia’s yardfowls thought that once she was elected that all our brains on BU turned to jello…they still can’t recover from that one…because they were already too poisoned by the new koolaid….poor Enuff 68 don’t even know if he is looking up or down…sitting or standing.

We cant let them settle in and think all is well…that it is “we turn now”…like what Donville told the opposition..years ago …or things will end up worse than with the previous government…all the signs are already there….and check out where Donville is…today, remember, they are all friends, family and partners…all the ministers, lawyers, politicians.

..now I don’t mind US grabbing some of them….if anyone deserves to see inside US jail cells, it’s those clown in parliament…but the population cannot handle another round of wholesale theft of their money in the treasury and pensions…in the NIS…it will sink the island into decades of poverty.

9. WARU
    DONT BE MYOPIC OR DYSPEPTIC PLEASE

I AM SO SORRY TO HEAR THAT YOU WILL NOT BE COMMENTING WITH INTRIGUE AS YOU ARTICULATE YOUR DELIVERY AND THAT YOU WONT BE PLAYFUL IN YOUR ATTACKS on THE GUVMENT

10. Georgie Porgie

A few days after the January 2008 general elections, an agitated looking David Thompson appeared in the press, waving “documents” and talking about corruption, money missing from the Treasury that was stashed in off shore accounts, “the mess” they found, numerous consultants and how they will conduct forensic audits.

Shortly after, all the BLP consultants were replaced with DLP consultants….. and the talk of “locking up” BLP ministers for VECO, SSS, Hardwood Housing, Crab Hill Police Station, Dodds and Greenland….. went through the window…….and not a boy en get locked up.

Ironically, a few days after the May 2018 general elections, an agitated looking Mia Mottley and Dale Marshall appeared in the press waving documents, with similar accusations of corruption, consultants contracts, mess they found, money missing from the Treasury.

The DEMS en lock up a BEE…… and the BEES must RETURN the favour by not locking any DEMS.

WHAT ELSE DID YOU EXPECT? It’s part of the “POLITICAL SCRIPT.”

11. @ ARTAX
    RE It’s part of the “POLITICAL SCRIPT.”
    IS THE MUSIC THE SAME? LOL OR THEY GOT DIFFERENT THEME SONGS?

12. Can’t play GP…they are too desperate for us to forget and let this go…we gotta follow through.,..the playing will come after..

13. Artax

The BLP golden retriever …

14. Yuh mean BLP Stool Pigeon. Steupse.

15. @T. Inniss,

You must be kind to the retarded. It is not their fault.

16. “IS THE MUSIC THE SAME? LOL OR THEY GOT DIFFERENT THEME SONGS?”

I should have written the script is SIMILAR…..but the “music is not the same” and “they got different music and theme songs.”

The BLP and DLP reminds me of two comedies I used to watch on television when I was at primary school.….both have a similar underlying script, but their music and theme songs are different.

I’m sure you’ve heard about ““Steptoe & Son” and it’s US version “Sandford & Son?”

See wuh I mean?

17. @ Dr. GP

De ole man ent know whether this Stoopid Cartoon is either “MYOPIC OR DYSPEPTIC”

but de ole man was looking at the trail that the faeces is going to leave when it gets deposited offshore and i figured that vision is going to be a critical thing to see the trail of poop leading to the island.

A question was asked about navigating by night and the reply was that the fishermen need to follow their noses

https://i.imgur.com/SakY0Vk.png

18. Well, well, well………. “looka muh crosses fuh muh today, doh nuh?”

“Lexicunt,” “George Street Pimp” and “Muscle Brain”……… coming one after the other.

And isn’t it ironic that “Muscle Brain” used the word “retarded,” which in actuality, accurately describes “de t’ree uh DEM.”

Hahahahahaha!!!!

19. A woman get a little DJ pick and a big job man trying to tek it way! GP, yuh got Artax playing de music now?????

20. Hahahaha

No, Donna…. I don’t want to take away your DJ pick…… I’ll be too busy trying to defend myself against the onslaught soon to be levelled at me by Larry, Curly and Moe……who seem “addictively fascinated” with me (but I’m not kinda guy).

21. @
    donna
    re GP, yuh got Artax playing de music now?????
    yes i want you to go with me to simple simon to cook and eat that sweet food
    so you left out de music fuh now

22. @ piece pieceuhderockyeahright December 5, 2018 6:39 PM

@ Dr. GP De ole man ent know whether this Stoopid Cartoon is either “MYOPIC OR DYSPEPTIC”
    look like it would be DYSPEPTIC CAUSE WHEN DE FISHERMEN SMELL THE SHIT IT WILL TURN DEM STOMACH

23. @ ARTAX
    Artax December 5, 2018 6:36 PM

“IS THE MUSIC THE SAME? LOL OR THEY GOT DIFFERENT THEME SONGS?”

Georgie Porgie I should have written the script is SIMILAR…..but the “music is not the same” and “they got different music and theme songs.”

OK SIR THANKS FOR THE CLARITY SIR

24. WARU

I repeat, anyone that struggled with something as basic as differentiating a candidate from a member of Parliament has no credibility, none!! Stay in yuh lane. Go learn Dutch and go Suriname and plant pineapples. Murdaaaa!

25. lol..Enuff in Wonderland…Mia Borrows will soon be sending you to Suriname to pick pineapples, per the agreement she signed with Bouterse…..do you even know the terms of the agreement, did she tell you yet….. ya better brush up on ya Dutch now..I will come visit ya though…

Do you remember the BIG RED BAG OF EVIDENCE of DLP crimes Mia was swinging around …that is now cutting Mia’s backside while she struggles to juggle the thieves who owns her with her partners in crimes she is afraid to lock up….that is the lane right there…wah happen, she lost the red bag of evidence or what??/. I believe it’s or what…

26. Say hi to Jackie…Enuff yardfowl…ya know how ya love her…

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/928781403998066/?t=4

27. So tell us what experience Cow the Crook got working with shit or sewage which is one and the same other than the deplorable, shoddy road works of FRAUD he has perpetrated on the island for the last 40 years, along with the shitmunchers in parliament ..

….maybe Northern can explain cause Enuff yardfowl is too dumb to understand..

28. One thing’s for sure..Mia Borrows CANNOT BE TRUSTED.

29. ” Yesterday during debate on the Public Accounts Committee report which was laid in Parliament,

Abrahams admitted that Prime Minister Mia Mottley warned him in the presence of his other Cabinet colleagues that if in his efforts to fix the problem, there was so much as a hint of inappropriate spending, he would be held personally liable.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/12/05/sewage-fix-progressing/

30. The WORLD has to know that all of you ARE CURSED and BLIGHTED with bribery AND corruption…

tek daH..

31. That is all for show…how will the people know when Abrahams gets Cow to inflate his invoices to the tune of millions so he could get his cut AS IS THE NORM…as ah said..neither Mia nor her Crook friends and masters to whom she is STILL doling out taxpayer FUNDED. contracts will be getting away with ripping off the treasury this time without massive EXPOSURE WORLDWIDE…..

32. So who put Alex McDonald to chair the oil company..all we keep seeing are crooks who have no problem selling out the people to their crook friends and business partners for millions…popping up everywhere..on this board on that board….this cannot end well.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/220379/fuelled

“These assurances have come from Alex McDonald, chairman of the Barbados National Oil Company Limited (BNOCL), in an update on what was being done to find new oil sources for Barbados and the refining needs for locally-produced crude, since last month’s closure of traditional partners Petrotrin (Petroleum Company of Trinidad and Tobago Ltd).”

33. “Abrahams admitted that Prime Minister Mia Mottley warned him in the presence of his other Cabinet colleagues that if in his efforts to fix the problem, there was so much as a hint of inappropriate spending, he would be held personally liable”

I love a sentence like that….. Who determines what is “appropriate” and what does ‘personally liable’ means .We have the Auditor General writing the same report every year, identifying the same problems and nothing changes…

34. Theo..all for show, wait until the invoice amounts are made public, then we will know who got what cut of the inflated amount, once again ripping off the treasury….none of the players have changed, the ink was not yet dry on the CDB and IDB loans before Mia Borrows had crooked Cow back fixing roads that did not need fixing and ignoring the deplorable roads that are getting harder and harder to drive on…the bribe taking and inflated invoices are a given…

In the meantime ..Lawson…is this dude related to you, sounds like something from your bloodline..

https://www.news.com.au/national/courts-law/accused-landlord-pervert-watched-from-around-the-world/news-story/4fff20b6940833ec39a8c0fcf5de0d54?fbclid=IwAR0VGUTzob6MhfIKN20U9gUXNm1LQbAk-aHhHPMT3DIZK1XUoz3v44R3blo#.uci94

“An accused pervert landlord who has been charged with hiding secret cameras in tenant bathrooms could allegedly spy on renters live from wherever he was jetsetting around the world.

Barbadian-born James Maxwell, who calls himself “Tiger”, allegedly installed tiny secret spy cameras in the male bathrooms and a bedroom of the apartments in Pyrmont, Sydney, which he managed.

When police allegedly uncovered the cameras they also allegedly found an app on Mr Maxwell’s phone which enables accessing video footage from anywhere in the world.”

35. Oh! Please nothing but theatrics and another dose of PR publicity
    Most contracts when drawn gives a number for products labour and completion
    However there is no way a contractor can determine unforeseeable circumstance which can cause delay and incurred further cost
    Mia is full of jobby some one needs to get her a couple boxes of toilet tissue cause she be needing them in th next four years
    Abraham if he is a lawyer should never have spewed that kind of baloney all meant for the peanut Gallery of blp yardfowls

36. WARU

Yuh dunce, any Dutch I speak would be in Amsterdam. Stay in yuh lane.

37. Yeah yardfowl..am sure, in the red light district..

38. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ GP,

You recently introduced the phrase ” Inferior Superior”. Here’s a good example of this in action. The Field Commander Rommel was referred to as “The Desert Rat” and was considered a military strategist of the highest order by his enemies during the second world war.

Hitler was out of depth as a military strategist yet refused to listen to his superior inferior Field Commander Rommel.

Shortly after this exchange an attempt was made on Hitler’s life for the good of the country.

39. That is the type of crap these ignorant government ministers do, Crown land belongs to the PEOPLE not to the weak ass, shitehound idiots in parliament and NOT to Cow or Bizzy Williams…..what about the hundreds of millions stolen from NIS Pension by Cow has he repaid any of it…

….. after all of that they then allow Cow to dip his thieving hands in the NIS Pension Fund, money belonging to the PEOPLE …. like if it is his…sell out negros..the whole lot of them, that is the only thing any of them in that parliament are any good for…selling out… ..all of them do the same nasty thing, exclude the PEOPLE who pay their salaries..and sell out the people to the first lowlife criminal who bribes them…

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/12/06/former-minister-cries-foul-on-pac-report/

“The former Minister of Housing also defended himself against the position taken in the PAC report that he swapped Crown lands at Lancaster No 2, St. James with C.O. Williams Construction in order to satisfy an outstanding debt with that company and while doing so caused the NHC to take a financial hit.”

“The general manager informed the board that the Minister of Housing Denis Kellman indicated that a price of $35 per square foot was ‘feasible’ to erase the outstanding debt,” the report said. The debt owed by the NHC to C.O. Williams Construction Limited was $1,145,357.56, plus interest of $500,000. The land in question was 3,021 square meters or 32,291 square feet, at a value of $2,098, 915 as opposed to $1,130,185, according to the report.

“To be more precise, the NHC received $968, 730 less, given the lower valuation imposed in this transaction as a result of the directive of Minister Kellman,” revealed the report.”

40. Amid concerns about the public sector retrenchment process, which forms part of the wider public sector reform, one of Government’s economic advisors is warning that there can be no easing up until the course is fully completed.

In fact, likening the reform to a relay, economist Dr Kevin Greenidge, on loan to the Barbados Government from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) said Government could not afford to drop the baton.

“We cannot afford not to do it. Let’s suppose that we don’t do it, what happens? The IMF withdraws its endorsement and we maybe have to pay it back, I don’t know. But the rest of world would say ‘those people are not serious, all they had to do is their part and they can’t do it’.

“Investors would start to wonder ‘are we going to go back to where we came from? Are we going to get another restructuring, what is going to happen?’ So everything will unravel. We cannot afford to not do our part,” said Greenidge, who pointed out that the number of workers retrenched so far was “bel

41. An excellent crafted comment..by GreenGiant, that is all both governments have been good for in the last 3 decades, they lack creative thinking, have no idea how to grow an economy without the dependency of tourism which is not and WILL NOT work as a one egg in the basket economy..ergo…no growth in the economy…

…THEY HAVE NO IDEAS HOW TO CREATE JOBS…by leaving the majority population to be innovative, creative and build the economy…without a government minister expecting a BRIBE OR STEALING THEIR IDEAS TO SELL IT OUT TO MINORITIES….they have no IDEAS how to do anything to benefit the majority population outside of the low paying, starvation wages of the tourist sector…..they have no original ideas outside of BORROWING and IMPORTING…they are ALL USELESS, as I have been saying for YEARS..

“GREENGIANT
    @Carson Cadogan, Harry Turnover & Carl Harper: The cats are crawling out the bags. Both B L P and D L P are specialist in retrenchment, borrowing, and importing.

You have both failed to retool productive sectors, no fishing agreement, fast track a sound sustainable development policy, restructure the public sector for efficiency, reform education, manage civil infrastructure, renovate dilapidated real estate for revenue enhancement, restructure agriculture to save foreign exchange, create and develop a sound housing policy shared by government and committed private sector partners.

Had either party address these almost prehistoric mission critical issues over the last three decades at least we would not be where we are today. So all of you could stop picking at each other with who is an ex parliamentarian, who is a paid operative, or who is a yard fowl. All three of you have been prepaid for decades now, and comes here daily only serving your party’s interest.

The prototype, design, and manufacture of the acid bomb dropped on Barbados by the Mottley led administration in 2018 was designed by the Arthur administration, structured by the Thompson government, enhanced by the Stuart clan, and finally administered by Mottley. So who’s guilty? He without sin can cast the first stone. Things will only change in Barbados when we have a government without the dominance of either the Bees or Dems. If Barbadians can’t see this, they’re obviously blind and our ophthalmologist should be the wealthiest professionals, or if they don’t believe then the brain wash done by both these parties has done more psychological damage than that done during the middle passage crossing.

Barbadians simply need to remember that this government like the D L P, mislead them to believe that they could fix everything painlessly. We need to remember too that all the things that were to be last resorts has become ‘mission critical’, with those promoted as mission critical has now become secondary. So while the minister of finance shuffles her human cards around with an almost non existent ‘queen of spades’ globe trotting only to return in time to read the IMF daily express, the doctor being shuffled around to see where his rare screw head really fits, the young pit bull pup raging and barking at every passerby and Judas avoiding the media for fear of exposure. The clock is ticking, and all the medicinal controls Dr. Greenidge implements has not changed the realities. This government has made the lives of Barbadians worse, and can’t even say when it will improve. So madam, ‘give me the vote and watch me’ we are indeed watching you.”

42. So the IMF head honcho for barbados is letting all know that the heat would be turned up on the Publicsector as job losses continue
    A small economy with no productivity cannot is unsustainable without money flowing throughout the economy
    This mad rush by govt to appease the IMF by increasing unemployment is going to having the small businees crying tears as as stagnation because of lack of the flow of money throughout the economy mostly available from those now unemployed force them to close their doors
    This mess of economic doldrums cannot be solved by layoffs and increased in unemployment

43. @Mariposa,

Can you plse explain why it is that technocrats continue to deliver government economic policy while the elected ministers appear to be hiding or are playing dumb?.
    Also, leading economists are predicting a recession by/in 2020, has BERT factored in this in its assumptions? If so, can they plse publish their methodologies?
    @Mariposa, I know you have a line to the prime minister. Plse ask her what is her vision for the future of Barbados: short term, medium and long-term? Plse ask her.

44. Q. why it is that technocrats continue to deliver government economic policy while the elected ministers appear to be hiding or are playing dumb?
    A. BECAUSE the elected ministers ARE ACTUALLY DUMB AND ARE FIGURE HEADS APPOINTED TO KEEP THEM IN LINE IF THEY WANT TO KEEP THEIR LIKKLE PICKS

45. Yeap Hal !from my observation Mia long term solution is to squeeze the financial daylights out of everliving soul to appease the IMF
    Right now this country is on the edge of social and economic devastation of each and every household and we have a head honcho who is barbadian and would have knoweldge of how a barbadian community is formulate and would have stayed far away from being influence by the mouthings of the the IMF one armed bandits who have no solutions for the barbados economy expect those solutions that benefit their own interest
    Pray tell how in a country of 275thousand people retirred and the low wages how is this economy going to improve when govt policies are now geared to maintain a high level of poverty through unemployment

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

And lest wunna all forget the cuntributions of her 21 inept ministers here is a taste of one of Mugabe’s chvunts

“…“We are introducing on every single block, a foreign language, because we believe that our young people must be able to communicate. As tourism is one of our major industries, we believe that they should be able to communicate with persons from outside of Barbados as well,” Forde said in an interview with Barbados TODAY.

The classes are among a raft of academic and vocational training programmes to be offered at community centres in a bid to steer youth away from crime and into gainful employment, said Forde…”

WTF!!!

Which RH tourist from Germsny or Norway going doing down in Marlhole to speak to a fellow pun de Block to speak German or Norwegian?

Where de rhole dese effers getting these ideas from?

This is really a version of BERT AND ERNIE FROM SESAME STREET in Spanish

Wunna going do 5 years of this shy#e???

And the sheeple respond “baaaaa…”

47. @Piece,

The population of the UK is 65m, with 650 members of parliament; there are 21 Cabinet secretaries, along with the prime minister, 22 in all. Why does a little island, the size of a Brazilian sugar plantation, have so many Cabinet ministers?

48. pieceuhderockyeahright December 7, 2018 3:40 PM
    PIECE
    BEHAVE MAN
    YOU GWINE DAMAGE PEOPLE WID DAT STUFF YOU TALKING
    I FELL OF MY CHAIR AND IF I DIDNT HAD MY BELLY FULL OF DEM 20 PLUS FISHCAKES I ATE THIS MORNING AS A CUSHION, I WUDDA DEAD!

49. Well Well Mariposa and Piece like the three stooges think that hogging the blog sll day every day makes them appear bright.Well newsflash you all are becoming very predictable and boring.Today the IMF praised the Government for it’s efforts so far what says the conspiracy j/a.

50. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Piece,

Evidently you have little understanding of the genius of Mia. She has let her Minister of Youth and Community Empowerment, Adrian Forde, off his lead to highlight to her fellow citizens the lack of quality in her ministerial team. It is clear from his bizarre utterances that the man has nothing to contribute to improve the lives of our youth.

Mia has no competition from within her cabinet. Plus there is no opposition. We are in a constitutional crisis.